(2008/08) Aug 2008

Ratatouille,
Thanks, your gal's v cute too!

How many capsules of fenugreek did you take per day?

huichin,
Isit she looks like me? Seriously I cannot tell, I guess it takes an outsider to tell.
Erms, my ILs think she looks like me but my mum think she looks like my hubby??

I also got the stitching thread down there, doing my gynae follow up this Fri.

hashishan,
so the thread wil dissolve by itself but duno why I felt something hanging down there... my mum n hubby said its the wound... *scratch head*

Nope, my bb doesn't have brown hair. If she does follow me when she grows up, maybe hv chance she has brown hair.

YLN,
M2B, Catherine and I are using Enfalac A+. For me, I let her drink FM at night. I need my sleep!

M2B,
Mdm Zu is quite nice. Didn't expect her to be so young with 4 kids! At least can see the tummy went down quite abit

kel,
I taking fengreek to standby first, ya hoping to boost future milk supply.

Re: bb hiccupping
Anybody experienced this? My bb hiccupped twice and last night, when she did, it was so bad that I almost wanted to give her water (tho PD said not to) then it went off... pheww

RE: Amount to drink
Think this has been asked, but how much (ml) does your bb drink? Cos I've been bfeeding and topping up with FM. Noticed her pattern for past day and this morning, she will take abt 50-60ML FM with colostrum, else is about 100ML total FM.

cocomo,
not sure if u are logging online but the Lasinoh bags that we ordered thru o'sea spree, are here

How are you coping? Hope your maid is able to help you.

moms who had c-sec:

How long did you stay in the hospital? May I know how many pajamas did u bring?

I only bought 2 bras leh..not sure if its enough..cos i got bought alot of breast pads for it. My friend wears those tube bra..but dont think i can wear it cos now already like 881.. I need something WITH support..else i can really tie my breasts to my neck for support. *haiz*

Btw, like valnsw, i also intend to breastfeed in the day and supplement with FM in the night..but wont they get nipple/bottle confusion?

Ya..hope my son come out as cute as cutie pie too! kekeke!

rat
i taking fenugreek,but no dramatic improvement in milk supply...i tried everything liao...drink lotsa water/fluid/soup, rest more, pump more sessions, latch her on more, eat more fish, etc...still barely enuff for her...so , i think rather than suffer, i will let her drink FM lor..then i can concentrate on pumping and less stress to meet her demands...do u convert back to TBM after ur supply kicked in? or still supplement with FM?
im hoping to pump more in the 2nd month to start storing leh...

is Friso Gold good?

nipple confusion
so far, i do still latch my bb on, and also feed her EBM ...no nipple confusion leh...*touch wood*...maybe my bb hungry, everything also can...heehee

Congrats to all who have delivered!

I have delivered my bb on 9 Aug (natural with epi.)
my bb is 2.825kg

All the best for those who are waiting to give birth

morning mummies

stitches
i think my stitches are still there. dare not look at it myself but can roughly feel it when wash and wipe. don't know how long it takes to recover. i do feel some pain but its more on the left side. for the past 2 days, it seems more painful then before. should i seee a doc? i will only go back to see gynae in 6 weeks time.

wind in stomach
do you all feel that you have wind in the stomach. my stomach keeping making noise, like got lots of wind. how huh? what can i do? i fart a lot too and its so smelly. (sorry, a bit gross)

engorgement
any way to stop or prevent engorgement? i pump every 3 hours (for 15 mins) but still have engorgement. once miss the time, super pain. the 'best pump' is my manual lazy pump (baby) but he not here to help me. does it help if i pump every 2 hours?

hey mummies...my bm is very slow..onli today day 4 i can see the colostrum and then when squeesed got some trickle of milk but breast fully engorged!

sigh..dunno how now....

and i cant take fenugreek cos bb got g6pd...sigh..initially thot he had to stay in hospital cos of jaundice but luckily god was kind to him and gave me a wonderful bday present by letting him come home with us yday when i was discharged!

at first still trying to go on tbm..but after no milk for first 3 days...baby lost 350g
so had to start fm together..using cup...but i neeed to perservre....

celynlee
my stitches r the kind that will dissolve on its own one...i went back to gynae to check on stitches one week after i delievered...he said stitches have healed abt 99% liao...so i think maybe 1 week or so is the recovery time bah...i think if u still feel pain..better make appt to see gynae earlier..
my gynae , dunno how he sew, sewed the stitches underneath..so when i see with a mirror...cannot see any stitches at all...i dunno if u understand what im trying to say..but mine looks as good as new...heehee..:p

wind..
if u doing malay massgae...will have even more wind!..burp and fart...!..the massage is to expel the wind from ur body ...its good mah that u r farting!..heehee...natural expulsion of wind!

engorgement
i m not supplying enuff milk for my gal..so im pumping every 2 hrs..no engorgement at all...u may want to try pumping every 2 hrs...

megan,
so nice that they let baby go back with you. mine still in kk.

yln,
i dare not see leh. will see how, if still pain, then i will go see gynae.

i will be starting massage today.

pump every 2 hours, won't your nipple be very sore?

hashishan,
yr gal's hair is so long & thick...

val,
im taking 3 times a day & 3 capsules each time... yup, all the parcels should arrive in 2 to 3 weeks time...

missysz,
funds transferred are in order...

re:breastisbest.com
got a rude shock from stopid breastisbest.com's email that they charged to my credit card usd97+... so i emailed them that the amount is not right... should be usd207+... then they reply to say lansinoh bags are out of stock & they will charge a reduced shipping of usd16+... i was quite mad & wrote to them again that how can no stock still can add to cart & make payment etc... not fair on us to pay for shipping that is reduced by usd5 when items only usd80+ now...

so sianz... no reply from them on my email... any suggestions? was thinking of cancelling from them & order from another merchant...

YLN,
me too... feeling the toil of TBF when my supply cannot keep up with her demand...i have been doing direct latching in her week 1 & 2, and she wakes up crying until very chiam every 2 hours on average... in her week 3, i tried to express milk out for her, supply only max 80ml but she drinking 100ml... when feeding her EBM, she can tahan 3hours but direct latch again only last max 2 hours.. i was telling my HB that i thought BF can make me & bb very close but seems that sometimes while direct latching, she will suddenly cry very loud cos the milk flow is slow compared to EBM fr bottle... see aledi so hard pain... if i totally express milk for her, i spent so much time pumping & end up dont get to see her much... when is the bonding time? plus my nnp super pain from expressing too...

chipchip,
congrats...

anyone here experienced "the show" before labour? Is it a lot kind? I have this small little drop of "red" on my panty liner... should i be worried? no pain nothing leh....

YLN, since day 10 when my supply kick in i convert her to tbm. so onli day 3 - 9 (total of 1 week exact & 1 tin of small fm completed *faint*) she drank FM at night. I dunno but fergen works for me or is it i keep drinking soup & water which helps too. now I can get abt 110-120ml per pump (every 3-4hrs) so I manage to squeeze 1 bag for milk to freeze each day starting fr sun. U jia you. Ya no good to stress urself dats y initially i gave fm for night too.

dongle

Gosh.. Hmm, u hang in there for awhile more? See whether more stocks wld come in & then ship out later? If not I dun mind another merchant.

Thanks for all the effort & liaising *muacks*

donglezzz: I heard that when you place ur bb near you or somewhere u can see her, your EBM will be more...haha..maybe the maternal love stimulate the BM ba.

dongle,
maybe you can try looking at her pic when pumping. maybe it will help. don't be too stress over it. it will affect supply.

for moms-waiting-to-pop:

I still have 1 week to go...Already feel very, very heavy and tired. I used to look radiant in my early pregnancy, but now i totally look very shacked & unpresentable..
Sometimes feel depressed whether i be able to lose the weight anot...Physcially i feel so unattractive towards my hubby. Sigh. I dont know if after bb, i will be converted to a total auntie anot..Sighz~

nini
dun worry about looking like auntie after delivery..by then ar..u will be so bz and stressed with breastfeeding..(like most of us here) that u will hardly any time to think abt urself...i initally wanted to do my own facial i.e scrub, mask etc at home..then after every pumping ...tired like dunno what already...too sian to beautify myself also...:p...maybe when i get more milk supply...then i will try to do mask lor..:p

cheesycake, thanks. my gal is much better liao. we now try to let her sleep on her side like better. BM supply also started coming in on day 10 since then she is on tbm

cindy i got SHOW for 3days & dilation of 2cm then still no sign of contraction then i induce. Initially is onli when i wipe i see mucase wif slight pinkish then slowly become more on the 3 day it seen on my panty & i need to put pad.

nini,
my edd is like tmr.. haha... now felt so bloated too... no worries lah, hubby will always find you beautiful cos you are the mummy of their child mah...

rata,
thanks for sharing ur story... tmr i going for gyane check up cos its my edd tmr... shall see wat he says lor.. really hope to see my ah girl soon.

NiNi

I've still got abt 18 days to go.. Drive away those negative thoughts k? Am sure ur HB appreciates the sacrifices u've made during the pregnancy & when bb arrives

Must make conscious efforts to lose the weight & pamper urself. While we can sacrifice sthgs, let's not become slaves to childcare. Otherwise we may blame ourselves or the bb for our state.. *jia you*

celyn

That's great news!! Am sure u're looking fwd to cradling him in ur arms for longer durations & him being the powerful pump *winks*

cindy: envy envy.. my bb is still so comfy in my tummy, i got no show, no contractions at all..

hisstory: i got 7 more days to go... If you got 18 days more to go, that means u be delivering end-Aug?

YLN,
I give my girl Enfalac. And also give her FM in the night. about 90ml. Can last her about 2.5-3 hours. At least you manage to pump 70ml, mine is still only at 50ml. But i must confess that i dont pump regularly. In the day i latch her on and if not enuf i top up with 60ml of fm, which she sometimes finish sometimes doesnt. I think it's ok la, dont really need to feel bad cos ur hubby needs to work next day also, at least this way your hubby can get better rest. Also more rest for you. I feel that after i give her fm in the night, at least i sleep abit more and not so tired in the day. Cos i got no CL so i look after her myself. this way at least i not so tired.

Valnsw,
i've not seen ur hubby but i also think your bb looks like you.

NiNi

Yupz, EDD's end of Aug
I think my bb's enjoying herself in the comfort of the womb..

celyn

Can go earlier? Just to spend time with him? Heheh, and feed him too!!

Nini/Hisstory
We all Jia you yah... dun be envy lah, i wait this day very long liao... tmr is my edd still no contraction.. i very scared must go induce...

nini,
nipple confusion a matter of perspective I guess. My massage lady was saying if u intend to bottle feed (whether BM or FM) after going back to work, then better go intro milk bottle else cannot get used to it. Makes sense too to me.
Anyway, my gal can take both. She's suckling as well as taking milk bottle.

chipchip,
congrats! Yours is a National Day baby!

celyn,
its norm to break wind or even burp. in fact, massage lady says it's gd, means all the wind is coming out. Me burp alot during meals.

Megan,
Its norm for bb to lose weight first few days, mine also lost 100g upon dischg, PD says its norm. Later will gain back.

YLN,
Wa.. you dare to see ur stitches using mirror. I not so brave leh...

dongle,
what's the dosage per capsule? Cos the one I got from GNC is 610mg per capsule. Massage lady said the dosage quite high, maybe can just take 2 capsules per day. So When you told me you taking 9 capsules, thinking if I not enough.

re:breastisbest.com
If it's too much hassle, might as well cancel the order and purchase from another merchant.

nini,
what YLN says is true, too bz to bother abt my own looks liao. I'd rather sleep, but hor, I think come full-mth I gota get more rest to look mei mei. *winks*

celyn,
Congrats on your bb going home!
My bb did her blood test today and her jaundice is of acceptable level. Yippee! means she no need to be hospitalised

valnsw, yea to me looks like u leh. Heh. Rgding gynae follow-up, did ur gynae tell u during ur hospital stay when to go for it? My stitches 10days liao still there leh...

Celynlee, u can try pumping 30mins every 2-3hrs leh(excluding massage in between breast switching). That's what the senior nurse at hospital taught us. Think 15mins each time is too short liao. Abt stitches yea loh i oso feel when i wipe and wash down there...and my body auto react when it's time to pangsai my A-hole like scared scared. Haha..probably it's due to the snip so close to there bah...Hmm. BTW when u all need to go for checkup ah? I have no idea when to go for myself leh. My gynae was away after i delivered, so i have no idea whatsoever! The stand-in Doc oso din say anything! Bleahhh...

Cindy, yes i oso got the show then straightaway feel contractions liao. But hor it's up to individual. Some ppl can have the show liao but still nothin for quite a while. So what u can do is to monitor k. Once feel any contractions u can monitor the intervals. Hang on there

Thanks mommies,
I am going for Enfalac too ... cos last round I gave son Similac ... it was ok .. until now he grows older, he keeps coughing ... so i changed to Enfagrow.

Looking good
Hubby oredi tell me to start making myself look more attractive after delivery .. not that i look damn bad but i dress too casually at home/out (clothes dun fit already) .... he where got understanding that I am a mother of "going to be two" to his precious sons. Man ah ..... only look at exterior, dun appreciate all our internal beauty.

Just make sure we dun look like the market auntie la .....

For me worst, I look kinda not chinese (more philipino/thai) and my son vv chinese .... looks like hubby .. so many times i bring son out, they think i am the maid! Even when I am dress decently ok, I think cos some maids dresses quite well too (esp vv hiao ones like my ex-maid). Of course i look prettier than her.

Once, I even went for a motherhood forum gathering and one of the grandmas asked me "Eh, which employer you work for ah?" ..... i replied "Ah ma, this is my son and my maid is standing over there". Wah .... she so embarassed and kept apologising. I must wear T-shirt that says, "You are looking at my son if you are wondering ......" haha.

So well, after the 1st month confinement, we gotta start looking good ... let's go for spa, facial together ;)

val, i take 2 cap, 3 times daily.

cheesycake, yah i will hang on as long as i can. this week start store spare one in freezer

dongle, u can try to feed ur BB with FM instead at nite - then u won't have to pump like a cow whole day! That's what i do, cos FM takes longer to digest so at nite is the best time to give(abt 2 feeds for my BB). Day time i will pump BM and feed her. THen at nite u wont have to suffer...once ur BM flow has increased and stablise, u can do TBM liao

Rat,
thks for e replies on fenugreek.

Re: BM
How much to give once milk supply is in? i.e. how long to feed on each side? Still 15 min each side? Help!!

Cos as i'm typing this, i'm feeding my gal. Noticed milk leaking liao... At least she seems to be sucking better today.

cheesycake,
Yup, our bbies same name. hehe

think another mummy's bb's name same pronunciation as ours, but diff spelling

huichin,
my gynae told me to arrange w e clinic 1 wk aft my birth.
Actuali is me who reminded her cos when i had show, i cchecked w her clinic assistant whether to admit to hosp.
Her assistant said aft birth mus follow up w gynae 1 wk aft tat.

MB u shd call ur gynae up.

Dongle,
Ya, they say look at your baby when pumping, look at the picture, think of the baby, .... this will cause the let-down effect ... relax.

huichin,
yah, just called the clinic and they tell me to monintor wah cos no contractions yet... once the contractiion and interval got close then go down cos now only little blood stains.

Tmr happened to be my regular gynae check up so we shall see how...

Valnsw, oh really ah? Ok then i better call up the clinic to ask. Thanks ah.

Cindy, oh ok then u shld really rest more...make urself comfortable k! Good luck

Enfalac vs Similac:

Looks like most mummies here prefer enfalac rite?

Shint, you mean similac will cause cough? Can explain???

Nini,
My edd is 6th Sept. But baby most likely will be aug baby i guess. You're in your 39th week now? I can't imagine myself carrying my tummy till full term. I think will "burst" hahaha.. I'm in my 36week++ now. But really very tiring, it's even more heavy & tiring as compared to my 1st pregnancy with my twin boys. *hai* I don't remember having pain in the pubic bone area & freguent menses cramps for my 1st pregnancy. For this, i toss & turn on the bed also pain. Get out from car also pain.. hai

Chipchip,
Congrats on your National Day Baby!!

cindy,
better rest while you can. Be prepared for the long nights ahead.

Now my eyes super panda liao. Last night i.e. this morning midnight was super jialat... At least after she took FM, she managed to sleep abt 4hrs. Hope I get the hang of things to come.
Been recording her feeding, poo, pee times to see if there's a pattern.

valnsw
when i choose this name i tot its unique and uncommon... coz i nv come across people having this name. a rare name to me. orh from wat i check there's another meaning of this name: bold and beautiful. i choose this name mainly becoz its sound nice, meaningful and dainty. same here, many of my frens doesnt know how to pronounce. btw, ur girl is very cute
do u have multiply or msn? i have a blog and would like to invite u to read

nini,
i stayed in hospital 3D/3N. I brought 3 sets of pjs but only wore 1 set, the rest was in the gown and too lazy to change cos the gown was easier for the doc to check the wound. I nvr wear bra in hospital and nvr got to use the breast pad also cos milk havent come in.

nini, celyn, huichin, shint,
thanks for the tips... think i too tired also la...

val,
the fenugreek that im taking now is bought in singapore gnc stores so the content is the same 610mg...

shint, babywise,
if order from another merchant e.g. www.mommysown.com. what will yr alternative be for yr spare parts kit? the rest of the mummies order mainly valves so can get from this merchant too, in case tonight breastisbest reply me abt the order... i will order from amazon for the lansinoh milkbags & from mommysown for the ameda parts...