(2008/08) Aug 2008

luvlel

Very exciting Sunday night u had.. Will pray tt ur little one wld stay in mummy's womb till at least 37 weeks k? *hugs* Rest lots!!

Are u going hm soon?

Celyn, i think we oso sama sama timing la! hehee...

YLN, ur bb Kaer so adorable! hehee..

hisstory, hehe...yea washing NB's clothes is better than nothin wor. Hehee..for me i cant laze ard..for now la. Gotta move ard the house abit. Heh..later i will cook dinner. Heh. Got a fren coming over to meet me cos he's leaving S'pore for good! Sob. So nice of him to come over here cos he knows i cannot travel out too far. Haha.

Luvlel, duno worry too much n take care k

Interrace, i am at home! Hehee..on ML liao, no choice...

I can share receipe with u, left abit only so cannot share the REAL DEAL la! LOL

Sambal-fried bee tai mak
Ingredients:
-Fresh bee tai mak
-bean sprouts/any other vege
-coarsely diced chicken/beef
-peeled prawns
-sliced/chopped onions
-finely grinded hay bee

luvlel,
you are not being hospitalise? are you given jab to strengthen baby's lung? i had something similar when i was at 34 weeks but i haven't dilate then and was hospitalised for 2 days. my contraction was 11 mins and 3 mins apart then. you take care and talk to baby to wait a while more. must rest well ok. my tummy still get harden very easily but last visit, gynae say baby might be overdue now cos too comfy liao.

Cooking method:
- Heat up some cooking oil
- Add in onions and some finely grinded garlic if desired and fry for abt 5mins or till the fragrant releases
- Add in some grinded hay bee
- fry for another 3-5mins
- Add chilli paste (based on ur spice level)(solly forgot to mention in the ingredients hehe)
- Fry for another 5-8 mins & add seasoning to taste
- Add in chicken/beef/prawns
- Add in bean sprouts/vege and cook for abt 3mins
- Finally add in Bee tai mak and wala!

Hhehee...

just came back from gynae check this morning..well everyting is good, good weight, enough water in the water bag, baby is engaged and low. well gynae mention could be anytime this week if not next monday check up will have to decide a date tto induce coz he is afraid that baby might be too big and may poo inside me...

Quite worry and anxious and hubby was so against me from going to work cause i walk too slowly and motion almost like penguin..now he called me penguin mama...

so after check up went for a bit of shopping at taka, managed to get 2 pairs of shoes, 1 dress for my niece and 3 tops for my baby..taka atrium is having a toys craziest fair until 3 Aug.. a lot of toys and clothes for all ages...

well if i have not pop by this few days, will bring my nieces down to grab some toys...

to all mommies, we all jiayou together and cheers to all mommies who have popped.

Mulberry, Celyn,

I am still in hospital. They plan to monitor me for tonight too. They havent given any jab to me. Only orange colored capsule.

Hisstory, Huichin:
I pray too that baby stays for another 2 weeks inside me. Thanks for the wishes!

luvlel,
i see. i had the orange colour capsule too. but i got other medications to stop the contractions too. i guess different gynae had different practice. trust your gynae. take care and rest well.

are you back at normal ward or still in delivery suite?

Water Retention Remedy

1) Drink more chicken feet + peanut soup. And add this type of nuts called "che xiao dou" can buy from medical hall. Like red bean one...

2) Red Bean With Carp In Soup. This soup can help in water retention at the legs. It can increse breast milk too.

Ingredients:
1 pound 10oz carp
5 ounces red bean
4 red dates
2 slices ginger
1 tablespoon chinese cooking wine
8 cups water

Instructions:

1. Cut open and boil fish for a while . Dish up, rinse and drain.
2. Remove pits from red dates.
3 Bring water to the boil. Add carp, red beans , red dates, ginger and wine. Bring to the boil.
4. Cook over mild heat for 2 hours. Season with salt.

Prep/Cooking Time: 2 1/2 hours

3) Fry the brown rice in a pan for about 5-10min. remember to stir make sure not 'chor-tar'.
Cool it and store in container. when u want to drink, scope a spoon in a cup, pour hot water, cover for 10min then u can drink. Can make more and store in air tight container.

4) Other easy way :
- drink the brown rice cereal.
- drink red bean soup, this can help to get rid of water retention too.

Don't ask me if it really going to work oh...I have just got this from research in other threads and I am going to try the very last super easy method... : )

<font color="0000ff">shint</font>, confinement cannot eat chicken meh? the ikea waterproof sheet is washable is it? i have leg cramps almost everytime i try to stretch my legs.

<font color="0000ff">joanne</font>, i nvr heard that need to do xray to check pelvic size leh. i tot xray is not safe for preggies irregardless of which part of the body u are doing. some more direct on the pelvic?

<font color="0000ff">shay</font>, ur #1 is by natural? 3.7kg is big right?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>, i'm not a great lover of coconut either.

<font color="0000ff">yln</font>, bb Kaer looks satisfied! hehe.

<font color="0000ff">luvlel</font>, oh no. u had a scare! hope u are feeling better already!

<font color="aa00aa">cold cabbage leaves</font>
i remember that these are used only if u have very bad breast infection and very painful or to stop milk supply. best to clear engorgement is to keep massaging the lumps towards the nipples and pump using electric pump or get bb to latch frequently to clear the engorgement. massage must be very hard and will be very painful so is best done by someone else other than urself because if u do urself, u can "control" the pain so u wun apply enough pressure.

<font color="aa00aa">confinement recipe</font>
anyone got a easy recipe for the vinegar pig trotters? i quite like it but dunno how to cook. dunno if my cl will know how to cook or not.

<font color="aa00aa">gift shop at TMC</font>
anyone knows if the gift shop at TMC pump helium balloons? or where can i pump helium balloon around TMC?

jvenus,
yeah i thought so too..weird huh. I will call TMC and ask tom.

mulberry,
i would be very very anxious too if im u! but now good la, cos u were admitted for preterm contractions earlier right? At least now baby is very safe to see the world =)

Luvlel,
take care ya and dun worry too much, talk to bb!

yln,
ur kaer is so adorable. M sure all mummies here are v anxious to see our darlings too

huichin

*ooops* NB = NB clothes.. Heheh, i meant nursing bras..
Ur fren's so sweet.. U're even sweeter! U're supposed to be resting, but u're prep yummilicious food for ur fren

Enjoy ur dinner party!!

luvlel

Are things better now? Keep us updated k?? *hugs*

I just came back from my gynae appointment. Dr says baby prob will be under 3kg at birth and water level is gd. Baby's engaged and she is facing my right side. Baby was super active while I was strapped on CTG machine, almost fell asleep.

cocomo,
If it's not too much trouble, can update the table? My baby's weight is 2.7kg at wk37. Thanks!

hisstory / M2B,
The Fox outlet at Tampines was quite messy and I didn't have alot of time to browse through before the movie. In the end, only got one red jumper suit and one purple romper. Seems their sizes quite big cutting huh?

hisstory,
You so lucky to get nursing bras from La Senza. I went to the one at Tampines and the sales assistant said no more nursing bra

YLN,
Your Kaer looks quite cheeky, with the tongue sticking out. Did she just wake up?

I'm glad that your breastfeeding is going well and somemore the Ameda pumps are helping. I hope mine goes well too, I also got the pumps from Mumsfairy ;)

huichin,
you on ML already? Feels like waiting game hor? I now also don't know if I should rest at home or go out for my work appointments. Cos there's this "what if baby decides to come out earlier" thought.

My mum more kan chiong than me, yday start to teach the new maid to sterilise the bottles liao.

shay / medusa,
Both of you feel the baby want to come out already? So far, I only feel down there v heavy even though my bb is engaged. Did Dr Heng tell you which presentation your baby is? Cos she said my baby is facing my right side. Thought usually is face the mummy's butt or face mummy.

Got my admission letter today. Dr Heng said I prob will give birth around after National Day to my initial EDD 170808, is on track to my EDD. Next week she will do VE for me.

BTW, I asked Dr Heng any surcharge for 080808, she said no, only surcharge for 090808 cos it's a public holiday.

luvlel,
hope things will work out according to your wishes. Tell your baby to guai guai stay inside you for another 2 more weeks.

Luvlel,

take care!! Keep talking to ur baby and do relax. My baby also came out when he's 35 weeks plus... and everything was fine. Dun worry ok and try to eat more so baby grow bigger

Hisstory,

ur grandma very you chuang yi (innovative) le!! hee hee..
My mil is quite a good cook and always come up with different dishes. Love the pig kidney and chicken she cooked

Cold cabbage is to stop/slow down milk flow...
If breast is engroged can use warm towel or bottle with warm water (or warm rice - from my mil) and massage, milk will flow out easily...

YLN,

Kaer looks so satisfied
so sweet &amp; Cute

Shint/Jvenus, ya i oso kena cramps every night! LOL...just have to get used to it by pointing /stretching ur feet upwards slowly. It works! Now i expert in doing it liao - even when i'm awaken by the cramps n feeling sleepy! lol...

hisstory, haha...oh solly i din know u were refering to nursing bras. Hahaa...btw i got mine super cheAp from BHG Bugis - this brand called Eternity. Very nice and comfy..(i always have trouble finding cup size n width to fit...this brand have la)! hehehe...cheap and comfy! They were having a promo - like 1st pc $12.90, 2nd
pc 50% off and 3rd pc 30%. So total i spent abt $28+ bucks for 3 maternity bras! hehe...

And oops* i was actually cooking dinner for my hubby n MIL. Hahaa...wanted to invite my colleagues (2 of them) to come by my house, but i couldn't resist the temptation to FREE aircon at the Mac near my house, and the other colleague wanted to go to somewhere with wireless (she left earlier from ofis just to meet me so gotta do abit of work while waiting for me) so nice rite! So just nice meet at Mac. Hehehe...i was scared i couldn't make it back on time to cook dinner so i cooked 1st b4 i left house loh. Hhehe...

valnsw, yea i'm on ML liao...no choice. Have tot it over, better start taking ML now, then later when i go back to work i still can clear my leave if needed esp for bb - comes to the same oso bah. Yea..cannot wait la! Anyone predicting going to deliver (maybe) this wk like me? hehe..

Got the latest news from Catherine that she gave birth to her daughter Bernice today at 1.25pm. Baby is 2.69kg 49cm.

huichin,
haha I also got the same brand of nursing bra from BHG today. So coincidental! Actually, I bought that brand of nursing bra from Robinsons during their sale, found it not bad so got one of bigger size today.

Now you on maternity leave, gota find things to entertain yourself. You confirm inducing this Friday then?

hii mummies..
just popping by before i go pump my milk

ya...i took the pic after i bf her..so thats why she looked like that lor...

i am currently wearing the MIM nursing bra..and i must say..it is really good..the opening flap is good ..unlike the ones i bought from Metro..think the bra is Eternity or Impression...cannot rem liao...the eternity/impression one..the opening quite small..so, when i latch or pump...must fold the inner openings again..but the MIM one..just unbuckle and full breast is there...very easy for bf-ing and pumping...think those mummies who havent buy nursing bras...MIM is a good buy...

for 2nd time mummies
can i check with u, do u stick with the PD the gynae/hospital assign u or u switch to one that u prefer? my PD assigned to me is far leh..inconvenient for subsequent vaccination visits...so thinking if i can just dun go to her and go somewhere else...must inform them anot ??

val

Ur loot sounds pretty too! Hmm, bigger cut also gd.. Can last longer? *heheh*

u want to call the other outlets to check? It's quite a pity if they still have stock &amp; we can't land our hands on them. They are really quite worth it after the 70% discount..

Btw, i saw tt Spring has some NB at $29.90 each.. There're those tt are wired &amp; others non-wired..

peppermintt

*heheh* My grandma really fantastic huh? My mum says, curry chicken also can be confinement food.. *hahah* coz it's heaty mah.. Dunno whether she's joking anot

huichin

I think i know which NB u're referring to.. I thought they wld come padded leh, but they dun. if not they are really gd buys, so cheap some more

Wah, u still cook dinner for ur HB &amp; MIL eh? *applause* u're really gd wifey &amp; DIL

YLN

Ooh gd to hear ur positive reviews abt MIM's NB.. *Heheh* Then the 2 i bought are at least gd investment

Jvenus, hisstory, valnsw,
I am little better now. If I rest then no pain but if I walk around pain increases. Still hoping baby would listen to mama and stay for another 2 weeks.

Joanne,
Thanks for the wishes!

peppermintt,
Was your baby considered preterm? Any health complications later on while growing up?

Catherine,
Congratulations!! Wish to see bernice pics soon.

luvlel,
i keep my fingers crossed 4 u aso. hopefully ur bb will stay inside 4 another 2 wks. ur case is v similar 2 mine. d oni difference is, my water bag had burst liao. so as wat my gynae said, i had reached d pt of no rtn oledi.

mulberry,
ya, u r rite. when my bb was abt 2 come out, i kept gg 2 d toilet. i can go like every 5 mins.

jvenus,
my recipe :
2 Pig's Trotters
1 kg Old Ginger, skinned &amp; smashed lightly
4 Tbsp Sesame Seed Oil
1 bottle (~4cups) Black Vinegar
600g Brown Sugar
4 Hard Boiled Eggs, shelled
9 cups water

Clean &amp; pluck off the hair from the pig's trotters. Cut into Big serving pieces.
Heat Sesame Seed Oil. Fry Old ginger until golden brown &amp; fragrant.
Put fried ginger into a BIG claypot. Add vinegar, water, and brown sugar. Bring to a boil and leave to simmer for 1/2 an hour until ginger becomes soft.
Add pig's trotters and continue to simmer until soft &amp; tender (approx. 2hrs)
Add shelled hard-boiled eggs 1/2 and hour before serving. My confinement Nanny puts the eggs in with its shells still on though. This way, the vinegar will dissolve the shells and provide more calcium for the mother in confinement!

hope tt it helps.

yln,
u dun hv 2 stick wif d pd tt ur gynae/hospital assigned 2 u. u can go 2 ur own. no need 2 inform them.

luvlel,
good to know that you are a bit better. if you feel pain when you walk, you then better rest in bed. baby will listen to mama and stay longer. don't worry.

catherine,
congrats.

Hello mummmies,
Waah! so many posts in one afternoon!!! Went for my check-up today too! Baby's 2.9kg @ 37 wks.

Hey YLN,
Good to know that you're going well with breast-feeding!

Hi Luvlel,
Try to rest as much as possible, k? Guess you've probably over-strained yourself with all the shopping and cooking.
As much as we love doing things for our baby and hubby, we should also be mindful of our limitations, esp at 3rd trimester.

valnsw
Did your dr mention how much was the surcharge for national day? Your's is east shore? I need to go in early for c-sec on National Day at TMC, not sure if they have surcharge too :-(

Anyone knows if there is surcharge for TMC on public holidays?

luvlel

then u must be gd mama too..guaiguai get as much bed rest &amp; veryvery little chores after u are discharged k?

catherine

*congrats* Look fwd to hearing the updates of urself &amp; bb Bernice

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Mummy</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's weight</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Pop On</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD>Length</TD><TD>Weight </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Mrs Teng (Tigg3r)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.6kg &amp; 1.8kg@33w</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>Cherilynn &amp; Clarabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.74kg &amp; 1.84kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Peppermintt (peppermint)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug</TD><TD>4-Jul</TD><TD>Evan</TD><TD>49.5cm</TD><TD>2.7kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Roiv (roiv)</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.2kg@29w</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2.2kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Vone (vone)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.775kg@34w</TD><TD>16-Aug</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>48cm</TD><TD>2.67kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Dongle (dongzzz)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Glen / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.06kg@38w</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD>20-Jul</TD><TD>Cayla</TD><TD>49cm</TD><TD>3.33kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>YLN (doll_puppet)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.9kg@36w</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>23-Jul</TD><TD>Kaer</TD><TD>52cm</TD><TD>3.4kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Mini</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD>24-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2.63kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Little twin stars (stardiva)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.6kg@34w</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>3.05kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Aurora (blue_aurora)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.8kg@38w</TD><TD>5-Aug</TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Ratatouille (gan_chiong_spider)</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.989kg@35w</TD><TD>19-Jul</TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>Jacinta</TD><TD>51cm</TD><TD>3.625kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Catherine (dardar63)</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.6kg@37w</TD><TD>15-Aug</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD>Bernice</TD><TD>49cm</TD><TD>2.69kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Shay (shay)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.4kg@38w+</TD><TD>31-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Interrace (interrace)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.2kg@38w+</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Waterlotus (waterlotus)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Loh S F</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy &amp; Girl</TD><TD>1.8kg &amp; 1.4kg@32w</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>M2B (mayvs_m2bagain)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Dr Lee Wei Hong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.3kg@38w2d</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Wing (wing_wing)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.2kg@36w</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Mulberry (bab1es)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.3kg@34w4d</TD><TD>5-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Julie</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr HK Tan</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Alinda</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.12kg@32w</TD><TD>6-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Huichin (huichin)</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.9kg@37w</TD><TD>8-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Megan (2008baby)</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Dr HY Tan</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.5kg@36w</TD><TD>8-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Missysz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Yuuri (yuuri)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.639kg@34w</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>babydreamer</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.6kg@31wk</TD><TD>9-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Celynlee (celynlee)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Thum</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.84kg@37w</TD><TD>10-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Shirley</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.2kg@39w</TD><TD>10-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Doubleblessing</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>Boy &amp; Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Earnestmum (earnestmum)</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.2kg@37w2d</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Avocado (rosehip)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.7kg@37w</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Medusa15 (medusa15)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.7kg@36w</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Annlee (ann)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.08kg@33w</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Faithmum</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adeline Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1.5kg@30w</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Gemini (gemini)</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.3kg@33w</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Krex</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A/ TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.1kg@36w5d</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Fitbaby (fitbaby)</TD><TD>38</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.8kg@34w6d</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Valval (princess_v)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan H.K.</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.2kg@35w</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Happycat (happycat)</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Dr WL Choo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.3kg@34w</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Chipchip (chipchip)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.56kg@37w1d</TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Lindsay</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Gayle Tan (mummy81)</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.45kg@36w</TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Cindy (mrslow)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.22kg@35w3d</TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Reirei (reirei)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr CY Chen</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.55kg@36w5d</TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Cocomo</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.75kg@37w</TD><TD>15-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Valnsw (valnsw)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Dr Heng TL</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.7kg@37w</TD><TD>15-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Mousse (mousse)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.9kg@37w</TD><TD>16-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>hashisan (yoyo06)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.4kg@35w5d</TD><TD>16-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>RTCP (rtcp)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr KW Lee</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2kg@33w</TD><TD>17-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Jo (swee)</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.9kg@33w</TD><TD>18-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>327g@19w6d</TD><TD>18-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Nini (diorly)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.35kg@34w</TD><TD>19-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>Snow74 (snow74)</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.52kg@36w</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>Zynn</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>Elmo</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>Dr YC Goh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.6kg@35wk</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>Neera</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1, 2</TD><TD>Boy &amp; Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>Krmeow (krmeow)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.2kg@36w</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>55</TD><TD>Amabel's mummy (msapple)</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1.732kg@32w2d</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>56</TD><TD>Cloudz7 (cloudz7)</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.3kg@36w</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>57</TD><TD>Strawberry (cookie_baby)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.4kg@34w</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>58</TD><TD>Happymum</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>AP Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>59</TD><TD>Shenny</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>474g@20w5d</TD><TD>22-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>60</TD><TD>Faeriekim (faeriekim)</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.2kg@32w</TD><TD>22-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>61</TD><TD>Babywise (babywise)</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.6kg@36w</TD><TD>22-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>62</TD><TD>Happi (steph_steph)</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.505kg@34w4d</TD><TD>23-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>63</TD><TD>Sandygirl72</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>390g@20w5d</TD><TD>23-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>64</TD><TD>Joybleu</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>65</TD><TD>Sabbath</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>66</TD><TD>Shint (shint)</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.5kg@34w</TD><TD>26-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>67</TD><TD>Joanne (jolim10)</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.8kg@35w3d</TD><TD>26-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>68</TD><TD>Saigonapple</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>566g@22w</TD><TD>27-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>69</TD><TD>QiQi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>330g@20w4d</TD><TD>28-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>70</TD><TD>Hewchen</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>71</TD><TD>Hisstory (hisstory)</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Dr Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2.4kg@34w</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>72</TD><TD>Sylvia (yumeumi)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>73</TD><TD>Luvlel</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Dr M.George</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.4kg@34w6d</TD><TD>30-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>74</TD><TD>Carolynn (carolynnkby)</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Thum</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1.6kg@32w</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>75</TD><TD>Storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1.649kg@31w</TD><TD>5-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>76</TD><TD>Kel</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.3kg@34w</TD><TD>6-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77</TD><TD>Serriz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2.25kg@34w</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Mummies....
Just wondering when will 1st contraction start? I hsve 1-2 per day.

I don't think I will pop so soon rite? Am I right to say, is just the inital stage?

My baby gal seem to kick harder n more action pack each day...... I read that the baby should be less active when near deliver.... so does it mean mine is still far?

I sotong, so in case I blur blur n miss out impt pts.

Thanks mummies for all the food receipes!!

Oh my Indo maid coming in on Sun! Have to start training her before I go into delivery anytime!

Coming Thurs is my 38th wk checkup. At 37th wk, bb weighs about 3kg already. so now trying to control abit on my diet,but this period gets hungry so easily :p

I need to get some Nursing bras also, so far i only have 1(Eternity) which the size isn't right. Think I will have to pop by KiDDY Palace or go town to search.

vern,
Yup, I'm delivering at East Shore Hospital. I didn't ask how much the surcharge is for National Day. You may want to call up the hospital directly, for both TMC and East Shore to check. I'm not sure if your gynae will impose a surcharge on his/her doctor fee, cos it seems that Shint's doc is imposing one on his fee for her C-sect on 8 Aug.

For mummies who popped:
Any of you felt any cramping somewhat like menstrual cramps before popping?

Feeling menstrual-like cramps this morning. Not sure if it's stomach discomfort due to the jelly I ate last night or something else. I felt the urge to go poo but then end up only a little bit. I feel the cramps/discomfort more when I lie down on my left side. But when I don't lie down, I feel the cramps/discomfort not so bad.

Medusa,
You mentioned Dr Heng assigned Dr Ho as your boy's PD. Have you heard of Dr Cheng?

I saw she assigned Dr Cheng for my bb's PD on the admission letter. Is Dr Cheng male or female? Heard any feedback on this PD?

morning ladies! =)

hisstory
yup, c-sect scheduled on 8th aug liao.

medusa
same problem leh, my gal also suddenly get super clingy.
these few days she dun even wanna go my sis house, keep crying and holding on tightly to me.
but gotta be careful, my frequent BH araised from there also.
cos whenever we carried "heavy weight", it will actually press on our tummy and bb inside. =(

mulberry
my mum gave birth to 9 kids naturally w/o pain killer, but ended up both my bb gotta go thru c-sect....hee hee....how i hope she pass some gene down to me.

Luvlel
u feeling ok now?
take care.

catherine

vone, thanks for ur recipe! u mean the shells will be melt completely by the vinegar? safe or not? must wash very thoroughly if not run the risk of salmonella (not sure of spelling)?

Jvenus,
I think we only need to worry abt salmonella when the food is not thoroughly cooked. A chicken farmer once told my hubby not to take too much half-boiled eggs cos of salmonella. Hope this info helps!

morning mummies.

luvlel,
are you better now?

mousse,
I have been eating soft boiled eggs leh. just had 2 this morning for breakfast.

hi celyn,
hmmm... maybe try to take ur eggs well-done from now on??? :p my doc very cute leh, yesterday keep asking me for signs of contractions, show, discomfort, blah blah blah.. i keep telling her no no no. haha! anyway, i'd be seeing her next week, but b4 that, gotta go for ctg. is it the same for you?

mousse,
hehehe.... no leh. i don't need to go ctg now. gynae just ask me to look out for signs. anyway, he told me that i might be over due. i'm going to see him tomorrow and will ask for hl. heheheh.....

valnsw, hahaa...yea such a coincidence! LOL..i just happen to walk past, so saw like not bad n cheap so bot 3 loh. heh.

YLN, me havent used it yet so duno...hopefully it will not be as difficult to handle! LOL

hisstory, ya it doesnt come with any pads, but i think if necessary can use the disposable ones bah. Heh. Oh i just like to cook la...but now cannot stand too long...so cook minimal only. Heh.

Celyn/Snow/mousse, i've been avoiding half-boiled eggs ever since i was preggie siah! LOL...cos i was told abt the info like mousse said n i read in my preggie books b4 abt it too. Can take in super moderation (so far think i only took 4 times thru-out the whole 9mths+!) but best to avoid it i guess. Hard-boiled eggs recommended. Hahaa.

huichin,
you very good leh. i only avoid it during my first trimester. once my gynae give permission to eat when i ask at 2nd trimester, i just eat as and when i want. but of course not everyday kind lah. i always like soft boiled egg, so very hard to avoid. hehehe....

Catherine,

Luvlel,

How u feeling today?

my baby is considered preterm. If im not wrong >=37 weeks is considered full term.
My baby is healthy and there's no complication that's why he was not placed in the incubator or under special care. Was thinking probably he was of good weight - 2.7kg. My gynae was worried then that's why she got the PD to come when i delivered and everyone was saying baby is of good weight. However as baby is pre term the jaundice may take a longer time to clear. Other than tat my baby is ok and drinking well juz like any other baby
Another colleague of mine like me also delivered at 35 weeks and her son is going to a yr old and is a cheerful &amp; healthy baby.

Dun worry ok? Maybe u check with ur gynae? I think maybe cos ur baby is a bit smaller so it's better to stay in the stomach. My boss's DIL gave birth recently &amp; her baby though is full term is abt 2.2kg cos she's very thin that why... but baby is ok

rest well ya!

Good morning mummies

Vone
Aiyo... yr boy so sweet : ))
Hopefully mine will take the arrival of his sister just as well... : p

YLN
Kaer is very kewt.. still can stick out tongue somemore! And she looks really satisfied *burps*

Valnsw
Yeah I dunno if its becos she keep pressing against my bladder... everytime i walk i can feel her like coming out.. hee. Maybe its my imagination la..Dr Heng told me my baby is facing my ass : p. As for PD so far I know she has Dr Ho and Dr Loke usually. Dr Cheng I never heard before leh..Mine this time is Dr Ho again. I very fated with her one. : p
But ok lah i know her style liao so this time at least I am "prepared".

Snow
Yeah strange hor.. Its like as if they know soon they got another sibling joining them.. hehe.
Yeah i do feel the tummy tightening sometimes when i carry him.. but if I refuse him, no heart leh... : (

Here's what I found on the net and there are quite alot of reports on this .....
Now I am rethinking if I should go for the 080808 .... anyway, baby's health is more impt. It's lifelong. Will discuss with gynae and see how. Furthermore, hubby now is not for 080808.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2007/12/071212202023.htm

Elective Caesareans Carry Increased Risk Of Breathing Problems
ScienceDaily (Dec. 14, 2007) — Babies delivered by elective caesarean section around term carry up to a fourfold increased risk of breathing problems compared with babies delivered vaginally or by emergency caesarean section, concludes a study from Denmark published on the British Medical Journal website.

The rate of delivery by elective caesarean section is increasing. Previous studies have shown that elective caesareans are linked to an increased risk of newborn respiratory problems.
The exact reasons for this are unknown, but one explanation is that hormonal and physiological changes associated with labour are necessary for lungs to mature and that these changes may not be present in infants delivered by elective caesarean section. Gestational age at the time of elective caesarean section may also be important.
So researchers at Aarhus University Hospital in Denmark investigated the association between elective caesarean sections and newborn respiratory problems. They also analysed the importance of timing of elective caesarean sections.
Over 34,000 live born singleton babies without birth defects and with gestational ages of 37 to 41 weeks were included in the main analysis. Deliveries were categorised into two groups: elective caesarean section and intended vaginal delivery (i.e. all vaginal deliveries and emergency caesarean sections).
Factors that could affect the results, such as maternal smoking and alcohol intake during pregnancy, maternal body mass index, maternal age and education, were also taken into account.

2,687 infants were delivered by elective caesarean section. Compared with infants intended for vaginal delivery, infants delivered by elective caesarean section were found to have an increased risk of general respiratory problems.

This risk increased the earlier the caesarean was performed. A nearly fourfold increased risk was found at 37 weeks gestation, a threefold increase in risk at 38 weeks gestation, and a doubling of risk in infants delivered at 39 weeks gestation. Adjusting for maternal factors had little effect.

For example,
at 37 weeks, 2.8% of infants delivered by intended vaginal delivery had general respiratory problems compared to 10% of infants delivered by elective caesarean section.
At 38 weeks, the proportion was 1.7% compared to 5.1% and at 39 weeks, 1.1% compared to 2.1%.

The risks of serious respiratory problems showed the same pattern but with higher risk estimates than those for general respiratory problems.

Analyses after restriction to low risk pregnancies revealed slightly smaller risk estimates at 37 weeks gestation but essentially unchanged estimates at 38 and 39 weeks gestation for serious respiratory problems, whereas the estimates remained unchanged at all gestational ages for general respiratory problems.
Babies delivered by elective caesarean section at 37 to 39 weeks of gestation carry a two to fourfold increased risk of respiratory morbidity compared with babies delivered by intended vaginal delivery, say the authors.
They suggest that a significant reduction in neonatal respiratory morbidity may be obtained if elective caesarean section is postponed until 39 completed weeks of gestation.

http://www.babycenter.com/204_elective-c-sections-may-lead-to-newborn-breathing-problems_5226035.bc
Elective c-sections may lead to newborn breathing problems
Wed, Dec 12, 2007 (HealthDay News) — Infants delivered by elective Caesarean section are up to four times more likely to have breathing problems than babies born vaginally or by emergency C-section, says a Danish study published in the Dec. 12 online issue of the British Medical Journal.

Researchers analyzed data on 34,000 births and found the 2,687 infants delivered by elective Caesarean section had a nearly fourfold increased risk of breathing problems if they were delivered at 37 weeks' gestation, a threefold increased risk at 38 weeks' gestation, and twice the risk at 39 weeks' gestation.

For example, 2.8 percent of infants delivered by intended vaginal delivery (which includes both vaginal delivery and emergency Caesarean) at 37 weeks gestation had general respiratory problems, compared with 10 percent of infants delivered by elective Caesarean section.

At 38 weeks, the rates were 1.7 percent versus 5.1 percent, and at 39 weeks, 1.1 percent versus 2.1 percent.

The reasons why elective Caesarean increases the risk of respiratory problems aren't clear. The study authors suggested that certain hormonal and physiological changes associated with labor are necessary for an infant's lungs to mature. These changes may not occur in infants delivered by elective Caesarean section.

Postponing elective Caesarean section until 39 weeks gestation may greatly reduce the risk of breathing problems in infants, the researchers noted.

For those with medical condition, then no choice but for pple like me who is decided on a C-sect delivery can now make a decision to do it via
1) Elective C-section
2) Emergency C-section (dunno how this works ....) -- Eh, wait till water bag breaks then call gynae then check in for C-section? I think so ba.

do you all get hungry faster now? i need to take tea break now leh. how huh? i don't want to gain extra weight at this point of time leh.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
looking forward to see bb Bernice's pics

<font color="0000ff">Snow74</font>
eh but u have to go thru c-sect because of your slip disc condition, right? It's not because your pelvic bone is too small, right?

hee...i also hope i can follow my Mom's genes coz she also gave birth to us big babies via natural w/o painkillers. My eldest big bro was nearly 4kg when born. and I was 3.85kg when born :p

<font color="0000ff">Luvlel</font>
how r u today?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
*raise hand*... my appetite very good nowadays. Thus, my weight has never stop increasing. Everyweek when i go for my weekly checkup, i'll sure see my weight increase by abt 300gm.

mulberry,
heheh... i gain 1.6kg in 2 weeks leh. i don't wish to see more weight gain now leh, at 38 weeks liao leh. but still need to eat. can't tahan hunger. hahaha....