(2008/08) Aug 2008

Shint,

I believe elective c-section means it is scheduled c-section whereas emergency c-section happens when there is emergency need for c-section to be performed...eg tried natural but baby in distress or other medical condition like excessive bleeding or umbilical cord round the neck of baby or anything at all that have risk to mother and baby which required c-section to be performed immediately.

celyn,
if it makes you feel better, i've gained 3kg between my 35th wk & 37th wk while baby gained only 0.2kg. doc din complain so i guess it's okie. btw, i'm down with flu for the past few days.. cos took too much durian last fri...

vern,
thr wld normally b a surcharge 4 public holidays. it jus depends on hw much d hospital wans 2 charge.

sylvia,
ur 1 - 2 contractions cld b jus braxton hicks contractions. so dun worry abt it okie.

valnsw,
d cramps which i felt b4 i delivered is thr no matter wat position i m in. thus, if ur cramps can b 'relieved' by changing positions, then it tink tt it's normal.

jvenus,
ya, d shells will b melted by d vinegar. d egg will b 'held' together by d membrane. dun noe whether u understd wat i meant by tt. ya, b4 boiling d eggs, u hv 2 wash it v clean. 4 me, i prefer 2 boil d eggs separately then put them in d vinegar b4 serving so tt d egg can retain it's 'eggness' & d vinegar taste. u can try both mtds & c which 1 u prefer.

shint,
it's considered as emer c-sec if no date is scheduled 2 do c-sec. e.g. if u hv chosen 2 c-sec on 8 aug, then it's considered as elective c-sec. if d water bag burst, then u chk in 4 c-sec, it's considered as emer c-sec oledi.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
nevermind lah, we'll be giving birth soon. Hopefully we can lose the excess weight after give birth.
like u said, no choice for now, if hungry, we gotta eat :p

mousse,
heheh.... yah, you definitely make me feel better. my weight stay constant from 32-35 weeks then increase 1.6kg from 35-37 weeks. that's why i'm a bit upset. hehehe.... i think the contributor to my weight are the tibits that i took. heheh...

lucky for me, i don't have water retention. although i can't have durian due to GD but i still hope to eat 1 or 2 seed before i deliver. at the same time, i also worried that baby will become too big. sigh...

mulberry,
yah. altough upset with weight gain but still will eat lah.

Celyn/mulberry, i oso can high-5 with u~! LOL...oso feel hungry faster now..when i went for checkup last Fri doc oso din complain me put on weight again, somemore when my hubby ask him how come suddenly my BP shot up so high he said might be cos of BB needing more food n nutrients, so pumping harder to get foood. The result: my BP shooting up higher cos body working harder to provide BB food. Like that wor...hhAHAA..

Lucky u din get water retention~! I din get it oso until these 2 wks...my feet is like super swollen siah! *faint*

ToDAY wanted to stay home but i reaLIsed last nite that the small nite lamp i bot from IkEA is cracked one! So while now still can move i better go ask for exchange. I hope i can change if not i'll starting bitching! LOL...how can like that..i open up then aredy cracked liao...not my fault siah. Crack somemore kena covered by label on wrapper...glass lamp use plastic to wrap only sure no protection rite~! LOL...

valval

For NB, i found several sources.. U may want to look further up the thread &amp; the previous day's posts for the lobangs

HTH

snow

Yest I went to my GP &amp; he commented tt with my frame &amp; bb was at 2.4kg at 34 weeks, I might have to consider C-section too

Ur gerger wld have a veryvery nice birth date!

huichin

^5!! I like to cook too, but HB prefers tt I dun.. He's now nagging whenever I do household chores. But if i dun do, &amp; he procrastinates in doing, then who wld do?? *faint*

huichin,
i think its better to call them before you make a trip down. confirm about the exchange if not you make a wasted trip worse right.

hisstory,
i enjoy cooking too and hubby likes it too. but i don't like to clean up. hahaha... lucky, my hubby is doing the cleaning. cos i told him, i cook he needs to clean. if he don't want to clean, then we eat out.

<font color="0000ff">mousse</font>, thanks for the reassurance! i guess wash already then boil will have killed the bacteria on the shells sufficiently?

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>, thanks for the clarification. think i know what u mean. sounds yummy!

<font color="0000ff">catherine</font>, congrats! post pics soon!

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>, dun talk about housework. been nagging hb to clean up for so long, all talk and no action. in the end, i hv to slowly do the cleaning up. that's why until now also haven't pack properly the baby clothes. all washed but kept in plastic bags.

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
i also got water retention on my feet and ankles. but i had them since i was in 3rd trimester liao, albeit not alot. But recently, it seem to be more swollen.
hee...my gynae very nice, said maybe part of the weight gain could be the water retention.

aiyo glass lamp, no bubble-wrap protection? how can like that. It is still wrapped up, right? i mean to prove that you haven't start to use it yet. If yes, i think should be able to get exchange.

Hahaaaa...hisstory, same siah! I lurve to cook, but my hubby complains that i've been feeding him too much he's put on too much weight! Heehee.. My hubby dun do the chores, of course i have to be the one~! I ask him wash the toilet in our room oso can drag till 3-4 days then finally wash it. I nag n nag until to a point i hate myself for being naggy! I told hubby - it's really MEN to make women NAGGY~! LOL...and i kept telling him, i can do NOW, if i still can do i will. But once BB comes, sorry, 95% time all focus n given to BB liao. Good luck k. Hahaha...

celyn, u have a point leh. But hor i dunch mind making a trip down cos can go see see look look again - maybe can get somemore things! hehe...need to buy a couple more storage boxes oso. And oso one of the mummies here mentioned abt some plastic sheet for kids bed one. See if still have or not. Good excuse for me to go down! hehe..will head there ard 2plus. Heh. Now relak at Mum's house 1st.

huichin,
hahah... yah, do a bit more shopping while we can now right. hopefully, you are not going alone. if not, how to carry the storage boxes back?

huichin,
u shld ask ikea 4 compensation. make a preggy woman go all d way thr jus 2 xchange a lamp.

hisstory,
my hb was like urs when i had my 1st bb. he dun wan me 2 do hsewk coz i had some complications then, yet he dun wan or hv no time 2 do himself. in d end, i had 2 endure a dusty hse 4 2 wks b4 he gave in &amp; cleaned d hse himself.

jvenus,
u r welcome. njoy ur pig trotters. i finally had mine yday, 13 days after i delivered...

Cocomo,

sorry to trouble u, realised my profile isnt complete - the update 2.4kg at 35weeks
schedule Csection on 18.8.2008
Dr Caroline Khi at TMC
28years expecting my 2nd princess

Congrats Catherine.... looking forward to see pics soon.

Mulberry, ur gynae very nice leh. Heh. The lamp has no bubble wrap one. Just a layer of plastic, that's it!

celyn, ya i'm going alone. Haha. Just need to get those cheaper cardboard storage boxes. SO quite like la. Anyway will grab a cab home afterwards. Hhehe.

vone, agree! hehe..wish me luck laters! heh.

Oh yes, Congrats to Catherine &amp; Baby Bernice!

ANyone gauging / on standby to pop this week?

Thanks for all your concern n well wishes.

Congrats to other mummies who have popped too - YLN, Mini, Little twin star (same day!
), ratatouille and catherine.

My boy is underweight! Only 2.5kg at birth, lower than what was expected. See him so small, i so heart pain. Wonder where all the nutrients went to... His height is 47cm

My birth story:
25th July
3am - woke up to poo (like having diarrhoea)
3am till 6.30am - mild contractions (thot i had stomachache)
6.30am - went to pee and saw 'show'
9.30am - admit to hospital. Contractions continued
11.30am - doc assisted to break waterbag when dilation was 3cm
11.30am to 3pm - contactions intensified until I was practically crying in pain (no wonder cannot wear contact lens!)
3.15pm - cannot tahan, asked for painkiller injection when told tt dilation only 4cm. (It didn't ease the pain at all! Just made me more drowsy combined wif the laughing gas. I was yelling in pain with every contraction tt comes almost every minute.)
4.45pm - dilation increased to 10cm and baby was eager to be pushed out.

Think I took less than 10 pushes before bb is out cos he's small in size. The pushing is ok.. it's the contractions tt nearly killed me (don't wan to use epidural). :p

Tho' the labour not considered to be very long, it's truly a wild adventure and I dunno when im game enuff for number 2. Hahaa.. Rest of the mummies waiting to pop - Ganbatte!!!

Thks vone!

Congrats Aurora n welcome bk! U're a brave mama! hehe...i hope to be like u, can tahan not using epi!

How is the 'show' like ah?

medusa
for me, maybe its my own itchy mouth lah.
i keep telling her mei mei is coming out to play with her soon lor.
ya, its the heart pain that is the killer.
i can't bear to see my gal cry for my hug also.

shint
dun think too much, all my friend's bb who went thru c-sect got no such problem at all. =)
might not be alot, but 15 bb in total that i noe of lor.
so, its very much depend on how healthy the mother is also.
my eldest sis gave birth to 3 sons naturaly w/o epidural, sad to say but they got breathing problem when young instead lor.
i dun encourage c-sect, but just stating a facts.

celyn
i got hungry every 2.5hrs, no matter what i ate before that. =|

mulberry
ya lor, din take care of myself well enough during teenage time. =P
hee hee...how i hope i can be like my mum.

hisstory
u can choose the same date also? =)
then next yr all our bb can celebrate bday together liao....ha ha.....

waterbag leak on 25/7 and give birth on 26/7 @ 12.30am. baby boy weight at 2.6kg. length at 48cm and head at 33cm. now tbf and very tired. natural brith without epidural.reach tmc already 3cm and labuor is 3 hrs. born at 37wks and can discharge together after 3 days 2 nite stay with me.

Engorgement
I'm feeling better today. BB seemed know tt i was having engorgement, demand feeding every 1.5 - 2 hrs whole day yesterday (n night!) It really eased the pain. Still can feel some lumps, so trying to massage them.

Confinement n grudges
Just to vent some steam here. My confinement is done by MIL. She is very nice n really cares a lot for me, but sometimes the things she say really upsets me. I cried a few times since i came home from hospital (i know it's not good).

1st - there r quite a number of differences between her methods n mine in caring for the bb. I can't do much now, so hubby helping. But she'll be there to say this n tt and hubby became v frustrated being sandwiched by two opposing views n sort of scolded me for being unappreciative. I was really upset! Hubby went for antenatal course with me n yet can forget all the stuff learned there. My MIL's knowledge of caring for a bb is dated 20 over years ago and she has forgotten a lot of things. She can't even bathe the bb properly. E.g. Washed the bb's hair and then wanted to put him straight into the tub without drying the hair 1st or letting the bb test the water. My bb had an unpleasant 1st bath yesterday. Poor bb was yelling throughout. I told my hubby, if i can do all these things now myself, I will. I can accept the fact tt she's forgetful, lack the knowledge. But the worse thing is she refused to listen to my suggestions unless I keep insisting. E.g. the cord spirit must be apply in circular motion, she kept saying must dab dab dab. Nurse oredi warned us not to dab lor. And my hubby can forget! So i hv to raise my voice and insist it to be done in one motion. I know i sounded disrespectful. But I rather that than see bb suffer.

2nd - breast feeding views
Hubby came to me on sun to relay a message from MIL. Expressed breastmilk stored in fridge shdn't be given to bb. Her friends all said not good for babies. I looked at hubby and said, then what to feed bb when i return to work. Reply: use formula milk. I nearly strangled him. Today, she saw my breastpump with some milk inside and said cannot give those milk to bb. It's cold, not good. Then told me breastfeed for 3 months then when i return to work, bb can drink formula milk. I replied firmly tt I'm going to feed bb with breastmilk till he's 1 yr old. She then told me again what her friends said about expressed bm stored in fridge. I told her, everyone is doing tt. Docs n nurses are recommending it. Then explain tt the expressed bm is safe cos of the way the pump works and the container is air tight. She gives me the skeptical look, and insists milk kept in fridge then reheat for bb not good. So I insisted back tt it is ok. Haiz... wonder what she'll do with my expressed bm when im not at home. Prob throw away n give bb formula. Think i will throw the FM away when i return to work. When i think abt this i get v sad n cry. Here we are trying so hard to establish supply, diligently pumping. Then such comments. I told hubby tt im disappointed in him. MIL old generation dun understand nvm, but how cld he side with his mum?

avocado,
congrats on your baby!
Do get your rest and update us later on your birth story!

vone,
thanks for the info on cramps. I realised I get the crampy feeling more when I lie down on my left side. But anyway, the feeling seems to have subsided already. Could be I ate something wrong.

celyn / mulberry / snow,
I just woke up from nap and then start feel hungry like you ladies. Maybe cos I didn't eat alot during bfast and lunch cos of the cramps.
Just eat for baby's sake. Later then think of losing the weight...

huichin,
so you gona be induced this Friday?

cocomo,
you mentioned before you were having some prob with your new maid? Hope she is getting better and you can get some help some way, before you give birth, cos I remember you said you're having C-sect on 4 Aug?

Got sms from Little twin stars that she's discharging today, so I guess we probably will get to hear her birth story soon.

Hi Ladies!

I'm getting my induction tonight @10pm. Keeping my fingers crossed for smooth and fast delivery
Long before hand, already asked my gynae to prepare epidural for me he..hee..

Got to get ready, now. Will hear from me soon!

valnsw
yes, just eat what u wanna eat at this stage. =)

today very quiet hor?
think cos most of them either still in hospital, or some went deliver liao. =P

Hui Chin,
The show is muscus-like, red in colour. A bit like what we hv during menses sometimes.

Avocado
Congrats on your newborn! TBF can be very tiring. Perservere yah!

fitbaby,
jia you! Hope you will have a smooth delivery. Talk to your baby to be guai guai and have smooth delivery ;)

aurora,
oh dear, sorry to hear about your issues with MIL. It's never easy when MIL and your view do not concur. Not to mention, now you are also at an emotional state.

Hmm, do you want to talk to your hubby about it? Tell him how you feel and that certain things which were taught are the correct methods and not MIL's views/ideas. Tell him you've been crying and upset over this. If this continues, you might fall into post-natal depression (scare him abit la). At least, maybe your hubby can tell your MIL to back off abit.

Would it also help if your mum can come visit you and give you abit of moral support? And perhaps your mum can help fend off your MIL.

BTW, your MIL is only there for 1-mth confinement right? For now, just let her help you with the household chores &amp; cooking. So after that, can just ignore her. Just my 2 cents worth.

snow,
yup, today's thread abit quiet. I was about to go to office today but then felt some cramping decided to stay at home.

Then, just happened I woke up from nap, then now see all the posts liao.. haha now eating something liao, hv to feed my bb.

*Poof* Today is v hot day!! just when I thought we got some cool respite from the rainy weather.

snow74,
i think it will get quieter as we goes, cos everyone will be either in hospital waiting to pop, busy with baby then followed by full month.

fitbaby,
jia you and have a smooth delivery.

valnsw,
wow, so nice, just wake up from nap. i wish i'm home to take nap too.

aurora,
you very good leh, do without epi. 'pei fu'

try not to be too upset. i know its hard when everyone had different view. that's why i decided to engage a CL instead of asking my mum to do. jiayou, we are here to support whenever you need.

snow 74,
feeling better nowadays? another 10 more days n we can see our bb gers

fitbaby,
jia you n hope u have a smooth delivery

aurora,
dun b upset, Guess that how the older generation think. Everythin must b warm n "fresh" den can give bb. Since u r at home now, just continue to BF yr baby, dun think so much bout wat she say.. Cheer up

avocado &amp; aurora: Congrats on your bundles of joy!

aurora: poor thing, can understand why u feel so upset. Guess have to let your hubby know that you need his support especially during this period. My MIL will also be doing the confinement. Hope everything runs well...

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>
wow ur labour is very fast, only 3 hours.
rest well ya.

<font color="0000ff">aurora</font>
oh dear, so sorry to hear about your confinement blues.
like the rest advised, you must talk to your hubby and ask him to support you.
Re: EBM
u should be bringing your bb to PD for checkup in another week or so, right?
perhaps ask your MIL to follow along and then purposely ask the PD regarding EBM. Once she hears from a doctor that it's safe, it should shut her up. :p

<font color="0000ff">fitbaby</font>
wish u a smooth delivery!

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
i think as we are nearer to edd, we will get crampy feeling. These few days, i also got crampy feeling but doesn't last long.

Avocado,
Congrats! Datz considered a v fast labour!

Aurora,
Wat u are going thru right now was wat i feared few mths back.
Datz why even tho my mil is coming over to my house during confinement to help, i'm still hiring a confinement lady, bcos i find it easier to tell CL wat to do than to talk to my mil cos she can be rather stubborn sometimes.

Now even b4 bb is born, oredie got conflicts..e.g. she bot the 'ru yi you' and 'jing feng shan' for bb.
but hb &amp; i are not comfortable in using them, esp. jing feng shan...how can let newborn bbs take those traditional medicine?!
Even the bottle oso says 'take at ur own discretion'...anyways, i was so mad dat i threw the bottle away..

I had a long talk to hb and we haf made a point to mil - bb is our responsibility, so we will decide wat to give and wat not to give bb cos we have attended antenatal classes and oso read abt bb care, so we are more knowledgeable than her lor.

As for ur hb, if i were u, i wld ask the PD directly for advice and let him hear from the professional himself, rather than hearing from me.
the sad truth is, hbs tend to be defensive of their own mums, so sometimes wat u say to him may not drill into him. Dat was oso why i signed up for antenatal class for both of us to attend.
Anyway, u are not alone. U can definitely find support here, yah! *hugz*

Snow
Yeah hopefully when our little ones finally arrive they will not give us a hard time.. hehe.
Hope they will become guai guai.

Aurora
Sorry to hear about that. Try to take it easy. As a new mother it can be very over whelming when you are trying to handle arrival of bb, breastfeeding, plus outside factors like ILs.So what you feeling is perfectly normal. We will get irritated easily. I was like that when i had my #1 but dun worry after you survive the 1st month, things will fall into place. It is hard to deal with MIL becos often we and them have different school of thoughts. But try not to let it strain yr relnp. Afterall i think she has good intentions, is just that she is not as well-informed like the modern mummies now. As for breasfeeding, just do it. As long as you are doing it right and you still have supply to give, then go ahead. Our mothers of that era are too "brain washed" by FM so they always think FM is the best. Even my own mum also... last time she see me feeding my #1, she will tell me so diluted, baby will be full meh.. haha. So I will just tell her breast milk is best, even on formula milk tin, if you check, they also say "breastmilk is best" So after that she will *zip up*. So from time to time you will get all sorts of ppl passing strange comments but learn to fend it off. That time i got some "aunties" even tell me to add nestum to my breastmilk so that bb will be full. I just smiled politely... of cos i ignored such rubbish :p

Chin chin,

thanks for the sambal mee tai mak receipe.

congrats to avocado &amp; aurora!!
pei fu for not using epdidural!!

Dun get too upset by you mil aurora, maybe can ask her to go back home if u can manage baby on your own ? is not worth being upset and depressed during confinement after the hard labour. i am doing my own confinement, thus i can be spared from all these unnecessary debates and happenings with mil, own mom or cl. try to ignore her comments if she is staying for the whole mth and let her do what she thinks is best for baby, let ur hubby supervise her and u just get ur rest, noe is hard to do so, but try loh..sometimes when u can fight them, u join/bo chup them..just for one mth ba. just sharing my tots.

Jia you fitbaby!! be back with ur baby pics and birth story soon yo!

today really is a super hot day, just like ytd.
me just being a full time hse wife while waiting for baby to pop. cooking dinner later, having pan fry salmon, spinach with ikan billis and ABC soup,may go for ice cream treat after dinner.

ytd went to see doc, still no signs or symptons, thus doc say to induce 5 days after edd which is the 5th aug, thus will see how things goes these few days.so scared of induction..heard is gg to be a long long wait..

are you feeling better lulvel ?

valnsw, those might be BH that you are experiencing wor, do monitor if it persists.

wow,quite a number of mummies has popped! for those that has delivered, congrats!

as for those who are waiting, we jia you together!

as for myself, i'm still waiting and telling my bb not come out too fast..

Vone,

Tks for ur info. Theoritically read about it, but practically dunno wat is it. Hahaha!!

Avocado,

Congrats on ur delivery!!

Hope everyone and babies are healthy!!

Really thanks so much for your kind words and advice. It's really comforting to hv ur support. I did try to talk to my hubby abt the issues. He understands but just tt sometimes he feels we shd be more patient with his mother. He is also in a difficult position... Try lor. I told him to 'supervise' his mum. Hopefully with more practice, she's able to cope. I know it's not easy for her oso. Now I just hv to try to close one eye bah.

Too bad, I'm LIVING WITH inlaws! So the EBM issue might crop up again later when i return to work. Maybe i'll get my mum to help assure her tt it's safe for bb to drink. My mum helped my sis-in-law to do confinement and takes care of her bb. During confinement, my SIL expressed out her bm so my mum cld help feed the bb in the night and she cld rest. Sometimes I really wish my mum is the one doing confinement for me.

Don't worry, I'll soon get over this. Hahaa.. really emotional easily. I keep telling myself the issue is not big, but dunno why still wanna cry. My MIL kept asking me n my hubby why i cried, i told her nothing. Then i told my hubby to tell her it's postnatal blues lor. I wanted to tok to my mum, but scared she'll be worried to hear me cry. Luckily i hv you mummies in this forum as listening ears.. if not really will sink in depression. Really thanks for the hugs n support!

avocado
wah,,really envy u...so fast and smooth delivery
..congrats!

aurora
i think u should just follow ur instincts as mothers know best..
...i also dun like to listen to my MIL's stupid theories..but i just smile smile..if i buay tahan liao...then i will just tell her i will do it my way..of cuz i will also forsee future problems when she fully look after my bb ( just that i heng i dun stay with them:p)....i think we need to just be strong and reinforce our own stand and may have to keep repeating our stand and opinion, but heh...its our baby we talking about...will we harm our own bb? think sometimes old people just like to contribute their own opinions...so i also hear from ear..and out from the other...:p...aurora..maybe u shld do that too...:p..dun think too much k?

Aurora

*hugz*
We mummies here will be here to support each other k? I think yr hubby also in a difficult position so try to understand his difficulty also. Perhaps it is also a learning phase for yr MIL also. It's normal to cry lah.. it is just our hormones acting up. As long as you know you still have support in us and yr hubby then you wun feel so alone. I also cried easily that time also... when pregnant with #1 see my feet swollen like elephant's feet, also cried...: p

Hope everything will be ok for you. Most importantly enjoy yr bonding time with yr little bundle of joy and hubby.

aurora, there's definitely conflicts btwn ILs and parents esp when bb arrives bcos both have own views and knowledge. do continue to BF ur bb and at 3 months when she sees ur baby happy and active, she will believe that BM is good. cheer up!

Just came back from Ikea Tampines - and managed to change the lamp for a new one! hehe...that fella who attended to me seems to be very used to seeing cases like mine, never ask much then say ok i will issue u credit note, u can just pop in to get the same one

So easy loh! hehe...bot some misc stuff like the inflatable changing mat + cottony covers (comes in pack of 2). Think it's very gd if i wanna change bb on my bed! hehe...couldn't find the plastic sheet that one of the mummies here mentioned earlier. It's ok la. hehe...and got to eat my fav Ikea ice cream(could have been better if less sweet)! Heh. Indulge...

valnsw, till now, yes the plan is for me to go induce this Fri, or even Sat(gynae going on leave on the 3rd Aug). So we'll see how bah...since my mum kept saying 1 Aug is hungry ghost fest's 'chu yi', i might push to Sat if possible. Easier oso. Heh...wish me luck! Heheh...

Aurora, thks for the description of the 'show'. Now at least i know what to look out for! hehe...btw, sorry to hear abt ur issues with ILs. Probably this is the beginning, everyone needs time to adjust to it, so jiayou k! Dun feel depressed, everything is a new learning process for everyone. Gam bateh! hehe...whoa actually i cannot imagine when it comes to my turn. I'm chinese and my MIL is malay so when it comes to taking care of BB oso got differences one loh..and chances are my hubby's grandma will come n help oso...whoa lagi worse...like why must let BB sleep on their stomach from 3-4mths big onwards etc. I read so many articles that sleeping on stomach can cause sudden infant cot death, things like that. Then here we are having example of my hubby's 6mth-old niece sleeping on her stomach. I oso dunch understand...so i told hubby 1st - dun blame me if i ask question. Gimme a satisfying &amp; reasonable answer i will accept loh. Not like suka suka it's like that one - solly i will not agree! LOL.

You're welcome Interrace

mulberry / interrace,
thanks for sharing on the cramps. I'm monitoring now. The cramps not there already but I do feel some pulling sensation and abit of hardening and loosening at the area below my belly button. Can feel this sudden pull accompanied by sligh pain/discomfort but lasts for a v short while.

huichin,
ganbatte! You can look forward to seeing your little one soon!
Not sure about letting bb lie on stomach but I heard that should sometimes let bb sleep on the side, to prevent the head from getting flat head. Anyway, I also feel dangerous to let bb lie on stomach, later accidentally suffocate.

aurora,
we're all here to share and listen. So cheer up!
Can come here to rant if you need to let off steam.

Aurora,

And HUGS HUGS HUGS!!
We share the same sentiment!
I encounter some differences with my mil juz like u but my mil is not staying with me.

My mil is doing the confinement for me. Like ur mil, she's a nice lady but i guess is the post natal blues that's getting on our nerves and i have cried a few times too.

Ture that the last time she took care of a baby was years ago and now things are different and we have to teach them the way we wan our kids to be looked after. I get my hubby to do "educate" my mil (most of the time) as it's easier that way. Am glad that my hubby understands too.

Like the bathing part, after washing the hair have to dry the hair first before bathing the body. To wipe the poo first before bathing (i have to reiterate the importance of it otherwise baby will be bathing with his poo!)

Elderly are also more gan chiong when baby cries as they afraid baby will "jing feng". My mil keeps pushing the pacifier into his mouth which i really hates it (the pacifier is actually a standby in case baby cries like tomato). Today i cant take it anymore i told her baby dun know how to suck. But she still insists. Luckily baby din suck and she stops thereafter...
etc etc etc...

But as wat my best fren told me, we need her help and baby is her grandson she dotes him juz like we do. So we have to let go a bit... however if there're things that cannot be compromise gotta educate her la...

Regarding the EBM, never heard of this man! wat crap is it.. ?!
Tell her that world health organisation suggested BF min 6 mths and EBM is totally safe! Get ur hubby to do the talking so ur relationship with her wont be strained.

But sometimes i guess it's also the post natal blues that's playing the trick too that's why for me little things i cant see to eye as well.

Talk to someone or post here to make u feel better