(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex,
my maid not here yet. Maid agency said my manual application just approved, MOM will send some approval letter to me. I need to pass this letter to maid agency when I get it, buy the maid insurance then the agency can bring the maid over.
When maid comes to SG, she still needs to take some exam that she needs to pass. Only after this, when agency informs me I can go to get the maid, then I need to pay the upfront $2.5K maid loan and can bring her back to my parents' place.

So estimate maybe end of this mth the maid will come in.

Hmm.. why indo over filippino? Well, I think firstly, indo is cheaper than filippino. Secondly, have experience with filippino, their English harder to understand than Indo or even worse.
Just to quote example, this Filippino HSBC credit card telemarketer called me to tell me she has a "career" for me. I was like HUH? what she talking. Then in the end, I realised she meant she had courier for me.
Another one is my company's IT helpdesk. They have Filippino to troubleshoot. They pronounce laptop differently from us. They say "luptop" and we say laptop.
Cannot imagine all the communication confusion.

lastly, I think all nationalities the same one, still have to end up training them to accustomise to our home rules/surroundings. So for me I rather take Indo since cheaper anyway.

valnsw,

yup..i also saw that siti, think that siti goes by hp#91460613, i got her on my list initially then i read sme remarks abt her, strike her off and din list here.

the siti here is a diff one i think..
yup, i called up a few but they din pick up the calls and din return call also lei..worried if is too late to book them.
some say no need to call early, some say need to..also confused.

will try to call few more and see how ba.

rei rei,

see more open, dun focus on ur baby's weight and ur weight gain yo, so long as baby healthy , nothing else matters. 2kg at wk 35, still got time for her to grow loh..no worries k ?

catherine,
oic... i was thinking baby's weight should have increased by quite a lot during our 3rd trimester... anyway, my gynae always think that i can afford to put on more so she is not so strict on my diet...

YLN, M2B, interrace, cindy, hisstory, twin star,
thanks for all the concern...

yup, glad that i'll be seeing my gal in 1+ week's time... ya lor, all the snacking & durian seems to have effect on both mummy & baby's weight... i'm glad as long as she is at least 6pounds lor... oh, she mentioned that studies shown that breech babies tend to be a bit smaller... me just pertude that one visit, she grows by a lot then the next visit, her growth slows down...

rata,
wow... 8 pounder... amazing... since yr gynae has no concern over this, then you dont need to worry lor...

interrace, hisstory,
btw, my HB loves food more than me so he is glad that i want to eat. somemore, yesterday was Oyster night, me & HB both dont take oyster so we attacked the lobster instead... hehe... the whole restaurant was quite full, even though it's $88 per pax, it includes free flow of sparkling wine, beer, juice etc...

Shint,
oh no, hope you are ok now... monitor yr baby's movement & also if you got cramps or any discharge...

twin star,
do cool down, not "hua" to have cramps over such everyday things...

lulvul,
i got mine fr Mustafa at 20% off $109 for the one with 1 memory... duno if the 20% is still on...

reirei,
go get some durian & see if got effect or not...

reirei & avocado,
yah, the scan machine is not really accurate. its just an estimate. i was told baby is at 2.5kg on 34 weeks when i was hospitalised. but yesterday when i went back for review, gynae say baby is only about 2.3kg at 3 5weeks. so the weight is just a rough guide.

cindy,
my bb oso hiccups a few times a days. i was oso getting worried so i went to search the net, n frm wat i read, its seems like hiccuping is a gd sign that bb is healthy n hiccuping wun cause discomfort to the bb.One of the aricle even mention that hiccuping is soothing to the bb. So hopefully these r true.

Shint,
Ru feeling better? otherwise better go see the doc.

rei rei,
dun feel bad.most impt is bb is healthy.btw can try eating eggs n cheese too.

Celyn,

I saw near my office. Raffles Place, Arcade building Gaurdian. I think you need to purchase something for 20 SGD to get it at 99.

I would also go and grab one as Braun is suppose to be the best ;)

cindy,
I read that bb hiccup is learning how to breath when detach from us, they are practising now. Now they depend us for oxygen.

re. thermometers

my 2 cents : i hv used both osim & braun. i prefer d braun 1. coz i find tt it's more accurate as compared 2 d osim 1

Storeberry,
Yalor, dun know where are all the gracious S’poreans man…hb asked me to take cab when he can’t fetch me but now cab fares so exp, thus dun wana waste $ lor…

Valnsw,
Yalah, imagine my hb is 2nd time daddy somemore leh…somemore can ask if I can dragged and give birth on 09 Aug instead…aiyo…

Interrace,
I’m taking early ML this time rd…taking at my 38-39 weeks lor…wana rest, spend time with my #1 and also pack some stuff…

Dongle,
You reminded me that I hvnt had my hi-tea buffet leh…must plan a day to go man…

thks so much..*sobs* my gynae oso says i got 4 more weeks to buck up..but i jus can't help feeling sad..wept a few times last nite when hb comforted me.
i jus hope it's realli me who has been slacking in my protein intake and not anyting else.......

i saw a cadi thermometer that can be used for the ear and forehead scan but not sure if its good.

reirei,
don't be too sad. baby do gain weight very fast towards the end.

ReiRei
Dun feel sad.. could it be genetics? Maybe you are small size so thats why yr bb also not that big. I know of other mummies who went on to giv birth to bbs @2.3-2.6kg and their babies turn out fine and healthy too. Dun stress yrself too much ok. As long as you are taking in the right food and doin yr best thats most impt. I am also guilty of stuffing myself with junk food... last nite still eat magnum ice cream @ 11.30pm at nite!

Celyn
I am using the cadi thermometer cos I actually aimed for Braun one but in the end my colleague got that for me as a baby gift. So far I am happy with it. It is quite user frenly. Yes can be used for both ear and forehead : )

chin chin,

osim only got one thermometor,green in color if i dun rem wrongly, mine bought and store away in baby cabinet liao. tat time tested, easy to use loh...test on my ears and my hubby ears...keke..
it beeps within dunno how many seconds.
my frd who recommend this,is a mommy and she bought braun (dunno the model), she say braun took awhile to beep and children clinic she went to, was using osim and she say is very good cos it beep very fast, so before the child can turn his head away or get irritated, the reading been taken liao. tat's what she told me loh, so i din do any further research and bought the osim one. (lazy and tired to read up abt the pros and cons btw thermometor lah)

dongle,
wa..lobster ah? nice bo?
can we take oyster after birth and during breastfeeding? i want to go after birth lei... then can also indulge in the wine...

reirei,

dun feel bad okie. my bb is oni 1.7kg @ 34w. u still gt abt 4 wks more. ur bb will def put on wt 1. jus 2 share, 4 my boy, his wt is oni 2.9kg at 38w. who noes, when i popped at 39wks, his wt is 3.94kg. even my gynae was shocked at hw much wt he had gained in 1 wk. so dun b sad k. cheer up...

Celyn
I didnt get a chance to use the braun one so I cannot really advise you but cadi one i feel is good enuff. Plus the reading is quite fast.

Celyn, Medusa, Vone,
I gorged myself wif so much food today dat i feel so bloated. I'm keeping my fingers & toes crossed for my next visit in 2 weeks' time..
Vone, woah, ur boy grew 1kg in 1 wk? OK, let's jiayou together!

catherine,YLN
maids from kampong scared of ironing one. the first time my maid iron 3 shirts for 3hrs! my mil was shocked. haha
i told u about how she can finish a brand new bottle of dethol handsoap in 2wks. just now she tell me her body dethol is half liao. the huge bottle, she can finish half in 3wks. mil say, buy her lux soap bar la, haha

medusa,
ya lor, i just need to vent, settle things n move on

interrace,
my baby used to clock in 10 movements in the first hr, now it;s the 2nd hr liao....i'm better already, my friend called me and we had a gd time chatting and laughing away

celynlee,
i am also wandering if the fore head n ear one is gd. let me know k

M2B,
yr hubby second time dad also blur huh, hehe. hope u can clock in as much rest as possible too

hubby stressed at work now, he is trying to finish as much work as possible before i pop

reirei,
i "see open" but need to settle matters lor, if not things will get out of hand if i just let it be.
baby;s weight? durian works man! if not the real thing, then durian ice cream n chocs works too
hehe. n beef!!!

dongle,
u went to the line already? free flow of sparkling wine n beer? aiya what a waste, can;t take alcohol now,hehe
ya, my hubby took me out for a walk last night.....getting tougher lei cos baby learn to move while i am walking n boy is it painful!

little twin stars,
i'm actually thinking of getting braun but hubby prefers cadi. so we can't decide what to get. but when we go pharmacy to check, the people sure to tell us if you want good one then buy braun. cadi is made in singapore and had been in the market for about 3 years only. in terms of pricing is definitely cheaper. i think i saw it for near $80 at kiddy palace. its a promotion price.

little twin star
wah..u still buy ur maid so expensive shower gel?? i buy the cheap palmolive soap give her only..i buy the one with pearl one..no need to let them use so expensive brand one lar...the shampoo i got for her..only $1 per bottle...me cheap skate!

today my hubby said my maid a bit weird...this morning...she was making tea for herself..she has made tea for me many times liao..but this morning..she just use normal room temperature water and pour into her tea (lipton tea) and no sugar...and like dat drink!..my hubby was so shock! how to drink like dat..the tea never even dissolve properly!..i think my hubby was so shocked he also dunno what to tell the maid...think my maid a bit kookoo also..

little twin stars,

wah, ur maid is so hygienic. can finish so much shower gel in 3 wks. she used it 2 wash her hair aso is it? i bought d shokubushu 1 4 my maid. it can last her 4 a few mths leh.

Thermometer:

I read somewhere that forehead scan may not be very accurate as it takes into consideration the surronding atmosphere too.

To get the accurate temperature, we need to take the reading prefebly ear else under armpit or rectum for babies.

M2B,
must eat whatever we like now since if i were to go C-section next week, a lot of restriction on diet during confinement...

interrace,
yup, nice... the lobster is cold one... but they grill for me cos i say i cannot take cold... hehe... think cannot take seafood during confinement esp if C-section bah... alcohol during BF also cannot according to my antenatal class...

twin star,
buy for yr maid dettol bar soap... so much cheaper... my maid still using her own supply of toiletries...

yup, went the line yesterday... me usually dun take much alcohol, just a few sips i stop aledi... HB drank 2 sparkling wine & 2 beer & guava juice... me only drank mango & orange juice & a little coffee... but we ate so full till have to buy prunes on my way back... quite worth it cos normally drinks cost abt $10+ in hotel restaurants... haha...

avocado,

ya lor. my gynae was asking me wat hv i been eating 4 d past wk. d nurses were aso teasing hb, asking him wat 'tonics' he had been feeding me.

Toiletries for maids
Yeah I also buy bar soap for my maid.. hehe. I think next time if she work longer maybe can upgrade her to bath foam : p

Channel U show
Yeah the very talk of the town. I think its becos constance song will flash her (*) (*) of cos we cannot see lah.. back view only.

For mummies who may be interested esp those with #1, I came across this BP http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1544335.html?1215592713
Hopefully got more designs coming up.

i just came back from my checkup. As today i'm nearly 36weeks, gynae ask me to stop taking the anti-contraction meds liao.
Then after press press my tummy, he said my baby's head is already 3/4 engaged coz he can only feel abt 1/4 of her head.
Thus, he predicts my baby won't be able to wait until 40weeks. He even told me to be prepare that baby might possibily come out in 1-2weeks time!
Hearing him said that makes me so gan-cheong now. I'm still not mentally prepared leh.
Also another problem is my CL is doing another assignment until 20th July.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
hugz..don't be sad ya. Still got time to beef up your baby. Also the weight given by the scan machine is only estimation. There is a margin error of +/- 400gm.
Also i read quite a number of mommies comment that when baby actually come out, the actual birth weight is higher.
So for all you know, your baby is already 2kg liao.
In the meantime, just continue eating more red meat and drink milk and occasionally indulge in durians ya. ;)

luv, i tried the forehead thermometer on myself. reading is about 1 deg lower. i guess it's convenient for bb as most of them won't allow u to take it thru the traditional way. even ear also they will fidget.

val, so many procedures ah? i think i better see to all the admin matters now coz' i won't have time to bother about this once i deliver. i'm choosing filipino maid over indo coz' of religion. i'm catholic and it's a bit funny to get indo maid to go church with me. and i dunno malay also. scared their eng proficiency not very good, and they can't get used to our food. my dad's indo maid loves spicy food!!! also, got pork limitation. so in the end, think filipino might be a better choice as long as we don't give them off day :p

mul, so fast. if i were u, i also gan cheong. went to gynae yest and he says my bb is about 2.5kg. he gave me EDD as 16 aug. still didn't want to give me admin letter yet, so i think he's quite confident i won't go to labour so soon. supposed to be at 34 weeks now. he didn't press my tummy leh...

YLN,vone,dongle
my maid bathes 2-3times a day and if she knows we are going out, she will bath before she goes out with us even if it;s to the supermarket!
no lei, i bot her dove shampoo. wah, where u find $1 shampoo? ya, me switching to soap 4 her liao. at the rate she is going, we really spend alot. on her food n her daily necc
i use shuburutshu lei.......... i like lei cos not so slippery feeling. but i also use body shop n loreal srub as well la.
i know my bro get his maid to use her own money to buy her own necc.

actually i have alot of hotel shampoo n body gel. very nice ones. wander shld i let her use those

medusa,
u sure u wanna upgrade?
me now downgrading liao cos she really use alot.

the line,
yes, it is worth it. when i went there, they don;t have this promo.

mul,
so exciting! u and dongle will graduate soon! don;t think too much. if not sure scared. ignorance is bliss but make sure u tell hubby to stand by ok! ask him to pick up yr calls even if he is in a meeting.
eat watever u want now cos during confinement, no more cold drinks n ice cream 4 some time!

medusa / shay,
for your paediatrician (PD), did you go find your own, or Dr Heng recommend?
Cos I'm thinking after that need to bring bb to PD for mthly check-up isit?
Any recommendations? I would prefer one that's in the East area, Bedok/Tanah Merah/Tampines are good.

nini,
I got craving for potato wedges and fries. No craving for soft drinks though.

krex,
ya, I think you better start searching a few maid agencies and look at the maids' biodata. Else later you will feel v tired to move about. Before you go down, you can call to enquire about the agent fees, maid's salary and any off day. Then you can go down see the biodata if any of them suitable for you.

Oh ya, I remember I called up this agency, that specialises in Filippino maids, but agency fee is only $1!!! unbelievable. But it's in Chinatown, I don't know reputable it is.
http://www.cncmaid.com/
The person I spoke to said have unlimited replacement within 1 yr if the original maid at least with you for 2 mths if you want a replacement.

Maybe you wana check with Little Twin Stars where she got her Filippino maid?

mulberry,
if I were you, I also will be gan cheong. Cannot imagine left only 2 weeks then hv to give birth. Hee I'm counting down, another 30 more days to 8 Aug which I hope bb can come out. The Channel 5 always shows the number of days to Beijing Olympics. Good way to remind myself too.

YLN,
where u managed to get $1 shampoo?

Little twin stars,
at least your maid will bathe. Better than my mum's maid, initially my mum had to tell her off for not bathing at all after one whole day's work. She can just go to sleep without bathing! can you imagine how smelly her sweat is, filling up the whole room and stinking the bed?
After telling her, now the maid knows she has to bathe twice a day, especially on v hot days, she will take a shower mid afternoon and then at night again.

twin, i was thinking of giving my maid bath gel from the start. tot no one use bar soap nowdays, haha. actually, since my hubby uses cheap brands (like shokubutso refill pack or dettol and clairol for shampoo &amp; cond), can buy value pack and let them both share, haha. i'm the one who's fussy and use the ones from salon, etc. do u also provide toothbrush, toothpaste, face wash, face lotion? what is considered basic???

val, i'm so lazy now. think i will just stick to those maid agencies along serangoon gardens. try nation and best helper and see how first lor.

mulberry,
gosh, tt's fast. if ur CL is wking til 20 jul, can u get some1 2 help u out 1st 4 d few days?

nini,
me... bt i dun resist, i gave in 2 them. hehe...

little twin stars,
wah, u really spend on d toiletries on ur maid leh. 4 me, when my maid 1st came, i buy d cheapest shampoo &amp; bodywash 4 her. it's oni when she had been wif me longer, then i upgrade her toiletries. u can chk out d hdb shops selling toiletries 1. they r usually cheaper &amp; gt cheaper brands aso. since u gt a lot of hotel shampoo &amp; body gel, then pass 2 her 2 use lor. afterall, u r nt using them. dun use aso wasted.

valnsw,
actually you are quite right about the language.. I feel that indo thou their english is also just as bad when they come, they tend to pick up language faster than filippinos.

dongle,
ya i tell myself not to be too carried away with bb weight. As long as bb is healthy, my gynae say let the PD worry about the weight.. she said easier to up bb weight after born then us eating so much junk just to up her weight... so.. I will try to listen .. but will still "attack" my chunky monkey later tonight.. hahaha

Avocado,
i also asked gynae is 2.5kg is the safest weight, she say not necessary. Doesn't mean that 2.5kg and above is good. But of cos lighter bb tend to have higher chances of jaundice but cos jaundice is common so dont worry. A 2.3kg healthy bb is better than a 3kg unhealthy bb. My nephew was very much overweight and they had to monitor his food for the 1st year. In fact only after 2YO then the PD allowed him to take sweets and chocs.

celyn,
my fren say the forehaead scan not accurate one. i was also contemplating on the cadi but she told me not good. Get the brauns one. problem now is dono which model to get.

little twin stars,
buy the dethol bar soap not lux ..hahaha

re : maid
I also give my maid dethol cos I think that it's really clean after bathing.. hahaha. And i provide for her the toiletries. I'm only particular about the bath foam must be dethol. shampoo/toothpaste/facial wash etc I just buy whatever is on sale. Pads I let her choose what she wants to use. My maid bathe min 2 times a day.. if weather hot, sometimes 3 times. I dont mind cos I rather she clean then all sweaty.

dongle,
you found out what food cannot eat after csec ? So far i only know chicken/eggs - 1st 2 weeks cannot eat. Then cannot eat seafood and dark sauce. anything else ?

re:thermometer
the temp for forehead, ear, armpit and rectum is all diff. must check with the doc to get the right one as reference.

mulberry,
wow .. you're also "queuing" to be next in line. Stay relaxed and dont panic

nini,
i just had burger king
yummy

valnsw,
i heard there is a good PD in tampines. Let me check and get back to you. my godsons go there. After the initial checkups at the hospital PD they change to this one for the regular flu etc stuff.

valnsw,
wa, now yr mom;s maid so on, hehe

krex,
pls do not go to nation. tigg3r's first maid was from there. she was so bad, kena send back in 1 wk. my other friend's one from nation also gave her alot of prob. she jus called me for my agent's rec cos my maid is not bad except 4 her eating n daily necc which to hubby is a small issue

toiletries: it depends on u.
my bro doesn't provide, the maid use her own money to buy herself. reirei's rel maid gets $30 allowance a mth to buy her own toiletries and biscuit n milo.
mine, i provide the bath gel, shampoo, facial wash, tooth paste, tooth brush, nail clipper, comb, face towel n towel. i also gave her some sanitary pad and told her it is for emergency. that one she has to buy herself la

vone,
now with the maid, i'm like a cheapo liao....hunting for the cheapest biscuits, margarine, coffee, bread, toiletries, rice cos all these she use alot! hubby n i were saying, we use to jus buy wantever we want. now must come to this stage.
those are 5 star hotel ones. packaging and fragrance all very nice one. i keep in case i go travel to places where i don't stay so well
will monitor and see lor

catherine,
y maid knows wat is "buay bei pio" buy 4D~! duno where she learn from. cos mil wanted to buy her hse's tel no.