(2008/08) Aug 2008

ohhhh I'm so excited... my stroller is finally here !!! Mothercare called me and said the Orbit Baby shipment will arrive on monday. I can get my order next week !!! Yippie !!!! No more changing of mind anymore ..hahaha

krex,
oh, i also provide her snacks for if she is hungry. i bot a huge tin of jacobs biscuit 4 her, some other assorted biscuits and waffles, 2 bread spread, 3 in 1coffee . packed all in a big basket n put in the kitchen. i told her, these are for her to eat in moderation when she is hungry in between meals. i also got her instant noodles too. then i told her all these is her food. do not take from my fridge or cupboards unless we give to her. no choice, big eater, i cannot say help yrself.

when we eat, mil will separate a huge portion for her to eat with the vege and all. she has her own set of utensils, plate n cup as well. more hygienic la. even like that, when she scoop the remaining dishes for us leaving behind some in the pot trying to leave behind some for herself to eat for supper. when i inspect, i realize she will leave behind items that she like to eat. some we didn;t even get to eat cos hubby n i are always the last to eat. so she likes to do that and when she wash up and when we go upstairs, it is supper time for her. round 2. now we know, we always check the pots liao. we didn;t even get to eat much of that item and she is saving it for herself to eat lei.

moral of the story:
don't be too lax from the start, monitor what is yr maid;s strength n weakness then u can readjust

gd luck,
remember, no one is perfect. give n take

little twin stars,
the maid bo bian la, have to live under my mum's house, so gota follow her house rules. After sometime, they will slowly adjust to our way of living here. Think they in kampung, maybe they bochap abt cleanliness.

Re: maid keeping the food she likes to eat
This is a v sian problem. My mum's current maid also like that. My mum was v pissed when the maid go "test test" the bird nest that she was brewing for me. My mum scolded her say, she alrdy prepare the portions of rock sugar & red dates for her to put into the tonic pot, why she act smart go test taste.
Other ocasions will be when my dad buys roasted duck, the maid will take the best parts for herself, like the drumstick. My mum kept complaining about this and I think she did tell the maid that she has to respect her employers but I think fall on deaf ears.
Then this maid also v selective in the fish she eats. She will only eat all the expensive fish such as salmon, cod. Other types of fish, if we leave for her, she will not eat and throw.

Catherine,
cool, thanks in advance for finding out the PD's contacts. Oh ya, got your sms. You have not mailed out the Choz voucher right? On second thoughts, I may not need it liao, so you might wana ask if other mummies want it. Cos in the end, my mum didn't quite like the Choz pastries. Sorry for any inconvenience and thanks for offering to pass to me

Dear Madams,

PLEASE HELP US BY COMPLETING THIS SURVEY AT A NEW LINK:

http://freeonlinesurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=5d0212xd8io3aw7461100

We are five students from Raffles Junior College who will be embarking on our Project Work.

As our Project is based on the modernization of cures for blood diseases, we hope to raise awareness and funds for public cord blood banking.

We understand the significance of cord blood stem cells in curing blood diseases. However, not many others do. Through this project, we hope to raise awareness among the public and pregnant women about the uses of cord blood: encourage mothers to donate their babies’ cord blood to public banks (SCBB) and increase the extent of positive impact that cord blood has brought to the curing of blood diseases. We also hope to give support to public cord blood banks by raising funds from the public.

YOUR HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

little twin stars,
i think my mom got tell her about 4D cos my mom always tell her every nite before sleep must pray that our hse unit number open..hahaha.

re: maid and food
one thing about my maid is that she doesnt keep food she likes to eat. even when she sit down to eat with us, we will scoop for her the dishes and even if she takes on her own, it's only after we tell her to take. eg if we never say take the fish she wont dare to take. She will take again the ones which we had previously taken for her only. And even when her milo finish, she didnt tell us until we ask her. So I think she's quite ok in that sense that she not greedy. Even clothes which i dont want she never ask if she can have them.

Just now we went to buy groceries and at the cashier counter there was another filippino maid behind her and she talked to my maid asking her where she from etc .. After that in the car, i just ask her if she is afraid of talking to strangers, she replied no. Then after that she ask me if i am angry that she talk to strangers. I said no. but dont make it a habit.

Dear mommies,
Thanks for the concern. Yes I already went to the gynae today and thank God everything is ok.

Around lunchtime, I went to a new gynae and she examined me and said that suggests that I go to TMC for a CTG test. I tot since I felt baby kicking and I wasn't feeling too unwell, should be ok but was surprised that I needed to go to TMC to do a CTG scan. She mentioned that sometimes it might have some blood clot, separation of placenta, etc which cannot detect using the normal scan. It is also good to monitor baby's heartbeat for an hour to make sure that it is cosistent as the few minutes by the normal machine does not tell. I'm glad I did go for the check which costs only less than $50 for an hour of monitoring.

Good thing I went to see her else who knows if the baby is really ok unless I was monitored by professionals.

This gynae is vv nice, she didn't even charge me for the consultation and scan.

So now, I am ok as the CTG scan is good. Thanks to all for your concen.

PD
Is there any good PD to recommend in Seng Kang area?

My #1 ended up didn't visit any PD cos when he was born, the PD I was assigned to went on holiday so I did end up visiting her. I went to a nearby PD where I was doing my confinement and he was damn bad. Told me my son's jaundice was ok, don't do anything, no need to sun him in the morning.

By week 2, I found him to be too yellowish and took him to the polyclinic (cos they give immediate results whereas PDs take 1 day) and he was like over level 400! The normal level is 100+ and need to go shine the light oredi and mine was over the DANGER DANGER level.

He was sent to KKH and had 4 lights on him, thank goodness, after few days, it went down and he is normal- no brain damage or blood change,etc.

My advice on jaundice, don't think it's normal and ok. I listened to the old people who was there during my confinement but who is gonna take responsibility if the baby is really affected by jaundice?
Jaundice will peak in the first week. Best is to do blood test when you visit the PD cos PDs can make wrong diagnosis too. It could have cost my son's life or permanent damage to him. Do monitor this after delivery. I will insist on blood test this round.

So in the end I just visited polyclinics since I had to go every 2-3 days for > 1 month. Hhaa, saved alot of $$ too.

Well, that was how I spent my confinement - at the hospital and going to polyclinic every few days to do blood test for my #1. Who says cannot go out during confinement? kekeke.

Shint,
Glad dat u are fine! at least now u can haf a good nite sleep

BTW i'm v curious:
- Why did u go to a new gynae?
- where exactly in TMC did u request for the CTG test?
- Do u have to have gynae's recommendation letter or can jus walk right in?

shint,
glad everything is fine

re: stretch mark cream/oil
when do we stop applying it ? after delivery do we still apply ? Cos we havent really "shrink" back to size.

re: shaving/bw
for csec need to remove all hair there or just the top part ?

HipCups:
Thanks for all the mummies who had assured me. I will ask my gynae tis sat.

Snow,
possible to collect my loot tmr after work? I pm u my hp no. Let me know if it is possible then we arrange. If not possible, then its fine too.

val

*cross fingers & toes* tt my ger wld be easy to take care of so tt i can enjoy Disneyland in LA like u.. HK is the closest altnerative

krex

I see.. heheh, for a moment I thought u epilate the nether regions..

dongle

Keep your chin up! I think when u see your ger in your arms, all the worry of low-weight bb wld go off & most importantly, enjoy motherhood & bonding with you ger k?

Oooh, oyster sounds really nice.. I shall put this on my to-eat list after popping! Lobsters sound so yummy too

twin stars

Ur maid quite high maintenance ah.. Thankfully she's quite guai.
Btw I think my previous post to u has been archived, u PM-ed me huh?

shint,
glad that both you and baby are fine.

catherine,
thanks for the info on the thermometer. i think i better stick to braun since lots of people say its good.

Reirei: The KS bag is nice!! Yah, but abit overpriced for diaper bag...
Don't worry about the weight of your bb, just eat normally & healthly. My sis gave birth to a bb boy only 2.7kg (2 yrs ago)but he has grown to be of cute & chubby size!

Valnsw: I also got cravings for potato chips, french fries, things that are salty!! So unhealthy leh..

Little twinstars: Wow.. your maid really big eater wor.. Is she big-size? Leave behind those foods she like?

Mulberry: So exciting right???

storeberry & val

did i hear potato chips & fries?? I like!
Have actually still been snacking, but I usually take 1/3 a bag of chips & keep for another occasion.. Less guilt? *heheh*

valnsw,
wow, yr mom's maid very daring lei, even after yr mom scolded her, she doesn;t care?! n she helped herself to drumstick? wow, it's amazing you guys still keep her in a way

catherine,
that's y i told krex, each maid have their own strengths n witness. must see their "kuan" and adjust accordingly. mine is "guai" she even helps me to do simple sewing n handicraft. today i taught her how to do hair clip holder and she did a good job
since mil forbid me to sew, i teach her to do lor. hehe
only when it comes to food...........it's her weakness but she's not so daring like valnsw's mom;s one YET
- yrs sounds very "yu siu" not bad lei. it;s all about people management now lor

shint,
good that things are well with u n baby
thanks for the advise on jaundice

hisstory,
think just have to ween her off this period and also educate her how to really use liquid soap

aiyo, tt';s so long liao, yup i PMed u la. how many little twin stars are there?..........actually quite alot! haha

yuuri,
maybe i saw diff price. it; is keddy bee has the cheapest price?

storeberry,
no lei, not big size ...medium ba but mil said she gained weight while here. cos she took some bigger pants from me to wear.....she too gd life until she told mil she wants to come back to work for me after 2 yrs contract

Catherine (dardar63),
my girl is 2.6kg when born but no jaundice. It true lighter bb maybe more healthy. A scan at 2.5kg only let the mother to be at ease that she not scared if bb is premature.

little twin stars (stardiva),
I also heard a lot of bad remarks from nation.

twin stars

I must take my hat off your helper.. She really does bathe alot! Are u going to get her to switch to using soap bars?

U PMed me a long time ago huh? I only received over the weekend or issit early part of this week.. *sorry* Dunno if it's u mah, scarly make a booboo

krex, avocado,
ya lor, so far not one gd comment on nation........
all who used them regret. alot of bad attitude maids. so doesn;t mean high agency fees get better maids

hisstory,
oh, maybe sunday hor...aiya, my head is in a mess

ya lor, sigh. mil say at times she bathes more than any of us in the hse! hehe. but i really dunno how she uses liquid soap.

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
2.5kg is good weight liao. so no worries for u.
hmm...u still haven't got the admission letter yet? I got mine about 1 month ago (when i was 32weeks).

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
thanks for the reminder. I just told my hubby to answer his phone even tho is important meeting or what. I said as long as see it's my number, must answer!

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
yeah man, me gan cheong. i talked to my bb now and asked my hubby to talk to her also. we asked her to wait for at least 2 more weeks coz we want the CL to be available when bb arrived leh.
sigh, my initial EDD was 8th Aug. no more hope liao.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>
my mom is with me lah. but hor, my mom said she's not confident :p.
hee...but if really no choice, i guess with 3 of us (mom, me and hubby) should be able to handle bah.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
my gynae said bb above 2.2kg is safe liao. at last week, my baby was 2.3kg, thus he's not concern abt my bb's size/weight. He keep saying: small baby easy to push out, that's good right.
btw, not necessary small baby gets jaundice easily. my niece was abt 3.5kg and my best fren's bb was abt 3.2kg....both also got jaundice. I read basically asian babies very easily get jaundice, due to our skin colour pigmentation (or something like that).

<font color="0000ff">Shint</font>
glad to hear you and bb are both fine.
btw, i also wanna know got good PD in Sengkang area coz me will be moving there in Oct/Nov. ;)

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font> / <font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
exciting ar? more of scary leh...keke

storeberry - I got craving for nachos &amp; cheese dip. I so tempted to buy the one now in BP section. but the portion sooo huge.

maid bathing

wow..little twin star..ur maid bath so many times..my maid, when she came bathed 3-4 times a day!.i scolded her!..i told her our water is expensive and we employers dun even bath so many times!..now she bath once in the morning whenshe wake up, and once in the evening , after she finished work...but i told her when bb is born, she must be more hygienic, and wash her hands and face more often when she perspire...

i also buy separate food for my maid i.e. bread, biscuits , milo, apples...we tell her its for her..but i think my maid dun like to eat fruits..but i told her must eat for digestion..cuz she got one week never go poo poo..so, i told her must take some Vit C...
wow..but ur maid like that pick the food, not very good ar? we also pick out the food/vege for our maid and we let her sit with me and hubby during dinner...now she dun dare to request for anything more than what we give...last time, she will always eat immediately after dinner is cooked (even b4 we employers eat) and she will ask for chilli and sauce from my MIL...i scolded her for that...n told her is basic respect to wait for employers to come back and then eat..actually sometimes, we will also give some left over from the nite before, but we heat it up first...i know she dun like cuz she used to reject from my MIL before, but after i told her off..she eat anything we give liao...if we employers can eat left over food, i dun see y she cannot lor.:p...

shampoo @ $1

i bought it from Sheng Shiong...think some ulu brand...maybe Kao's or something...cannot remember liao...she has been using for more than a month liao..still got about half left..though quite a small bottle...

good morning mummies

twin stars

heheh, it's okie! I shall send u a PM later k? Look out for my 'love note'! *hahah*
If I stay close enough to you I cld give ur maid this current liquid soap my HB bought.. He bought a scent I cannot tahan, so now he's trying hard to finish! And I ask him to stand/ sit far away fr me after he bathes...

mulberry (bab1es) ,
Did TMC sent you the pre admission letter?

Anyone who opt for TMC rec'd letter from them or u all get from gyane?

Mornings!

Oh usually I will portion out the maid's meal, put aside. After we had our meal, then she will have hers.

Bath wise, will let her bathe once or twice a day lor. Hygience purpose + if the weather really hot then its uncomfy for her to work also.

Ya must wash hands before handling the baby, Universal Rule....

Good Morning!

Dongle,
Yup, you shd eat whatever you want this week since gg into confinement next week liao…so when is your c-section?

Mulberry,
You are next…dun worry ok? Nobody is ever ready to be a mother, just have to learn on the way… =P

Catherine,
I have been craving for Burger King for quite some time liao but always no chance to go eat…

Shint,
Glad that you are ok….must be a relief.

Avocado,
I didnt rec'd any letter from TMC...gynae's assistants just told me they will book the room for me...

mul, what happens if i go into labour w/o admission letter? anw, it's just a pc of doc that certifies that dr woody is my gynae and he's delivering the bb in mt a rite?

twin, actually i'm more interested to know if nation's attitude is good, even when the maids they provide are lousy. that means when u want to return maid, did they make things difficult for customer? i feel that crislo did, so i'm definitely not going to them even if their fees are lower and they provide unlimited change of maids for one year.

btw, i've got an extra cd of:
The Mozart Effect: Music for Newborns - A Bright Beginning

anybody wants to buy from me? brand new. selling for $20.

Good morning ladies!!

wa...seems like maid alot of issues hor.

guess few of the mommies will be meeting their babies next wk, do hope to hear ur birth stories and cutey pics of ur newborns..

jia you mommies..

re: fast food cravings
been craving alot for fast food too..last wk had long john, this wk have mac's breakfast, ytd had mac meal..kekeke..then also munch on some tibbits...finised the whole pack of doritos.. :")
had few cups of coke/coffee/tea..so happy am not alone with such cravings..but guess am alone in this kinda indulgence ...am a bad mommy..

interrace
me also craving ...esp for sweet stuff like ice cream and cakes...have put on too much weight in the past 2-3 weeks...scary..had a cup of tea and coffee yesterday somemore...i think as we approaching EDD, we tend to succumb to such cravings..:p

morning mummies.

i have also start to crave for tibits but can't take them. baby don't like tibits at all, will feel nausea. sigh...

celyn, strange...i tot u only crave what bb likes.

interrace, are u expecting a boy?

YLN, are u expecting a girl?

just curious, coz' i tot bb boys like fast food and bb girls like sweet stuff, heehee.

krex78,
i also don't know leh. i feel like eating them but dare not touch. maybe i should try a bit, he might have change. hahaha.....

krex
ya ..me expecting girl girl..just yesterday, i had swensens ice cream..then after that went to drink teh peng from YA KUN..sigh..so jialat...all the sweet stuff...thats y i praying i will pop soon to stop my weight from ballooning!

hi shint/mulberry,

i will recommend Dr Vanessa Tan. Exact address, i'm not very sure, it's quite near to Compass Pt. Her clinic is Kidslink Children Clinic. She's v detailed and will spent time explaining things to parents. But the queue to see her is a killer, sometimes can wait till 1 hr to see her...
her tel: 63884466

krex,
I also only have the blue form from Dr Woody. No pre-admission yet. Maybe I will ask again next week during my appt

avocado, what blue form? i dun even have anything from him yet!

gemini, are u referring to paedetrician? normally would the gynae recommend someone? do we need to go back to gynae a few weeks after giving birth for check-up?

i am with TMC (ACJ clinic). my gynae has given me a pre-admission letter. better to check with your gynae to play safe.

little twin stars and catherine,
i think your helpers are generally good. u lucky gals!

anyone knows beauty world or bukit timah plaza has more maid agencies? i shall stop procratisnating and need to visit them soon! ;p

hisstory / storeberry / missysz,
I crave more for potato wedges. Not so much of potato chips. I find potato chips more "heaty" and will end up with dry throat. Then gota down lotsa water. But strangely enough, I never got any sore throat yet. *Touch wood* Maybe because we preggie ladies need the "heat" more?

interrace / YLN / krex / celyn,
I think the sex of your bb doesn't determine the type of cravings la. I think it's more of what bb wants. Heh.. my bb craves potato which my hubby likes but I don't really like. On the other hand, I also indulge in sweet stuff like Sweet Talk's ice blended, ice-cream and cakes. The past few days been having birthday cake cos of my parents' bdays.

mulberry,
ya, tell your bb to guai guai stay til CL comes. I also tell my bb to guai guai stay til my new maid comes in. Else cannot imagine the chaos when nobody to help.

interrace,
I don't really like coffee but I just took the raspberry leaf tea yday. Tastes like flavoured plain water. You're not the only one indulging in cravings la.. so don't feel bad.

hi krex,

the info i have given is a PD in Sengkang. normally your gynae will recommend a PD within the hospital if you do not have a preferred one. the recommended PD will come see your baby after you have delivered in the hospital. for my #1, 3 days after we were discharged, the baby has to go back for review, to ensure that everything's ok.