(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning all!!

thanks for the link catherine, will try those position out.

Sorry no time to login in during the weekends.
So many posts to follow.

Snow,
Will submit my order to you soon. Many thanks. Were eyeing the hangers from babyonline.

M2B,
Can't remember the design of the baby shoes u got from babymall. Can advise? Thanks.

080808 baby,
Targeting either 080808 or 200808 baby too. 1st EDD was 24 Aug but now is 13 Aug. So either I have an earlier baby or overdue baby if based on 13 Aug. Not that I mind a full-term overdue baby cos' my boy was overdue too. Have to be induced due to GD for my previous preg. I was gamed to carry till 41-42 weeks if placenta still functionable.

happycat,
u mean placenta will stop functioning?

Mummies, anyone experience thick discharge, like mugus like tat.. not bloody nor browish lah. Thanks.

Snow,
thanks, I will order and send you the list asap.

Good morning mummies..
So many posts for the last 2 days... trying hard to catch up.

Coconut:-
I ate that during my last 2 weeks of pregnancy and I ate the flesh also. Supposedly good for delivery cos bb will be "clean".

Me too aiming for that, haha. My edd is 12th aug and my last pregnancy, I delivered 2 days before edd...so hopefully this time will be quite close.

Snow
So good! You will deliver on 080808! Hee.
Btw can i pass you the list by tonight? Need to review them..hehe. Anyway what is the wesbite for children's place? I haven bot from there before and would like to take a look... : )

For those interested in makan...
Went to celebrate hubby's birthday yesterday and went to straits kitchen at Hyatt for buffet.. The food quite shiok and service quite good. Ate until so full I almost slept immediately once I was in the car... hehe.

valnsw,
np, u shld read my friend';s rules......like for prisoner, haha

happycat,
like that i may have chance. i only need around 3 days overdue :p

cindy,
shldn't have mucous discharge i think, not sure. jsut call yr clinic to be sure? for me it's more like urine leakage!
i change panties like 3 times a day as a result. but when i'm out i use panty linner la

Cindy
I had a bit of mucus like thing coming out 2 days ago.. then I was worried that its my mucus plug... first pregnancy I had it 2 weeks before delivery so it was normal.
As for discharge, i have cheesy like discharge thruout this pregnancy so everytime must change panty-liner.. : ( But my gynae said its normal leh as long as it is not itchy.

catherine

ya..i agree with little twin star that now got maid like even more stressed..esp when u get a maid like mine...so daring..i ren for a few more days cuz the agent who was supposed to pop by havent come yet...i will wait till she come...and i will complain all to the agent...she can speak myanmar to the maid and scold the maid for me...:p

i rem once i told the maid to bring a book to my ILs place to read when there is no work..and she only bring for one day...after that, she subsequently just happily sit down and watch TV again...from 5plus all the way until we go and pick her..! quite ridiculous rite??...

little twin star is rite..there is so much monitoring to do with the maid, it can get quite tiring..for my case, the only monitoring i do is at my ILs place..cuz my maid dun dare to 'eat snake' at my place cuz i will show her the face...she wont dare to watch TV at my place at all....but thats the headache part..when ur ILs say one thing..and u say another thing...somemore cannot really argue with ILS...damn sian one..

yesterday went for checkup..did a blood test and a swap test...the swap test was to test for vaginal infection...bb is at 2.2kg , 33 weeks...my gynae actually recommended that i be open about the different kind of pain killers during labour....i wanted to opt for epidural cuz i cannot take pain..but he was telling me if pain is still bearable...just take the gas...i guess he is pro-natural (w/o epidural) ba...plus he told me to start packing my hospital bag liao..he say no need to bring anything for bb..except one set of going home clothes...everything else the hopsital will give..he say i dun even need to bring maternity pads...cuz hospital will give also..but i dunno what kind of pad they will give...

Twin stars
Exactly. Nowdays hor if I cough or sneeze too hard I will pee a bit lor.. so paiseh but i think its normal lah in pregnancy... just very ma fan have to change panty liner/panties.
After delivery must do the kegal exercise liao.

medusa15,
i thought kegal exercise must start doing now and not just after. i was told to do as often as possible from antenatal class and yoga class. but i never do lah. heheh.... :p

YLN
Did you get yr maid recently? Cos mine also came a month ago and in the day she is at my mil house with my boy. Same lor..initially my mil still ask her to watch tv and read newspaper when she got nothing to do. Then I told my mil have to let her do some houseowork else she will become pampered and lazy.. So now its much better, like in the day when my boy takes his nap.. she will help to clean the house like sweeping, mopping,cleaning and also learn cooking from my mil. So now the situation is much better : )

Valnsw,
Yalor, trying to plan my annual leave as I still have balance leave from last year to clear. Feel like sleeping now man.

Twin Stars,
I guess I will be using the computer a lot during confinement too coz nothing much to do when bb is sleeping lor…last my #1, she can sleep for 4-5hours straight in the day w/o milk…

I can’t say I’m well-prepared for another addition but I sure cannot tahan the weight of the big tummy plus I always feel it is in the way when I try to pick up something etc…can’t wait to get my normal tummy back.

You seem really stressed with a maid in your house. Try to relax ok?

My best fren gg Bangkok in Jul so I’m thinking to ask her to get a Naraya tote bag for me to put bb’s barang barang so can hang at the stroller next time…

Happycat,
This is the link: -

http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/33_12/products_id/579/osCsid/ba5cf5e387f52216967352799b076249

Medusa,
You reminded me that I must go for a hi-tea or buffet lunch/dinner before delivering…heehee

Celyn
Heee... actually I also dunno! I thot can only do after delivery... so can be done now huh? Maybe I shd start doing to cure my "leaking" problem... : p

medusa
my maid is here for 3 weeks liao...i have told my MIL to give her work to do from 5plus, but my MIL said nothing to do already..cuz my MIL is the kind who will want to do everything on her own ..very possessive of her house and housework...i guess must give her a bit more time to slowly let go of housework for the maid to do lor...but my concern is once i deliver..there will more work to do ..but afraid maid will be too pampered by then..skali die die must watch TV everynite...i pengz liao..

M2B: Yes, get those Naraya bags, its cheap & good!! I got it for my SIL the last time & she has been using it as a diaper bag.

Maid have alot of issues hor... I am not prepare for a miad now unless really no choice...

YLN
Yeah I can understand how you feel.. If lidat abit tough if yr mil dun delegate. Maybe you got to tell yr maid that once the bb comes hor she will be very busy, so dun expect to enjoy such luxuries..

Medusa

ya..i agree with u...i must now every day tell my maid that...once bb arrives..no more watching TV already..now i still keep quiet about it..but think better to start telling her now...otherwise she think her life very fantastic like dat...i dun even get the luxury of watching TV for a long stretch of hours!!

medusa,
me also have such discharge throughout my preg. In fact, even before my preg. No itch and no pain. I just read somewhere that during the later part of the preg, there will be more discharge.

YLN,
Is it a must to blood test and swap test?

RE: Cordblood
ANy mummies having the first born incentive or subsequent born incentive from TMC? The offer is rather attractive. If you have a fren who is already cordblood member, can get additional $50 off, which means all in all $500 discount over the contracted price.

YLN,
wah, yr maid so gd life, pay her to watch TV! mine never watch. we never allow.
ya, now i more "gut lad" must wake up early to monitor than by 2pm, i really knock off liao when my mom or mil comes over.
so far i no need to scold this maid. cos she finds things to do w/o me telling. she never eat snake, but today she started humming............thing fhili's like to sing, very softly n only occasionally. i let her be as long as it;s not often n loud n distracting. to me, it shows she is trying to enjoy her work.

my agent told me to keep her occupied too so she won;t get homesick. you must keep her busy so she can get used to the workload once the baby arrives. my friend;s maid couldnlt take the workload difference after baby and resigned.
get yr maid to vacuum, mop the flr everyday if nothing to do, clean also mop. everyday wipe table tops etc.
today i taught my maid to wash toilet. very thourough. she even take the ladder to wash the pipes.
must tell yr mil cannot feel bad one.
BUT, i did hear that myanmar maids tend to be lazy n no initiative. if u have a chance, can get ur agent to change or do something.
also agent told me not to let her call home till she finish her probation lei~!

my poor dog didn;t eat since she came though, cos my dog;s not used to strangers in the hse i think

wah, yr dr ask u to pack bag liao! mine didn;t. but he opted for epidural for me w/o asking, haha

medusa,
ya lor, t first i keep washing n washing. then realized it's urine leakage
mayb cos my bb keeps kicking my bladder very often, it can get quite painful lei
i forgot how to do kegal exercise lei

M2B,
ya lor, i can;t imagine my life w/o my laptop.
i use my laptop so much till the first one spoilt, now m using hubby's spare one, he wanted to buy me a new one cos he wants to use the spare one at home liao

my mil is shifting over to my place temporarily to help me monitor my maid as i get heavier.
i also bot alot of things from naraya the last time i went. can get a whole matching collection: like tissue holder, pouches to match with yr diaper bag

cindy
i dunno if its a must to do swap test and blood test..but since nurse say must do..then do lor...the swap test apparently to to test if got vaginal infection ..if got must cure it first before delivery..blood test is to test for low blood...nurse say this is the last stretch of test before delivery ...so better for me to play safe..

Little twin star..
ya lor..my maid damn good life..but if i were to tell this to my hubby n ILs..they will say 'must give them time off to relax!' my hubby and ILs say that as long as the maid finish work....letting her watch TV is ok..sigh...see..so contradictory...never mind lor... now let her watch lor..next time she dun wanna work...it will be bcause of them pampering the maid..they will have to answer for it lor...

YLN,
think u must "train" yr hubby and mil lo. i trained my mom yesterday, told her don;t keep doing, let the maid have a chance to hands on. cos my mom demo and do everything.......to me, that's not demo anymore lei.
my fhili chinese friend also say cannot let them watch tv cos they will be hooked. i mean, treat yr maid well but not too well from the start as they need to earn yr trust first. now is too early to be so laxed. but then again, every hse have diff rules. find what u guys want and agree together lor. like i already talked to my mom n mil n tell them not to interfere with me, so they know

btw,
i'm very polite with my maid, i say thank you to her whenever she gets me things, greet her gd morning as i also taught her to do the same. when she cleans the windows n the pipes, i will tell her to be careful, even tell her to be careful as the floor is slippery. when i hear that she dropped something in the toilet while washing, i never spring and ask her what she broke. i just let her be but inspect later n found nothing wrong.

when she makes a mistake, i laugh at her for almost throwing away the food i wanna ta bao. to me it's miscom cos i expected her english not to be that fantastic. so in a way i am firm on what i want her to do but i give her space to learn n make mistakes. i never snap at her. think they appreciate such things too cos u give her respect. she will also respect you.

so in a way, to me, i have to be courteous n respectful but i treat her as a helper paid for a professional job. so i expect some form of professionalism la

little twiwn stars
i agree wif u ..now is too early to be too relaxed..but when it comes to ILs...old people dun want to listen one..thats y i was so stressed a week or so ago..i had a nightmare about the maid!...
i also treat my maid with respect..say all the 'thank you' and 'excuse me'..i dun scold her also..but tell her nicely its not right, or in her limited vocab ' no courtesy'..heehee..but i will need to quickly get a english to myanmese dictionary to teach her more english words liao...otherwise a lot of miscommunication...(like wat u mentioned)

YLN
Yeah maybe just pep talk her to tell her that once bb comes she is expected to deliver more and not be so relaxed. For me of cos my maid can have her "relax" time but only when she is done with her chores. Like before she sleeps, she will listen to some music with the radio i gave her, read some magazines or write letters to her family. I dun encourage tv becos my boy is very active so i dun want her to be distracted and not watch him when she is takin care of him. I agree with twin stars.... we can be strict when the need arises but we also must be "human" to her also. As long as we are not ill-treating them i think its fine.

Twinstars
I think kegal is like tightening yr pelvic muscles, like as in you are holding yr urine lidat... then release and tighten and repeat.. hee

hi all, i'm an Aug MTB also, edd around 17.08.2008.Carrying bb Minnie. Hoping to deliver on the 18.08.2008..hehe but if can deliver during NPD also great! I'm on the 31st week and bb weight 1.38kg. My weight now 72.5kg..ha~~ got 7.5kg additional so far.. omg!

I also felt breathless when i lay at sides, but after tuck a pillow under my back then feel bit better.. nowadays even my shoulder felt stiff and can hear the crack sound when i got up..so scarry!

just got up :p hehehee .. recently keep waking up to burp in my sleep.. like so much gas inside. Anyone experiencing this ? I don't have problem looking for position to sleep but more like the burping very irritating.

YLN,
but you told you IL not to let her watch tv right ? you need to really get your ILs not to spoil the maid lo. Hubby was saying to get the maid a hp and give her $5 credit each mth to call back... I say now too early .. Let's monitor her performance 1st. Don't spoil her.

little twin star,
my maid also hums not stop .. from morning till night..hahha. it's not loud la but i can still hear. Sometimes i really feel abit irritated but i let her be. Cos silence sometimes really scary. And i think it's to keep their mind occupied too else i think they scared. hubby call her the singing maid

YLN,
dun stress, talk to yr hubby and see if u guys can come with a balance? ya, i will get a translation dictionary too if i were u, no choice la, but at least we have a few more weeks of training to go

medusa,
oh, that is called kegal? that one i can hold lei, or mayb i never do for a long time so now like tt

Re: Keagal exercise

Huh..do now.. then later give birth also will tend to 'pi chiak' again mah.. Think do after birth better ba? keke

YLN (doll_puppet),wow, so fast start the StrepB test liao. During my first pregancy, I did mine at 34-5weeks and it was positive.
This time round I may also want to do it early, maybe this week like you.

My maid like to sing children songs, like ABC, Twinkle star and barney cos she and my girl always watch the children DVD. My mum have to cook so the maid always follow my girl around.

catherine
i told my ILS many many times liao not to let her watch TV..n ask her to do work..but my MIL will say ' nothing to do already lar'...and the maid will sit down happily and watch TV lor...so how?

wah..ur hubby want to get hp for ur maid ar? i have seen many scary situations of maids in my estate..they bring the child/elderly down for walk...then end up they sitting on the bench and using hps!...the poor kid/elderly (in wheelchair) has to sit in one corner and wait for the maid to finish talking on the phone! i dun think i will get a hp for my maid..i will only buy a phone card which i will keep and only take it out when its time to call her home...

hee..my maid also sings and hums when she works..my hubby say one morning..she gave him a fright..cuz he wakes up at 6plus also..then suddenly hear someone humming,...like ghost like that!.,...hahah

avocado
oh...u mean the swap test is called StepB test? i didn't know...when urs was positive the last time..what happened then?

avocado: For the Strep B test, do we have to request for it? Cos my gynae didnt mention anything too? Err..any 'symptons' for positive strep B? Coz in US it is a procedure to do the test.

YLN,
Ya sometimes I also got frighten cos like some woman voice humming in the background.. hahaha but I think i'll just let her carry on. I think can understand if ask her keep quiet for entire day also very poor thing. And also none of us so much time to keep talking to her all the time..

cos my hse no land line so hubby say not safe also to not have a phone in the hse in case any emergency she need to reach us or we reach her. So the hp will only be used in the hse and we control via prepaid card. I think also makes sense loh.

avocado,
I also did my StepB test but dono for what :p gynae just said all ok. So I didnt ask further.

Hi EstherJ
Welcome.

hehe,
seems like alot of maid likes to hum ....... or advocado's case, sing. guess as long as it's not too distracting, ok lor, wat to do

cindy,
well, not functioning 100%. Less efficient cos' old liao. Nutrients may not pass 100% to baby. Not only that amino fluid may be low too. Since for this round I dun have GD, my gynae is ok with me carrying till 41 week if still no signs of labour. So long placenta still providing enough nutrient to baby (baby still growing well) and amino fluid at desired level.

I also have discharge but not itchy. So not too concern cos' I experienced for my prev pregnancy too. No infection nor yeast. Try to keep dry and think eating yogurt helps too so that environment not conducive for yeast infection.

twin stars,
ya lor. Just ask her to endure a bit longer lah. But u have to take care of yourself first cos' u r her source of nutrient.

happycat,
my hubby doubt i will deliver in aug lei. es when i'm anemic. i'm at higher risk of preterm

i also did a strap b test but next wk then will know the result

celynee,
it's like a pep smear. some gynaes do it early, some later. it's to check for vaginal infection. if we have it, need to get treated before we give birth as baby need to pass thru our vaginal for natural labour and might be infected if we are. but if c sect then no need to worry

Snow,
I had my loot ready in a excel file. Realised cant attached it in the private mail or I dunno how to do it. What's ur email address so that I can send to you?

Medusa,
I was thinking to eat b4 delivering coz after that, must diet liao thus can’t indulge in buffets anymore…heehee

Storeberry,
Actually I already have an Allerhand diaper bag from 1st pregnancy liao and still in very good condition but was thinking to get a Naraya bag to dump bb’s stuff so at least I can still take my own handbags/small bags when out…hahaha

Twin Stars,
Yalor, Naraya pdts cheap and good in BKK so since my fren is gg so ask her to get for me…how I wish I’m the 1 gg instead…hahaha

Happycat,
I ordered that pair this spree…hahaha

YLN,
so qiao, i also did the swap test and blood test ytd during my checkup!!
Doc also mentioned what to pack for hospital, he so nice, say must pack for hubby too, in case he goes from his work place...din even think abt packing for hubby wor..lolz.
i failed my first blood test, low blood, hopefully this time will pass, if not they will increase my iron pills dosage.

regarding pelvic floor exercise, books i read encourages doing this before and after birth..say is very beneficial.
so smetimes i do, smtime i forgot.
since i do tend to leak when i sneeze, so i try to do loh.

welcome esther J!

just now fruit stall aunty advise me to take coconut, i say so early take meh ??
only 33 wks wor... now also not sure will go through c section /naturally, so think will skip the coconut first ba..afraid will gain more weight from the drink and flesh. :p

discharge :
i got whitish one..wonder if that is normal..?

Hee! Hee! Looks like 080808 is a hot date huh? If everybody aim for this date, the maternity wards in the hospitals are going to be really really busy. Next time all babies from this thread can have one big birthday celebration.
Well if baby comes on my EDD it will be 080808 but likely hood is that it won't. Don't mind when he/she comes as long as its after 24 Jul!

Re: Kegels (or Pelvic Floor Exercises as they are sometimes called).
Went for antenatal class on Saturday and the MW was saying it was best to start exercising those muscles now because you're less likely to tear them during labour if they were well conditioned.

Antenatal class was interesting as the MWs went through the stages of labour and all the options of pain relief plus their side effects. I think their message was that if you can take the pain do without the drugs. They gave us some helpful tips on how to make labour less stressful. We were recommeded to get a Birthing Ball (or exercise ball) to sit on while at home but also to use it to practise getting into the kneeling position with the ball for support. According to the MW that was the best position for labour as gravity will help the baby thru' the birth canal. Apparently lying on the bed is the worst position as it works against gravity and makes the passage harder for the baby! Didn't know that as TV shows always show women lying on the bed during labour.
Well after spending 2 hours listening to the MWs, I have decided I will try the drug free option. Hubby has ordered a 'Birthing Ball' off the internet and I have been practising Kegels every now and then and sitting cross-legged as much as possible. According to the MWs all these will help quicken the process and make it less stressful.

hey girls! long time no pop by.

anyone experiencing contractions? i've been getting some, just tummy harden for a minute or so. but not painful. i'm wondering if this is just BH or some other sign.

the problem is i ate some pineapples last weekend (yes, i know is taboo) and have been feeling weird since. never happened when i ate pineapples before. i'm getting worried as i dun want to be early.