(2008/08) Aug 2008

Celyn,
Enjoy your show tonight!

Avocado,
Dun wori, your bb will be 2kg soon. So you will be on HL/MC till you give birth?

Mulberry,
The diaper bag your hb bought is nice. The Coach bag he bought for you is nice too although I will prefer the gold too coz not so striking.

Valnsw,
Same here, my hb is clueless of what to buy for me 1…yday he said he bought a pair of puma shoes for my gal…hope it is nice man…his taste sometimes cannot make it man…

Catherine,
Dun wori, your bb will reach 2kg soon too!

So lucky, how I feel I'm shopping outside right now instead of working...hahaha

valnsw, hisstory..
thanks for ur welcome..
guess nowsaday we just do as how the traditional without knowing the significance.
it's ok.. thanks... think will plan as how was told by my parents and in law.

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
same here. my hubby's taste also cannot really be trusted.
oh n he bought a couple of Baby Gap rompers, size 3-6mths, inspite of me telling him don't buy anymore bb clothings. it's cute lah. but we have too many 0-6mths sizes clothings liao.
hee...i think i'll just sell them off in the forum. :p

Btw, ur hubby not back from Taiwan yet?

i see most of ur hubbies all quite enthusiastic abt bb n buying stuff for bb...sigh...my hubby....cannot even be bothered with anything...so envious of all the mummies with enthusiastic hubbies..

i rem there was once my hubby told me (he still got cheek to tell me!)..his friends ask him y so free..(cuz he jio them go out)....then he say, 'also not i give birth, why shld i be bz?'..sigh...see ..this kind of attitude...

mulberry,
the mee sua is with those steamed fish and then the soup base is boiled with fish bones I think. I'm staying off fried food for now.
According to my mum's theory, must drink more fish soup now to boost the milk supply for later and she said all the essence is in the fish soup, so must drink.

I just went to the toilet 2nd time after my lunch wor.. Fish soup again for lunch. The maid boiled fish soup again.

I'm just wondering if I'm back to 1st trimester, now eat little bit full alrdy, see/smell fish v averse to it.

I heard Coach having sale of 30% discount, so wanted to go out but now feel so queasy. So sianz..

YLN,
I think my hubby is not that enthusiastic one. The only few times he paid for bb things is when I dragged him to be my ahmad and carrier boy during Isetan private sale and a few other occasions.
I've been the more enthusiastic one buying bb clothes and all. hehe. Maybe I should just get a suppl card from him and use it for all the purchases heh...

My hubby also jio his friends, but to play basketball on weekly basis. Then there was once he didn't go and I asked him why. He said most could not turn up and one had to stay at home to help take care of bb. I immediately hinted to him, next time he also has to help take care of bb and skip basketball if needed.

He just listened, never say anything. Think he don't dare to commit ah..

Haiz, just take it this way, men are not v good caregivers. Don't expect too much. If they willing to help, then it's a bonus lo.

valnsw
sigh.....my hubby somemore tell me he won't want to feed bb when she born...he will only play wif her..the changing n bathing and feeding , he say he dun wanna do...im just crossing my fingers his mentality will change when bb born lor...cuz i think a bit hard for him to visualize having to care for an infant...but maybe when he see his own bb...he will change lor..*Cross fingers and toes!*

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>
this is the 1st time my hubby bought things for bb, on his own initiative. i mean not counting those times when i have to drag him along. :p
thus i don't dare to complain much about his loots for bb. can u imagine, there's a bib he bought which is actually more a boy design (i'm having a girl). He bought it bcoz of the wording "Dad's team". i tell myself nvm lah, must give him points for trying.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
oh so fast we must drink fish soup liao? i tot only start to drink after delivery.
now me only eat alot of baked/grilled salmon and sometimes my mom will cook threadfin fish for me to eat.
i too don't like steamed fish taste.
hmmm...i think ur mom's advise is true hor since u leaking colostrum already. Must tell my mom to make fish soup for me now also liao :p

YLN, wah, tell your hubby that the bb's surname will follow yours then, since he doesn't want to claim any responsibiltiy for being a dad :p

mulberry,
aiya at least ur hubby bothers to buy something for baby. .. and it's something that you find cute too
Appreciate it. Dont sell la.

YLN,
dont worry my hubby like yours .. so far I think he only paid for the cot. the rest .. he like bo chap one.

re: pigeon cloth diapers
wana ask about pre-washing the nappies. Can put in washing machine to pre-wash ? Just once is enough ?

mulberry,
I'm not sure if the fish soup is causing the colostrum, but since pregnant, my mum instruct the maid to cook fish or fish soup.
Everyday sure have fish, whether salmon, cod or batang, red snapper etc for dinner. Lunchtime depends, if I'm at home, will also have fish.

1st trimester I cannot take the fish unless is fried, but sometimes also can puke. 2nd trimester ok, but now entering 3rd trimester finding it tougher to take fish soup especially in the morning.

My mum said last time when pregnant with me, my dad bought those fresh ikan bilis from kelong for her to eat and she breastfed me, but forgot for how many months.

Hmm, don't know how true her theory is.

catherine, i think u better check with supplier. i know for bum wear, they recommend u wash a few times before use, and cannot use softener also.

mul, eat too much fish now will boost milk ss and cause colostrum leak is it? when to start taking coconut? next month?

krex
..maybe i shld tell him that..see what he say...sometimes think abt his anti - enthu attitude...really feel like telling him off...but sigh..i tell myself not to be angry lor...

catherine

for washing cloth diapers..i used the baby detergent and hand wash..cuz the cloth diapers like abit thin and flimsy like dat..i scare wait machine wash..and got lobang..:p...maybe cuz my is the cheapo brand from the neighbourhood shops lah..pigeon brand one maybe more sturdy..

val, don't take fish in excess. big fish have high levels of mecury, so avoid tuna. salmon also take moderately lah. but now 3rd trimester i guess fish is necessary to aid in bb's brain dvpt.

u can let ur bb eat lots of ikan bilis next time as it is high in calcium and has lower levels of mecury.

krex
actually i have been taking coconut water once/twice a week since i was in week 28/29...i read its no good to take too early cuz too 'liang' but i also dunno what is the consequences of being too 'liang' ...so far, *touch wood* ...everything still normal for me and bb..
think i read somewhere week 34 onwards good to take ..dunno issit a not also..

wow, i didn't log in for 1 day and i really can't keep up with all the conversations going on. everyone's excited about everything, and that's kinda nice and warm

re: fish soup
i heard from an aunty that papaya boiled with fish soup with increase the supply of milk. i browsed through the menu for confinement food and it's indeed there. so i suppose it's good to start drinking some after childbirth ba. wouldn't want to have milk leaking from my breasts, YET. anyone already experiencing that?

catherine:
sorry about the slow response. regarding the bumwear, yup yup, i am still keen. when would you be free? friday?? sorry ah, sometimes i am too lazy to read all the posts. perhaps you drop me a pm or something we go and see after you call them about the discount available? thanks thanks!

joanne:
did you take up the newborn package then? i think it's such a nice idea to take nice memorable pics for bb in their first week. wrt the free makeup+hairdo for maternity shots from dphotofolio, we gave it a miss cuz i still prefer maryann's style. anyway, i haven't really tried a female photographer and hope that would it easier for me to relax in front of the camera with my swollen belly :p

YLN, was decision to have a bb joint or yours? normally harder to get hb to be involved if one party is the one eager to have kid. he will naturally slack off.

my hb is not the extremely concerned kind. he doesn't read books or bother to find out more about my pregnancy or bb's growth, but he does go shopping around for bb stuff with me and we make joint decisions together. sometimes, he also makes fun of my ballooning tummy and cannot understand why i pant when i climb stairs and feel so tired during 1st and 3rd trimester.

but ah well, guys will be guys. unless your hb is a SNAG, not likely he's going to show lots and lots of concern for a pregnant wife :p

krex,
I don't like tuna and for salmon have not been eating it that frequently.
As for ikan bilis,, I kinda like eating that especially when fried till crispy. Haha, my mum got maid to cook it ever since I went to antenatal class and it's said to be rich source of calcium.

I've been skipping abit of the DHA capsules as I've been eating abit too much fish. Sometimes, stomach doesn't feel too gd and I don't want to burp out the fishy smell from the capsules.

jassie,
hehe I don't have milk leaking, its just this colorless liquid but won't be tricking down. It oozes from the nipple by itself without squeezing.

krex
come to think of it..it was actually him who was the one who wanted to start a family...but his reason was that he is getting old and we should have a kid soon..now..see..got bb already..reaction so different..

my hubby also always make fun of my tummy and 'tor zhai' ..every nite..he will keep examining it and be amazed with y i have no more 'tor zhai'..he leaves a lot decisions as to what to buy and where to buy to me....sigh..maybe i should look at it positively and see that as him giving me more authority and control..keekeee..

krex,
really? but when i was at the AMK Hub childcare place where TMC conducted their antenatal class, they used a forehead thermometer (duno what brand), me &amp; HB temperature always 35.xx... prob bcos we blast the aircon in the car &amp; then attend class so we thought maybe not so accurate...

re: GlenE
i stayed at 4 bedder (labour ward), 2 bedder &amp; 1 bedder during my last 2 stays there... the area for 2 bedder is smaller compared to the area for 1 bedder... the sofa is also the bed for HB... pillow &amp; blanket will be provided...

snow, if GlenE let you use the whole 2 bedder for yourself &amp; HB, how did they charge you? If charge you 2 bedder ok la, but if 1 bedder bo hua lei...

cocomo,
that means both local &amp; export/US sets (1st few years) provide warranty only on motor... i just bought a braun ear thermometer last week at 20% off UP$109 at Mustafa... there is another model UP $129 that has 8 memories, mine only 1 memory... local warranty 1 year...

avocado,
yr gynae so fast ask you to stop on the anti-contraction pills? Mine ask me to stop end of week 34, just before my next gynae visit on my week 35... me also very nervous lei... 2 weeks away...

hi ladies!
just reached home. =)

m2b
its ok lah, its messy enough since i'm in the mid of "spring cleaning" lor...hee hee...
i'm lousy when it come to household thingy. =P

krex
its GlenEagles. =)
yes, the whole double room is exclusively mine.
cos i booked single mah, normally GlenE will upgrade instead of downgrade lor.
the next day they need that double rm rite, they moved me up to their suite as they still got no available single rm.
it benefited my hb, cos both day he can sleep comfortably lor...ha ha.....
oh ya, no extra charges as compare to single rm.

hisstory
thx, that is why i wear those super comfy sandals out today.

dongle
i saw their 1 bedder rm, its almost the same bah?
taking 2 bedder rm only hb affected nia, he will sleep on the hospital bed next to me instead of sofa bed lor.
lucky he not pantang....hee hee....
and in 2 bedder rm, both of us can watch our own tv programme cos got 2 seperate tv mah.

dongle
oh ya, thx for rings a bell here.
this time my hb will bring along my gal, so i might insist not to take 2 bedder rm....
cos i dun wanna let my gal sleep on hospital bed, i pantang. =P

YLN, what is tor zhai?

dongle, my friend never feedback abt accuracy. but she said taking on forehead easier for bb as compared to ear or tongue or underarm.

snow, so shld i bk double with mt a and then upgrade when i get admitted, or opt for single already? at least if got no single room on that day, they can only upgrade me to suite and now downgrade to double rite? btw, do they start charging the moment u enter labour ward, or when u get wheeled to your maternity ward?

Dongle,
Ya they will not provide warranty on accessories one. If first few years can give warranty on US set then ok to buy since much cheaper. Check with them if in case they not able to fix the problem will they compensate you with new set and normally how long they will take to fix the motor? Timing wise is important as if you did not pump for even one day will affect your milk SS liao furthermore not pumping might coz your breast be engorged. Last time my motor spoilt and Medela customer service helped to repair on the spot.

valnsw:
heee..... actually i am looking forward to the day when my breast would start having some discharge that looks like colostrum. from the articles i read, i learnt that not all mtb would experience that during pregnancy. but i really hope that the BF would work on me.

re: JTS - Glenn Doman
anyone signed up for his program or read his book? i am starting to read a very old book by him, titled Teach Your Baby To Read: The Classic Guide to Early Learning. find it really amazing so far. it recorded that a 3yo severely brain-damaged child is able to read when placed on the right program. even a child as young as 18mths is able to appreciate and read too. one interesting fact is that a new toy is only capable of holding a child's attention for about 90seconds before he finds it boring and puts it away. most interesting thing is that he is suggesting that we should PUT AWAY playpens because they are actually meant for adults since adults do not want their child to explore the world around him/her. ha ha ha.

Mulberry: Your brown carters bag looks chic &amp; nice!!! Your DH will definitely have no prob carrying it!
You must be so excited unpacking all the pressies!

I just came back from Robinson, so sad that Pigeon have no discount at all!? The rest all have at least 15-20%... Went back to change the Pigeon bottles. Then went to a shop near the bugis temple to get some bb's clothes. This shop was recommended by my fren, bought long sleeve sleeping shirt &amp; pants (6pcs for $10) and bought some tees for my nephew, only $1!! Haha! And I forgot to drop by Mustafa to buy the Omron thermometer!

krex
i only noe GlenE promised me they will only upgrade during my hospital tour that time, but its 3yrs ago liao.
I'm not sure about Mt A leh. =(
a whole 2 bedder rm might not be smaller than a single rm when open up lor, dun think its consider a downgrade rite?
i think most hospitals started charging the moment u reach the hospital bah.
they normally go by day instead of no of hrs, and their 1 day starts from 12am to 11.59pm.

storeberry,
did u go to taka? any sale there? i intend to buy all the misc stuff this weekend. eg. shampoo, wipes etc. Where is a good place to buy them all? Cheong Choon? Taka? Kiddy Palace?

I have a Omron thermometer - those stick into the tongue type...can bb use them?

mulberry

Tt's a nice Coach bag u got!! Push pressie anot, just take it! *heheh*

von

So long as it's not too much of a hassle &amp; doesn't go against my beliefs, then I wun mind going along with the 'usual' practice..

Anyway i doubt parents/ILs expect a new mummy to deliver the cakes.. They rather u rest well

val

Wow, having fish everyday!! Thankfully it's different fish.. Fish is a gd source of protein &amp; the ikan bilis is def gd source of calcium.. I like!

storeberry

No more 20% for Pigeon at Robinsons? Hmm, I was there on Sat, there was still the discount going on..

Maybe hang on for awhile more, prob closer to the end of GSS, the discount may recur

hey I called the medela service centre just now...I think mom &amp; babes sell the swiss version; and they dun need buy an extra adaptor but first few yrs sell the US version and need to buy adaptor..

if not purchase locally, adaptor is 85. If bought locally ur PIS set, adaptor is 65.

crossing my fingers- if all goes well, even plus the adaptor and delivery to sg..the backpack PIS advanced 2008 will cost me about sgd470...hope its really useful cos i realli hope to bf at least 6mths.

Mulberry,
Ur coach bag is nice =) e carter one also nice. I think like catherine, shd keep the clothes ur hb bought for ur bb la..its nice of him to actually shop for bb, pick and choose. Not easy for a guy le, at least not my hb!

YLN,
Taking about "bochap" hubbies. My hb's colleagues n their hbs seem to be the most bochap DTBs ard le. Bumped into one of them, and hb was telling her we going for prenatal class n all that, she commented say her hb nv go with her for such classes and even gynae appt also nv accompany her one! N apparently at my hb's workplace, all the guys or MTBs' hbs are like that one. What a bad example! So my hb proudly tell me what a good hb he has been, which to me, is the minimal that he shd do alrdy, nothing to b proud of. I also have to initiate for him to go buy baby stuff w me, if not think nothing will be done yet.

I know of friends whose hubbies are really very enthu about the whole new bb thingy. *envy* but ok la, i cant complain abt my hb alrdy, considering he is surrounded by terrible examples!

jassie,
nope, i called maryann to book for end july thou. Think i wont do the newborn one, i will only bring bb for photoshoot a few mths old, think cuter, more expressive

Re:push pressie
you girls hb so nice, even know whats push pressie. Im hb is totally clueless, so i can just sit ard n DREAM about it. He only know how to work work n work, n plus surrounded by bad examples who will never enlighten him

krex
in short, yes if u go in late.
this applies even for govt hospitals.
think for GlenE, less than 4hrs stay they will have diff calculation.
i can't remember already, only remember must be less than 4hrs.
but i'm not sure about other hospitals. =P

joanne
ya lor, ya lor.
bb will normally be cuter when they are at least 4 mths old....hee hee....
my gal always refused to believe that the new born bb inside the photo is her leh. =D

Bacon&amp;egg: No, I didn't go Taka, but I would think that for wet wipes &amp; bb detergents, the Ocean toiletries shop at Chinatown would be cheaper. Cos I think some of the items in Dept store are nett price, no discount. Think Kiddy Palace not cheap also... Its the bldg opp Cheong Choon, you know where? The Pigeon Breast pad at Robinson was selling for $8.90 (special price) &amp; I bought at the Chinatown shop for $8. (Aiyooo.. I am becoming so auntie! Kekek)

Von: Yes, its the shop at the corner, directly opp of Skyline bldg. There is a toilet near it.

Hisstory: But I just find it strange that almost all the bb's brand have discount except Pigeon..

joanne,
Hmm.. don't know if it's a stereotype, maybe guys in the banking line are bochap daddies? My hubby is like that, maybe he thinks as long he brings in the dough, it's gd enough.

But then again, my hubby was probably abit more interested when one colleague had a newborn son few months ago, and told me where to get certain things and did cord blood banking.

In conclusion, men are creatures of peer pressure and greatly influenced by their peers. They rather believe and are more influenced by their friends/colleagues more than their wives.

storeberry

tt's queer.. Maybe other sources might be cheaper than Robinsons. Have u tried Baby Kingdom (or issit Hypermart?)

storeberry, where is ocean emporium at chinatown? have been trying to locate it but can't find it. is it very big or very cramped? a lot of things to buy cheap?

M2B,
Ya. He's going for business trip next week. My boy is 27-month old. Still like to be carried, especially me. It's so great that your hubby is coming back. Oh and thanks for the massage lady contact. Will try to arrange with 1 of them.

Shint,
Tried that too. It doesn't work for me. Luckily still can carry him but guess better not too often. When he is frightened, it's always "mimi bao bao...." *sigh*

Val,
Will transfer the balance to you soon. I believe u paid me $14. Great talking to you too. Ya, I do agree timing is too short though. Have great fun chatting with the other mums. Guess we are a bunch of noisy ladies. Hehehe...

twin star,
Guess I could have put too much pressure on one of the accupucture points on my shoulder cos' went shopping for the past 2 days. Cos' was ok the next morning. Pain around chest area and numbness on left hand (carry handbag on left shoulder).

hisstory,
my son dun bully me. He only bully his dad and grandparents. Hahaha.... I guess he just need comfort from me.

Snow,
U feeling better now? No hurry cos' we still have about
two months. Pls take your time cos' I know organising spree is very time-consuming and exhausting. :)

mulberry,
which part of USA did you hubby go to? Dunno hubby can shop for baby stuff or not. Also thinking of asking him to buy me a Caoch bag too.... hehehe....

3D Scan,
Hmm.... i din know that it's not included in the normal package. My gynae always do a 3D scan for me and I get to take the photo home after that.

happycat,
JL having 20% sale this week? I didn't receive the mailer leh.. Hmm.
Ya, can let me know til when and what are the things on 20% off? hehe, time to shop again.

val,
Think not banking guys le..cos those my hb coll's husbands not frm banking. Anyway i told my hubby not to learn frm them cos they are extremely bad examples tt i wont tolerate. Cos he was e one who wanted a baby baby.

hisstory,
hee good one. But lydat very obvious i hinting to him le. Actually to be honest, i dont need any push pressie or anything. I just want my hb to be involved and supportive, which he have been. So i have no complains alrdy.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>, <font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
hee...me very notti hor, wanna sell of the rompers. But even my mom commented got too many small sizes clothings liao. will see how lah, if got anyone willing to buy at the cost price, will sell it off. if not, will just keep it. ;)

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
haha...i dunno leh whether it's because eat alot of fish will coz leaking colostrum..it's just my guess. :p
i read that can start take coconut weekly (once or twice everyweek) only from your last month.

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
thanks. hehe..yeah my hubby said he is very willing to carry it.
wow the bb clothes u bought at bugis very cheap leh. good buy! i think i read in other threads, mtbs also mentioned this place.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
i agree with u 100% on your statement that men are creatures of peer pressure and greatly influenced by their peers!! My hubby is also like that.

<font color="0000ff">happycat</font>
my hubby went to Chicago. but you can get bb stuff anywhere. best if your hubby goes to a state/city where is tax free. Chicago's tax very high.
for the bb toys, i had to do research where to buy. i choose Target coz got a Target store near the hotel he was staying. Hee...i try to make it as easy as possible for him.
He was there for training. The campus where the course was held is near those outlets place. Thus, after class, he went there to shop.
Those outlet places are usually very far from the city. luckily his campus is nearby. Else don't think he will purposely go there.