(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mulberry: Now seeing your bag has tempt me!! I actually don't want to get a diaper bag.
Yah, the shop is really cheap, I didn't even know it till my fren told me.

Krex: Its on the 3rd floor of the People's Park complex, the building opp OG. That floor also sells clothes & stuffs. They are other shops around but Ocean stil the cheapest, not a very big shop but they have alot of things there. Remember to buy Pigeon breast pads, sanitary pads, cotton disposable undies (Only $2.50), bb detergents, lotions, bb shampoo & bath..etc.

I saw the Sebamed bb bubble bath 1000ml, selling at robinson for $46, I bought mine with an extra 250ml for $34.

Robinson sale:
The strange thing is the 3 Pigeon bottles I bought from Robinson last mth has increase price! And no discount somemore!

Valnsw,
I ate alot of fish 2nd trimester. Now lesser cos hubby very long nvr cook fish anymore. Later I will nag him.

Jassie,
Ya I'm reading a few of the Glenn Doman books. Very interesting. But sadly I feel the local centre not very good.

re: bo chap hubbies
If I wait for him to get things done, then I think nothing would ever be done. Even the cord blood i just sign up already then inform him. He just let me do what I want cos he also know it's the best for baby. But give and take lo. I know he loves kids very much and he will dote on baby next time.

I asked him if he buying me push pressie and he said, strike 4D buy you anything you want.. hahaha.

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
izzit you that mentioned your fren will go US? ask her to buy 1 for you lah. US diaper bags is cheap and good quality.

oh i remember reading in July thread, a mtb mentioned that Pigeon will increase their prices. oh dear, so it's really true.

happycat

Heheh, tt's a relatively good boy u have
He sounds so cute!

joanne

same here, most imptly HB's going to be involved fr now till Bb's popped.. Tt's when we need most support &amp; help

sorry to intrude. I have one used mini-electric pump to let go at $50. please pm me if you are interested. happy pregnancy!

Thermometer
I have just got an Omron ear thermometer from Mustafa at 20% off today. It is $52.90 after discout. Also bought a Desitin Origin for $9.40 there.

Bumwear
Anyone plan to do a bulk purchase or something ? Otherwise I will just share a package with a mum to be. Please PM me if you would like to share a Bumwear package.

Pigeon
I have just bought 2 bottles of 600ml Pigeon laundry detergent for $13.90 over the weekend at Taka. And all the Pigeon brand was having 20% discount then. I also got a Graco Playpen for $189 there too. Just received Taka delivery today. Next I have to source for mattress and crib sets.

Diaper bag
Forgot to mention that I bought the gr8x diaper bag at Taka too. Like it very much because can open up the bag and just let baby lie on the mat the bag while all the stuff is at the side.

jassie/babywise,
I'm interested in the bumwear.. but mainly the prefolds. What are the items you interested ? I'll give them a ring tomo to see what promos they having.

PM me

Catherine,
I intend to get the diaper pants. Not sure if I want to get the prefold as I read that can use normal cloth diaper to put into the diaper pants as inserts.

Hi Ladies it's been a long time. How's everyone doing.
Summer has finally come to the UK and the maternity baju I've got while in Sg has come in useful.

Catherine is the motherhood fair still on? When I was down in Sg in April my hubby and I got bumwear from their stall at Expo. We took the package D as we are intending to cloth diaper full time. During the fair they gave us an extra lot of inserts and a box of nappy liners as part of their promo. If the fair is still on it might be worth your while to go there. If I was still in Sg I probably would however since I'm not we ordered some more online as they seem better (and cheaper) than the ones sold here in the UK.

Hi Mrs N,
nope the fair is over. During the fair they didnt have the prefolds, mainly they had the training pants and the pocket diapers. I'm considering the pocket diapers vs the prefolds. Abit hesitant on the pocket diapers cos not sure if they dry well. What did you get ?

Mrs N
So what are your rating for bumwear out of a scale of 10? 8? 9? fyi the motherhood fair is over already. it lasted from last thursday till sunday.

catherine,
pm-ed you!

babywise,
are you keen in getting 6 diaper covers too???

BabyWise,
That's what we are planning to do too, hah, provided that the bb is not a fussy-pot. Hence let's set Friday as a tentative date for us to go down shopping? Catherine, would you be making the call tomorrow?

Mulberry: Yah, but don't know if she has time to go &amp; buy. Will send her order soon. So your DH bought from ToysRus or? Can ask if toysRus is easily found throughout US?

Some mummies already know Pigeon is increasing prices? So smart! I still blur blur..

Jassie,
I am ok with Friday shopping. Will take the opportunity to check out other baby outlets at United Square too.

Catherine,
Yes...one size pocket diaper but the problem is just that it might leak for the first 1-2 months coz baby still small. But it is more value to buy the one size as can use for a long time.

jassie, babywise,
I cant make it on friday cos going for checkup. I'll call them tomorrow and then update you both. Meanwhile if you proceed on Friday can compare the difference in prices. I dont mind 6pcs (but actually the website page is 15 pcs so 5 each for 3 of us) but I'm actually more keen on the prefolds cos I worry the pocket diaper will also be hot "down there" so prefer the cloth type for day use.

Snow,
duno lei, i felt the double room is small compared to the single room i stayed in... maybe bcos it's a corner single room...

krex,
never mind, i bought the braun ear thermometer aledi...

cocomo,
ok thanks... will ask 1st few years in detail if i decide to buy...

re: HB
my HB entice me with 5 figure push present then i decide to go through this... i very selfish one...

i cant complain much about my HB cos he is more interested in everything abt baby than me, he wanted a baby all along but i kept hesitating... he is the one who suggested going for antenatal class &amp; baby talks... he even wanted to go for parenting talk but i declined cos baby not out yet wat... he bought all the motherhood/mother &amp; baby magazines &amp; request for more reading material from my gynae nurse... he also suggested signing up for the bloom photography + family photography at the motherhood fair but i not interested cos i look fat now &amp; scared after delivery cannot slim back... he also accompanied me for all the baby stuffs shopping and paid for all the baby stuffs... he even bought 1 to 2 year old clothing plus diapers up to L size aledi...

re: leaking colostrum

I dont really eat alot of fish leh...I eat alot of chicken/pork daily..but fish, not really. I think the colostrum is getting more n more everyday!? So I think the *secret* to colostrum is to ask your hubby to practise it.. :p

Re: playpen or babycot?
Would a playpen or babycot is more practical? I think those couples who got a babyroom can put a babycot inside right? For me, baby staying with me in my room... Dh feels that no need to buy too expensive as baby will sure squeeze with us to sleep one. So playpen or babycot? I am also considering to buy a yaolan too..............

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
my hubby bought from Carter's outlet in Premium Outlet. It's a popular outlet place. alot of states have it.
http://www.premiumoutlets.com/centers/

end up, he didn't go to Toysrus coz it was rather far away from the place he stayed.
Not sure which state your fren will go to, but my hubby was in Chicago. All the Toysrus stores was quite far away. The nearest one need abt 40mins travel.

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>
wow ur hubby is model daddy-to-be ;)

nini,
I got a small size babycot for the room (26" only) cos my room got size contraint. Then I also got a playpen which can put in the study room(nor sure if can convert to be baby room) or in the living room during the day time. I dont intend to let baby sleep with me. Also not buying yao lan :p

re:bintan
Hubby finally suggested going Bintan for a short getaway this weekend. (he very last min type) cos I was so disappointed that cannot go Msia. Anyone knows which is a good resort in Bintan. Minus Banyan Tree la (that one too ex). And any idea can go pass indo immigration ? :p

nini,
I got a babycot(big) for baby's room as either size would not fit in my room without blocking the toilet door. I know I am probably being ambitious but I intend to let bb sleep in his own room. There won't be space on our bed either as our room could only fit a queen size and DH and I are already whacking each other when we sleep! Will not be buying yao lan unless really bo pian.

Ha! Ha! Jassie my baby haven't pop yet so can't rate bumwear experiment with a live baby.
But I've been washing them along with my clothes and found that the diaper dries rather quickly. However the inserts take longer though. But I quite like the feel of bumwear probably b'cos my hubby and I are used too fleecy clothing and we know its very easy to wash and dry. Though personally I think that fleece could be a little hot for a tropical climate like Sg but in temperate countries like the UK its quite ideal. But if your baby sleeps in an air-conditioned room then 'heat' shouldn't be a problem.

Catherine we got the one size diaper. Like Babywise said you can use it for a longer period of time so better value for money.

Babywise yes the guy at the bumwear store did say that the one size diaper may be too big for newborns. Was playing around with the diaper the other day and saw there were an extra row of poppers which could adapt the diaper to even a smaller size but whether it will fit newborns? We'll just have to see. So to be on the safe side my hubby bought a packet of disposables for 'just in case'.

Can I check with you all, whether have you bought any thermometers for your baby for standby? Do you get a normal digital one (which costs like $10-20) or those digital ear thermometers (which are more expensive)?

Any advice on which brand to get? I heard Braun is good (but which model?). Then again, I'm not sure if such 'investment' is worthwhile to make?

morning mummies.

didn't log in yesterday and so much post liao. was on half day to meet up with nanny, watch kungfu panda and did a little shopping at parkway. bought the avent iq bottle warmer from mothercare liao, after discount its $86.40.

m2b,
you know something, at the beginning of kungfu panda, i actually fall asleep. don't know i'm so tired yesterday. hahah..... went back home to sleep after that before going out for dinner again.

kovankitty,
i have not bought any thermometer but i'm looking at the one from mothercare that looks like a pacifier. not sure if that is good, so haven't bought any.

storeberry, the ocean emporium only sells everyday essentials is it? no big items like prams, car seats, etc?

what time does it close? is it one of those shops selling toiletries and cloth and clothes and hardware at people's park? downstairs got hawker centre one right?

Storeberry,
Do you mind posting a price list of the toiletries you got at Ocean @ Chinatown?

Kovankitty,
I got the ear thermometer..I think should be very hard to stick a normal thermometer into baby's mouth.

morning ladies!

happycat
i'm fine liao, thx. =)
we can always arrange another lunch gathering if u gals can make it ya?
as for the spree hor, cos from order till delivered take around 3wks.
if anyone delivered early, think they might not even got time to collect until after confinement rite? hee hee....plan too much liao. =P

dongle
its ok lah.
the whole idea of booking single rm is for the privacy only lor, as long as i dun need to share washroom with other peoples that i dunno.
slightly bigger or smaller should not be a concern, cos i'll only be there 2 nites mah.
i only remember the 2 bedder rm i'm in that time is big enough to push the bb "trolley" all around w/o problem, so i'm quite ok with it liao lor.

nini
u so gd leh....
no matter i eat fish or do anything that others claimed to help in milk flow, my supply just like a few drop only.
think maybe individual health or body condition do play a part ya?

Been a long time since I logged in. Busy with an event and is glad that its finally over.

Catherine,
U gg to Bintan in ferry rite? Guess that is the only way to Bintan. I worked in the maritime industry and had read somewhere that preggie above 24 weeks are not allowed onto the ferry due to some insurance coverage. Please check with the ferry oeprators before you book any hotel rooms.

Good Morning!

Mulberry,
My hb will be back today! Hooray, finally after 3 weeks…bringing my gal to the airport after work…she said she misses Daddy…

Re presents : My hb will now asked me to choose my own presents instead coz he is clueless what is nice and what I like…

YLN,
Dun be upset that your hb isn’t enthusiastic abt bb yet…men normally dun show it…my hb oso doesn’t show his enthusiasm towards bb but when my 1st gal was out, he will feed, change and bathe her…I asked him if he is capable of taking care of both gals next time when I go out and he confidently said “YES”…shall see…heehee

Valnsw,
Are you ok? Seem like you hve been puking frequently recently…
I oso agreed with your theory on men…listen to peers more than wives…

Happycat,
Your boy is a Mommy’s boy. Your hb gg away for 10 days? Dun wori, time flies 1…

Dongle,
Your hb is real sweet and can tell he really loves kids.

Catherine,
I have been to Angsana and Bintan Lagoon Resort at Bintan…just couple, I will recommend Angsana Resort coz quieter…

Celyn,
Think you are tired coz the show really nice and funny leh…my gal wana watch again man…I’m looking fwd to watch Sex and the City with hb this weekend…

Yuuri/Kovan kitty
Just attended the Doctor's talk and the PD had advised that its beta to use a normal thermometer on the baby's armpit to get their temperature. The ear thermometer may not be suitable for new borns as they ear is still too small to get an accurate reading. Just fyi.

dongle,
thats v nice of ur hb! Can tell how much he wants a baby. If i wait for hb to do all those, nothing will be done till now. Sometimes i think, maybe maybe the more bochap we r, hubbies might be more gan chiong. Hee..

Catherine,
I also thinking of going for short holiday le..heard Angsana also not bad since its affiliated to Banyan? But heard Bintan in general isnt cheap. Let me know if uve checked whether preggy woman can get pass indo immi.

Snow,
Glad you are ok now so still gg for your yoga? I get stares when I go gym during lunch time though...hahaha

Collection during confinement? No prob for me coz I vow not to be confined this time...plan to get out once the wound is ok...hahaha

Same here, no matter how much fish I eat and liquid that I comsumed, my milk flow is miserable and so stressed man so I told myself no such stress this time...

m2b
ya, gotta exercise so that its easier to go back to original shape after deliver also hor?
dun worry about how others look at us lor, think they envy we can still be so energectic ya?
hee hee....

me too leh, my friends and i din really confine ourself during our 1st.
think as long as u dun wear something that might ended up catching a cold, should be ok to go out for awhile during confinement lor.

ha ha...that is why whenever i saw people writing die die will have milk, i really feel very pai seh leh.
sometime i really wish to ans them not everyone will die die have milk, no matter what method they tried. =P
so u dun need to stress lah, cos my another 2 friends also having "not enough supply" problem.

Cindy,
Thanks for the info. Luckily I have plenty of normal digi therms at home too! Do you know from what age is the ear thermometer suitable for?

catherine,

I have been to Banyan,Angsana,Maya sari and Nirwana. Banyan no need to say, of course is good. Angsana I took 2 bedrooms suite, if not for the promo don't think will go, find the rooms is dirty or dusty, more like a 4 stars resort. Everything is in US dollar. I like Maya sari the best, those chalet type or can say little hut. Open the door and the sea is in front of me. If you just wanna relax, try maya sari. But no pool at maya sari. Nirwana more for family with kids, room soso....
I'm actually thinking of going but think abit too late, do let me know if we still can hee...

hey the hut that open out to sea sounds good leh...ya if can go..i dun mind....havent been to sea beach resort in ages since we r not the beach relax type but dun think i can afford more than a weekend liao...need to save my leave

dongle

U're so fortunate to have an on the ball HB &amp; FTB.. My HB's always procrastinating. We bought the cot &amp; EDD's end-Aug, he told the person to deliver mid-Aug. *faint* I changed it to mid-July, he doesn't think tt i might deliver as early as mid-Aug.. *sigh*

But I must say he also gave me a gd push pressie &amp; has been attentive to my every need, just slack with bb matters.. *heheh*

NiNi

There are very small baby cots available in the market.. Before we got out cot, we spotted a very small cot at Baby Kingdom. I dun recall it being very exp, prob low-end of $200.. U may want to check it out before choosing between play pen or cot

krex

Ocean sells mainly toiletries &amp; detergents, not really baby stuff

Yupz, it's located at the building next to OG. Has hawker centre on 1st floor, and Ocean's located on the 3rd

catherine

Wow!! Ur HB's quite sweet to suggest a getaway..

who's going to bintan? i just went in march this year. took a weekend trip to banyan tree bintan...no regrets! nice place to R&amp;R, and service is very good. they had an offer during NATAS fair, so we got a good deal.

only thing was i had a bit of sea sickness during ferry ride, which i usu don't have. not sure if it's becoz of my pregnancy. luckily only 1 hour ride, else i sure die!

Snow,
Yalor, especially since I seem to have gained so much this pregnancy…I got comments like “You pregnant can still exercise ah?”…hahaha

My mom oso rather open-minded (or maybe she gave up liao), she told me ok to go our during confinement, just keep ourselves warm…hahaha

Yap, aldy told myself dun be stressed or depressed if no milk again this time coz seem like my 2 sisters oso same prob…anyway, my gal has been developing well on formula too…heehee

Annlee,
Huh, our room in Angsana was good leh and the balcony door opens out to the swimming pool area. Bintan Lagoon oso more for families...

re: cot
Can anyone advice me what we must put in the cot? I mean aside from the normal mattress, bedsheet, bumpers, pillows and stuff...I heard must buy some cotsheet to protect the mattress. Is it this rubber sheet thingy that looks like those anti-slips you put in the car? And where do we put it? On top of the bedsheet or below the bedsheet?

hisstory, oic. my friend told me can buy bb clothes also. is that true? do they also sell maternity pads, like the kiddy palace one (madame pureen)?

annlee
my experience at angsana was excellent as well (like what M2B experienced)..i loved the room as it was facing the sea and pool...and they gave each couple a little turtle souvenir , put nice nice on the bed somemore...very nice and cozy leh..
of cuz it cannot fight with Banyan lar...Banyan is superb ..and so much more expensive.