(2008/08) Aug 2008

wah..it was an active day yday huh...
Dongle..GlenE 1 bedder is always very hot..when I gave birth last time, asked for 1 bedder dun hv..put me at 2 bedder and still want to charge me for 1 bedder! 2nd day wants to shift me but i dun wanna move liao...tis time i also request for 1 bedder again..hopefully can lah..

someone was asking abt sch..Val is it? Baby Inc is not bad..now I stay in Tampines got my mum..if I shift next yr, will consider putting BB at baby inc if i dun hv mum to stay with me..

think shall go mothercare and gap later
since u guys say got spree!

apparently mom & babes medela is from Switzerland not US made

reirei,
ya lor at least i feel more relieved now. But have to control my own food intake alrdy, really worried i cant shed off the wgt aft delivery. Feeling big n clumsy now alrdy..like getting out frm the car also need more energy.

Jassie & catherine,
David is not taking anymore promo packages, but the more expensive ones he still doing.
I also tot Maryann's maternity pics nicer, david more for kids..but maryann's one v exp le..i asked..its $180 and another $250 for all pics back.

Re:hospital registration
My gynae say have to book room next visit, which is @ 32 wks.

Re:3D/4D
Anyone doing or have done this before? Im thinking of doing it tog w growth scan @ 32wks.

megan,
whats the diff if its frm switzerland n not us ar? I thinking of getting the PIS adv cos alot of mummies ard me rave abt it. But wondering where selling cheapest, cos its so exp.

joanne & catherine:
yup i would consider hers as more high end. but who can resist her spontaneous and fabric photo-taking technique..kekek... anyway my idea is not to get back all the pics but some nice ones to add onto the family memories keepsake scrapebook. btw, i have also signed up for the newborn photography by dphotofolio..hahahah...

Re: 3D/4D scan
I was also pretty keen in them but after some serious consideration and staring at the samples online, the brownish pics kinda freak me & hubby out! hahah... it's not very clear and it looks kinda murky to me. we decided to give it a miss.

catherine..

ur frenz takes 2years 2 lose 2kg ah? *sob sob* me veri conscious abt weight gains.. tink gotta eat less from now on.. ani idea what weight of bb will nid caesarian?

A short break from work.

Re: 3D/4D scan

I just did my 4D scan on last Sunday, too bad the baby was too shy and not cooperative, used his hands to cover his face, couldn't see much. Just noticed that his nose is big! Think he is going to look like my hubby. Based on gynae's estimation, his weight is 2 kgs at close to 31 weeks! Gosh, think i better control my diet now. He still got at least 6 - 7 weeks to go. Btw, I did the scan in M'sia, only cost RM 105, so it was not so heart pain when we couldn't see much of him. I didn't record in dvd cos there will be additional charge of RM 80.

hey star xin

depends one lah...cos my fren gave birth naturally 4.2kg but another 2 c-sec babies onli 2.5 or less cos of complications...

Joanne...medela original from Swiss ah...I bought my PIS from US..hope its working! keeping my finger crossed just had it send back from US yday..cost me about SGD392 brand new

mousse,
no problem.

any comments on chozconfectionery? thinking of getting them for baby's full month to give relatives. fil say don't do buffet just give cakes will do.

celyn,
I was also considering chozconfectionery..but personally don't know anyone who tried yet.
Just out of curiosity, when you say don't do buffet...does it mean your relatives won't come to your place for the full month at all? Or they come but no food?

megan,
so swiss made shd be better rite?? i heard its much cheaper buying frm US, but prob is if it breaks down, then thats the troublesome part rite?
wow ur fren gav birth naturally 4.2kg??tts a v bigg baby!

Jassie,
Actually u r kinda right, dont need all pics back, jsut certain nice ones. Any idea how much it is to purchase additional pics frm her?

Re: 3D/4D Scan
I agree it looks abit scary actually. But tot if gonna only have one kid, its quite interesting n good to keep.

re: Maternity photography

Is it necessary to have make-up provided for the session cos some of the studios provide, and some don't...

yuuri,
we might hold a little full month celebration for friends only. too many relatives to invite, to keep it simple we will just send them cakes.

joanne

i planned onli for 1 but 2nd one came along..after 4 yrs..u never noe

hmm if i had knew the difference, prob would hv gotten from swiss..i dunno but think better

ya...US cheap if get from there...but as u say..servicing can be a huge issue..

if u decide to get from US, pm me..and i can let u have the contacts..

joanne:
$250 for all the soft copies to be returned in the dvd i think. however, our selected shots will be returned to us. it's in the package.

yuuri:
i would go for top up of $80 for the makeup and the hairdo lor...cuz i would look pretty pale with a nude face..hahaha..however, would insist on natural makeup just to smoothed out my flaws..hahah..how vain! think we mtb deserve some pampering la.

Joanne & mummies taking studio loft package? Did you all take up from BP or just sign up on your own? IS BP alot cheaper?

I have gain 8 kg so far but I think that initially I did lose weight but didn't weigh myself so I take my pre-pregnancy weight.

Joanne: First few years is selling Medela cheaper, can check that out. Or get someone from US to buy on your behalf but remember that you need to buy the voltage adapter.

storeberry:
from what i understand about the the BP, it means that you pay $200 instead of $250 to get back all the soft copies in addition to whatever package you sign up for. since i am not keen to take back all the softcopies, i did not sign up for the BP. and btw, think the BP thread for the $200 discounted rate has just ended.

storeberry:
dun worry about the weight ba... i have gained (probably the highest here!) a total of 11kg in 32 weeks... bb was only 1.6kg in 31st week. i won't want to stress myself out with the weight gains. that would affect the growth of the bb i think =) just eat what is required and not more than necessary.

Jassie,
Hee i just calling studio loft and made appt for shoot end july, hopefully not too late. Shd have signed up at fair instead. Heart abit pain thou, thinking e amt of money ill end up spending there, cos i have a tendency of buying alot of additional pics, like during my wedding shoot as well.

Actually in terms of value, find dphotofolio one good. Cos includes makeup, hairdo, all pics back plus coffee book @ 350 onli. But like you said, guess quality is more impt.

Yuuri,
If ur intending to do the shots, might as well get make up n hair done, unless u v gd at doing urself then can save e money.

Storeberry,
Yup heard first few yrs selling cheaper cos thinks its not local serviceable units, which means have to pay alot to service if its down.

Re: BP Studioloft
Is it valid for maternity shots also?or only for family/kids?

Valnsw,
It's pooh bear wallpaper/border.
HB got it in Toys r us in the states.
U can visit the online store to get it too.
i tink target.com has got more choices.

Joanne,
it's really a dilemma. if u dun eat enuff, scared bb doesn't get all the nutrients it needs for growth..eat too much, scared cannot shed away the extra pounds.. :p
i tink jus go for a balanced diet..if u got he appetite, jus eat lah...sweet stuff jus try to cut down cos bb won't gain much out of it.

re: medela pumps
the packaging is abit different btw the Swiss and US made pumps.
Those US made ones are "parallel import". so u need to get a adapter if u wanna use it here.
However, need to ask abt the warranty from whoever u buy it from cos i dun tink it is covered by the Singapore distributor here. So may end up paying extra for the servicing, etc.

Sorry din login for the past few days.

Outing @ Paragon,
Snow, Valnsw, Hisstory, M2B & Twin Stars, great meeting all you. Thanks for letting me crash in...

M2b, ur gal really look and behave like a princess. Not like my boy *faint* Btw, can PM ur massage lady contact number. Thinking of giving it a try this time round. Sure need to lose those extra weight I've gained.

LittleTwinStars, luckily u din shop with me cos' I shop till evening.... but din buy anything. Just window-shopping. Waiting for Snow to organise BabyMallOnline to buy those lovely shoes that M2B bought...

Snow, how's ur slip-disc? Better I hope. Got any

Valnsw, your's only $11.45. Have to refund you the rest.

Chest pain
Btw, anyone experience chest pain? I had 1 episode last Fri nite (same day as the Paragon outing) and it last till 4+am. It's painful till I cant sleep (for 1 I have high pain threshold). Thot I was suffering from heart attack... hehehe...

jassie,
Re:bumwear, let me know about sharing the bundle part. I'll check out their website to see what promo they having.

YLN,
My cesearan date is 28 july. So I will prob wash mid june to end june. Dont want to wash too early. Else hubby say I kiasu. Ask him about the full month party he say, havent give birth you already talk about full month. :p

Hi Bacon&egg,
welcome .. your nic makes me hungry

Hello all!

krex

Haven't gone for Mt A's hospital tour.. Is it included in the antenatal course? I thought I saw it was..

joanne

We did a 3D scan at 25 weeks.. We thought of doing it just for fun. But when i saw the image on the screen of the sonograph, I was like 'huh'.. Looks like an alien *ooops*

But it's still a novelty to have a different look at the scan images

happycat

Thanks for waiting around for me, the super late comer

twin stars

do u have the links for where to get baby wear in BKK? Can PM me? Thanks dear!!

joanne,
ya i did the 3D/4D scan before. Sometimes my gynae will scan some for me. But if you want to put it on a DVD then she will charge extra. Can't remember how much.

I think i will just stick to maryann's package. Anyway I think very likely I will only have 1 baby so spend alittle on it also worth it lo.

storeberry,
i think the BP is not the bloom package.

Sorry to disturb but i wanted to know does anyone of you feel that baby is pushing to come outside. i am 29 weeks now and just went out for a walk and i could not walk as felt baby kicking very hard. Could not sleep yesterday night

dongle,
thanks for the feedback. MT a also same thing, no guarantee of choice of bed. when i went for the hospital tour, all the 1 bedder n suites r fully booked, only left with 2 bedder.the 4 bedders are also fully booked. so extreme case hor.

i don;t blame yr hubby for being "pantang" for yr case. better be safe anyway, it's our last stretch. tell yr baby to hang in there for as long as she can until she is ready k

happycat,
it might be heartburn lei. jus elevate yr pillow to sleep. perhaps u had too much to eat?

4D scan:
i did mine at 28wks. can;t figure out who she looks like. hard to tell just by a pic but guess it's just for memento. the nurse said it's best to take towards later stage like from 32 wks onwards or so.......but by then.....can see baby in a few wks, no point also. what my gynae does is, he'll scan to see if my baby's position is gd for a shot, if no gd shots, he;'ll say sorry baby cover face, don;t waste the money

hisstory:
here u go
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1276962.html?1207200205

hisstory, there was a hospital tour but they only showed us one double room. we want to see all before deciding.

thanks catherine...

i personally enjoy bacon/egg breakfast..

Full mth celebration
Is it a must to invite all relatives? If give cakes, how to distribute? Go to their house? Or send via post? Either way also quite troublesome rite? I intend to keep it simple with immediate family...is it consider rude not to invite relatives? Is it ok just to give cake/gifts to friends/colleagues who had give u gift?

hey, anyone getting the multi thermo 50 thermometer for $79 at bulk purchase? looks quite similar to the cadi, which i wanted to buy, but missed it when on offer. was it on sale at motherhood fair? saw at kiddy palace also but it's nett price, so no offer.

hi krex, i wanted to get the cadi one too..it was selling 79 c/w foc themoflask at the bb fair at expo in march but this time round, they never participated! maybe getting the multi thermo 50 too.

bacon&egg,
fil suggest to just give cakes to relatives and not hold any form of celebrations. so he and hubby will go round distributing cakes to their house.

we should be doing the same for my parents side too but it will be me, parents and hubby going round to distribute. so for distribution will take 2 days in total.

colleagues, will buy a few boxes of cakes for them to share.

we might hold a little celebration at home for our friends.

bacon&egg, very hard to answer you leh. best to consult your parents and in-laws if they have any wishes. for me, i'll prob give cakes to colleagues. if feel up to it, may have a simple lunch or something for relatives. i think if not having lunch, good to give cakes to all close relatives. most likely, they will also have given u some gifts, so good to reciprocate lor.

MTBs,
Any1 applied maternity leave already? I just went into the system to block from 21 Jul onwards...hoping to rest b4 popping...will see what my gynae advised closer to the date...maybe get some MC to cover so as not to waste my maternity leave...

Happycat,
Thanks for the compliment on my gal...she kept me busy and tired for the past 4 days man...luckily manage to coax her to stay home the whole day on Sun to rest...finally my hb is coming back on Thu liao...3 weeks wait man...

m2b,
so fast book maternity leave liao? i need to submit 2 weeks before due so haven't do so. partly also can't decide if i want to take 3 months in a stretch or 2 months + 2 months half day leave.

missy, yah, regret not getting earlier. tot it would always be on offer somehow, heehee.

have u done research on the multi thermo 50? never heard of it but looks quite sophisticated. anyway, cadi is also local brand. i think it's the only thermometer which has forehead scan, which is quite useful (according to my mommy friends).

m2b, i'm hoping gynae will give me mc 1-2 weeks before EDD. then don't have to waste maternity or annual leave, heehee.

hee... i was oso hoping for mc b4 taking ML 2... cos i got no AL.. so keeping moi fingers cross tat i'll get it.. then again.. i'll be applying moi ML from 38th week..

celyn & krex,

full mth celebration
is it rude not to involve relatives at all? I dread the distribution.. did that during my wedding..headache to drive ard with boxes of cakes. but again, u guys are rite..must respect parent's n in-law's wishes..might end up throwing a buffet and invite all...

Joanne,
my HB suddenly wanted to do 3D/4D scan & during my 32th week gynae visit last week, he asked our gynae about it... gynae say waste money & now a bit too late to do cos baby's position may not turn so easily plus if cannot capture facial features due to baby facing also have to pay... btw, we have to go Paragon to do it cos gynae machine cannot so forget it aledi...

missysz/krex,
i heard braun is good... i just bought a braun ear thermometer last week at 20% off UP$109 at Mustafa... there is another model UP $129 that has 8 memories, mine only 1 memory... local warranty 1 year...

twin star,
Mt A also ah? think this year a lot of preggies... ya lor, for me better be safe than sorry... plus my mum also nags a lot about shifting things also...

re: choz confectionery
my colleague used them before, taste quite nice & looks presentable... thinking of using them too... probably order those combination with glutinuous rice, red egg, ang ku kueh & tarts kind...

just a reminder, think a lot of people duno bengawan solo is non-halal (according to a fren), can try prima deli if you giving to muslim frens...

re: PIS at 1st few years
that time i asked them, they say the sets sold there have to be brought back to their shop for servicing during the warranty.... anyway she say only the motor is serviceable, the parts if due to wear and tear is not serviceable... when i asked them can service by Medela workshop, the salesgal reply was "you have to pay lor"... i wonder if the local warranty sets sold at departmental store got cover parts as well?

Celyn,
After witnessing how difficult it is for my close coll to clear her balance 2 weeks ML after returning to work, I decided to take 1 whole shot instead...anyway I still have many annual leave to clear when I'm back to work...16 days from last year and 21 days from this year...

Krex,
I oso hoping for some MC to rest before popping thus just blocked my ML only, will wait for my gynae's advice closer to EDD...

bacon&egg,
my fil told us not to mention about celebration to our relatives if we are holding one for our friends. anyway, not to hold celebration its his idea. so i guess it should be ok. its better to check with your in laws and parents.

dongle,
thanks for the info on choz confectionery. i'm looking at small cakes/tarts + eggs + ang ku kueh kind of combination.

m2b,
cos i'm consider new to the company, don't have much leave liao. so thinking of stretching ML. anyway, i don't think i will have problem clearing ML cos i got nothing to do in office. heheh... its the transport cost that i'm thinking. travelling to and fro home and office for 2 months and work only half day seems like a waste of $$ and time.

re: full month
just wondering, if we hold a buffet lunch, do we still need to give those who attend lunch the cakes? or the cakes are for those we never invite one?

TwinStars,
Not heartburn though I did take antacid to neutralise any acid. Have my fair share of heartburns. Just the upper torso in pain, above stomach. Gynae also dunno why. Tried breathing to relax myself but only lessen the pain temporary. Just hope it's a one-time thing. Hmmm... maybe I pulled a ligament? After managed to fall asleep at 5am, the pain is gone in the morning...

M2B,
Glad ur hubby is back. Now is my hubby turn to be away for 10 days. Will have to move back to mom's place so that can have some help. My boy is super active and demanding. Always ask me to carry him.

bcaon&egg: Yah, I also dread distributing the cakes, hopefully my mother will spare me of this.. That time when distributing cakes for wedding, i was dam* tired by the time I get home!

I just gotten my BMO loots from Snow!! Just glance thru & I love the cute botties!! Didn't realise its so much bigger! Thanks Snow!