(2008/08) Aug 2008

Cindy: I just had Mango ice-blended, its nice!!

My mum told me that Huggies is having promo so its even cheaper than Pet pet. I think I will prob get some Mama Poko for night use, if not very ex!

Snow: So out babyonlinemall items are here? So excited!! Let me know the amount to transfer yah?

So KP is not exactly cheap? Cos one mummy asked me if its cheaper now with 20% so no need to go all the way to Chinatown but seem like CHinatown is cheaper hor...

I also bought Pigeon bottle detergent, will keep a look out for Pureen laundry detergent...

Hi kovankitty,
like avocado, i prefer one pc rompers. I'm not experienced la but was told that one pc is easier and unlike 2 pc outfits whereby sometimes when bb sleep or when u carry, the top may come up and expose the tummy, which is not good for baby. Also the one pc rompers if you get those w/o the leg part, sometimes u can just put a pants over also when going out. so more flexibility

huichin,
i just checked the website, the cat bodysuit sold out already

I need to buy more mittens .. anyone knows where can get nice ones ?

Snow,

Please choose the date and place are most convenient for everyone.. i can join u gals another time if i cannot make it this time

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
i can't share the durian cake with you liao. I gained another 0.7kg in just 2weeks
. *sob sob*... Total weight gain is 8kg. I was hoping to only gain 10kg for this pregnancy. but i think can't liao looking at the rate i'm going. I still got another 2 months to go..

yea, my next appt on 16th June, i'll be going for the 32weeks Detailed Growth Scan. Really looking forward to it coz i dunno what's my bb's weight since my 20wks detailed scan which was months ago.

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
no worries abt coming at 11+am coz the food will only arrive at ard 11.30am.

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
nice blog! your photo taking skills very good leh. the photos of the clothings look very pro. ;)

<font color="0000ff">missysz</font>
I also attended the same class as ReiRei. The instructor said softener shouldn't be used because of the strong chemicals, which may trigger rash on bb. but she's talking about normal softener. Not sure about special softener for bb clothes (if there is such product lah).

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
which breastpump did you buy?
I am contemplating whether to buy the Avent IQ UNO. when i went to Raffles City Robinsons last week, the saleslady said no discount, the price shown is already nett price. So still thinking...hehe..
oh me also eyeing get the Munchkin Diaper Change Organiser. it looks useful ya.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
good to hear your checkup went well. Hmm...ya lor, your diet menu seems not strict hor. Your dietician still can allow you to eat durian...hehe

mulberry,
my next visit is 13 june. now every 2 weeks for me. I gained so far i think about 10 kg also. die la. Panic panic.

anyone knows why bb clothes must wash seperate from our clothes ?

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
my next visit was originally suppose to be 13th june also, but fully booked that day, thus move to the 16th.

We suppose to separately wash bb clothes coz of the detergent used. BB clothes must use those bb clothes detergent.
Those normal detergent we use for our own clothings has too strong chemicals for bb's skin.

Avocado,
PM u. Ya lo, my hubby always scolding me coz I buy too many BB stuff liao, so far have spent couple of hundreds on clothes alone, he thinks is a waste of money. I agree la but then I cannot than le, they are so cute! Even if 2nd kids liao but diff gender ma so i try to be fair to her la, not wearing all gor gor's blue stuff. I wanna get the swing during 1st one then hubby object so bought those netted one. Still consider on the swing as a bit waste to buy such expensive stuff if only use for one kid. sigh. . . I seldom buy thing for myself but come to kid's stuff I can spent like no body's biz.

kovenkitty,
I prefer one piece rompers coz the tummy not easy to expose to 'wind' thus reduce colic. However, I bought quite a lot of 2 pieces clothes for newborn coz they are very small and soft so not easy to wear those open back buttom romper ans also first mth normally i will swaddled her so no worries on exposing the belly if wearing 2 piece clothes.

Mulberry,
Yours how many weeks now? I m now 29wk and next appointment is 32wk, sian on the long waiting time, can only see my gal next mth.

catherine,
good to know that your dietician is not so strict. do you have to test everyday or only on certain days? my result is not as good as yours, i got 9.6 after glucose drink.

kovankitty,
i have bought a mixture of tops &amp; bottoms and rompers. i have about 20pcs now, i think should be enough for at least 3-4 months loh. later on then can buy more. if not, no excuse for shopping. hehehhe......

little twin stars,
i also don't know what to do with diapers, buy or not buy. it seems like pamper is ex compare to other brands, it should be fine with all babies right? seems like a lot of people say mamypoko is good too. so very lost. i know my ex-colleagues and cousin use drypers. i also notice there is price increase for diapers cos i did a check about 2 months back and the price increase about 10% now. scard if i don't stock up now, later will be more ex. sigh.... so many things to consider.

celyn/little twin star,
Other than the diapers, don't forget to buy Diaper Rash Ointment and baby lotion. I suggest Desitin diaper rash ointment creamy and california baby lotion.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>
i'm in 30weeks now. My gynae's practice is once reached 3rd trimester, it's every 2 weeks visit. Then in the final last month, it'll be weekly visits.

So I'll be getting bubble for the below munnies. ANyoine else:-
valnsw - mango blended with pearl
huichin - lychee blended with pearl

Let me know.

kovankitty,
I've bought a mixture of rompers and separates. I bought more of button-down separates cos I didn't want to pull the top over bb's head especially when she is still young and may experience discomfort when pulling her head through the hole if it's romper.

mulberry,
heh you also make me nervous about my next gynae visit. I also aim to gain 10kg for the whole pregnancy but it may end up more than that

celyn,
you mean the diaper price went up by 10%? aiyo.. must stock up alrdy but don't dare to in case later bb doesn't like the brand. dilemma.

nice weather to sleep...raining so heavily but need to go bb class liao

reieri,
my nurse friend also told me to try avoiding softener in detergent for first few mths. aiya. gotta buy again

cocomo, huichin,
u guys got me so inspired as to how to do up my blog until i was having a hard time getting to sleep. mind too active already

huichin, yr photos look great!
cocomo, yr son very handsome lei, now having a girl, ya la, got excuse to shop

chipchip, cocoo,
mine also 3wks then next visit. sian

mul,
0.7kg in 2 wks is ok wat.....no meh?

need to go.....u gals
enjoy yr wkend !!!!!!!!

celyn,
need to follow dietician schedule for 3 days then start the test. 7 times for 1st day. Then 3 times after each meal for 7 day. Then on the 8th day 7 times again .. cycle repeats. Gynae told me be good ah .. only left 9 weeks. hahaha

Kovankitty,
I also so tempted to buy more clothes, but have to control abit lo. Sometimes I feel alot of clothes le, sometimes I feel like there can nvr be enuf lo. hahaha. Today went mothercare at Parkway, got sale but told me myself must control. Next week I want to go taka buy the petite bateau sale items :p

Re: Meet up next week

Date: 4th July
Time: 3pm

1) nini
2) catherine
3) valnsw
4) joanne
5) snow74
6) Sweetie

anyone else interested ?

mousse: Hahhaaa...yea loh..alot of ppl oso say nice no. Hahaa..hopefully my little minnie will be willing to be out only on this date~! LOL

hisstory: WHoaa...sooo good! u still can fly? HahHAA..Tot by now cannot now..heh. How many weeks are u at now? I wanna fly to KL my hubby oso won't allow loh. Sighs.

Anyway, u can find lotsa bb clothing at MBK and the pasar malams there - esp the pratunam market - must check those small little stalls! Dun pray pray siah...can find lotsa nice bb clothes esp Carter's brand! my all-time fav
Chatuchak like not much - unless i din manage to reach the kids' clothing stalls la - so damn big la the place! LOL. Those at MBK one oso quite good. Can bargain somemore. Hahhaa. ENjoy k!

avocado: Haha..good idea to get clothes of those colour palettes hor! hehe..

Catherine: Aiya...so fast ran out liao rite! Guess there's quite limited stock. Maybe u can ask the seller if there will be anymore coming in. Just bear in mind she's gonna deliver in July - so ask while u can! hhhehee...btw how's ur shopping for bb clothes so far?

Mulberry: Hahaa..thks thks! I just tot it'll be nice to take photos from a slightly different usual flat angle - oso making use of the 'Digital Macro' function of my digicam that allows u to take pix from a much nearer distance hence making the photos different abit~! hheeehe...and of course, some tweaking of colour correction in photoshop helps too. hehe...

little twin stars: Hahaha..thks~! Oh yea u shld start one too~! It's quite fun actually..hehe..good to start one while u still have some free time. Heh.

huichin,
Ya maybe I will email her to ask
Cos the cat is so cute ... :p I've kept aside all the clothes I bought. In my mind somedays seems alot, somedays seems like not enuf. hahaha. I also dono. I prob will take them out mid June for wash, then I would remember what I bought. hahaha. But I was thinking today I need to buy more mittens .. anyone knows where got nice ones ? Went mothercare but only plain white. So boring.

re: flying
I wana fly too. Want to go china but my gynae say cannot. Say their medical not so good std there so better dont go. sigh... But i went BKK in April didn't buy anything lei. So sad.

valnsw,
yah, that's what i notice. like you, i wanted to stock up but scare too. can't decide if its advisable to stock up. sigh...

catherine,
i see. that means you got to test more often then me. i don't have the 3 times daily test. only 7 times a day for 2 days next week then reduce to 7 times a day, once every week. yah, only left less than 3 months, must be good.

Mulberry,
eh..my sore throat cum cough is making me soo sians..i oso cannot eat durian cake..

i've gained abt 9kg so far liao lor!

Twin Stars,
Nvmd lah..keep till bb is bigger lor..anyway u've got up to 2-yr old clothes to wash.. :p

Nursery Room:
Yeah!! My ikea furniture jus came today and HB oso put up the pooh bear wall border.
now oni waiting for my cot and my nursery room will be completo!!

reirei,
oh dear, do drink lots of water. Today thought of washing bb clothes but end up raining. Kiddy Palace called me ask when to deliver the cot. Arranged for end of June for it to come. Then I also can start deco liao

krex,
Which part of Australia you going? If you are going to Melbourne, must go to DFO (Direct Factory Outlet)!
I'm asking my brother to buy back some baby clothes from Cotton On there when he's back in SG for hols end of year.

Think Sydney and Brisbane also has DFO outlets too!

http://www.dfo.com.au/
http://www.dfo.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=blogcategory&amp;id=58&amp;Itemid=89&amp;Substore=3

huichin

I'm now 27 weeks, so when i fly, i wld be abt 29 weeks. Gynae says no prob, so i shall go ahead..

MBK huh? Okie, excellent! I like Pratunam, but so manymany shops and must buy multiple pieces to get better price. Nvm, i shall just buy more, coz bb needs lotsa clothes

Val

Do u still have cramps? I went gynae's this morning coz last night i kept getting up due to the sudden pain. She says it's ligament stretching &amp; really to take panadol. Man! I hope it goes away soon, i dun think it's ideal to take so much panadol to relieve pain..

ReiRei

U have pix of ur nursery?? I really like this white set of furniture for bb's room.. Still thinking whether to get anot

re: Baby Registry

Anyone intending to do this? Like wedding registry, ur wish-list for bb items are made known to ppl who want to get sthg for ur bb &amp; then they get accordingly..

I thot it's a gd idea coz less likely to get unwanted/repeated items and some ppl prefer giving gifts over APs.. I was thinking of being specific, coz i'm afraid of getting boxes after boxes of chicken/fish essence

hisstory,
My cramps abit weird one, for a moment there and after that go off. It's more like queasiness in the stomach and sometimes if I sleep it off, it works. I also don't like to take too much panadol. I will tolerate unless there is really pain.

I did not do up any baby registry. For me, if people ask me what I want, I will just tell them give me angpao or vouchers such as NTUC, Taka or Robinsons vouchers. Easier else later people give me duplicate stuff or things that I may not need.

Aiyo.. it's such a boring day! It's raining outside v gd to nap but I alrdy napped just now. But no mood to go anywhere cos also don't have anything to buy.. Really sian.

valnsw,
i'm also bored. so fast wash baby's clothes liao? i'm going to get hubby to set up baby cot and ikea drawer cupboard in june too. wondering if i can be around when he do that? is there any pantang?

celyn,
today wanted to try the diet plan cos need to follow 3 days then start the test. Today already timing upside down.. hahaha. aiyo.

reirei,
so nice to setup the nursery. I havent do anything yet :p thinking of getting those vinyl stick on for the walls which can tear off next time. Anyone seen before ?

hisstory,
I think a gift registrty is really such a good idea. But seems not common in SG
I think First Few years website has a Wish list. Maybe can explore further. But their things quite limited.

catherine,
hahah... i know what you mean. cos i start my plan on weekdays, today is my first weekend. i wake up at 7am just to have my breakfast, i'm so sleepy before lunch. should have ask for a different timing for weekends. sigh....

Hello All Mummies..

anybody having heartburns?? I'm having severe heartburns these days and feel like throwing up too...any suggestions to cure/avoid them?

doubleblessing,
I get heartburn quite often too. Esp when I try to sleep, many times have to wake up to burp. Very uncomfortable.

jo,
ya it's the cheapest already .. cos it's old stock/model. I think nothing really much diff with the new one. But I went to see before, they upfront tell u it's old model. But I was in a hurry and didnt ask what was the diff.

Hi Jo, I think thats one of the cheapest selling in S'pore. Its a good deal!

This morning felt bb sleeping on my left side, felt my tummy &amp; was amazed to feel left side of my tummy popping up! Don't know i its bb's bum or head!

val

that's good.. My cramps are on &amp; off too, but since yest, they are still coming &amp; going. Hope they dun affect my sleep tonight though

Same here, panadol's really the ultimate resort if the pain gets unbearable. Must say the cramps now are more dull &amp; long lasting than when I had them during periods.

Vouchers sound like a good idea too.. Just toying ard with the idea of setting up a registry

catherine

Agree, both wedding &amp; baby registry are quite uncommon in SG. Hmm, am considering drawing up a list of items I wish to get.. First, hahah, I need to even think of what I would like to have

Shall check out what First Few Years has recommended for the list

Hisstory,
Ya lo. With a registry it would be so much easier. But then again, don't seem to have the ideal 1 shop for bb stuff also la. hahaa. But so far I think mothercare seems to be most complete though certain brands they dont carry. If you really want to do a wish list, you may consider to set it up on your blog. But then again, you will also need to maintain cos your friends will need to book it with you.

Try not to take panadol if you really can bear with the pain. It's not good for baby.

catherine

Agree!! I think only Mothercare seems to have the greatest/ most complete collection of stuff.. But their items tend to be more exp. I must say their service is fantastic, always polite &amp; customer-oriented &amp; they really have product knowledge.

I do have a blog.. Was thinking of leaving the list there, but shall hang on for the moment, coz i've not consolidated the items we would like to get

Trying to steer clear of panadol.. *sigh* Hope tonight wld be better than last night

Cocomo,
Can resend the blog again cos I delete w/o saving. So sorry.
maybe it is girl this time you cannot endure all those girly cute cloths. For boy nothing much to buy as all abt the smae. Actually my #1 cloths also 2nd hand (80%). Got to save as I will change to part time job after ml.

Thanks for all the feedback.
Think I'll get more front-button separates for now, since need to swaddle. When older and out of swaddling then probably switch to rompers.

Side-track from here, has anyone here experienced low haemoglobin? I just did a finger prick test and doc said I have lower than average haemoglobin. Not sure if that signifies I'm anaemic but he said that's not good because after birth, we will get lots of bleeding and if I don't do something to increase my level, I will faint easily.

Doc prescribed a higher dosage of iron supplement and also asked me to eat beef, others asked me to take some liver and eggs. But I heard liver has a lot of Vit A which can harm BB. As for beef, I'm not sure sure if it's safe to eat beef in SG (not sure what type to buy too). How about eggs? How often should we take to avoid getting high cholestrol?

Hope I can get some advice here...

Hi Kovankitty,
Liver is a good source of Vit A but it also contains retinol. If taken in huge quantities, retinol can cause harm to baby. So I havent eaten pig liver since i got pregnant. As for beef, as long as you eat it well-done, you should be fine. Other sources of iron include dark green leafy vegetables, wholemeal bread, iron-fortified cereals, potatoes, lean red meat, shellfish, raisins, prunes and pulses.

Vitamin C helps your body absorb the iron in your diet. But tea and coffee make it difficult for your body to absorb iron, so it's best not to drink them at mealtimes.

Hope this info helps..

<font color="ff0000"><u>Re: Gathering in the East on 1st June</u></font>
Dear Mommies,
hee...i just woke up, i took a nap after you all left. very tired le coz woke up at 4.30am this morning as hubby woke me up when he left for airport.

Great meeting you all today
. Hope you all had a nice time and enjoyed the food ya.
Thanks to everyone for helping to clear the mess at the end of the party. ;)

Mommies that came with ur kid, your DD/DS is just so adorable!
faeriekim's DD is so very active, remind me of the energiser bunny...keke..

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font> &amp; <font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
i've emailed you both the list of everyone's email address. So that you can email us the pics from your camera

kovankitty,
I had low haemoglobin too. During my 2nd trimester. Was told to remember to eat my multivitamins and eat more high iron food if possible. Then last week, did a review and things are much better now. Not exceptionally high but at least no more on the low side. If you take liver then must be well cooked else it's actually more harmful.

Mulberry,
thanks for organising and booking the function room for the gathering. Wow u woke up so early, if me sure won't want to wake up so early.

Cindy,
Thanks for getting the bubble tea!

Lindsay,
your DD had really big eyes! If she resembles your hubby, can imagine how he looks like. Haiz.. too bad you cannot log on during office hours cos of the spyware.

Megan,
your DD v friendly, give all the mummies jellies! hehe

faeriekim,
your DD really energiser bunny wor.. running around. Get better so you can enjoy your trip to UK!

RE: gathering
Glad we mummies had a fun time chatting. Ya, must see the photos. Think the guy who helped take photos must be surprised to see so many pregnant mummies leh..

Avovado: I am thinking of going but just abit scared of the crowd... Maybe the mummies who go already can update us?

Seem like a fun gathering!