(2008/08) Aug 2008

anyone wana have hi-tea next week ?

snow74,
I cant go yoga again this fri.. I need to go see the gynae and the dietician. sigh.

valnsw,
ya drop in resale properties and even new ones. Quite a few new launches are put on hold until last quarter of the year. So I take this chance to "an tai" hahaha.

catherine,
no wonder my hubby says he wants to wait til end of year. sighz.

Re: High tea
I'm ok to join in but need to know which day in advance so that check my schedule.

happie and dongle,
how is pre-term contraction like? my tummy feels hard for the whole day, wonder if its bh? can still feel baby moving and with slight pain at lower tummy. pain is on and off.

fitbaby,
i also did that kind of blood test yesterday when i went for diet course. mine is suppose to measure my blood glucose for past 3 months. wonder how they know. my result for that is only 4.2.

re: high tea
can't join you all for high tea liao. now got to follow strict timing for food.

celynlee,
oh no.. does that mean I need to follow strict timing on food too ? I think one day "holiday" should be ok la .. hahaha.

high tea,
unless it's not buffet style. now my tummy just can't take in much food liao. bad indigestion n heartburn kicking in

catherine,
although the pte property is not moving much. the prices have not dropped lei. that's why i'm also putting off buying at the moment since i'm not in a rush lor

catherine,
i think should be ok bah. it also depends on what your dietician say. will need to spend some time adjusting to new diet timing. i started today and feel super hungry before lunch even though i took teabreak. maybe my teabreak is too little so before lunch already feel hungry.

little twin stars,
ya recently i also not very hungry.. hmm maybe we should find a place that serves lite food and can do pedicure. .hahaha pamper ourselves. anyone knows got such place or not ?

ya prices havent drop very much for mid market but the higher end ones have seen prices drop up to 15%. Was in the papers few weeks back. Cos alot of speculators bought during the time with deferred payments, so they dont feel much now but once the TOP comes then they will panic. Thats why prices are still firm with no movements. But with those current TOP projects, you do still get some units with slashed prices. Not too many but there are. And these usually get snapped up before even making it to the ads. Usually agents will give these lobangs within themselves.

Hi hi mummies,
Went for my check-up this aft. Guess what? My placenta has shifted upwards!!!

Roiv & Rat,
My mickey weighs 1.2kg @ 28 wks, and gynae says it's ok!

Celyn,
I went back to ODAC to have my BSL tabulation checked. It's not as bad as it seems. Cheer up!

catherine,
i thought cannot do manicure lei cos of the smell or something. i also wanna do things to pamper myself cos i feel so lousy nowadays and feel less mobile and feel hotter etc. but like everything also cannot do, so i stay home lor.
i think strip at suntec has a cafe

mousse,
congrats! mine just moved up last wk. but after watching the video on natural labour, i start to regret. hehe

Hi Roiv,
here's an extract from babycentre.co.uk. there's really no cause for worry...

Fetal development - 29 weeks pregnant
Your baby now weighs around 2.5 pounds / 1.1 kg and measures about 15 inches / 38 cm from head to toe.

Little Twin Stars,
yeah loh, now have to starting thinking abt e pros n cons of natural/caesarian birth..

Catherine, yah maybe can arrange for some cafe to have some light snacks? I think I cannot take high tea also, very bloated after one meal!

Joanne: Oh no!!! Hopefully I can slim down by BF-ing!

Went to Expo with my frens cos they want to go Loreal sale, also went Food fest & Popular sale but end up with nothing! Robinson sale is still ex after discounts!

roiv, so envious! i wish my gynae would give me 1 week mc also :p

val, very kua zhang leh your situation. my in-laws are quite amicable with my side lah. i don't think my parents ever interfere with my domestic affairs even if they feel in-laws have different lifestyle or habits from them. maybe they think i shld settle it myself or since i'm married out, i belong to them now :p the only think i noticed is when my parents are with me to visit my in-laws during CNY, my FIL is esp courteous to me, like ask me to eat more CNY goodies, etc. i find it so strange since he hardly does that when i join in for my husband's family dinners...

morning ladies!

catherine
its ok, no rush and health 1st. =)

Re: high tea
dun mind keep me updated on the time, dat, and place for high tea ya?
hee hee...

ok, gotta set off for my stretch&tone class liao.
see u gals in the afternoon okie!?!?!

My bb's head at 6 & 7 month during scan also head down. Hope she stays there till delivery. But can feel pain at times when the pressure is on the pelvic bonds.

Hmm I hope next checkup will do a detail scan & hopefully doc will let me know how much exactly my bb weighs. So far he only gives the average weight of the bb at the different stages.

Good Morning!

Happie,
Are you ok now? Rest more ok?

Roiv,
My bb is 1.1kg at 28w2d and gynae said it is an ok weight leh.

Snow,
Enjoy your yoga! Me gg gym this afternoon too…but feeling abit tired now…sigh

Twin Stars/Valnsw/Nini/Dongle,
for me nio complaints abt my ILs coz they are nice people and we only meet once a week so no conflict...MIL still buy birdnest for my mom to cook for me coz I stayed with my mom on weekdays and she always made sure I eat a lot too...

twin stars

Cannot do manicure ah? Apparently we are not encouraged due to the fumes, but once in a blue moon shd be okie yah? Just that day I did my pedi & mani at home, and HB's eyes widened in surprise..

joanne

HB & I dun intend to engage a maid too.. Hope we would be able to brave through the period together k?

val

Ur HB's not bad leh.. He doesn't insist u go back to ur ILs.. Before preggie, we go 2x a week, then i 'protested' that coz his parent's place is so warm, when preggie i prefer going back only once

Re: ILs

I just thank God that at the end of the day, no matter how I dun really get along with ILs, HB loves me alot and would always put me first.. *phew*

Catherine,
You r e best, Suggest MJ! *jumps up* haha..but think noone here interested in MJ one..sigh..think i still resort to my fate of non MJ days

Re:High tea
I dun mind le, but if majority prefers light snacks then maybe we can have a list of suggestions?

Re: Baby weight
Seems like the baby weight here all very good. Getting me abit worried. When i went for scan on 24w4days, bb only weighed 582gms..next gynae appt will be on 28w4d and how much heavier can baby be? I see the average weight like, 1.2kg, some 1.5kg! I dun see how baby can increase from 582 to 1+kg le! im stressed over bb wt now...

little twin star,
not ok to do mani/pedi? ive been doing religiously almost once every wk, if not every two wks le..heard someone say nails supposed to be dead cell or sth so shdnt b a prob, dunno le think i too vain cannot forego my mani/pedi sessions!

hisstory,
yah, i don't like to go back to fil's place too. cos its too hot, he don't have fan. i always sweat like mad after 30 mins. i still try to go back once a week loh but my stay is max 1.5hours.

Hisstory,
HIgh five! But u intending to get a CL? I didnt intend for any CL cos thought hubby can take leave 2 wks help me out, but last night he told me there was a memo circular saying no long leaves allowed in July, Aug and Sept!! Cos of sm audit period!! So pissed leh! I dunno how now, ILs advised me to get a CL since i dun wanna stay w them for tt mth, say at least i have a helping hand since hubby cant take long leave..argh..now i cant decide..

joanne,
don't worry about baby weight. they can increase very fast. my baby weighs 569g at 23 weeks and 1.1kg at 28 weeks. so no stress ok.

celyn

wah, how ur ILs tahan w/o a fan.. We are also at my ILs for about 2 hrs max. Partially it's very warm, and they dun really talk anyway. Everyone just sits there to watch TV.. Quite awkward IMHO

joanne

Prob no CL too.. Coz my mum's coming over to my place for confinement & the 1st three mths. I think CL might be gd, there are quite a few my frens have used who seem to be doing a gd job & they wished the CL cld stay longer..

hisstory,
I heard good stories of CL n of cos not so good stories, like my SIL's, chased CL away aft 2 days. Is it possible to help ask ur friends for their CL's contact? I think if i really wanna get one must get fast alrdy, since only left with 3 mths..can i trouble u to ask ur friends please?But if its too much trouble its oki =)

hisstory,
i also don't know. they are used to it liao. if need fan, then i will hide in hubby's room. he got a lousy fan in there but its better then nothing.

Roiv,
My bb weight 1.17kg at 27w6d, gynae also said average size.

Joanne,
Dun worry, at 3rd trim the baby will grow faster.

Avocada,
congrates that your BB heads down!!! Mine still breech position le, hope she will turn asap!
I am wishing can go for natural birth though my first one is c-sect.

Re: Brexton Hicks (BH) Contraction
Anyone having this already? How you will feel when having BH? I am having some contraction recently, like my tummy used to harden up quite frequent and at that moment can feel a bit breathless but painless, I am not sure if this is called BH? I do not experience this one with my first pregnancy so a bit worry.

Happie,
I read your post that you had the BH, how is it like huh? Is it painful? My contraction is painless and I consulted gynae she said normal but I still feel quite worry.

WHoa...seems that u mummies got quite abit of issues on ur MIL relationships. THen i think i damn lucky liao...cos I'm staying with my MIL + hubby's 2 younger siblings - one sis + bro. So far she's still very nice (been married for close to a yr soon) and recently she offered to help me do my laundry! I aredy threw me + my hubby's clothes into the washing machine then halfway thru she said, i help u bring out ur clothes k! I was like, er...aiyo paiseh leh..erm ok la can. Thks! Ohoohohoho...rare rite! She's been nice loh..like now i'm at my 29 wks, she said u must train ur hubby (her son) to help do house work la! Hahahaa..now u always feel tired so when u reach a certain point of time u will not be able to do anymore housework. I was laughing...hehe..i guess she knows how it's like cos she's got 4 kids altogether. Heh. Beginning when i was abt 3-4mths preggie my MIL wasn't around the house much, cos she went over to my hubby's elder sis to help her out (she gave birth to her 2nd child). Only comes back once in a while during weekend for a rest at my house. Then she felt bad and ask me if i crave to eat anything she can cook for me. Heheh. SO all in all i feel that sometimes minimum interaction can reduce friction in relationships bah.

Anyways i won't be doing much of the usual confinement just some food restriction for the 1st 2 mths and tts it. Cos my MIL is Malay (i'm a chinese-muslim convert) so they dun really pantang that much things. haha. Anything i wanna 'bu' for myself i will cook bah (i hope got time and energy). So since i'm more or less on my own, i wanna take this opportunity to lose weight! Alot alot of it! hahaa..

Hisstory: I oso not hiring any maids leh..no CL oso. Cannot trust them loh (maids). Will depend on myself liao..hahaa..since my MIL is a working mum too. But after 3mths i found us a nanny - hubby's good fren's mum. So hopefully everything goes well...

IL issues: My MIL will come over & stay with me after I give birth to help take care of the bb. I am also afriad of conflicts & issues but tell myself to close one eye lo, no choice if you are living together... But I pray that there will not be big issues coming up...

Huichin
Welcome to the club! Medusa remember? We met in the other thread... For confinement, we still need to bu also cos for the malays, they dun really adhere to any food restrictions one.. but I still feel impt that we have to eat certain food to get back our strength and overall health.

krex,
I think your ILs need to be polite in front of you parents, need to give them face.
For my case, it's not kua zhang. those things u see in drama serials happen in real life wor.

Before the wedding, MIL like the typical canto MIL, start to "xia ma wei", tell me now that I marry into the family must learn to live in harmony etc cos she senses that I don't seem to get along well w BIL's wife, which in a way is true. Then she had to repeat a 2nd time, in front of my hubby. Lucky hubby also doesn't like BIL's wife and asked MIL if she also told BIL's wife the same thing and then she kept quiet. haha, i guess she must not have said the same thing to her to be fair.

M2B / huichin,
It's good that your MILs are nice to you. So must appreciate them. Actually if my MIL is nice, I would reciprocate too. I think I'm too shui bian liao look like v easy to bully, that I think his parents "crawl" above my head.

hisstory,
At least you knw for sure your hubby loves you, so it's good. My hubby, not that I doubt he loves me but sometimes abit pek chek how he can be so influenced by his parents, even in decisions like housing.

Haiz.. had a sleepless night again. I got some queasy stomach cramps like those stomachache. still like that this morning and i vomitted out my bfast

celyn

*hugs* Sounds really uncomfortable to be there.. Since we got a car for abt 2 years ago, I realise my ILs are getting qt reliant on us to ferry them ard on weekends. Sometimes i'm okie, even if it's out of the way, coz HB's family members mainly stay in the west. But i am most unhappy when they assume tt we wld be available for them the whole day or when they make last min requests. The only comforting thing i get out of this is coz HB knows I dun like it and he wld defend tt we need to meet frens or go out

joanne

No probs.. Till i get a response fr them, do u want to do a search on SMH forum? Maybe the mummies in the forum have left contacts of gd CL

huichin

I def agree, less interaction wld usually lead to less friction. Which is the reason why i prefer to meet only once a week, less pek chek like tt

Nanny's a great idea! We did consider engaging one when I finally go back to work.. But it seems like they are qt costly

val

Am sure ur HB loves u lots k!! *hugs* Same here, sthgs my HB wld also get influenced by his parents, but I'm very assertive abt my stand, so he usually goes along with an agreed/ compromised decision & not fully get swayed by them.. *cross fingers* it stays this way

How are u feeling now? Still queasy?

Oh Medusa! Hi! Hahaaha...so how's ur status now ah? When are u due ah? I remember u said ur 2nd one due in Aug rite! hehe..me oso neh. Now at 29wks liao..so fast..i'm expecting a ger ger! u leh? Hehehe..

Oh so what do u recommend for us to bu? Since u're the 'guo lai ren'. hehe...

Valnsw: Ya i guess i'm lucky then

hisstory: Good for u loh..meet only once a wk. hehe..If u can get a nanny - someone whom u know - it's better. Any Aunties of urs available? hehe..or ppl recommend one. It's better that way.

hisstory,
tummy still not feeling gd. contemplating whether to take the medicine for relieving stomach discomfort prescribed in the 1st trimester. Or maybe shd sleep it off.

Hmm, I kind of got the same problem as you about the car, albeit in a different way. My hubby does not have a car to his name. So far, have been using my family's car which I pay some $ to my dad for the petrol, car instalmt etc. MIL/FIL may have mistaken to think it's hubby's car but unlikely as I've been driving this car even when I was staying with ILs briefly for 2 mths.

On FIL's 60th bday dinner, FIL used his own car to fetch hubby's grandma and aunt. So he just told hubby and me to go ferry MIL and SIL to the venue. Even MIL told SIL, you go and take kor kor's car.

WHen i heard that, I felt like telling them, it's not hubby's car. The car is in my dad's name hor.. wa liao, like take it for granted that just cos he can drive the car, it's his. The thing is, somemore, they have a spare family car at home, don't understand why they don't want to drive it.

After the dinner, I told hubby I'm not happy when his mum made the comment that his sis tumpany "his" car and he said no la, she doesn't think this way.

I think if outsider hear alrdy, also feel this family damn take things for granted and like want to take advantage of me?

That's why I avoid going back ILs place or any family gathering unless necessary.

I am from March thread. I haf a few DOM to let go at $35, originally at $43.10 ( DFS price ). Sms me at 9746 1185 if you are interested.

huichin,
If possible, I think it's better to get some relative or somebody you know well to take care of bb.

Cos if some nanny whom you not familiar, may not do a good job, especially at toddler age when can start to move about.

Last time when I was young, cos nobody can help take care of me, bobian my mum had to put me with nanny while she worked.

But then again, I think I was a naughty and garang kid, cos I would slip off downstairs to the mama shop to buy tidbits without my nanny's knowledge.
Now to think of it, can be quite dangerous wor, if later kena missing.

Valnsw: Oh tts y i'm getting my hubby's good fren's mum to take care. He knew her many years bk. She's the quiet quiet ok sort. Already have her own grandkid - but going to Pri 1 liao. So i guess should be ok. I pray la..

celynlee
ur diet must be strictly 1800 cal?? very sin ku to monitor hor? that means u cannot snack on biscuits or finger food ar?

re time table for maid

here is mine.my maid has very little to do one...cuz i dun cook..so most house work done in the morning..afternoon a lot of adhoc things for her to do...most afternoons/evening will bring her go MIL place and let her learn n do work there lor....
mime_msexcel.gif
weekly schedule
Weekly schedule.xls (21.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

another one is an adapted version from someone on the net..a guide line i give the maid to follow
mime_msword.gif
guidelines
RULES AND GUIDELINES FOR FDW.doc (27.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Huichin
edd is 12 Aug...yes I am expecting a gal gal. This time hor the kicks are more frequent as compared to when i expecting my boy... she seems to be kicking whole day long one..very active i think : p

Me no expert lah but since we cant take porky dishes, then everything just changed to chicken and cook with lots of ginger and sesame oil. I also took alot of fish... steamed ones.Fish can help in milk production so very useful if you intend to breastfeed... Vege must be those green leafy veg so that we can get the calcium... Hmmm, then I also took the red dates with logan water and drank for full month. And oh, a milo in the morning everyday to boost energy.

medusa,
you made me feel hungry hehe, especially this morning i vomitted out my bfast.

huichin,
gd that you can find a trustworthy nanny. Can be v stressful to juggle both work and family without some support.

Hey gals, hope you still remember me. I've been really tied up. Can I check how must weight have you put on since preg?

Also how many bottles have you prepared? My friend just scare me say going to deliver soon, everything also haven't prepare.

small tummy:
now oredie wk 29 tummy still not v big leh..
met my neighbour y'day and she asked when i'm due. told her it's august then she ExClaimed! HAR?! august?? tummy sooo small leh!!!
walau! *peng* these aunties dunno how to keep their comments to themselves one leh! so upset..

Roiv,
My bb is 966g at 27ks 6days. Gynae is v happie wif her weight leh..
did ur gynae advise u wat to eat to increase weight?
i've been religiously takin calcium pills and drinking milk every morning &amp; night. but oni mommy has been gaining weight cos bb size is still avg or smaller than avg (compared to the mommies here).

Valnsw,
Ur tummy still not feeling well?
Better go see gynae bah.. now we're in 3rd trim better be more careful.

reirei,
I think it's "ren zhi chang qing" that sons will tend to defend their parents. I mean after all they raise the sons up.

The only thing is to let hubby know what's off-limits and not to conflict with both your interests.

Personally, I also scared next time if hubby and I have our own home, ILs will come uninvited to our home. I've read stories in SMH forum abt how some ILs have keys to their homes and just turn up without calling.

Perhaps you need to stress to your hubby the importance of your privacy. Haha, maybe you can light-heartedly tell him what if both of you were making out then happen your ILs just want to come uninvited? Sorry I know it sounds like a lame joke.

I think once we women start crying, the men will take a back step but then hor, I guess cannot cry too often else they immune to the effect.

I'm sure your hubby loves you, just that he perhaps didn't think too much on how you felt abt it at that time. Now that you have raised it up, at least he has made some effort to do something about it, is commendable.

BTW PM you my MSN. You want, can chat over MSN lo..hehe

Arrrgghh!! i've been having sleepless nights these days..Dont know whats wrong! Only slept for 3-4hrs n can't sleep liao..BB also extremely active at night but that doesn't bother me cos my tummy fats is enough cushion to wake me up from his kicks..hehe..but jus dont know why cant sleep despite feeling VERY sleepy..

Re: in-laws
im also glad tat my hus treated me very well, n stand by my side..I think it's VERY important to guard ur our territory..(house) n dun let mils get too involved with our activities...

ANYONE will be taking care of bb yourself alone? Like first month confinement nanny will help..but second mth onwards on ur own/spouse liao. I got no help at all...so i'll be staying at my sis/bro house to take care of bb..but hubby wont be staying with me..cos sometimes he gotta work so he cant be disturbed...My bro is working n my sis works in Japan.. sigh..
But i worried i may not know hwo to take gd care of bb..

ReiRei: im in my 28wks but my tummy dont look very big..maybe im carrying low baa..so looks like a swimming float when sit down..

avocado: wow so fast..now its still May lei but its considered pre-mature right??