(2008/08) Aug 2008

reirei,
the tummy queasiness/discomfort comes and goes leh.. Don't know what to make of it. feel so terrible.

nini,
i suppose you will be on maternity leave for 3 mths? If so, perhaps the 2 mths after confinement, will be tougher on you. It would be good if you can get some helping hand. Maybe your hubby can go over to your sis/bro house during wkends to help out? I understand from my client that if somebody can help with at least 1 feed, you can get at least 6 hrs uninterrupted rest assuming each feed is 3 hrs apart.

After your maternity leave, you may have to consider a nanny to help take care if you are working. Else will be ILs to help take care, but think you wouldn't feel like asking them right since you also not v happy with them.

Medusa15: Hweheehe...we sama sama la! Hehee..My EDD used to be 12 Aug, then my gynae say move forward to 08 Aug 08 liao. Hahaa..and yes, my bb girl oso very active! LOL.

Oh yea thks for the tips on food! hehe..yes i guess must take more fish...think if can i will cook my own herbal chicken soup bah - with wolfberry + red dates + american ginseng. Hehe.

Valnsw: Ya lohs..i oso worry...actually wanted to take care of bb myself - but how to do so in this society esp in Spore? One working spouse cannot survive the whole family loh. Unless my hubby earns like 10k monthly then maybe can think abt it. So no choice loh..put at nanny's. But i will bring her bk home after work daily. Then weekends we wanna spend quality time with her. I know for a fact tt bbies grow very very fast, so it's important that we can do our bonding as much as we can. Hehehe..

Jvenus: For me i've put on abt 8.5-9kg so far @ 29 wks. Quite alot siah..hahaa..am trying to control though..

NiNi: I'm actually taking care of my bb alone during my 3mths of maternity leave. Cos everyone working mah..including my MIL. And me got no CL one. But how come u so poor thing hubby not staying with u? No matter how busy as a dad he shld at least help out or support u morally mah..but i guess for us as 1st-timers, maybe initially abit weird..but after a while we shld be able to handle la..dun worry. I oso abit scared scared..but i will give myself sometime to pick up loh..our 'motherly-instincts' will come out!

Re: In-laws
luckily my In-laws not staying in Singapore, thus minimise conflicts. MIL and I also don't have good relationship. She also never buy any birdnest or tonics for me since I preggie. On the other hands, my parents bought so many birdnest and cordyceps for me. Own parents are always the best!

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
u wanna try TMC Parentcraft's confinement services? They are more expensive but at least you are sure they are properly trained. Thus no need to worry about their skills.
They have both live-in ones and those that don't stay overnight ones.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
oh dear, u mean your MS came back? yeah ask gynae's advise before you take the meds.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
actually i don't think your tummy is small leh. It's looks ok size. I think coz you are slim, thus got impression that ur tummy is small. Nvm lah, just ignore those aunties. I think they old fashioned type, they think preggies should be huge huge size.
As long as your gynae said your bb is healthy, that's all that matters.

<font size="+1"><u>Re: Gathering in the East on 1st June</u></font>

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mommies</font>
For those mommies whom hubby is driving you to my place, can 1 or 2 of you come earlier a bit (say 10mins earlier) and ask your hubby's help to arrange the tables and chairs. Coz my hubby won't be ard on that Sunday.

<u>Re: Gathering in the East</u>
Date: 1st June
Time: 11am
Venue: mulberry's condo at Simei
Caterer: Golden Pillow

1) Megan
2) valnsw
3) mulberry
4) Cindy
5) vone
6) earnestmum (cynthia)
7) faeriekim
8) ReiRei
9) Catherine
10) huichin
11) Lindsay - *to be confirmed

Menu:
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD><u>Qty</u></TD><TD><u>Price</u></TD><TD><u>Amt</u> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Golden Pillow Curry Chicken Bun</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12.80</TD><TD>12.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mixed Vegetable</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20.00</TD><TD>20.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Salad Fritters (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Seaweed Seafood Roll (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Prawn &amp; Chicken Roll (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fried Mee Hoon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>10.00</TD><TD>20.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$73.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>after GST</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$78.97 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks for sharing.

Hee Hee.. envy me? But I feel so bored at home, doing nothing except eat and sleep now..

My gynae ask me to eat more carbohydrate foods &amp; durians in order to help my baby to gain weight fast..
But I also heard that the weight will increase rapidly once we reaches 3rd trimester..so I hope so for my case..

valnsw: one reason i dont wanna stay in their house (hougang) is cos no one bothers to clean the house n it's so dusty lor..My hus say when he was young, his mom is already damn nua. she wont change her pattern for anybody. My hus also dont wan his mom to take care cos he also dont trust her to do thing! Imagine she wash dishes/cups only half clean one...n when she cook, she jus pour EVERYTHING in..salmon,pork,veges..n let it cook by itself..SIGH! i think my MIL can win the most-nua-est person award!

Huichin: i dont have maternity leave as im not fetching a fixed salary. I'm in the investment sales.. But ur right, nowadays the society doesnt allow one to support the house unless one of the spouse is earning like $10K regularly a month. I am *thinking* of moving our queen-size bed from his house to my house n my single bed to his hse..exchange..since most of the time me n bb wil be staying here at my place.

Hello All,

After reading the posts i realised i still dont know how much my baby weighs. I am visiting KK and not sure if they tell us this. I am about 27W+3 days now.

At times even I feel my tummy getting tight and breathless. When I asked my doctor she said that it could be because of gastric thing.

hisstory, joanne,
i thought someone;s dr said to avoid mani as the strong smell of lacquer is not gd for us to breathe. so i just play safe lor. yesterday my mom sent me an email from her dr friends about the danger of radiation from Hp, laptops and TV. now my hubby nag and ask me to avoid using the laptop liao. mom even nagged about my 42 inch plasma in my room plus all the electrical gadgets that i have in the room. sigh, the paranoid syndrome begins again..........

M2B,
u see yr in laws once a wk, no wander no issue la, hehe

reirei,
oh no, tell yr hubby to talk to his mom about announcing her arrival next time so u guys can plan yr time ma. if she comes over and u guys intent to eat out, then have to change plans etc. i'm no better, my mom n mil has my hse keys. mom comes over from sun to tue. mil takes over from tues to fri!. tell me what life do i have?
mil use to come over from tues to sun!!!!!! until my hubby spoke to her and told her we want our "2 person life" then she leave us alone in wkends. i don;t like the arrangement but no choice, i'm too lazy to cook and often just eat instant noodles, call mac delivery or snack on chips n ice cream, so hubby ordered them to come to cook for me to force me to eat healthily but in turn, i loose my freedom

joanne,
u finally agree to consider a CL, hehe. meet up with the person in advance and see if u think u can get along with her. like how's her personality etc. sorry i can't rec any to you as all those i know are already taken. act fast k

nini,
yr mil very funny lei. ya can win the "nua award" hehe. my mil can't wash dishes or cups one. thik can;t see properly or what. yest, when i took a cup to drink, thank god i have a habit of rinsing the cup n making sure it is very clean b4 using. one cup still have coffee powder melted at the bottom! another cup has a thick layer of soyabean already fermented and in a curd form at the bottom!!!!! those pots she cook...still have stains on them. all i can say is: i better say grace over my food before i eat man! hehe

YLN,
thanks for the maid;s time table, i will look thru later. too lazy to fox one at the moment. i better start

yln,
the diet plan draw out is for 1800 calories loh. whether what i eat is less than or equal to 1800, i really don't know. i try to adjust and make it look like what is being plan loh.

parents &amp; fil:
so far, none of them bought me any tonic or birdnest to eat. we are very much on our own. we also never provide them with our house keys so they can't just pop by anytime they want.

car:
my fil and hubby each has their own car, so no need us to ferry fil. its my mum that takes us for granted and wanted us to ferry her wherever she wants. but i'm the one who reject her and tell her we are not free. will only fetch her every sun from aunt's place to home. sometimes, i just send my hubby to fetch her and i stay at home.

Hey Nini

I took care of my daughter all on my own from 2nd mth onwards last time..wasnt so bad but my husband is very hardworking so at night I have him to assist..but if ur alone..I will suggest that u need to make sure u catch up with your support grp like us or whoever over the phone daily..cos u need moral support...otherwise..can get post natal..*touchwood*..so be mentally prepared with what to equip yourself ya?

test results come back...-ve, phew can breathe sigh of relief tt I dun hv GD but that means bb is eating alot alot man...cos BB was 1.3kg when I was 27weeks and I hv only put on 6kg as of 29weeks.

Wah, seem like many MTBs here have issues with ILS...dun be vexed up k? Enjoy the rest of our pregnancies and look forward to our little bundle of joy.

My big gal so sweet! just called me b4 lunch to say "Mommy, I love you."...very scared I will practice favouritism next time man...

Twin Stars,
My ILs are quite easy-going people and they really treat me and my SIL's hb like their own children so no favouritism at all...and I get along very well with my SIL too, can talk abt shopping and now abt bbs.

and coz I see my MIL only once a week, we will shit down and chit chat for quite long and now my big gal is big liao, she will bbsit for us while hb and I go pak tor...heehee

valnsw &amp; mtbs with msn, may I add you pls? find it hard keeping up with the thread...

huichin, oh no! I've put on >10kg! cham leow...

Roiv,
Thanks for sharing!
V tempted to try out the jalan kayu durain cake twin stars had..haha..but they r closed at 6pm on weekdays..cannot ask hb buy..hafto tahan till weekend..argh..

Mulberry,
i can offer my hb's service!

will ask him to accompany me to eastmall to get the pjs first.

ReiRei

the durian cake is realli good...I went to buy last last Sat..and must say..its realli good
but u must hv in mind how to share it cos it will be too much for u and u better dun eat over more than 3 days..smallest also 900g which cost 38bucks..

reirei &amp; megan
you 2 talking about durian cake. lucky, i'm not a cake person if not i will be drooling here and can't eat. but i like durian puff at goodwood park. this year, no chance to eat liao. must wait till next year.

jvenus,
i'm on msn, if you want can pm me.

weight:
i have gain 9kg at 28 weeks.

M2B,
u r sooo lucky..wish i can oni see my in laws once a week too.
supposed to go over to my mil's place tis sunday for lunch. luckily for gathering, so can skip 1 week! Yippee! heheh..
Btw, ur gerger really v sweet leh!! how old is she?

M2B,
Aw ... your darling daughter is so sweet!!
If my daughter next time like that too, I think I will melt too..
Good that your ILs are easy to get along with and somemore can offer to take care of your DD while you go pak tor. I doubt my MIL will ever do that.

reirei,
oh ya hor, last time u told me your MSN being fixed. Ack* Must be pregnancy forgetfulness. no worries la.. thought you wana vent your frustrations on MSN. keke
Don't worry abt the small tummy la. As long as bb is healthy is gd. That day went to Pizza Hut on wkday to eat the Xpress lunch set. Student is cheaper rate, the waitress can actually ask me, you not student right? Wa best lo... means what I don't even look pregnant or hv tummy ah?

Take it this way la, smaller tummy means easier to slim down after pregnancy? ;)

megan,
you must be v happy that you don't have GD. Congrats! Wow you slim mama, only gain 6 kg to date? Somemore your bb is getting your weight. I also want leh..

Megan,
Oooi, u no good leh..i say i hafto tahan till weekend liao and u still tempt me.. :p
oh, so they dun sell per pc ah..900g is quite a big cake..but for $38 it's quite reasonable.

Celyn,
why muz wait next yr? after bb deliver u still hafto be on strict diet?

jvenus,
I PMed you my MSN.

reirei,
I also have to find excuses to not go back ILs place. Last mth hv valid reason like me having flu for 2 wks etc. Next few wks don't know how.

Valnsw,
hahaha..wat did u wear dat day?
idea hor..wear my sec sch pinoform (still can fit, wifout the belt :p) n enjoy student rate!
wanted to try jack's place lunch set. student rate i tink oni S$4++ leh!

reirei,
the season for durian is always jun/jul mah, so only then i will think of durian. if not, durian won't come to my mind. hehehhehe.... so must wait till next year loh.

reirei,
I wore this dress with empire waistline. Could be the prints were dark makes me look not so fat. Maybe cos i was sitting in the booth seat and the table could have partially covered my tummy.
My mum was saying maybe I should have said I'm a student and enjoyed the student rate.

Hmm.. hubby on the way back from dental appointmt, later if don't see me posting means he's home liao. wahaha.. cannot let him see my posts.

Jack's Place only $4++ for student set lunch?? think i lost touch with these things alrdy.

any east side mtbs interested in mj ? So far only me and joanne, so still need 2 more kakis

Re: hi-tea/light snacks
Anyone interested to meet up next week ? Since mostly now cannot eat, we can go for light snacks. Or anyone knows where can serve snacks while doing pedi ?? hahhaa..

reirei,
our mil cam shake hands liao,hahaha
my hubby sneak out of his off to drive to jalan kayu to buy for me before they close. even when he went at 4:30pm. he got the last durian cake! i'm tempted to try diff brands one. next maybe emicakes or goodwoodpark's

cakes:
now my craving switch to chocolate banana fudge cake!!!! there;s a famous one at bedok right?

M2B,
if i see my mil once a wk, we can also be best friends lo. she is very nice and treat me well i must admit. m getting used to her now la. at least she just cooks and watch tv. she don't disturb me. plus i get regular meals as a result. must give n take lor

celynlee,
durian season is coming? OMG! yum yum

celynlee,
your dietician say can eat durian or not ah ? cos durian very high in sugar. But I feel like eating lei..

re: MSN
I'm on msn too .. add me ... add me .. hahaha

catherine,
no durian cos its very sweet. cos she say when we eat durian, we won't stop at one. so no durian at all.

i'm having my teabreak now. drinking milk only.

So much stories about ILs last few days .. I'm lucky I don't live with my ILs but I think they are ok people. Thou my MIL is the very lo soh and naggy type, but cos we only see her occasionally so nvm la. But I wana complain abt my SIL. My MIL looks after my SIL's son. Now PAP K2 I think. So every morning, my SIL and BIL will bring the boy to the PAP and noon time my MIL will pick him up and then look after him. Then my SIL &amp; BIL will come back after work for dinner there and then bring the boy home. But they very one kind. Will bring their laundry there to ask my MIL to wash. Except their underwear, everything also bring over ask her wash and iron. I feel it's really too much. How difficult to wash and iron your own clothes ??!! Then they eat already wont even wash the dishes etc. And sometimes they will prepare sandwiches using the bread from my ILs hse and bring home for their own bfast tomo. Damn cheapo. And they quite rich type. Both high flyers and live in condo. My ILs live in those rented HDB 1 room type. I really cannot stand them. My hubby say maybe his mom offered lei .. cos they give her 1K allowance for food,etc.. I say even if offered, where got no shame to accept and bring over and ask her wash. I won't do it lo. I mean if it's just my BIL single I can understand cos she is still his own mother. But u married got wife and still bring your wife clothes back ask your mother wash. These people so thick skin and shameless lo. Got one time 10pm they were leaving already then realized that the boy's PAP uniform havent iron. My SIL got the cheek to say "mother you havent iron boy's uniform" then my MIL start iron for her to bring back. How diff to iron your own son's school uniform !!!

avocado,
Nope, my first pregnancy my son's head was down at 28w. Went for c-sect coz till 39 week still not engage so gynae did an x-ray then realised his head almost the same as my pelvis bone so dangerous if go natural coz might end up c-sect still. So bo bian need to go c-sect the next day.

Celyn,
I've learnt a few ways to get round our condition! :p That is.. Drink lots of water!!! Keep drinking and peeing, and our BSL will be okie! Also, I've changed the timing for taking my vits to night time. Now, BSL swee swee liao.. hee hee

mousse,
when i was at kk for my diet course, i'm supposed to have bread and milk for tea. but i only took the bread without milk (its those powder milk that i can't take), my glucose level is ok. the moment i eat biscuit with cheese, my glucose level fail. so i guess, i only can eat half portion of what is stated for tea. as for 2 hours after lunch, i just make it at 7.

i will try your medthod and drink lots and lots of water. oh, as for mulit-vit i didn't think of it. maybe i should eat after supper too.

mousse,
another thing. what's your comment on this? i don't need to test bsl for this week, only need to do it next mon and tues. i'm thinking if i should do 1 test a day after lunch or dinner to see if my results are good. if ok, that means i can continue with what i eat. if not, then maybe need to cut down further on something or drink even more water like you mention.

cath, there's this shop at tiong bahru plaza that does pedi and serve snacks. but never try before. quite unhygenic don't u think? i'm not doing pedi till i give birth. smell is too strong for me.

celyn, now everyday also durian season lah. if u go geylang or kovan area, durian seller is there every day, rain or shine, haha.

nini, valnsw,
my mum treats me better now cos she dont have much things to do now... previously she travels to punggol everyday to help to take care of my 2 nieces &amp; supervise the maid &amp; ever since my SIL becomes free lance &amp; stays at home very often, there is more conflict, my bro asked her no need to go to his hse anymore since my nieces are quite big aledi &amp; to take care of me since im on HL... so she is "transferred" to my side reluctantly... hahaha... my mum is those traditional type who loves son more than daughter but i used to it aledi la...

celyn,
pre term contractions is hardening of the tummy + cramps + happens at regular interval + does not stop after lying down &amp; resting... if yrs is coming at regular interval, do time it &amp; call yr gynae immediately...

krex78,
true that durian is available everyday now. but i don't think they are good leh. just so so only. not like last time, can eat only in season. the durian then seems to be the best thing in the world. hehehhe....

dongle,
can i conclude that cramp = to some sort of pain? resting = sitting down too?

i do have hardening of tummy quite often but no pain at all, sometimes even when i lie down also useless. so what is this?

YLN,
wah .. you schedule somemore got timing one .. I am thinking of doing one up for my maid too. She's very blur. Raining day and she go and scrub the garden. aiyo .. told her raining, why you wash the garden.

ReiRei &amp; Megan,
Durian cake? Yummy man, but think I have put on too much weight liao so better watch it man…heehee

ReiRei,
Yup, only see my ILs on Sun…my gal is 4yo and she really has a sweet tongue…can always make me melt with her lovey dovey words…

Valnsw,
You sure will melt when your gal says that to you man…it took away all my sian-ness when she called to said that to me just now…heehee

My MIL can’t take care of young kids but now that my gal is big liao, she can handle so will help us so hb and I can go midnight show…

Twin Stars,
I agreed…less meetings = less conflicts…heehee
That time when we got our flat, hb did suggested giving his parents a set of our keys since they stayed near but I said not necessary coz they can come when we are at home mah and if we aren’t at home, why they come over right??!!

Catherine,
Your BIL and SIL really too much man!!!!

Hey Catherine..

I want to play but have started a fast this yr on playing after I noe I am pregnant but I can link you to a friend who is my regular khaki but becos I dun play now..she also dun play liao...she is a young mother too

Catherine,
ur mil story reminds me of the channel 8 tv show 'yi fang ban ting..dunno wat shui gang'.
it's quite a true protrayal of some of the young &amp; rich couples nowadays. sometimes i tink it's the parents who spoil their kids lor.

Re: durian
wow u all got me mouth watering..kekeke!! But hubby forbids me to eat durian because he says it's unhealthy sugar that makes bb big size.. He only allow me to eat it like once every few months? Just to satisy my cravings...hehehe..Err u all talking about Jalan Kayu durian cake, what is that huh???? very famous?? *drooling*

M2B: haha..dont worry i m very vocal one..i wont keep things to myself n get depressed. ;)

jvenus,
internet a bit slow today. still haven't receive the pm.

any mummies had this experience? sometimes, i feel like there is heartbeat (something like beating on a drum) at my buttocks when i sit down. in the beginning, i thought i'm imaginating but it can last for quite a while before it stop leh. what could it be? baby kicking or can't be heartbeat right?

catherine

haha..ur maid so furni...i think got timing better...then she know she must finish task by what time...but har..till today..she never managed to follow..(only 3rd day lar)...i ok with it actually...as long as she clean the house thoroughly...she still a bit slow...but slowly lor..no choice ...anyway my place got nothing much to do..until i must even think of asking her to clean all my shoes weekly!...haha..my hubby said i siao already...

celynlee
ME..ME also..got the veri furni heartbeat feeling near/at bum area...heeehaa..i thought i m the only one leh...lucky not...i wonder what it is also..me thinking th bb cannot be at the butt area mah..so low..

yln,
heng ah... i'm not the odd one out. heheheh.... yah, very odd place to feel it right. and mine can be quite often leh. hahahah.... maybe should ask gynae on next visit.

Catherine,
maybe yr mil likes it that way. to her, it;s a job with salary ba. it will be best if yr sil an employ a maid to help mil with the chores but perhaps mil doesn;t want. guess it;'s their arrangement liao.

YLN,
aiya, my this laptop dun have word or excel so can't open. maybe will ask hubby to install for me. i rather the maid is thorough than fast n slip short. my neighbor gets her maid to polish their shoes wkly and wash the car every sat. we see already so envious
their hse is so clean but that is because the 2 kids are already adults and there is nothing to do everyday except hsework. abit boring for the maid also

Celyn,
i oso felt it lately. happened last nite too.
asked my hb to feel it. i told him it's her hiccups

cos the thumbing is rhythmic and it lasted oni for a few mins..so cute hor?

YLN,
haha u so farnie leh..u can really tink of tings for her to do.
my mum's maid oso got nuttin to do btw lunch &amp; dinner time. small flat wif no garden so v sinang for her.

celynlee
ya lor...such an odd place to feel heartbeat...sumtimes i think maybe its my own heartbeat (which is more ridiculous!)..or maybe my digestive system not good...*shrug*...