(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hi Val, ya, long time never posted here. The trip was ok, just not long enough, otherwise will be more relax.

Slimming

I intend to go for plastic surgeon also, think now has those jab to target at certain area. Cost couple of hundreds only. Haven't done my research yet though.

I have already put on 12 kgs at week 28!! guess if i can keep at 16 kgs is already an achivement for me.

For the first pregnancy, i put on 20 kgs, it took me more than 1 year to get rid of 18 kgs, but i didn't go for any slimming session or what so ever. Don't think i wanna spend so much $$ on that. Will start full force on exercise when gynae gives me green light to do so. Diet will have to wait till stop bf. So, all the mums-to-be, don't worry so much ok.

dongle,
wow you got a good deal on the NUK steriliser set!
Some more you have the rebate too.

I suppose the Tangs sale already ended? Cos I still have voucher to use.

Rat,
went chk p. I have increase total 6kg and bb is 1.2kg @ 29weeks. Hope bb gain weight fast and I gain weight less. hehee!

mulberry (bab1es),
Second time mother also very scared of delivery. Think I am more scared as I been thru before and ask myself why I torture myself again. my first delivery is natural without epi and can still remember the process and make me so scared.

valnsw,
think the sale is still on cos i asked salesgal the sale is until when, she say while stock last & it's part of the GSS... maybe you call them & ask 1st?

Hi mummies, anyone experienced pain near the ribcage? I keep feeling pain but I don't think its bb cos today its both sides of the ribcage.. So uncomfortable!

Hi Megan,
umm it's not the 3 blood test. It's a pure glucose test. Got there give urine and take blood. then take a very sweet drink then 2 hours later give urine and take blood again.

re: slimming centre
my cousin used to be a manager at cenosis, she said all "pian ren de". It doesnt work for everyone and the result usu you see immediately after each session is the water you lose, but will come back. thats why usu at end of each session they ask you go saunna, so you lose water then you will weigh less. for those that really work like you see in the papers, they spend like 10K over and every week like come few times type. How many people can afford it lo. Then I have another cousin wife in london weight management, package cost 7-10K also.. add this add that .. not cheap. those prices on the papers all just to trick you go there.

celynlee,
you failed your glucose test also ah ? I'm meeting the dietician on fri. sigh .. so sad .. I know it's not very serious GD cos my cousin that time she had to see the diabetic specialist cos hers was very serious. But just wish for more support lo.

But thanks for all the support here

Hubby and I thou now got talk already la but still tense lo. He did apologize but i didnt say anything. Then I got this big bruise on my backside cos i feel off the bed this morning while arguing, I show him just now and he said I deserve it. so angry. But I didnt argue with him. Just keep quiet and walk off. Thats why his apology also half hearted. And they say woman are unreasonable !! I think men are just as bad. At least woman are sensitive.

And today my mom give me stress over the new maid. Cos the maid blur blur ask her fold clothes she hang clothes. So my mom blame me for waking up late to properly ensure the maid understood her. So angry I went to the room and cried. Of cos hubby ignored me la. Gosh today is such a terrible day.

Anyway thanks for all the support here
Makes me feel much better

Good Morning!

Twin Stars,
I confirmed dun dare to try liposuction coz I saw the procedure on the Tv and was scared stiff…heehee

Valnsw,
I’m also tossing and turning to find the BEST position to sleep at night…but the good thing is I dun have to wake up and pee in the middle of the night these days…

Dongle,
Butt and thigh are the most difficult areas to slim down and I’m having that prob too…sigh…

Catherine,
Guess slimming centres are out for me then coz I dun wana spend so much on such packages…hopefully acupuncture not so exp man…

I agreed men’s apologies are often so insincere, they apologized for the sake of apologizing only. Like trying to make peace but come to think of that, at least they took the 1st step. So cheer up k?

good morning ladies!

Catherine,
sayang ok? Sounds like you had a stressful day. At least your hubby apologised. Sometimes it's just so hard to get them to say sorry.
Maybe you want to ask your hubby why he flared up at you and why he said you deserved the bruise on your back. Could he be stressful at work? Just looking at it from another angle.

That time my hubby ever flared up at me after my ROM and then I told him off. So I asked him if he was getting some shit/stress at work and he kinda cooled down and he said maybe that's why. After that he was nicer

M2B,
Ya, high 5! Agree that I don't wake up in the middle of the night to pee. Once in a while, may feel hungry to wake up to eat something.

Snow,
Can I pay the ON and babymallonline items together in one lumpsum and collect them together? Would that be all right? If not, let me know ya? Thanks.

Hi Catherine and Celynlee!

Don't be so down with the GD test. We are not categorized as Diabetic, yet. I did my test at Gleneagles, too. Passed the fasting with 4.3 but failed the 2 hrs after drank glucose with 8.4 (should be < 7.8)I am in border line and categorize as 'Impaired Glucose Tolerance'. Went to see Dietician couple weeks ago at Gleneagles. Catherine, are you to see the same one and the only one dietician at Gleneagles? Her name is Rehana. First appointment, her charges is $75 subsequently will be $48. Most of the things the dietician talk are well known to us. Stick to high fibre, low carb, low fat, low sugar and small meals diet, plus exercise. It's easier said then done, hor! The same concept, if we want to lose weight (it's all about life style). What I did now to avoid GD, I keep a food diary, prick myself once a day to check my blood glucose (with Ultra Scan and not painful at all), walked my dog twice a day and drag myself to attend the Prenatal yoga class at Mother $ Child-Tanglin Mall. So far so good.

fitbaby,
my 2 results are 4.5 and 9.6 leh. so much higher than yours. yah, like you mention control diet in a way that we sort of already know. i was told to do blood check (check is 7 times a day leh, by the end of the day, finger tips already feel pain liao) only for 2 days next week then follow by once a week then go back for review. planning to walk for 30 mins after meal loh and had started my prenatal yoga class once a week. hopefully it helps. my range give for 2 hour after food is not to exceed more than 7.

hi fitbaby,
I'm due to see the dietician on friday as she is out of town. If she's the one and only one than it should be her
The Ultrascan u use to check your blood glucose, the gynae will sell you ? How much is it ?

dongle,
thanks for your consolation too =) i think was what i wore that day so cant really see my tummy clearly. But compared to u girls really not as big, mayb cos my edd also later, only 26aug. I also abit worried my bb seems to be small le, but gynae say medium. Hmm shall see how, if not i can keep indulging in durian! hee..

but like little twin star said, u r reallly one of the blessed MTBs tt appears to only put on at tummy! so fortunate! Think u sure slim down v fast n easily one! *envy*

Catherine,
At least ur hubby apologised. If u r really bothered, then shd talk to ur hb nicely and ask him whats wrong, whats causing his behaviour and tell him how u feel abt his behaviour and all. Communicating when im unhappy in a serious yet calm way, seems to work for me so far cos i dun like to carry negative thoughts about my hubby n be nt so happy deep down. Just my 2 cents worth, dun think so much unhappy thoughts oki =)

Hi Celynlee and Catherine,

I don't understand why your dietician asked you to test until 7 times? Catherine, you may purchase the ultra Scan (the right name should be 'OneTouch Ultra')at UnityCare. The scanner will cost you around $100 plus, the test strips $80 plus (depend on their promotion) and the cheapest should be the lancets (the tiny needle). It will give you the accurate results in 5 seconds. For the first timer, it may looks complicated but actually very easy to use. You may want to ask the pharmacist to show you how to use it.

fitbaby,
my machine was loan by KK with 100 lancets and 50 test strips. return to them after delivered if not, they will charge me $200 for it.

i need to test
1. before breakfast
2. 2 hour after breakfast
3. before lunch
4. 2 hour after lunch
5. before dinner
6. 2 hour after dinner
7. before supper

will need to follow these for 2 days next week and once a week subsequently. and my diet goes breakfast, tea, lunch, tea, dinner, supper.

Oh, I see. Later, I am going to see my gynae. Always get very excited with the scan
Can't wait to meet up with our baby girl.

val

iseeisee.. Give ILs face ah. I think i will really just show face only &amp; wun eat anymore. ILs food not quite my cup of tea.. *oops*

celyn

If the fruit juice is pure fruit juice, u know the kind blended at fruit stalls, are those types ok?

sigh, i'll miss the motherhood exhibition coz' i'll be in sydney next week. hope i'm not missing much. i think u can get preview of what they're selling from the latest issue of motherhood magazine. they'll probably list the steals and deals to give u a preview before u make that trip down.

hisstory,
no those fruit juices are also not allow. cos we need a lot more fruit to get the juice and also the juice we got actually only contains water and sugar, no fibre in it. so that is not allowed too. i have been taking that till the dietician stop me now. she says its better to take the whole fruit.

M2B,
ya i saw the doc on lipo n it looks painful too. but it's my last resort i guess but my hubby is very against it. he rather i go MF

dongle,
u r really blessed lei, i don't see any part of u that gain except yr tummy
now i must concentrate on the baby first i guess

joanne,
i also complain my tummy looks small until sudd i ballooned on wk 28-29. u can;t compare to some of us cos alot of our edd is right at the start of aug lei. yrs will catch up one

celynlee,
sorry to hear that u failed the glucose test. however we are in the last lap. so jia you! awhile only k

heartburn,
valval, this time it's my turn. i puked alittle last night n and to sleep with the pillow elevated

Hi Catherine, don't be too sad yah? Sometimes men don;t know how to express themselves &amp; also want to keeo their ego, that's why. I am sure your husband still loves you very much!

Joanne: My tum-tum also small compared to others but I tell myself its ok cos I will slim down faster! Hah!

little twin stars,
thanks. will try to endure, less than 3 months to go.

i also start to have heartburn recently, it only happen at night after i take my last cup of milk for the day.

little twin star,
ya lor, tryin to tell myself tt too, tt my edd is end aug so dun worry abt size too much.

storeberry,
apparently not so true about e slimming down part le. yest had my prenatal massage and the lady told me, "not wanting to scare u, but normally have bb boy the tummy more pointed so more diff to slim it down"

guess as long as bb growing well..so contradicting le, cos dun wanna put on so much weight, but then say tummy too small here..hee..

Sweetie,
welcome =)

Catherine: I also quarrelled with my hubby again on sunday..haha..Cos i asked him 'Will u find other woman if next time give birth liao i fat fat n busy no time to entertain u..'haha..then he assured me he wouldnt but i just keep asking n asking til he got fed up n quarrelled in the car. haha. Then i also cried lor.. he also bochup me. So after reaching his house, i just eat my chicken rice n i take my bag n go out liao. My mood really sucks lor..keep weeping like a crybaby. After 1 hr he msg me, "lao po..still wandering around? U need rest n bb need rest too..." haha.. then after i return home, everything ok liao.

Do u all eat home-cooked food everyday?

Oh, thks Valnsw! hehe...

Hi Sweetie!
kao_welcome.gif

u're neber too late! hehe..

Nini: Not for me, only maybe 2x on weekdays (if my MIL cooks or when i can reach home earlier to cook) - usually only weekends. Hahaah...eat outside food until sianz! And i lurrve to cook! keke

Twin Stars,
I'm thinking of acupuncture since slimming pkgs are so exp and no cfm effective. :p

Nini,
I have home-cooked dinner daily except weekends where we normally eat out.

Sweetie,
Welcome!

sweetie,

nini,
I usually eat in at home, unless have to be outside. Weekend dinners sometimes eat out with hubby otherwise eat at home.

Re: men
Maybe this is not a man problem, but I have issues with my hubby over the housing issue. He's so bloody cost-sensitive over house purchase whereas to me, as long as price is reasonable, I will just take it. Feeling v fed up with him over the house. I understand buying a house is a big-ticket purchase but sometimes really cannot stand his haggling here and there. He forsees the home prices will drop another 10% or so and wants to hold the purchase of home. But I told him it will not drop drastically unless there's a serious worldwide crisis or WW III!
He like can haggle and think so much about the property price and yet thinks nothing of wanting to donate $3K to Red Cross for the Sichuan earthquake. Men!!

Sorry for ranting here but really feel quite fed up.

Hello Mummies

I am back... Been a hectic week cos my new maid just came in last sunday so was on leave for a week to train her and then at the same time during mid week my granny passed away.. So was bz with funeral and all.. I cant catch up with a week's posts liao... too many : p Hope everything is well with all the mummies.

For those mummies who asked me on update on new maid, so far I am quite happy with her... Of cos cos got some things here and there must tell her the right thing to do. I think maybe becos she worked in SG before so alot of things I dun really need to teach her in details. So far so good but of cos all these maids must monitor and cannot be too nice to them cos now is "probation period" so of cos they will do their best. Must see later if got any "patterns" come out or not. Everynight for the past week I got debrief session with her one... my huby teased me lor, say i so professional..hee. Basically its to give her feedback on what she did right/wrong and where are the areas she can improve on... : ))

my new maid arrived yesterday..wah this morning so stressed liao cuz her english very very lan...she from countryside in myanmar and understand very little english...taught her how to vaccum and mop floor...wipe tables and cabinets..but she work a bit the slow..maybe she is more thorough than me..heehee...i vaccum very fast..but maybe not very clean....but she is quite thorough ...but quite forgetful at times, must remind...i guess thats is part and parcel of training a new maid ba...
im crossing my fingers she will slowly understand me more, otherwise i will vomit blood by the slow communication and gesturing...

celynlee
i everyday take 3-4 times of fruits..and just 3/4 glass of fruit juice a day...i think ok ba....fruit juice more cooling leh...sometimes eat the fruit ..very mah fan also..but i still take lor..cuz it helps with digestion..

wow envy those who get to eat home-cooked meals.. i dont lor..xianz..even im staying with PILs, they also seldom cook..even if got cook, unless im at home otherwise they wont call to ask if im going home to eat or not. sometimes feel really shitty..
But sometimes i return to my own home..i can cook.. U all inspired me to cook today! My poor bb always hav to eat ourside food wif me..
feel so sad...

valsnw: i am also lookin for a flat but my hubby also likes urs, wait for property to "crash"... sigh..i tell him dun be stooopig..sg economy will never crash n so do the propety markets..tho it will be the 'cooling down period' but never crash lor. i m looking for a 3-room flat!
Small but cheap!!!
Realy fed-up with living with in-laws!

twin star, joanne,
thanks for the consolation... my tummy is really getting very big cos even my gynae commented that my tummy is big after staying at home for 1 month... hehe... at the hospital, she wanted me to fatten up but last visit she din dare to say anymore &amp; asked me to cut down on carbo...

re:heartburn
i also experience heartburn a few times when i was lying down or sleeping... so uncomfortable...

yln,
i can't comment if its ok to eat fruit so many times or not. in our diet plan, fruits is taken only with lunch and dinner loh.

nini and valnsw,
are you 2 looking for resale flat or new flats? house hunting can be very tiring and frustrating. i had spend near 3 months house hunting in 2006, look until so sian that i almost give up.

nini,
3 rooms flat might not be cheap loh. it also depends on the location you are looking at. i sold my 3 rooms at toa payoh for near 200k in 2006 and its not a renovated flat leh. and got our 5 room at serangoon north for only 285k but of course location is not very good lah.

celynlee
oh...u have to follow such a strict diet ar...how long do u have follow it? then will u be tested again for GD? think u better stick to ur diet plan...otherwise all the effort wasted...my GD test was all good...but also better not anyhow eat...otherwise later got more problems...:p

nini,
i can empathise with your situation. i don't particularly like living with ILs. I was staying with them for 2 mths or so and I definitely don't feel great staying with them.

Before staying with them, I did tell my hubby to instead temporarily stay at my parents' home while we look for our own place but he traditional, scared later his parents don't approve but the fact is I feel his parents would rather us move to my parents' place cos his parents' place alrdy too "overcrowded" with his younger bro's family of 4. Think they also cannot take care of additional 2 people like us in their household.

When I was staying with them, I just brought my clothes back to my parents' place to let maid wash. Cos I was afraid their maids will mix up my clothes with other people's. Cos my SIL ever complained she cannot find her clothes and they ended up with my BIL's wife. Somemore, she tiam tiam never even bring it back to the SIL until SIL found out.

Anyways, I got my way for hubby and me to stay with my parents, and shortly after that got preggie. My parents are ok with us staying but my mum doesn't want my hubby to take things for granted that we can stay in their house forever. I think she wants to see some kind of commitment from hubby to get our own place.

So now, my hubby is like your hubby, waiting for prices to crash but I alrdy told him, it will not be super low one. Now I think prices have soften but not likely to crash lo. He nitpicking all the things. My hubby even more picky, still want near to mrt, want good facing etc. Really fed up. Like you, I also told him, I don't mind getting resale HDB. Then he said he rather top up abit more to get a resale condo, but he's so fussy over so many things!!

celyn,
I know what you mean by fed up of house-hunting. Started looking in end 2007, so til now about 6mths? initial was to look for resale HDB but then hubby feels he rather top up to get condo. Haiz.. the search continues.

nini,
I think it's better to eat home-cooked food. Sometimes I go outside, I don't know what to eat. At least at home, if somebody else is cooking I don't have to think what to eat. If cooking for yourself, at least you can be assured that what you eat is healthier.

valnsw: yes yes! Imagine mine is 8-ppl staying in a 5-room flat? Like living in a container like that! Even the balcony is converted to a bedroom..so basically all the windows n doors are shut. I prefer to come back to my own house..My ILs practise favourism n thats another thing which makes me determine to get our own house.

I still mop the floor over there ok.. my MIL is super duper lazy one. see me mop only smile at me n then went to hibernate in her room. Even my hubby cannot stand his own parents!

I also asked my hubby to move to my hse but fact is my hse (Queenstown) is really small lor.but the enviroment here is so much beter than his house..bb will love it here also. I think my house is much much cleaner..not like his parents house like warehse cos both lazy to clean n tidy. haha.. My house is very convenient here. Opp honda showroom.
But like u say, cannot stay here forever cos its my sis/bro house (my parents no longer ard..flat is under my elder sis n eldest bro name)

When are u getting ur flat? im looking for resale? But must upfront cash right?? Usually owners ask for above valuation..Horrible leh.

nini,
yah, serangoon north is quite near hougang. hmmm.... i didn't know that there is 3 room flat here. i don't really like my area cos i came from a super convivent home where mrt and bus are just below my flat and it only take me 10 mins to reach town. now i got to take bus out to take mrt which i hate it. now i have to spend about 45 mins to 1 hour to go to town, and i will sure to complaint. so hubby make sure he send and fetch me whenever i go out so that i won't nag and scold him for getting such a ulu place (consider ulu for me lah). hehehe....

yln,
i think you can consider that a strict diet loh. now got to think before i eat. they are trying to keep our daily intake at 1800 calories. i won't need to test for GD again till 6 weeks after i deliver. as long as my blood check for next week and subsequent weeks are alright, then no need to make further adjustment loh.

housing:
seems like these days very hard to get flats. my hubby and went house hunting in 2003 and were very very lucky there was abundance of flats. some more, we got a good floor at punggol, even though our queue no. was 1000+. price was at all time low also due to bad economy. now i see many of my friends fret over the difficulty in getting flats.

meals:
i like to cook also, so i will cook at home if i got nothing on after work and can go home early. in laws like to eat out, so quite disappointed i dun get home cooked food when i eat with them. fortunately, my family still eat at home all the time, so i kinda look forward to going back to my "niang jie" to eat.

celynlee: ya my hse also..got bus/mrt so convenient. only 10mins to reach town also. But whatever it is, own base is very important lo. If got money i definitely buy my hse area here but its gonna be so expensive lor..Queenstown area.