(2008/08) Aug 2008

Rata & Yuuri: Haha.. I always complained to DH that my tummy so small & he has to always comfort me... Keke.. Actually self-comforting, small also good, not so tired, my bb was 400gram at 20-21weeks, I also don't know where is my bb hiding! Kekeke..

Snow: Great!! Will surf the web later.. Keep in touch via PM? Shopping again.... :p

Twin stars,
The email update they sent states the bottles are bpafree but dunno why it's not stated in their webbie. I'm also not sure if all are bpafree or selected ones. I've just emailed them to check...

catherine,

actually i wanted to ask how is it that if the maids sign a 2 yr contract, they can just break it like that. no penalty? only repay one mth, that's all? then there is no security for us. i know of an agency that makes the maid sign the 2 yr contract in both their country n in s'pore and if they break the contract, the agency has the right to make them pay for the expenses of the employer getting a new maid in....including agency fees, insurance etc. so far that is the only agency i know that protects the employer this way. teh rest just say no choice. so far their maids always fullfill 2yrs, although they will go back after 2 yrs. but to me, staying for 2 yrs is already very gd

catherine
i think i will start with cloth diapers in the day..then disposables at nite..hopefully more cost effective since i getting maid..she can wash cloth diapers

Tuuri/twin stars,
some prices in the babymall website already slashed by a bit. So do we still get the 20% off the already discounted prices or regular prices?

joanne,
thanks for the info! Will tell my hubby. hopefully he has time to shop. sigh.

snow,
will you be organising bulk purchase for the babymallonline? If you are, pls let me knw. I just glimpsed at the website but not sure yet if want to get anything.

Clothes Diapers:
Using clothes diapers for my baby at home and during the day. My MIL say better like tat. Only wear disposables when sleeping and go our "kai kai". Hear baby only drink milk so the clothes diapers very easy to wash. Just bot 2 packets of cloth diapers (10 each) at the neighbourhood store @ $10 plus. My colleague tell me 20 wont be enuf must take care of rainy days so she say at least must have 30 standby.

little twin star,

ya the maid sign a 2 yr contract, if they breech then they will have to pay for their own ticket back to their country. seems you are right, not much security for us, they only offer replacement which i think is so much hassle cos we need to wait and retrain the maids again. Some of the more "smart" maids in this case I think like the one I had, they will probably give u trouble or show unhappiness etc so you will send them back to the agency. Actually I think for a few days and still don't see how the maid is going to be able to go back to Indo cos she claims she got no money. But she also claims she is happy working for us.

Re Cloth diapers :
I'm also thinking of using them in the day. But not sure when to start. Thinking of after baby has comfortably latched on and so thinking of after 1 month. Cos 1st month probably so many things to get used to, so will only introduce the cloth diapers after I not so tense ... hahaha. But I'm looking at the prefolds one. Seems quite good but of cos more costly la. Anyone also looking into prefolds ?

missysz,

My aunt say got difference in brands. Some are thinner thus not so absorbant and they will give wear very fast after many washings.

Wah, it's so hard to keep up wif this thread now..

Dongle,
U enjoyed the talk too? The bbs on demo sooo cute hor?

Snow, Hisstory,
My hb jus returned from the states and bought tonnes of clothes & stuff from Toys r us & Children's Place. They having sale now and are really v v cheap!
http://www.childrensplace.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Home?storeId=10001&langId=-1&catalogId=10001
I've registered wif them but yet to order, so dunno if they accept SG credit cards.
But hey, my hb said citibank has got dunno wat global purchase scheme, which is similar to vPost i tink. Maybe can chk it out if u haf citibank account.

Mousse,
Me luv bb zara clothes!! jus went to beo some y'day but so expensive wifout discount.
But if I'm still working, i wld jus grab wifout consideration!

Nini,
Me too leh! heartburn and indigestion. Saw my gynae few weeks back, she said try to avoid eating too full, spicy or chocolatey stuff.
Remedy is to take milk to neutralise the acidity.
She then said my stomach got wind and gave me med.
Dat day I dun care, ate a bowl of v spicy laksa for lunch and hei mi for dinner, then got heartburn the whole of the following day..very xing ku!

Mulberry,
Ya lor, datz moi..

I havent been putting on much weight..so contemplating on eating durains...hope to get some later cos got craving..heheh.. :p

hisstory
ya, my hb helped me to stretch my leg last nite lor. =(
bingo! that is exactly why i always feel like vomitting after taking fish oil, cannot take oil.

catherine
must take care leh, its really no joke.
this morning while i was limping and crossing the zebra crossing, i almost din react fast enough when a car can't stop in time.

twin stars
the free shipping is within US, that is why i reg vpostusa addy as my addy. =)

cos very forgetful nowadays, let me try to recall...
- twin stars
- storeberry
- yuuri
- joanne
- cindy
- valnsw
m2b & celyn, babymallonline u want? ha ha....
ok lah, maybe u ladies pm me ur wishlist this sunday?
dun browse too early, wait i scared monday oos liao. =P

Missysz,
Apparently got different brands leh.
My mum told me to get Pureen ones cos softer. But i havent seen any so far.
Anyway, you may wanna feel the texture before buying.

Twin stars,
Those specified on the email update as BPA-FREE Bottles & Cups--
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/623+050608
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/1111+050608
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/347+050608

If they email me any other models, I'll let you know again

Cindy,
Yup 20% off on top of whatever pricing stated on the website (regardless of slashed or not). Babymallonline is v cheap, but only rompers style.

Re: Cloth Diapers
Hubby and I were discussing it and I said I don't dare to wash shit. Then he say if got shit then we throw away!!! haha

cloth diapers
i think i will just buy the normal ones from the neighbourhood shops, and the liners as well..and thinking of buying the bumwear pockets ...

missysz,
There are different brands with different material like wat catherine mentioned. Got the most ex in the shop cos felt that the cloth is better.

catherine,
also looking into prefolds but the neighbourhood stores dun sell. the aunty tell me use safety pins lah. Tot prefolds are better cos its safer and prevent wetting the bed, etc. But prefolds are quite ex. Just bot one frommetro sale tat cost ard 4 bucks. Will ask ard for better offers.

I'm oso tinking of getting some ikea cupboards for putting bb clothes but my mil keeps telling us not to dismantle or move any furniture in the house cos she v bandang.
But i can't wait to get the cupboards in to put bb stuff cos my wardrobe overflow liao.

Yuuri,
Got shit throw away very wasteful leh... Baby shit very easy to wash away want cos they only drink milk. Just throw them into the washing machine lor with baby detergent.

20% on top of slashed prices, then must really see what to get lor... cheap cheap expecially when US exchange is so low now.

Rat, I didn't say u didn't update lah. Was looking for u when I popped by yesterday and didn't see the table so I just ask where u were mah. I think u doing a good job updating. I understand it's not an easy job. No need to update so frequently lah. Let me dig out my DS report first.

valnsw, no problem! Just PM me as I may miss ur posting here.

mtbs, my tummy still consider small, I think. But I can feel pretty active kicks these couple of months. Still having backaches too.

Erm, anyone has already planned the full month celebration?

venus
hb and me was discussing last nite on whether to just give cakes or throw a buffet during full mth.
u got good idea?

Cindy,
Yah I know very wasteful...cos hubby doesn't really understand the use of cloth diapers so he anyhow say. Huh? Just throw into washing machine..ermm no need to scrape off the shit first?

Yuuri,

the shit will be "caught" on the nappy liner, so you just wrap the nappy liner and throw away. Then wash the cloth diapers.

Jvenus,
We will throw a buffet for friends and probably a dinner in restaurant for relatives. As for the cakes, if the people come for the dinner still must give cake or not ah ? some say need some say dont need, so I also confused.

Yuuri,
If there is any, then u have to scrap off the shit first lah, if not all the clothes will kena the shit. Usually they will place a baby liner on top of the cloth diaper. So if kena shit, will be the baby liner but too watery will kena the cloth diaper. Just throw away the liner and wash the cloth diaper lor.

Catherine & Cindy,
Oh..ok that makes abit more sense

I think nowsadays people will give gifts to those who come to the full month right? I'm also not sure...my mil say no need, but I intend to give anyway.

snow, hope your legs are better now. can u include me please? will PM you my list by this Sun. many thanks

- twin stars
- storeberry
- yuuri
- joanne
- cindy
- valnsw
- missysz

hi cindy, wats the brand of the cloth diaper that u got?

reirei, i also intend to get cabinet or drawer from ikea. saw some selling at 200 plus..my walk in wardrobe also no space.

nappies:
so far i only came across the bum wear once. dun dare to use the traditional kind with safety pin. i think bum wear cloth diapers can be used from 4 mths onwards coz' those below 4 mths don't have such a long life span.

my plan is to use disposable for first few months, then swtich to cloth diapers subsequently, since they can last till they are about 3-4 yrs old.

as for shit, if so happen land on the nappy, use the bidet hose and spray off the toilet bowl lor. sounds gross but still possible to remove shit without dirtying hands.

missysz,
I cant rem off-hand the brand of the cloth diaper. I will check tonite when I get home and let you know tmr.

thanks snow! will look at it and most likely will get the bedding set if i were to get anything.

Anyone of u buying baby cot?? Saw a few, and the price ranges are huge..can be 200+ 300+ then can be 1000+ also..gosh..i just realised how really expensive it is to have a baby! everything also exp! even the bedding set i like from first few years costs like 400! *faint*

snow,
yup, will PM you by sunday if want to get anything.

joanne,
I paid for a movable baby cot + mattress = $224. Will be delivered in June/July. Mine's movable so it's $179 on offer and the dimensions smaller than norm. Think it's about 24" x 48". Anyway, after 1 yr old, I prob let bb sleep on mattress.

Yup, it's expensive to have baby. Was calculating the $ I spent on baby.. really scary.

RE: cloth diapers
Need to get the nappy liners to trap the shit, then throw away the nappy liners. Cloth diapers to be washed. Maybe you want to use plastic gloves to scrape the shit off the nappy.
I got some cloth diapers on standby in case bb has golden butt.

Hi valnsw,
Thanx...but gotto manage everything on our own now..my hb and me are new to Spore..not sure where to buy baby things..heard there' gonna be baby fair' next month..can u gimme some more info..

snow, you ordering from babymall online? Count me in too.

Btw, I can help with the babymall spree if snow can't make it in time for the 20% off. (",)

I've alwaes been quite a slient reader in this thread. Are most of you in aug 2008 working full time now? How about after birth?

As for the topic on weight gain & size. Haha, i'm not sure why i look so BIG!! I'm only in my 23rd week. Pple thought I'm going to be due soon. I tink I've gained around 11kg already. OMG, I really can't imagine how difficult it'll be for me to lose all my weight. Got a feeling I'm going to hit the 20kg mark again. But for my 1st pregnacy diff. Twins pregnancy so gain 20kg still considered little. Now only single baby still can't stop eating.

After 1st pregnancy, I'm stuck with around 4kg that I can't lose. I hope this time it'll be easier for me to lose the weight.

Hi Joanne, I'm keen in the prenatal yoga. But at which branch / school??

val

Hmm, i might just do what u've suggested.. Diapers are so expensive! Oh I saw fr the John Little mailer tt Drypers has 20% discount.. But I forgot to check it out, wonder if the discount is still on & there are still stocks anot

ReiRei

Wah, if i knew ur HB going US, I might have pleaded with u to help me get a stroller i've been eyeing. But no lah, too troublesome to ask others *heehee*

Gd thing ur HB took the opp to buy lots! I think their stuff are really nice.. I shall check out the Citibank thingy, then i might be able to get my stroller afterall *winks*

snow

So u dun take fish oil at all ah? I cannot stand the taste of it.. But no choice right, for bb's sake

I haven't browsed baby's mall.. Wait for me hor

hi doubleblessing,
Are you local or foreigner? Cos you mentioned you and your hubby are new to Singapore.

I also heard something about baby fair. Did a search, not sure if it's this one:
http://www.singapore-expo.com.sg/events/events_calendar_event056.php

Motherhood 2008

Public - Free Admission
Hall 5A
05 - 08 June 2008

05 - 07 June 2008
12:00pm - 10:00pm

08 June 2008
11:00am - 10:00pm

Show Profile:
The Biggest Parenting Extravaganza in Town!
Even Bigger than Last Year.

Organiser:
Eastern Publishing Pte Ltd

Contact Details:
Tel: +65 6379 2888
Fax: +65 6379 2803
Email: [email protected]

Seems like the organiser is this motherhood magazine. Didn't have many details about the exhibitors there.

If you are looking for cots, strollers, car seats etc, you can go to Baby hyperstore and another one just down the same stretch at Kaki Bukit (Ubi area).There's also baby avenue at balestier:
http://www.traveltots.com.sg/stockists.htm

For other miscellaneous stuff, you prob can look out for sales, and there's the Great Singapore Sale coming up soon! Sometimes can grab good buys.

By the way, which area of Singapore do you live?

cindy,
suppose to have additional 20% even after the sale price so very worth it

catherine,
actually 4 yr maid to end her contract with u after 2 mths is very strange. usually they'll try to clock in at least one yr so they can have enough experience and money to leave. mayb indo's not so smart?

snow,
thanks for finding out. will PM my wish list on sun
remind us again hor, jus in case we blur blur forget, hehe

yuuri,
thanks! will go and see later

reirei,
i also like the children's place stuff

Any1 ordering stuffs from children place?

Snow, Can you help with the spree too? Can consolidate the vpost orders so only charged once for base charge. (",)

val,
where did u get ur cot??

kel,
Mother & Child at Tanglin Mall has prenatal yoga classes at 8 classes for $195. Are you a SAHM or FTWM?? Thinking of going for the weekday morning classes.

Talking about weight gain, i dunno how so many of you only gain like 4-5 kg so far leh..super envy! ive ballooned to 10kg gain at 24wks and i really think i will hit the 20kg mark, sian..im kinda paranoid about it now..mayb its staying at home not doing anything everyday! Everyday eat n sleep, hopeless le..

Hi Joanne,

I'm a FTWM, but working hours quite flexible. (",) So not a prob going for weekday morning classes. Where do you live?

Heng ar, at least you weight gain case same as mine. hehe.. hoping prenatal yoga helps to tone up abit.

BTW, I'm new to yoga, are you? I've got a stupid question, prenatal yoga for what? Does it help in childbirth?

Hi Rat, is the price same as what we get from bp? I feel like buying. But kinda ex. & I'm afraid my 2 monsters will "spoil" it before baby arrives.

kel,
i live along siglap area, urself?

Im new to yoga too, so no worries =) Thought of taking it up since im so free n its supposed to promote couple of things during pregnancy. I think prenatal yoga supposed to help to relax, have good posture and aids in reducing pregnancy related anxiety. You can go to http://www.motherandchild.com.sg/yoga/yoga_main.htm

rata,
sorry ah, wats a small small world bumper mat?

joanne,
I ordered from Kiddy Palace Century Square. So far, I've seen the display cot at Kiddy Palace Toa Payoh only. The other place that you can order is from Baby Hyperstore I think, one of the shops at Kaki Bukit Shun Li Industrial Park. All these places sell at $179. I think you have to see if suitable for you. This cot was suitable for me, as I needed one that is foldable and and move in between rooms.

ratatouille,
what's this a small small world bumper mat? Do you have any link to it?

hisstory,
I remember from the JL mailer that there is 20% off on the drypers diapers. During the previous JL sale, I bought one pack of NB (28 pcs+ 4 free) at $7.30 after 20% off.

val, i'm going to miss the motherhood fair coz' i'll be in sydney, sob sob. i think it shld be the same as the one in mar right?

btw, your cot very cheap leh. aren't most cots movable anyway? most of the $300 range ones come with wheels. i think i'm going to get the one from baby avenue...slightly less than $300. they also sell decent ones at OG and kiddy palace.

Hisstory,
Haha..which brand r u eyeing on?
There are really lotsa cute bb stuff there and quite reasonably priced, esp. when they have sale. I think he bought > 10 pairs of socks and 7 bibs..hhehee..
Too bad he din get to go ON, otherwise damage will be greater.. :p

Missysz,
Did ur old folks say anyting abt moving furniture in your house?
I like the IKEA white series cot, drawer chest, and cupboard. They are really sweet for bb girls' rooms

Snow,
Paiseh, can I join in the babymall spree as well?
Saw the rompers, tooo cute to resist! :p
I'll PM you by Sunday, k?

valnsw,

which cot did u get? is it white? i might need to get one as my baby bed is not portable. at first was thinking of getting a co-sleeper to use in my room and later as a playpen but it cost $300plus. so still thinking how to have an additional cot to put in my room. i also need it to be portable that's y i tot co-sleeper

rata,
the mat is ex and it's rubber. now weather so hot. wanna buy later? i scared melt lei

krex,
actually i have no idea if this is the same one in mar.

Oh i have to state that my cot is FOLDABLE, i.e. can collapse it and then carry to another room.

The normal ones that we see are already fixed, i.e cannot collapse and fold. You need to assemble. Think also hv wheels but if you want to shift to another room, the door must be wide enough to squeeze the cot

My bb's foldable cot comes with wheels too.