(2008/08) Aug 2008

twin stars
ur mil dun live with u right?
hee hee....

celyn
can 1, light blue & yellow are some og the unisex color lor.

krex
same problem, 2nd hand clothes are mostly for boy.
that is why i need to buy when my gal gets older lor.
cos she already noe how to choose her own dress before she go out liao, she wun want boy's shirt.

rat
dun pressurise urself lah, once a wk is very good liao.
thx. =)

celynlee,
boys also got alot of things to buy. i saw some nice clothes and shoes but of cos not as wide a range as girls la.

i still can;t post on overseas spree

snow,
nope. y lei? ya, think she may not tahan me, hehe . actually she tried to help me fold clothes, i told her not to as my pt maid knows my style. but she still wanna help, i end up unfolding n folding to my style in front of her. she saw la, but kept quiet. when it comes to clothes and packing, i have a streak

Thanks snow & celynlee. But i am ok if any SAHM wan to take over the job then we can ve more prompt updates.

ceylnlee,
hehe, i buay tahan lei but i know she meant well.i talk to her, watch tv n unfold la. think she knows i'm particular so she also told me better get a full time maid, if not how am i going to handle everything

our aug thread is very updated compared to other months already. maybe there is a miscom but must appreciate rata la. it's really a dirty job that no one likes to do

Hi Goldfish, great to see you here! My EDD is 5 sept, also not sure if I will give birth earlier so came to this thread... :p

I only bought a wardrobe from Ikea for bb, I haven't buy cabinets yet. Will wait for hand me downs for cot, strollers...etc.

twin stars
if not living with her, then can just close both ear on unnecessary comment lor. =P
ya, u really daring.
but she is good enough to help u fold bb clothes lah, not all mil will care to do that lor.
beside Gap and On, any other oversea site got gd stuffs? hee hee....

rat
its ok lah, u had been doing very well mah. =)
being preggy is a very tiring job liao, dun pressurise urself any more lor.

celynlee/twinstars/krex/snow
I also bot the Ikea drawers to keep my baby clothes. And one drawer is already full of her clothes liao... Hee Hee... Trying to get th unisex clothes but really cant resist getting the girlie ones cos they are so sweet and cute... I personally loves pink so bot a lot of pinky stuffs. My hubby say my daughter will develop a phobia over pink next time and the first color she learnt will be pink.. haha... I dun care cos its so sweet... ;-)

twin, how's your maid search? i'm online now trying to start but so many websites and dbases to choose from...do u use those search engines or just go to one agency and choose from there?

snow74,
you sound like you are going to organise sprees for us. hehehhe....

cindy,
i like pink too. i told hubby if baby is a girl, her room will be full of pink and hello kitty. hahahah.... guess what my hubby say, cannot cos baby is a mouse, scare of cat. :p

on the topic of clothes, i heard baby zara got very pretty ones for girls. so far, i only buy 3 packs of bodysuits from mothercare (cos of discount!). the unisex kind somemore. hee hee.. :p

krex,
u remembered, hehe, i started my search online and realized it's difficult. so far i went bukit timah shopping center to walk around to search for indo christian. hard to find. i shortlisted one.

i also shortlisted 2 fhil ones from my friend's rec agency. gotta decide this wk as the new maid need time to get in. by then mid june liao

snow,

u wanna help me order from oversea's spree? only if u want to order frm the same place as well la. no obligation

Hello mummies =)

Krex
I recently went to katong shopping centre for my maid search. Went to see different biodatas from diff agencies and finally settled on one. She will be coming in end May.. Crossing my fingers.. hopefully she doesnt give me problems... I very apprehensive

twin stars
babymallonline accept s'pore credit card?
i'm not oversea spree expert leh, so only buy from Gap and ON so far...
ur same place mean where? =P
i dun mind if got nice things to buy, but that place must accept s'pore credit card lor.

celyn
bo lah, buy play play only...hee hee...
anyway, u are always in my list 1 mah. =D
i dun dare to organise spree, else wait hb kill me.
help friends buy play play still can, see the diff? shh.....

medusa
cannot have too high hope on new maid hor?
guide slowly. =)

ok ladies, me going home liao.
chat again tmr!

medusa,
which country did u get? i also scared lei

snow,
oh, i;m talking about the singapore motherhood overseas spree section. same place means. if u are ordering from them as well. no need credit card as there is already an organizer

Snow
Yeah lor... I think I must tell myself to be patient and give her a few months to adapt.

Krex
I forgot to add on.. I find it easier to talk to the agency ppl and tell them what are my priorities then they will help to pick out which ones match my criteria. Then slowly shortlist.. Some the criteria fit, but face a bit scary... : p... Then some look pleasant then cannot really take care of babies/children..So it's really hard to find a good match

twin stars
I got indonesian one cos religion wise its easier... I am a chinese muslim convert : )
Yeah i also worried cos actually i plan to go maid-less one if its not becos of number 2 on the way... Just got to pray for the best lor.
Afterall its heng suay one... : p

so far, i've been clicking based on pics, then i look at age, marital status, work experience, etc. some really look like criminals, haha.

any agency u'd recommend? i live in punggol, so don't wanna travel too far. i also want reliable agency, not those that make empty promises.

i think i'll get her in only in aug/ sept. don't want to pay extra and have her do nothing at my home. i dun plan to let her stay at my place alone also, so she'll travel with me everyday to in laws' place when i drop bb off.

btw, any mommies here buying those small washing machine to wash bb's clothes? i'm still contemplating...

oh yah, i also heard that pigeon detergent powder make's bb's clothes stiff. is it true? and i can't use softener for bb's clothes right?

medusa,
yup, better for u to get indo then. at least yr mil can help jagah her. i'm also worried. now with 3 options. whichever i choose, i scared if she doesn;t turn out gd, i'll forever be wandering shld i have taken the other 2,,,,,,, u know what i mean? really hope i will strike with one try

Krex
Ya haha! I agree man! Some really look quite "different".. I think we also need to find one pleasant looking one, afterall we will be facing them for at least 2 years..

I am getting her in early to "train" her and also get my boy used to her so that I wun stress once I pop in august.. so she will have things to do... hehe. Same here, once bb is out she will need to go to my MIL place. I dun dare to leave her alone with the young ones. Too many horror stories.

I will pm you the agenccy i went to. And also I found this link that is quite good. It's a blog by a mummy from this forum also on maids. Check it out

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2007/07/selecting-maid-agency.html

Krex
I cant pm you leh....

twinstars
Yah lor.. in terms of lang wise she will be perfect for my mil lah but I will have a problem.. hehe cos my malay is cannot make it one. But I did call her and did a short interview with her and she seems ok speaking simple english.

celyn

iseeisee.. Wah cloth diaper, luckily your nanny will handle them.

Your HB's very witty! Mouse scared of cat, so cannot have Hello Kitty?! Cute! Tell your HB, you want her to be inculcate from young, to embrace differences & diversity
*heheheh*

krex

Thanks for the info!

Wah, no more shoes because of the maid ah.. U've got a storeroom/bomb shelter? I made my storeroom part of my storage for shoes. Can't live w/o them!!

twin stars

goodness.. Anyway thankfully u had a gd night's rest

where did u get the hangers? Pink sounds cute! *heheh*

storeberry

Heheh, now tt we're in 2nd trimester, i think can be more safe to enjoy
But everything in moderation lor

steph

Agree, shd eat sashimi tt looks fresh. I dare not buy off the counter, esp fr supermarkets.. Dunno how long it has been there, even though there's refrigeration.

I hope to get my aunt's genes, lose all the wt I've put on.. I dare not step on the weighing scale these days, only when i go for gynae's appt

med, i've changed profile to allow PM. can try again? if not, u can email me at [email protected].

hisstory, i think i might have to ask her to put her shoes in the balcony or buy a portable shoe rack. mine is currently in-built with sette. one cupboard for my shoes and one cupboard for hb's shoes. now very full already...sigh.

krex medusa,

ya, always ask for recent photos. ask them when are the pics taken. sometimes the passport pics n data's look diff man. then look thouroughly. i saw one that looks like there is patches on her arm, i ask the agent. they don't know how to ans me. i scared she got skin prob then , faint!

i need to get maid in early cos when baby comes, no one to help me. now at least my mil can train her to cook and i can train her to do hsework according to my style

medusa,
nowadays indo's english is not so bad liao. anyway, all the best. update up k

hisstory,
i got from diaso. but not cheap la, one for $2. i bot 14 small n 14 big.

storeroom,
at first in order to make room for maid in my guest room that i store my bags and shoes, i need to buy a new cupboard for my bag n shoes to put in the living area. then i thot. this is crazy, so i intent to just hse her in my study room. safe the trouble

Krex
Ok I pm-ed you liao. She is 25 years old, single but ever worked in sg taking care of 3 children ranging from nb to 4 years old..So her salary also higher lor. I am paying her 350, no off day.

twinstars
Yeah i think must give them some time to get used to yr style also... thats why i started searching for one last month. It takes about 4-6 weeks for the whole process to be completed.

just got back home after hectic day.. phew!
So many posts to read and catch up until my eyes bluurr liao.

storeberry,
So you and I had our weddings quite close by. Same here, my hubby wanted to have family only after 1 year, but I told him just go for it cos some people want to have also difficult. If we hit jackpot, good lo.. :p

jvenus,
Can I get back to you later on the CordLife referral? Will keep you in mind for the referral.

medusa,
Which is the agency that you found in Katong shopping centre? If you can, can PM me pls? TIA. I'm also looking around for maids.

Just wanted to share with you my recent (yesterday only) drama with the maid. We also got an indo maid 2 months ago so that we can train her early in prep for the baby. Thou her main task is only hsework cos I wont entrust a newborn with her and I intend to be a SAHM next time. After working 2 months and already getting used to things here, suddenly she mention that she want to leave after paying up her loan, which is in July. And I'm due Aug. So my hubby was so angry scream at her and bring her back to the agency. At the agency the maid also nothing to say. We never mistreat her and she herself admit that we treat her very well. And then we came home to pack her clothes and send to the agency and found that she had planned all these. She wrote thank you notes to us and also that even if we dont send her off after reading this she will still want to go back after the loan. And we found that she keep alot of newspaper cuttings of maid agencies to work in HK. Ultimately alot of these maid's main purpose is to go HK to work cos got off day, PH and double the salary.

I spoke with the agency and they say she no matter how the maid still have to find another employer cos she still owe them 3 months salary. We already paid her 2 months. Which means the maid will prob at her new employer try this stunt again to ask to go back then cos she already got her passport ready, she more easily can go to HK.

We were so angry cos now we have to start all over again with selecting and training the maid. So sometimes these maids all are very cunning.. They only pretend to be stupid. And all along we keep telling her that Aug baby coming , now she not much things to do so can relax more. We suspect she already link up with someone for HK that's why she want to act now.

Catherine,
oh dear, sorry to hear about your situation. Thanks for sharing with us. Which maid agency did you go to? Mind can PM me? so that i will blacklist.
Is this maid a transfer maid? Cos you mentioned that she has only about 3 mths' salary to work off.

Good luck with your next maid and hope you get a good one! If worst case, perhaps you want to think of back-up plan like get part-time helper for the household chores while you take care of baby.

Hi Valnsw,

This maid will now be for transfer cos she now owes balance 3 months salary to the agency. I will PM you the maid agency name.

catherine,
actually alot of maids are like that now. they use s'pore as a stepping stone to go to HK. come here is free training. however there are some who still don;t know. what i heard is....HK prefer indo maids to fhil. wander if it's true

oh, pm me the agency too

catherine,
no use one. they will change name n passport to re-enter if they really want. but if she finds work in HK, i doubt she wants to come back

Catherine,
Thanks! I've received your PM. Yup, as what twin stars said, these maids can change passport if they want to re-enter.

snow74,
I got your email on the ON order. Thanks for informing me. Can't wait to get my loot!

Think I've bought so much stuff liao.. But don't know why somehow feel there's always never enough clothes for girl girl.. hehe

RE: food
Today actually quite guilty.. I ate half a plate of char kway tiao. I just happened to see somebody buying that and on impulse I just got it too. BUt realised the food abit too greasy and unhealthy.
Any mummy got these impulse eatings?

oooh having heartburn easily now...
keep urping out lots of gastric juice..

I put on 2.8kg in a month! is it too much?

3rd trimester is from 28weeks onwards?

wah so many postings today....hee..me today busy entertaining my 4+yo niece. She's so cute leh. she knows inside my tummy got baby. She keeps 'sayang' my tummy. hehe...but my bb very shy, everytime my niece touch my tummy, my bb stop kicking.

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
aiyo the GP like so lousy wan. Doesn't sound good. Yeah if i were you, i would also get the meds from gynae. GP afterall are not experts in pregnancy matters.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
i think her name is Connie coz when she was telling story on how Dr.WK Tan advised her not to abort her 3rd bb, she refered to herself as Connie.
oh i know who u r already. You are the 'model' mommy. She keep using you as the model to do the antenatal exercise and foot massage, right? You are wearing specs, ya? You also very slim leh. *envy envy*
Yeah hor, good idea to go early and book the back row to lean on the wall.

<font color="0000ff">happie</font>
since i will be a SAHM, thus if possible, i plan to breastfeed for at least 1 year. ;)
U leh?

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
u r doing good job in updating lah. personally i don't think need so frequent update lah. Once a week is very very good liao. Else coz the list is so long, it takes up so much space leh if frequent update.

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
do u mean those egg shape small washing machine? I also very tempted to buy leh. I saw quite a number of mommies selling over in the WTS thread. hee...i'm thinking of buying from there coz if buy outside from retail it's quite expensive.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
i also ate char kway tiao yesterday for lunch. I ate about 3/4 of the plate leh, worse then you. but luckily the charkwaytiao wasn't very oily. But don't worry lah, once a while is ok. For me, it was my 2nd time eating since i'm preggie.

Valnsw,

I miss char kway tiao so much.. but cos cannot eat cockles now so might as well avoid it totally. Char Kway Tiao and laksa without cockles is so meaningless.. hahaha. but even when I wasn't preggy, everytime after I eat, I will feel so guilty :p

Nini,
Ya I get heartburn easily too. And last sunday I couldnt sleep whole night cos keep burping thru the night. so uncomfortable. I put on almost 3+ kg
Must watch what I eat this month.

Mulberry,

you know where they retail the egg shaped washing machine ? I called harvey norman, Best and Tangs .. all not selling anymore.

catherine,
i recieve yr pm. tks! i do have some agents that friends rec to me. of u need let me know

mul,
think i jus let my body fight off the virus. for preggies, seeing dr n not seeing also almost recover at the same time. 10-14 days