(2008/08) Aug 2008

Waxing
I oso figured out hospitals the most oso shave only, the nurses where so free do waxing for you wor. If shave, the stubbles will start itching very quickly and then with the mess and all, I dunno how man!! Maybe the next time I go facial, I ask the girl about their waxing services and if got preg ladies do during their 3rd tri, they should know ba.

valnsw,
sorry never read previous post...u quarrel with hubby? hope all's well now. close one eye lor, baby can hear us talk liao so must be careful what we say or quarrel liao.....stay happy k

briebaby,
congrats on yr mickey! my gynae also never say weight unless i ask. guess if normal range, they will not mention

krex,
a few of us thinking of getting a maid......whoever got gd agent n agency.......pls share share

hisstory, i only plan for her to do household chores on weekends, like the current arrangement now. she will just help take care of the bb at night at my place, but i dun need her to sweep floor, iron clothes, etc. during weekdays. at most wash bb's clothes only.

hisstory,
actually it's a small thing but then somehow it escalated into a big thing cos hubby didn't bother to even ask me what's wrong when I gave him cold treatment. Prob have to talk about it soon.

little twin stars,
I didn't quarrel with him, just gave him silent treatment when I was angry with him. Reason I didn't want to talk things out cos I don't want him to flare up and shout at me during the "talk". Don't want to experience that for my bb's sake.

krex,
I also intend to let maid shuttle between my house (when I get one) and my mum's house maybe for the 1st 2 years. After that will leave maid at my own house.

hisstory,
You mean there's a ruling from MOM that maid not allowed to do anymore chores in my own house if I shuttle maid between my house and my mum's?
Is there any link on that?

Will the ruling be effective if the maid didn't do any household chores at my mum's house but only take care of baby?

Shay,
your maid v daring ah. Seriously, nowadays maids v hard to be trusted. take what they said with a pinch of salt. my colleague indiscreetly discovered her maid stole money bit by bit. She immediately sent her back without police report, and now just gets part-time help to clean up house.

briebaby,
my hubby was shocked when i told him confinement lady will stay with us.

with baby coming, a lot of privacy will be gone. i can't 'sai jiao' like now liao. can't get hubby to do things (like pour water, remove seed from grapes, etc) for me liao. must set good example. so sad...

valnsw,
men are like that. my hubby also dunno y i give him silent treatment as well. then keep asking y until i fed up as i am not prepared to talk as i'm still angry.....but after u cool down, talk to him ok....it's very torturing keeping things to yrself while yr hubby is not affected as he doesn;t even know why. so try to settle with him early. all the best! wise decision to cool off and not start a fight
now, i also have to think 2x before throwing temper too...no choice la. don't want baby to think her mama is so fierce,hehe

talking about privacy..............

i will have to kiss my "braless" days goodbye !!!!!!!!

my hubby is also sad that we cannot baby talk to each other anymore....

little twin stars,
thanks for the concern. Like you, i ever quarrelled with hubby and cried in the midst of it over issues with PILs while staying with them.

In fact, I'm the one who always initiates the talk whenever something is wrong. my hubby's not the sort to initiate communication. He can be a "blockwood" which is frustrating. it's like talking to a wall.

This time round, I refuse to initiate the talk as 1) I do not wish for his bad temper or flaring during the quarrel to affect me and bb emotionally and 2) Why is it me the first one to do so?

But i guess I already cannot tahan liao. I have to talk to him else i sure explode one..

krex,
I'm not sure about how much to wax. I never go for brazillian waxing before, don't know how painful it is.

What I prob will do is to trim off the excess rather than shave or wax. I don't dare to wax leh.. scared of pain. Somemore, now pregnant, I even more afraid.

wow..this thread really move very fast..keke

Anyway, just to share with you all GAP is have a 50% off the second item for babyGap n Gapkids. Additional 10% storewide if you're a OCBC credit card holder.
I bought a very cute romper that read "the (picture of apple) of mommy's eyes.
And another newborn t-shirt that reads "Born to be wild"..hahaha.. After discount its only $17 and $8 per piece.. Quite cheap ya?

LOTS of cute girls clothes too! Go buy if ur having a minnie!

I'm having my DS tmr...feeling worried.. Hope everythings fine...

Feeling giddy during evening..dunno is it too much shopping/walking today or not enough sleep last night?

waxing
its true when u doing waxing , some pple get ingrowns ..as for stubbles...i think maybe the intial few months u just try waxing u will feel it being rough rough.. i have been BWing for 3 yrs...i dun feel the stubbles...cuz hair growth also soften...ingrowns not common for me..once in awhile..but the therapist can help u to pull it out...no probs one..so for me, i will wax till the month i deliver , hopefully timing just nice..one week before delivery..cuz my hair growth also slow down..so won't grow so fast....and will wait till maybe 1.5 half months later before waxing again...my therapist told me she got customer who go wax just one month AFTER delivery..so fast..

NiNi (diorly) ,
when the promotion end? I can only go on weekend. Is it at vivo? I have to get at least 1 new romper for y boy full mth.

mummies who wish to get things from mothercare, can buy a copy of this month issue of motherhood magazine. there is a 15% discount coupon in there for all regular priced items but can only use at their new store in harbour front centre. the coupon last till July 2008. i have email them to check and was told that we can use that discount coupon for breast pumps, car seat, baby cot, etc.

Val

Yupz, there's this ruling. I think you might want to confirm with those ard you who have maids, they shd be advised by their agencies

Here's what I got fr MOM website: http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/work_pass/foreign_domestic_workers/employers__guidelines/Illegal_Employment_deployment.html
As for your situation abt maid only taking care of baby at ur mum's but do household chores at your place, i suppose it's okie. The maids wld also be told of their 'rights', so if she is alert, she has the right to complain shd she have to do on both sides.

Bwax can be rather painful.. But a gd therapist shd roughly describe the intensity of pain at each stage and prepare you for the next stage's level of pain. But I do believe, heheh, women's tolerance for pain is quite high

krex

I suppose light household chores are quite safe.. *i think* Maybe it would be gd to specify to the maid from the onset, and she must agree..

NiNi

Hope you get a gd night's rest!

Rata,
Yeah, I change from TMC to KKH. Thanks!!

waxing,
I never go waxing b4, shy :p I guess we all should be getting used to pple looking at us down there huh.

Talking abt BW.. I read up from some book/ blogs, some MTB have more growth of pubic hair during the preggy period. I suspect I've got this problem..

avocado: It's a on-going promotion which goes by season. I got it at Wisma atria..

hisstory: Yeah.. i also think my hair there grow faster...armpit also! i shave every 2 days...can u imagine..hahaha! I also have more 'nu ren wei' now aka B.O.! hahaha.. i must use deodorant if not my hubby will faint when he sleep beside me.. opps! :p

Hi Rat

Thanks for updating...

No worries... i will update on more details after my DS on Monday.. looking forward.

hisstory,
Yup! I also have very fast hair growth...everywhere except on my head!!!

Still don't dare to go for bwax :p

Nini

heheh, the nu ren wei, never happened before preggy days? must apply before sleeping coz ur hb may faint? *heheh* No lah, think he might knock out before it gets to him..

yuuri

Think we will have thick head of hair during preggy days.. My colleagues experienced tt. I think our time will come.. then we would be so hot!

can try bwax, there's the bikini line wax and another type, cant rem the diff. I think bwax is the full job

hisstory and yuuri,
i don't have the hair growth problem at the moment. i think mine slow down in growth. even my hair loss also not so much now compare to last time. maybe its a good news for me. hopefully, it won't come to me at a later stage.

Good Morning!
Wow, seem like a lot of you are getting maids...

Hisstory,
No leh, dun think I’m glowing but that compliment really makes my day…heehee

Valnsw,
Feeling better? Talk to hb liao?

celyn

Lucky you!! Heheh, won't feel as warm as our weather turns for the warmer in June/Jul

But I did hear tt after childbirth, many mothers may drop hair.. You heard of this?

M2B

Maybe the next compliment, is that you're glowing!
Are u getting a maid? Or oredi have one?

hisstory,
i already feel very hot now, can't imagine how i can tahan later.

yah, my friend told me her hair drop a lot after birth. hopefully this won't happen to us.

morning all..

ya, i heard from my experienced mommy friends that hair will drop a LOT after delivery, esp for the first 1-3 month.

The thread really moves fast, was just away for a day. Yday went to the GP and was diagnosed dermatitis (skin inflammation). My tummy had been itchy for the past week and I tot due to strechmarks. But GP say strechmark will not be itchy (????) and prescribe some cream to cure the itchness and order me not to strach anymore to avoid wounds. Still very itchy but back to work liao... Argh.... Anyone has the same prob?

The GP also tell me preggie cannot apply to much moisturer??? Was wondering if cant apply, how to get rid of the stretchmarks??

Brie,
Congrats on your mickey :)

morning ladies!
hair loss....ya, will drop alot after giving birth.

cindy
1 of my friend developed this skin problem during preggy also.
dun scratch hor, else condition will be very bad.
i think ur GP try to tell u not to apply too much is it? apply strechmark cream lightly should be ok bah?

hisstory
think as long as the maid is not ill-treated or overloaded, help out household chores abit at il's house should be ok 1 lah.
if il is already the day time care giver, dun tell me the maid goto il's house just to shake leg right? =P

Hihi girls!

Went for my DS yesterday and am so glad baby is fine and healthy. Its a bb boy! Do you girls get very paranoid over the health of baby too? every single time after visiting my gynae, it really puts me at huge ease.

anyways, rem my super weight gain of 4kg in 3 weeks? My gynae was shocked yest and asked me to cut down now, said that now im in my 20th week ive put on 7kg, its a 1/3, 2/3 rule. so means for the second half, i will put on another 14kg, totalling 21kg!!tts scary leh! my hubby has said he will ban me frm eating now..haha..and i swore to cut down frm yest onwrds, butmy FIL cooked curry chicken and was drooling and couldnt tahan so end up eating again!
Anyways, gynae says can cut down now but after 26th week cant, cos tts when the bb will start putting on fats.

poor me, im a fatty mummy now..sian..how in the world m i ever gonna get back in shape?!?!

Hi Rata, can you kindly include me in the list when u've time pls. Thanks!

Joanne
Hospital: TMC
Gynea: Dr Yvonne Soong
EDD: 26 Aug 08
Wt: 326g @ 20 wks

Snow,
GP say can apply but not extensive... my tummy very dry now so applying J&J baby lotion, my HB say suitable for baby should be mild enuf for preggie. GP say ok apply sparingly 2 times a day. Trying my best to work so as not to think of the itch...

Joanne,
Congrats on ur mickey. my MIL say from 20 weeks onwards, bb is already getting your fats to slowly build up so u can cut down but dun starve ur bb boy leh... Actually i believe there is no ugly mothers only lazy ones so if you are hardworking enuf to shed away the extra fats after birth should be able to make it... Jia you gals.

Hey Joanne

Dr Soon is my gynae too. My edd is on the 11th Aug. Girl. Maybe seen you before at one of the visit.

apologies rata, here it goes:
Zone: Siglap
BB#: 1

Hihi crazy, tts nice to hear. We could really hav seen each other. Dr Soong's a nice lady, but find her kinda exp actually. Most imptly, i feel v comfortable w her.

I haven't been consciously cutting down on my food except for pineapple (which I don't eat at all now) and watermelon (cut down). I still have my occasional coke.^^ Yesterday, had very good lunch- Korean BBQ, followed by ice chocolate and waffles with chocolate and ice cream. I've gained about 7 kg so far and crossing my fingers that I will keep to the minimum.

Btw, just bought a copy of the magazine Baby yesterday. They also have the 15% coupon from Mothercare, plus promotion of winning a S$1,500 nursery prize from them. If I win, then I don't need to buy so many things liao. hehe!

And Robinsons having 20% off storewide today...so may want to go check this out.

Me work from home, so will not be getting full time maid. I already have someone coming in part time to help...so hopefully can manage. Both of us also hate the thought of loss of privacy.

Briebaby
KK don't weigh baby want at this stage. I asked already during my DS. She said they will only do it during 3rd trimester. Maybe my gynae will tell me when I go see him next week. These 2 weeks, my girl keep kicking me too. But happy to feel her movement.

hisstory,
nope, not getting maid as my parents are anti-maids...hahaha, they insist they can handle my gal (4yo), nephew (8yo) and my NB alone wor...actually my mom did that before as she was a bb-sitter when she was younger...stopped when her own grandchild comes along...

my gal goes for 3hrs nursery in the morning while nephew in P2 and only home at 1pm+...hope they can handle man...

Joanne,
You are making me worried on the weight gain issue man...coz I'm also gaining alot and now into my 24 weeks...scared...

Cindy,
Did your gynae say why cannot apply too much moisturiser? My gynae gave me topicream (dunno if spelling is correct) cos i got sensitive skin and I'll juz apply whenever my tummy is v tight altho she say only need to apply in morning and at night..

Thks, Nini.

It is true that we will not drop much hair during this 9mth and will drop all the hair that was suppose to drop for the whole 9mths after 2-3 mths after birth and it was really scary for me.

M2B,
thanks for the concern. Talked to hubby already. I guess we talked out some issues. Hopefully, he will be more considerate when bb comes along.

Thanks to all the ladies who have shown your concern.
Been quite tired, cos was not sleeping well the past few nights, and vomitted out my dinner last night before talking to my hubby. The gastric juice burned my throat, made talking to him more xin ku.

Think bb feels my mood la.. cos whatever I ate, either it doesn't sit too well or I still feel hungry. Like the nutrients never got absorbed like that.

Nini,
about the "nu ren wei", I noticed my armpits get sweaty quite easily nowadays. and the sweat feels quite sticky one..

Could be the weather too.

Cindy (mrslow) ,
At 20weeks, baby is gaining fats from us, why we can cut down on food now? I have been eating like a pig. My total gain is still 4kg, but I think bb is gaining a lot of weight as my tummy looks like 7mths.

Val
Glad to know you have sort out the issues. Marriage is lidat one.. got ups and downs

I have been getting heartburn very often also.. like the throat on fire.

Dropping hair
I had both situations. my first pregnancy, I dropped haor for 1st 3 months after delivery. This time, I already dropping hair. So sad... everyday see the floor only got my hair : (

wa.. all this talk about gaining weight and losing hair is getting to the paranoid me..

cindy(mrs low),
I think you have sensitive skin. I have similar situation as you. I keep scratching at my inner thigh and my foot 2 days ago. Now I see red dots. My tummy feels itchy too and I just use moisturiser to soothe the itch. Think don't scratch else later become ugly red dots

medusa,
You are right to say marriage has ups and downs. But where possible, hope to have more ups than downs lo..

Sianz, this Sat have to go for FIL's birthday dinner. I feel so lethargic liao. Duno how many course dinner have to sit thru.. oops.. my hubby better not be reading the forum.. -_-"

celyn

I'm also feeling quite hot of late, the weather's really not on our side. But we can take comfort tt when we finally pop and take our 3 mths break, the weather shd start to turn cooler *i hope*

I also saw my aunt lose quite a bit of her hair too.. I rem telling my hairdresser whenever she 'reminds' me tt i've got such thick head of hair, tt nvm lor, hopefully becomes better after delivering.. So Ah-Q thinking

snow

You are also right.. Cannot be too much of coz.. I do think if IL is caregiver, then maid shd be able to do household chores there, but apparently cannot when she returns to your place.
Some frens I know say they rather play safe, just in case their maids go & complain.. Then become very mafan

Joanne

Congrats on your Mickey!

krmeow

Oooh, you work from home.. I would love to do sthg like tt too, then i also dun have to think of getting maid or infant care

Your part-time helper is more to do household chores or also to mind the bb?

M2B

Your parents are really brave.. I think my mum wouldn't mind another one under her charge, she's more worried that if she's got backaches/problems which may develop, it might be too taxing on herself and maybe endanger the bb

Val

Ouch, how are u feeling today? Anymore vomitting?