(2008/08) Aug 2008

shay
ya, understand.
but i think if size is not really too big, its still better to have a bigger size bb ya?
that means ur bb is intaking well inside ur stomach right? =)

reirei
a cuppa coffee per day is ok 1 lah, so far didn't see any side effect lor. *touch wood*
but that will depend on the side of ur cup wor.
so, dun play cheat and use a big cup hor...hee hee....

celynlee,
somehow when i drink yakult, my throat always have phlegm..or like "curd" from the yakult.

snow,
like that also not bad, u don;t need to worry about loosing weight later. however for fried food....i have to take in moderation as i will develop sore throat if the oil they use outside is not fresh

check with u, for first time mummies...are u guys planning to have a full time helper? actually i resisted the idea of a stranger staying at my hse but hubby say it'll be hard for me to take care of the baby alone..plus with my doggie....sigh.
my initial plan is to get my part time helper to come in more often. but my mom n mil thinks i'm playing hero by trying to cope myself

reirei,
i will go to toilet before i sleep and try to sleep through the night. unless can't tahan then i wake up once to pee. heheh.... lazy to wake up.

M2B
REally hopes it will be the same as what you said. My first pregnancy, my son didnt kick much and turn out he is very nice. Always sleeping.
So i was quite worried that my girl will be those type that dont sleep. My sis in law told me usually the first one easy, the second tend to be opposite and it really makes me worried. Hope my daughter turn out to be what you have said.

Snow,
haha..datz a good one! i drank oni about 50ml or even a sip oso kena stares from my hubby...

BTW i sometimes oso take powder milk for preg mums, but find it a bit sweet and got abit of raw egg taste. But it's got all the nutrients good for the baby lor, like choline and DHA.

little twin stars,
i won't be a stay at home mum, so i got a nanny to look after baby when i go back to work.

for me, if i'm going to be a stay home mum, i guess getting a part-time helper to come in to do housework should be enough. i will look after baby full-time and must be able to tahan the mess in the house before part-time helper comes in to clean loh. only when this arrangement doesn't work out, then will consider getting a full time helper.

twin stars
my hb is those cost sensitive kinda man, but ended up we also decided that full time helper really make our life easier.
take into consideration that when u need to go back to work, can u still tahan to wake up so many times at night?

reirei
i dun drink coffee when my hb is around, think not stopping us will put them in difficult position ya? ha ha....

gd that u can take those milk leh.
whenever i took those milk, will ganna lotsa bubbles inside my stomach 1 lor.

snow,
ya i agree that bigger bb is better than small bb at least easier to carry - dun feel so fragile especially newborn so scary to carry. we just have to watch out to make sure it doesn't go overboard loh....

u so cute telling rei rei not to cheat.....lol
i also curi curi drink coffee but try not to exceed 1 cup (of cos mine is the std cup ard the size of kopi tiam kopi cup)

hi, i just came back from my ds. it is a minnie and it weighs 362g @ 21w.

can tell that my hb is a bit disappointed... he want a boy.. but as long as it is healthy, i am happy.

celynlee, snow
i will be taking 1 yr off work. my hubby is also those sensitive type that don;t like strangers in the hse but he say for the sake of sanity, better get. my sil also tell me not to play hero and handle myself......if i get my part time helper to come in 2 times a wk. but everyone thinks the initial stage is the hardest so need full time lei. my hubby ask me to do research and next mth we will need to go looking liao..m still undecided on this issue

twinstar,
u'll be sahm rite? of cos it's best if u can have a full-time helper which can do the cooking for the family. Unless u dun need her to cook, then i reckon part-time will do.

Is cost a concern for u? If yes, then u may want to compare the cost of the 2 options. To me, the only good for full-time helper is the cooking cos u will be very tied up with the bb and u'll hv no time to cook.

I've got an indo maid to take care of my son and i can tell u super headache ar! she's has 10yrs experience in s'pore and she likes to do things her own way. but i must say she's very good to my son le.

just to share my experience with mummies here (not meant to scare). I had a gross discovery last month when I found a pic of her showing of one of her neh neh inside her cell phone! I got sooooo shock and immediately decide to send my 18mth old son to childcare fearing that she may ask my son to do nonsense on her - ie licking her neh neh ...huh made me sooooo damn mad! i enrolled him the next day and decided to send him to the fullday childcare on the very Monday but my son 'bu zhen qi' fell sick on that day he's suppose to attend school....pengz! I had no choice but to let her take care of him for a couple more days till he recovered loh. I was worried sick when i was at work for that few days. After a few days of cooling down, I tell myself that it's her personal thing and dun think she will be so wicked to harm my son. anyway, have decided to send her home end of this mth cos hb cannot tahan her stubborness anymore and dun want to keep her for another 2 yrs (her 2 yr contract ends in May). Getting a philipino maid now....... We gotta be smart this time round. No more cell phone and off day! Will pay her $20 for her off day. They really 'pian kuan' when they go out and mix around so gotta be strict with them liao. We r too lenient with this maid - suka suka do her own things and always on the phone even with us around. Guess wut....her phone bill for Mar is $400 bucks and mine only less than $16 bucks...my hb ask me who is the mum????? haha...

my hb also stopped me from drinking coffee.. was a coffee addict..no coffee = headache that type.. managed to bargain and drink coffee every alt days.. but i bo chap about cold drink.. i drink as much as i like...

shay,

aiyo,so scary!!! think she's "horny" already!!!! better replace her. sian. everything also difficult
my hubby plans to get a helper so we dont' have to rely on our moms...cos moms have their own style as wel and u can;t tell the off. then we are also scared that they wanna shift in to stay with us. my mil wanted to.....but even with her helping me, she ask me to employ a helper to help her!!!!! then i will end up having to please her and give her lodging as well as a helper...isn't that worst!!!
i hate this part
don;t like the feeling of relying on people

Twin Stars,
I oso dun like having strangers staying in my house so have not thot of getting a domestic helper. But i've got positive feedback from my SIL who got a confinement nanny so we'll be getting one just for the 1st month. My MIL will oso move in to stay with us to 'supervise' on the nanny and help out wif misc household stuff, and me juz have to rest and produce milk..hehee..

Actually i'm jus wondering whether those day-time nannies out there or care centres take in babies as lil' as 3-4 months old..

By the way, i came across a dvd in mothercare dat teaches us how to decipher baby's cries in the 1st 3 months. It was shown on Oprah Winfrey's show as well. Anyone tried it and found it useful? Anyway, I've found some samples on you-tube. Seems v interesting..

little twin stars,
my hubby refuse to let me be a stay at home mum. i don't think i can too lah.

i guess its up to both of you to decide what works well for you 2. if you want to get a maid, then maybe you should get before you deliver so that you can train her up. you won't have the time to train her after you deliver.

I also have the same issue. Currently I have no maid and my MIL takes care of my boy. But with the second one on the way, we decided to hire a maid also.
Now in the selection process cos want to train her so that I wun be stressed up when bb comes. We dun like to have a stranger in the house also but bo pian leh. Already now got one
bb, got not much time already so I cannot imagine with 2 how to handle. Plus I am a FTWM so it makes it all the worst. Another thing also becos MIL getting tired so i think having a maid will give her some load off

Just pray that will get a good maid. Now I am already drafting all the dos and donts for her... heee

Celynlee,
Oh datz good! like dat my mil dun have to continue stay wif us when i go back to work!

Twin Stars,
Ur hubby is so understanding. I told mine dat it's sometimes difficult to tell mil off if there's something bothering me about the things she does, esp. when i'm so 'ngiow' abt hygiene and stuff, but he doesn't seem to understand..sigh..

Anyway, Shay is right. It depends on what you need the helper for. If clean the house, those part-time ones can do the job. For meals, you can consider dinner delivery (neo garden got provide) or ask your hubby to ta-bao lor.

reirei

if u look at the cost and convenience of getting a full time maid..its much more worth while..cuz although sending ur bb to infant care gives u more privacy at home..but it also means giving up time to travel to and fro to fetch bb..plus there is a higher risk of bb falling sick more often in the company of other bbs...if u get a full time helper..she can cook, clean, and look after house for u..also can look after bb..of cuz u pay more, but for the convenience and assurance u get a clean house to go back to..u can also train the full time helper to do things according to your ways...just that u need to sacrifice privacy....
i guess its what the individual mummies and daddies prefer...my hubby also dun like full time helper...but for the sake of convenience..and hopefully more time to ourselves instead of doing housework and solely looking after bb..we hope to have more time for the both of us to go dating after bb born..:p..n not have to clean the house all the time..:p

Twin Stars,
Hehee..the baby is soo cute! Hah, wif all these clips, no need to buy the dvd liaos...it cost $60+..so abit reluctant to buy unless really good feedback!

Twinstars
Sure : )

Yeah I agree with YLN. I also feel sometimes that doing the housework on weekends like "waste time" when I could spend the time with my son instead. Already weekends so short liao... Somemore I abit "jie pi" one so also cannot dun do. hopefully the maid will be more of a help then headache : p

little twin stars,
heheh... i also can't tahan staying with my mum. think will have world war 3.

reirei,
you can also consider to get a nanny to look after your baby. its 1 to 1 compare to infant care centre where you might get 1 teacher to 3 or 4 babies.

yln,
getting a maid is definitely cheaper then to send baby to infant care or nanny. then it depends if you can give up your privacy and also trusting the maid to look after baby alone.

my hubby will never agree to have a maid to look after baby alone.

reirei,
hubby still dotes on his mom. he just don;t want to hear me nag and be caught in between, so he always say if money can solve the problem, use it. he rather have his sanity than me calling to complain about what his mom did wrong. he always say his parents are so old already, how much more time do they have with us. so need to cherish them. he very gd boy hor....

actually what YLN say is true. end up we may be paying much more and we inconvenient ourselves as well.

u mean need to buy dvd to tech you what the babies cries mean? wow. haha

YLN,
If i get a maid, I would still ask my mil to stay wif us to supervise the maid lor..
actually there's no ideal solution. You have a point, i tink we have to list down all the pros and cons and weigh their importance and find something dat we are most comfortable wif..

Twin Stars,
haha...u dun luff leh..

1st-time mommy mah...i tink i'll be v gan jiong if my baby cries and nothing i do helps...

my hubby oso good boy...datz why he wants his mom to move in wif us, altho i did warn him abt the conflicts dat will definitely arise and also my complaints to him...sigh...

Celynlee, i've thot abt getting a nanny before. But mine is a new estate so may be a bit difficult to find one who stays near me and more importantly someone whom I can trust. Anyway, this will definitely be my alternative..

my hb is the opp.. i don mind staying with my pil.. they are very nice to me.. he is the one that refuse to stay with them.. say that he need his freedom for at least 5 yr...

now that i am having a bb.. he rather my mum take care than his mum as his house have 2 dogs... one keep shedding fur and the other one keep overeating then vomit all over the place...

reirei,
i already have a taste of what it's like staying with my mil....no joke. quarrel with hubby about her until keep crying. now, i'm more or less prepared and close one eye after i know her style of living. i "see open" liao. whatever it is you must always tell yrself, it's a small issue and she's only trying to help in her own way. then time pas faster n both of u will be happier.....that is when yr mil comes to help la.

Twin Stars,
I truly understand what you went through, cos i kena before.. at least now u are on your own and your hubby seems to be on your side more..

shay
yes, i agree with u.
after experience with my 1st maid, my golden rule is also no hp and off day.
as long as i did not overload my maid and let her have enough sleep and things to eat, the rest gotta be strict.

celyn
my hb is also those type that will feel very financialy insecure if i dun work...hee hee..
so, i better work to get peace. =P

My PIL are very nice ppl but when it comes to bb, me and MIL have very different styles and way of doing things. What to do, got to close both eyes sometimes also. At least my MIl takes care, I can fang xin go to work and also I know she loves her own grandchild mah. It's lidat one. Once your mil take care, surely will have differing opinions

celyn
ya...i will never allow my maid to look after the bb on her own..thats why we will put the maid n my bb at my MIL house during the day (cuz they just stay across my blk) n pick them up in the evenings after work...actually i also dun quite like my MIL style...but we cannot get the best of both worlds...so at least got MIL to supervise..better..my MIL is the jie pi kind also...dun like other people to interfere with her cooking n housework...so i will just put my maid and bb there ..she can supervise the maid lor since she dun like other pple to do her housework :p...

snow74,
the rule is not the amount i earn (even if its just 1k). he just want to make sure that i can cover my parents expenses and allowance. then we won't have to eat into his pay and he can just take care of me and baby.

YLN,
your MIL sounds like my mum! haha..
she oso doesn't allow the maid to feed my baby nephew or bathe my lil' niece.

If i find maid, muz find a jie pi one!

reirei
heehee..i think a lot of old pple all behave like dat one...i think the maid i get will be very free ..nothing to do in the day cuz MIL do all liao...heehee

yln,
at least your mil can help to supervise. my fil is always not at home kind, even if we have a maid we can't leave maid and baby with him (i don't have a mil, she passed away when hubby is young).

then for my parents, they are very far away from me. so its not possible to go there too.

YLN,
my mil is opposite. she's very "chin chye" she is stubborn towards her own style of working but i often find that i need to rewash the dishes she wash. she eats biscuits dropping all the crumbs and i'll have to get my part time helper to clean up after her. think i'm a very fussy person
however i never impose on her, i will just clean up after her if i mind la. but she will be upset with me for cleaning up the kitchen saying i've kept everything in the cupboard, how is she going to cook. she needs everything to be out in the open. i tried to explain that it is dirty and the things that she leave outside will end up being oily and sticky after she cooks.....nowadays she seldom come so no problems already

she also can't do much hsework. only cooks. other than that, she needs her afternoon naps and she hogs my cable tv. so in a way, she's not really helping la

My hb and myself both v precious our privacy, so even the confinement lady staying with us, dunno can get used to it anot - even with our own child, we ald thinking probably cannot walk around the house in our undies anymore. Privacy no more once bb arrives.

I'm planning to be a sahm ald, since the day I know I preg. I grew up with maid, so I scared I will jealous if my bb will be more attached to the maid than me. I hope I & my hb can manage the bb and the house ourselves.

I finally know boy or gal!! How come you'al know weight de? I ask oso they never tell me de... :/

Rata,
Got chance help me update - Thx!
Briebaby
Hospital: KKH
Gynea: Dr HH Tan
EDD: 15 Aug

Got a question for ald-mums (a bit silly): Do we need to get waxed before we admit ourselves for delivery? Is it even possible?

hisstory / waterlotus,
Thanks for your concern. I have cooled down but the prob is hubby still not saying anything to make much amends.

hisstory,
yup, it was a rough night. Didn't really sleep well last night and had to wake up early this morning.

waterlotus,
Like what you said, my mum told me not to be angry at him at this small matter cos maybe hubby now wants to enjoy whatever "free time" he has before the baby comes. I can only hope so. Still that doesn't give him the excuse to be insensitive.

BrieBaby,
Congrats! Can start beo-ing bb clothes liaos.

Datz y dun like having strangers in the house... cannot dun wear bras :p

BTW, do you all feel other movements in your tummy other than those usual kicks and pokes?

babybrie,
congrats on your prince!

Re: waxing before delivery
i read in the earlier MTBs threads that some advise to do waxing as some hospitals provide to do only the shaving. But shaving may cause ingrown hair and the stubble will be v rough, cos I ever had my pubic hair shaved for appendix removal op. HTHs.
Maybe you can check with your gynae if it's ok to wax?

wah, so many posts, can't keep up liao. who's getting a maid? i might have to look into getting one. dunno where to start. how ah? the maid will shuffle between my place and MIL's place. i won't let her be with my kid alone at home....

on the topic of waxing/ shaving, how much "hair" must we get rid of? can epilate/ wax around bikini line or must all the hair be rid of?

M2B

Wow!! You must really be glowing yah?? Me kena some kind of outbreak, only affecting 2 sides of my temple and chin. *sigh*

ReiRei

Heheheh, I have to get a cuppa coffee a day. If I don't take the dose of caffeine, I will get a throbbing headache

I'm also looking into having infant care after i go back to work. My mum's taking care of my niece now, and she did mention, if she were to take care of my bb, she wld like a maid. HB & I find having a maid is troublesome, coz it's not very safe (esp after what was shown on the news not so long ago) and have to get her to tag along wherever we go. Or if we don't get along, coz I can be picky, then it's a bad working r/s

Val

Tt's gd to hear.. Maybe your HB is aware, but fearful of getting on your nerves by bringing up the topic? Just remind him not to lock the door, especially when he knows you are just napping at the other side.. *hugs*

Brie

Congrats on your mickey!

krex

Was talking to my hairdresser about this maid issue, definitely not gd to leave the maid with the child alone. Must have someone else to supervise, otherwise.. *scary*

Just FYI, if maid shuttles between yours & MIL's, she cannot do anymore household chores at your place when she returns in the evening. It's a ruling from Manpower *i think*