(2008/08) Aug 2008

twin, where u find baby gap for 3 for $10? the one i bought at expo fair was abt $13.90.

yln, where is song & song?

anyone been to ocean emporium in chinatown? my friend says can get cheap clothes there. also, where to buy 2nd hand ones? salvation army thrift store?

krex,
Salvation army ones mostly is the gift sets and super dusty! See already quite turn off. 2nd hand ones, can find from the 'Want to sell' portion of this forum...also can find from yahoo auctions.
Have a hard time finding nice 2nd hand boy clothings though.

Song&Song- I know Lucky Plaza have, TPY central, AMK central...and I'm sure I saw it in other places too but can't remember liao.

hew, the gap u bought is genuine or imitation? i tot they were more ex...

where is the famous crab coffee shop? AMK is quite near my place, so i dun mind going there one day to buy. do they have plain white clothes also? those cheap cheap ones, like maybe $3 per top? i'm thinking of getting just tops for home, dun need bottoms coz' got diapers already. else very hot.

jo,
wa, u save alot lei

YLN,
my hse there use to have song n song then close down liao. i went to the one at holland v, nothing lei

yuuri,
thanks for the address.!!!!!
i will go "digging" this weekend. hehe

hewchen,
let me know which one. is it near the coffee shop with the courts?

QiQi,
can u try drinking something sweet then lie down to wait for the kicks...sometimes baby will have sleepy moments...like mine as well...then i scared, use a doppler to hear heartbeat, then more assured

qiqi, i'm worse. haven't even felt bb's kicks yet, haha. but DS shows everything is fine, so i'm not too worried now.

Twin,
Now can use doppler already? You very cute lah, think of 1st month and 1st yr parties liao. I skip past all that and thinking of what classes to enrol! haha

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
i bought my 2nd hand ones from a mommy in this forum.
You having a boy, right? if u having girl, i'll give you her contact. Coz she still have alot of newborn gal clothings to sell, all very good condition. in fact i just re-look at what i bought from her, 1 still even got tag! ...keke..i think this mommy is shopaholic.

qiqi, i didnt feel much of my baby fr mon till wed lucky todae got kick again. I read dat is normal for inconsistent kicks for our stage now. dun worry k?

<font color="0000ff">QiQi</font>
in 2nd trimester, it's normal if we don't feel bb movements daily. Coz there is still alot of space in our womb. or maybe ur bb is just tired and wanna sleep more.
Only in 3rd trimester, the gynae will ask us to monitor bb movements daily.
but of coz, just trust your maternal instinct, if you feel you need to see ur gynae, no harm to go c ur gynae.

yuuri,

hehe, i already know which classes n sch to enrol to already. hubby worst, he wants to visit the schools now!!! i stopped him. think it's too much liao

Wow, so many posts in one morning.

Rata,
Thanks for updating.

Re: Baby clothes
I also bot quite a few rompers but mostly shorts. Tyring to look for longer ones or pyjamas for my Ah girl to wear for sleeping. Mayb i'll try to go those they u all recommend. Got it at Jin Mao too, gg 3 for $10 bucks. They have old navy clothes but "cut" labels. Think managed to get a few good buys cos baby outgrow them rather fast. There is also a shop at harbourfront selling newborns clothes, 0-18 mths, buy 4 get 1 free, gg for $8 per piece. Nice selection.

Rat: My bb's weight is 330g @ 20wks 3days.

Going for my detail sacan next friday and was worried as i m over 35yrs old.

krex 78 &amp; QiQi:My first preg. i can only feel the baby's movement at 36wks and even that he seldom moves unless i keep on smoothing my stomach and talk to him.This round, Baby seems to be very active compared to my boy, can feel the kicks most of the time.

Re: Baby clothing
I am more cheapskate, usually I will go Msia and get some 'sale' clothes, got some long pants and tops for RM3-6 each. V cheap and quality good also! Got Disney cartoon clothes for RM12-20 per set. So if you all go Msia then can have BIG shopping.

Thank you ladies for the reassurance

Think i worry too much cos i had a friend and relative whose bb died in the womb, so sad. Little twin stars where to get the doppler? How much?

went for my check-up last nite and gynae commented bb and mummy is BIG. bb grew from 411gm last wk to 576gm. actual gestational wk is 22wk1d but the size is of 23wk1d. EDD changed to Jul 29.

rata,
pls help to update when u r free......TIA!

QiQi
no lah, dun worry too much ok?
there was once my 1st gal din move also, and i'm as worry also.
but when after my gynae showed me her heartbeat, he told me that sometime bb do get abit emotional and dun feel like moving 1 lor.
there are so many reasons bb not moving, so u just monitor awhile more ok? =)

hewchen,
glad to hear things are ok for you. Stay cheerful ya?

twin stars,
u planning for the full mth celebration already? I only called up hotels etc to enquire about the rates. Not sure if will be doing at home or elsewhere.

Qiqi,
ya, sometimes bb's kicks not consistent. When's your next check-up?

Re: bb clothes
It's true that bb outgrows clothes v fast but again, it depends on how big/small your bb is to begin with. MIL was telling me to buy all the big-sized ones and kind of chided me why I buy those for 0-3 mths one. I was like, surely the bb needs to wear clothes when discharged ma? Cos I called the hospital and the nurse said to prepare 5-6 sets of tops at least.

i don't know if its a good thing or bad thing. neither my parents nor my in laws are involved our preparation for baby. so i can do and buy whatever i like.

only involvement now is my father in law thinking of baby's name.

snow74 / celyn / m2b / missysz / Lindsay Lee,
Let me know by tomorrow if you ladies going for the aussino shopping trip ya? Best is you know the purchase amt so that I can consolidate the total amount. Thanks.

Any of you get on-off cramps? I woke up this morning at 6am feeling my whole tummy including my lower abdomen like those severe menses cramps. Then bb kicked me 4 times at interval of few seconds. Tot bb hungry so ate one bun but end up vomitting. Tried to sleep off the cramps, seems to work but after take lunch still hv abit of crampy feeling.

valnsw,
sorry, didn't reply your email. i won't be joining the aussino shopping this round. haven't been down to check out the stuff.

snow74,
yup, the pricing is around there. So far amongst the hotels that I enquired, Carlton is the cheapest at $35+++ per pax, min 30 pax for high tea buffet.

Thinking might be cheaper and more convenient to do at my mum's place, cos if bring bb out gota bring all the accessories, find nursing room etc.. at least all the things bb needs all at home.

celyn,
Noted about the shopping.
Anyway, whether your parents or ILs involved in the preparation of bb's arrival, ultimately is the the bb's parents' (aka us) decision. Sometimes is gd that ILs or parents don't involve, wait later conflict of opinions.

valnsw
ya, it add up to be around $40 also lor.
i had mine last time at Furama, almost same price and number of pax too.
and yes, this time round do it at home cheaper and easier.

valnsw,

jus to have something to look forward to lor. i tot of having it at fort canning country club but to think of the hassle of leaking breast n all the barang i have to bring...headache. so forget it liao lo.

twin stars
actually celebrating bb 1 yr old is more fun, imagine they are crawling around liao.
and we mummy, are most likely back in shape to take photos....hee hee.....

valnsw
neo gdn's food not bad, its my company's caterer for events.
so far din hear any complain on them right?

snow74,
it was recommended by other MTBs, and since u have given it thumbs up, I prob would consider it.
Only thing is I may have to cater to vegetarian guests. May have to check w neo garden if they do it or else maybe need to order fr the usual one that my mum uses.

mul, yah mine is boy. i don't think i need anymore nice or outside clothes. better concentrate on the everyday ones first. for boy, can i just get tops and let him wear diapers? i don't even know if i wanna get longs for sleeping at night coz' he would already have blanket/ swaddler.

elmo, 36 weeks is really long, almost close to delivery! i read that i shld be able to feel bb's movements by week 24, so still waiting patiently. maybe my bb not that strong lah or my womb is thick, coz' when i went for DS, he was stretching and kicking at times.

celyn,
thanks for the reply

krex,
i got some longs just in case, especially if at night, switch on aircon. I have not thought of using blanket, cos I'm scared that if the bb fidgets, might turn the blanket over and cover her face..

even for my gal, during at home, i'll just let her wear top and diapers. bottoms not necessary for newborn lah, since they r just at home.
during 1st mth, she'll be sleeping in non-aircon room, so i don't think i'll let her wear longs. After confinement, she'll be sleepin with me which is air-con room, so i'll let her wear longs. Same as valnsw, i won't use blanket yet.

snow
oh ya, i forgot about getting back in shape...hehe

valnsw,
thanks for the neogarden tip. will prob check it out

thanks snow74

Valnsw my next check up is 11 Apr next fri. My hubby also tell me not to worry, so think i will just monitor lor.

Just wanna share with you ladies on catering also. If you intend to have small gathering for full mth maybe just close relatives and friends you can consider ordering dim sum from http://www.yumchaexpress.com.sg/

It works like Mac delivery. The food arrives hot and they provide table cloth, cutlery, napkins etc. Very convenient, just eat and throw. I tried for a mini party at my house and was pleased with the food. If i remember correctly they told me the packaging they use for the food is fit for microwave. So if cannot finish still can keep and heat up later.

Valnsw
Neogarden is good. i just attended a 1 mth celebration for my cousin bb and he uses neograden. food is fresh and no complains.

BB movements
Actually i do not feel much during the day. Even if feel it, its not kicks but more like somekind of churning at the side or lower tummy. wondering what is this??

low placenta
Little twin star, my DS scan about 1 weeks ago also indicate i got low placenta. But i heard that i might go up by week 28 then ok. However, if not, must be careful not to walk too much as bleeding can occur and preterm can start. I also very worried and praying now it'll move up(me in week 21).

Qiqi,
thanks for the recommendation. will check it out. Bet you must be counting down to your check-up.. ;)

twinstar,
u mentioned alrdy thinking of what clothes to wear ah? seriously, i never even thought that far.. cos as what mulberry said duno if can get back into shape. whereas my mum more kan cheong than me, she alrdy bought clothes for me to wear at bb's full mth celebration while we were shopping.
I asked my mum, u knw what size to get meh? I myself don't even know if can wear my pre-preg size or not.

1 yr old celebration

some 1 yr old can run around liao.. my nephew walk @ 10 months old.. but walk like gorilla. swaying and with hand in the air.. so cute...

mulberry,
gd that you mentioned about getting back in shape. haha, cos must remind hubby of his promise to sponsor me for those weight loss programme if really cannot get back in shape. oops!

rest_relax_forever,
thanks for commenting on neogarden. seems like neogarden so far all gd reviews.

qiqi,

jus saw yr ques, sorry. today i'm very distracted by my godson. he's in his terrible 2 n he keeps typing on my laptop till i can't even post properly.
the doppler my hubby bought online from ebay. it's from an american pharmaceutical company. cost US $150 i think. it's called BeBe something.it works very well. those u see from mums and babes that comes with a headset can;t really detect heartbeat. i scolded hubby for buying it but he say for the peace of mind....no choice. i'm very paranoid person tt's y

this 2 days.i seldom feel baby also..i don't wanna think too much lo. i also got relative n friends whose story scares me too. but don't think too much ok. must enjoy the preg

rest relax forever,
we jia you together ok. let;s cross our fingers to hope our placenta move up

valnsw,
i'll just wear all those babydoll dresses lor. hopefully won;t go out of fashion...

hi valnsw,

Neo Garden is gd. my guests commented the food is gd, esp their curry chicken and their food portion is not stingy. i used them for my gal 1st mth celebration and 1 yr old b'day party. Got 5 or 10% discount for b'days. But only apply to certain menus. check more details on their website.
not sure whether u are the one checking on vegetarian menus, Neo Garden dun have it but they do not use pork in their menu. cos i have to order for vegetarian menu, get my hb friend who's a caterer to do it.

little twin stars,

i'll pray for you too.

my tummy is very stretch, put cream also no use. feel so so tight, cannot breath properly.
I am seeing my gynae this saturday for regular check up appointment and hope that bb is alright. Everytime i see gynae, i will get a panic attack cos worried about bb.

mul, i prob won't use blanket coz' i bought a swaddler. hopefully bb won't be too hot in it :p 1st mth cannot sleep aircon ah? singapore very hot leh.

twin, how much does neo garden charge? i'm still thinking whether i want to have gathering or just send out those bengawan solo free cakes. but i reckon if i do that, i sure lugi coz' won't get to collect ang pow for bb's man yue. wondering if better to have buffet a condo function room or go restaurant and eat.

Wah the doppler really ex ley little twin stars. I will pray for you and rest relax forever. Hope everyone of us here have smooth delivery

Talk about tummy, mine also very tight and itchy. I get rashes like mosquito bites on my skin. Especially after dinner, the tummy feels even tighter.

hi krex,

neo garden has different prices for different menus. if i still remember correctly, the one that i order is $10 ++ per pax. go to their website <www.neogarden.com.sg> and check. wkdays buffet charges are definitely cheaper than wkends. for my #1 man yue, i had a buffet for my relatives/friends. for my hubby and my colleagues, we gave them the bengawan solo vouchers. both my hubby and my colleagues got give us ang pow when we pass them the vouchers, so you may not lugi...

coz my bb will be sleeping with my CL and i don't think she will switch on the aircon leh...u know lah, old ppl...

yippee, just received email from my fren that she got the Kiddopotamus SwaddleMe wrap for me. She's in US now. paid only USD10

mulberry, u got your wrap at a such a good price. i think taka bb fair was selling at $24.90 and i thought it was cheapest i could find already. saw bb kingdom selling at $29.90 if i remember correctly. good saving for you.

valnsw, thanks for arranging but i'm afraid that i haven't got the time to drop by aussino stores. can i let you know by early next week if i am joining you gals? i don't know if my scedule permits as work is piling up like a mountain.

i like neogarden catering too. haven't had the opportunity to engage their service but have tried some lunch buffets for friends' bb showers and i have to give 2 thumbs up!

rest relax forever,

we keep each other in prayer
i know what u mean about seeing dr. i'm also one paranoid mummy..hehe. tummy recently also very tight n hard
but after resting for 2 days. i'm much better now. i'm sure all's well with yr baby. don;t worry. all the best to yr app. we must enjoy the moment okie

krex,
i never order from neo garden before lei, also i thought we are supposed to have full mth party and also give out cakes....? sorry, i "swar ku" about such things

QiQi,
itchy means stretching..must put stretch mark oil. i'm very lazy, only out stretch mark oil when i feel tummy itchy...last min job.hehe

for the swaddle me,
i got those pretty towels with hat at teh corner to use as a swaddle me as well.... my mom say can use nappy cloth to wrap as well...oh well. see how lor

Hihi all Aug MTBs! Im new to this forum. Im expecting my first bb, EDD on 26Aug08.

I've read some of your posts and i find it kinda funny..hee we ppl are so gan chiong. It seems like most of you have bought quite a fair bit for your bbs. I have been very tempted too, but have stopped myself from buying anything at all. Really many nice n cute stuff ard!