(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi mommies...

Braiden have been having flu & cough since last friday. Been to the PD, got the cough syrup & antibiotics and have been giving him for the first 2 days then i stopped the cough syrup n reduce the antibiotics to 1x per day instead of 2x. His cough seems to be improving BUT i can hear the phlgemy sounds from his chest.. n his nose is v sticky.
I blamed myself because I had flu n passed on to him...
I blamed myself not wearing mask n then spread to him n make him suffer....

Currently also giving him Bao Ying Dan from EYS but doesnt seems to help to reduce the phlegm. Should i bring him to see the GP again tmr???

Nini

There's no point blaming yourself for wat that have happened... Braiden need more TLC right now.. Try not to let him sleep in air-con during the nite.. know the weather is hot but got to tahan lor.. Also dun blow the fun directly on him.. If need to, just cool down the room and switch off the air-con before turning him in..

<font color="ff6000">giraffe</font>
Haiz, looks like our hubbies the same kind. Nowadays most of the time I'm so tired that I will just knock out and sleep even if he switches on the light and does his market monitoring tracking in the room.

Last time when I was preggy, I was v irritated by that. Anyway in the new home, I alrdy told him no laptop in the room. Guess I also hv to follow the rule I set... oops!

<font color="ff6000">krex</font>
Your MIL compares maids?? That's abit too much la....
So hv u decided on the part-time job arrangemt?

<font color="ff6000">snow</font>
Aiyo... I read the link u posted. This is so serious. Haiz... that's why now v difficult to trust maids liao even though we would v much like to do so.
As it is, we found out that there were Indonesian calls to my parents' home during the times when nobody was around for that 2-3 hrs. Worse thing is, the ill-disciplined maid from the neighbour facing my parents backyard, has called before.

Actually we close one eye on the Indonesian calls cos maybe her family members call to talk to her. But I don't like this too, cos she's talking while taking care of the baby. Who knows, if she just dumps my baby somewhere just to talk.

Now we're concerned if the neighbour's ill-disciplined maid will influence my maid and teach her bad things. That maid is v brazen, she outrightly talks to the other neighbours' maids fr her employer's masterbedroom that faces all the other houses' kitchens, but doesn't dare to talk to my maid when we are at home.

Damn headache...

NiNi
don't blame urself! things like that happen. and we're SAHM...so possibility of passing is higher. E had flu recently too. took him abt 2 weeks to fully recover. actually, if PD prescribe the meds for a certain no. of times a day, i tink better to keep to it. esp antibiotics. E actually almost finished all his meds while down with flu. the phlegm will take a while to clear. cos they don't know how to blow or cough it out yet. if u're concerned abt him not recovering, try to go back to same doc. so he can follow up on his case.

*sayang* braiden!! hopes he recovers soon!

<font color="ff6000">snow</font>
totally agree that the law is so unfair to employers.
Cos these maids can spin stories to say that the employer molest them etc. That's why if wana send back these maids, no need to give warning.
I alrdy kena my mum's previous maid go call police after we said want to send her back. Think is the neighbour's maid who taught her how to do it.

I also realised that these maids if influenced by other maids, also will somehow become "bad". One rotten apple spoils the other. SO hor, if your neighbour's maid chao kuan one, then v likely can influence your maid.

sam
really huh??u tempting me too man
hei got what design?but then..if anything wrong cannot go back to her must go back to US?but then..its still very tempting mannnnn
hmmm must try to sell one of my beco lah like that..hahahha...if not hubby will kill me man..too many carriers..

Hello NiNi

Since u have try Bo ying dan from EYS..u can try Hou ni also from EYS. It's very effective for prolonged cough.

I chanced on this when my baby was having cough on Chinese new year n since most clinic are close n i prefer TCM.

Hope it helps..

Nini: poor Braiden and u too. hope he will get well soon. the phlegm will take sometime to clear, as well as the chinese medicine.It wont work rite away.

If he doesnt have fever, and he can sleep and eat/drink (lesser than normal also ok, as long as he drinks), then not necessary to go to dr. unless u wanna have piece of mind.

keep breastfeeding him, he'll recover faster. and most important thing is to make him sleep a lot. (by nursing/give medicine/ suck the phlegm if he has block nose etc).
there's this thing called karvol, its like a liquid in capsule that u can break in a handkerchief to help him breath when he's nose is blocked. can get from guardian. it is meant for infant.

take care, dear!

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
My mum KS, so she urges me to apply at every diaper change. She says better to prevent than cure.. Anyway i apply a super thin layer.. hahah

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Gosh, ur poor ears.. Do hope that Yu Ze wld always be in the pink of health inspite his compact size!!

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Hey dun blame yourself.. U didn't know it wld be so strong a viral k? Anyway with the awful weather of late, many ppl are under the weather &amp; all..

Hope Braiden recovers quickly!

Kym Kym,
Don't be upset. I've seen the pics of Bernice and it's vv nice! Great job!
I had smsed you but I could not take up the Sunday slot as i had issues with maid problem, which is now resolved

I'd gladly pay more than $25 for the shoot. $25 is really vv little. I'd pay double for that. Keep it up!

mrs teng,

sounds interesting. wish i had time to explore.

mrs n,

2 hrs is very frequent. maybe that's why. if we use disposables, we change every 4 or 5 hrs.

val,

compare maid better than compare babies! ya me likely to go for pt. seeking approval now.

Phew..................

mel_ocean
bit late but WELCOME
I oso hv 6 aug bb hehhe.. And ur Alli is cute leh... not duckling :p
Feeding bb med w syringe for me oso like a war.. She saw syringe, auto zip her lips.. No matter what she'll do next ; laugh or cry, the lips will still sealed :p so got no choice hv 2 force 1 lor..

Celyn
Haiyooohhhhh ur hb ah... My BB on tfm but still cant get as chubby as michan :p Hope yu ze doesnt need 2 go thru any op.. My opinion, I dont see Yu Ze that small leh.......

Me bit envy u can keep munching yet still slim.. ihik... me will look like pig oredi

Giraffe &amp; Hashisan
U can buy the katuk leaf tab at parkway parade. Got 1 counter on the ground fl sell Indon food stuff....

Nini
Not ur fault.. See fm other way, at least Braiden got a chance to develop better immune lor..

hfgaga
WOW..... thanks for all the carrier info.. Even some of them I just heard fm U :p So good....... really can open a shop liao.... :p
Btw, my hb is looking for back carry carrier, anything to rec ? :D

Mmmmmmmmmmm, what else uh ? MY left eye bit painful dunno y.. cant really concentrare doing many thing

Cat
Bernice looks so cute... like many pics of her :p Find this one unique like a model w wind blowing her hair

2378401.jpg

Now in HK, i've got very long days past 2 days, very tired. I've lost my voice! ha!!

no time to read all the post, thought i just quick post to update then hit the sack. knocked off these two days around 1030pm, then i will chiong to causeway bay to shop a bit. bought 2 pairs of shoes - from joy and peace and from la sauder - aiyoh, burnt a big hole... but have not worn 3 inches shoes for a long long long time. cover toes court shoes type, but they are comfy lor... will be a challenge, hope i will wear them often. heheheee i quite happy with my buys. will be back tomorrow lor, taking the last flight home should reach around 12 midnite. but then hor, still got to report to work at 9am sharp leh. think also tired...

hope you gals are keeping well.

Bernice foto is very nice! is that by kym?

ok, going to hit the sack already. another long day for me tomorrow. no more shopping... hmmm, actually i think still can shop in hk airport hor..

snow74,

i tink tat qn is on a lot of ppl's minds. 4 some unknown reason, MOM is not doing anything abt it. haha... u v notti leh. tink of me when buying d CB cream.

mummies who order HT pdts fr me, pls note :

h.fgaga,
ur vanilla arrowroot cookies is OOS. thus, pls advise whether u wan 2 order something else.

medusa15,
ur honey graham hugga bear cookies is no longer in pdtn in US. thus d stocks which d distributor has currently is d old stock which will xpire in jun 09. thus, pls advise whether u wan 2 drop tis or u wan 2 order something else.

catherine,
ur sweet potato with apple is OOS. thus, pls advise whether u wan 2 order something else.

sam,
ur chocolate hugga bear cookies is no longer in pdtn in US. thus d stocks which d distributor has currently is d old stock which will xpire in jun 09. thus, i wld advise tat u drop tis order since u intend 2 keep it 4 ur gal. pls advise whether u wan 2 order something else.

morning mummies

hisstory,

lingling,
yah. he is like a super 'uncle', i always tell him we have generation gap. hahahah.....

nini,
hope braiden get well soon.

jojobar that's what my HV tells me everytime I bring my baby for weighing. Whenever I ask him about milk feeds he tells me to give D more solids and more textured food to train him to chew and use his jaw muscles which is supposed to help with speech development.
Yes I was under the impression that milk was important until 1 year. But don't want to argue with my HV, he's after all the trained professional. And since he's assigned to us for 5 years it's better to keep a good working relationship with him.

hi nini/fairysbee

ya the hou ni is very good for cough. if you buy the fruit itself it's really expensive.

fairysbee,
oh my mom checked with her fren there and they say dont take cordycep yet but can take very little bit of birds nest. but not the bottle type. but birds nest can be easily allergic for many people so must give very little about 1/4 TEASPOON onto the porridge. And of cos the usual 4 day rule applies. But in this case, they say give once a week only. But if you are concerned then of cos after 1YO also can.

re: PS
thanks for the nice compliments ya those pics were taken by Kym.

h.fgaga,
she has the mocca &amp; orbit color. me overslept today so taking urgent leave. later bring ger go thomson plaza &amp; hopefully got time for high tea wif my mom... hee

vone,
you enuff orders to makeup $250? if no, i take the cinnamon hugga flavor

morning ladies.

valnsw
ya lor, my prev maid also kena brainwashed by neighbourhood maids 1.
if not, she can actually handle bb and housework very well.

haiz...what can we say lor, think that time lotsa ppl ask about this qn but no 1 ans wor.
just saw on stomp that a maid let a kid dash across the road far infront while on their way to school, so pls dun trust the maid to bring ur kids to school alone hor. =(

shint
pai seh, next time will remember to jio u. =P
yesterday i was just thinking of using my drugstore $ before it expire, din thought of "spreeing" lor.

vone
think there are some political reasons behind lah, unless our almighty govt dun wanna waste $ to feed those maids in jail lor. =D
hee hee....pai seh, will jio u on next order.
when my next drugstore $ can use that time okie?

Jojobar, agreed with the Mrs N, my PD also told me the same thing what Mrs N's HV told to her. Feed more solids &amp; water if allivier reject milk.

Agree milk is v v important for the 1st year, but what to do our bb dislike milk so much....

Snow,
Thanks for helping to make the order.
Got additional savings somemore.

Huichin,
Nope, didn’t go coz can’t take leave to go and also abit too far for me to make my way there w both gals w/o hb…

Kym,
The photos are nice! How I wish I could make it…

Nini,
Dun blame yourself, you oso dun wana see Braiden suffers wat…not purposely spread to him so please dun feel bad…you are the main caregiver so sure have regular contact…it is unavoidable…

But do be careful with phlegmy cough coz my asst’s son (4mths) just got hospitalized due to prolonged wheezing cough which leads to bronchitis.

Cat,
Bernice’s pics are nice!

m2b
u are most welcome. =)
dun waste the drugstore $ lor.
ya, i went online to search for $5 discount coupon....hee hee....
hopefully drugstore dun pack our order in big box. -_-"

Shint
Aiyah simple - since I ordered 2, you just take one of the CB cream ;)

Snow
wah you still go search for discount coupon :p thanks thanks!!

vern
u so nice, share 1 jar to shint. =)
okie, so i record down liao.

that FJB sale need to print out this attached coupon? =P

Snow
Think dun need to but print 1 copy just in case lor.. I will go lunch time to GAP to see see, will ask and update you later? :p

vern
since no need to print...hee hee....its ok lah, later i go vivo see. =P
thx.
i dun have printer at home u see, that stupid hp printer that hb bought spoil so fast.

ok, time to log off....me slight flu liao, need to rest 1st. =(

snow,
hopefully drugstore wont give you a big box cos i remember the last time i ordered, kena a big box plus got an empty card packaging without the mascara inside such that the shipping became very high after sharing!!!

mrs teng,
thanks on the info on the price of the syringes

re :FM
as my cayla is still on part BM, im introducing her 1 FM feed at night and have been using the samples given so far... still got one more big tin of Friso to go before i decide the brand... yesterday, i went to NTUC &amp; survey the prices of similac and enfapro &amp; they are about $36-38+ for 900g tin... today i saw the Shop &amp; Save ad that says Friso 1.8g + free 900g selling for $49.75, which translates to $16.58 for a 900g Friso 2... why so much difference ah????

Good morning mummies : )

Nini
Hope Braiden gets better soon. Dun blame yrself its very inevitable that germs will spread within the same house.

Vone
Ok sure, then drop the order for me. Thanks

M2B
Yes its actually near Jalan Sultan.. you know the place where ppl take buses to malaysia, thailand.. The builiding abit bo nang one but ok la its good for ppl going there to get their supplies and stuff..

Cat
Bernice looks very nice in the pictures and I like the minnie mouse ears! So cute : )

dongle
thanks for compiling the table for comparison for the fm. but i'm really bad with the ingredients, only know DHA is for brain. hahaha. anyone can advise ?

medusa
thanks i got that from Tokyo Disneyland.

Snow,
Thanks again.

Vern,
I'm interested in Gap and La Senza...so nice lunch time can shop...

Medusa,
Seldom go Jalna Sultan that area...have to find time to go myself coz dun think hb wana go...heehee

good morning mommies

Vone
How abt honey graham hugga bear cookies
Sgd6.60. Available? if not available pls check if there is any other cookie flavour available?tks.

Ling ling
I recommend beco easier for back carry due it has a pocket for baby.so easier to back carry.hmm ive yet to try pikkolo so must wait for sam to buy first..so can ask her back carry easy or not..hehhe.ive got pattapum toddler,ergo and beco for soft structured carriers so among 3 i recommend beco for back carry :D

Sam
Tks yah for the info..ehhehe..ok i will consider of buying pikkolo..ahhahaha...but first must sell some of my carriers...ahhahahaha..or else hubby will make noise lei...

jojobar,

i guess if your kid is eating solids well and u're giving a balanced diet, no harm if milk intake is less. i would only be concerned if the child is rejecting both milk and solids. i also noticed that my boy isn't that crazy abt milk nowdays. when i give him 150ml, he will get excited only in the beginning, then insist that we heat up the milk to his liking before he finishes up the rest <baulk> last time no such thing coz' he values his milk very much. i think solids has helped to make him less hungry so he's starting to get fussy. thank goodness he doesn't fuss with his solids and eats up everything we give him!

Hi Krex78,

Baby M does not drink a lot since birth. Hence i started him on solid when he is 4th month based on PD recommendation loh. Luckily he is taking to solid well. I guess i just need to relax and stop comparing loh

Baby M still have no teeth at 8th month ! I am waiting anxiously.....

catherine,
noted.

sam,
i tink i shld hv. need 2 re-tabulate again. okie, noted on ur revised order.

snow74,
okie, mus jio me okie.

medusa,
okie, noted.

h.fgaga,
honey graham aso gt d same prob. pls let me noe whether u wan 2 drop tis or order something else.

hi all, reading the mother &amp; baby mag - one expert mentioned that since bb start weaning, milk intake will decrease, but min still must b around 600ml.

it is a good mag..this mth talks abt bb food

Hi hfgaga,
You really have so many diff carriers! Let me know if you are lelonging your carriers ya? heehee coz I dun want spend too much as not giving birth anymore... =P

Medusa,
So nice can run such errands during lunch...my side only near west mall, nothing much...

shint

ur present maid gone? Din wait for the previous one come back 1st? she up to no good already?

<font color="#CD3278">vanilla</font>
Oh 600ml is the minimum huh? *phew*

<font color="#CD3278">Rona</font>
Pix of your loot?? hee

<font color="#CD3278">Vern</font>
OOoh, very nice heads-up!

<font color="#CD3278">bb/child abuse</font>
Today's ST mentioned another case of child abuse in Taiwan.. This time a 2y.o who was flogged to death.. And the saddest part is the mum just ignored the whole episode when the dad was 'disciplining' the child &amp; returned to her nap..