(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn,
Bring your pump just in case. So tiring to go out and go home and go out again. USe the time in between to do some shopping? hehhee.

If ok to latch then latch, if not still got pump to standby. If tired, want to go home, still got choice ma .. if wan go out, sure no problem ;)
maximise all options. hehheeh.

But then hor, KK always take time one ... wait during registration, see doc and pay $$, will take a couple of hours liaoz.

ruixuan,
pls go take the family pic hor. Knock your head if u dun take ah. it's photoshoot for baby and parents mostly ma. chey ;)

shint,
its the morning appointment that is very long cos its subidized clinic. the afternoon appointment is at the private clinic so usually quite on time. longest wait there so far is less than 30mins.

i think i will bring my pump along and ask the nurse for a place to pump with power. hehehe...

Yesterday MIL came over to help .... after hubby finally went to ask for some help cos i cannot make it liao ..... the ironing ....

then i came home, wanted to pump, found that the pump was not sterilised. the teats were sterilised but not the plastic part to hold the teat (faintz). Kai was given only 3 scoops instead of 6 scoops for 180ml of FM cos hubby din really ask .... i was previously using Similac and it takes 3 scoops but Mamil gold's scoop is smaller. Double faintz.

Came home at 10pm with #1 and hubby and hubby wanted to go jogging cos got MIL around to help ma but he said "Dun treat my mum like maid ok? let her rest" ...... so at 10pm, i was supposed to bathe #1, get him to sleep and sponge Kai, give him milk and make him sleep before I can even go take a shower and pump my milk! rather upset with him. In the end asked MIL to settle Kai.

I say if this goes on, the milk is going to be gone soon. Now ss oredi going down abit. He thinks MIL ard so he dun need to do anything liao but yet never delicate his own responsibilities all to MIL. Cannot be that when his mum around, I end up having to do more rite? I din even ask for less.
Men.... hiaz.

when i read ur post...shint..sometimes i feel tt sigh..u r in the situation..u know best but honestly....is there a chance u can give it to him? for me i swing too much to the opposite such that my husband felt sometimes he cannot go out and hv fun..if he does..i will be black face..ya la..its true but now actually i control alot liao cos I understand the importance of networking..but if my husband dare to rest while I am hard at work at home cos alot of things to do right...he sure get hell from me...since he wants to hv so many kids..he should do his part..

i dunno..i just feel tt tiger never roar..ppl thot sick cat...

anyway hows maid hunting?

Megan,
Give it to him? I can't bear to .... cos i feel in the end the kids are the ones who will "suffer". So i only complain here - jus to feel better la. hahahaa

This forum quite good place to just air out the frustrations so i dun bottle up. After that, it's gone.

He's done alot as a hubby during this period, i must say. It's true alot of men dun help out and i think your hubby is one who does help out kind ;) I guess I am not the take everything and keep quite kind of XIAN QI LIANG MU .... which is what my hubby expects he says. Well, i can't live up to the role and i do complain here la.

Sometimes complain to him then fight lor. Last week, i was so upset that abt ceratin things and i wanted to just go out at nite, dun go home straight after work, let him handle the kids alone .... but in the end, he apologised and then say he'll help me out with the ironing instead of nagging at me for not finishing with it .... so I XIN LUAN ... went home. In fact, we both did the ironing on Fri and Sat nite till 3-4am from midnite for both days. IMagine the mountain of clothes to iron.

I oredi let hubby go out when he needs for his meeting, etc ..... and i handle both alone before .. sometimes i feel certain entertainment are not that necessary.

If i help to do my hubby's part, he'll be quietly happy but dun offer to help to do my part .... u see la. take advantage of me.

i roar oso no use ..... cos he knows mine against him no power one liao.

i am ok la ... just sometimes want to complain and vent it out .... well, life goes on and have to make do with our own situation rite? look on the bright side, compare to alot of hubbies, he does help out quite alot liao, and i just have to lower my expectations - which he says quite high. Hmmm, maybe? maybe not, depends on who u compare with ... hahha. So dun try to compare, just appreciate the good things that there.

Maid. Good news. She is COMING BACK
Thank God.
just finalised the final piece of news yesterday that her permit had been approved and now pending some other documents, etc ... should be back 2 weeks later. Keeping fingers crossed that nothing else goes wrong cos I really have to take another maid if that's the case.

Actually waiting for her for so long, we suffer quite abit oso, mostly me. Nonetheless, since she is quite a good maid (our standard vv low one) so we dun mind waiting and oso it's a hard life for her if she goes back home ....hope our wait is worth the while - i believe so ;)

So i am looking forward to a better life.
Work will get busy in April .. and i am hoping to take a short trip after maid comes back - i need a break! hehe.

Now that i've experience all the work myself, i guess i'll make more efforts to help out with the maid when she comes back and not take her for granted. it's really not easy to do the job.
i have to try to sleep train Kai so he does not wake up .... so far, he's been quite ok and wakes up some days only.
Yesterady he slept from 9am-4pm, then wake up, sleep from 6pm onwards again. At nite, 11pm slept till 4+am, feed then sleep till this morning 7+am for another feed.

he sleeping too much or not ah? most of his time are sleeping one ... wonder if any baby like him?

Hisstory
Welcome back, my dear! Hope all of you had a blast in Japan! Sifted through your photos.. and sure looks like you had fun! Ashley seems to be have enjoyed the trip too! How did you settle her meals there? You brought along cereal and jar food?

Thanks.. I'm better already although still not a 100% well. My hb came out of camp last weekend so he's been helping lots by letting me rest whenever he is at home. My in laws also came by over the weekend and helped to look after bb so that I can sleep. I only woke up to eat and feed David.

Wow.. you use spoon to feed Ashley med? I tried and failed miserably. Have to use syringe. Hee.. maybe should follow Timmin's style and pinch nose!

Val
Thanks.. yes... David seems to be ok liow.. but occasionally he coughs but I also dunno if it's a deliberate attention seeking cough or a real real cough. Know what I mean? Haha.. quite funny. He seems to cough more during feeding time. His appetite for cereal and puree is not very good now. Wonder if he is sick of cereal already.. am thinking of cooking pumpkin and carrot porridge for him today. I can eat the rest

Timmin
Ya.. really relieved that it wasn't UTI. I was so paranoid that it would be UTI that I actually packed an overnight bag just in case David had to be warded! Hope you quickly recover from UTI. Must be terribly uncomfortable.

Agree.. the weather is really bizzare too. Not helping at all.

morning ladies. =)
so lost in the thread after 3 days never log in.
just came back from chalet yesterday, feel that stay at home still more comfy...ha ha....

shint
gd that ur maid finally coming back.

actually think i sort of understand what ur hb is thinking lah, cos last time women can take care of so many kids together w/o help 1 mah.
and can do housework some more wor.
so those slightly abit "old thinking" kinda man will not understand why we cannot lor.

agree with u, just come in here and complain abit lor.
remember i attended a talk before, and that speaker said "its always the women who make a house a home. if only man, a house will only be 4 pieces of wall."

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
thx!! yupz we gave her cereal.. cereal only! coz i know nuts on how to prep porridge &amp; not inclined to give the jar foods coz wld be messy as we feed her outside.. hahaha, lazy parents

It's really nice to have family to help when u're down yah? When's ur hb finishing his reservist?

<font color="#CD3278">Shint</font>
U nvr show ur hb black face ah? I'm quite sure u wldn't have requested ur MIL to take care of both the kids.. Quite tough on her, and u know it coz u went thru quite sometime doing so.. Man!!

And Kai really took advantage of the nice weather yday to sleep so much.. Tt's really alot!! I wish my Ashley can sleep so much leh

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
Affordable cost aside, i liked it a lot coz we can separate the BR fr the living room, so tt we can do things at night.. Otherwise i feel so cooped up &amp; literally have to tiptoe to do every single thing

There are a few other Oakwood Apts, there's one at Shinjuku too, but tt's a little more exp for their 1 BR apt

Tree Nymph

Hehehe... my younger gal also very tiao man and violent too.. Very scary.. will scream if dun get her way...

Reirei

What kind of spinach u use? Not the puey leng I hope, that one very bitter n difficult to digest... Use the baby spinach. NTUC has it for $1 per bundle.. Dun use so many leaves leh.. I use about 20 pieces for both gals..

These few days, I gave my gals pork and spinach brown rice porridge, plus pumpkin puree for lunch.. They lov it... Den dinner will give them Threadfin, potato and carrot porridge.

Strawberry

Best is to steam the broccoli, otherwise the nutrients will be lost during boiling process. To get rid of worms, I'll soak broccoli in mild iodised salt water for about 15 before rinsing off thoroughly. But for now, I stop giving broccoli to my gals bcos they tend to get lots of wind in tummy..

Shint: Ya men r like that one... Sometimes i oso do until very xian n give my hubby a black face. Even on his off days, he oso never help me bathe bb.. Milk is latch on.. so only thing he can help me is wash clothes/hang clothes.. He iron his own clothes thou. Cos he say my ironing v lousy..hahahahha!!
Your Kai can really sleep!! *envy*!! i think Braiden most of the time is crying. haha!

hisstory: how is Ashley sleeping at night? Braiden last night slept from 8.30pm to 12.30am.. Then wake up play by himself, realising no one there he cried.. until 2.30am.. SO i only get to sleep like nearly 3am!! Then he wake up his usual timing 7.30am.. *faint*

hisstory
zynn slept from 6.30pm till this morning 5.45am, is that the kinda sleep u prefer a bb to have? -_-"
i keep touching her forehead, just to make sure that she feel tired not due to falling sick lor.
hee hee...bb sleep long also we worry, dun sleep also we worry. =P

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
She slept fr abt 9 till 230 &amp; woke up crying, we let her cry &amp; she went on till 330 until hb buay tahan.. Picked her up &amp; she stopped

Then she slept till 7am.. So i carried her to sleep until 8+ coz i was too tired to entertain her if she wakes up tt early

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Zynn is an early riser leh.. But u get uninterrupted sleep wor!! I had tt for awhile then suddenly vanished! *sobs* U gave her a feed &amp; she went back to sleep?

Agree, mummies can nvr worry enough.. Like their poo! Too much also worried, too little also worried

Hisstory
Wow.. just cereal? And Ashley wasn't sick of it? Hee.. what cereal you feeding? The HT one?

The three of us going to Kota Kinabalu early next month to attend my friend's wedding so I'm still thinking what to do with his meals.

Hb finished his reservist last Fri! Was so glad to have him home and he was elated that David hadn't forgotten him! Haha..

<font color="#CD3278">semi solids</font>
We've just started Ashley on porridge, actually it's my mum coz i dunno how to cook porridge.. Then i opened my cabinet to realise I still have a HT barley cereal unopened.. It's okie to 'gostan' &amp; feed cereal also right?

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
Dun think she was sick of it.. heheh, more likely sick of us lugging her ard

Hmm.. dunno if there are instant porridge out there for bb leh, can try tt? What's ur accomm like at Kota Kinabalu, if there's a kitchenette can still prep his meals, i guess

heheh, David daddy's so cute..

<font color="#CD3278">Ruixuan</font>
I dun think so leh.. Ur nick/name on FB is?

Hi timminbuzz,

Just to share on getting fast relief for UTI,

1) Plenty of water since water is the first medicine. The water not only washes away the bacteria, but also dilutes the concentrated urine and bacterial colonies, so that the symptom will disappear at the earliest

2)Barley water and tender coconut water often

3)Vitamin C and zinc for fast healing

Hope it helps.

hisstory: lol.. thats exactly what they want! Your Ashley n my Braiden can become good friends liao! Waah really can cry n scream n do whatever things to get what they want.. But i refused to give in cos i dont wan to waste the earlier efforts of letting him CIO. haha..since hubby workin last nite so i jus let him CIO until 2.30am he stopped n go bk to sleep. Sometimes i feel quite bad letting him cry

How is Briebaby's Issace doing? Never see her update these days...

sabbath
thanks for the tip! i've been drowning myself with water! will keep drowning!! praying real hard that it'll be OK soon.
i better go buy barley to boil too.

hisstory
it's ok to feed porridge and cereal. i give E cereal every morning for bfast and porridge for lunch.

NiNi
wah seh! good on you for holding out! hopefully braiden managed to learn it last night! with E, once he CIO 1 night, next night sleep thru. praying for u!

hisstory
not really wor, cos nynn sleep late.
she sleep 11pm+, and zynn wake up at 6am.
oor bak kart. =P

ya lor, never stop worrying 1.

nini
thx.
zynn character more like daddy, never rest enough 1. =D
instead of calling ma ma or ba ba, her 1st words since 2 wks ago is "mum mum".
basically a eat and sleep rat...ha ha....

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Yah lor, these 2 are partners in crime.. They must never meet! If not they will further conspire *wahahah*

I was also abt to ask where <font color="#CD3278">Brie</font> is too

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Fantastic news!! Not so sayang like tt..

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Wah, Nynn sleeps really late! Poor mummy... U able to take naps? Nvm lah, ask ur hb to sponsor eye treatments for u

<font color="#CD3278">ruixuan</font>
Just added u!

who is SL in FB ah? coz someone added me..the initial is SL.

snow,
zynn is so cute! she is such a darling unlike my monster! lol

sylvia,
nice meeting you that day too. your gal is v fair and chubby!

hisstory,
welcome back! did u do any shopping for yourself? hee

wow, so many posts!

Ceyln/Ruixuan,
Bring AS MANY SETS of clothings as you can. Bring some soft toys or toys your babies are interested in so can take the fotos together. Alvin is very nice, very qing chye and easy-going. We hardly used up the 1hour we are allocated and I brought all the 3 kids along. Supposed to take more fotos for my gal, but after a while she is tired already and showing her black face to everyone liao. We had fun. So its better the bring more clothes and toys etc. use the lugguage if needed.

hisstory
ya, nynn dun sleep at nite during her 1st 4mths.
till now, she still dun allow me to sleep before her lor.
so, think ashley is much better as compare to her rite? =)

missysz
thx.
oh ya hor, u got her photo during the swimming trial ya?
no lah, both monster in diff way only lor...hee hee...
when she mum mum mum that time, then u noe how monster she can be if u not fast enough. =D
ur bb not monster, but very clever.
he already noe water is dangerous at this stage, mean he is a thinker.

<font color="#CD3278">ruixuan</font>
Oooh!! Add me &amp; u can go see

<font color="#CD3278">missy</font>
thx!! Yupz i sure did.. Almost got the Neverfull but decided against it
Got Anges b instead coz much cheaper than in SG

hey mummies
just wondering if any of ur bbs not very keen in taking cereal liao? kaer recently always give that kind of face when we give her cereal leh..like want to vomit..and always keep her mouth shut..i alternate cereal..sometimes HT ..sometimes nestle..sometimes add puree into it..but she still like that..feeding her cereal is very shiong now..how??

Hi timminbuzz,

No problem, hope you get well soon. I'm usually too bogged by work to log on, but hope to contribute as much as I could.

Hisstory
The hotel room we booked.. not suite leh.. hahaha.. so donch have kitchenette. Think I'll bring cereal and some jar foods.

Today I just cooked porridge for my boy and aiyo.. getting him to eat it is like torture.. keeps gagging. But when I give him the pear puree.. he almost gladly eats it. Sigh.. but I tried it.. nice leh.. carrot and pumpkin porridge. Dunno why he doesn't like it. I'll try again tmw. Maybe he needs to get used to the porridge texture. This is his first time. I only scooped out like 2tbs of porridge to grind it down and my MIL asked how come so little. I told her if he can finish.. I happy liow.. and true enough.. he almost couldn't finish it.

I think cereal can 'gostan' and feed lah. Cos I don't intend to cook porridge again for him in the evening! I'll just feed cereal.

YLN
My boy lately also has difficulty finishing his cereal. I'm not sure if it's cos he's still recovering from his viral infection and thus his appetite is not so good.

I thought he could be sick of cereal already so cooked porridge for him today.. but again, not enthusiastic at all.

Hmmm..

hisstory
wow... ur trip look fruitful. u must have enjoyed ur trip.. ashley look more like ur hubby from the pic.. abit of u too

hey mommies,
I have been giving amelia rice porridge- just started like last week i think..ever since, her poo is really hard. I normally mix 1 tablespoon 11 grains rice with 1 tablespoon of brown rice. I tried giving her lotza water, pear, papaya..and even added spinach in her meals..but nothing works..her poo is still very hard. Can you mommies help advise?

mrs n,

i dun mind giving milk after solids but i'm just worried he might not be hungry to finish all. sometimes, when we feed solids too close to milk feed, he will eat quite slowly (not that enthusiastic) though most of the time, he finishes everything. my biggest worry is if i dun give him anything to eat/ drink in between meal times, he might be grouchy becoz he expects to be fed. your feeding schedule looks ideal. looks like dominic sleeps early? mine is terrible. jonah only gets to sleep ard 11pm earliest. and the earliest we can feed him is at 10pm after picking him up from IL's place. don't know if that is the cause of poor sleep lately. he woke up 4x last night crying and wailing. cldn't soothe himself to sleep. i hope it's just teething or some temporary phase. else we're all going to be so tired from his crankiness in the late evening and poor sleep throughout the night
btw, when are u planning to intro 3 solids meal?

ruixuan,
yes, had fun. but the kids were already so tired after just 20mins! so you make sure you let baby sleep first before going. then make full use of the 1st half an hour before they loose their attention...

would like to do a survey on your bb's feeding schedule and type of food he's eating. here it goes:

krex78's jonah (7 1/2 mths):

8am: 180ml milk
12pm: 150ml milk
2pm: 5 tbsp cereal + 45ml puree (veg/ fruit)
4pm: 150ml milk
6pm: 5 tbsp cereal + 45ml puree (veg/ fruit)
8pm: latch on OR 150ml milk
10pm: 180ml milk

TOTAL MILK INTAKE: approx. 810ml

melmal
dunno if it will help, but maybe u want to massage her tummy? i think this is more for if bb dun poo..but no harm trying ..:p..sometimes i also massage kaer on the tummy...for no special reason lar..just to make her feel comfy..

Krex

For Cherilynn

6am : 100ml milk
9am : 70ml milk
11am : 7 tbsp Meat porridge + 30ml veggie puree
2pm: 100ml milk
5pm: 6 tbsp Fish porridge + 15ml veggie puree
8pm: 100ml milk
11pm: 70ml milk
3am: 100ml milk

Total milk intake : approx 540ml

That's all she can take, no matter how we give, she'll refuse to drink or drink when she's full.. Got very small tummy...hehehe

For Clarabelle

6am : 140ml milk
9am : 100ml milk
11am : 10 tbsp Meat porridge + 30ml veggie puree
2pm: 140ml milk
5pm: 9 tbsp Fish porridge + 15ml veggie puree
8pm: 140ml milk
11pm: 100ml milk
3am: 140ml milk

Total milk intake : approx 760ml (in between , also give her water or juice)

Mrs Teng
Oh, how can i tell puay leng from the other spinach?

Hisstory
Oh yea, shinjuku more ex becos it's nearer to shopping district I suppose..?
For Oakwood Ropponggi, what is the nearest train station?

Valnsw
re: sean lau photography, deposit how much? and by when we have to take the photos?