(2008/08) Aug 2008

val,
was reading up on constipation, it seems that apple puree will CAUSE harder stools. Can give apple JUICE but not the puree.

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/constip.htm

Why can I give Apple Juice but NOT Applesauce when baby is constipated?

There is a difference in the amount of sugars and pectin in apple juice and applesauce:

Apple juice contains more sugars and liquids so it helps relieve constipation.

Applesauce is the whole of the fruit. It contains a higher level of pectin - which firms up stools and may thus lead to constipation.

"Apple juice also has a mild laxative effect that may help provide relief from constipation commonly experienced by little ones. Apple juice fortified with vitamin C may help children absorb more iron, an important nutrient for growth and development." About Apple Juices

Apples contain pectin, which will add bulk to your stools, and their cleansing action will encourage bowel movements. They have a laxative effect yet are also used for to help people get back on a regular diet after suffering bouts of diarrhea.

The pectin in the apple fiber apparently is why whole apples will firm up bowel movements. Think of Kaopectate - a popular over-the-counter diarrhea remedy. Kaopectate , actually contains an oxidized form of pectin. Also, that same fiber pectin is what dietitians have been telling us for decades is necessary to keep us regular and to prevent constipation. While it will help prevent constipation by helping to keep the bowels regular, it will not help alleviate constipation!

When it comes to bowel regularity, apples contain two types of fiber; insoluble and soluble. The insoluble fiber works like roughage, while the soluble fiber (pectin), which is found primarily in the skin, acts as a stool softener by drawing water into the stool and increasing stool bulk. Because pectin firms up an excessively loose stool, it’s also used to treat diarrhea. For more information see: US Apple Association

re:tofu
anyone knows if can give tofu ? read it's not advisable for 1st food choices but my fren just asked dr dawn from kinderclinic and she said can.

hello mommies,
Need ur 2 cents la...some of u started giving ur babies cauliflower, broccoli..and other second stage veges..are ur babies more than 8 mths now? Mine is approaching 7 mths..not sure when to start rice porridge. From what i read..these veges are for 8 mths above...so if i give baby porridge at 7mths..what vege to include ah? Just stage 1 veges (carrot,sweet potato)? Boring man...

hey mummies
me kpo here..ur reading the thread on the coach (cheat) spree?? wow..now the story develop until very hot leh...tsk tsk...jialat..i wonder y got pple want to cheat $ like that..getting into deeper trouble...sigh..

melmal12,
my PD gave me a chart of food that i can introduce from 6mths, 9mths and 12 mths. so after each food, i just put a sticker onto it if it's ok. brocoli and cauliflower is under the 6mths category.. so i just intro after completing the root veg.

Catherine,
Thanks..why are there inconsistencies with the PD's advise and online materials ah like wholesomebabyfood.com? Frankly, if i left my baby with my mom - she wud have intro so much more varieties man..i am being so uptight as to what can give when..hmmm sigh sigh..dont know which source to trust also..

sylvia
dun worry too much lah.
they are already in the stage that noe what is painful, if pain they will stop doing that action lor. =)
just let her develope according to her own preference.

celyn
hee hee...wanna be sayang like bb again har?
maybe he action too much, tired liao will look for u to cuddle him lor.

melmal12
porridge can lah, soft food mah.

the post zoom past before i am post man...keke

cat,
possible to have a copy of the chart of food to be intro to bb, me still stuck at plain cereals for ger leh borin and confused as to how to start....

btw some mummies mention your blog got receipes of bb food to share, possible to share share coz me really know nuts about bb food and i dont really acknowledged how my mil prepared food for my 2 nieces....thanks you are really a guru in cooking....

happy mummy,
happy for you to solve the issue on taking care of Adel...

birthday bash,
how the discussions like seems quite alot of us like the gymboree idea?

celyn,
yu ze power leh, develop so fast. ger is still nua nua here and there...

shint,
bb fair this fri start leh, you think can managed to bring kai go?

me also lost to follow which type of food to give also...

shint,
think you also haven intro solids to kai yet right? any ideas?

celyn/snow
ya..i also feel like kaer very big now...seldom want to be cuddled leh..or difficult for me to cuddle leh..i always enjoy those moments where she going to koon..and very still ...nice for me to cuddle..

timminbuzz,
ya i saw that 8-10mths. but my fren jsut asked dr dawn today and she say ok. so just wanted to ask some opinion.

shirley,
ok i go scan a copy of it tonight

yln,
yah loh. miss cuddling him leh. at least now, he still let me do so sometimes. heheh...

shirley,
but hoh, he is still small in build leh.

snow74,
hahah... yah, especially when he wants to sleep time. but i try to do it on other time. want him to sleep on his own.

YLN/Reirei
wah...super drama man. and i really tink it's a scam. sigh...

cat
i guess different ppl have different opinions. i'm not too sure too. i guess if dr. say ok, then can try if u're comfortable. if bernice shows signs of not accepting it, then stop for a while.

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Pray tt GG's constipation wld be relieved soon.. I hear tt she has to take laxatives everyday also xin tong!!

<font color="#CD3278">catherine</font>
This book 'Feed Your child right: The First nutrition guide for Asian Parents' mentions tofu can be introduced.. You can try i guess? If got any reaction then better stop?

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
Ah.. Hope Huggies agrees with Chevelle

Aiyoh, so sayang tt Chevelle can't wear the swimsuit.. Faster take her swimming so tt she can have 1 go in the swimsuit?

Cat,
hehe new info for me on the apples. Actually all along give her juice, then start her on the puree (or rather it's the "zhar" from grating the apples). But when give her puree, also let her drink the juice. So it's combi. Shd be ok bah...

YLN / reirei,
Wa... that BP sure is scam liao and super drama. Damn scary. Surprised that the moderator nvr step in. Actually I also v hesitant abt getting the stuff fr BP, my first one I just took a leap of faith. But heng, the BP organiser quite responsible, she post up pix of the buyers' bags to reassure us.

reirei
u also reading the thread..ya.. i read already ..also abit pek chek ..hm...but interesting to read leh...:p.. me like very bad hor...:p

Sylvia,
Part time maid, hubby not keen. He says can do wor.
Supply drop. Yes. SOmetimes i can still pump till about 360ml, at times only 280ml.
Depends on whether the interval is long. I used to last abt 6-7 hours then must pump liao, last 2 nites i can stretch to 9 hours.

I've got a cloth book but Kai not interested leh.

Catherine,
I woke up to pump, read the forum but din post. Been sleeping ard 1+, wake up to feed ard 3+, 4+ then pump then go back sleep then wake up at 7+.
Like today, i am only just done with the laundry, washing bottles, feeding Kai, putting him to sleep. Ya, me pumping now.

Btw, Kai started his first rice cereal today liaoz.
He's ok with it. Day 1 can start with more than 1 teaspoon rite?
Initially i put in 1 teaspoon then 2 spoons of EBM but found it to be too watery so add more cereal, then too dry so add more milk.
It was ok, then i went to get Kai, get ready the camcorder, came back and it became too watery so i added one more teaspoon of cereal.
Kai finished his cereal and also another 180ml of EBM.

So for day 1 , not bad ba. I will post it on FB.

msapple,
Thanks for info. I remembered i bought 1 pack of those which can change color when the food is too hot.

Raining
Morning i did the laundry, hang the clothes and put it outside then it started raining ... i brought the clothes in ... nad next i knew the sun came out.
So i put it ouside again and shortly i realised that the started again, had to bring it in. Like tat, no wonder i am so busy at home.
HUbby some more bragged that he can do so much things at home .. more than me.

Shirley,
Me started Kai on cereal today liaoz ... first attempt.

Baby fair
Who's going and bringing baby along?
Me intend to .... will go downtown with hubby then take the train down (more convenient)

Valnsw,
hee..i oso abit scared joining my 1st spree..esp creating a new payee in IB..
but once started, it's soo difficult to stop! hahaa..

Timmin,YLN
ya loh..i'm following the thread all the time..until no time to buy tings in bp section..haha..

Shirley,
I'm in the kohl's spree #9...loots jus arrived in sg but havent collected.
tink i'm buying more from her again.. :p

reirei,
i read already no head no tail.. only see this mummy "screaming" in bold. quite funny. i want to order from the kohls spree but she nvr say when she ordering..

reirei

kohls.... the ones i want oos.....

the coach spree........ 60++ mummies leh.
can return goods one ar?
dun think they will take back loh.

even so, only return 60% of the value only...

so strange.

re: playmat

can anyone comment on the quality of LG &amp; Parklon playmat? Considering to get one but wondering what's the diff bet these 2 materials...

bp:
i was reading that thread too. its so drama loh. must be careful when buy from sprees and bp.

baby birthday bash:
what happen to our birthday bash? mia? gone? no more? hehehe....

anyway, just now when i went for lunch saw this place called my gym. they have birthday parties too.

for 20 babies - $480 for non-members. they only provide venue and activities and its on sun 5.30pm - 7.30pm. other days and time, need to check.

http://frisknromp.blogspot.com (this is at big splash, can cater up to 50 children)

i haven't check out the web yet. copy all these from brouchure.

b{cat}
can share the chart of food to introduce from 6mths, 9mths and 12 mths please? TIA.

b{yln}
babyJ also doesn;t like to be cuddle. btw, u are not kpo, i am also reading the thread. :\

Little Twin Star

So sorry to hear about GG's case of constipation...About the laxative given... if it's Lactus or Lactulose given to her... I'm certain it should be fine for her.... I had it twice a day thru out my pregnancy since week 9... It's indicated to be safe for infant consumption...

As for the anus spray, too much of it may indeed cos GG to be too reliance on it... Have you tried using the traditional potty for her? Sometimes the sitting position does make a diff when they wan to poo... Get those from the HDB shop, those round type.. At this age, she can't sit proper on her own.. Wat you do is, as you sit by your bedside or chair, clutch the potty between your thighs and let her sit on it (As thot you are the make shaft toilet seat) This way, her butt stick in and anus is in a open position... making it easier for stool to move.

RE: BABIES BIRTHDAY BASH

Geeesshh... my gals birthday are drawing near, but not so near.. But I'm totally clueless about where to hold it... Booking a function room in hotel and arranging for High tea would definitely burn my hubby's pocket, esp now that I'm a SAHM with 2 maids... it's a no go... Can't do it at home because far too many guest to invite... Just relatives alone is already more than 40 people, not to mention about close friends...

ANYONE has got a economical and good idea on how to go about celebrating my gals first Birthday Bash? Would really appreciate it..

RE: BABY FOOD

Anyone using anchovies stock to make porridge for baby?
I've been cooking organic brown rice porridge using pork stock, top up with Heinz bottled vegetables for their lunch. And dinner is Rice cereal with Heinz bottled vegetables. Oh! in the morning, the first feed at about 6.30am, I'll give them the Si Sen Brown Rice mixed with their milk.. (Just a small amount) They dun seemed to gain much weight bcos both of them are super hyper babies.. Hardly sleeps in the afternoon and very active during the day.. their metabolism is so high that they burn out their energy very fast... I always say "Jia liao bee"... But they are very tough... At 7 and a half months, both can do leopard crawl now... not the actual baby crawl yet..

I can’t log in whole nite last nite and this morning too. I got to use the search function to get back here… :p

Cat,
What mag? Your baby is in the cover is it? Tell me or scan one and post here!

Von,
I bot an exersaucer recently. I think it’s a good buy. My boy, 6mths exactly now can sit in there for some time! Didn’t check how long but good enough for the maid to do housework and for me to watch some tv… hehehe

Twinstars,
You can try to give bb potatoes. Its also good for constipation and baby should be ok to take it. Maybe you can try bring your gg for baby tuina, its good. My #2 has this problem when she is very young too although she is on TBM, we got to help her ‘pull’ out her bowels! Eeeerrrrkkk!

History,
Can you give me the huggies contact too? I want to check out the prices at the fair first before calling her.

Sylvia,
I just received the call from the medical hall informing me that the brown rice powder is ready. Will collect it this sat and will start jerold on his 1st solid this Sunday too! So exciting!

YLN,
Yah, I was reading the post on the coach BP too. Very drama. But very poor things lor, all the mummies lost money… damn messy… wondering why people willing to transfer so much money to stranger… a lot of them more than $300, with quite a few hitting low 4 figures!

Cat
Can post the chart of foods to introduce on your blog?

re: BP scam
Haha I'm also one of those kpo one, put it on my bookmark so can read the latest happenings!!

MISSYSZ

Got the food chart here, Scanner out of order, so I type is out for you

1. Food which are least likely to cause allergic reaction: (Can be introduced after 6th mth)

Rice
Pear
Prune
Carrot
Apple
Pork

2. Foods which are well tolerated, but occasionally cause alergic reactions. (Can be introduced after the 6th mth)

Barley
Apricot
Beef
Wheat
Plum
Spinach
Cabbage
Oat
Banana
Chicken
Peach
Lamb
Broccoli
Turnip
Potato
Cherry
Corn &amp; Corn oil

3. Foods Which are mostly likely to cause allergic reactions (Can be introduced from 9th mth)

Strawberry
Cow's milk
Legumes
Fish
Egg yolk

4. Foods which are highly allergenic: (Can be introduced after the 12th mth)

Seafood
Peanut
Tree nuts
Bird nest
Egg whites

5. Foods which may cause oral allergy syndrome (Can be introduced after the 12th mth)

Orange
Kiwifruits
Mango
Grape
Pineapple

Sylvia,
ya, the weather playing with me.
Today is the only day i planned to go out - going to get a replacement driving license before i can go for my refresher couse .. then rain so heavy

Gotta tomorrow instead.

Tomorrow, those going, what time u all going and are u all meeting ah?

Me bringing Kai alone .. hubby has meeting and high tea after that. Me will be alone from 12+ ... then after that go home.

Maybe we can meet to go for high tea oso? hahah.

msapple,
You got ur baby photos taken at a studio in chinatown rite? Can u please give me the add? I tried asking the Konica studio - at tampines - just a small shop..they charge minimum 200 bucks...i almost fainted man!

re: Brown Rice
Any mummies know where to buy brown rice? Supermarket got sell anot huh? And also how to cook porridge using brown rice? Thot want to start my gal on porridge soon cos she seems bored with cereal already.. and its been only like a month!

Shirley

Think we still "junior members" thats why cannot post. I also cant post in overseas spree so I usally pm them direct. Think we must hit a certain number of posts then can.....

reirei,
you tempted me on the kohl's spree! but not buying anything for my kids... i bot one blouse for myself! hehehe, don't know the size can fit or not... try lor...

shirley and medusa15,
no lah not because of the membership status. can't post for spree yet because we are not one year old yet in this forum. you can always pm the spree organizers and they will post for you. That is how i do it too!

I can't go to fair tomorrow cos need to be in the office...

can you post here or pm me or the various deals? i will try to go on sat at about 11am... they are only open from 11am. think i will go for breakfast first then go over, then can skip lunch and catch a lift from hb then send #1 &amp; 2 to berries at 2pm

girafee,
you going on sat? wanna meet up? are you driving there?

Medusa

Re: Brown Rice

I got my brown rice from NTUC... It's in a box (Cream color) Brand is NATURAL Organic Brown Rice... remembered it's around $4 plus... Very easy to wash, In fact, no Talc... I cook in the slow cooker and den puree with handheld blender. The other option is you can wash the rice, sun it dry or fry it dry before you grind it.. To use is just mix it with water and stir continuously over low heat until it boils n thicken..

I prefer the slow cooker method bcos my gals like the texture of the brown rice husk.... it also give them the fibre they needed. In addition, the pork stock can be slowing absorbed into the rice.. Sometimes, I add a small cube of carrot or broccoli together with the pork... Otherwise, I just use those bottled vegetable from Heinz or Gerber..