(2008/08) Aug 2008

joanne,
maybe you got water retention thats why swollen. Drink more chicken feet + peanut soup. And add this type of nuts called "che xiao dou" can buy from medical hall. Like red bean like that one.

re:post natal massage
anyone got good masseuse to recommend ?? The contact given by my fren that she used no longer in service. Now I need to start searching for one.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
for my bb, her hiccups are like soft thumping at a steady beat, kinda like heartbeat pace. It usually last for a couple to few minutes.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
yeah i better wait until Friday, see how's my weight first. :p

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
wow 1 whole durian? hee...that was your dinner?
wah 2 durians cost $80? i didn't know it can be so expensive. Must be very nice one...yummy yummy...

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
your MIL is really nice to you lei. compare to other MILs horror stories i read in this forum, i think she treats u very well liao.
cleanliness i think old ppl not so particular. sigh, my own Mom's level of cleanliness also is not good.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
my gynae also asked me to watch my food intake leh.
aiyo yesterday I wanted to wear a top (it's a maternity top, ok) which i haven't worn in abt 3weeks, and it is so tight fitting now! The last time i wore it, it still got loose space. sigh...this shows how much i've "grown".

ooi..now talk about ice-cream....My all-time favourite!! aiyo you all so bad lah, tempting me with all these sinful food...keke..

Suggestion: our next meetup/gathering, we do it at Haagen Daz? hehe...

joanne

Dun worry about it.. Nothing difficult with asking around k? Shall PM u later or tmrw

I also dare not weigh myself anymore. Shall just stick to the appts at gynae to do the job, dun want to live in fear and paranoia

catherine

Thankfully they clean their own place.. ur MIL not bad ah, also know that the chances of her cleaning up their place wld be really HIGH if she does move in.

Same here, my niece must sleep in the yao lan too. So my parents who are her main caregiver are often stuck at home, coz she can't sleep outside. HB's not for the idea of yao lan, but i'm now in the wait &amp; see state, in case bb really needs, then no choice lor

mulberry,
ehhh .. no actually I had that durian immediately after dinner :p hahaha .. like dessert.. No one else wanted to eat. Plus I dont want to open 1 durian and leave unfinished. Later the entire fridge will smell.

nini,
i also won't allow baby to sleep in yao lan. i think it will be difficult to shift him out later.

catherine,
your durian is so ex. must be really good.

Durians!!! I just ate some last week. It is high is sugar so for those mummies with GD, have to really control on durians intake. Durians have calcium &amp; other vitamins which are known to be beneficial to baby's development, anyways just have moderate portion. Sometimes I ate durians to replace one of my meals.

Oh I think 2 nights ago, i felt my bb's hiccups. It came in rhymthic beats, definitely not like heartbeat. So I think those were her hiccups...hehe

Good Morning Gals!
Miss my hb so much...sob sob

Avocado,
I love Oreo chessecake now! I tried making myself before and it tastes ok...no baking required.

Twin Stars,
Looks like your MIL is trying to accomodate you so thatz nice of her.

morning mummies..

woke up with flu..so trying to work from home today!

My daughter slept in yao lan till she was abt 2..but we never have a problem with her sleeping outside w/o yao lan leh. For us, it was godsend cos we put bb in yao lan for 10mins she is asleep, we took her out..then we could go on and do our stuff cos we din hv maid or anyone else then and we were trying to cope as best, having my daughter sleep thru from 8pm when she was young was a good incentive

Think its a different perspective from different parents..most parents wont use it nowadays..

good morning everyone!

Nini,
i also wont put my baby in yaolan. Dun wanna risk the baby getting too used to it then later on have a hard time getting baby to sleep w/o one.

Im gonna just let my bb sleep in cot alone. Think i have to try train him up frm start.

Catherine,
Wow ur durian so exp. I not so picky abt durians, i very easy one. As long as its creamy and sweet (most impt), u'll see me eating it very happily

Mulberry,
Think mayb cos u in 3rd tri alrdy so growing vfast!

Re:prenatal pics
Anyone know of any place which is good for taking those preggy pics?? Thinking of doing it, incase i really decide to only have one kid.

mulberry,
I don't mind going to Haagen Daaz. Wah.. I'm eating all the sinful food.
BTW, would you need to drop by NTUC at Eastpoint to get anything before the gathering? If you want, I can go your place earlier and drive you there and give you a hand to buy any stuff needed.

Megan,
oh dear, do take care ya? Think alot of mummies got the flu already.

Catherine,
You have msn? then can also ask for your expert view on property ;)

The thing about your SIL, or should I say your BIL's wife is really terrible. Actually hor, they don't live with your MIL alrdy gd. My BIL and his wife already have their flat in Buangkok, yet they still living with my ILs. TO think they want to rent out that flat too.

The kids, one 2++ yrs old and another 6 mths old all leave to my ILs to take care.
Sigh what to do? ILs never "chase" them out and willing to take care of the kids. Too bad I wasn't the first DIL to give birth even though I'm supposed to be the wife of the eldest son.

I ever complain to my hubby, they taking advantage of his parents, got their own place still don't want to move out. Whereas it is us who don't have place and yet we got to move out. (actually I want to move out la, cos I can forsee v hard to get along in such a "crowded" environment) But what to do? The house is ILs', they can choose whether they want to let them stay. And they never offer to take care of my bb, cos I think they also cannot cope. But then again, I also don't want them to take care of my bb too.

Little Twin Stars,
Good that your MIL takes gd care of you. At least that's one thing lesser to think about.

Ok gota go.. busy day ahead.

little twin stars: Muahaha...oh? I think i really confused liao la..

WHoa...durians durians...i will ask my hubby to go this weekend! heehe...

Whoa haven meet this Sun toking abt next meetup liao? Hahaha..whoa...Haagen Daaz...i want oso! hehe...sucker for ice cream one loh me...heh.

How does it feel like when bb having hiccups? Really can feel ah? Hehee..

BTW Mummies, any brand/model of swing/rocking chair to recommend for bb to sleep? I duno where to start man...

Nini,
i will try not to put bb in yao lan too.
somehow i feel it will damage her head if u yao too hard.
if u got elderly or CL/maid taking care of the bb, oso tell them not to yao the bb while carrying them to sleep. Dat is wat happened to my bb nephew.
Now dat the CL is gone, they haf to put him in yao lan then he can sleep.

ChannelNewsAsia - Big Daddy:
There's this new show on CNA Tue, 8.30pm on daddy's role in parenting. There are snippets dat show Mrs Wong teaching daddies how to burp and do exercise to their newborn bbs. V interesting!

valnsw, no you haven't authorise me yet. i only see celyn online. anyone else on MSN?

durians! i love it too! are you having durians at mulberry's place? hehe... where is this shop in jalan kayu with the famous cake?

You are tempting me for a nice Ice Cream or better still cold java chip from starbucks...slurrrp

But shouldnt eat due to restriction even though not confirmed Gestational Diabetic.

Catherine,

I asked my gyane that I want to hear the heartbeat. She said you can see on the monitor.I didnt know that you can know the weight of baby and stuff. Got all the info thanks to you mommies :eek:)

ReiRei: Oh yes yes! Aiya i missed that man! My hubby was home before me on Tue and he told me abit it. So i told him to guai guai go and watch liao, learn from it, and share with me what he's learnt! Hahahaaa

Jvenus: WHoa u giving us MORE ideas to have durian leh! hahahaa

Huichin,
heheh..my hb enjoyed the show v much.
and the bbs r soo v cute!

Jvenus,
It's called Jane's Cake Station.
Heard of the famous jalan kayu prata? it's along the same stretch of shop houses.

Mulberry,
I'd b soo happie if i'm the one who can't fit into my maternity tops :p

yao lan:
i won't use that also. hard to get bb off this later on. but i dun mind trying those infant to toddler rocker by fisher price. not so much for sleeping but for a bit of entertainment out of the cot lah.

gaining weight:
sigh, the best indication that i've gained weight is the loosening of the buttons in my work pants. when i look how "big" they are now, really scares me. fortunately, i can still wear all my maternity clothes except for the nursing tops i bought earlier on.

joanne,
re:prenatal pics
I'm taking mine with Studio Loft. The photographer is called Maryann. But she will be on maternity leave until mid july. So I think that would be a good time to take for Aug mtbs. Cos the bigger the tummy the nicer the pics. you can check her out at the biz thread. Or http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

re: msn
if anyone interested .. can add me on msn [email protected]

joanne,
sorry forgot to add that I've booked her for mid july just before my c-sec. I know there are others around but I like that her studio I think all female. I've met her and her 2 staff once when they came to view an unit space which I was advertising then. Their studio is now at pagoda st.

luvlel,
maybe you can try to ask them for the weight and see what they say. When is your next visit ? I know kkh they have different packages, one is the private suite ones, whereby you get your scans done by the gynae and ultra sounds on each visit.

Joanne,
I have already taken my preggy photos in Yr 2006 so this yr not taking, waiting for #2 one yr old and together with #1 who is abt 3yr old that time and four of us take family photos together.

Catherine,
Thanks, i will take a look, heard of them before actually. Also heard of another one called foto-u or sth..heard the photographer David is quite good. Wanna take but also abit lazy to check..lazy hormones attacking me, hee

Reirei/mulberry,
i managed to get one nursing bra at long last! Got frm marks &amp; spencer yest, $59! Can buy dunno how many impression ones le..heart abit pain but at least its better looking, even compared to the triumph ones, so i thought just buy one first.

talking about the big daddy broadcast, last wk at prenatal class suppose to learn how to bath baby, burp baby and sayang baby when he cries. My hubby ended up hitting n shaking the baby to keep quiet! So we were like throwing the baby at each other in the end. Was childish, but we had a good laugh..the other mummies n daddies must b thinking we both siao parents

joanne,
ya i know about david.. http://www.foto-u.com/portfolios/index2.php?photographer=1&amp;wnt_albtype=5 but i think cos he is a guy so hubby may not really feel comfortable me exposing tummy to him. hahaha. but i heard he is very good with taking children pictures.

you can also check out
http://www.yewkwang.com/
http://www.tomato.sg/ (this one looks very good but I think only do children's shots)
http://www.dphotofolio.com/bbportfolio.html
http://www.funshotz.blogspot.com/

I think I'm also lazy to check around so will just go with studioloft.. hahaha.

catherine,
i feel like taking too but hubby don't want. in case, i only want one child then no 2nd chance to take liao. can take alone? sigh...

celynlee,
ya of cos can take alone. I will be taking them with or without hubby. hahhaa. if he dont want then i go take it myself lo. hahhaa

re:durian
i just ate the 2nd durian for lunch. finish already
done with my durian for pregnancy. hahaha

Hi Catherine,

I am visiting KK Private suit and my next appointment is on 11th June. They have asked me to go for complete scan on that day.

On every visit gyane does do the scan but hasnt told any numbers on weight and all. She says every thing is normal.

hi luvlel,
actually my gynae also hardly tells me the weight. Usually I will have to ask her. try ask her the next time

celynlee,
actually hor .. I also dono. hahaha. I havent even ask them how much yet. hahaha. Just book already then decide cos anyway maryann is going for maternity leave. so still got 1 mth more. And since my tummy still small so nvm la .. still got time to wait.

aiyoo soo scary. had tummy ache since morn. it's like mild pain dat come and goes. dunno if it's contractions. wanted to call gynae but scared it's false alarm.
I'm trying to drink plenty of water and hopefully it'll get better later..

Joanne,
at least u guys were having fun!
the mommy sitting beside me was sooo fierce to the daddy.. told the daddy off when he doesn't know how to fold the nappy. so poor ting..

huichin/mulberry, if u are having durians at the gathering, count me in! haha... otherwise, it's kind of far for me!

reirei, thanks for the shop name. i tot it's famous for the chocolate cake not durian cake? hmm...

joanne, i'll most probably be using foto-u. there's a female photographer too, i think. i'm still fretting over what type of clothes should i wear? any suggestions? thanks!

cat, added!

Joanne,
nursing bra:
wah..u really willing to spend leh..
i oso feel like buying bras cos lately rib cage seems to haf expanded.
does anyone know whether the rib cage will shrink back to pre-preggie days' size after delivery? wanted to get nice ones but abit reluctant to spend if it's oni for another 2mths leh.

catherine,
heheheh.... you never ask the price then you book. if it cost a bomb how? heheheh.... i added you too.

mummies who had use baby cot before or will be having, any idea what type of mattress protector is good? or what kind should we go for? i saw so many version at mother works just now, very confuse. mattress protector is to be place on mattress then bedsheet right?

reirei,
think u dun walk ard too much, try to rest on bed or just sit down. If its persistant, better just call gynae.
ya we have quite abit of fun at classes, partly also cos we not v serious kind. Think we not learning v much le..cos we always laugh about things n talk nonsense

re:nursing bra
I also contemplated if shd get now, cos worried what if ribcage not so big aft delivery then waste the bra, n not cheap somemore.
But couple of ppl told me breasts will get even bigger early days of breastfeeding le..so i tot just buy lor..im buying them mostly for breastfeeding days later on, not to wear now le..

Jvenus,
I dunno le, i havent even thought of that yet. Cos i havent even researched on where i want the pics taken. But seems like most will wear tight figurehugging top to show tummy, or wear tube so tummy exposed?

<font size="+1"><u>Re: Gathering in the East on 1st June</u></font>

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
thanks for your offer but I think I already bought all the necessary stuff (disposable wares, mineral water).
But can ask your hubby to help arrange the tables and chairs? ReiRei's hubby will also be helping. So I think with 2 strong men, the job will get done easier and faster

oh yeah, also need either your hubby or ReiRei's hubby help to carry the mineral water from my unit down to the function hall.
I bought 3 bottles, each is 1.5 ltr. Should be enough hor?

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mommies</font>
Catherine have faxed over the orders to Golden Pillow liao and I've called them to double confirm. ;)
However, they said the earliest they can deliver is ard 11.30am coz need time to cook the curry chicken.

rei, i think recommended to buy nursing bras only in july coz' the size will more or less stay there as long as u plan to breast feed. once u're off breastfeeding, can prob revert to your old bra size already lor, provided breast size go back to normal :p

joanne, dun worry, my hubby &amp; i were also mucking around during class. we had this super fake baby doll that can blink his eyes. we have having fun shaking him, haha.

celyn, take alone where got fun? i haven't really thought about it yet, maybe coz' i dun feel very sexy with my big tummy now, heehee. how much is the package?

Joanne,
yah..was so scared dat i dun dare to go out of the house. ordered pizza hut for lunch. surprised dat i managed to fin a personal pan pizza..yum yum!

Mulberry,
hee..i dunno if he's strong or not..but he kept saying my weight is gonna catch up his lor..so upset..

re: water, shld be ok bah. anyway got vending machine rite? hee..i'll prepare coins to buy coke! haha..

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
oh dear, r u ok now?
i think you just call your gynae to ask. In the meantime, don't move around ya.

<font color="0000ff">Jvenus</font>
hehe...durian party? unfortunately, no durians in this Sunday party.
but good idea leh, maybe next time after we all give birth, we can have a durian party...haha.. then we all can eat without worrying.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
the M&amp;S nursing bra you bought got padded? $59 i think is ok lah. M&amp;S is sorta branded. The ones i bought also cost $30+ each.

krex78,
i know its no fun taking alone, but he not interested leh. maybe should insist that he take with me. actually, we don't really like to take photos but i think i should take some professional shots for keepsake. just like wedding photos. hahahah....

the package is $160 and only states its for 45 mins unlimited shots, max 3 outfits and 1X super 8R &amp; 5X5R. think if we want back all photos got to top up another $500.

reirei,
at antenatal class, we were told can buy nursing bra after 7 months liao. so far those sale person i talk to mention that we will need to buy 1 size bigger from our usual size.

Any ideas how much more weight we would put on in last trimister. I am finding my maternity tops are getting shrunk.Had to buy a new trouser yesterday

Thinking do I need to buy more tops now for office. Any suggestions.

reirei,
its better for you to see your gynae if you are worried. at least can get some assurance from him/her.

yesterday, i email my gynae about my tummy being very hard though only feel pain 1 out of 10 times when it happens.

his reply as follows:
It is likely braxton hick contraction. However, if the contraction becomes progressively more frequent and painful, especially if associated with bloody discharges or reduce baby movement, you should seek help at delivery suite at level 2.

If you are not sure, better to be safe and see us for a check anytime.

luvlel,
my friends told me that its more comfortable to wear dresses as we progress to the last stage. we will also grow very fast during the last stage. if you really can't fit into your maternity top now, maybe you should a few pieces and hopefully to last you till then.

mulberry,
yup i bought the padded one, cos at least dun feel so flimsy. Thought its not bad looking so bought. Its not tt exp compared to normal bras, but i keep comparing the $9.90 ones we saw at impression, so much cheaper. But i guess comfort is more impt la, both physically n mentally, hee. Will get 2 more, mayb one unpadded.

Reirei,
my dear, a personal pan pizza only has four small slices le! If u tell me u fin regular one urself i will applaud u. I realised how v small eater u r now.

krex,
hee yeah, think i still dunno how to take of baby after the classes.

Re:Growing bigger
I know what u girls mean. Actually quite wasted to buy now new tops now. Like tt day i bought two new tops, from size 1, i have to buy size 2 now to accomodate further growth this last tri. And imagine only wear 2-3 mths. But i certainly hope i dun need to wear that after delivery!

I wish too. I really want to lose the extra weight after baby's arrival.

Do you all find it difficult to breath and move about. I mean uncomfortable while sitting for long esp in office.

hello ladies,

do u feel tired lately? i don;t know why i keep falling asleep. my energy level is pathetic nowadays

mul, M2B, valnsw,
after thinking,my mil is not so bad afterall

joanne, catherine,
i also arranged for a photo session with my photographer. my hubby wanted me to have some memories of my preg. we will also bring my doggie for the shoot. actually we booked it on first wk of june. too early to see big belly?

cakes:
i'm going to order my choc cake from:
choc.a.bloc

my poor expanding belly. hope no further stretch marks

jvenus,
u are tempting me with durians!!!!! hehe