(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN,
I've got a friend who rejected promotion cos she loves her job. and guess what? she never get promoted again...

just delegate first, and when the time comes for your promotion, maybe you can sit down with your boss and tell them the work you like to do and see if they can do something about it? compromise...

YLN,

i can understand your predicament. i'm also deliberating whether, if my bosses want to promote, to take up the offer. i've seen my bosses slog ang struggle because they're in a higher position and i wonder to myself if i even want to be in that position. while it's gd to move up in your career, u would have to ask yourself if you will be happy and comfortable with your current job and salary. i know many teachers would rather teach than become HOD and do more admin work, so they've deliberately tried to avoid promotion. i guess u cld be in a similar position?

YLN, I agree with the others... you can delegate first... look on the bright side, since ur superior thinks you are doing too much, you may not be given so much work in the supervisory role... then you can get more pay for less work time = more time with kaer right?

thanks for ur advice/opinions..i think as the 'victim'..sometimes im unable to see the bigger picture...i think all of u are right..i should delegate more...

Krex
the supervisory post has more s*** but because i have been here for quite a while..i know what works and what dun..so, in a way, it might be easy for me..but still there will be lotsa admin work..which im also doing quite a bit now..so @ the end..its just whether i want to clear s*** which pays me..or clear s*** that doesnt pay me..hahah...i think the answer quite obvious lor...hahah..but yea..i will just delegate more this yr...and see what happens when the supervisory post comes up again..

thanks mummies

Hi Mommies.

YLN,
It's gd to move up if opportunity knocks. If you persist in remaining in the same position, the management may not like it and feel tat you juz dun want to take on more responsibility although you noe tat you put in more at your current position. Delegate more of your work so tat you can spend more time wif Kaer but remember to remind them of your worth, in a subtle way...

Mrs N,
Too bad they dun hv the TT cup and lids here. Any mommies who want to organise a spree to buy it, pls add me in. TIA =)

nana,

i'm keen to buy but no time to org spree *sigh* and the folks have replied my email - they dun ship direct to singapore so i have to ship to a UK a/c first, then arrange to ship to singapore. the woman said mothercare might have. if u happen to see it, let me know?

YLN

dun think too much, Just delegate 1st. then see what ur supervisor wants u to do.

like Celyn,if ur focus in Kaer, they will arrange some timing for u? maybe after delegate, u hv more time for kaer?

Sylvia
ya..i think this yr, i will delegate..then @ least for this yr, i will time for kaer...next yr then think abt whats going to happen next yr..
...we might be planning for #2..so, i may not take up the supervisory next yr after all...

Been quite some time since I last login.
Have been v busy and tied up after I sent back the maid. Though I've not been posting but have been reading here and there.

Sorry if I missed out anybody!

Mrs N,
Congrats! So you came back to SG for a while before heading back to UK?

Mrs Teng,
Don't be angry la. Men in general are like that. I think you should give yourself a day off and ask your hb to look after them for a change, let him have a taste of what it is to look after kids. Men tend to take things for granted but once you start taking away that, maybe they will learn to cherish or understand how difficult it is to take care of kids.

I think now my hubby realised how xin ku it is to take care of kid and even taking turns to sleep w our girl at night v xiong, not to mention v tired the next day at work.

YLN,
I suppose let nature take its course? For now, you have to ask yourself where your priority is. If it is to spend more time with Kaer, then it's good to slowly let go and delegate to your colleague so that you have a easier time. As for the supervisory position, I guess when it's due then you reassess your situation if you want to take it up.

But as Rona mentioned, sometimes once the opportunity comes and if you miss it, don't have. If being in a supervisory position means more $ and more time for Kaer, I say go for it!

And it's gd for your resume as you've mentioned.

How are you coping with the new maid (I presume you got her alrdy?)?

CNY is coming soon, now headache how to do spring cleaning.... with no maid, i also don't know if want to get part-time cleaner to do it.

I almost want to boil after I noticed she (The part-time cleaner) splashed water from the toilet to my dressing table!!! OMG. So I just asked like how come like that?! Then she realised and she said sorry, she forgot to close the door when she was splashing water around the toilet to clean it :S

afternoon mummies

yu ze is like a little koala bear today. keep wanting me to carry him. refuse to come down to walk. when i try to put him down, he will use his legs to hug me very tight. also very yang oh the whole day. though it feels good to be wanted but i got no strength to carry him for long. lucky he is willing to sit down on my lap to hug him.

valnsw
i agree with what u say too..i think sometimes, being so stressed up..its quite hard to think objectively and rationalize the situation ...its great to have u mummies around

my new maid..hah....i just have to say, my patience has been running out liao...been so bz @ work..i have no patience for the maid to make mistakes..so i end up raising my voice most times..which i know ii shldnt...but i really have no patience to teach now...she's blur lor..but every new maid is like that...hopefully she will pick things up fast..n then i will not need to raise my voice @ her..she does take short cuts...so i will pinpoint it there and then..n make sure the next time..i will watch her doing the chore..she dare not take short cut for some chores now..but others, still will...so, i just have to slowly tell her , one chore by one chore, how i want it to be ..sigh..i really hate this phase..but its better than me being the maid lor..haha

any mummies know where i can buy slipper for yu ze to wear in cc. its meant to wear when he goes to bathe so i think must be able to take wet bah.

Celyn,
I think YZ senses the impending arrival of his meimei so now he just wants more attention?
Hopefully it will pass.

As for slipper, I also wana know what to get, if need to. Ermz, maybe you wana go to Bata to look for those kids' slippers? Or maybe get sandals that can double up as both slippers and wear go out type of shoes?

I've put Chevelle for half-day playgroup in Mar'10. But the principal didn't mention any slippers.

YLN,
take it easy. Teach new one is like vomit blood one. I think you have to give and take, cos hor, no matter how many times u tell them not to do the shortcut, they will just do lo... Is just whether you know or you don't know.

Not to be wet blanket, but based on the last maid I hired and all the others whom my mum employed, this is the observation. If they take shortcut for something not that crucial, I guess can close one eye...

valnsw,
i think no need for half day cc cos she don't stay to bathe mah. so won't have wet feet to wear shoe loh.

mrs teng,
heheh... no problem.

april,
haivanas slipper quite ex right? i don't want to spend a lot cos out grow very fast. going to change yu ze's sandal soon too. from 12 months old till now, less than 6 months he got 6 pairs of shoe liao leh. i don't buy big shoe for him cos i don't want him to trip and fall.

celyn,
I've got good lobang for slippers! go to suntec city royal sporting house (sorry only know this branch) just go right inside there are the haivanas (and one other popular brand) slippers at $9.90 and $3.90 - depending how old or out of season it is. i got a pair for my jer 2 months ago.

celyn,

i've not really come across kid's slippers that i feel are safe, and i dun think it's a gd idea to let kids wear those japanese slippers that separate the big toe from the 2nd toe. crocs is the safest bet coz' it's definitely waterproof and provides adequate support. i bought jibbitz which is much cheaper from kiddy palace. like u, i didn't really like crocs coz' of all the negative reports i read abt it being caught in escalators. but hb says arch support is very good so decided to buy lor. just make sure J does not go near escalator when wearing the shoe, haha.

mommies,

any of u know where i can buy bubble tissue? i think some of u bought during a BP a few mths ago. i'm running out of mine, but dunno where to buy. i quite like it

krex, nana really TT don't do international shipping. Amazon uk do the cups and lids as well and might ship internationally. Well alternatively if you want to order anything from TT and they need a UK address you can get them to post it to me and I can post it to you. Though it a bit of a roundabout route. But anyway just to let you know I've been tidying my cupboard and I've got 2 spare lids which haven't been used. I had ordered 2 sets b'cos I couldn't see the reason why the postage should cost more than the product!
So if any of you would like a lid to try let me know I would be glad to pass it along as it's just sitting in my cupboard at the moment.

Val yes I was back for 3 short weeks! Everytime I come back I feel more and more like a tourist. So many new buildings!!!
Btw happy belated birthday. Hope you had a great day.

morning mummies

i think yu ze wants to be a PR in my room. yesterday, he not only came over to sleep but bring along his pillow and bolster. when i saw him walking over with his hands full, i wanted to laugh and take pic of him. but cos its in the middle of the night, i give up the idea.

krex78,
yu ze used to have a pair of the 'japanese' slippers that he likes a lot. even when it got a bit small for him, he still insist on wearing it. in the end, i hide it in the cupboard then he is willing to wear other shoes. his favourite shoes now is the nike one.

i don't think i will go for cros cos i hate the design not cos of any review and feedback. another thing is that yu ze loves escalator. no way for me to keep him away.

rona,
thanks. i have been buying shoes from thomson royal sporting house for yu ze. i was thinking if there are any choices available but seem no. most likely will go and see.

mrs n,

can spare me your sipper lids? then i can hunt around for a cup that can fit the lids in singapore...

celyn,

does RSS sell cheap shoes? i'm also looking for gd deals for J. so far, managed to find combi and osh kosh shoes when they were on sale.

Hi all..

Was soooo angry with my sis..for not watching over Braiden properly and caused him to fell down jialat jialat...
Braiden fell on his back n his head behind hit on the floor..those red-bricks-like concrete floor at the market.. He kept crying non stop n i was alamed by his loud cries. Am so worried now..
He fell asleep on the way back and now sleeping on the bed.. haiz... Feelin really worried.

NiNi;
Don't blame ur sis, okie? Bcos accidents do happen! A keep falling down these days & the most jialat one is last wednesday's mid nite she fell down from bed, her head hit on mable floor, very impactful. She cried & scream non-stop, her lips turn purple....

MIL & daddy blamed me on that but i told myself, it's accident and no one wants it happen...

nini,
hugs. sayang briaden. i'm sure your sis don't mean it and don't want that to happen too. just monitor and see if he is still active and ok with food. i guess if he is not vomiting should be fine.

krex78,
so far, we have bought 4 pairs of shoes for yu ze. 2 are from babysitter.

1 pair japanese kind slipper at $5, 1 pair of sandal at $15/16, 1 pair nike at $50 (most ex one) from rss. another pair of squeaky mickey shoes from ntuc at $24.90. so i guess they do have the cheapest if you don't count the nike pair.

thanks mel..thanks celyn

thank god he is ok..
Got me sooooo worried that i cried.. cos after the fall, he cried alot n then sleep n sleep.. i felt so scared.
Ask for the malay masseur to come.. she checked n say ok no problem. jus use ice with cloth to soothe the swollen part. Now he's actively running around..
Really first time felt so panic n scared.... Hope this will be the first n LAST time..

i think my hormones are acting up just now. we went to amk hub to return the mio tv set up box. hubby went to 2 multi storey carparks and finally got a lot at the highest level (5b). then instead of making a right turn and walk straight to amk hub, he brought us turn left, walk round the circumference of the carpark and along the road where traffic is quite high though its road leading to carparks. i'm so angry that as i walk i scolded him and nearly got knock down by a on-coming car. i'm sure my face is super black loh. then at hello shop, i was told to join the super long queue to terminiate my service. the poor guy get scolding from me too but still insist that i queue. i just simply refuse to queue and approac another staff at a counter. she give me the same answer but i still insist of not queuing and wants to terminate my service. not sure if she is more flexible or cos my face is super black or she see that i'm preggy. she actually allow me to return the box to her, make a copy of ic and say will terminate for me later. then i just left with anger leaving hubby and yu ze trying to chase after me behind. soon after they lost sight of me, so hubby called me and i shouted at him again saying that i'm already outside. waited for them then again i just walked straight off to the carpark having them trying very hard to catch up.

i know i'm being super unreasonable but i just caan't help it just now.

nini,
glad that he is ok.

Celyn

Wah! you 'Xiao jie" will be very hot tempered next time wor! Cool down lah! Dun be angry...

Ruixuan

Thanks so much for making an effort to visit Clara in the hospital... aiyo! I feel so paiseh leh! Really appreciate your thoughtfulness.. Thank you!

mrs teng,
hahahah.... yah, think she is going to be a 'mu lao hu' leh. originally, fil wants to use this 熙 in her name. i reject cos got 'fire' in the word, don't want her to be real bad tempered. :p

mrs teng,
the 2 man are still thinking about her name. i last know is still either yu xi or yu jing (靓), just a matter of using which word and also if i like the word or not.

i will forward your suggestion to them.

celyn
can understand how frustrating it is for u ..honestly speaking..i dun need to be pregnant to be unreasonable ..hahaha..so now, u have the privilege...just vent it out lor (better than bottling it)...im sure ur hb will ren and understand lor...heehee..n its good that u realized it...for me...hahaha..pregnant or no pregnant..being unreasonable sometimes is what i take for granted..n i dun realize ..so my poor hb most times just give way to me..

morning mummies

yln,
though i know i'm being unreasonable hoh, i don't sorry one loh. :p if hubby don't give in then it will be worse for him. hahaha....

celyn
heehee..as long as ur hb can understand ur pattern..haha...my hb also..knows my pattern very well...so most times, if he sense i 出 pattern liao...he will know how to react..hahaah..

regarding slippers..ya ..kaer has a pair of hiavanas..i bought it cheap..about $10...but must buy during sale lor..@ RSS..me cheapo..i also got a pair of fake croc lor...$4 nia..i actually agree with krex..tho my crocs is fake..but the comfort is there...can see the support for the whole feet is there..and quite well protected..kaer now know how to wear her own fake crocs liao...haha..cuz its so easy to slip it in...

yln,
hahaha.... i also cheapo mummy. i saw a lot of places selling crocs, be it real or fake. even at cc, most children are also wearing crocs. i shall search till i give up. then maybe will give in to crocs bah.

Morning, mommies!

Mrs Teng,
Hw's Clara nw? N the rest at hm? U gotta eat n rest in order to be there for the gals ya?

Celyn,
Dun get so worked up. Dunno if it is due to my tantrums during pregnancy, Anvelle is very bad tempered. N stubborn too. Better to be safe than sorry... So cool it gal!

re: Crocs
I agree wif YLN. I used to dislike Crocs quite a bit until hubby bought me a pair of Minnie Janes. For a person who gets aching feet when I wear flats, Crocs seem no problem for me. Very comfortable, gd support and no back pain.

morning all,

so anyone buying bubble tissue? where i can buy those?

YLN,

i think jibbitz is not fake crocs...seems to be a lower end of crocs, haha. i found one shop in peninsula plaza selling genuine crocs from warehouse at $19.90. bought one pair for J but too big so he will have to wait awhile before wearing it

Celyn,
So "tai jiao" is true la. Lolx. Den u better be more teh wif ur hubby. Gals need to be teh den everything will go her way! Hahahha

morning mommies. =)

mrs teng
hope clara is recovering fast.

nini
good to hear that braiden is alrite, kids are mostly active so u dun be too angry okie?
zynn also have a big bualugu on top of her rite eyelid 2wks ago, accident do happen de lor.

celyn & mummynana
tai jiao do exis....
if u too teh now, u think who ur gal will teh 1st?
ha ha...the mummy will be very busy with a super teh gal de lor. =P

krex
haha..but mine is not jibbitz...its really the fake fake crocs...cheap imitation kind i buy from the market..haha

nana/celyn
actually nana is rite...now that i think back.. my temper hasnt been good whilst pregnancy..n in my work..i keep scolding people..haha..maybe thats y kaer is so good at scolding pple!..u know she will walk to our neighbour's door...and talk VERY LOUDLY (like scolding)..to my neighbour's children..one is same age as her somemore...and the poor boy just keep quiet ..tskk...that explains it..haha..now kaer's temperament also no good...if she dun get her way...she will go around hitting pple..
..sigh..