(2008/08) Aug 2008

speed reading here.. tried to catch up all the posts here....

Thought since my gal now can climb up n down the sofa herself, will b fine to let her sit there while I make her milk... WRONG !!! She fell down
!! 2 days ago... dunno how n didnt really catch her position when she fell... after that been monitoring her.. She shows the sign like wanna vomiting and in fact ystd morn had did that little bit .. rushed her to PD,he said she looks ok( her head n pupil ) n even gave her d 2nd pneumo jab..

but til today,if I fed her milk, she still giving like wanna vomit reaction

Do I need to take her for a brain scan or something ??

Celyn
Thanks so much for the Tees checking.. must b til bit blurred checking the names

Tigg3r
that's lots of words oredi...Well done !!

I finally will b getting a maid... Signed the agreement with agency oredi today.... think by Dec , she'll b here.. ex Saudi. Hope she'll b good...

ling ling

just saw ur post...my PD kiasu type. last time evie fell on her head n seemed more docile than usual, we sent her for xray just in case. guess if u want peace of mind just go for it.

hisstory,

not when he's in the play yard as he prefers to crawl. but outside of it he's quite delighted when we hold his hands to walk around. but he seems to tiptoe a lot, so definitely not steady yet. he also tends to lunge forward when excited so if we let go of him, he'll prob fall also.

nini,

i plan J's menu every week, so he gets a variety of all kinds of foods. if u want a copy of his menu, i can email u. just drop me a mail and i'll reply.

morning mummies

nini,
yu ze started to eat what we eat about 2-3 weeks back. i don't cook separate for him anymore cos he don't want his 'baby food' liao.

so now i got to cook every weekends so that he gets to eat 'healthy' food. of course if we are out, he will eat what is outside and no issue with it.

menu for weekends are:

lunch - porridge + steam fish + either 1 below
a) stir-fry vege with prawn
b) pork wrapped wit asperaus (spelling wrong)
c) fried tou fu

dinner - rice + soup + steam fish

for soup, i will add 'guo qi zi'. then feed yu ze the 'guo qi zi' too. no seasonings are added to all the food except for stir-fry vege and steam fish will have a bit of oyster sauce.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
I think tt might be the start for J to progress to real walking. Ashley sort of had a disdain to cruising and the push walker (Playskool's) but LOVED holding our hands to dash abt.. And when my BIL noticed her tiptoeing alot, he recommended wearing shoes to control tt. I think it worked

Slowly she moved on to cruising and liking the push walker.. And before we know it, she decided to potter ard ;)

mrs teng
uh oh.. sounds like you will have your hands full that day... come when you can okie?

twin stars
got it thanks!

ling
hope nadini is better... get 2nd opinion if you dun feel comfortable eh? mummies know best...
you managed to get an indo helper? or?

...my maid was sent off by my husband this evening..a whole long story...not that i will miss my maid..but i wonder how im going to cope..
..hb thinking of not getting another maid since kaer going CC next yr..sigh..i wonder if i will cope..

YLN,

dun worry, take things one at a time. you'll be having sch hols yah? take this time to bond with your little one

hisstory,

for my case, J loves cruising and has been doing so for very long already. in fact, my MIL joked that he's very fast when getting from one end to the playpen to the other, but he walks sideways of course, since he holds on to the panels. he's also tiptoeing a lot but it gets better when he wears shoes outside. now, he's into pushing stroller. today cried a lot when we asked him to stop. very addictive meh???

Gayle
thanks ... For these couple of days wanna bring N for an Xray just for peace of mind.. but everybody here said I'm bit overdo...
well... I do really hope everything is fine though...

Vern
ya lor... been nagging hb cos I feel N sucking milk slower now n take a longggg time to finish just 180 - 200 ml milk.... after sometime sucking slowly can still give like wanna vomit face
haizzzz...... everybody said I'm bit crazy oredi..

Well, yes I managed to get indo helper, she's ex Saudi for 2 yrs.. hope very hard she'll b real help :p

mommies,
wanna ask do u guys give a list of thing to do for ur maid ? incl timetable like that ? hehehe, dunno how ppl do it here so wonder what to do in the first couple of months maid here :p

my mood is like the sky now...cloudy and cold...sigh..

to try n keep the story as short..my maid was ironing on fri..n i dunno why, but she left the hot iron on the kitchen top..it left 2 iron prints..n to make matters worst..she didnt tell us, n she covered the mark with a hand towel..yestd.she went for her off day..i was cleaning the kitchen top, n was shocked to see the mark..hb saw it too n was furious...we waited for her to get back..hb asked her nicely not to tell lies..showed her the mark.. and asked her what happened there...she said 'dunno'...hb asked her again..how can dunno..then she said , it was the pot that made the print...i think she must be too terrified..but she was quite stupid to say that..as the iron print is an iron print..how can a pot make that kind of print? hb got really mad..n asked her to bring the iron out...and put the iron on the print...n of cuz it matched...so hb asked y she still telling lies..hb asked again when it happened...she finally admitted it was fri...we asked y she didnt tell us n kept quiet..she didnt say a word....hb flared up..n screamed at her...i think she got terrified and started crying ..n stood still for like 5 mins..without moving...after the scolding..maid came to tell me...'i dun want to stay here, i go agent house' ...i asked her ' u dun wanna to work here anymore?' she said 'yes'....
so...called the agent and told her that maid initiated to leave..i think to have the maid saying that she wants to go..thats no point in accepting her apology and keep her...so we packed her off and sent her to agents house..to make matters worst..i finally saw thru her..she actually threw away a pair of shoes i bought for her...right in front of me!..man..i wanted to feel sorry for her..but in the end, i felt so unappreciated..
now, my headache is...how am i going to be able to cope without a maid..
..have to admit that havent done the housework n manage kaer at the same time before...so, im pretty worried ..sigh...

hb didnt think it was a big deal to sent the maid away...said he will do housework...said since kaer going to CC..ok to not have maid..but..sigh...men sometimes dun think thru...thats a lot to looking after a child and house..plus, im working...sigh...n he's a clean freak!..sheeshh..he better do what he promised...to do the housework ..but im concerned that if too much time is spend doing housework, he wont have time to bond and pkay with kaer...

another issue is MIL...she completely lost it when we told her the maid was sent off..she cannot cope with kaer on her own..she definitely needs help...with the house work..just last nite..we realised she had never made milk for kaer!..n dunno how to make!..gosh..hb was a bit mad with her, for having looked after kaer for so long..she has never made milk for her!..sigh..more depressing days to come...

so sorry for whining..but im really quite depressed man...

YLN,

can imagine how u feel? I was abit lost thinking whether to let my maid go but when I think abt it,I know it wld be tough. Though my hb says he wil do his share of house work but when it comes to crunch time, maybe he will do it the first few days or week if lucky. If long term ask the men to do it, sure wiill resent one. End up will be me tabao cos I am the cleanliness freak and I will auto do it.

Hang in there ya? Since u hv decided to send the maid to the agency, stick w it til u get a new maid, hopefully a better one!

YLN

UNderstand how your feeling right now.. big headache. I'll be sending one of my maid back next week cos she wanted to go home after I scolded her. That was like 1 and a half months ago and she's still here and waiting for the replacement to come before leaving. Up till now, she's still doing her job properly and no more complains but maybe it the festive period and she misses home, so she still insist of going home even when I asked her if she has changed her mind.

After reading your post, I also recalled something similar to you. It happened to this maid of mine too, she din know how to clean the LCD TV, used a wet chemcial wipe to clean and leave water marks on the LCD TV. I screamed at her, she was terrified and cried. At that moment, C &amp; C were very young, I had to attempt to them so I ignored her. Without my knowledge, she quickly used a dry hand towel to try and wipe of the already dried watermarks, as a result leaving 4 very obvious scratch marks this time. Tell me how not to be angry? Another round of scolding. That night, hubby got very furious and wanted to send her back. But I told him, even she's the worst maid you can find, I can't let her go, cos I need the extra hand. Gave her warning. And she worked for one year with us. But this time round, I knew she's home sick, cos she started to slack and misses a lot of chores which I have been observing, telling her off was the trigger that makes her want to go home.

From these, I learnt that if I can endure, better endure. Maids are maids, there's no way they can be any smarter cos if they can be, they won't be maids already.

Take it easy and hang in there. I believe your MIL will request your hubby to get a maid cos she can't handle Kaer herself and there's no one to do her housework for her. Use this as an advantage to you. Make your MIL as an excuse to get the maid.

Ling
observe for another day? is she still active?
good lah.. at least you can have someone helping you out.. best to list out all the things you want her to do.. Daily, Weekly, Monthly... if you start thinking now, then when she comes you have less things to think of.. plus some general info for her, impt numbers to call and pls impt DO NOT. like using her phone or climbing to clean windows.. asking permission.. do set boundaries for her.

YLN
oh dear.. sounds like a tough situation for you.. hang in there yeah? if can replace the maid then better for all? Just in case your MIL cannot cope?

Hello YLN,
Jia1You2!!! Gotta hang in there until ur self-volunteered maid decides otherwise... :p It's actually about time management. I believe you'd definitely find a way to juggle, yeah!?
Now that d school hols are here, things are not that bad.. Plus, you get to spend more time with little Kaer. Cheer up!

thanks for cheering..sigh..its exactly becuz its the holis that i want to spend time with kaer..n now, with housework n stuff..i think i will have less time for her..
my hb just smsed..said kaer misbehaved and threw her whole bowl of cereal away..
..MIL definitely cannot handle kaer alone...

YLN,
I know it is tough. Child care issues are also driving me crazy liao. We have to work and need to take care of our bbs. You are really not alone. I send Adel to CC , but he gets sick all the time. Sigh.. one child enough to drain me out liao....

YLN,

I fully understand your headaches as I was in your shoes for 3 full months. Luckily my help was my own mother but my house is big &amp; with a dog somemore. We tabao everyday for dinner, for lunch my mum will cook something simple like porridge or beehoon or even maggie mee. My HB do all the "heavy chores" like sweeping, mopping, bringing upstairs the laundry to hang &amp; cleaning &amp; walking the dog &amp; marketing... i do the bb stuffs together with my mum... we do shortcuts like using the washing machine to wash bb clothes instead of handwash, buying 2 carton of huggies ultra/pullups diapers instead of 2 packets, buying 4 tins of enfagrow, changing bedsheets once a month, oophs etc... not fun &amp; my house got lots of ants!! we spent most of our weekdays evening &amp; weekends doing housework &amp; we became so exhausted.... my PIL will come every weekend to play with bb while we do housework &amp; sometimes MIL will iron ONLY HB's shirts/pants!!!!

My very 1st maid just came back to our house last Thursday, really happy... me &amp; HB actually clapped &amp; clapped... very childish but we did that to show our happiness
&amp; of course inside the car when it was just the 2 of us... last weekend when we went out, we got to eat our food "hot"... simple pleasures!!! i think i will appreciate my maid more &amp; hopefully will get to give her a fat bonus for completing the contract...

if yr HB says he is going to do the housework, let him do it &amp; hopefully, he will throw the white towel soon... having said that, even when my HB say he will do most of the housework, we quarrel a lot too... sometimes, bb will "scold" us for quarrelling!!!

dongle
wah..u actually did the work for 3 months..!..sigh..looks like i need to let my hb try and do all the work before he will throw in the towel..ur hb very nice...sigh...mine..*shakehead*..dunno what to say..i hope i can *tong* ...

Re: BB's speech
Falisha oso got quite limited words that she knows. She understands what i usually say to her but words that SHE says is pretty much limited. Mrs Teng both ur CCs are very good liao! So far Falisha can only say these:

Ma ma (she can say ma but not mi - i teach to say Mummy leh)
Da / Dy (Daddy)
Po po (her maternal Ah Ma aka my mum)
Jiu (jiu jiu aka my bro)
Yee (Yee yee aka my sis)
Yeh (Yeh yeh aka my dad)
Bah (banana)
Bah (bus)
Car
Go
Baby
Bearbear
Mo (elmo)
Nah (take/hold in Mandarin)
Ball ball (balloon she will say ball ball too)
Bird
Dog
Clock
Mum mum (eat)
Na (Nani aka my MIL)
Dah ('beat' in mandarin)
Moo (sound of cow)
Roar (sound of lion)
Tweet (sound of bird)

rona
Whoa! Ur bb got sooo many teeth liao! Falisha has got only like 6 &amp; a half front teeth n 2 molars growing. Haha...

Mrs Teng
I feel u dun have to bring that huge seesaw toy bah..so big n heavy - dun ma fan urself! LOL...really nice of u offer to bring that along leh

YLN
Oh my i hope u will be able to solve the household chores/bb/maid issue soon. Be positive yea! Jiayou

Dongle
Whoa...*salute*

YLN,

yup, 3 full months... we sent the maid to the agency since mid-aug &amp; the big name J**K F***S agency couldnt get us a maid for 2 full months &amp; we went back to our previous agency in oct who got us a maid immediately, then my very 1st maid call us up &amp; want to come back in Nov... within 1.5 week, i planned a 15days trip to Sydney/Melbourne... when maidless, my HB get more $$$ headaches cos i always threatened to quit work &amp; go holiday...

YLN,
Worst come to worst, you can always get a part-time cleaner!
Hee hee, me and hubby have been managing all this while w/o help. Yes, we both clean, mop, wash, iron, blah blah blah everything ourselves. Drop baby K at my pil's place during the weekdays when we go to work. But if we were to have #2, then we'd need help liao... Prob PT help loh... Cos we both dont like having a FT maid in the hse. :p

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Give him maybe 1 more mth? I think J wld start to walk all over liao.. heheh! Maybe he wld give you a Christmas pressie leh

I think they find pushing the stroller quite shiok.. Then again, anything tt's contraband is shiok to them.. heehee

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
*hugs* It's gd tt u've sent the maid away, esp since she's indicated she's not inclined to stay on. Cope with what you can for the moment and prob hire PT cleaner? But how to solve ur MIL's need? Prob ask the PT cleaner to also take up ur MIL's place too..

Hb &amp; I cope with the household chores.. Or it is I who do it. But gotta close 1 eye.. I try to sweep as regularly as I can, but mop like once a week. I live with it coz I'm just too exhausted after a day's work, and the other reason's coz Ashley's at my mum's the whole day except for a short duration when we make our way home

It takes time to adjust, but I'm sure you wld be able to.. Will whining help? heheh, just to make sure ur hb really does deliver his promises

Oh yes, no way to salvage the kitchen top?

Hui Chin,
Falisha very cute leh... Make all the animal sounds!
Really must video tape and show her when she grows up! She's sure treasure these funny moments! :D

yln: Another alternative is to engage a babysitter come ur house n take care of kaer together with ur mom/mil? would it be better? not easy to take care of a kid alone... mi also no help onwards from next week for a month.

YLN,
Understand your predicament. think you should let your hb do housework and slowly persuade him to engage a maid again. you can cite his mum as a reason too, that she cannot cope looking after kaer alone. Furthermore, it will be still a while more before Kaer goes to CC right? then in the meantime who is going to do all the work then?

i just died from cleaning the house...:p

hisstory/rona/nini
PT cleaner could be an option..but it wont work for my MIL..it took her severaL months to *let go* of her housework..to allow the maid to manage..so PT cleaners wont meet her expectation..guess she will need to clean the house herself if she wants it to be up to her standard...as for bbsitter..not possible cuz MIL dun like...she feels she can take care of kaer better...(but must have maid)

i suppose @ the end, i will be the one doing all or mnost of the work..cuz i sometimes end early..n so if i leave the house only to be cleaned @ 8plus after dinner...it will be too late..n we wont have much time to spend with kaer...my hb...i guess i can only wait n see if he will really help with the chores...he has no idea what kaer needs , where her clothes r placed..how to cook her dinner..use what detergent to wash her bottles..etc..n if i teach him (which i can)..i might as well do it myself...which is faster n thus more efficient lor..i suppose he has to start to get familarise with kaer's stuff liao...heehee...bit by bit..sigh...tough days ahead..will bit by bit persuade him to engage another maid lor..

YLN,
Sayang sayang, hang in there. Who knows your hubby will change his mind soon?

HuiChin,
Falisha vv cute

I used to teach my #1 all the animals sound that he din know how to call a cat "Cat".. and a cow "Cow", he'll go Meow Meow and Moo Moo. hahha.

This time i oso din really teach kai .. but maid taught him.

He will say oik for pig and wow for dog, but for his cat .. 'he'll go Ma3 .. as in horse in mandarin ... recently improved to say ""Mao" as in Cat in mandarin.

I oso din track what he knows how to say .. haha, simply bo chap ... 2nd time mommy like tat one.

yln,
sayang. hopefully, your hubby will change his mind. can't offer any suggestions as i don't face this myself.

huichin,
falisha very good leh. that' a lot of words liao. good good.

<font color="#CD3278">mousse</font>
heheh.. But must also see lah, some hb are very gd at teh gong or are really genuinely blur *faint*

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Must start training ur hb liao.. Remind him tt if the big plan is not to have a maid, he's gotta help, otherwise you're def hiring one

Things will look up k? Esp as Kaer gets older, she wld be easier to manage coz she wld understand instructions better

Maid
sigh YLN, Mrs Teng....im also sending off my maid.....even though her work has been ok...she's been very deceitful and lying all the time...sigh

so sick of maids...fresh one also like dat...experienced also like dat..!

i've changed five maids in two years liao.....

I was thinking of getting a second maid...now think think think...better not....one maid is already such a handful...cant imagine having two in the house

Confinement Nannies
anyone has good one to recommend? pls pm me thank u

YLN

Sayang!!

Guess u hv to let ur hb take up some of the chores slowly.If nt, hv to close one eye on the cleaniness? so that u can company kaer?

take care ya!

Babyemma,

suggest you just have one maid. For cleaning at most get another part time helper.

Having 2 maids now is troublesome if they only take care if one kid. Like me now, when bring my kid and maid over to my Mum's place, there is another maid. So there are 2 maids looking after one kid. Can u imagine how free they are that my mum has to resort to getting one of them bake cake in the afternoon?

Moreover, w 2 maids u hv to jagar two and they can work together to tell lies to u. Either they hate each other or help each other to deceive u. I knw tis is v negative but so far this is my experience and others'.

Perhaps wait til you are abt to give birth then think whether wana get another maid. By then your boy would hv gone to playgroup or childcare? Then there would b also some breathing space for both u and the existing maid tat mb u don't hv to hire another.

Just my opinion.

mummynana, small ones no need... cos will be difficult for you to clean afterwards... we'll just have a smaller area if no one else has the bumper or foam...

YLN, oh dear... sayang... got maid also headache, not maid also headache... hiaz... understand it's especially tough when someone in the house is a clean freak... since ur hb volunteer, then let him do it... you also have to ren if the house gets too dirty, then remind him to do cos he volunteer mah... hee... guess he will have to lower his standards eventually...

Just to share, for me and hb, no maid and 2 kids... I fetch both to and from CC alone and cook dinner when reach home as I usually arrive before Hb... Hb will do laundry and washing dishes... whoever is more free after the kids finish dinner will bathe the kids... by the time we adults finish the daily routine is already abt 9pm... if there's time, I have to coach my #1 either do homework or practise piano... PT help once a week to mop and iron... luckily weekends usually can stay over at my parents where there's additional help but of cos will have some conflicts esp in discipline... it's tiring but we both accomodate during weekdays cos we know if we get a maid, we'll prob get lazy and ask the maid to bathe the kids and change diapers... ha!

jen

u good hor..can cope w/o maid, 2 kids and a house to clean...i think i got spoilt liao...maid has been doing everything since i was pregnant...so , i guess its 'separation anxiety' lor...

today, i managed a bit better...only need to come in to work in the afternoon, so in the morning..managed to get most work done..later when i go pick kaer up @ 4plus..dun need to do much..just cook her dinner , wash up, and play a bit with her..sigh...i guess i will get used to it lor..

thanks mummies for all the support and cheers...i will hang in there

yln,
i agree. i think its a matter of time in getting used to it.

when #2 comes, i think we won't be getting maid too. yu ze goes cc and #2 goes babysitter's place. mostly, arrange yu ze to take school bus. either babysitter come and fetch #2 or hubby send alone in the morning. hubby still do all the housework on weekends. i will request to be home earlier to cook dinner for all, after dinner then fetch #2. come back, play with both for maybe 30 mins - 1 hours then put them to sleep liao. this is the current plan for now. hopefully, it will work out.

mrs teng,

very smart advice. use MIL to get hb to hire maid. heh heh.

YLN,

yah i know it's tough w/o maid. i almost had the same scare when my maid told me that she wanted to go home. it was like deja vu all over again coz' my first maid was sent back in aug, 2nd maid didn't last for one month, and now my 3rd one wants to go back. i think my MIL drove all my maids crazy, but like my hb said, she will not admit that she can't do w/o a maid. in my case, i sent maid to agency for counselling and they somehow managed to make her come to her senses. i think they asked her to think abt her 3 children that depend on her for money. so i guess that tactic worked. i've no doubt my maid misses her family but she has managed to do her chores relatively well despite missing her family and being nagged at by my MIL very often. i hope she will be able to finish her 2 yrs.

talk to your hb again and see if u can get him to agree to have a maid. maybe a transfer one so she won't have to stay that long? after all, if kaer goes CC, you may not need a maid for another 2 yrs since she'll be very free staying at home and shaking legs. otherwise consider part time or weekend help?

celyn,

your nanny seems to be quite flexible. she can even pick your kid up from home or send him to your house? does she stay nearby? how much does she cost? i was telling hb...if my MIL drives away my maid again, i will consider hiring nanny for #2. by then J should be in nursery or can be put in child care already, heehee.

krex78,
yes, she is very nice. she got a car. so when hubby is not free to fetch. she will send back for me. i just wait at home for them.

so if need be, i will consider to get her to come and fetch #2. cos she will drive pass my place when she send the special boy to school in the morning.

currently, i pay her $550 per month.

celyn,

what special boy? $550...hmmm...comparable to cost of maid. i guess if we use bb sitter, we will be dropping the maid.

how did you find your bb sitter? word of mouth?

so far, did yu ze get sick coz' of interaction with other kids? i suppose not as bad as infant or child care since they are exposed to more kids there?

krex78,
my babysitter is also looking after a special boy (in minds sch) together with yu ze. that special boy is my colleague's son.

yu ze fall sick less than 5 times bah. i can only recall twice fever (once UTI and once viral fever), once flu.

once the special boy got chicken pox, i keep yu ze away. yu ze didn't get from him.

yu ze does interact with lots of children playing around at void deck or going to that special boy school. yu ze knows most of the people at babysitter's blk. hahaha...

my babysitter is my colleague's elder sis, sort of i know her liao.