(2008/08) Aug 2008

shirley,

oh dear, what happened? must be very disappointed that trip got cancelled.

rona,

i where got slim? my face starting to look round again after i realised i gained weight
actually, i've no idea how u look like so can't comment on your size :p where can i find a picture of you???

hisstory/ YLN,

when i was BF, there was a period of time when my weight dipped to 47 or 48kg. i was so happy then! coz' before i was preggie, i was about 50-52kg. it wasn't my ideal weight but i think i gained coz' i just came back from UK trip and ate a lot while on holiday. now i've reached this weight already lor, so i'm getting worried. my aim was always to keep below 50kg coz' i think once i reach 55kg, i'm beyond my BMI (coz' i'm short). last week, i cldn't sit comfortably in my pants. the feeling was like when i was 4-mths preggie and my pants was getting tight. then sun when i went to weigh J and myself, i realised i put on weight but J lost weight!?! *faintz*

Shirley,
Oh no, so poor thing! Hope you feel better soon. So suay to 'clash' with your holiday!

Cat,
Thanks for the information.

<font color="#CD3278">shirley</font>
Oh gdness..Are you still dizzy? Don't attempt to do the household chores yah, esp if they aren't urgent. Anyone able to help you with Gerlene?

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
You just went UK? Nvm, after you've enjoyed a gd trip, you can work out.. Ur ILs place got pool to swim in..

Eh, J's getting more active tt's why he lost wt?

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Yday while I was running, I told myself I cannot stop.. must keep going &amp; going. Haiz, I hope it becomes like u said, a routine, then I won't 'dread' it

nah could be i also very ke qiang go do household chores when a little better lor...hiaz..

my hb's sisters help take care of ger lor...a few nites here and a few nites there..me very xin tong leh see my gal like tat travel around..just hope get well soon...yesterdae wanna hug my gal, she reject me leh...first time leh she dun want me so sad so sad....

doc say depends on severity of the ear inflammation, can takes up to weeks to recover fully...coz it affect my balancing lor..still need do physio leh...

thanks everyone for the concern...me will strive to get well soon so can join everybody again

hi mommies.
i kena the side effect of the flu jab le...feeling flu, but just no flu symptom...ha ha...
i mean common flu har! =P

rona &amp; linx
u gals is no exercise then like that mah, my case is i exercise alot still this size.
eh...can imagine if i dun exercise? >D

m2b
when my 3 monsters at home on wkend, unlikely i can choose another type of exercise.
my main form of exercise is scolding around at home + running behind zynn, sad rite? -_-"

balugu
take care, rest more now.

celyn
weight should not be ur concern now, u eat more lah u....ha ha....

hisstory
good work, keep it up.
exercise is more for ur health, outlook is secondary.

Snow,
well said. Exercise is more for health! but if weight loss cos we are trimmer due to exercise, that'a a big bonus! heheheee...

think i have to sign up one of those runs. even for 5km also good. if cannot run, brisk walking is also good. any form of exercise is still good exercise

hisstory,

no lah, i went UK in 2007 before i got preggie. it's so ironical. my ILs place got swimming pool but J never really gets to swim there. ILs don't bring him out swimming often. we end up going club to swim on sundays. dunno why he didn't gain weight leh. maybe poo too many times a day? my MIL says he pooed 5-7 times a day last week. then now he's down with fever and cough. sure lose weight one.

<font color="ff6000">Yuuri</font>
I will fail the 2.4km also leh... how to pass when we only brisk walk?? 5km, can run very very slowly mah...

rona
ya, if sicky sicky then how slim also wun look nice ya?

5km??? *faint*
its very gd if u can lor.
my leg got injury, i can only "run" in gym. =)
uneven road run le will be pain pain de.

yuuri
beside sit-n-reach and sit up, i never ever pass the rest of the nafa test before...ha ha...
especially my pullup, 1micro sec also cannot. =P
at least u gals still can run 2.4km. =)

so many post to catch.

snow74 &amp; m2b,
not that i don't want to eat leh. appetite is so so only. i have yet to gain any weight and lost weight.

shirley,
oh no... you take care leh. how come can get ear inflammation? you need to go physio now?

yln,
i'm a lazy bum lah. always complain that i never exercise but will also never act on it one lah. if shopping is consider exercise then its the only exercise i do loh. hahahah......

<font color="#CD3278">shirley</font>
You conc on resting well.. Gerlene will always be your little girl, mummy's little girl k?

I think my MIL also had sthg like tt, but was discovered early..

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
hahah.. I hiao lah, looking gd is also very impt!

Have seen pix of your ILs place, i think the pool is quite nice.. Esp when there's shade! I like condo pools coz not so leh chey to bring all the barang.. walk up can liao

Rona,
Think I don't even have the stamina to run very very slowly 2.4km! Haha

Snow,
Haha Nafa test I always only walk/run 5 rounds instead of 6 rounds. Ironically, I was a sch runner :p

hisstory,

do u live near kovan? the place is good for families with young kids coz' the pool is very fun. but i find the apartment size very small. my MIL's unit is one of the biggest already and it seems even smaller than my 5-rm hdb flat in punggol.

Hi mommies.. Just to relate an incident yesterday.. While i was feeding Braiden his porridge, i also got a bowl of hot soup on the coffee table to cool it and Braiden can drink after the porridge.. I was feeding him n chatting with my sis at the same time, i was sitting with my legs blocking him from the table.. then suddenly he roll down from the sofa n his hands overturn the bowl of hot soup ON MY LEG! i scream in pain... the bowl was smashed into pieces n the hot soup jus scaled my inner thighs and whole leg... But first thing i quickly ask my sis to check if Braiden is hurt, luckily he is fine. But my poor leg become lobster leg... damn painful lor.. So red n swollen up.. Luckily my hubby is on MC at home so clean up the mess while i quickly go apply medication.. Very worried the whole patch will turn into blisters.. but luckily the swollen subsided n at night ok liao..tho still got 'mark'.. Now still got a pinkish mark on my calf.. still feelin abit sore but overall am glad im ok.. haha..
Cos the soup was from hot pot so very hot ah... But i dont n never blame Braiden la cos he so innocent n not on purpose one.. Next time i will never ever bring anything HOT near him....thinking im there to guard it n he wont touch it one lah... im so wrong!

morning mommies. =)

celyn
1st trimester is like that 1 lah, mid 2nd trimester ur appetite will come bk de lor.
dun worry, and eat more...hee hee...

hisstory
which women dun wanna looks gd rite? =P

yuuri
ooi, school runner....boon bi bi leh...ha ha...
normally things u do until sian liao hor, u will try to "eat snake" when there is no obligation ya?
i'm also a basketball player which always escape PE lesson 1, lazy lah. =X

nini
hope u are ok by now. =(

long time never login. How's everybody?

To all the sick babies and mummies get well soon!

Talking abt exercise,I never do tat for a v long time.
Used to be more active,somemore was in sports team in school, now nua like anything.

Been quite busy but hopefully can come in more often once I am less tied up. So fast it's another yr coming to an end. Now can look forward to Xmas!

Nini

oh no hope your leg is ok now.
Did u see a doc?

Hehe think u also worried if your leg has scars,women v ai Mei.

Think u gotta watch Braiden more cos my girl can stand up in her high chair when feeding her.

Recently she also started walking on tip toe, duno where she learn from. Damn worrying.

Re running

Any of your kids running? When my girl is v excited, she will run and I meant run v fast! Can faint, hv to really watch her cos I am so scared that she will fall down if run too fast

valnsw,
standing on high chair is nothing new for yu ze liao. he had been doing that long ago. he fall off high chair once, also not scare.

he also walk on tip toes sometimes. as for running, i just let him be. he won't learn not to run if he don't fall.

THANKS mommies,im ok lah.. I jus scared got form blister only. Ya if Braiden tries to stand up from the high chair at outside (at home we dun use that anymore) i will piak his leg... cannot anyhow jus stand up so dangerous! =(

nini,
thank God u and braiden are fine! hope the mark will vanish soon and no scars left on ur nice legs!

m2b,
wow, u exercise 3 times a week. no matter u are so well maintained! i.dont.do.any.exercise.i.am.a.lazy.pig.

valnsw,
my boy also attempts to run when he is overly excited.

mommies with kids age 3 to 12 at home.
there is a common virus spreading now, it will cause the kid to run high fever + vomit till they very weak.
no medicine to cure at this moment, gotta depend on the kid's own anti-bodies.
kids who kena most likely need to be admitted, and most of them on drip. =(
scarry rite?

nini
glad to noe that both u and braiden are alrite. =)

valnsw
my cannot walk zynn will run with me holding her hand also, she will shout when she run some more wor.... =P

high chair:

i realise the IKEA one is actually quite light, so even when you buckle bb up, he can still move the chair with his own might. quite scary. maybe shld consider getting a chair that is more stable at the base.

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Women wld def feel tt way hor.. But my colleagues, esp the guys, always suan me.. They say, no need lah, married &amp; with a child, no need for further maintenance *bleah*

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Ouch!! *sayangs* Must be more watchful with Braiden around.. It could have been him hor? Must have scared you, almost to death!

My parents' are at HG.. You know Sgn JC?
I am not too far off either

Bo bian lah, all the new flats/condos/apts are all so puny these days..

morning mummies

nini
lucky you are ok.. ya they are really fast. everything must put far away. should put him on the high chair to feed, think safer.

val
ya bernice likes to run too. aiyo.. i always worry she fall down. plus my maid walk also slower than her not to mention run.. haha. she's always like a meter behind.

Good morning mummies

Nini
Glad to know you ok... Good thing Braiden is ok else cannot imagine how man.

Snow
Sounds scary!

Val
Darwisyah also like to run especially when she is excited! Nowadays she still can play hide and seek with the kor kor.. run around the house and hide.

heehee im fine lah, but to think of it, really lucky im the one who kena and not Braiden.

Just not went to foodcourt to eat, saw 3 maids sitting there chatting with 2 ang mo babies.. The bb so cute mah so i smile at him n friendly smile at them, then one of them STARED at me.. n the rest also like 'diao' me like that.. Aiyah! so rude lor... Wah lau..how high class can they be!?!

missysz
cos my friend's niece being admitted last nite, the dr told her to let inform all her friends who have kids age range from 3 to 12. =(
i worry my #1 leh, she high fever will kena fits also de....and no medicine at this moment some more.

hisstory
ai yo, man all like that de lah.
if got 1 chio bu walk passed them, u can see how they stare lor.
at that moment, u think they noe if that chio bu is married?
ha ha...we got quite alot of chio chio mummies here in this forum also u noe? >P

medusa
ya lor, just observe carefully at this moment lor.
me abit more ks, told my sis not to bring #1 to school if she saw any of her classmate running even slight fever...bo bian.

i just came back from yu ze's hydrocele follow up. its still there but better. need to follow up again in 6 months. by 2 years old still there then need to do a minor op for him.

remember i say that i don't believe he had put on so much weight. i weigh him at kk again just now. he is indeed more than 8kg now. cos he keeps moving on the weighing machine so can't get accurate weight, between 8.1-8.5kg. hehehe....

Nini,
Glad to hear Braiden's ok. My heart would have stopped momentarily!! Hope your leg's better also.

You mean the angmo kids diao you or the maids diao you?

Celyn,
Yu ze good boy lah...put on more weight so can let mummy more relac during this pregnancy!

krex78,
its has nothing to do with g6pd. its the development of the testis. there is water inside the testis so comparing the size with normal conditions, its bigger in size. when you shine a touchlight on it, you can see very bright orange colour kind. inside the sac is water. by 2 years old, it will go away. if it doesn't then need to op to remove the water.

from what the doc explain, the testis is form somewhere then through a little tube that it get to where it belongs. that's how water manage to get in from this tube. but if the tube is big, it means that intestine can get to fall into the tube to the testis which is more serious. this condition is known as hernia which needs op immediately.

hernia:
Babies don't get hernias from lifting bricks in the back yard. Hernias begin while still in the mother's womb. All fetuses have an opening in the abdominal wall as a part of the developmental process. In boys, this opening allows the testicles to drop from the abdomen into the scrotum. This hole usually closes shortly after birth.

Normally a small portion of the abdominal lining follows the testicle into the scrotum. "This small sac of lining, known as the processus vaginalis, leaves a hole between the abdomen and the scrotum," explains Michael Marchildon, MD, Virtua/duPont pediatric general surgeon. "Over time, this weakness may allow the intestine to drop into the scrotum alongside the testicles causing what's known as an inguinal hernia." In other cases, the hole is too small for the intestine, but fluid fills the sac. This is another common ailment, often mistaken for a hernia, known as a hydrocele.

medical way of explaining hydrocele.
A hydrocele is a fluid-filled sac surrounding a testicle that results in swelling of the scrotum, the loose bag of skin underneath the penis. About one in 10 male infants has a hydrocele at birth, but most hydroceles disappear without treatment within the first year of life. Additionally, men — usually older than 40 — can develop a hydrocele due to inflammation or injury within the scrotum.

Hydroceles usually aren't painful. Typically not harmful, hydroceles may require no treatment. However, if you have scrotal swelling, see your doctor to rule out other causes, such as testicular cancer or other conditions.

Halo Mommies!

Hisstory,
Keep it up!

Yaya, some frens/colls also say married with 2 kids liao, no need maintain liao

Snow,
Yalor, me want health and looks too...heehee
Aiyo, the virus sounds scary...my #1 and nephews are all below 12yo.

Nini,
Think you are more worried abt Braiden than your own leg...hope your leg will be ok soon.

snow74, m2b, hisstory and happy mummy,
the photos are very nice!!!

snow74,
it did sound very chim to us in the beginning too.

celyn
thx. =)
ya, it turn out quite nice.

i read till cross eye leh.
then i'm thinking, as long as yu ze is ok can le lah...

snow74,
hahah.... yah loh. looking at how it had develop so far, i think its possible for it to go away on its own by 2 years old then no need op liao.

celyn,

one of my godsons had an undescended testicle which required an op. after that ok already. all these is usually spotted during visits to PD rite? i'm still wondering whether to test J for thalessamia or not. my hb is a T minor, and one of my godsons recently went for test and was confirmed to be one also.

krex78,
for yu ze's case, its our babysitter who told us to check. she had look after a few boys so she know yu ze's one is a bit big and different from the rest. so she tell us to check with pd on our next visit. before we can wait for his first pd's visit which is like 3 days later, hubby already very gan cheong and bring him to sbcc. only then we were told about it. then on our own pd's visit, pd also told us the same thing again. so in a way, we spend $100+ over at sbcc for nothing.

doc at polyclinic didn't detect it when we went for his hep b jab at 1 month.

thalessamia, i don't know how it works. do baby get check when they are born? what are the effects of having it?

celyn,
Thalessamia is blood disorder - blood tests.

krex,
Thalessamia is hereditary. so your J may have it. but so long as he is happy, eating well and developing well, no need to worry about it. But good to check it. If he has it, then next time he better not marry a gal with this condition too.