(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning mommies...

MummyNana, my ger almost 14mths liao, aso can't walk without support. Furthermore, she's the tip toe type. Think still long way to walking on her own...

re: bb talking
Yumin has alot of vocab now, dunno whether she knows anot, she can pronounce something similiar to 谢谢,这是, izzit. But up to her likes lah... haha

sam
yumin can speak double words liao har? =)
zynn yesterday only told me "bar, bar".
was still thinking what she was trying to say, until she pointed at bus. =P
diff bb progress differently ya?

snow,
its up to her moods de. happy say, not happy dun say. and she will only say it once, out of the blue de. and she wont repeat even if u repeat for her... i think our bb imitating our language now... haha

snow
i know what u mean..CC can turn out worst for kaer cuz there's so many other children and all different habits...that's y i spent such a long time finding one that i feel has a ok environment during june...i have narrowed down my search to 2 CCs around my place ...there will definitely be risks involved lor..but if im comparing my MIL place and CC..i definitely see more benefits in terms of learning...i think u prob have more faith in ur sis looking after ur girl..but my MIL..tsk..tsk..i have 0 faith lor..after these few incidents that has accumulated over the months..

sam
agreed.
thats why we really gotta behave ourselve, and be a gd role model. =P

yln
okie, i understand.
but u must monitor a change in her character when u place her in cc hor, cos its definitely less loving as compare to ur mil place for her lor.

Morning, mommies.

Juz abt to start reading the posts when my stupid boss call n ask me to draft a damn chiong hei letter. will go do it first den come in to catch up on the posts. See u later!

YLN,

i can understand how u feel. can be frustrating when u can't tell MIL off and she doesn't listen to you. J has the same prob. MIL now feeding him in front of TV. hb already told her not to, so dunno whether she listen or not this week. at almost 14 mths, J still needs MIL to hold his milk bot to drink milk, pretty much a baby. he also has bad habits when being put to sleep, like must use pacifier and hold hand. we cut down on the holding hand at night when we put him to sleep and he can usually settle. we're trying to take off pacifier now but that would prob require more cooperation from my MIL coz' she tends to give him pacifier even when he's not sleeping. <sigh>

Happy_Mummy/ Snow/ Sam,
Agree. I dun think they noe wat they are talking abt too. They are juz imitating our speech and repeat them everytime they deem fit. My grandma taught Anvelle to say Bye bye ytd. And she surprised us by saying bye bye when we were leaving for hm. So tats a big wonder!

Valnsw,
The mozzies these days are so strong leh. On anti-mosquito repellent also no use. And they leave such huge patches. Gotta buy more tights (like stockings type) for Anvelle liao.

Re: Tommy Tippee
It's available at Mothercare and John Little. Nut Mothercare has a bigger range, especially the Harbourfront branch.

Krex,
My gran n hb gives Anvelle her pacifier too. But I will take it away when she is awake or when she has fallen asleep. And I will tell her tat mummy's darling doesn't eat tu-tu. So after a couple of mths' training, every time I catch her wif her pacifier when she is awake these days, she will take it out n give it to me.

re: CC
I was contemplating IC but my grandma is totally against it,even when I told her maybe I will send her to CC at 18mths. She observed the CC at her void deck plus the things tat the aunties wking there tell her. She told me to keep her at hm until at least 2YO. The aunty told her tat unless there is nobody at hm to look after, dun send bb to CC coz the teachers dun genuinely care for the children. And it's pretty hard for the kid if he/she cannot talk yet.

mummynana
agreed with ur theory on cc, its lucky that ur grandma has a sharp observation.
i cannot comment much lah, but i noe how they handle kids inside lor. =|

Halo Mommies!

Snow, Hisstory, Val &amp; Sylvia,
So paiseh leh…the waitresses must be thinking “this family real greedy, tablespoon oso wana steal” =P

Celyn,
Is YZ ok from the fall? Mae likes to stand up on the high chair too so we must look out…
Cute pics you have of the family and YZ!

Hisstory,
I will post the canvas layout in FB for you to see later k?

Happymummy,
Usually Mae can entertain herself with the cutlery for some time while we eat…then we just give her whatever we are eating can liao…she likes to eat lor heehee

YLN,
Know how frustrating it is for you…but like what Snow said, be prepared for frequent falling sick if send to cc…it takes time for the kid to build up their immune system…having said that, I’m thinking of sending Mae to cc when she is 18m or 2yo too…

m2b
no lah, such thing do happen when u bring bb out lor.
there are so many times that zynn almost bring "ah bor" home from the ball pit in those inhouse playground. =P

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
hahah.. buay diam kind.. Super cannot sit still

Yday I was feeding her pear puree.. Then hb was eating a banana, and she insisted on eating it. So I shoo hb away coz I want her to finish the pear before banana..

Wah, she wail like we abandon her.. Piangz!!

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Great!! But I've prob logging on to FB these days.. Office upgrading server bandwidth

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Ur hb really treat Yu Ze as big baobei.. Super sayang!!

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
hahah.. Yah lor, i think by the time she manages to reach somewhere, no time to shop liao.. So usually hb wld walk with her &amp; meet me at the shop! hahahah!

So does Chevelle still sit in the pram now tt she can walk?

hisstory
understand...ha ha....i mean that kinda wail that u are suffering, cos that happen to zynn also.
if u let her saw whats insdie her sis's bowl is diff, she will wail very loudly also...like going to kill her. -_-"

mummynana
this kinda thing gotta take it offline....shh...
before forum moderator kick me out. =X

nana,

late nite, when J stirred after sleeping, we found the paci inside his romper at the back! dunno how it went in there *faintz*

m2b,

i'm supposed to go reserach kindis next week when on leave. if i send my kid for playgroup at 18 mths, my MIL will have to be there for the 3-4 hours also right? i dun think he will allow the teachers to take care of him for that duration, esp since they're strangers. btw, at what age does nursery start?

mommies,

what kind of toothpaste do u use to brush bb's teeth? what abt toothbrush? i'm using first teeth, together with the finger brush but get bitten by J every night. very painful leh. can start using kid's toothbrush already or not? he only has 6 teeth.

m2b,
thanks. he is ok just got a little scar on the chest now, will be ok lah.

hisstory,
yah, he is his big baobei loh.

krex78,
i bought pigeon step 2 toothbrush and use first teeth toothpaste but i don't brush daily cos most of the time forget. heheh....

celyn,

wah cheem. step 2 toothbrush. maybe i go take a look at robinsons later since still got sale. J likes his toothpaste very much. every night very excited when i come to him with finger brush, then he happily bites like an alligator!

Snow,
Haha, this is the 1st time Mae brings something back from outside w/o paying of coz…haha

Hisstory,
Posted liao…hope the canvas won’t be too big though…size is 20” by 40”

Celyn,
Glad YZ is ok liao…Mae gets scratches here and there too…just now, #1 called me and guess what, she passed the phone to Mae and she called “Mama mama”…aiyo, feels like hugging her then…

Krex,
Nursery is from 3years old.
N1 – 3
N2 – 4
K1 – 5
K2 – 6

YLN,
I think different people have diff view about CC. I am all for it, cause I think Adel gets fed at regular timing and is happy interacting with his friends. The only down side is he keeps getting sick. But so far so good now, he's stayed clear of flu for about 1 month already.

Often I just pop by to check, and the teachers are generally doing their job. If i am not happy, I tell the teachers so they can keep more lookout, but I am generally satisfied. Not all centres are the same, I believe in choosing the right one. Just like I wanted to shift Adel to the one near my house at 18 months, but after looking at the place, I decided not to and let him remain in Yishun Safra. So feel free to go have a look, you may just see what you like.Adel learnt to climb stairs at the CC cause they have a mini bridge =)

Hi mommies..

dropping by to say HELLO!

Btw Braiden is having runny nose n abit of cough... He seems to have noseblock during his sleep.. Maybe later bring him to see doc cos he feels abit heaty too.. scared develop into fever then i jialat...

hubby went overseas since last sat..coming back this sat.. wah.. i cant wait.. really siong to take care of bb alone.. my mil also lazy to coming saying she work until 5pm (school libarian) n from hougang she can spend 2 hrs to come here by bus. even thou i tell her MANY times take mrt is much much faster but she jus so lazy to change train. *roll eyes* I m jus so shacked out... Really evious those who have help with their kids..

happy mummy
ya..diff pple have diff expectations, given their own situations..im also very worried about kaer falling sick in the CC..but i do try to weigh the benefits and disdvantages...
i actually went to look at 12 CCs during june..scheduling about 1-2 places in one day...and it took me about 2.5 weeks to finish seeing..so i already did my first round of checking...in dec, i will go and see the 2 that i have selected..and spend more time there..i think this time, i will specifically look at the teachers teaching method, how the kids interact and the food they give!..heehee

krex78,
no lah, not cheem. you go see, pigeon toothbrush got 3 step one. step 2 is for 8 tooth one.

m2b,
so sweet. i would want to fly home leh.

nini,
sayang braiden. you take care too.

krex78,
i bought pigeon step 3 tooth brush, brush w/o tooth paste. A only let me brush her lower teeth, but come to upper teeth, sigh....

Nini
Dun worry so much ok.... 4 more days to go, hang there!!!
i remember when A 7 mths, i was alone take care of her for 2 weeks! No hb, No MIL &amp; nobody (relatives) visit me during that time.... Lucky tat time A quite cooperative...

Happy Mummy,
My nephew is at the Student Care of Safra Yishun...he used to be in that cc too...My sis is full of compliments of that cc.

Nini,
Hang in there! Hehe, for me, I rather handle both gals myself than MIL coming over heehee

Celyn,
I wish I can fly home too!

m2b
bb wun noe de, they only noe mama's bag is the most safest place for them to keep things...ha ha...till now, #1 also everything keep inside my bag.
but ofcos, paid things lah. =P

raine is trying to lure ma ma home?
smart move. =)

m2b,

oic. so if i put J there when he is 2, it's either full/ half day child care or play group is it? i think i will only let him start at 2 yrs.

celyn,

i went to buy the set of 3 just now at robinsons coz' cldn't decide which one he'll prefer, heh heh. at least no more injured fingers for me tonight!

YLN,

so which CC u want to put kaer in? i haven't done research yet leh...can share share?

Snow,
Haha, maybe thats #1's motive ya? =P
Anyway, she has been telling me dun go work recently...
Yaya, #1 also always keep things inside my bag so we very scared she wants to bring things out...end up sure we are the 1 taking or carrying...

So sad, can't join u gals for play date on 02 Oct as I will be on leave on 01 Oct instead coz visiting new place and also Children's Day...

Krex,
Yes, before that is childcare or playgroup

I started my #1 at 17mths+ and my male coll said I so cruel...send my kid to school so young *_*

THANKS Mommies!!!

m2b: haa..true true..but sometimes jus wish got an extra helping hand like play with him or distracting him. while i cook his meals or do my stuffs.. Anyways, really lor..tiring
my sis will be back in a week n luckily she can help me with braiden..haha.. im so not independent! =p hubby tinks maid is no good so im all on my own till he goes to childcare~

krex
i stay in the west..so my preferences may not be close for u ..where do u stay?

anyway..i found the montessori CCCs very elite lor..i dun like it...every centre i go to ..all tell me must reply them in one months time to secure a place...the curriculum may be good ..but they are ususally more expensive...price aside, i also consider other factors like the culture, the teachers' interaction with kids, the principals' stand on certain issues, the way the kids interact with each other (it can tell alot about themselves and how teachers have taught them), how they interact with strangers(cuz i do pretend pretend and speak or gesture to the kids in the CCC when i did my research)..etc..

i saw one salvation army one , which looks very ulu and loklok...but everything there quite fits my expectations..so, many times, appearance may not be all that important...thats my feel lah..

at the end of the day, i want the ccc to teach and impart good and right moral values to my child ..and elitism is not something i approve of...sorry if this statement may offend some mummies..kaer must learn to be humble and respectful and love everyone the same..

just my thots..

YLN &amp; Krex,
1 thing to look out for is whether the kids at the cc are happy! There was 1 cc that I visited when searching for #1, the kids are so bubbly and happy...even my coll said this is a good cc to put the kid in but I didn't coz of distance

m2b
have u ask ur #1 why she dun wanna let u go work?

ai yo, there is always a next time mah.
thats the problem with working mum lor, lesser freedom in this case. =(
my next planned ccl is 13th, let me noe if u have any meet up in mind okie? =)

krex78,
hehehe.... good, your finger is safe tonight. yu ze will want to hold the toothbrush to brush himself. i will give it to him after i brush.

m2b
i agree with u..
thats y i spent quite a lot of time observing the children in the CCCs i researched...talking to the principal or teachers is very one sided..the children are the best advertisements for the CCC!

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Now the rat becoming piggish.. Everything also interesting &amp; more exciting than their food.
I was eating mooncake in front of her &amp; she cried for it.. Alamak! Must corners in the house to eat so tt she doesn't ask for it..

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Looks veryvery yummy.. Macadamia nuts too! I like!!!

History

Yeah! it macadamia nuts too, I like the crunchy feeling when you bite it..

Sam

Dun know nice or not leh! I haven't taste yet.. Got to wait for a few days for the lotus paste oil to soften the skin.. Hopefully by Friday can distribute..

mrs teng,
distribution to where ? Can distribute to bishan ? Or I go take also can ! hahahaha ! I just need one.. can buy from you also =) I going SK on Sat.

Childcare,
today Adel had diarroeh in cc. the teacher called and said pls bring him home immediately. so hubby had to rush out of school to bring him back then run back school again. In the end, adel came home and did not pass motion anymore ! luckily my parents were at home to look after him. So even put bb in CC , still must have standby one. when they are sick also barred from cc. So for us worknig parents, having back up plan is still a must.

sam

ya..... I think they learning to speak liao. but must be accordingly to mood lah.

BBM can twinkle twinkle n sing along too. she also can AIYA!!! when she drop her things. hahaha!! or take phone n HELO!

hahaha!!