(2008/07) July 2008

SY,

Depends on what kind of activities your hb likes. My hb loves to eat so dinner is sufficient. But if he wants surprise.. hmmm how about Couple Spa? It'll be something different, and also a way for him to relax. Can follow with dinner/drinks or movie of his choice afterwards.

bbp
i did think about flyer. we went once with the kids before. he may not be keen to go again cos there's really nothing much....

SD
hmm thinking more of day time cos night time hard to go anywhere as kids need someone to fetch...hee my hb is not a spa person. he can't stand massages cos he's very afraid of tickles....

thanks for all the suggestions!!

Is it incredibly hot or what?!

SY
Day trip to Bintan/Batam/Ubin/JB outlet mall? Walking the open part of the railway tracks if you missed it the last time (might be too hot though), High tea? What did you both enjoy doing together when you were dating? What if you re-create a date that you both had a great time on in the past?

PB
Very cute ballet slippers for girls: http://www.pupsikstudio.com/shop-by-brands/baby-shoes-pitter-patter/

Tutu: think Dor made one for E before, and E wore it to the first Halloween party? You could ask her for instructions and make one for Poppy

wahhahah to DD's CB cream cure for my itchy backside.... good that your family is with you for CNY. different when tis your mum and sisters compared to the MIL and HB's side of the family. i feel you, sista!
really no one buying from drugstore.com or diapers.com?? qing? dor?

SY,
no stress dear. i second youpi - recreate whatever you did when you were dating. how about he plans the morning until lunch and you the afternoon?
hey hey kidnap him for a movie! the latest mission impossible movie is quite good for a date movie. action packed, not much plot, you need to suspend belief that whatever is shown on screen can actually happen.

dress up clothes
for C1, a blanket or nappy is a pirate's cape or a sailing boat. my cushions become props for imaginary play. hmm, maybe boys are easier to please in this area.

Cellow
Haha yes she has her usual blanket for lion dance and "dress" but I've seen little girls' eyes light up when they put on real princessy dresses and I would so love to let her have that fun!

Youpi
Ah, my sewing skills are NOWHERE near dordor's!! If dordor were an ameda double electric breastpump, I would be the single avent manual
actually I've made her a ballerina tutu skirty thing before but it was really itchy and even I didn't want to touch it haha

ohhhh I also got that ballet slipper link but quickly deleted before I kena sia-ed :S

Anyone knows where they sell unbreakable mirrors apart from ikea? Ikea has one full kids length one but with a not so cute crocodile :S

SY,
Here's a link for you.
http://www.srijn.com/husband-birthday-party-ideas/

youpi,
Yes! It's crazily hot these days!
I saw those cute ballerina shoes. I can only say, my wallet sure is glad that my child is a boy and not a girl.

PB,
At least you're a single Avent manual. I wouldn't even BE a breastpump. And to think my mom's so good at sewing. You think if my child was a girl, I would be more inspired to take up sewing?
Wait. What is an unbreakable mirror??

youpi,
I just realised I overlooked your question about parents not allowed to walk their kid to class. Eh, I don't think it's not allowed, I think it's just not encouraged. I don't really know cos when the memo was being sent out, I was in Hong Kong and my MIL, who was taking care of Declan during those days, doesn't really know either. To be honest, I think it's to train the kid to be not so reliant on the caregiver. My head says it's a good thing... but my heart's not really ready to let go.
Well, he did it today after 2 days of bursting into tears when I tried to ask him to walk to class on his own. He let go off my hand and went off to his class on his own (with no teacher!) before I asked my husband rather loudly, "Eh, so he's going to the assembly hall on his own ah? No one to take him there ah?" and then someone got immediately arrowed to take him there.
On the way back to the car, I told my husband in a light-hearted manner, "What a monumental screwup. After 2 days of crying because he wants me to walk him to class. On the first day he actually does it on his own, there's no teacher to lead him there."

Celine
LOL agree that boys are easier to please. Lego becomes trains, blocks become platforms, and those little plastic bowls that hold chili and ketchup at MacDonalds become animal ears, hats, watches, bug eyes, earrings, bellybuttons, and boobs haha.

Bbp
Yah it's the letting go that's tricky. Brave Declan, to be able to go on his own yestrerday

Good morning friends!
Bbp
Unbreakable mirror: err, mirror that cannot be broken la. Not made of glass, but of some reflective material. Great for kids rooms! But reflection is not as sharp as normal mirrors

Yup think schools discourage parents to follow to encourage kids to be independent and it's easier for teachers to take over without parents' involvement. And they also won't have to undo anything the parents "teach" the kids to do over the first couple of days

bbp,
your link is broken... best get the SMH moderator to fix it wor.
i want to order. but wait for the link to be up first. when is your BP until?

school
due to HFMD outbreak since last week of Dec, C1's school is closed from tmr till next friday. which is good for us since we are away next week.

now i can say to myself light-heartedly "5th year of house arrest for me!" at least the boys get to experience many lion dances, fireworks and firecrackers.

Morning mummies!! Lazy to look through all the posts haha :p but i caught the word Don PIE! I want to meet up with all of u!!! let me know ah! Thurs should be ok but do let me know by tomorrow. haha i gg to pang seh one appt if u all gg so i got to let the person know early wor!

Didn't wanna let go today. Him, not me. I suspect he thinks it's a game, cos he was smiling slyly when he refused to go in. Then I saw his teacher in the distance and told him so. Immediately, he ran in, calling her read loudly and trying to get her attention as she was leading other students to the hall.

PB,
Ah, icic. I was thinking, are there actually glass mirrors that are unbreakable?! Saw your friend's kid today again
So tall!

Cellow,
Eh why like that. Thanks for the heads up. Have asked them to get it fixed asap liao. Until 23rd Jan.
HFMD - all's well at home?

bbp
thanks for the link!

but i can't even get a slot with my hb. can u believe it. and i feel that i m the one who keeps asking when he is free and he keeps telling me he is not free....ask until also sian. then we end up arguing again before he finally tells me when he is free. even then it is not confirmed till that day. how to plan anything....sigh

sometimes i dunno whether is it worth trying or not. i have this feeling he don't quite wan to be alone with me cos it feels stressful. i try to plan it such that we cna go out then have a nice dinner but he just wants to fetch the kids and have dinenr with them. in the past i would think it would be the other way round! i m the one who keeps thinking about the kids. i dunno how long i can last. maybe it is just easier to pretend the whole thing never happened and just continue our separate lives...

PB
unbreakable mirror? interesting.....i never heard of that!

cellow
'enjoy' your trip back!!! at least your boys get a different experience!

Cellow
What happened to the big evil plan of not going back? But you're right, the experience with firecrackers and all is irreplacable!

DD
You seem to be lion dance queen... Where to go to watch a couple of performances ah?

SY
Aiyoh that's tough. Why not tell him "you tell me what date first then I can plan?"

Reminds me a little like the joke of an MCP husband telling his wife: "You will clean the house, take care of the kids and get dinner ready by 6pm everyday, whether you like it or not". Wife replies "Sure, and there will be sex in this house at 8pm everyday, whether you're home or not"

Jace
I'm not sure if it's still on. Cellow and (is it you,)DD can't make it tomorrow, and I alrd made plans. I'm cool for Fri if anyone can?

Bbp
Yup Olive is real tall! Both her parents ah, mah. And she's an april baby. 3 months makes a lot of diff at our kids' age right?

SOS
Anyone seen those cheongsam selling pushcarts? The cotton cheongsam kind (for kids) not the silky kind. So not chinatown... Or maybe last resort :S poppy got a real cute polka dotted one last year at park mall's basement, but not sure if they are there again this year.

But ahem, I have alrd got matching CNY outfits for the girls for next year... Haha

jace! hey there.
looks like no one is meeting this week.... Wed PB and DD can, but i cannot. Thu I can, but both PB and DD cannot.

PB
that's a real funny joke...

dunno lah...i think i shall just leave it. easier for everyone...

i haven't seen those. usually see those silky kind......

pb,
erhm the big evil plan of not going back evaporated after C1 asked me while i was tucking him in bed one evening .... "when are we taking the aeroplant to MY? i want to see fireworks."

kua kua kua. and just like that... my big evil plan went kaput. i m a mum first and foremost. i can suck it up as a daughter/DIL as long as C1 and C2 are happy. guess that applies for most of us yes?

oh yes bbp,
all is well at home. C1 and C2 both fine. all normal ie i have to break up occasional fights. i fig if they have the energy to fight w each oth over toys, they are not sick.

the school had to close per MCYS regulations. bcz the HFMD cases dragged on since last week of Dec..... and yet another new case was discovered last Friday. liddat lor.

making altv childcare arrangements now for Wed and Thu.

PB
I bought Emma's one, 100% cotton at NEX, there are 2 kiddy shops outside isetan. I bought it for $26. Another one would be at United Square, B1, across from FLEXA furniture. I think around $29.

Last year I bought from Moo moo cow at Raffles Place. It's not cotton, but silk. (not the thick silk-looking one) but feels like actual silk. you can call to ask: 11 Collyer Quay#01-30 The Arcade S049317 Tel: 65336066. They also have fb:http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150391886478287.373340.51705143286&type=3

Oh ya just remembered OG also have some. Saw it at OG kids dept.

I am very depressed now. My son still has not settled down though the rest of his classmates have already settled down. He doesn't follow instructions and has poor social skills. He is always on his own. The teacher said he is high spirited and they are going to get their specialists to coe down to access him. He may be having autism.
(

peace and quiet
i thought i was mentally prepared for no peace, and no quiet for the next few years until my youngest goes to pri school. BUT there are days where i need, absolutely NEED, to have silence. i take leave on those days.
i tell the same to Mr C. you can have peace and quiet when the boys fly the roost.

summert!!!!
wow wow wow no long no hear from you.
is it Frank you are talking about?

look at it this way.... being diagnosed early means you can intervene early. then you need to decide how to change your lifestyle, maybe step into PT work for a while.

Hi summer
Agree with cellow. Early detection allows for early intervention. But he could just be a high spirited child right? With lots of energy?

Cellow
Haha I totally understand. BUT if poppy were to say "I miss snow" I might just ask bluebunny to go back with her for holiday without me!

Sdchick
Oh thanks! I've got an appt at RP tomorro, can check out arcade! Yay!

So no don pie tomorrow? Fri's out cos my Hols start then yayy!

Have not hunted down any lion dance performances this year haha...

Know of Any kiddy activities during the cny week anyone?

Don't get upset yet summer..best to investigate and find out more first, then u can tackle prOblem early..

Learnt something new today : unbreakable mirror

Cellow...eat all the kolo Mee u can! And enjoy the red and real crackers too! Safe travels and have a good time!

hey does anyone have a moms in mind baby sling i can borrow for a couple of weeks? i remember feeling very uncomfortable with it when poppy was little, but also remember i only put her in baby bjorn when she was a little bit older and more stable. thanks in advance!!

DD
haha seems like my ikea days have not gone to waste. unbreakable mirrors, everyone! :p

Summer
As parent, we will always worry about our child. Keep calm and hear what the specialist had to say. Like everyone here I agree that early detection is the best. It may not be true.

Just dropped my baby off at school and such a difference from last year..now he asks to go to school and is all smiles..I love the place and the teachers too!

Jace.. How is Xun in new school? Was distance really a killer for u?

cny approachin and yet im not looking forward..
must be worried abt the new maid..
haiz..

Last night i had a long chat with kayden..
he is getting worse in his behaviour..
he is always beating up my hubby..
always saying he is angry..
but he is not able to tell me his reasons..
and then just keep crying..
haiz.. must bring him for counselling i think.....

Dd
Yay congrats to you and bbG! Glad he likes the sch. It's quite a distance for u right? Who ferries him? Does he utilise the pool?

Poppy's told me a few times that she prefers her old sch to her new one but *i* like the new one so much more. It's so much of a real school and is more mentally stimulating for her. Sigh. She may just be saying it for fun la.

Summer
Good luck with the checks!

Smiggle
The image in my head is kayden towering over your hubby, king kong style, and your hubby quivering in a corner with arms over his head.

Does he only attack your hubby? Ok with you, helper and didi? Could it be that he's upset with your hubby for whatever reason?

Better bring your brollies out, mummies, looks like it's going to be a wet afternoon!

summer
i agree that early intervention is best. at least the sch does monitor and provide feedback. i know of frens who have frens that are in denial about their kids' behavior and just waiting for them to outgrow. in whatever case, best to get assess then decide what to do.

smiggle
that sounds bad. why only attack your hb? does that happen usually when he is triggered by something?

summert,
ahahhhhah. i rem the darnest things.
be happy regardless ok. as mums, all we do is support them on their life journeys. some children need more support than others... that takes its toll on us... so we MUST find a way to support ourselves first. bcz mummies are the emotional centre of the house! be strong!

jace, dd,
now i m wondering.... how far is xun's school and G's school from home?

smiggle,
something my mum and MIL both told me and Mr C.... separately of course...
that we cannot expect C1 to behave like an adult and listen / follow instructions. bcz HE is not an adult. WE are. so have a look around, observe other children, go onto the internet to find out what is age appropriate bhvr for our firstborns at this age.
to some extent.... children this age behave what their role models do too. does your HB smack him for every small thing? C1 and Mr C went thro a bad bad 6-8mo patch like this too last year. Mr C only stopped to reflect when i took C1 away from him last Jul... i had some conversations w C1, learnt he is sad and angry and doesnt want to go home to papa. the next time i was on skype with Mr C, i hit Mr C on the head with that news.... that HIS son doesnt want to go home to HIM. and that he better wake up his idea. b4 he drives our son away.
*even now i can feel my heart go BOOM BOOM BOOM in anger and indignation when i type the abv*
luckily our preschoolers at this age are v resilient and forgiving and hopeful....... BUT rem.... the window of time where they are like this is coming to an end. once they reach P school, more influences on their lives.

pb,
good job on finding cute n comfy cheongsam for poppy

ah yes, the thought did occur to me. YOU Mr C bring the boys back to the ILs for CNY and I Cellow stay here in SG. ooooh but that would be declaring war.... esp since tis CNY.
Mr C owes me a week's worth of alone time anyway. bcz i brgt the boys and maid back to the ILs alone by myself, without him last Jul rem. i m just waiting for the chance to collect my week's worth of solitude back. haha. but no, not during CNY.

PB, SY
kayden only beat him...
he don like him touch me lor..
cannot even hold hands..

Cellow
ya, i remembered..
i wsa thinking if its the same for kayden..
cos my hubby also threaten to beat him..
The thing is i cant get anythin more out of kayden , he is keepin mum or he doesnt know how to express..

Summer
Hello! Is it Frank's first year in school? He may be one of those who takes a longer time to settle. My boys took quite some time. L was happier walking around and playing with toys while lessons were going on. The teachers let him be, as they continued to encourage him to participate, and eventually he began to join in without prompting. Frank could be like that. On the other hand, if there really is a need for intervention, then yes, it would be good to know early. So take heart!

Smiggle
Sounds like Kayden is still very possessive of you. L is sometimes like this as well, and S was too, when he was younger. It's like a competition and the macho men must always fight over the woman ;p

About behaviour
I read parenting books. They have helped me a lot, in understanding how children of these ages tend to behave, why they do so, and how we can respond effectively to them. You could try asking Kayden questions that require only a yes or no answer, to make it easier for him. Or just engage in inane chit chat about anything and let him volunteer information. And observe him and listen to what he says when he is playing alone, as they will still mimic what they hear. All these can offer clues to his emotions. On top of that, you have your own built-in mummy sensor - the gut feel!

Everything is far from where we r now..still praying for a windfall so we can move somewhere nearer. Meanwhile it's us n FIL ferrying him to n dro

Did I mention the corner unit just beside moo moo cow has yummy Chee Cheong fun and yam cake and prawn noodles that causes long queues all day long? But very limited seats and we all smell once we walk through the building!

Beating up daddy: G does that too! N gets mad easily at him cos he's the one who goofs around with him and 'play rough' so the lines of play or punch for real gets blurred! And u can imagine me giving the frown and finger wagging each time this happens but NO....no one pays attention to me.. Kids both big and small SIGH!

One more day and we are set to have a great time with the family for a whole lunar new year week woo hoo!!

Gong Xi Fa Cai mummies and babies! Now don't binge on all that bak kwa ya... Oh what the heck... Eat, drink and be merry!!

Oh PB..what I like about the school is that its like a little school really.. With proper rules and guides, very organized and they teach the kiddos to give thanks before snacking!

We r not using the pool cos paranoid mama won't even let him dip his toes without her being around to supervise. It's additional classes like CCA in the afternoon too, I think

DD
I like that too about poppy's sch. And "join me teachers, join me friends" at lunch time hehe so cute. But everyday I ask what she does, she gives me the same cheeky smile and says "nothing!" Alamak

Wow enjoy your week back home with family!!

I'm up for yummy heh mee at arcade when you get back! Ya, I noticed the big crowds!

Dd, safe travels and enjoy the food n catch up with family. We are back in msia too for the whole week..told boss bluntly tt I will be working from there cos I m saving my leave and he says sure..haha..sometimes it is nice to hv Bo chap boss, in this instance :p

Cellow - agree w summer, yr memory is awesome.

Oh the family's flying in today so it's a week of fun here!

Cin r u driving or flying? Safe travels to u and enjoy all that red and real crackers!

There's been two birthdays since school started and goody bags are made up of stationery and stickers..no junk food! :D hope it stays that way... All the way!

Cellow, DD, yes the sch that xun gal was in and now bbG is in was a fantastic sch. We loved it so much esp so because they say prayers and have chapel sessions. Very organised. Keep parents informed promptly of happenings in sch. Very very nice sch. Distance was a partial killer 1 hr to and 1 hr fro via sch bus, but the girls enjoyed the rides. It was more of the sch holidays that we could not take. Because there are holidays in march, jun, sep and dec + all the public holidays + concert holidays + other etc holidays.

The moment its sch holidays, my mum have to deal with 4 kids at home coz the eldest niece will be having hols too... ... Too siong for her.

CC is quite different. More relaxed ... but the sch compound is really nice. Teachers seem nice too. The only prob with cc is that they will have a harder time adapting to real sch life in pri one ... but no choice. Just have to coach when the time comes lo.

At least xun gal loves sch. She is so eager to go to sch every morning. So its a good sign. And she is also showing more independence. Hopefully it stays this way!

Youpi
in future, it will be his gf instead of me liao..

talking abt behaviour and learning, kayden went for his speech assessment..
Wah lau! they use a UK test method on him, no wonder he fail..
im not too worried but just to share what a 4 yr old is required to know;
-listening and understanding 2 instructions within a sentence
-all basic colors
-location terms (beside, under, up, next to), also including first, second & third
-big, bigger, biggest (what do u call this??)
-wider range of vocabulary (he was tested on wheelchair which he cant name cos he never seen it before!)

note that the test was done through using picture cards..

Wow smiggle that sounds like a tough test! Poss to get a local version? Like show him pics of hawker uncles in singlets perhaps? :p

Jace
Yay glad that xun likes sch! Yup childcare is very diff. Wow did they really have to be on bus for 1 hour? Poor them! But it's fun for them isn't it

DD
Lucky you. Poppy and I got into our first "fight" yesterday cos she brought home a goodie bag from the first bday at school - cheezels, wangwang and some unknown brand of gummy. She was ok with me taking away the former two and I explained there were good and bad gummies and those were not good. Cue big wails of "nooooooo!!! I wanttttt!!!".Sleepiness played a big part in that. In the end I gave her a vitamin (also gummy) but still a bit of whimpering. After nap, I thought all was forgotten but when falling asleep at night she whispered "mama, I want a bad gummy. And I want my teeth to turn green and fall off" :S (we have a book that shows clean and dirty teeth and seriously, there's a pic of REAL green and dirty teeth. Green. No kidding)

I think when it's poppy's turn to celebrate bday in sch, we just might give toothbrushes haha

My poor friend (bbp, it's the mum of the girl who's in dec's sch) has to battle with the sch bus auntie everyday giving the kids sweets. Everyday. For 2 trips, to and from sch. And a lot of times it's nasty nameless sweets from questionable places. Sigh.

If we say no, we protect them but they feel left out cos their friends have. If we give in then we'll be battling a future of green teeth. It's hard to be a parent

Sy
I remember you sharing that JH ran to ask you for permission when someone offered him snacks when he was younger. How did you do that? I think that's great! I remember being so impressed. Now even more so

Hey I just realised that I've known you guys for FOUR YEARS liao! Wow. Thanks for all the support and for being part of my life/motherhood. Group huggggg!!! Love love love!

PB,
Yikes! Everyday! Does the bus auntie really have to? Ah I know! How about telling the principal as like a general directive? I mean I'm sure other school buses are doing it as well and other parents are having headaches as well!

Summer,
Now that youpi mentioned it, Dec was like that last year too. He didn't respond to teachers and would rather hang around the fringes. Then the teacher told us that some kids are like that - they learn "secretly" because they look like they're not paying attention but actually they are. And true enough, he did come home and sing some songs he learnt from school. How is he at home?

Birthday party in school:
I know ours are still half a year away, but can I not celebrate it in school? It just feels so much work! Ok, maybe I'll feel different in a few months time.

Oh and did I mention that after just 2 weeks of school, Declan has a best friend??? I've forgotten just how easy it was to make friends when we're young.

Bbp
Lol re secret learning! Can imagine these little kids in their harry potter invisible cloaks and pretending not to pay attention but looking at the class with corner of eye hehe

Yup candy on bus everyday. To her credit, the bus auntie says it helps her bond with the kids. Can't deny that la. But honestly, she's got no right, right? My friend told her to stop doing it, which she did for one day and the poor little girl went home crying cos she was the only one on the bus who didn't get any. A delicate situation!

I wonder if the principal can do anything cos the buses are all external contractors leh.

Got another one: another friend picks her kid up fr school and the buses are there with their engines running 10 min before school is dismissed. Which means exhaust fumes all over for whoever's waiting. Complained to the drivers, they said "the parents of the bus kids will complain if the bus is not nice and cool if their kids board". Complained to principal, she said "can't do anything, we don't control the buses". Aiyoh.

Pb,
really very delicate situation. Will the girl eat the sweet immediately or will she bring it home to her mother? If she brings it home, then maybe she can have an exchange policy like a vitamin gummy for the bus auntie's sweets?
The bus exhaust situation - same school?

Lagi more tricky ah, the auntie actually opens up the sweet wrappers for the kids. That's why my friend is super pissed.

No, the exhaust one is another sch