(2008/07) July 2008

bangkok
ah.... jumping on the bandwagon.... also look out for good deals! Mr C pooh-poohed the idea of bintan and batam.... so great deals for HK or BKK anyone?

mich,
yes they are wonderful pple. except a bit upset my hsehold only by using the wrong cleaning cloths or inappropriate utensils (metal spatula into bleach to push down the clothes anyone....)

wait until Monday then to get the info out of your MIL. you can do this! use breathing exercises to sleep.....!

oh yes, C1 amazed me this morning.
"look mama, the vapour cloud is disappearing!"
i m soooo proud of him
i doubt i was able to use the word disappearing correctly at his age.

jacelyn
sounds like a good sch that u picked for xun gal! she must be excited and u sound really excited too!

decided to go for the maid who can't speak english and keep my fingers crossed....haiz a really lousy start to 2012. so got to get rid of problems one by one. me and hb still not well. dunno where we are heading. he said discussed on weekend. i asked him we are only wife and hb only on sat and sun lor. all he keep doing is ask for space and what i wan is reassurance. we are not closing the gap. i half suspect we will just be BAU and then not talk about the issues.....

cellow
i don't even know what a vapour cloud is

those going to/considering going to bkk, i highly recommend this hotel: LEGACY SUITES. good price good location.

ok i give up on gmarket. my eyes asked me to give up

oh i almost forgot - mummies who are meeting at zion road hawker centre on tues, if you have small empty cereal boxes, can bring for me please? SMALL ONES. like kid snack size. like honey stars kind. thanks!!

pb,
vapour cloud is just a name i made up for the straight wisps of cloud that airplanes leave behind in their journey across the sky

sy,
hugs. what is BAU?

gmarket
i also see until blur. give up.

PB
arrgghh shd have told me earlier, the small ones got thrown away!!!

Hmm, tue i may be able to meet. need to take leave to go fetch maid.....let u know.

cellow
biz as usual...

Anyone going for Disney on ice?

Doggiebb
I love gmarket too! But the Korean site.
And I have been contributing too to the us economy instead... Heehee...

Also got a lot of complain but very little time to nag.
Work is overwhelming but I still like my job
Will catch up real soon

Beware of my nagging...
Ahaha...

batgirl
thanks, no problem. i don't need liao
slowing down my biz cos of baby!

qing
love the 'alot to complain but little time to nag' haha. come join us on tues la ok? then can let it all out!!!

SY
yay hope you can join us! no prob about the boxes. don't need too many anyway

lunch at zion road on tues
super hope the heh mee will be open!!!! batgirl, can you go flutter your eyelids at the uncle on monday to ask him to open on tuesday please?

happy weekend everyone!

sy,
like everyone else attests, marriage is hard work. it takes 2 to work tog. Mr C and i both agree that careers need to take a backseat to family.... it is v tempting to focus on work bcz the feedback is tangible, evident and quite immediate. not so with spouse, and def not so with children.
mr SY may think his contribution to the family is only his income? but that's not the only support a woman wants. love cannot be bought w money.... tis time and energy and effort....

smtimes i joke with Mr C.... if he goes too much into the problem solving (Mars) mode.... hey you married a woman, not a man, dun expect me to think like you ok. yes i can most times understand rationally your reasons but... i m a woman, i need my emotions validated, not to be reasoned why i shouldnt be upset with you! (hmm, sounds quite similar to what mummies go thro w our preschoolers too ya)

qing,
"got a lot of complain but very little time to nag" good that you still love your job.

tue lunch
LOL on PB asking batgirl to flutter eyelashes at heh mee uncle on monday!!

CB calendula cream
i need to get some more, and soon. anyone buying fm drugstore.com or diapers.com? pls post or FB or sms me. many thks!
i now have zero tubs left after handing over 3 tubs to my FIL's 90yo dad as he is now bedridden after a fall . his skin at the diaper area is all red and broken up. sigh.

logging on from home to work....

interesting. i posted a pix of pavement chalk drawings and tadah, within 5mins, a friend asked if that is permitted.

is it dangerous for the boys or others? no
is the effect permanent? no

by these 2 counts, how can chalk drawings not be "permitted"? i m raising thinking children who enjoy life. musing on when i learnt to keep off the grass and generally stop doing enjoyable things that are not permitted.... pri school. another sypmtom of the SG education system to raise obedient robot-like non thinkers? yes!definitely

Cellow
I want to TSK very loudly at your friend!!

When I could still sit/squat comfortably on floors, poppy and I would draw on pavements with chalk downstairs. Sometimes we got smiles but a lot of times we got frowns too. Those gazes screamed "vandalism!!!". Come on la. It washes off with rain. And you know where I got the idea from? Poppy's old SCHOOL.

The typical singaporean is too quick to wag its finger and say "orrhhhh... Cannot/die!". Or, what I really don't like, "shame shame" :S

Boo hoo hoo hoo. I'm getting ugly veins popping up on my calves! My legs are SO tired.

Walk less and lift legs up more? Hmm that means u gotto scoot around? JUST KIDDING!! dont smack me with a frozen salmon!

Someone's at his first berries class and i'm feeling so lost and listless and everything's in Chinese and so alien!

Cell: I do that also! At parks. People stare I don't care. Skin has grown thicker over the years!
they stare harder, I pour water on it to show that it can be washed off!
like pb said, the rain will clear everything!

Dd: what is alien to you? Gwyn started yesterday at berries also. Yesterday's lesson was parts of the body.

SY
PMed you my iherb orders

DD
what do you mean scoot around.... before i decide whether or not to salmon you :D

wow wee. i can't believe i will be GIVING BIRTH AGAIN in about 13-14 weeks!!!

I couldn't get a space at berries for Emma, so I signed her up for Hua Language Center at United Square. Can't believe they actually open a class just for her so today was like a private lesson. She kinda likes it so I hope with this she'll get to get to speak more mandarin.

Cellow
When my MIL was hospitalised she was given a barrier protection cream from 3M. It is good. see here: http://solutions.3m.com.sg/wps/portal/3M/en_SG/SWC/main/brands/cavilon/ Not sure whether sold in guardian pharmacy, but I think can buy at SGH's pharmacy.

Another one she's given to is White Soft Paraffin BP, made by ICM in Singapore. It's basically a white petroleum jelly, good for severely dry skin.

Bbp, 59% off for rebonding/perm on groupon! $65!! Go get your hair rebonded/permed already! Go go go!

Eh, I thought berries is independent class, parents can go in meh? Eboy started a yr ago and now he can speak very well and recognize some words too. Their teachers are very dramatic and very good.

Scoot: move around, dragging butt on floor :D

Jo: I can't read Chinese characters n teachers speaking mandarin sound so different from friends whom I can converse with! Haha

PB, I will try to flutter my eyelashes..hohohoh.. better get me some mascara and fake eyelashes!! :p

Berries,

Michelle, Eboy has someone to practise at home? we are lazy parents, so also never really revise with him.. my new year resoulution : Speak more mandarin and revise with Wufeng more!! Else his name so chinese, turn out to be a potato!! :p

DD
See lah, on Sat all I could think of was what your hb was wearing under his shorts! ;p

PB
Put feet up and relax, ask BBunny to give you foot rubs! Gosh is it only 13-14 weeks more? So fast! Are you giving birth at MAH again? We'll go visit you and baby, k?

And off we go again...
Next week will be the real start of school time routines, am getting a little nervy just thinking about it. S already fell and kena-ed a baluku on his first full day of school on Friday. Had an Egyptian mummy bandage somemore. What a dramatic start to the school year!

Hahaha! Ooh Youpi, didn't see if your eyes were fixated on his bum or waiting to see if he zhao kerng!

Poor S! Hope it's just a minor bump. Me nervous too cos noticed there are LOTS of kids and wonder how teacher doesn't lose any or release wrong kid to stranger at pick up point!

PB: all Set for bb no 2? Really fast! Picked a name already? Got all stuff on standby too? Is pops excited? How does she like her new school?

qing
me me! was thinking about whether to go for disney on ice...

PB
so fast?? time really flies!!!!

Cellow
thanks for all the affirmation that we women are the greatest!!!

youpi
hope S is alright....it is upseting to see a bump so soon!

DD, SY
It was a big bump. The doc made him go get an x-ray done. But he's fine, thank goodness! Completely lucid, telling jokes, and excited about going to school tomorrow
Need to find some way to toughen him up!

youpi
oh dear sounds bad if he needs x ray! lucky he's alright.

stress beginning to the week! a lot of deadlines and so little time...new maid coming some more....i need more hands and legs

Youpi
Oh no!!! Welcome to all-boys school? Hehe. Glad that his mood is good. Sayang sayang from us!

Bbunny has been so nice and giving me calf and foot rubs
I just close my eyes and ignore the bueh kam guan face then really enjoy it haha. But I just remind him that the aches he feels after a jog is only temporary, whereas my aches are daily and constant, then I get a sympathetic look from him haha

DD
All set for #2? Err not at all! I can't imagine how tired I will be with 2 kiddos vying for my attention. Thankfully poppy is a bit older and more independent but I'll have to be careful not to take advantage of that!

Oh yes. I am already at 26 weeks! And poppy was born at 39. Gasp! But I guess now just enjoying being mum of 1. Poppy is so funny. Sometimes I pretend to make baby's voice and ask things like "jiejie can I read with you/play with your toys?" And she says "you have to come out first!" Wow. Logic and all hor?

Nope, no names yet! We're not agreeing on anything! Haha.

Sy
Good luck with new helper! Hope you can meet us for lunch tomorrow!

Batgirl
Don't forget to flutter!!! Hehe. No need mascara and fake eyelashes la. Already so chio

wahhahhahah on youpi wondering abt mr DD's lai kor!

youpi,
S fell in school? carelessly or pushed?

channel 8 at home
i start on C2 first. C1 is a work in progress. he sometimes speaks to his brother in mandarin when i do. sometimes.

keeping perspective
i laughed so hard i nearly pee-ed in my pants. oops. tmi
http://crappypictures.typepad.com/crappy-pictures/2012/01/the-uppers-downers-of-parenting-or-coffee-wine.html
... oh and the pixs are really crappy. which makes the blog posts even funnier. *cellow laughs like a maniac*

yes SY, fellow spider mummy with thousands of hands and legs... EVERY mom needs a pat on the back AND a shoulder to lean on after being the domestic thousand-handed buddha, preferably with earplugs on. lalala. what did you say again, C1 and C2? i cannot hear you. oh drats. of course... my ear plugs are on.

this post should come with a lot of disclaimers. but mostly i would just blame it on the spoonful of DOM that i had last night. lalala

hehe. off to work.

i m obviously suffering fm kidsanity.

Cellow
Thanks for sharing crappy pictures! Hilarious! I love the writer's style. Am so inspired to do something similar!!!

Happy lunch time everyone

PB,

There is no one to flutter my eyelashes to today.
The heh mee shop is closed. Which means it is most likely open tomorrow.

Cellow,

Aiyoh the pix..LoL. so true so true.. I never needed coffee in the morning...now i need my fix. haha!

cellow
u just make me laugh.... haha

continue the kidsanity posts...they are funny!

PB
BB is so sweet...i don't think many chinese men will do that!!!

yeah most enjoy the alone moments with poppy. u will find that the times fly past very fast after #2 comes out and sometimes i dun even remember what #1 was like during that time!!

re lunch
oh yes, lunch, hope i can make it tmr...

yay yay! see you all for lunch tomorrow!

SY
do what? massage legs? no la, got one la.

cellow
i think that 'crappy' would be an overly kind term to describe my drawings haha

swimming class
hey mummies. just to get a feel of things: is $60 per month for swimming classes expensive? or the norm?

Youpi: hope s is alright now.

SY: good luck to your new maid. And yes, I also need thousand eyes, hands and legs!

Have fun and enjoy your lunch today! Pb, eat more of the prawn noodle for me!

jo,
you are up super early!

leg massage
Mr C used to (past tense) massage my calves for me when i got a leg cramp. which was not often. okok, he did it only twice. both times he used too much strength and i got more cramps... or as C1 puts in, more ants are crawling in my legs. so that was the end of leg massage.

pb,
LOL good job!

PB
$60 is cheap...but depends on how many kids are learning and where u r learning. got details?

saw your post. very cute!!!

Jo
yes i need it! hope she turns out fine!!!!

Thanks SY. It was so fun drawing!

$60 per month, max 8 kids I think. Cheap ah? Half hour classes.

Zion rd
Next week, girls? So wasted, was supposed to meet jsp to pass her some stuff and cin bunny too. But both couldn't make it! My heh mee craving remains unfulfilled!

PB
is it $60 a month becos there are 8 kids or $60 a month regardless of how many kids?

in general, it gets cheaper when the # of kids go up. but given their young age and relatively lack of experience in the water, i think the group should not be too big. when there are many kids, the lesson time would be longer right? right now i pay $90 for 4 lessons for jh. including him there are 4 kids. this is about average price as i have paid cheaper before and also found more ex ones before.

i have second thoughts again abt C1's school. i wonder if i m shortchanging him by not immersing him into the likes of chiltern or pat's where the cirriculum is like P1 MOE. sigh. is this gonna be a permanent mummy worry? all the what-ifs.

15 kids to 1 teacher!!!! at his curr school.

haiyoor. i m a chronic worrier, i m la.

haiyoor, Cellow, I am also worrying now. My boy refuses to accept Mandarin. Had a chat with my colleague, P1 chinese -- must know hanyu pinyin. And they are expected to already recognise chinese words. so worrying...

PB

your crappy drawing is great! so funny! keep them coming!

SY

i am finally at ayer rajah liao. arrange to have lunch sometime okie?

Year end (work) nightmare has started for me!

Cellow.. Thought c1's current school n teachers are good? Only student teacher ratio bothering u? Or r they chaotic n not handling the many kids well?

And G didn't wanna put on uniform and go to school today.. Tears, stern words, pleading words, unfinished milk, lots of psycho-ing in car and he turned into a perfect little student when we arrived. I love the school so far.. Hope G grows to love it too, dont quite understand the resistance in the morning cos I can see he likes and enjoys it too!

Hb wanna sign G up for soccer and swimming too!

Tired and brain dead.. Wanna go home to my baby now..

Hehe thanks. It's so much fun drawing crappy drawings

DD
Wow soccer! Cool

Poppy went on bus by herself today. She got on and grinned at me. Like "look at my! I'm a big girl!". I waved frantically and my eyes started sweating the moment the sch bus pulled away. But oh the huge smile she gave when she saw me after school!!

Pb: good girl poppy!
I think she will be a very good helper when mini pop comes by! I like your crappy drawings too!

Batgirl: I think your boy doesn't have the vocab that's refusing?

Cell: no choice lah, slept early so woke up early!
C1's school doesn't prepare the children for p1?

Dd: G doesn't have friends in school? Can his teacher arrange for a buddy for him?

new school this year! I have a feeling he doesn't quite like school coz he's gotto behave and can't be naughty like at home!

How's gwen? haven't met u guys for some time

Sunny day ahead as the little one woke up bright and early, all chirpy and was the first to arrive at class.. Even helped teacher coax a crying friend. Drastic change of weather! Haha

Have a good day ahead and carpe diem!

Dd, they do change faster than the weather ain't it...

Egg eating
C2 has refused my boob for 5 days now.... With me waking up later than usual, maid decided to bottle feed each morning instead of waking me up to latch him. Sigh.
Well the good thing is I can eat eggs, nuts n shellfish now. Crab bee Hoon at don pie next week anyone???

PB,
Depends on the number of kids. ashley's swimming coach last time charges $20 per lesson (1 hr), and if you don't turn up you don't need to pay. There were 8 kids, including Ashley. If only 1 child, the cost is $40 per hour.
At my condo now there are several teachers, but cost so ex, $50 per head regardless how many kids. So I stopped Ashley from taking swimming lessons, since she's got the bronze and silver swimming certificates. Was going for the gold one, but since ashley is growing so fast now and I dun like the idea of having a male swimming teacher.

Glad to hear Poppy enjoys her new school and is so enthusiastic in taking the bus!

Cellow
I dun think the curriculum in Chiltern is like MOE. If you want I can scan the N2 booklet for the parents from the school for the N2 program for your to compare.

Mandarin
Emma as well. She will reply in english. But I think she understand what my mum is saying.

Double Dee
GROUP HUG!!! I'm also gonna drown in work haizzzzz!