(2008/07) July 2008

thanks SD!
I will keep that in mind if I m in dire need. SGD 35 for 4oz of CB cream is still more than my willingness to pay though.

as for the cirriculum and transition to P school. I am prob falling into the fallacy that the more I pay, the better c1 is being educated in the 3Rs. i m still trying to fig out if i m more concerned w the 3Rs or more concerned w values. i *should* be more concerned w values

dd,
make sure it is HB who brings G to soccer and swimming... and does the research for which classes. since it is his idea anyway. then you get more me time. hehe.

cellow
err what 3Rs? you're not referring to "reduce, reuse, recycle" i guess?

is C2 doing self weaning? OH YES DON PIE CRAB NEXT WEEK COUNT ME IN!!!!!!! (do i sound a little too enthusiastic?)

SD
in school, will ashley get swim lessons too, then she could go for gold then? ya i agree, i also want a female instructor for poppy!

Doggiebb
welcome to this part of the island...yes yes we shd meet up for lunch!

new maid so far seemed ok except for her lack of english. i think her work is quite good. my current maid seemed quite impressed too...haha..but maybe cos my current maid is the more relaxed kind so anyone can easily surpass her in terms of working.

only thing is cos me and new maid have language barrier, it is harder for me to converse with her and to make her feel more at home..... hmmm. how?

and i m so used to speaking english only to my current maid that i have problems remembering the little bits of malay that i know.

DD
nice that your hb wants to sign G up for these sports! i m hoping to let jh do soccer next time...but meanwhile let him finish whatever he has first. i already have problems getting him to practice!

cellow
hmm i know what u mean but i don't quite believe the more u pay the better education u get. maybe exposure yes but doesn't mean quality education. last time this mummy told me she paid so much for eton and yet feel that they din do anything. so in the end she switched out.

u know, u can always consider great beginnings....my sil decided to send her kid there too after a search. and i do miss the sch. if jh had continued there, i think i have less of a worry for P1

batgirl
yes now all in hanyu pinyin but i think some independent sch may do it differently. the problem is that nowadays kids learnt everything before going to sch so teachers' also have higher expectations of the kids....so it becomes our problem lor....

recently have been slack with jx cos of all the problems at home. lucky she can still remember what i had taught her previously. so if u can, just 5-10 min a day on chinese with wuffy is good enough. i don't do more than 5 min with her usually....

PB
Her current school do not have swimming, however, when she was in anderson primary, they do have swimming lessons since there is one near yio chu kang stadium.

SY,
i did consider great beginnings but the fact that they are a school, not childcare... only half days and got school holidays some more... that doesnt work for my family situation. my aunt is feeling the strain, although she doesnt say it out loud directly to me.

i need some place to put the boys during the hours when i work.....
Great Beginnings would be ideal if they can do full day.

PB,
haha to the crappy pictures. you should have another tag on your blog called 'crappy pictures' so that you can tag all the funny drawings.

cellow
what i used to do is to put jh till 3pm. by the time he reached home it would be 3.30pm. if he wants, he can nap. if not, he will sleep early.

if u can have some arrangement that can allow u to be home earlier, maybe this would work...

PB

funny untillllll! keep going okie?

Drama mamas

i mean literally. not the drama-rama sense of the word! i am a korean drama fan but a dear kaki asked me to watch a mainland/HK/taiwan production called 步步惊心 and I loved it! and now this is coming to prime time tv on channel 8 next monday at 7pm. its a MUST-WATCH. okie! advert over!

Gek-sim

little girl is wearing specs now because of astigmatism. just praying her eyeballs will grow rounder as she grows. but really just one word - gek sim! haizz!

but still, the weekend is looming! can't wait!

sy,
i have flexible hours. but not short hours. if i log on later than the normal 9am or log off early at 4-5pm in the evening, i have to work after the kids are asleep. which then means my mind is still active at 10pm/11pm/midnight, and it takes me another 1-2 hours to wind down properly.

so no way for Great Beginnings.

i sometimes dream of a tai tai life!!! a reaction to the busy-ness of work i think

Don Pie crab bee hoon
Either Wed or Thu is good. Who can come?

Next Wed don pie
PINKBUNNY CAN!!!!!!

Dress up costumes and props
Hey mummies anyone knows where to buy such things cheap? Like fireman hat, princess dresses and those "kick kock shoes" etc? SKP should have the accessories but the clothes? Toys R Us ah? Cheap cheap?

Wow the weather today ah. Been playing in and out the cherry window all day with my bamboo poles!

Doggiebb
Oh no poor Talia and her bak gia! Hope her eyes decide to round out by themselves soon. How did you discover she needed bak gia? My sister had lazy eye as a kid and it went away as she grew older. Only became short sighted as a teenager, and due to too much tv/reading in bad light

Stick man and tiger who came to tea..wanna go but but.. Trying not to bring him to too many shows?

Next wed maybe I can crab crab too!

Poor TA jie jie.. She has to wear them all day? G still has his habit of wAtching tv/ looking from one side of eyes..but I've not done anything serious tocorrect him but nag only. Should I be more concerned abt it?

Pb: fireman hat got visit fire station can get foc! No need to buy.
what do you need them for? Giant?
Oh ya, what is kick Kok shoes?

jo
haha our fireman hat has outlived its life liao. i think it's about a year old and looks 10 times its age.

well, re-doing poppy's room to be "the girls' room" so trying to add a little 'pretend play/dress up' corner and want to get some dress up stuff. i think our kids (can you believe they are already 3.5?! gosh!) will soon get into pretend play/dress up mode

kick kock shoes are like high heeled shoes (they go kick kock when you walk?)..... i really don't like the idea of little girls wearing them out cos i think it's very bad for their backs, but for play play at home, it's ok la. i've seen those disney princess ones but don't know where they sell them

PB
i think toys r us has. jx has one but i honestly dun think it's a good idea to even let them play play at home. i wasn't the one who bought it....it was bought by my sil and her hb.

cellow
haiz...being a parent is tough!!

Don pie crab bee hoon
oops realise i cannot make it on Wed. booked a facial for myself that morning..... is Thu 19 Jan ok for PB and DD and whoever else is craving for crab bee hoon?

sy,
ya! that's why mothers get lots of mother's day cards! nvm la, i wont think abt school anymore.

C1 had an accident in school last evening
end result - minor cuts on 3 fingers and foot. small thing la... but he v manja n is milking it for all it is worth.... this morning refused to go to school... what to do... brgt him to aunt's tog w C2 and maid.
what happened - the english tr had conducted a math counting concept lesson using glass learning materials. at the end of the day, these materials were left at a learning corner for the children to explore and play with. C1 apparently was there alone when the glass slipped and fell from his fingers. but the clearning auntie apparently was also v quick on the uptake and cleared the mess away quickly. it was the first time ever that C1 encountered broken glass in his life so he was naturally traumatised.
why i m not upset - yes it was silly of the teacher to use glass learning materials but hey.... accidents happen.

so the english teacher called me this morning and explained the whole story. she sounded really distraught and apologetic.
after listening, i told her ok then, at this age, prob not the best idea to use glass materials, C1 is not really hurt this time and that's a blessing... so to me, that is the end of the matter.
am i too soft on the school? ah well. Mr C reacted the same way too when he went to fetch C1 ystday. the accident happened in the evening. another teacher (not his class teacher) was tending to his wounds. Mr C did not want to make a big scene at the receiving area with other children and parents around, so he just picked up C1 and left.

I'm back! And so behind. So I'll just randomly post. Ha.

PB,
Then go fire station visit again!
But those bloody princess dresses are not cheap. I'm sorry to say this and I hope I don't offend anybody but I do think they look rather hideous. Try looking online to see if anybody is selling away theirs cheap? After all, these are stuff that you normally wouldn't wear out and I suspect most parents get it as party wear for their kids.
Beach Bag Giveaway - am so tempted to join in cos that bag looks gorgeous. Then think: I have all these at home. I do not need more things in a house that is rapidly running out of space. D.A.M.M.I.T.

dd,
If you can afford it, why don't you want to bring him to more shows? Exposure is always a good thing no?

Cellow,
Not a big fan of crab, so won't be there. Besides, with school now ending at 12.15pm, so hard to go for lunchies nowadays.

doggiebb,
Oh no
but it's almost something that seems to be unavoidable
How DO prevent astig anyway? Cannot right?

youpi,
The 3 little pigs look uber cute!

Has anybody watched productions by SRT's The Little Company before? Good? Age appropriate for our kids? If so, anybody got lobang for Exxon Mobil Staff, MasterCard Staff, or Starhub Staff? Got 20% discount!

School:
So after 1 week of 1.5h school, and 1 week of 3.5h school, we are now expected to drop the kids off at the porch and school assistants will bring the kids into their classrooms/assembly areas. Isn't that too fast? I want to bring my kid to class!!! I'm not ready!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cellow,
Just read about C1's accident. Thank goodness it was a minor accident but yes, it does seem kinda silly that they used glass materials and to leave it around for the kids to explore with.
I don't think you're too soft with the school. That's your nature and the style that you choose to deal with. But the teacher sounds like a good teacher in the sense that she sounded really sorry and everything.

bbp,
YOU have separation anxiety, not Dec!

shucks, i got something else to complain about. but forgot. haha. oh no, not a complaint... smthing for TA1 and doggiebb

doggiebb,
if you believe in chinese massage for astig and short sightedness, then pls book an appt with Mdm Ho Thoo Nui, Bao Kang Child Clinic at Bukit Merah Central. blk 164 bukit merah central #03-3639. Call 6271 9118 for appmt and opening hours. i used to have the card w the opening hours, but forgot where it is :p
psst, they only speak mandarin... good chance to practise your mandarin

Cellow,
Dec has it too. Refused to let me go at the porch so in the end, brought him to class. Haha.
But yes, you're right. I do like to see him doing stuff in class before I go off. So I'm definitely not ready to let go yet. Maybe I should cry at the porch too. Wonder what will happen if I do that.. haha.

bbp,
you would most prob be led away by the teacher to a corner, and given a tissue to blow your nose. haha

yes and that's why i m still sticking w this school. bcz the teachers there, they got heart and LOVE la. [they better do to have to wipe other people's backsides for a living... haha] and that is waaaay more impt than perfect diction, perfect grammar and perfect whatever. i reckon i would STILL have random musings abt other schools and itchy-backside-wanna-move-sch-anot episodes though.

Welcome back bbp!
Wow you stayed so long at dec's sch! We were allowed 3 days but on day 2 we got politely chased away liao. I left knowing poppy was ok. But I went earlier to peep into her class for the first week. Now she's on sch bus and loves it

Haha I also don't think the princess dresses are nice. But I remember that as a kid I didn't have them, and I suppose just having a set to play with friends aint gonna cause no harm

Sy
I also dislike the shoes but just to walk around in at home once in a while just for fun is ok la.

I am SO excited about the changes we're thinking of doing to the girls' room!!

Don pie
Sorry cellow I can't do 19 cos bluebunny has choped me for lunch liao :D

C1's accident. Yikes. That's true - glass? For kids this age? Not very good la. And leaving them around? With kids this age? Ah, not so good. But good that you were calm and collected about it. Zen mama to the rescue!

Poppy is making me sit on floor and playing with train tracks with her. It's fun la but sitting on floor is really hurting me!!!

PB,
Didn't stay very long la. Only stayed for the National Anthem and school song. When I left, parents were still trailing in, bringing their kids to school.

PB,
very proud of zen papa too who had a refreshingly humane perspective. he said teachers are human too, how we treat them determine how they pay attention to our kids.

sitting on floor to play w poppy. you can start using the doughnut cushion now.

bbp,
haha. i m itchy backside abt a lot of other things too. bags and shoes and accessories for one. now thinking abt jade accessories for CNY. peach blossom has nice modern designs... not auntie at all.

Cellow
Glad that C1 is not badly hurt! Mr C was very good!

Re: age and glass: In Montessori schools the children use breakable crockery to role play as one of their activities. They also use porcelain tea pots and cups (small ones) to learn pouring and control. The teachers guide and teach them to handle these items with care so that accidents do not happen. SY, do your kids do this at their school? It's a MOnte, yes?

Sama sama with school and teachers. Teachers with Heart are #1
L's even cleaned up his shoes today after he got them dirty playing in the grass at the playground.

Massage for improving eyesight: does it work for adults too?

Bbp
Parents are not allowed to walk their children into class? Wow that is strict! Is it because of space constraints? And because the kindy is next to a main road?

PB
Toys R Us has a lot of those. They're cute to dress up now, but only at this age and stage, so better do so quickly if you want to. Once the kids get a little bigger, it's not cute anymore, unfortunately.

Sitting on floor: kneel instead! That can help P2 get into position better too!

DD

T1 used to look at things from one side of her eyes too, if you are concerned, you could bring G to see a optometrist. the one i go to are actually doctors of optometry with degrees from the US.

bbp

princess dresses! I am so with you on this! i really think they are hideous too! so i have not bought any for T1.

and yes astig cannot be avoided. likely genetic as the eyeball is not round enough. I have that problem too.

cellow

thanks for the contact. not sure how massage will let the eyeball grow rounder though. will keep in mind though.

youpi
kneel? oh gosh. everything that requires me to be half my height hurts me, with that constant butt pain

panic mode: engaged
we have absolutely no idea wrt names. not even nicknames.

cellow
donut cushion helps thanks! but still hard to get up and down from sitting position :S

itchy backside
not me. just painful backside boohoohoo

chicken essence
does any non chicken essence lover have any tips on how to make the drink less revolting?

Pb: Oic. How about a pair of those peranakan clogs? Very small pair, don't think our kids can fit but mini pops should be able to in future!
that I have, unused. Want?
Cook soup or marinade the chic or pork with it, add wolfberry then steam.

Jo
I would love to thanks!! Wow wee how did you get your hands on them? They're gorgeous!

Yeah good idea, steaming with meat makes it less foul smelling.

Happy weekend, girls!

Crab bee Hoon on thurs: can't cos gonna Loh hei..

Sayang c1 n big pat for zen mama who stayed calm n reasonable.

Oh no abt looking from corner of eyes. Did u go to just any optometrists or are there some good with kids?

Can someone buy calendula cream for cellow's backside haha who happens to really need it too for other than her backside

Cny's just around the corner believe it or not!! Family's gonna be here yayY!

Must go track down the lion dances for G!

Hey we used to wear those nyonya clogs. Cute huh..would go perfect with poppy's kebaya for sure!

And not a fan of princess costumes and heels too. Kept trying to talk niece out of getting any haha will only settle for tiara and wand

uh oh. i get the feeling that i'm being seen as the kind of mum who will drag daughter out of house complete in princess costumes and high heels.

NO SIREE BOB!!!!!

must. clear. air. it's just 'dress-up clothes' and if got other choices, no thank you disney princesses!!!

Nonya clogs: I had them at age 4/5. Used to love 'clokking' around in them
Would Chinatown, that huge dept store at the corner next to OG, have them?

um chope. i dont really know what nonya clogs are. i now imagine those 'cha kiak' kind that samsui women wore?? nonya footwear to me = the beaded slippers kind?

oh yes, that shop is.... YUE HWA!!!! thank you, thank you *takes a bow for knowing such obscure things about chinatown*

Yeah khar kiak! I started the blunder of calling it nyonya clogs sorry haha. U got that beaded one or is it poppy ah?

Get her ballerina tutu?

Gonna be busy for next two days then off to Cameron highlands! Can't wait!!!

Saying T1 on her glasses, but hey, saw her pic with glasses on, looks very pretty!!

What's with PB and dress up clothes? Saw bb post today, so you did get him a wallet! Which one?

Did I tell you I'm going off to Cameron? I'm going off! My long awaited holiday!!!!!

The sudden interest in dress up clothes: in canada we caught up with friend who had a 4.5 year old and she+her friends had so much fun with dress up and I know poppy would love too. So want to get a few sets for her lor. Cos she already loves pretend play like playing doctor and she loves pretending to fight fires like fireman

Enjoy cameron! The cool weather will be sooooo shiok I'm sure! Will you go strawberry picking? I can't wait to do that too!

Yup yup gott bluebunny the wallet. With THE BULL. He loves it. I also secretly went to poppy's old sch to collect her annual photo and slipped it in the photo compartment. He loved it :D

Omg the WEATHER! Brought poppy down to take sch bus, walked to mkt and back, all less than 20 min and I need to shower again!

i need ideas!!! my hb says i don't ever plan a surprise for him. so i shd try to plan one right? any ideas? i asked him to take one day leave in feb.

um sy, don't mean to be rude but .... does he plan any for you? from what you've shared, it seems like you're the one who's doing alot more than him ... if there were a way of comparison. how about if you both take a day off and spend time together? you could plan it, sure, but let it also be an outing that you would enjoy, and not just him?

PB
i know what u mean. in the past he will but nowadays no lor...

i was suggesting to take a day off and then we go out but need ideas....

was thinking of universal studios but it's not something he would want very very much..u know what i mean...

SY,
How about the flyer? During the day when it's not so crowded, you guys could request for one whole cabin and just relax and talk cock.