(2008/07) July 2008

did everyone have a nice PH?

my little spy told me NOISY ZOO was not as fun as the others like TODD THE BIG GREEN FROG. she and BB went for it while i mad a made dash around JL. GOT SALE, GIRLS!!!! 20% off most things!

if anyone is keen, there is also the foodtogo thermos jar at 20% (original price $50). been wanting to get it for a long time too cos it's so small and compact. i remember lugging around the big tiger one while having to ergo poppy. i so don't look forward to the weight in my bag!!

does anyone have it? any comments?

oh btw, a big shout out from our old friend delphine (mum to denise and desiree). her account got hacked into so she can't log in so she's secretly and quietly spying on us on and off. HI DELPHINE!!! *big wave*

Not too late to say Happy Deepavali!
We explored Punggol Waterway. It was so crowded! The boys' fave part was taking the LRT ;/

PB
Poppy's definitely getting enough sleep, but the constant waking means her sleep cycles are interrupted, maybe she is not properly rested. Could also be allergies. Or do the eye bags appear when she is tired and it's time for a nap or close to bedtime? I've noticed that L's eye bags appear close to these times. Could also be a phase that she's going through and you just have to be consistent about walking her back to bed and she'll get the idea soon? Or bad dreams?

Breast pumo
Have only used the Avent Manual (during L's time) and it worked out really well for me. Can lend you if you want. You'll just need to get a set of new parts from Phillips Avent - think it was $20+? Dor and I did that when preparing for our #2s.

PB
both have sensitive airway so allergies easily triggered by dust etc. sometimes if too cold they get their runny nose too...

i think mine were quite ok with the What a noisy zoo. in fact they want to go for the next show. u keen? it's in feb..... prob will choose a weekday to go.

Youpi
is it fun? i was thinking of going on sat morn.

Cellow, bbp
did your kids like the show? wan go for the next one 'hi elly'?

SY,
Mr bbp was quite disappointed with What a noisy zoo cos Rocky the Baby Panda was way more interactive. We are thinking whether we will go for the next one. Still thinking.

Cellow,
Yup 3 years and I still remember. So it must show you how yummy the milkshake was right?
Hmm, guess I like Avent for the comfort. I only can compare the Avent to the Ameda and the Avent is definitely more comfortable. But it was Avent manual which nearly caused my hands to break.

PB,
Hang in there! Out of curiosity, how many times does Poppy wake?

Thanks youpi and bbp
She wakes about 2-3 times a night o_O. And each time she comes out and says "mama come!". And because mama is the lighter sleeper, it's always mama who walks her back. Some nights I walk her back and leave and she's ok. Others, she wakes again and comes back again. I'm just so tired so for the sake of unbroken sleep and her eyebags, some days I just bunk in with her.

We're thinking of getting n ikea toddler bed so that she'll feel more "secure". Cos she's got a normal single bed now. I read somewhere that beds their size are better for them. Also we can then use the excuse that we'll break her bed if we squeeze in with her :S

Tired. Tired.

Youpi
Oh no worries. Jo is lending me her breast pump

Jo
I just saw the retail price of the pump and got a bug shock. Not my boobs are scared they will spoil your pump! *gulp*

Hey mummies just curious: do you feel "nie nie ni bu bu (you can't catch me)" is a "bad word"? Personally I don't like it but find it quite harmless. As opposed to apu nehneh. Poppy's teacher told me this morn that apparently poppy has been the one introducing nienienibubu to the kids in class. All along we thought it was her classmates that taught her that.

I find that really hard to believe becos you know, she's learnt lots of nonsense from her classmates. Like "you don't have mummy love you" and "I don't like you". And there's nowhhere she could have picked nienie ni bubu up except school.

Hmm. The mystery will unfold.

Hi hi michelle!! Welcome back!

michelle
hihi! so u moved office liao? how's your house coming along?

PB
actually i got used to jx waking up. she dun just wake up. she can't sleep soundly. she tosses and turns and kicks non stop. some days it gets so bad that i just go and sleep on her bed.

it may be a phase but my phase has lasted for months! so i can't really tell whether it will pass or not. what another colleague told me is that at 3 years of age, some underlying medical condition (not to scare u) may surface so just observe whether it could be a reason for disturbed sleep. for jx, i suspect it's her nose which is always irritated.

hmm, personally i dun quite like them to say such things. it's not really a bad word but sounds so not nice. apu neh neh is worse but my kids dun say that. cross fingers but so far no one taught them that and if i catch anyone saying that ard them, i stop that too. but they do pick up a lot of nonsense in sch so sometimes it's hard to tell who taught what to whom!

bbp
i think the session wasn't very interactive n somehow a lot of kids were subdued. maybe the next one would be better? my hb also not impressed and he thinks his kids totally waste money going for such things. but i will not give up! haha i like them to go for such things and i think they do enjoy even though they only observe. after the show, jx was actually reciting some of the things they said during the show like playing the freeze game etc.

there is another upcoming one by act 3 but more recommended for 5-8 years old. i may go for that one with jh but dun think the younger kids would like it.

anyway for the next show, there's still a few months to think abt it!

morning!

pb,
"nie ni nie ni bubu" can even come from a chance remark in the playground that poppy might have heard, but you did not. our kids are not only picking things up fm school and us.... but the world too! tis amazing what they rem now, even if they hear it only once.
i know i cannot wrap the boys in cotton wool forever... sigh. another process of letting go slowly.
i sleep with C1 now so he is perfectly fine and still sleeps through. oh but Mr C told me this morning that he woke up at 2am (thunderstorm raging outside!) calling for momma while i was in the room beside him sleeping like a log. confused child....

sy,
C1 said he loved afterwards but din move an inch fm his sitting position during the show. C2 danced along to some of the tunes. i dunno if i want to bring them along for the next one.... when is it?

hi DELPHINE!
i have on and off been looking at pixs of both your gals on FB.

ILs around so i m in office. they.take.up.a.lot.of.space.in.MY.home.

batgirl, wanna meet anytime soon at zion road hawker centre? my 6 tubs of CB cream are still with you

sd,
you very hardworking. i treasure my own sleep too much now to wake C1 up to toilet train him. work la, and ILs being around taking a toll on my energy.

speaking of which.... i hv a medium term plan for not going back next CNY. share with you girls later and help me refine ok.

SY
The other sessions like todd the big green frog and the chinese one magic ocean and the squirrel one (forgot the name liao!)Were really nice and interactive and fun. So based on BB's description, I also felt very cheated.

Hey has anyone checked out the maritime museum at RWS yet?

Oh did someone here bring kids to tokyo disneyland? I so want to go. Either hk or tokyo. Poppy has been asking too and every night our make-up stories involve disneyland haha. Already choped my parents to babysit #2!

cellow
the next one is in feb.

hee u sound like u r hatching some big plan!!

PB
i din go for the others so can't compare. but hope the next one is good. i think elephants shd be a topic that would be qutie easy for interaction?

i haven't checked it out yet. but will do so one day..haha

i only went hk disneyland before. so can't comment abotu the other one. but HK good enough for our kids at this age. even the boy had a lto of fun!

PB,

Agree with SY that HK disneyland will be good enough for our kids at this age. Tokyo expensive (radiation still lurking around) and further from Spore.

Cellow,

How about next Monday? Anybody wants to meet up for lunchie? :D

Cellow
Emma is quite restless when she sleeps at night so I didn't really have a good night sleep everyday T.T

PB
I went to Disneyland in Tokyo and HK before. I would say the HK one is probably ok for kids our age and less expensive. Tokyo Disneyland and HK Disneyland is the same, only Tokyo one has 1 more -Tokyo Disney sea. Disney sea is nice, but of course Tokyo is expensive and everything in Japanese so we didn't enjoy that much. Oh and they have guides all over, sorta disciplining you and reminding you all the time that you're not supposed to sit here or there, open your umbrella, whether you can stand in a particular area to watch show, etc. And the store hardly carries children's shirts. most are HP accessories.

SD
jx is also restless. what do u do about it? she can't stop moving!!

batgirl, cellow,
i will see whether i can work from home next fri. if yes then will join u gals. need a hair cut!

SY
haha yes must plan in advance

i went to tokyo disneyland but was already in my teens so didn't really look out for any kiddy things. i did enjoy myself tremendously though. but yes, radiation still lingers :S

sleeping
sigh i know that if either one of us spends the night with her, she will sleep through and well. but it's like going backward in the whole sleep training scheme of things :S

wow cellow
what's your evil not-going-back-for-CNY plan about? pray, tell!

fri lunch at zion road? woooo would love to join in too! heh mee, here i come!! but chope, it's NEXT WEEK, not tomorrow right? 4 nov?

SY
I didn't really do anything. When she sleep, the first 2 hours is like deep sleep. after that she'll be restless for the next 2 hours before sleeping. near the time when she wants to pee she'll be restless too (around 4-5 am). Making me tired every day lor. I think she probably feels hot (although the aircon is already 22 degrees). She is very sweaty, first our of sleeping her pillow will be very wet.

PB,

Yes, NEXT FRIDAY, 4 NOV. heh mee waiting for you... hohoho....

SY,

try to make it la! long time never meet you girls liao. have been so busy...

Me second SD's views on Disney HK vs Tokyo ..

Naughty words: bbg picked up a rude retort: ON YOUR HEAD that's earned him stern scoldings that brings tears recently

Ooh..can't wait to hear cellow's plot on CNY plans.

And guess what mummies..no2 dilemma is attacking me again!! ONE-AND-ONLY-ONE mummies.. U all still standing firm?

DD
Sorry I can't help but laugh... "On your head" is just so random la!

Hey mummies, this is so for us! One of us surely still has the pic of 4-5 of us preggie and posing in a row? I know doggiebb was in the pic... Cellow? DD?

Check it out:
Dear mummies, I'm a reporter from Straits Times Life and I'm doing a feature on mummies who met on the forum many years ago and have now become good friends and who kept in touch outside of the forum, like have gatherings etc.
If you don't mind being interviewed, could you please drop me a pm or email me at
[email protected]?
Look forward to hearing from you, thanks!

dd,
What does "On your head" mean? Just wondering how it's being used as a retort. Is it the same as "Your head la!"
One and only: dunno how to answer that question cos I've always felt that it's healthier to have 2. But the thought of that now... sigh.

pb, dd,
I still have that pix! somewhere... haha

"on your head"
does G mean "your head la"? makes me laugh too... but oh DD how did you react???

bbp,
sorry have to fly kite for tmr's parteeeee. Mr C has to work

is it very selfish to sometimes want ME time, not just to be a mummy and a wife? Mr C doesnt understand, he says he is perfectly happy with being husband and dad (and son).... and hence he concludes i m idealistically nuts. *raise one eyebrow*

post natal depression
i have a friend who gave birth in Mar 2010 nearly the same time as when i gave birth to C2, and is now exhibiting signs of post natal depression. wondering if that is normal (seems like long time... 1 1/2 years wor!) and what are the resources for help? KKH? or IMH better?
if anyone has 2nd or 3rd hand experience, pls PM me to share. thanks in advance!

Cellow
I think men already get more "me time", esp in terms of brain space. Eg. If BB takes a nap cos he's so darn tired from having a job right? When he wakes up he can just do whatever he wants. Nua or go on his comp or even play with poppy. He can wake any time he wants unless he needs to set his alarm to do something of his.

But if I nap, I need to set the alarm becos poppy's food will be defrosting in the fridge and I'll need to cook it. Things like that. My mind is always occupied with poppy thoughts or family thoughts on top of my work stuff. His mind is only focused on his things and if weather is nice in the evening so he can go for a jog.

I'm not sure if it's the same for other dads but BB already factors in his "me time" into each day. Whereas for me, I have to specifically plan activities with friends like our PIG OUT NIGHT!! It's only now that I'm preggie and taking a lighter load workwise, that I'm able to nap in afternoons and take it easy.

And if I may just say it... When it comes to discipline tactics it is you who is constantly trying to find the best method whereas he opts for the "just whack la" approach? I think men tend not to use up their brain cells for things like that. For me it constitutes toward me time too

That and being able to have a sh*t in peace, without having to sing the wheels of the bus when I'm on the pot or having to answer to "mama?" When papa is just outside and can perffectly answer if he chooses to.

Too much?

Depression
Maybe your friend is just suffering from depression (as opposed to post natal), cos of lack of family support?

That famous photo: can someone kindly send me a copy please? I so wanna see!!

thanks PB. spot on re Mr C factoring 'me time' into his daily activities.
i feel more normal and less *tear out hair* now. his hair, haha, not mine.

Cellow
I think men already get more "me time", esp in terms of brain space. Eg. If BB takes a nap cos he's so darn tired from having a job right? When he wakes up he can just do whatever he wants. Nua or go on his comp or even play with poppy. He can wake any time he wants unless he needs to set his alarm to do something of his.

But if I nap, I need to set the alarm becos poppy's food will be defrosting in the fridge and I'll need to cook it. Things like that. My mind is always occupied with poppy thoughts or family thoughts on top of my work stuff. His mind is only focused on his things and if weather is nice in the evening so he can go for a jog.

I'm not sure if it's the same for other dads but BB already factors in his "me time" into each day. Whereas for me, I have to specifically plan activities with friends like our PIG OUT NIGHT!! It's only now that I'm preggie and taking a lighter load workwise, that I'm able to nap in afternoons and take it easy.

And if I may just say it... When it comes to discipline tactics it is you who is constantly trying to find the best method whereas he opts for the "just whack la" approach? I think men tend not to use up their brain cells for things like that. For me it constitutes toward me time too

That and being able to have a sh*t in peace, without having to sing the wheels of the bus when I'm on the pot or having to answer to "mama?" When papa is just outside and can perffectly answer if he chooses to.

Like if I get home when he's with poppy and the dining table, he immediately gets up and that's me cue that my shift has started and I continue with the feeding, if feeding is to be done. Sometimes I just need a minute to perhaps rinse my feet and wash my hands?

Oh where did that all come from!

Depression
Maybe your friend is just suffering from depression (as opposed to post natal), cos of lack of family support?

That famous photo: can someone kindly send me a copy please? I so wanna see!!

Unrelated
Urgh. Just wasted an hour waiting at canon service centre, cos wanted to get replacement camera but realised I could have placed my order BY PHONE. Now I'll have to come back again to collect it. And we have to get a new one because? The lens cover sounds like a mating butterfly. And reparing it would cost twice as much as getting a new one

Urgh

Hiya, just to confirm attendance for tomorrow's party.

HALLOWEEN @ bbp
Date: 29 Oct (Sat)
Time: 5pm
- bbp
- pb
- smiggleprincess & her princes
- Jo
- dd
- youpi
- qing

Please sms or PM me for my address and phone number. If you sms me, leave your name behind cos I may not have your contact cos I'm using a phone from 1.5 years back

Cellow,
No prob.

Bbp
On for me tomorrow! Also want to reconfirm my dinner order placement :D

Happy lunch time mummies! Ready, set... JIAK!!! Omg I am dizzy from hunger!

Oh and OG got sale!!! I'm so auntie to be excited about that :S

Latest update: Anyone else?

HALLOWEEN @ bbp
Date: 29 Oct (Sat)
Time: 5pm
- bbp
- pb
- smiggleprincess & her princes
- dd
- youpi
- qing

SD
me too..super tired out by jx and her restless sleep. it's really bad. on days like this i can feel the skin looking tired too. there was one day when i went into office with concealer on my dark eye circles n the first comment my boss made when he saw me was 'how come u so tired?' must be not enough concealer.

cellow, PB
this 'me time' about men is soooo true. imagine i have 2 kids and hb still get his naps on sat + sun. and i ahve to go to weddings with 2 kids in tow...and not to mention the countless of times that i go to any gathering without my hb ard whereas he goes to his gathering without the 3 of us ard! not fair? i think so but the kids are closer to me anytime! today when i was playing a card game with jh, he din like me to lose and even resorted to letting me win one round on purpose. can u imagine that? haha i know it means he adores me so much that he rather not win than to have me lose.

since i started work, all promises of being back by 8pm, sharing the load of parenting, picking up the kids once a week, sending the kids once a week to sch, having dinner with us once a week etc...all flew out of the window. when i complain, then he will say he got to look for a lower paying job and argue that i dun understand how tired he is etc etc.

went to the dinosaurs live exhibition today. pretty ex ($65 for family of 4) and Jx said she felt scared. she wasn't the only young kid to feel that way though. older kids would like it though. the dinosaurs looked pretty realistic and they move and make sounds. would be posting some pics on FB soon!

batgirl
i try to make it. i got a lot of backlog of work. really need to clear it this weekend! terrible....

Hello everyone...

Pb: no worries about the pump. You can use it. It was new in market when I bought. Today at philip sales, it was selling at $500! Anyways, I've made good use of it and it served me well so no regrets!

Btw, the dark eye rings under poppy's eyes may be due to some nose block or sinus? I know kids with nose allergies or sinus will get that.
The other reason for waking up is she may be ready for toilet training at night?

Jo
but *i* am not ready for toilet training at night! haha. but i suppose it makes sense. she sometimes gives me 2 very full diapers per night

PInkB - r u baby shoppping?

talking about breast pumps - silly me left mine in the Osaka Airport toilet
..thankfully after one hour on the phone (chicken and duck talk) between the lounge staff, customs, SQ staff, they managed to pass it to the next SQ flight out of osaka AND icing on the cake ? SQ will deliver it to me later today..I LURVE SQ velly velly much

happy Monday everyone !

cin bunny
lucky it's SQ! their service is very good...how was your trip? photos!!

PB
iherb stuff here.
will find a chance to pass to u.

SY
Thanks. This week is madhouse for me. Next week can do lunch
only the omega swirls and vitamins right?

Cin
Welcome back! Phew lucky you managed to get it back! Btw how to pump overseas and bring back EBM ah? I'm thinking WAY ahead as you can see

And no, not baby shopping. Just baby wondering-out-loud-if-my-favourite-jul-mummy-friends-want-to-buy-me-baby-shower-present :D :D :D

Ah. Second time mummy but still cannot differentiate between baby movements and gas!

Oh btw I now feel cheated of my crab bee hoon cos didn't get to eat it today. Don Pie's pies aren't that great actually. They should change their name to Don Crab Beehoon. Anyone keen for crab beehoon lunch next week?

SOS mummies! does anyone have a copy of eric carle's the very lonely firefly to lend to me? i'll need to collect it from you sometime this week!

catholic mums
hey any of you catholic mums have tried your parish church's (assuming your parish church has one) Catechism of the Good Shepherd? it's like catechism for 3-6yos.

weaning
i'm weaning pomfret off latching, it's actually been a week since she last latched, but she's still crying for it now. sigh. i'm mentally physically and emotionally exhausted. most nights she falls asleep from sheer exhaustion and not because she's conceded from fighting to latch.

at 3 already so stubborn. i am already not looking forward to teenage rebellious years.

disneyland
in a heartbeat i would go to tokyo one again (by myself haha) but with our kiddos, definitely hk is tops. much cheaper, much smaller (so the poor kids don't have to walk so much) so you could finish every thing in one day too, not much disappointment there. and way shorter qs. i had a great time, and i even went for two days (yep, some rides pomfret insisted on taking 3 or 4 times)

SY
jx was scared? oh no, i have a scaredy cat (or fish) on my hands too. but i really really really want to see it for myself too!! hmmm. quite ex too. mb go without mr dustee to save on his ticket.

dustee
Maybe jus tell Mel straight. She's too old for your milk. N u have no more milk now. She wants milk u make FM for her or give her fresh milk.

But but I've actually been introducing FM n fresh milk way before I stop BF lah n brain washing her with someday only FM or fresh milk whether she likes it or not. So easier for me to give her alternative.

dustee
must perserve since u started. if not would be wasted efforts!

yes jx was a little scared but not too bad cos she din cry. she only said she scared the dino will bite her! haha....but she din cry so that's good enough.

hmm if u dare, u put promfret in stroller and get a ticket for yourself only.
cos kids below 3 dun pay...

C1 is sick, down with fever.
I m going to be sick soon too, I can feel the illness coming. tonight got work calls until midnight some more.... i think i will just keel over from sheer exhaustion soon

Dustee,
CGS - I have friends whose kids have gone through it/going through it. Can put you in touch with someone if you like. We were supposed to start this term but decided to hold off till later.

cellow - hugs to you..bean also sick, slight fever, horrendous cough..was up last night tending to her and mini-bean who still wakes up to cry..exhausted! you take manuka honey ok..and try to rest before night calls.

lunch - is it on this friday? at zion road? I will try make it ..i need a break from eating in front of my PC :p

cellow
oh no, hope C1 gets well soon. take sambucus. bbp recommend one. i think it works and helps!

cin
hugs hugs to bean too. hope she gets well soon. seems like cough is spreading. a lot of kids down with cough. jh also coughing but not that bad.