(2008/07) July 2008

Hello

lunch
so when is it???

MUA
erm, that time my sis had a celebrity MUA... he appeared in some local movies before..
price tag was $800.. and he got his assistant to practice on us!!! end up i rather diy..

busy with some ventures now.. gotta try my hand at online selling..
and helpin my hubby to sell his furniture..
anyone keen pls let me knw..

michelle
if his class has cases, better to keep him at home

jace
so your new place is ready?

housewarming..housewarming...housewarming. :p

bbp
yes there is a lot of cases going on now. i think it usually spikes when sch reopens, or when weather is really bad (this one is my own observation).

super duper upset with jh. dunno what is happening to him. is it my expectations are beyond him or is it i m overreacting? but i find him getting very vindictive and it makes me worried. jsut to quote 2 examples amongst a ton of others. got one night jx prayed for jh's fren who is sick. but she din say it properly and it came out like ' i pray for gege's fren unwell' when she meant she pray for the fren who is unwell. so jh said that he is going to pray for jx's frens to be unwell. so vindictive right. then this morning i gave them their respective cereals and they said they wan to mix with each other's one. so i gave. then jx decided she din like jh's one and din wan to eat it. so i told her next time she cannot have it cos she waste food. jh then said that he will waste jx's food next time. it's something that is on purpose so i find it very wrong. got very upset with him. how how? what shd i do???

Smiggle: what kind of furniture? I can check with some friends who are sourcing furnitures for their new homes.

SY
*Hugs* Is everything okay for Jh in school? Any problems? Like Jo said, he may be needing more solo mummy time and solo daddy time. They go through quite a lot at this age, more emotional, more aware of feelings and negativity from outside sources, which affects them. Sometimes, because we are too preoccupied with #2, we may expect the #1 to take care of too many things and keep themselves entertained. I am guilty of that, and I know that S feels the neglect.

Mich
The boys' kindy also had a HFMD outbreak last month. They went to school as usual. There were (and still are) daily checks at the door and in class, and all bog group events have been postponed. It should be fine as long as the school is taking action to stop the spread. But if you are concerned, just keep E at home for a few days.

Jace
The fact that Xun gal didn't get sick means that her immunity is good!

Housewarming q (for all the new movers and shakers)
Joining in :p

What is everyone doing this long weekend? See http://singaporemotherhood.com/articles/2011/08/a-little-night-magic-the-27-august-2011-weekend/

Bbp
Wah, super long holidays coming up leh.. Next week the kids only go to school for 1.5 days. Then the following week is the Sept school hols. Which means people like me will be doing the headless chicken run again.

Cellow
Have you gone to the Art Garden yet? Remember we were talking about it some time ago? We still haven't! And it ends at the end of this month!

Mich
Just keep plying Eboy with Vit C - so long as his immunity is high, he is better protected against HFMD. I got HFMD last year but that was because my immunity was low (I was preggy), and then I passed on to my boy (who is also lacking in the Vit C dept cos he eats little or no veg). My husb was the only one clear, thankfully, and I attribute it to him dousing himself in Vit C then!

So lesson learnt, now i make sure my boy eats his Vit C tablets everyday, since he eats pathetic amounts of fruits or veg!

bbp
Long weekend only for the kids, since monday's a school hol due to elections. Then Tue's a public hol.....

youpi,
i havent gone yet too! :p

agape,
i realise school hols are not standard. next Mon and Wed C1 has school Tue PH, Thu staff training then Fri teacher's day celebration.
now have to think of ways to entertain him on Thu and Fri!

thanks, i also think maybe he need more time with us but then i just wish he won't have these kind of unkind thoughts! he is doing it often nowadays.... and it dun help that jx is quite street smart about things. when jh does something wrong or not doing something right, she catches on very fast so she won't get any scolding from us.

Mich
yeah it's all about immunity. as long as Eboy's immunity is up, it helps to keep HFMD at bay!

Are we still bringing the kids out on Fri?

Cellow
your il are around right? get them to entertain the kids..:p

Hey mummies
Anyone knows where to buy bicycles for tots our age? I'd like those real bike+training wheels kind, with a basket in front. I've tried carefour, toys r us, giant...

Pb

I bought for talia at toy r us. But haven't bought for boy. I saw a bike shop at turf city with alot of little bikes which I think our 3 yr old can ride. It's near to the restaurants for eg sol on the first floor.

SY,
hehe. yes they are. and yes they will (entertain the kids!)
on the upside, it is good that jh is verbalising his thoughts (kind or unkind). so you can correct him quickly.... that is a good thing no?

PB,
actually i thought the JDbug bike that bbp ran a bp on was really good. carted one back for c1 fm UK.

he is still more interested in turning it around to spin the wheels than actually Riding It.

Lunch
is lunch on? can do one tmr?????

mich,
i think tis pretty amazing that you have had 3 whole years where you did not need to travel for work.

your experience last week reminded me of the first night away from C1 in jakarta on biz trip when he was 8mo. i cried in hotel room after calling home.

reunion w my son feels sooooooo great!

now. if anyone trusted and trustworthy wants to take care of C1 and C2, well, be my guest..... :p
i ll schedule some WE time with Mr C then.

Cellow
Nah I want the typical ribbon on handlebar, basket in front type

Tomorrow lunch I cannot. We won a contest and are going for Mister Maker craft session! Is anyone else gonna be there?

cellow - agree with you, amazing tt mich has not have to travel without eboy in the last 3 yrs!

PinkB - let me know how poppy likes the bicycle ok..i also very tempted to get one especially after seeing the picture of e-boy confidently riding it!

2 more days of work b4 the long weekend..woohoo!

cin
oh poppy sure will like. one of our neighbours has it an poppy absolutely loves it! i'm still talking about the typical ribbon on handlebar, basket in front kind. not the one that bbp did a bp on

youpi
nope my nipples are not confused at all

swimming lesson trials
anyone keen to join us for swimming class trials? our kids are 3, so they'll be in the 'jellyfish' class, trials are at 10am and 4pm this sat and sun, at bukit merah swimming complex (near bukit merah interchange). each session is $35, max 4 kids per session (for the 3 year old class)

Ha, it's a PB monologue afternoon!

Exciting news mummies! I'm planning a mums and daughters (sorry, mums of boys!) craft party during Sept hols! Will share more info when all is settled
yay so excited!

PB
i got a swimming teacher for jx. u keen to join in the trial? it's on 4th sept at high oak condo. beside bukit timah cc. the teacher is jh's current swimming teacher. swim class is at 5.30 on sundays. it's a new class so he will be assessing who is ready and who is not. the trial is free. and will be counted as 1st lesson if u decide to sign up.

re travelling
hee my first company trip and my whole family is tagging along! we are going to bintan for company trip and family welcome to come so i got hb to bring the kids. actually my big boss has asked me to go for a trip to japan but my boss kindly deflect it away for me. but my boss just told me he arrowed me again for next year's trip. and told my boss to give me 1 year early warning period. seems like hard to run away! i told my boss ask me to go i will quit! haha

PB
there's a bicycle shop outside my place. we got jh's bike there. i intend to get one for jx soon too. let me go take a look and see whether got those that u r keen on. if yes i help u check price then u decide whether u wan or not.

hello mummies
miss me? hehe

house-warming
sorry ladies, anti-social mr dustee not doing any housewarming at all. but mb next time round pomfret has a school holiday (she doesn't follow the usual school calendar) we could have a themed get together.

hong kong disneyland
who has been there, and which disney hotel did you stay in? every 2-3 days, pomfret will ask me "mama, next time go disneyland?" or she'll ask "where is mickey's house?" i don't know if for a place like hk, if it's better to get a package tour from an agency or just book everything online myself. help help!

dustee
i went twice but din stay at the hotel. i think most pple stay at hollywood or something? i think can get those free & easy tour that includes stay at disneyland. easier than booking everything yourself right?

i feel very accomplished today. got my hb to send the kids to sch so that i can do marketing, finished my marketing at 8am, went to pick up something for our office happy hour later and reached office at 9am despite the jam and rain....

dustee

stay in disneyland hotel instead of hollywood hotel whilst at disneyland. hollywood hotel is mass market and does not have the brekkie with the characters.

i can't advise whether to go with package or do everything yourself as I always do everything myself, i like the flexibility but honestly it may not be the cheapest all the time.

even though i just went last year, i am thinking of going again this year end! heh!

cellow
sometimes i wake up in the middle of the night to contemplate housework. just contemplate, i may not actually do them. the mountain of laundry needs some conquering.

sy
oooh. twice. read that hk disneyland is quite small, so one day is more than sufficient?

doggiebb
i know! you posted previously about the mickey mouse brekkie and i've not stopped thinking about it!!!! pomfret lives and breathes mickey, so i was wondering if we should just go to hollywood hotel as it seems to be mickey-ed even on the walls. but dor said the hollywood hotel is not comfy.

Dustee
We did it in one day but did not take all the rides. I'd stay for one night next time so that there's no need to travel back to mainland after, and to enjoy the fireworks.

Dustee the other hotel is very nice too
can have breakfast with the characters too but with additional charges of coz. Go! Its nice!! ;P I am also thinking of gg again coz xun gal is much older now so it will definitely be much more fun!!

I've been gian-ing to go to HK disneyland too now that poppy is older and now I'm rather certain it's not just a crush. Hopefully groupon will have a really good deal!

Baby loves disco! Cooooool! Missed it last year. But can I just say something that would make me sound REALLY lame and square and nerdy? .... Here goes. I have never been to zouk! Nope! Never! Seriously!

Only the bar outside, can't even remember the name. I just never liked drinking nor dancing so never saw the need to spend money doing things I didn't like.

yeah yeah initially i was tempted to go HK again! but then should go other places.

i like HK cos so easy to get ard plus the kids just love the place!

Dustee: we stayed at the disneyland hotel that has different Disney characters making rounds and we can take pics with. Buying the annual pass seems cheaper then booking the nights individually. I think they have a promo. For our kids, only the sleeping beauty castle appeals and they can take the rides. I would say one day is not enough given that the kids still nap, lunches, tea-breaks?

Hi everyone! I'm back and proud to say I didn't shed a tear this time round when leaving my baby behind..but reality set in for him when he woke the next morning and found me missing..so heart pain for me when I was at work mon mOrning..

PB! u won the hot date with mr maker! How did it go? Got get his autOgraPh too?

We did the 2 day 1 night at hk Disney too..but someone was only 2 and didn't like the fireworks which I though was fantastic

We did the SAM today cos it's ending 30aug!

Nipple confusion: not sure if bbG was or not, but I gave him the bottle when back from hospital, and he didn't want my nipples after that..was told it's easier drinking from bottle than nipple but not sure how true that is

Anyone been to Milan? Any tips on to do/see/eat?

Wow dd going to milan? So nice!! Congrats on not shedding any tears! Are you starting to enjoy your trips now?

Dec may be my turn cos bb and poppy might be going to canada for 3 weeks... Sans mama!

Mister Maker: no didn't get his autograph. Er so paisay la. I'm the laobu leh. But we did take pic with him. He so reminds me of daffyd thomas from little britain. "The only gay in the village"

DD
Welcome back! Milan: Gorgeous policemen and women, divine expressos, 10 Corso Como - opened by ex-Italian Vogue editor, the Duomo, ice-cold gelatos, all the fashion stores which are beautifully designed... it was a flying work trip long ago, can't remember much, sorry! We did not go anywhere over the weekend, had family visits... was SAM fun? Nipple confusion: sounds like it, and yes, easier to drink from bottle than breast.

HK
My boys want to go again, and L will pretend to be an aeroplane flying to HK. When I ask him why he wants to go back, he says that he wants to go there to take the tram!

PB
Why you no go to Canada as well?
Bicycle: been nagging at the back of my mind... I think Sally Cinnamon got that kind of bike for her #1. Think I recall seeing a picture in FB or her blog, very cute!

Well done DD for not shedding a tear!

Wow going Milan next ah? I went for honeymoon.

Housewarming
*queuing behind cellos and the rest*

Baby disco
Eboy will love! But 2-5, right smack nap time. Duh....

Love love love the short week this week.... Lalalalala

Ya Pb, why you no go Canada?

Bike
They can ride already, next time we can have a bike gang hang out at ECP! Eboy can't pedal full circle yet so he will step, then bring pedal backwards then step to move. Quite ingenious I must say, cos now he can steer and move quite quickly and confidently around the house and the park. The fall din affect him much I think... Phew... But still owe him a helmet,,, can't seem to find a good one for him...

Am I the only suaku who does not know who mister maker is?

Oh oh, finally finally, eboy is off diaper! *big load off my pocket!*

Lately eboy had been imitating the teacher and we all (including his playmobil king, queen, and knights) have to sit down and he will sit on the chair, hold the book in the way a teacher would, and start doing actions/tell story and make us response! Ohhh.... I just love these little cute moments with him!!!

Ok, something not so good.
Helper has resigned.
her parents are very ill and she needs to go back. So I'm on a maid hunt and pls wish me lots of luck. Whole family is sad to hear her leaving but I guess it's a matter of time lah. Sobs.

Mich
Congrats on eboy saying byebye to diaper! Poppy still refuses to poo without it!

And so great that he is cycling now and that the fall is way way behind him

Canada
Well we'll be doing the exact same thing again. Going 3 weeks, staying with my mil in ulu town equivalent to um I dunno, the deepest darkest corner of lim chu kang or jurong extension super super west or sth. And always having to rely on her to bring us out or waiting a darn long time in minus 40 in the snow, slosh and cold for the one bus that goes there.

I'll be cold and miserable, out of foreign language conversations, with a hubby that won't notice my black face, and worst of all, I'll be trapped in the house most of the time, and not able to even bring poppy out on my own because of the inconvenient transport system, the sheer distance to anything remotely cool and fun, (have I mentioned it's 1.5 hours by bus at the fastest, to get to town? A half hour walk to supermarket).

It's the perfect place to live if you've retired or have a car. And I don't intend to rent one becos I'm not confident driving on skid inducing roads.

I want to be the independent mummy I always am and being there always takes that away from me. Tried talking to hub about possibility of us living in a rental place in town, which is what we'll do IF we move there. Then I can really decide if I like it becos if we were to live with his mum for good I would go crazy crazy CRAZY and bang my head on all the windows I'm sure. He understands my preposition but thinks that a 3-week rental would cost a bomb.

So we're still talking and see if we can come up with a nice compromising situation that makes everyone happy

Wow. I didn't intend for all that to come out. Sorry.

So in summary we thought why spend $3-4k for me to be miserable for 3 weeks right? Anyway my mil only wants to see my hubby and poppy right?

Sorry for the outburst. Just feeling a tad bit low today. Must be the weather.

michelle
good luck in your maid hunt!

yes yes i must get down to getting jx's bike...

PB
but isn't it supposed to be a family thing to go together? i can understand how miserable u will feel but i guess that's why life is different over there. it's a slower pace of life for us to just relax which we will never find in singapore even at the deepest corner of lim chu kang.

sounds a bit sad if u dun go and i m sure poppy will miss u too!

jx down with fever again. seems like it's falling sick season for her. and the worse thing is she refuse to sleep even when sick! why is it so easy for her to sleep in sch but not at home? in the end i had to resort to driving her ard, walking at IMM for an hour and then she finally slept on the way back.