(2008/07) July 2008

PB
Sorry, don't have it anymore. That was some time ago. But if it comes round again as these emails tend to, I'll definitely forward it to you.

Bluey
Done

GOSH! I got no time to read all msg. Was just reading abt mich and e boy (hope he is much better now)! And ouch ... feel the pain for e boy... reminded me of when xun girl fell and had a few stitched on her head (lucky i was not there else that imagine will also be deeply imprinted onto my head too!)... ...

and then i moved down to PB's msg .... stunned and eyes wide + mouth wide!
PREGNANCY is probably the last thing i want now -_-""" sweat. Cannot imagine having a tiny xun. And to make matters worst my menses is like crap. Overdue ... since i stopped bf-ing it has been haywired. 1.5months to 2 months once ... and so its now overdued by 11 days. What PB just said made me worried. Think the pharmacy will be earning money from me for all the test kits i will be buying each month until my cycle returns to normal ... ...

Ok back to work after 5 days of not being in office = slow!!

*hope that cellow is better now! after browsing through all the msg, dunno if i got the sequence right or not. U sick right? =)

long time never post..

back to work full time liao!!!...
An then Kasper had to have fever from injection.. He weighs 8plus kg now.. anyone rem if its normal?? I saw Rena's bb and he weighs like 13kg!!!OMG, that's same as Kayden!!!

Michelle
when we went kkh, it cost us abt $100, but we bought the cream for kayden's scar.. it cost $100 and very effective.. try it.. dermatix i think..

bbp
i need to buy sophie for kasper, any bp also let me know.. kam sia..

Im trying to start a biz on the side now..
Appreciate any mummies who have frens who are art/antique collectors, pls recommend them to me..

Mich,
I feel for you. Cos I also kena stitches just a few months back. And my nearest hospital was Gleneagles, so it came up to 600+ for me. Plus got after midnight surcharge somemore.

Wife vs Husband duties:
I used to complain to Mr bbp but I think we've managed to arrange it somewhat. It's an unspoken rule now that whoever doesn't shower Declan has to dry and change him. Works better for us cos then we all tend to get ready at around the same time. That used to really irk me cos the hubby would prepare himself, and I would prepare Declan, then guess who would be the last one holding up the whole entire Lin clan who are already downstairs waiting? But other than that, I got nothing much to complain about la. You girls are super women!

Jacelyn,
Haha, I was just mentioning to Cindy yesterday that luckily PB never dream of me!

smiggle,
I have PM-ed you!

jace,
yes i was sick last week, slightly better on fri, weekend activities got me down again... drippy nose came back w a vengeance on monday.. slightly less drippy on tue and ystday, then today can go out grocery shopping

LOL on mummies elevated to super status, while daddies remain mere mortals. i cannot complain abt Mr C already.... he is able to handle C1 by himself.

jo,
i m now inspired to try cheese baked rice this sat for lunch. for adults and C1. let you know how it was received... i bet C1 will like, bcz he loooooves cheese.

full day settling in
C1 has settled into full day routine amazingly well. just that he usu sleeps 2-3h at home, whereas in school, the naptime is max 2h, so he comes home a little mabuk and sleep deprived each day. that actually works out ok, as he takes just 10-15mins to fall asleep the past 3 days compared to half hour to max of 2h (!!!!) last time.

so dor, you are rite. they do adjust v quickly... more than we give them credit for.

Cellow: try try try... It's a never go wrong dish for everyone! Can add what you like also!
have fun!

SY: have you found a swimming instructor? I came across one who has 8 years teaching experience. You want his contact?

Dermatix... Sounds like a character from harry potter

Bbp
Same. Sometimes I'm rushing to prepare everything for poppy and I, and bluebunny is standing in front of the mirror FIXING HIS HAIR. Tsk aiyoh alamak walau cannot make it!

Oh and anytime you want me to dream of u, just say the word :D

Sy
Any iherb ordering coming up?

hey btw mummies, auntie question .... anyone noticed that:

1) electricity bills are getting to be absurdly high?

2) mornings are really hot these days?

Hubbies
Currently in 'zen' mode cos I'm happily doing my stuff......hehe
Last time he was the 1 who makes me happy. Now I need my own stuff n the kids to make me happy.

After my last few 'flare ups", my hubby compensate by reading to the kids. N it made them really crazy abt books now. And E keeps reading her books the whole day. But the bad thing is u know how they start to get lazy. So now I am the 1 reading the books to the kids while he starts showing them videos again.
But it makes me laugh when the kids automatically take books to the bedroom to get him to read to them. I caught D shouting to E once (machiam on mission, must be super fast) "Quick!! Take ALL, just take ALL the books." LOL

Mich
Thank goodness it is all okie now. Hope Eboy doesn't have a scar.
I understand the playback. I had the play back for days when E blacked out after a fall when she was only 1 yr old and I had to call for ambulance. I still get very scared everytime she falls.

SY
Yah the men jus expect things to be done but they never wonder how it can be done. Tmr we are going on a sch trip with D. Yes, me, E n D. Thankfully they allowed E to go together without even wanting us to pay extra, else I won't even be able to accompany D on the trip.
My hubby just keep reminding me to bring the camera when I'm trying to make sandwich for the kids for tmr. I'm wondering, look after E n D n must follow the class. They r learning abt the resirvor. So I'm wondering.....must watch the 2 kids n I'm supposed to take photos.....which hand??

Cellow
Yeah good right.....haha
I also like week nights cos its more routine and easier to handle. D gets to sleep like in 5 mins normally. Holiday nights esp when dad is home is a real headache.

bbp
My only issue with my hubby for their bath is he likes to argue with them.......sigh really like a big boy right.
Cos I bath the kids everyday and he only baths them like on Sun. N sometimes he even tries to not bath them!!! (horrible right!!)
So the kids(esp D) wants to do things our usual way but the dad.....will insist on his way and the fight of the ego btw the 2 boys starts. N ofcos he expects me to dry n cloth E after he's done bathing her. *roll eyes*

Jo
yes i got a timing. the timing given by the instructor is sat 4pm. u let me know whether ok with u or not. he can do a trial first at the exact timing and place to see how the kids adjust first.

PB
yes i have iherb coming up. u let me know by today if possible. can take in about USD 80 or so.

Dor
haha your hb is funny. expect u to be octopus!!!

at least your hb bathes them ocne a week! mine dun like to bathe them! only special request and super nagging from me will do the trick! haha

PB,
Noooo.. no dreams of me please. Thank you very much.

SY,
That reminds me. Sometimes hubby wants to get out of it, so he asks Declan who he wants to bathe him. Then Declan says.... "PAPA!"
Haha.

Oh girls, do you all know of anybody who can do makeup and hair for evening dinners at a specified location such as hotel?
Cos my brother-in-law's getting married and I'm hopeless (and I really mean hopeless cos I don't even wear makeup to work previously).

SY
i'd like these please:
Disney my first gummies @ $5.99
http://www.iherb.com/Disney-My-First-Gummies-Multi-Vitamin-60-Gummies/36929?at=0

Disney finding nemo gummies @ $5.70
http://www.iherb.com/Disney-Finding-Nemo-Gummies-Children-s-Multiple-Vitamin-and-Mineral-Supplement-60-Gummies/33733?at=0

Healthy Times Huggabear cookies Honey Graham @ $2.48
http://www.iherb.com/Healthy-Times-Hugga-Bear-Cookies-Honey-Graham-6-5-oz-182-g/27229?at=0

Earth's Best letter of the day cookies VERY VANILLA @ $2.73
http://www.iherb.com/Earth-s-Best-Organic-Letter-of-the-Day-Cookies-Very-Vanilla-5-3-oz-150-g/26096?at=0

bbp
same for us. we both ask 'who do you want to shower you/put you to bed?' and you can see our thought bubbles going "say mama/papa*, say mama/papa*...."

*delete where applicable

i know someone who does bridal make up. but i don't know what her prices are or how her skills are ok? try calling irene soh at 96993941 and tell her i introduced you. [email protected] (er she knows me by my real name, not PB ok? you can remind her that we met at the disney events)

Hey mummies wanna hear something amazing? I just met a not yet 3 year old (sept kid) who can spell "elephant" and can recite tang poems! Oh boy. How amazing is that!

You know, ever since coming into this thread, I'm so glad I'm not the only one feeling upset about the husband not pulling his weight in the house when it comes to the children! Seems like a common issue!

bbp
I have no contacts on this one but my gf had this MUA called Sam Ong who is such a nice guy and did a wonderful job on her wedding day. If you want I can ask my gf to dig out his contact...

PB
I am in complete awe when I hear stories like that. Tang poem! I'll be thankful if my boy can even speak a decent Madarin sentence to me!

bbp
i used to have a good MUA but i think i lost her contact. her name is linda. u can try calling up golden horse bridal studio to ask for her. i know she used to work there. if not let me get from my sis the one she used for her wedding. haha i also got one MUA to do mine for me when my sis got married!!

bbp, PB
hi 5! i also do that all the time. ask them who they wan....haha and can see both parties trying to influence them into saying the other person's name!!

bbp,
why not get the same person who did your wedding makeup to do it again for you?

LOL on D shouting to E to quick quick take ALL the books for papa to read.....!

Cellow,
Um, cos I lost her contact. I even forgot what her name was and had to trawl through my gmail.
Trying to search for her now through SingaporeBrides forum.

Bbp why don't u ask your SIL's MUA to do for you too? Usually they're ok with that and will charge u a token fee. My MUA did hair and make up for my MIL and mum too. But I didn't really like my hairstyle so I'm not really recommending him... I looked like a ronggeng danger. Esp with my kebaya

PB,
Actually I did think of that. We've (MIL & me) have asked SIL to help us settle hair and makeup too. I dunno why she's looking for someone else instead of her MUA. And I also dun want to ask too much bcos she isn't really asking for my input so I dun want to overstep my boundaries there. The thing is, you're right. During my own wedding, my MUA did my MIL's hair and makeup too.

agapebb: that's why they say men are from mars, and women are from venus.. totally two different types of animals wired differently haha

bbp: same BIL having a wedding banquet? the pictures were stunning and dec was so suave!

Bbp: here are 2 that you can call: Keith - 9450 7897, lynda- 9790 1979. For lynda, you can quote my name, Jo or Joanne both also ok.

How's everyone doing this wet wet monday morning? Just wanna share my fav crafty mummy blog of all time. She's my ou xiang. So inspirational, and she takes gorgeous photos too:

http://www.frugalfamilyfunblog.com/

I mean "she takes great pics as well as is really crafty", not "she takes great pics, like I do" becos I most certainly do not! Hehe

Get ready to be inspired!

Post-vote entertainment

SPH Gift of Music Series: SSO Classics in the Park

Date & time
27 August 2011 (Saturday), 6.00pm

FREE ADMISSION

Venue
Shaw Foundation Symphony Stage
Singapore Botanic Gardens

Performers
Singapore Symphony Orchestra
Lim Yau conductor

Programme
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90 ‘Italian’:
I. Allegro vivace
OFFENBACH Orpheus in the Underworld: Overture
MENDELSSOHN A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61:
Intermezzo
Scherzo
SIBELIUS Valse Triste from Kuolema, Op. 44
SIBELIUS Karelia Suite, Op. 11:
I. Intermezzo
III. March
SUPPÉ Light Cavalry: Overture

For more information, please visit www.sso.org.sg.

We'll be there! How coincidental, I picked up an SSO brochure earlier and was gonna post the same!

Wow SSO gives SO many free performances.

Grabbed a brochure from ion yesterday too but not sure if I'm going cos would have just gotten back fm yet another biz trip.. But have Sat in for lim yau's performance and sso is good!

SCO's not bad too..

N whitesnake will be here in nov!

I'm leaving tonight to Bangkok for biz trip. First time away from eboy for such trips and I'm not feeling good.
wait I cry in airport how??? Sobs.....

Pb, want to get tips from you to make lanterns. Parent-kid project for school. Can post your creative crafty idea to share Bo? Thanks!

Bbp, you found the MUA yet? I very very keen to see your made up look! Post pic hor!! Hee....

mich

first trip away? sure cry one if eboy comes to send you at the airport! big time boohoohoo! i did!

but it does get better on your second and subsequent trips! hopefully you won't get too many of such trips though.

Don't think I will tell you to go shopping too cos i totally have no mood to shop the first time round, just mope in the hotel the whole time...

how many days will you be away?

bbp

the so-des-nes vid on fb of dec is super cute! that cheeky grin!!!

boss not in office today so totally in a relac mood! *looks around* half of my colleagues are not even in yet! tsk tsk!

smiggle

so nice! enjoy!

PB

are you still keen to conduct something for mr D's mensa activities for kids?

to take it forward, if you could propose some activities, timing needed, how many kids you can accommodate, budget etc.

then we should able to take it up fairly quickly. let me know.

Congrats smiggleP hope u picked the right job (picked with heart?)

Mich..I've gone a few times and I'm still the one (not him, the last trip) crying when saying goodbye..another one coming up this sun (must prepare myself again!)

Ok auntie question coming up: where can I buy those raw keropok to fry at home? And durian cake (the soft ones that come in a tube like dodol)?

Jo,
Thanks, but I kinda give up liao. Just let my SIL handle this since according to my MIL, seems like her own mum wants the makeup/hair thingy too.

Mich,
So kaypoh ya? Haha. But seriously with my specs, don't think I will look very different la. Hmm, what a good excuse to get new specs! Heh heh.

doggiebb,
Haha. Thanks. Do you know where that so-des-ne came from? From his dad! It was almost a perfect copycat. And yes, they are getting so incredibly cheeky aren't they?

smiggle,
Congrats and have fun! When does your new job start?

Oh my!! It's so hard leaving a sobbing child of mine at the airport!!! I can't control my tears and I'm sitting at the gate crying!!!!! Ppl must be thinking I'm sone mad women but eboy was so happy pushing my luggage, saying yes to me telling him to behave while I'm not around and he should listen to PA PA. Laugh smiley all the way until I said I'm going in, then he realized gosh mummy is leaving me, and as he waved goodbye, his pouted lips showed and he started sobbing!!! Oh my heart!!! I'm never going to leave him ever again!!! Never!!!!

Oh poor u mich! Big hugs. HopE u r feeling better by nOw n is on plane Liao. When will u be back? Call and do FaceTime/video calls with him everyday..bring a little something of his along...go look for a little gift from bkk for him n u will feel better... I'm sure he's in very good hands

Haha thanks pb but I can't travel all the way there just to get it now..found some (in SG yes) but not fantastic ones I think