(2008/07) July 2008

and mua checking in from beijing while the totally knocked out toddler is still snoring in the big plush bed!

need to rest my aching biceps and back too... can u imagine carrying him up n down the great wall and everywhere else!

it's so dusty and dry here but cool weather is nice..

esquare.... just sms-ed u.. your mms pics are not showing up on my handphone! can u describe the cream to me so i can explain it to localsl and look for it?

youpi r u feeling better? so far i've only ordered swimwear online so can't help much..

Youpi: have you tried the swim shops at paragon, forum and tanglin mall respectively? They sell sizes as small as 6 months. I saw long sleeves rasher at the shops 2 months back when I was shopping for a swimsuit for my kids

hihi mummies,

anyone can recommend a good humidifier??
our aircon is so dry.. not sure why...

DD
do u have your own nebuliser for G?? if yes, which brand issit?? im thinking of getting one for kayden...

Youpi
you can try cotton on kids.. mostly i buy from Old navy.

Dustee
I also wanna try the movie thingy.. but dunno which movie will catch his attn for long...
You looking for movers? i used elite movers before, not very ex.

jo
those swim shops are so expensive though! er, i am looking for swimsuit for myself (coz i have expanded exponentially) and i fainted when i saw how much one cost at the shop in tanglin mall. so much money for so little material hehe

smiggle
then did you just settle on a price over the phone, or did they send someone to come and survey your things etc etc before they gave you a quote? checking websites and they all say will send someone to look see before giving a quote. so troublesome, though i understand the need.

youpi and steph
how was bouncing kids? i'm going to give it a try next week, since it's quite near home (mrt-station-count wise i mean) is it walkable from kovan mrt?

pb/smiggle
okay lah, i was thinking of dear john (i guess more for myself than for pomfret) but prob toy story is more appropriate for them hehe. 24th may, set?

dustee
wat abt kungfu panda2?? is it suitable for them to watch??

You can get swimsuit on the BP, i bought a few which can cover my tummy..

Movers
I provided the list of things to move and they quote me over the phone.

smiggle
i think dustee's link only shows dear john or toy story

dustee
24th may, ok for me!

me too, also looking for swimsuit. the last time i brought poppy, i realised that the elastic on my bottom loosened liao so i spent the entire time with one hand on my hips to prevent it from falling

Dustee: really? When I was there, they were having sale so I didn't check out the prices but they seem to have quite a wide range. I didn't buy anything in the end. I think such things are very much cheaper in states and Australia, maybe can try BP.

Smiggle: novita ones are quite good, you can check them out at Best Denki.

esquare
u still looking for the cream? i asked my mum and her local driver also cannot find. if u know where to buy i think that wd be easier to find. cos BJ is huge and have lots of stuff. unless u dun mind other brands that work in similar ways i can ask my mum to buy. cos she did tell me got another one that they say is good.

smiggle
i m planning to bring my kids for kungfu panda 2!

i think novita is not bad.

Long sleeved swim shirts
Thanks Jo & Smiggle, I will check those out.

Dustee
Yes, it is walkable from Kovan MRT. Just go towards the bus interchange and across it. I find it rather small and suffocating, actually. Prefer Polliwogs & Peekaboo. But it has a flying fox that S liked. and L loved the slide into the ball pool.

Swimsuit
I got my own long sleeved rasher from the swim shop in J8. It has quite a good range.

DD
Ni hao! I am better, but not perfectly well yet. Must be old age. Grrrrr!

good morning!

swimsuits
C1 not swimming and i dun swim... youpi, what is a long sleeved rasher?

esquare, welcome back to the thread

saw your fb postings... everyone is better now?

some items out of stock when i tried to place order but good news is they suddenly have a promo for shipping 50% off DHL! so for all mummies who have placed orders, we got cheaper shipping.

I called Singpost to find out if they conduct tours for kids. They welcome school groups for kids aged 10 and above at their distribution centre, but for the younger kids (like ours!), they are happy to email me some interesting points to look out for at post office for our own visits. They've said mornings or late pm is good (avoiding lunch time la) I'm thinking of next week, late pm. Anyone keen to join? I'm good for mon, tues, wed, about 4pm at the main post office (paya lebar).

Great news re shipping, SY!

Happy PH everyone

Pinkbunny: you should become a childcare teacher, I'll enroll my girl in that school!
so fun, I'm in! Late pm for that mon tues and wed ok for me! Thanks.
the next time we can visit the toy museum and fire station!

Jo
Thanks for the kind words but I won't last a week at a childcare centre I think!

I'm not sure about toy museum but fire station is absolutely great! We just went last sat and poppy really enjoyed it (when we went a year ago she wasn't interested at all). Of course, the number of handsome fit firefighters made it worth mummy's while too

More mummies? Sy take half day and join us la! Cin will be back from taiwan liao right? DD, I'm sure bbG will enjoy! Youpi, too late for you?

pb pb pb
next week tues late pm me me me! and pomfret of coz. that day her school is closed for excursion day for the older kids. but only tues, if it's convenient for the rest of you : D

smiggle
then did you ask the movers to pack for you too? or just tell them the number of pieces of furniture to be moved? and then estimate how many boxes of other stuff to be moved?

kungfu panda 2
there's a '2' coming? hmm. my nephews used to watch quite a bit of kungfu panda, and last year, pomfret would be totally disinterested in it. i wonder now that she's older, whether she would be interested. hmmm. but i did love the first one!

PN or N1
our kiddos are considered N1 this year right? the cc where pomfret is attending her afternoon class, has put her class down as PN. just realized today (so silly right, i never thought to ask them) coz mr dustee brought her to class and the teacher said something about the PN not going for the excursion this month. so mr dustee came back and kicked up a big fuss with me over why i never checked with them why she's in PN. yikes.

hey, to be fair, he could have clarified with them on the spot right?

duh, men.

Youpi

My long sleeve rashies are from gymboree or old navy. Try joining one of the sprees.

Hello from down under!

Am absolutely enjoying the cool weather. Kids went koala spotting and kangaroo feeding the whole afternoon. Napped with the platypus too! (in the dark enclosure that is!)

PB: Hmmm... so fire station can go unlimited times?
BTW, me blur! Saw wrong dates, next week, I can only make it on tues and wed. Am trying to care off Gabriel, if not will be me with 2 kids on tow!
Sorry for my blunder. :p

Doggiebb: Hi! Which part of Oz are you at? staying for good or touring?

Jo and Dustee
Ok set! Tues 24 may 4pm at the paya lebar post office then! It's the biggest, and is in a building by itself. Let's target to be on time so we can all be home at decent hour!

Any more mummies? I'll need to let post office know by this Thurs

Sia-ing time
Qing, wanna take leave and show us barbie's new earrings? :p

Dustee
Wait, chope, twist. 24 may is toy story day right? How? Do both ah? I'd rather do post office leh. If poppy naps in playsch, timinmg more fixed and I can make it at 4. If she naps at home, walau like today, slept 3-5pm! How how how?

Fire station
Jo, I can only say for central - open every weekend and no need to sign up or register beforehand. Just show up! I'm pretty sure there are kids who go almost every week! Maybe that's why they don't give out the plastic kids helmets anymore.

DD
remember, bbG and poppy had one the last time?

Pb
Seriously I haven't been following our thread for a while.
It's like a sixth sense. Like I know u are calling out to me. oMG and I saw my nick... Lol
I would love to go. When do we have to confirm?

jo,
fire station visits are at any fire station (except Jurong... i think) all saturdays from 9-11am. no registration required. just turn up!

PB
okay lets do post office. after all, my heart is telling me to go 'dear john' hehe.

cellow
can I ride in the helicopter too? coz i know i will love it too! haha, but yeah, pomfret loves watching aeroplanes in the sky, so i guess i'm marking my calendar for this one. thank you and your young friend!

childcare PN vs N1 class
wrote a long email (yep, insomnia does that to us all) to the cc asking why pomfret is in a PN class vs what they promised should be an N1 class. hmm. i don't have an issue with it, coz i just wanted pomfret to get used to having a schedule and going to school without me by her side. but mr dustee.... he went ballistic.

he said "it's like, if you're in primary 2, but they put you with the pri 1 kids and teach you the pri 1 syllabus, then what are you learning, and what's the point of going to school?

if they put you with the pri 1 kids, but they teach you the pri 2 stuff separately, then that's still okay. i want to know if they are teaching her N1 stuff or not."

then the winning sentence he said.... "you ask them" .

Qing
Yes I sent you brain signals
Let me know by this thurs pls!

So far the list for 24 may at paya lebar post office at 4pm stands at:

1) PB and poppy
2) Jo and Gwyn
3) Dustee and Pomfret

And possibly qing

Cellow
I bumped into ur helper and C2 in jacob ballas toilet! Man, the whole world was at jacob ballas this morning! I felt my blood pressure increasing and increasing

Air force open house? On! I know my dad would be interested too hehe. Oooo maybe can ask him to poppysit!

Dustee
I'm wondering if PN and N1 are just diff words for the same thing...

Dustee, hmmm for xun's sch, she is now PN and next year will be nursury, the year after should be K1 and then K2 (wow sounds like she will be in Pri 1 soon man! OMG!). I think its like what PB says, different wordings for the same thing.

Its either N1 and N2 or PN and N, followed by K1 and K2. Thats my own understanding though. Didnt confirm it with anyone. haha

Hi Jo

I am on holiday. It's like I love the weather and the air and the huge spaces but I don't think I can live here. The food is like ermmm and I can't just dash downstairs for a $3 bah chor mee anytime I like. Shops close at 5pm most days. And regardless what, even though it may not be blatant but I think racism still exist towards Asians here.

Dustee

Same here. T2's kindy calls his class pre-nursery which is the equivalent of N1.

Dustee
Yup yup, Pre-N is N1. L is in pre-N, next year he'll be in N, then K1 and K2. I think childcare centres have a different kind of segregation, hence the confusion.

Re: what they learn. Right now our toddlers are just in school to socialise and play, right? For actual teaching at this age, I think you have to go to places like MindChamps or similar.

Doggiebb
Thanks for long-sleeved rashie kangtow
Which part of Ozland are you in? Envying your cool weather as it seems to be even more hot and muggy this year.

Cellow
Long-sleeved rashie is this: http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=68218&vid=1&pid=809870&scid=809870002
Me and my boys are very chao tar, and they have terrific tan lines so am hoping to stem all that with these.

Cellow, PB: thanks for info on firestation. Ha ha ha...PB, I'll go spy for the different stations, to see which one has hunks!

Doggiebb: I know what you mean, that was one thing I couldn't stand also, no bak chor Mee, char Kway teow etc etc... And the shops close so early!

Duster: my girl's school calls them playgroup. Next year nursery, then k1 and k2.

doggiebb
racisim is everywhere
that's why i am trying to delay our eventual packing up and moving to winter wonderland.

a friend had beer cans thrown at him, courtesy of kids in a moving car with lovely yellings like 'go back to china, you chink!'.

i think cos food is so ex in aust, and shops close early most tend to eat home. which is good in a way, cos it promotes family time. i also love that they've got great kiddy areas. but like you said, racisim exists.... and of course i would miss chicken rice....

jo
i can just imagine:
me: poppy let's go to fire station!
poppy: what? AGAIN? we've been for the past 10 weeks!
me: but... auntie jo says clementi one got really handsome firefighters! i mean.... er... higher poles to slide down from and bigger hoses!

Duster: here's a rough guide to the focus of different levels.
1) PG- sounding of alphabets, phonics, pincer grip training to prepare them for writing, rote counting, 1-1 correspondence, fine and gross motor skills.
2) Nursery- handwriting, family words(cat, mat, sat...), phonics sounding reinforcement, plus the rest mentioned above but higher level.
3) k1- phonics-blends(ch, sh, ee, oo...), story writing, conservation for math, number bonds...
4) k2- creative writing, spelling, simulation program(help them to transit to P1)
Something like that, I'm sure the 4 year syllubus covers more. All these stories, songs, art, science... Hope this helps.

PB
ohhhh i would love to bring the kiddos. let me see whether i can take leave next tue... :p

re fire station
jurong is open for visits too! in fact it's a huge station. i went before with the kids and the firemen brought us in the fire engine for a ride! they were really kind. we were the only ones there and jh got to use the hose, ride in more than one kind of vehicle etc. but the only station with the aerial lift is central so i plan to go there once of these days....

in a little bit of dilemna. this morn met up with jh's ex classmate and his mum told me a lot of things abt the sch! so now i think i m on a school hunt again....hope to get a sch within my budget, wihtin a certain distance, a lot of constraints to consider!!!

SY: what about the school? Is it something that you can't accept? Are they transparent about it? Is glory presbyterian kindergarten within your choice?

Pn vs N1
okay let me clarify. I do know that across different kindys and cc, they categorise them differently. BUT pomfret's school specifically states that they have PN, and N1 and N2. And also when we went to the open house to enquire, they did say that this year, children born in 2008 are considered N1.

so even in the school emails sent to parents, they will state "excursion for PN, N1 and N2. PN kids pls come with a parent" etc.

which is why I have to ask them why pomfret is in PN. The fact is, they have an N1 and N2. so their PN != N1.

and even then, the first two days when i could sit in with her, i did observe that her classmates were all still mostly babies (y'know, like 18 months only. some can't even run) but i guess i was so anxious for her to adapt it didn't occur to me she was the oldest there.

youpi
yes, i did say very softly to mr dustee that i think she's having fun anyway so it's okay if her class is all younger than her... which was when he brought up that whole Pri 1/Pri 2 analogy.

come to think of it, when we went to the cc open-house, mr dustee was the one who actually asked the teacher "what's the curriculum for nursery 1?"

yep, he's definitely the chao mugger between us.

sy,
wat did the mum share w you?
actually bedok/changi fire station also has the aerial lift, and the one time Mr C, C1 and I went there.... we were practically the only ones there.

talk later. 930am meeting

Aerial lift? You mean like the thing the treecutters on the road use? WAY COOL!!! I want!

Dustee, Jo (and possibly Qing)
An idea for you to consider too - I'm going to ask poppy to write a letter/postcard to a friend and we'll bring it to post next week at post office

Anyone who is keen please let me know by lunch time tomorrow (Thursday) so that I can confirm with singpost ok?

International Museum Day Open House on May 29. Free entry for all at participating museums and institutions:-
· Asian Civilisations Museum
· Chinese Heritage Centre
· The Army Museum
· Infocomm Experience Centre
· Land Transport Gallery
· National Library Singapore
· Memories at Old Ford Factory
· National Museum of Singapore
· NUS Museum
· Peranakan Museum
· Reflections at Bukit Chandu
· Singapore Art Museum
· Singapore Sports Museum-YOG gallery
· Singapore Philatelic Museum
· The Intan

oh lots of things to do....

24 May 4pm at post office central - paya lebar - contact PB
28/29 May all day Air Force open house at paya lebar http://www.mindef.gov.sg/content/imindef/mindef_websites/atozlistings/air_force/news_events/events/events2011.html

and youpi's lovely loooong list of museums to go to on 29 May Sun.

drats. just realised that i m back to Mr C's hometown on 28 May. so no helicopter ride for me, and no museums too. grr.

off topic - what touristy things are there to do in London for adults? palace, big ben, get into q for cheap tickets at leceister sq, then.....?
wat CHEAP (cheaper than SG) toddler and bb things can i lug back in my suitcase this time round? ideas needed! thanks!

doggiebb,
i think of you in cool weather and perspiring me is so super duper envious...... hot hot hot in SG!

dustee,
dun stress la. tis mr dustee that is making you all anxious over nothing. if really wrong class, then take pomfret out and put into right class lor..... (and ask them if they can refund you the additional fees paid in prev months, IF you want, and IF it doesnt cause you additional stress)

PB,
yes jacob ballas was really crowded ystday. and hot too! i was looking for shade all the time.
hehe. C2 looks a lot like C1 izzit, so you could recognise him? i heard Bluebunny calling out to Mr C... wondered briefly 'how does Mr C know this ang mo man?' before turning around and tadah, there was Bluebunny! but minus you and minus poppy who was apparently occupied w the waterfall then. C1 was occupied w climbing the treehouse and slides.

Cellow
I've met C2 what. At bbp's house. Halloween. And at BG for picnic. We did slides a few times but spent the most time looking for trolls at the bridge

Youpi
Thanks for the list! Wow 28-29 is going to be a busy weekend for us! Btw I remember last year's museum open house too. How time flies. You cann join for post office ah?

Got a question re naps
Any kiddos have abandoned nap time? Poppy is ok in playschool but at home, she's really sleepy after lunch (like really, almost lying on table kind) but once in bed, talking away for an hour and a half, finally falling asleep at 3 plus. :S

Aiyoh. I also dunno how.

pb - my gal still needs her naps or she will be a crankpot.. if we are home she can go without a nap but by 7pm she is out.. but if outdoors, once it is ard 1, she will be fussing to go home.. coz she is tired.. but yes, she will be v v tired but once in bed, needs to talk away for an hour or so before sleeping!

naps
C1 has occasionally not napped. also talk talk talk talk talk to my aunt for 1h plus before finally falling asleep at 3plus. his record was sleeping at 5pm!

i really dunno how he will cope with napping at 1-3pm when he starts full day school in Jul. sigh. one thing at a time....

Cellow: visit tower bridge, Camden market. Buckingham palace- change of guards every mon @ 11am, eat fish&chips w vinegar. Hyde park.... Take a walk from marble arch to Oxford street, lots of shops! Then at the end of the walk, if your shoe is worn out, buy new ones!
eat cheap and yummy roast duck rice at picadilly circus...

PB: good idea! Will ask Gwyn to do that!

Cellow: oh ya, buy trunki! Only £29 or lesser if there's a sale!
boots sells this Heinz "cook at home" range of sauce, 7 flavors, great for cooking pasta for toddlers, all taste good, esp the 3 cheese, tomato&basil and bolognese flavors! Cheap and good!

Wah Jo, u sound like u know London pretty well. Worked or stayed there Previously? I've never been there myself but some say to catch a show on broadway or watch musicals?

Anyway..we r back and we are shagged!

mummies who moved houses with kiddos
how do you move? do you just let the toddler hang out with you while you supervise the movers, or do you put them somewhere else, or wait till they are in school?

PN vs N1
so the cc clarified that the afternoon class comprises PN and N1 kids. (only 3 N1 kids btw) and they let them join the full-day PN kids. but they will prepare more challenging tasks/games/crafts for the N1 level kids.

last year they tried to merge the afternoon N1 kids with the full-day N1 kids, and turned out that full-day ones will not mix with the afternoon kids, and so the environment isn't so ideal. whereas the PN kids are more accepting.

interesting isn't it?

plastic tableware
do any of you use plastic plates, bowls etc , for the adults too i mean? my ils use plastic, from dinosaur ages. so mr dustee wants to carry on using plastic tableware. we've been looking, but other than those super expensive types in Tangs/Robinsons (like $16 for one bowl!! this is royalty plastic) we haven't actually managed to find any others.

i bought corelle for myself. can you imagine how weird it's gonna be? one dining table, one meal, and two different types of tableware hahaha.

Dustee- if u can, better nt to hv pomfret around during house moving day. Lots of dust and plenty of chaos and the last thing u need is to hv to keep an eye on her while shouting out instructions to the movers - this box kitchen, that one bathroom etc

Btw, I love corelle..my current set is 10 yrs old

dustee
agree with cin. don't want pomfret ending up in one of the boxes hehe.

you girls heard about the water tank woman? shudder. DD, near your house?