(2008/07) July 2008

mummies, must share!
i'm going to ikea! http://www.smales.com.sg/en/activities-promotions/upcoming-activities.asp (see "I love mummy" portion). :D :D :D oh i'm so excited

it's only open to ikea smales members, but it's free to become one if you (ok, your child) is 4-10 years old.

DD
wooooo i'm adding those to my list of books, thanks!

yikes on peepeeman. poppy's school is near chinatown so alot of old folks take the same bus as us and sometimes, as BB would put it, "the bus smells like hamster" :S i mean, it's really funky

Office mummies (esp RP mummies) can I ask for favour please. If you have used A4 and A5 envelopes that you will not re-use, can keep for me please?

I can pick up at the next RP lunch! Thanks in advance hor
happy weekend!

Youpi,
I think Kovan shd be nearer to your place right? Bouncing kids just opened a couple of months so the place still looks new and clean. Plus it wasn't too crowded yesterday afternoon. Maybe can "catch" you and your boys there next time

Re: manners
MOmmies, do your kids interrupt you when you're talking to someone else or on the phone? This boy here has been doing that without fail for so long. He either starts shouting or being rude whenever I'm talking. The only way to stop him is to punish him. Sigh... Any other way to teach him such basic manners!?

Ok on a happier note for the weekend... My son is toilet trained!!! Yeah!!! Finally he can tell me he wants to pee And poo before the real business and he finish his business in the toilet bowl!! Hahah... Now the more siong part.... sleeping without diapers....

DD
no la, for those of the mummies who have older #1s, and who know friends who have kids that fit the age group

we were at book exchange too! i just just a bit behind you (9.45am). sheesh, did you see all the super kiasus with books piled up a metre high? i wonder how they got all those books!

steph
interrupting on phone: always! she can ignore me, ignore me, ignore me even though i talk to her. and them my phone rings and suddenly she's tugging at my shorts with "mama, i want..... can i talk to ......" :S

congrats to your son on being potty trained! yay!

steph,

Wuffy interrupts too. I just have to be a recorder and tell him it is wrong to do that. Ask him not to interrupt. but he will do it again and again.

PB,

I have plenty of those! Ok, will start collecting!

Reader book,

Thanks bbp and SY. I will try to check out at the book shops and pelangi! and oh SY, do include me for the sticker books! Thanks!

Pb: OH...you tied down with smales club too! good for u!

And ya.. i was wondering why everyone had 100 coupons when I only had 8 to get.... was out of the place in half hour's time.. but i realised I grabbed a kiddy book called: the sissy duckling about a male duck who liked to bake while the rest liked soccer instead .. and how they jeered at him til one day he rescued his dad who got shot by a hunter and nursed him throughout winter.. then on the back cover, it says the author is this gay activist.. and now I'm wondering if I should let bbG read it hahahaha!

bbG would pester to call my parents but when they are on the line, he'd turn cheeky and not wanna talk but makes funny faces and hides under the covers instead or talk rubbish..

he's been spewing (talking and singing) garbage delibrately a lot lately too! he's just so so cheeky!

Hehe about DD's book find!

What a quiet morning! Where is everyone?

Looks like it's going to be a nice cool day, thanks to the morning rain. What's everyone gonna do this afternoon?

M sick in bed. Vomited last night. I took bus to a mall this morning 2 stops away n had to sit down to catch my breath .. Thankfully no peepeeman on bus

Stomach still churning. Mayb caught c1's virus, he has been having loose stools for past 4 days.. Only poos twice a day though, not considered diarh bah

Cellow take care. its stomach flu at work. xun girl also has stomach flu. Yesterday afternoon fever shot up to 39.7! Both cheeks were red and she looked very tired. Gave her nuerofen and paracetamol @ 1 hr internal. then brought the fever down. but went back up at night. Was so worried! Felt guilty because we were out and we tot it was just a mild fever as we didnt have thermometer.

seem like its a black monday

Kayden had a bad fall at sch. He had to go to kkh for stitches on his forehead. My poor boy was cryin and cryin..
worst, the teacher cannot tell me how he got such a bad cut cos they didnt witness it..
The wound is so deep that can see the tissue.. gonna be an ugly scar..
my heart so pain....
Anyone can advise how to make the wound heal faster and nice?

oh dear cellow... get well soon! sounds horrid. No wonder there was no response to my sms to you. rest well!

SmiggleP, oh no!!! yah..vit e cream helps for scars...

morning mommies

it was really a terrible and lousy Monday yday for some of us then...

poor Kayden... must be very painful for him and heart pain for mommy...

cellow, get well soon and take lots of fluids...

i think i've mc again... secretly tested myself last week, was positive but was spotting for about 2 weeks already so wasn't keeping my hopes high... then yday morning woke up with cramps, fever, headache and menses...
maybe my body is telling me time stop dreaming and really close factory...

oh no poor kayden! sayang sayang. and sayang mummy's heart too

sy
is it possible to share the scholastic book list from JH's school and can we order thru you like last time? poppy's school doesn't offer that!

steph
your test was positive? ... or were you? i'm a bit confused!! aiyah me too. missed my period and was hopeful but in the end it was cos my body was stressed up due to the fall i had. sheesh.

man what a beeeeezeeeeee day for me!!!!!!!!!!! have a nice day everyone! *waves and PB out*

Steph, sayang! Must rest more these few days ok.

Me still in bed today. sometimes I think tis v jia lat to b
my boss, I fall sick at least once a month!

Smiggle
Oh no, heartpain right? Kayden's a brave guy, still smiling so cheerily in the picture!

Steph
*HUGS* My friend's mum gave birth to her at 41 and to her brother at 46. Before you ttc again, get your body is in good condition first. Try TCM to 'bu', let household stresses take a backseat. Prepare your body to receive the baby, to welcome and nurture him/her through gestation. Take care! Was going to ask you and E on a date to Kovan actually...

All sick mummies and kiddos, get well soon!

get well soon cellow.. r u eating a good portion of healthy fresh foods? maybe top up with some supplements? colostrum powder with probiotics for you? :D

steph... take it easy.. don't fret too much.. was it a strong positive or a weak one? these 'gadgets' are not 100% Accurate all the time.. and I believe it's our body's way of telling us what to keep and what not to keep.. God will provide at the right time and the right spot... so be strong and stay positive (urr pun intended?)

thanks for the book links.. I used to like mr seuss a lot coz it rhymes..but started to get a bit hesitant coz they use funny made up words...

funny incident to share..

now that the kiddo is so cheeky and talks non stop.. I thought I'd teach him longer words:

me: what's the big boy word for rhino?
bbG: rhinocerous

me: what's the big boy word for digger?
bbg: Excavator

me: what's the big boy word for hippo?
bbg: hippo-tho-ma-chee!

repeated 10 times for him slowly and he responded slowly: hippo-tor-ma-chee!

LOL!

Cellow
Take care dear!

Smiggle
Sayang Kayden. Poor boy. Last time I was given Mederma to make the scar fades - but this is only after the cut area heals.

Steph
Get plenty of rest ok!

DD
Lols for Hippotormachee kekeke.

Emma is finally back to school Yay! I hope she won't get sick again.

gently gently, then to war again... if the gently gently approach doesnt work.

i din bear my son for him to be whacked for no good reason. sure smacking him is the fastest way to shut him up and get him changed into the uniform. but the fear that lingers..... is still in his eyes.

plus i hate it when MIL also weighs in and says things to C1 like 'w this kind of bhvr, tis no wonder that papa smacks you....'

i wanna tell her 'w this kind of mindset, tis no wonder that my child will grow up to resent you and FIL plus his dad' but i hold my tongue and bide my time......... *frown*

cellow is on the warpath!!!!!!

Sorry for intruding...I am helping my company to promote this campaign.
Wanna win great prizes for this Mother’s Day? Come take part in JobsDB.com Mother Day’s Contest.
Simply just nominate a working mother and the nominator and nominees will walk away with exciting prizes! It only takes a few minutes of your time… so why wait??

For more info, please log onto http://engage.sg.jobsdb.com/SG/mothers-day/

Yeah..where is everyone huh?

Cellow u feeling better? The IL's r still around? R u still separating mr c fm c1? Not a permanent solution though?

Just bb-sitted my 10mth old nephew n was reminded of how much of a wobbly octopus they are at this age! Haha but cute la!

SmiggleP: how's kayden? Is he bothered by the wound? Hope he doesn't riP off the dressing... How r u doing too with k2? Got any cl help?

Hiii!!! forum has been quiet???

Whoever said that civil service is a 9-5, wait for time to past kind of job, please, ask that person to come see me! I've not slept for 72 hours, and counting...

finally coming to the end of the week, and really intend to have a great great long weekend to rejuvenate, recharge, rejoiCE!! haha...

I really want to sayang Kayden!!! the wound is so deep and my heart ached seeing the pic!! Smiggle how are you doing?

cellow, Mr C still doing the same har.. cos your IL are back? anyway, it takes time for someone to build patience so you must have patience for him to improve.. it doesnt just happen overnight and certainly takes time for Mr C + C1 to adjust.. hugs...

updates:
other than being busy at work, I've finally realised my dream. Bought a new house and finally 3 generation can stay together and I AM VERY HAPPY! but at the same time, I am very broke.

oh, next week lunch any one keen???????

another good news is

Eboy is speaking better now! Mummy please open, mummy please this mummy please that. I'm so glad he's so well mannered! (ahaha like real) but its the only sentence he know now, starting with mummy please... hee hee....

eboy has been sick and coughing badly... last night cough until vomit. changed bedsheet twice! vomit 5 times! the last being him vomit while coughing, lying down, and after vomit, his whole face, hair, neck all covered in vomit.. gotto bath him at 12.30am and he was screaming like mad... felt so heartache, i wrapped him up in towel coming out of bathroom, and he fell asleep dripping in my arms.. i cried and cried and hubby scolded me silly.. haha... but at least after vomit, he could sleep better and actually i did catch 4 hours of continuous sleep after staying awake for 2 days 2 nights... very tough!

I also finally managed to get two staff and i hope they can come in soon so I can start to share my load... beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel le.....

next week lunch, any one??

Michelle
Poor Ethan! I know how you feel. Emma is also in the same situation. She's getting better, but she still has the phlegm. Yesterday we were out for dinner, right after finishing her porridge she cough and vomit all over the high chair and floor. Aiyaa I had a hard time cleaning the mess and the restaurant only gave us a stack of tissue without even helping out. Lucky I brought my helper and had a spare plastic bag to dispose the mess. haiz.

Put a vicks vapor rub on the feet and cover with socks before letting him sleep. Elevate the pillow too.

thank you mommies,
i'm feeling much better now. emotionally, i'm ok.
felt the symptoms - sore breast, tired all the time so went to get pregnancy test kit and tested positive. then when the menses came on monday, i couldn't get out of bed... never experienced such conditions before so i reckon most likely is mc. pity we had to cancel our 2D1N batam trip so last minute... oh well, luckily it's only batam hahaha... see i'm feeling much better already.

youpi,
when are you bringing your boys to bouncing kids again? Earth Day at Bottle Tree Park looks interesting... maybe will psycho hb to go if weather permits

Thanks for the concern..
Kayden is doing well so far. Took off e dressing and now there Is a centipede on his forehead..
My hubby is going to meet the principal now and maybe see if we can sue for negligence..

Double Dee
I'm fine except for the occasional fever from blocked ducts..
Kasper is doing really well.. He just hates to be touch..

Michelle
Hoho, let me intro u to my sis.. She takes full pay and only work half day.. Her job at ST is really easy life..

Poor Ethan, has he got a virus.

I must have missed Steph's post... glad you feeling better now..

cellow, saw your post on FB... C1 threw tantrum again?

smiggle, ya, must ask the school what exactly happened? the wound is too deep! You know, kayden had really been through so much and he's such a tough cookie, he's a fighter! and I just know he will grow up to be a guy with steel in his character!

haha, smiggle, I alsmost took up a job at ST! hee hee....

Long weekend is coming!!! I'm going to Hard Rock, sentosa over the weekend!! Universal Studio, here we come!!!!!

mich,
glad your long awaited break is here!! yes he threw tantrum at the road you/my aunt stays on..... so dangerous.... bcz he wanted more time w me after i brought him to PD, then back to aunt's place.
my FB post is wat i want to say to him, but i know he wont understand yet. so many words and so chim. so i use FB to 'speak' out loud.

dd,
are you still super duper bz at work?
no they are not here, only from 8-27 may :S
but tue night, the ILs witnessed C1's temper on skype. then commented.

Wow, I just realised that I've been so busy that I haven't posted in ages.

Cellow,
Oh, the dreaded Why phase has hit Declan too. Funny thing is, when I did it back to him, asking endless whys, after replying a few whys, his final response was: "Mama, don't say why!" Hahahaha! Revenge is sweet!
How about counting? Dec ignores me too, and I have to resort to counting... and it works... MOST of the time.

SY,
High 5! Declan doesn't have any enrichment lessons too! I'm reluctant to send him to those cos I think he should be able to relax while he still can. Also, if he's doing ok at home, I don't see the need to send him to these classes.

batgirl,
Readers - Some are better than others.. So be selective. I just saw one in the library the other day. The title was "I go shopping" which to me sounded a little strange.

Steph,
Same same. Declan also just has to be answered immediately and can't wait for another conversation to be finished.

dd,
Declan is talking nonsense too nowadays. I figure just let him be since his normal speech is pretty ok. I think he's just having his own version of fun.
Long words - break it up. I do "Hippo" and "Potamus" separately. It works sometimes.

bbp,

okok..think I should make a trip to the library before I by something.

Steph,

you sound very strong and positive! even then, do take some bu for your health.

Michelle,

Wah! is it a landed pty? or an ultra big apt? I am also house hunting...hee

what a busy-until-can-forget-to-pee day it's been for me! just want to share one thing that might be a useful thing for us mums with toddlers: the book 'let's go froggy' is an excellent read. it is funny and papa frog keeps asking little froggy to look for certain items, to which froggy says "but i don't know where it is!". to which, we mums can then reply (here it comes, the magic phrase.....)

"it's wherever you left it!"

it's amazing. and oh so liberating. no more having to look for things for child like a slave, only to have child forget about thing after you've spent 2 hours looking for it

(dream on, PB)

oh well, happy long weekend everyone!

bbp: planning to sling dec during the trip? sorry.. but I've offloaded all baby stuffs onto my sisters as my tiny house can't store all of his many many things liao!

I did break up the words n get him to repeat syllable after syllable... which works.. but when we put it together, it becomes hippothomachee again haha

batgirl also looking for a place now? we are waiting.. .waiting.. waiting coz we can't afford it now... but we so wanna move NEARER to civilisation!

yeah we borrowed some rubbishy books before.. some with broken english or wrong spelling even! but guess what... someone didn't wanna read his gruffalo recently.. can't even put it face up where gruffalo is showing and he'd break into tears if u insist.. coz gruffalo is naughty and I don't like him anymore! hahahaha!

DD,

LOL on the hippothomachee! no worries, he will suddenly get it. Wuffy's version of helicopter was "honey-hadock". When we broke it up, he could perfectly say it as "heli" "copter" but when put together it went as "honey-hadock". LOL..but now he can say it as helicopter perfectly now. :D

I am trying to look for a new place, see if there is a reasonably priced one coming along. And trying to see if we are able to get one near Henry Park Primary.. keke,, but see how lar.. those houses there are not cheap lor.

Steph
We have not been to Bouncing Kids before. When do you plan to go again?

Mich
Have fun, you certainly deserve a break!

Cellow
Why not just let C1 go to school in whatever he is wearing, and bring the uniform, then let the teachers change him when he is ready? Some of the little ones in L's school appear in pjs, very cute.

Batgirl
LOL on honey-hadock, can be a new grilled fish dish to try, hehe.

Books
L not interested in Gruffalo etc, only likes Dr Seuss and Thomas the Tank Engine books.

Bbp
I can lend you Ergo if you don't mind that it is very very old, and that the elastic band at the belted area is completely loose.

Who's going to Jacob Ballas tomorrow??????

guess what? i totally forgot about jacob ballas! BB offered to vacuum the house if i brought poppy out for the morning so of course i said YES! then i was completely wiped out from the morning sun hehe

mich
congrats on your new home!

batgirl
good luck in finding your new home!

new home
i am looking too
but those i like seem to be either really expensive or in hot demand. sign.

cellow
sometimes when poppy doesn't want to wear her school uni, i just let her go in whatever she wants. the teachers remind me gently sometimes but i just shrug and say 'how? what to do?'.

lol on all the kiddies' funny pronounciations! poppy's is bar-co-nee-years for binoculars.

bbp
my ergo is also loaned out, sorry!

Good morning! How is everyone?

Do any of you send your darlings for music classes? I am thinking of letting my boys learn. Any recommendations?

i m back!!
was away at sentosa last week and boy were we tired after that. now a bit sick cos jx started having runny nose on fri and passed to me!

Steph
oh dear, do take care of yoruself. hope u r feeling better. eat more nourishing stuff. seems like it's happening a lot! my fren and my sis also just went thru mc. felt quite sad for my sis cos it's her first one. but encouraging her to try again after 2 months.

smiggle
K1 better? saw the big gash on his forehead. that's terrible! n the teachers dun even know how it happened? did u make a fuss or plan to switch sch?

michelle
u got a new place? wow sounds like a big place...staying with your in laws?

youpi
i wanted to let jh try violin but my hb not keen in any form of classes.....

PB
the scholastic book list was submitted apr 4 liao. next one i share ok? cos they din give that many days for me to revert back...

eboy's been sick for over a week and missing school the whole of last week, probably miss school this week too.. from normal cough/flu to now gastric flu with constant diahhrea plus vomit. clean until i peng san....

thinking of changing school for eboy again....

sigh.....

on a lighter note, sentosa hard rock was fun, hotel is great, with a little pull out bed for eboy under our king size bed.. nice room, nice food, nice ambience.. too bad cannot use their pool with sand!!! universal was awully crowded but managed to get a few rides ourselves when in law came to take over eboy.. hee hee.. on the whole, fun, but could be better if we all were well! whole family sick~!

sigh sigh sigh

Michelle, take care! Xun gal + my niece was sick the whole of last week too. Stomach flu then throat inflmmation. Very siong! Lucky now much better le.

Wow shiok shiok for the new place! Sigh we have no luck in getting a new place ... trying to rent now but no luck at all.

Batgirl, wow that area u are looking at is expensive!! Good luck! property prices are still rock high man!

Steph, take care too. Must do a mini-confinement to build up ur health.

I need some power booster ... no strength liao... its not really the physical strength but more of the mental strain... stress over getting a new place fast so that everthing will fall into place quicker... ... just feel so helpless because its so not within my control at all!!