(2008/07) July 2008

bbp
you went through birth without epi? i am fainting at the thought. next time round i am not going to try to be hero and tahan. i will use a loudhailer and repeat EPI EPI EPI the minute i exit from cab

re biting stitches .... OUCH!!!!!!!!!!! LOL on keong saik duck!!!!!

dustee
you are kind, but you are also human
if mr dustee insists on going back just to show face, then ask him to make it a less painful affair for you at each visit

sewing machine
mine is still in box! and BB is the one who is asking do we have this and that. all those old words from home ec days are coming back to me. bobbin, thimble...

and i have absolutely no idea how to thread the machine. oh gosh.

sewing machine
i have an old one (singer type, yes you actually have to step on the metal pedal to get it to move) which Mr C kope-ed fm my old place. my very extremely capable MIL sewed bolsters, pillows and pillow/bolster cases for C1 and C2. i, being of the only-know-how-to-earn-money type of char bo, instead of the cook-well-clean-till-no-dust-in-the-house-plus-SEW type, let her sew on the machine until she happy!

and that's why i will not be SAHM. bcz being compared to a paragon dooms me to failure

i dun even know why i am continually angsty abt it, when i do think abt it, that is. MIL understood when i told her i admired her skills in hsehold mgt, and encouraged me by saying, she learnt bcz she HAD to... not that she is inherently more gifted. see, she is so nice to me. i din detect any tinge of sarcasm. then why my angst...... hmmmm....

i need to redefine motherhood and wifehood for myself. MIL and Mum both chose the SAHM path.

how did i get fm sewing machine musings to SAHM-FTWM musting? totally random la.

dustee,
i feel for you, i really do.
in future, ask mr dustee to go back himself w pomfret, you give him face, stay 15mins (or however long you can tolerate) then you get outta there and do ME things ok.

bbp,
haiyor does that mean you cannot smile? haiiiiiiyooooor.
kew kew noodles - when you are healed, come over and i will make you more.

dor, LOL!
you just got a very nice compliment to how relaxed you look

i look into the mirror and see frazzled me w crooked teeth, bad skin and sometimes uncombed hair, and wonder... shucks, how did i get to this state. :p :p :p oh yes, i have 2 young 'uns below 3yo.

speak mandarin campaign
i speak to C1 in mandarin and he responds in english! *FAINT
i shall be utterly and totally cool abt this sad state of affairs. may his 'auntie' chinese teacher remain his teacher for a long looooooong time *grin*

PB
I think a simple dress is much much easier then shorts!! Haha cos I have no idea how to make shorts. U can do a google n get alot of instructions to do alot of stuff ;)
u know the pillowcase dress? Just cut for sleeves n thread the top with ribbon that will be on shoulders n tadah u have a dress. but I have yet to make 1 for E yet.
I normally start with things ppl cannot see to try so even if the sewing dun look so nice it's okie hehe. I made all the kids' pillow n cases. N they get to choose the design.

Bbp
Ouch! Cannot imagine your pain. So glad u are much better now.

Penny
U are really kind hearted cos you can never ever do to anyone what they did to you and you do not understand why they would do that kind of things to another human being. Cos u are nice n they r not.

Mine too.....just waiting for me to go buy materials......hmm maybe I should just do that later while I still feel I have cash to spare haha but but D will be nagging there again....sigh he really dislike going there.
Promise to bring them out today cos hubby only gonna be home very very late.

A bit of sanity came back..
After torturous massage, I'm having a steady supply of bm now..

Bbp
Stitches.. I totally am on your side.. I
My stitches hurt so bad as well..
In the operating theatre, the baby came out in 5mins but I was waiting for like almost 20mins for my gynae to finish stitching.. Haiz...
Then I also vomited cos of the anesthesia..
Laughing gas is totally no use..

Pb
U were still in time for epidural?
I dilated so fast that I had no time.. I also overestimated myself. Tot I can tahan e pain..
My poor husband Kenna numerous scratches and bruises.. I swear to stop at # 2 Liao..

Dustee
Hope promfret gets well soon. Did she got e virus frm school?

Pb

Cellow, PB
Cos she is a sahm too so I'm not sure if she really is complimenting me cos she gives me a little of the bochap attitude. she says her mil cooks for them then I'm wondering what she does at home n keeps saying yah cooking is very hard work ?? and she says she's gonna put her #1 in CC next yr cos she'll have her #2.
Haha I think she just wanted to find someone to talk....keke

Cellow
Does someone compare you and your mil's hse handling skills? Or subconsciously you feel you will be compared with them some things are not done well. Must relax lah, you still have a job to deal with.

Like my hubby is totally bochap with things at home. I always refer to him as the tenant, cos what happens at home does not affect him. Like the boxes I have already piled up right at the door for him to bring out. They r still there for more then a mth or 2. N I bought n changed the toilet spray pipe cos I realize it was leaking, then proceed to wash the whole toilet. When he came back, he just gave a " you changed the pipe ah? It leaked?" when I asked hw he know it leak? He says cos I turned off the water yesterday. N yah why doesn't he ask yesterday why I turned off the water?
So u see like your mil I learn to do everything because I have to. If I dun change the pipe, it would be there forever until I tell my hubby straight to his face, later we buy pipe and fix it or jus throw the pipe in his face.

Oh yes and I have been telling him to wash e aircon filter for awhile cos call it 6th sense. N ofcos he didn't n the aircon started leaking. So me have to be aircon woman to wash when the kids r sleeping lor.
Sigh see my angst all come out too....

Dustee
Btw the 1 day u accompanied Mel you sit in their chair too right? Then it won't work. Cos I did when I went into their class n when I use that on D, he accuses me with " then that day you can sit in the chair?" haha

East Coast Park
If I am taking a taxi there, where should I tell the cabbie to drop us? Where is a good place at the ECP to sit and watch the waves while the kids play on the sand?

Sewing machine
You women are super amazing. Btw, is there something like a handheld sewing machine that is easy to use, like a plug and play? I've been dreaming of making things for a long time.

On another thought, I told hb to get me a thermal pot and a tiered steamer for my birthday. And I realised that I have become a true blue housewife. Tragic.

Dor
Reading the post above was like seeing my own life in flashback, esp the boxes etc piled up at the door. Same with toilet rolls, tissue boxes, bottles of household cleansers that are finished etc. They all become installation art. We still have light fixtures that do not work and holes in the wall that need to be plastered.

And yes, that is a compliment on how you look
The stressed and harrassed housewife - that's me, even though I don't cook everyday.

Dustee
You are a saint. My in-laws treat me as wallpaper, and greet my kids while ignoring me. Used to it already.

As for school, a bit of crying is quite normal. L cried for three days. I also used the "mummy has to go to the supermarket/shopping centre to buy you some XXX (fill in with whatever he likes)".

Smiggle
Torturous massage? I thought post natal massages are supposed to be nice and relaxing! If I have #2 you must intro me to yours ok? I am not a fan of torture but I want more BM! Hehe

Got, I had lots of time. Checked in at 8am, poppy old came out at 2am. I even had time to dream about red star dim sum. I tahan-ed and tahan-ed until I finally gave up and then had to tahan some more until I finally had my epi. So now I know. Every question I'm asked, I'll answer "epi".

What is your name? Epi. How far apart are your contractions? Epi.

Dor
Pillow case dress! Sounds like something an elf from Harry Potter would wear! Shorts are very easy. Just cut shape x2, stitch sides together then hem up bottoms. For top, fold down, and sew then insert elastic band and tada. Done. :D

I also made pillow and pillowcase for poppy! Handstitch until crosseyed. My ultimate project will be quilt blankie

Cellow
Oops sorry that my sewing plea has caused an internal battle to form in your head!! For me, I was brought up by granny who, in my opinion was the perfect SAHM. My mum did zero old-time mummy things, never really cooked for me, didn't sew etc. But I love them both differently. You don't have to do stereotyical mummy things la

youpi,
East Coast Park
You want atas, go to the former Big Splash, now known as Playground@Splash or sm "@" thing liddat.
You want kid frenly, then drop at Macdonalds opposite Marine Terrace. Super kid frenly.

Then call me if you want to drop by.... hehe. I am wfh today and tmr.

PB,
the case for no epi is wellllll, tis still a drug. which MAY get into baby. without epi, both C1 and C2 came out with eyes wide open and seemed to know their names when Mr C and I speak to them. v sweet. both stopped crying when Mr C whispered to them.... i was kinda busy to talk to them in that instant.

smiggle,
good that you have settled into a routine. must eat and drink lots of hao liao ok.
are you using my postnatal massage lady? with her, the milk comes in v fast hor.

dor,
HAHAHAH on your angst too!
that would be so like Mr C and I, only the roles are reversed. after all, his mother brought him up to take care of things around the hse; whereas my mother brought me up to work in office, and pls pls pls dun be housewife :p so i grew up not knowing how to clean the toilet. i need to google it. *rolls eyes at myself*

bbp,
now your keong saik duck makes me think very hard abt my last meal before C1 and C2.
C1 - chicken rice
C2 - popiah
so they would have been covered in chicken rice and popiah vomit respectively, that is, if i felt the urge to hurl...... :p

PB
Wow a sewing machine!! I love this website, cuz the things she created are beautiful! http://sewmamasew.com/index.php She has a tutorial section too!

Cellow
braces! My brother and sister used braces before. The first time they had them the whole mouth was covered with ulcer since your inside wall are rubbing agains the braces. Then everytime before they went to the dentist to readjust, they would feast hahaha. cuz after the readjustment it was really painful and they would only eat porridge for 3 days lols.

Oh about your MIL's talent. It might be true that she had to learn. My mum said when she was young, all girls would go for sewing lessons so most of my mum's friend know how to sew. My mom did bolster, pillow case, etc for me keke.

Dustee
*HUGS* I agree with PB. Your MIL is bullying you cuz you are nice and just put up with her. See lah later when you move out. I am sure she will feel very lonely. Don't even bother with your BIL is his attitude is like that. One less family to care about sounds good. Just need to what Indonesian called "basa basi" a bit when you meet them. keke Basa basi = some kind of polite greeting like.. how are you how's the weather etc. As for meeting them again after you move out, maybe dinner outside, once a month.

Speak manadarin campaign
Hehe Cellow My mom speaks to Emma in mandarin and she responds in bahasa lols. and she recently calling everyone by his/her chinese zodiac sign. so she would call my mum goat, call her sister dragon and call herself mouse. Lols. I want to nap with goat today - means she wants to take a nap with my mom hahaha

Cellow
Tomorrow, if the weather is good

THat is carpark C, right? Or will the taxi uncle know if I say East Coast Park MacDonalds?

SDchick
LOL about want to nap with goat!!! can imagine conversations in your home! "dragon bully me!", "i don't want to sit with monkey!"

oooo i will check out sewmamasew!!

youpi
BB initially wanted to buy me a handheld one but he researched (!!) and found that everyone who had one only liked one thing about it - its price. and he told me about some ridiculous thing (really really basic) that the handheld models can't do *can't remember liao*. so that's how i now have a sewing machine.

i think it's about practicality, not housewifey la. BB asked me to buy him a (get this!!!) super duper potato slicer for our anniversary!!!! :p

yup you tell taxi uncle east coast macdonald's he will know. awww we have playdate tomorrow, if not would love to join you! (like macam you invite us liddat)

Youpi
Check out the older section of BP or want to sell. I recall a BP that failed recently and some who bought previously use that tread to sell off theirs. But not really hand held. It's mini version of sewing machine can plug in.
Hmmm but reading my post again l'm wondering why they r selling....haha

LOL on the installation art. Yes we have those too!! Keke seems like once we stay at home our hubbies sort of really expect us to handle EVERYTHING that has to do with home.

Yah thermal pot is good!!!! I used to cook their porridge in it everyday. Oh and you can use it to keep food warm as well. There was once I bought porridge from crystal jade for lunch but the kids ate bread on the way home so we were all full. So I place the whole container into the pot at about 2pm. It was still slightly warm when I took it out for dinner at 7pm. Power huh!!! Haha

Food jar tip
Something to share. I bought a thermos food jar to bring cooked porridge out when the kids were babies. Now I use the food jar sans cover for my hot tea and cold beverages. Helps retain the cold or warm longer ;)
And those who have babies and need to warm bottles. Can use that to warm too. Dun have to keep changing the water.

Bringing pomfret to pd
So bringing pomfret to see the pd today (yest pd on leave). So mil was home, offered to send us there. I know I'm fortunate my mil will offer to drive us ard if she's free. But what happened in the car ride?
1) she told pomfret 'sick? It's not good to go to school, then you fall sick'
2) she told me 'weather v bad. V hot then rain. Must be why she fall sick. That day rain you bring her home. Next time I drive' (the cc is just 50m away, only ONE min walk!!! Gah!!!)
3) she said 'usually if breastfed the children very strong. But if the mother not strong, you should give pomfret supplement. If you are pregnant again mb the milk stronger. '
4) somemore 'go to school just exposes her to hfm. Like your nephew last time' (my nephew had hfm on my wedding day 3 yrs ago. She's still bringing it up now)

Now do you understand why sometimes I don't feel grateful that she offers to drive but would prefer to take taxi or walk out to the mrt? Coz smrt doesn't verbally slap me every other sentence.

dustee
may i ask why are you so affected by ur mil comments? Is it becos deep down, u actually would like her to like you?

i used to have a gf, who often dishes out unwanted hurtful remarks at me (similar to ur mil). It took me a long time to finally choose to cut her out from my life, and life is happier since

Dustee,
Tell her 'yes and children should be wrapped in cotton wool n stay at home so that there is absolutely no contact w germs' GAHH!
Agree next time easier to take MRT or taxi

Dustee
Actually my mom would make that kind of remarks to me hehehe..
1 & 4-> Well she has to build her immunity. We can't keep her out from school her life can we?
As for 2 and 3 I would just agree with her.

Whenever I went to my hb's hometown, his relatives would make countless comments about me not having another try for a boy, my weight, my girls behavior, etc. Although I do not like it, I'll just agree with them but in the end I will have the final say. Cuz if I confront them, there will be no ending. If my mil asked me to do things, I will say yes. Later if she asked me why I didn't do what she asked me, I'll just say my hb didn't agree or he didn't like it. Normally she wouldn't confront her kids hehe.

teacher comment
okok if teacher comments that C1 daydreams in class and is not v engaged.... then how? shall i ask what they are doing to keep him engaged? now i sound like a kan cheong spider mother for my not-yet-3yo.

Mr C asked teacher how C1 was doing in class ystday when Mr C dropped C1 off. and that was the response....... :S

Pb
Wah, so funny. Epi all e way..
E massage lady help me unblock my ducts.. Increased bm by 20 to 30 ml...
When is ur #2 coming?

Cellow
No leh, your one is a bit ex for me.. I found a cheaper one..
You got e sch syllabus or timetable right? Cos it's a bit young for our little ones to start daydream right?

Today is kayden's bdae.. Bought him an Elmo cake to celebrate I'm sch.. Too bad I can't be there...

Full mth celebration
Any ideas or recommendation for catering?

Happy BIrthday Kayden!

We had a lovely time at East Coast Park. It's so sanitised and civilised now! Even the sand looks and feels different.

Cellow
A 2.5 yo child daydreaming is good isn't it? C1 is probably fuelling his imagination.

And to add, we were there on 2nd family day! At about 10am all the activity stations were empty (and remained uncrowded till we left at about 1 plus). Love the kids stuff!

straw
becoz i cannot choose to cut my mil from my life. i can't say to mr dustee "i don't friend your mother okay? ask her not to talk to me okay?" and it really doesn't help that i'm trying to help my toddler get accustomed to school and mil paints such a bad picture of school to her. what i posted was just a gist of what she said. every line i write here, she said 10 times as much. in one car trip! so just imagine my life facing her every day.

SD
yes i know what you mean. that's what mr dustee says also. he says if we speak up, mil will just keep going on about it just so she can have the final word. so he says just keep quiet. just a bad day today. haven't slept for two nights coz pomfret kept coughing herself awake and then crying.

cellow
if C1's too advanced for his class, even as a toddler, of coz he's gonna be distracted and daydream. next time teacher tells you that, tell her to give something more challenging to him!

happy rest of day
any way, i was quite determined to make the rest of the day a happy day for myself. so once the pd said that pomfret really just has a mild cold (which running nose med will help), i brought her to the airport to see aeroplanes and then to the expo for the mph book sale.

bought about 20 books, mostly for her. but dustee happy anyway *purr*

There is "oh what a noisy zoo" on 22 to 25 oct, and rocky the baby panda 20-23 jul. $15 per ticket or 4 for $50. Anyone wants to share with me?

Something funny. Poppy told someone at the playground today: I have a meimei at home and her name is tiopepe. (Her "didi"'s name is Battery)

:s

happy birthday kayden!! hope you liked the elmo cake!

don't forget to drop off your old books for exchange at the national library before 16 Apr!

Anyone wants to join Poppy and I for an Easter egg decorating session at my place on 21 Apr, Thurs? About 5pm. It's the day before public holiday

Then all the kids can decorate a few eggs and bring them home instead of me having to eat hardboiled eggs for 20 meals in a row haha

Let me know!

dustee,
How's Pomfret? School sucks in the sense that they will fall sick so often. Hard on the heart and the pocket. For your case, prob even harder. *pats*

Cellow,
I couldn't really smile the first few days, so it was very awkward/uncomfortable esp with my joker husband around.
Don't tempt me ah. I am still dreaming about the Kolo Mee you brought to PB's house. See, my memory is THAT good, but of cos the mee was THAT good too.
Speak mandarin - getting answers in English is quite common. Dec does it to my mil too. Then one day, C1's chinese vocab will suddenly explode and he will speak a lot more Chinese. Wait for it. If you're like me, you will be stunned/amazed.
Daydreaming - If he's doing stuff at home that you know for sure wasn't picked up at home, then he's learning, just not showing to the teacher. That's what Dec's chinese teacher said. She said that some kids are just like that - 偷偷学 were her exact words. So she asked us during the PTM if he sings the songs they learn in school. When she heard that he does, you could tell that she was relived/glad. And I agree with youpi. They're 2, they are SUPPOSE to daydream and imagine!

smiggle,
The anesthesia is the thigh jab? Oh, then I must have vommited cos of that. Up till today, I still dunno what caused me to vomit. And I so totally understand what you mean by waiting for the stitching. I still remember the gynae took FOREVER to clean me up and it was so so uncomfortable to the point of being painful.

dor dor,
My aircon is leaking too! Washed previously cos the aircon wasn't cold anymore. Now the aircon is cold but leaking. How??? Teach me!

youpi,
You are NOWHERE near a stressed and harrassed housewife. You are the epitome of cool mother lor.

SUIT ALERT:
Does anybody know where to buy affordable suits? Dec needs one for his uncle's wedding.

Thks mummy for all the birthday wishes...

Pb
Can I put kayden there with my maid?
He really likes art.. Too bad I can't bring him..
Jokin la, I think kayden will ruin your house if I'm not around.

Bbp
Suit, u have seen kayden's one before? It's cheap and from e bp.. Can lend u if u wan.

Dustee
Oops, Dint mean to come across as trivializing your feelings...n1 has feeding and speech issues, rem? After repeated exposures to useless and irritating comments (they serve only to get me down), my ears are now open to only useful ones, for example, great tips fr michelle =)

Glad to know ur mood are better!

Bbp
U see me so up aah haha
My aircon probably leaked cos it was too dirty so after I washed the filter it was okie. If filter already washed n still leak I'll call the aircon ppl hehe

Oh n suits can try kiddy palace at tpy.

Youpi
I agree with bbp. I always feel u are a very cool sahm....hehe

Bbp, Dor
Really? Thank you! I will remember that the next time I feel like murder ;p

Suit - mustafa too.

Dustee
Were you at Paradise Inn at Thomson Plaza for dinner? Thought I saw someone who looked like you.

Cellow
Forgot to say sorry I did not call on Friday. We were having fun and I totally forgot about the time until the sun was too low in the sky. Then realised that it was late and time to leave. The boys loved it so we'll definitely be back again.

Howdy folks!

Smiggle
Sure, if there are more interested folks then I'm happy to have kayden over + your helper

Youpi
I agree! Cool mama! Always well tempered too

Cellow
Agree with bbp. C1 may just surprise you with some chinese when you don't expect it. Poppy and I were flipping thru a book (she said "no chinese book mama! :S) and there was a little white rabbit and she suddenly started singing a xiao bai tu song for me! Needless to say, I have been requesting for it on Say-It-With-Music, Poppy edition, very often

Speaking of Kiddy Palace, anyone has a card I can borrow? I saw the cutest dress!!

Easter egg hunt: working mother who has tO slog at work can't make it on a weekday

BBP: hoPe your lips r almost back to original shape..must have been scary cos I can imagine a lot of blood!

Okie the start of yet another week..wonder when work will slow Down for me..but hope we all have a good week ahead..haPpy start for me so far cos I finally bought my piano!

PB
me me!! i prob will be on leave so i can bring the kids over. i was also thinking of doing paper maiche eggs with them at home. bought a lot of balloons to do it then realise the balloons are so hard to blow!!

can PM me your good confinement lady contacts? helping frens ask...

smiggle
glad u r settling down well. time flies...happy birthday kayden!

been so busy that i dun even have time to come in....doing a lot of recee for places for events recently so keep going out of office...

bbp
actually dun need to buy suit. can buy those nice vests also and wear with shirt. last time jh used to have that or just wear a very nice shirt. is he the page boy that's why need a suit?

i plan to go to singapore biennale too! looks like a lot of fun. but then sometimes i feel so sian cos it's prob me and the kids going only. my hb too lazy....

Hey anyone knows where i can get a nice mini piano (i recall there was one BP that offered this but cant find it now ... was a wooden mini grand piano) for xun gal? she loves piano... but dun wanna invest in a big piano for now

Don't think so.. Only saw it once..

Anyone going for Easter event at Jacob ballas this sat?

Do u mummies know why eggs n bunnies r associated with Easter? Go google...interesting

morning!

busy untilllllllll.....

youpi,
that's fine re not calling on fri. i figure you lost track of the time having too much fun

DD
got easter event?? sounds like fun but sat is a packed day!

feel so busy busy busy...but i m going to resort world next week! can't wait!

good morning mommies,

did i miss out any actions over the weekend? was sooooo busy at home doing chores, cooking, chores, cooking... didn't know cooking can cause backaches :S plus have been feeling very lethargic recently... aches all over.... though slept early for the past few nights, i'm still feeling sleepy now...

SAHM is so much more tiring than working...

haha bbp thanks for thinking of me. i was too late to contact jacob ballas for earth day

steph
sayang. it's tough because things are not as structured as at the work place

aiyo!! i have no time to breathe! the build-up at work is horrendous and there is only me me and me to do this this and this by tomorrow! HELP!! seriously need to recruit a few helpers..

worked from home yesterday and this morning and managed to clear more stuff...

ok will go catch up on posts...