(2008/07) July 2008

BORDERS CLEARANCE SALE!13 AND 14 APR, 10AM TO 9PM AT *SCAPE WAREHOUSE (LEVEL 2), 2 ORCHARD LINK. EVERYTHING $5 OR LESS.

DUSTEE ARE YOU SEEING THIS?

Overdose of books for dustee who just went for mph's? Hehe what with the national lib exchange and borders sale now..

Might poP by Royce after nat lib! Anyone headed there?

Easter Craft
Hi guys, since bo seng li, I will accept an invitation for an event on that day. Sorry SY! Not enough people to share hardboiled eggs with!~ Hehe

DD
our royce membership expired liao. And Poppy is now too tall for alot of things there so bye bye Royce for us!

PB
no prob. sounds like biz is good!!

forum very quiet these few days hor....

Hello, where's everybody?

DD
Our Royce membership has expired as well so it's bye bye Royce for us too.

Steph
You cook everyday for every meal? *kowtow*

Tomorrow afternoon
Am thinking of Peekaboo at Kallang Leisure Park tomorrow afternoon. Anyone interested?

steph,
i agree! being SAHM means your days are unstructured, plus your 'boss' is smtimes unreasonable and cannot be negotiated with

SY,
ya v quiet... i have been v quiet due to work... and no one else seems to be posting much.

pb,
biz is good then....
hooray for you!!!!

i brought C1 to a trial gym class ystday but he din like it much. only the music and story telling part he opened up a bit.

now i m thinking of changing his school.... some where nearer to aunt's place. i will arrange for a tour later.... sigh. so many things to think abt... being a mum is endless thinking and thinking, not to mention doing and doing.

Youpi,
i cook dinner everyday. my mum will offer to cook lunch and bring over sometimes. now that i'm not working, i'd really prefer not to go over to my parents' place, not even for dinner, coz of my sil and her moods. it's not like i owe her $$$ and we are NOT 2nd class members in my own family... instead of making things difficult for my bro & parents, i just avoid her lor. so that means i have to cook dinner almost every day.
but i can only manage simple dishes. and fish is only steamed style with soy sauce. hahaha...

it's more i kow tow to you! you can bring your TWO boys out almost every day!! i only try to bring mine out on fridays... i'd really love to join you this afternoon but i banned peekaboo :p and haven't been feeling too well recently. you and your boys have FUN !!

Cellow,
it's time like this, when our kid(s) are not "well taken care of" that we can't concentrate on other things. if i had put my son in his current cc earlier, then maybe i'd still be working. i can tell he really likes his new school, and i like it too. hopefully, you can find a suitable school for C1 that he likes too and eventually get well settled, so that you can cope better with everything else... good luck!

Steph
It's tomorrow, not today. Why did you ban Peekaboo? Did something happen there? Please let me know so I can go prepared. Or change our plans if necessary. Thanks! My other option is to go to BG.

thanks thanks mummies. yes biz is picking up, which is fantastic! and now i need to look for part timers to help! let me know if you know anyone who's ok with kids

steph
wow cook every dinner! i wipe sweat off forehead for you hehe.

i'm curious to know too, what's wrong with peekaboo? poppy absolutely loves it!

youpi, if you go, the pasta mania there is yum :p oh we were thinking of BG tomorrow late pm too!

oh steph,
the gym trial class is out of C1's sch cirriculum.... his sch still takes v good care of him.... and his teachers are v caring, got heart you know type.
tis just my itchy backside wondering if there is anything MORE that C1 can be learning and developing.
and at the back of my mind, i know there will always be smthing more.... so dilemma lor. C1 is perfectly happy in school, now i wanna to change him... sigh.

Steph
Forgot to add, going out is MUCH easier than staying at home because when you are out, the world entertains your child. At home, you entertain the child

youpi
i totally agree that going out is easier than staying home! my hb always dun understand why i prefer to go out. only a mum will understand!

PB
u need part-timers? but timing is not fixed one right? cos i know a fren looking for part time work but she can only do weekday mornings. not sure whtehr she got anything yet. if ok with u i can ask her.

steph
yeah share the reason u dun like peekaboo. personally i find it a bit small and narrow. but other than that it seems fine

next week i got long long long break!! on leave the whole week and going to sentosa! hee can't wait....

cellow
why do u wan to change him when he is happy in sch? u can always bring him for other classes if u feel that it is inadequate but u may not find caring teachers every where!

anyone keen on getting sticker books for your kids?? in chinese. recently i have been doing a lot with jx and find it quite good. let me know cos i have some ready stocks. doing with her the 3-4 year old range one. there is another set that is very good for them to do but i dunno whether still can get or not. trying to get my mum to buy more of that cos jx can do it independently and give me more free time to teach jh...
let me know if anyone interested then when my mum buy i can get her to buy a set for u too.

sy,
i know lor... that's why dilemma. i hv no time for weekend enrichment classes though. much rather go out and explore the world w them.

re chinese sticker books - i also want!
pls post what they look like!

Sy
How much are the sticker books and what are the themes? Poppy is in love with these sticker activity books now and can't get enough of them.

I can manage the private sessions cos they're only up to 6 kids but I've got some corporate sessions on weekdays (up to 30 kids so really need extra help?) and could possibly be in the mornings. I'll sms you?

Enjoy sentosa!

Cellow
Same for me. Itchy backside. Poppy is happy too but I just wonder. I may really have to look cos her playschool may be going enbloc.

Oh oh, speaking of playschool. My 2 friends, currently principals of 2 childcare centres respectively, are going to open a new one together in bishan in a few months! I'll share more news when I have. How exciting!

Peekaboo
I usually get a headache after the 5th time I go on the whole thing haha. Do you find it can get a bit stuffy in there? I think what's great is that we can sit and have a coffee at the cafe if we want, cos the whole area is enclosed

Speaking of coffee, dustee how's your bubbletea-lessness? Hanging in there?

Hello mummies!! Busy busy busy lately -_-

SY, sticker books are xun gal's LOVE! Post how they look like!

PB, great that biz is good!! Ur lessons look interesting but i am a super lazy mum :p ... oh let me know of the cc! Hopefull its near my mum's place (bishan and macpherson is not that far after all!) and i am already planning what i am gg to do with mini xun haha

Re speech, xun gal is quite bad at proper pronounciation so what are the recommendations to get it corrected? Will phonics lessons help? esp at this age?

jace,
C1 is very bad at proper pronounciation too. Mr C and i (and my aunt who sees him everyday) can understd him perfectly, but we need to translate for the grandparents. i wont be too fussed abt it yet. to some extent, i think they are still learning control of their tongue at this age. plus toddlers just love being contrary.... aint that the case for you.

separate topic
books
what are you reading them nowadays?
C1 is sort of outgrowing his goodnight moon phase of identifying objects in books. i want to get him books w some plots, not just point and identify objects! preferably on misbehaving children getting their come-uppance. haha.

I want sticker books too!
Eh, I have loads, but I'm such a sucker for sticker books.

Reading:
I'm reading those readers to him nowadays. Short and simple. Keeps me interested and not so thirsty. :p

Young Parents
Do any of you buy this magazine? If you do, could I borrow - or buy from you - the April 2011 issue? There's stuff about P1 in there, and I want to read to prepare for next year. PM me, k? Thanks!

I am also soooooooo buried with work. hiaz.. feel like retiring from the corporate world liao. Just so sick and tired. hopefully the June Aussie trip to Gold Coast will do me some good.

bbp,

What are those reader books huh? I also want to read to wuffy properly short and simple one..

SY,

I also want sticker books! Can get me a set? Thanks ah! (if got no reply from me on fourm, please PM or SMS me cos nowadays too busy to come in.)

Cellow, hmm ok good to hear that xun gal is not the only one. But well hmm she seems to be really trying her best to say it properly but certain sounds are still missing e.g. school bus will be skoo bud .. so its the c, l and s missing most of the time.

Just went to a forum at my work place by this 'agile working committee' in office. Can start thinking abt it ... will probably do something like that when xun gal goes to P1. The only bad thing is pay and benefits do suffer from e.g. reduced working hrs. Lucky still got time to think.

Books
Funny cos I just stepped out of the library with 4 books for Poppy. I have:

Let's Go Froggy! By Jonathan London
Swimming by Leo Lionni (his other book Fish is Fish is a fav too)
Lots of Dots by Craig Frazier
The Big Animal Mix-up by Gareth Edwards

"A tadpole's promise" is a wonderful book showing the life cycle of the frog AND butterfly. But it ends with one eating the other. So maybe for slightly older kids

She still really likes Maisy and the touch and feel board book fairy tales. Gingerbread man, red riding hood, 3 little pigs, enormous turnip, all in 4-5 pages... We love!!! Last week we had "piglet and papa" and "piglet and mama", really lovely books with gorgeous illustrations.

If your voicebox allows, julia donaldson has GREAT books. Monkey puzzle, gruffalo and gruffalo's child are our faves. But they are l-o-n-g. Warning warning liao hor

(Oops. I got carried away didn't I?)

Youpi
Oh you reminded me! I actually need the previous issue of TODAY'S PARENTS if anyone has! The feb/mar issue with a mum+baby and balloons on cover. Happy to buy it off anyone

sticker books - like bbp, i am a sucker for everything sticker..i have like a secret stash and yet i still keep buying..arghh! BUT BUT, i dont hv chinese ones..sooo, SY,. yes i am keen too..but pls do post pix cos cos, if they are in only chinese characters and no HyPY, little use to ms banana here
(PB - was there a time we used to call each other hoarders? heehee)

books - i love little critter books..i find the short sideline comments by the little mouse friend hilarious. the other day at TP library, I found the lift the flap version of LIttle critter books for red riding hood and hansel and gretel..really quite a fun fun read

very heavy rain outside..hope everyone's warm and safe indoors.

jace,
when i talk to C1 tonight, i ll jot down and post tmr what his mis pronounciations are. i notice them when they occur, but my mind is suddenly a blank on what he specifically cannot pronounce!

sticker books
i must admit that i buy them for ME. wahahhahaaa. and get awfully possessive if C1 sticks the stickers into the 'wrong' places. and will start to correct him, then stop myself short and wonder what came over me. :p

Sy
Stickers books in Chinese? Me me me want too...

Pronounciation
Speech therapist say they are still young. At this age is getting to talk in longer sentence, can correct the pronunciation later..

(Mis)pronounciation
Funny, this evening I overheard BB saying to poppy: it's not 'lellow', it's 'yellow'. You say 'yes', not 'les' right?

Yup I think at this stage they are still learning. Hey, being able to communicate with us is already great right?

batgirl,
How to explain readers ah? Well, I have these 2nd hand Rigby readers that sort of teach children how to read incrementally. So the first level would be a book on fish and each page would just be 2 or 3 words eg the fins, the scales, the gills, etc. Then the next level would be a sentence on each page and the sentences would be quite repetitive eg. Dirty Dog sees a bone. Dirty Dog sees a bird. Dirty Dog sees a cat. Dirty Dog sees me! So eventually, out of sheer memory, they end up reading on their own. Bwahahahahaha!

Pronunciation:
I know Dec misses the s and I rib him about it sometimes. He's cute in the sense that when I rib him about it, he will immediately say no! and correct himself. But his default is to eat up his s. I think it's pretty common so I don't really give him grief about it. Plenty of time me thinks.

Cellow,
Haha. You sure are obsessive about sticker books. I realise that there are 2 types of sticker books. One is the exploratory kind where they just get you to decorate a scene with a fix set of stickers. The other kind actually has specific places for the stickers. I pretty much don't care about the first type ie giraffes can be stuck high up in the sky... I don't really care. But the second type can bug me quite a bit when they get stuck in the wrong places. The good/bad thing is, Dec's the one who has OCD. On bad days, the sticker must be stuck perfect and if the white space behind the sticker shows, he will insist on resticking it. Really bad days are when he realises that some stickers are not stuck on right and these were stickers he did a few days ago when he wasn't in the OCD mode. So by then, the stickers would have stuck on fast!

PB,
Dec does the lellow thingy too! I rib him sometimes. I go "Oh, LLLellow?". And he gives a little smile and goes "No! YYEEEllow!"
Haha.

Oh no.. I'm the one who cringes when bbG sticks out of place or drAws out of line (or dOesnt touch the dots in his dot-to-dot activities)

He's weak in pronouncing his s and l ... I laugh everytime he plays snap and goes NAP! hahaha

Ooh I lurve rhyming books so been reading Julia donaldson's books n still love Sandra boynton

SY u got Chinese stickers? But same question as cin.. Got abc's to help us read those words out?

haha ok ok so lots of kids have the same problem! I tot its only xun gal because my nieces have absolutely no problems. Only xun gal seems to have a short tongue problem haha.

Stickers ... but there is one problem though. my floor, walls, playmat etc have sticker marks! xun gal loves to paste them all over -_-""

ah, that day i searched my shelf and found the sticker books which i kept from my primary 4 days!!! they are still in very good condition *beaming* hahaha those were the days!

Lol on Jace's discovery of primary 4 treasure! Poppy likes to stick everywhere too. Sometimes I go out and strangers tell me I have mickey mouse on my butt :S she needs reminding that stickers only go in books.

DD
BbG can do dot to dots? Wow that's impressive! I don't think poppy can. I haven't really tried. Maybe cos I'm so obsessed with crafts so everything is craft craft craft with poppy!

Cin bunny
Hoarder? Me? *flutter* glorified garang guni more like it haha.

Bbp
I also tease poppy. Like "the pasta is so yong, right?" "No mama. Not 'yong'! 'Yong'!"

Happy friday everyone! What are your weekend plans? Will we meet anyone at book exchange?

Pronunciation
Hehe Same for Emma. She can't pronounce "R" and always pronounce it as "Y"

Emma is having high fever and flu. The phlegm already went into her lungs *gasp* and doc say if her condition still continues she'll need the bronchodilator (inhaler). *cries* Currently she's taking like 6 different medicines.*sigh*

Stickers
It seems like everyone loves stickers! Hehe Me too.. especially those stickers from the scrapbooking stores. they are soooo pretty!

Teasing
I tease Emma like this:
Emma: I want popo (grandma)
Me: Ohh I see you want to bobo (sleep)
Emma: popo!
Me: yes yes bobo
Emma: no bobo! GOAT! (my mom's chinese zodiac)

Just that day I kept trying to get E to say Veg in chinese
Cai cai cai but she keeps going sai sai sai!!!
I go cai1 cai2 cai3 cai4 and she goes sai1 sai2 sai3 sai4....hahaha

Youpi,
you're so right about letting the world outside entertain the young children... i've run out of ideas and toys to entertain the boy at home.. so much so he's playing with the cane. but going out can get quite daunting on me sometimes...

as for peekaboo, it was some time back. 2 Sikh boys tried to bully my son - throw a big ball at my son, tried to hit him and me when i tried to stop them. and the staff there just stood and "see show" until i had to ask them if they are going to do anything about it. plus the place felt stuffy and dark...

we may be checking out a new fun place at Kovan later this afternoon. will feedback when i get a chance.

SY,
count me in on the sticker books thanks
wow... long leave?! enjoy your time with your family!

cellow,
i agree with SY, not easy to find teachers with heart nowadays. if C1 is comfortable in his current school, then don't change la... there'll be endless stuff for them to learn in time to come. initially i also wanted to bring my boy to enrichment classes coz heard my cousins/friends' kids attend this class, attend that class, etc... then later i thought to myself, there will be plenty of tuition classes and other stuff for him when he's older. so now, i'll just let him have some structured learning time and lots of doing nothing and giving me headaches for a while longer. that's why i'm hesitant about putting him in full day cc. on the flip side, my headaches are getting worse! hahaha...

PB,
your illustration about the frog and butterfly reminded me of something my hb said about nursery rhymes... how morbid some of them can be. just think about it... Humpty Dumpty, Jack and Jill, London Bridge, they all fell down. and how about the Old Woman who swallowed a fly... ? hahaha..

Dustee must be busy moving and cleaning house...

Re:pronunciation
my boy can't pronounce the C, G, and K... so Gonggong becomes TongTong, Kite becomes Tike.. etc...

AAAAAAAAAAAARRGH! I may need to go to London in Jun! hate being away fm my boys.

ok silver lining is that I can go and buy back lots of stuff! hehe. children's books from which website it is again, Doggiebb?? Crystal?? .... and of course branded bags. but scrap that, I m not into branded bags.

and..... if Mr C opens his big mouth and says wanna bring ILs along, I shall keep quiet outwardly but kosh his head mentally!

what other things are there to buy in London?

Need some help on breastfeeding
If I'm feeling pain due to the blocked ducts before pumping, but after expressing all e milk out, the breast is already soft but e same pain is still there..
How? Even after massage , there are no lumps, but the pain remains.

Smiggle
I can't remember what that's called but I had it too. I went to dr wong boi boi at TMC and she helped to clear. You massage before pumping too? Poor thing. Hang in there. Got milk is good

Dor
Lol on sai!!! Is it "mama I want to eat sai" or "I don't want to eat sai"? Hehe

Anyone went for todd the big green frog? Like? Poppy loved! Now we're doing lots of froggy things and reading froggy books!

Steph
Ya what's with old woman who swallowed a fly. Lots of old rhymes either make no sense or are horribly morbid. Rockabye baby? Ring a ring a roses? They seem to be fixated with falling down!

I quite like new style ones like those from the wiggles. Check out "rockabye your bear"

Cellow
Maybe in the same breath u tell mr c about london, say "maybe we go together, just the two of us, like second honeymoon?". Then flutter eyelashes a bit.

London organic snacks are cheap!!!

Oh SD hope little emma gets well soon!!!

pb,
heh. to his credit, Mr C only said 'oh let me see if i can take leave, and check out fares to see if worthwhile to bring C1 along'. he will ask his parents if they are willing to come over to look after C2.

LOL on jace unearthing buried treasure!

change school
ah well, i was talking to Mr C this morning abt it, then he said v rationally.... you check out the target school, we can put C2 there first, then see how C2 learns/adapts and decide for C1 later. in essence, deferring the decision.

communication
lately C1 has been asking lots of WHY questions. i thought they were only supposed to do that when they turn 3.... oh ya, that's in a few months' time. drats.
what is the answer to 'why mama doesnt wear diaper'? "bcz mama knows how to pee and poo in the toilet everytime! and C1 can do it too!"????

one more
'why the moon follow me?' on a nocturnal outing to the library
"bcz it wants to play hide and seek with you!"

Thanks ladies for the get well wishes for Emma!

Cellow
Emma has not gone to the why questions *phew*
She is more into "ordering" statments like: Mommy, scold cece please. (Ashley snatched the iphone from here). Or "You do it" she used this a lot and sometimes - cece do homework! hahaha must be copying from me.

Don't change school first, see till the end of the year. I don't really know what they're teaching in class though. More like play I guess. Since they're still in N1.

today's forum very active!! and i can't catch up! haha...

cellow
my kids have never gone for a single enrichment class (unless u count those trials that i went!) and so far they are doing ok. my hb is not very keen and of cos not helpful in the logistics part so hence i also quite lazy to bring them. i think it's ok if u dun send them. more impt to spend quality time with them. u will find that if u send them to enrichment classes, u have little time for other interesting stuff! jh has only 1 swimming class and i alraedy find that my weekends are packed!

re sticker books
ok let me organise the pics and post them later tonight after kiddos are asleep.
i have some that dun have much words so it's up to u to talk abt the pic and stickers. those are real easy and jx loves them. i have some that has instructions but jx is quite bad on that and always want to do it her way. so sometimes really need to guide her. like cellow, i hate stickers stuck in wrong places...haha...

she's so in love with sticker books that she finishes like 1 a day.....
re books
u can get those readers like what bbp suggest. easy to read. pelangi has easy ones. u can check them out at popular and then go pelangi website to order. much cheaper. or get scholastic readers. jx loves the clifford ones. if u had mention earlier, i wd help u order through the sch. very cheap. each set of 12 books less than $20. i have the sight word readers which she also likes.

smiggle
sounds a bit like it's swollen? u can try taking some danzen to reduce inflammation. no need to take antibiotics yet if the breast is not red and no fever. i used to get the pain qutie often and initially i will take antibiotics for fast results but later i learnt to take danzen instead to reduce inflammation.

did u get the pain becos K2 suckle long? how did the pain come abt? mine usually develops if jx suckles for a long time. then the bacteria from the saliva will cause the inflammation.

Get well soon, little Emma! My niece is under that category now..bOrderline asthma

Had to smile at cellow's reply to c1 on the moon..tricky question hehe

Pb: every kid excels in their own way I guess..bbG can do dot to dot but can't draw or colour for nuts! N poppy can draw u! Or like I'm sure e-boy is an aggassi in the making!

A guy sat down beside me in train and he reeked badly of pee that I could barely inhale (serious! Not exaggerating!) stronger than what I've smelt on a madman on the streets! wonder why?

Steph
Bouncing Kids is quite cheap! Will definitely check it out, thanks for the recommendation. We had lots of fun at Peekaboo this afternoon

Smiggle
Call a lactation consultant. If you can't get Wong Boh Boi, Betty Fok is really good too.

SD
All the best for lil Emma, hope she's feeling better soon.

DD
Ewwwwww! You get these men in buses too. Did you move?

PB
I think because you do so much more with Poppy, whatever school does with her will definitely lack in comparison

Cellow
Ahhhh London! You lucky, lucky woman!

School & progress
Our kiddos are still young... L is waaaaaaaay behind all your darlings.

Speech
L is also distorting his words, and he does it deliberately as well because he thinks that it's funny.

Books that I liked from the library n am returning tomorrow :
* Roadworks - sutton n illustrated by lovelock 
*A croc shock - hillary Robinson and illustrated by mike Gordon
* racer dogs - bob kolar