(2008/07) July 2008

haha i kena conned - i BOUGHT the chinese-english book. you're right, the translation is a bit wonky. but i figured that i could simply read the accurate chinese version (thank god for hanyu pinyin) and tell the english version from memory

smiggle
tahan tahan tahan ok? want some company?

pb,
you post that kind of thing to smiggle... pple will start wriggling eyebrows and asking if you are preggers too.

sayang on the sleep training!

C1 woke up at midnight, opened the door and asked Mr C to sleep w him. champion.

post kena interrupted. in KL this week for work. ....

SY,
yes go for #3! when my boys enter sec school, i intend to let go of my maid.

so b4 i left, Mr C and I are frens again.... so that he feels less bad tempered, and hence dun tk it out on the boys when i m away. i told him, i m not there to sayang C1 when you scold him ok.
subtext is DUN scold C1 when i m away :p
dunno whether he caught the ball.

Bbp
Wah thank you for your vote of confidence! I think I'm surviving
Dor Dor is another mum to two who does not have domestic help.
What happened? Why are you rethinking options re: work va SAHM-ing?

SY
It's up to you. You make the decision and then you'll work things out. I know mums of many (7 and 10) who do not have domestic help at all. The former homeschools her children! Anyway what mums with more all say is that it gets easier. The older ones will help to look after the younger ones. The older ones are independent faster, and take care of themselves, help with chores, etc. Then there's my neighbour, who has three daughters and two maids. Parents work fulltime.
Who will look after your kids if you are working fulltime? If it is your mum, maybe you could get a maid to help her with other things.

PB
Hang in there! I think Mich did the sit outside the room vigil for quite some time too.

Smiggle
Talk to baby, tell him (him right?) to stay inside and get stronger before coming out etc etc etc. It could help. My friend 'talked' her baby into a natural delivery

dustee
glad that promfret is better. at least all clear!! how come your hb so insistent on such a special fridge??

DD
hmm, i do the main stuff like bathe, feed etc and he helps when he's needed. not exactly splitting the chores haha. and he has high standards for cleanliness so that is another problem and reason why maid is needed.

currently both jh and jx are in childcare, i will send them and pick them up everyday. so i know it's going to be tough if we decide to have #3. not now lah but thinking more like maybe 2-3 years down the road when both are older!

PB
helper dun really look after kids. cos my kids go to sch. more for housework and cooking. even now, i bathe them everyday and prep them. if help is needed, she usually helps jh while i help jx.

call me paraniod but i dun quite trust maids or sitters completely! maybe cos hear too many stories already....

so must try to think long term. work very hard now and hope to convert to PT or work from home arrangement when the time comes....

as for poppy sleeping, i think with changes, there are bound to be disruptions to other part of the schedule. so monitor and see how it goes...

bbp
hmm my case not same as youpi. my hb has high expectations on housework (read: toilets must be cleaned everyday...) and if doing without a maid means lower standard of living, he wd not agree. so to convince him to do without a maid, i will have to be the maid and still do my full time job and contribute to the household. not the same....

i think most kids dun like the cartoon character getting alive! they will be scared.

what happen to your maid/childcare options thingie? if finance is not a problem, better to be SAHM right?

smiggle
yes i got your pM but been quite busy. will mail it out to u.

cellow
ha i dun even wan a maid now.......like what they say, find maid already so hard...what about finding a good one. no such luck leh.

need to let go a bit. i find my colleague weird. she's my boss 'pet' and behaves so weirdly towards us other ladies. today both of us went for a course. knowing only each other, it's natural to chit chat or go for lunch together right? she completely snub me and like dun even wan to acknowledge that she knows me. pple at her table were surprised to learn that we are working together cos we looked like we dun know each other. i will tell ppl we are colleagues but apparantly she dun. then when i asked her whether she wan to go lunch, she just walked away. like she seems to keep trying to keep a distance. and my boss keeps asking us to work together on some things. when i ask her abt it, then i realised she had spoke to my boss on some things and din even update me. while i dun wan to look like i m difficult to work with (which i m not), i really dun feel like working with her. me and another colleague noticed that when she sees us, her face will change immediately one. but cos she's very close to my boss, dunno whether she will back stab us or not.

shd i look for another job? but actualyl my boss is quite happy with me and he intends to try to increase my salary. and he's quite flexible and understands that i need to pick my kids so he dun make me stay late. and he also very flexible with leave. like when my car battery ran out, i immediately text him to tell him i need to take urgent morning leave to fix it and he told me no need to take leave. so in a way i save my leave. when my kids are sick he will tell me to work from home and also no need to take leave. so i also dun mind working here. but as i start to see my colleague's pattern, i can foresee potential problems in working. in fact, the lady that i replaced left partly becos of her. they used to be best frens and fell out over work. when other colleagues commented on how close she seems to be with my boss i also defended her and say i dun think anything is going on. now i feel stupid for being nice! n i still ask her to go for lunch with us when i know my boss not ard to go lunch with her. she always rejects us and only goes lunch with my boss or this other guy that my boss is chummy with.

what should i do?

youpi,
Haha. I thought of you cos I had just read your blog.

dor dor,
Kudos to you for surviving without domestic help too! And having to tahan 3 children! Heehee.

SY,
Wah, your hubby really got very high standards leh. Maybe can slowly let go a little bit at a time, get him accustomed to the slightly lower standards slooooowly.
I think you should stay leh. It's hard to find good colleagues but it's EVEN harder to find a good boss. And plus he's happy with you and even wants to increase your salary!

Childcare/Work Options:
I decided to start working again partly because I had my mil watching Declan. Like many paranoid moms, I can never trust maids fully even though I feel this current one really cares for Declan. It's just the what-if that kills me. But nowadays, it feels like my mil will have some program at least once a week which means there's nobody at home to watch Declan and the maid. Furthermore, my fil travels to KL every week for some project and we predict his company will ask him to stay in KL. So even IF my mil doesn't go to KL to stay with him, she will be commuting more often than now.
And that's why I will soon need to reconsider my options. S.I.G.H.

youpi
no one looks after my kids when i work full time. they are in childcare! my parents are overseas that's why it's so tough. there are times when my dad feels like telling my mum to come back just to help me out so that i have an easier time.

just now also feel quite pissed. i have to go take an exam on a sat cos of work and i told my hb to bring jh for his swimming. guess what's the classic reply. let him skip for a week. immediately i shot back. does that mean that everytime when i m busy the kids stop everything? so that's one reason why i m hesitant abt #3. does that mean when i have to do confinement my kids have to stop sch for 1 month and all other activities for tat one month??

bbp
yes my hb has high standards and the standards never change!! his argument is that a clean house is for the kids....how to argue with that right?

yeah my boss is good now but who knows whether my colleague will feed him wrong info. u know what i mean. so i also need a back up plan.... nobody is indispensable right. if i leave he only has to go thru the pain of training the new person... haha.

actualyl what's the motivation to start working? financial? self development? must weigh it. or does the sch have any enrichment program that he can stay on for some days? then even if your mil has program it is ok also.

honestly after 2 years plus of staying at home, i can say that i m happy to be working. i think i have never appreciated working life as much as now....

we can hi 5...paranoid mum..haha

bbp
we're sailor sisters (not sailormoon, sailor sisters coz in the same boat) like my mil will hint that she can take care of pomfret if i go back to work, but in actual fact out of 5 week days she'll go out for 4 days for errands/meet friends.

mr dustee and the left-hinge fridge.
well to be fair, he asked me first if we should forgo the left-hinge fridge so we can move in earlier. and i said i want the leftie too. coz 1) mr dustee is leftie, and 2) the fridge is up against a wall on the right side, so if it's a normal rightie fridge, i won't be able to open the door fully. and y'know how that's a problem.

and then he also said to lets just move in without a fridge. but without a fridge, i don't know how i'm gonna store pomfret's half-drunk chocolate milk, yakult, half-eaten noodles, cakes, etc etc.

but yeah, we'll probably move before the fridge comes in. but i really do have the world's slowest contractor don't i? even my ils' neighbour who are rebuilding a whole house are finishing before my apartment reno (both started at same time).

youpi
the mum of 7 who homeschools them is the one in the papers a couple of months back? remember mr dustee pointing out to me 'maybe we can do it too' and i think i told him i would castrate him.

SY
well, from my experience, as long as the boss has a pet and that pet isn't so nice to every one else, then better leave. unless you don't mind a retirement job (y'know, the kind you can stone at and not hope to get too far up )

mums of manyyyyyyy children
well on cable tv i get to watch (sometimes, on insomniac nights like these) this show "18 kids and counting..." about the duggar family who have, yep, 18 kids. and i remember once the mother said that it was actually tougher when she had only 4 small toddlers. and when she had more than 4, the older ones started taking care of the younger ones.

so mummies, anyone up for the call to repopulate singapore and have more and more kids?

dustee
I so agree with ur " well i actually think all of us can do it (for our kids we'd do anything right?). just how grouchy we'd become though."

I had wondered hw I would cope with 2 while still preg with E. N I told my hubby something similar. That I would give them my all definately.....but I would overtire myself definately as well. So worried whether I can cope with it or endup crazy. hehe

SY
Unless u want to wait a few more yrs till JH n JX r definately independent n can help. Then will be very ideal as they will be able to help.
That's my ideal if I am ever crazy enough to want another baby.haha

ANyway since ur hubby is soo fussy. Think best is to talk it out with him.

bbp
Yah n the hsework will be the 1 to get trade off when there is no time hehe.
E jus told me before bed. "I dun want you to go work. I want papa to go work." Hahaha

Okie its very late so I'm starting to think nonsensical stuff again.

U know always when we read about those mums who can take care of their kids so well n be there for all their kids needs or go home for lunch with the kids.....their mums n dad will jus happen to be the so n so of which company.

And so happens the variety show that made all the hubbies do the hsework that "supposely" their wives did. Well I happen to be so kpo n sarcastic during 1 episode n realised how come NONE of them had domestic helpers???
Which most definately cannot be true right??

So yah we are all going in the right direction. Whatever is on TV or news......I will take it as fiction reading and jus alittle tibbit for tot on what I can try to do for the kids.
N no stress cos me n hubby are not so n so of which company so can't complain. N when I think of the auntie who owns a shop downstairs......I think I cannot complain. And life is good again.

Can we have a lunch in town end of next week??

Maybe Thurs?? So I can split the loots??
I have paid vpost but ummm paisey aah give me a few days to work out the amt.(busy finishing my K drama haha)

Items should reach me by this week (DD if the bottles dun reach before the lunch date I go over pass to u again when D is in sch).

dustee,

maybe you have to give a little pressure to the contractor to finish up your house by a certain date. hmmm..you can set yourself a target date, say 15 April 2011 to move in, then communicate to the contractor, they want their money too, so they will get the house ready by then. I never knew there was a leftie fridge! :p sua ku! I also need to find a fridge soon, my freezer cracked.

Dor dor,

Next Thursday on!! Crab bee hoon? *wink*

Wat K drama you are watching now? I juz finished Dream High.. :p

Jacelyn,

I take every Friday off to clear my ML. So I will exercise then while I wait for wuffy to finish school. but after exercise i will also exercise my mouth - ie eat. But I try to take non-sinful stuff!

i want to talk....! but my work in KL is killing me slowly.

i was thinking idly of having #3 also.
then wonder how to cope, and quickly shelve the idea.
concerned abt spacing.... cannot leave until too late. C1 and C2 are 2 yrs apart, so to be fair to a C3, the gap max between C2 and C3 must be 2-3 years. preferably a late Dragon baby. if can gtee C3 is a girl, still ok to space C2 and C3 further apart. BUT if C3 is another boy, i say max 2-3 years between C2 and C3.... else the 2 older boys will gang up on the little boy.

weird thots for a morning.
been in the office since 710am. bcz 1. beat the horrible KL traffic and 2. hotel doesnt provide breakfast in my room rate, and i m too kiam to eat a buffet for RM60+++ (yes yes, even though coy pays) 3. i really have a LOT of emails to clear. yucks.

nerves of steel to me today.

SY,
my counter to your HB's argument is if you think the hse needs to be soooooooo clean for the kids, then you do, YOU CLEAN the toilets everyday. i have a lot of things to do already.....
haha! can try that on Mr SY?

dor,
on your nonsensical thots. i also have a lot of them in my head. and this is prob abt the only safe place to put them down in writing.

cellow,

serious! your idle thots are very potent....easy to materialise. *wink* My original plan was to have #2 in 2010, #3 in 2012. But now, i think cannot liao. I feel so tired already and hubby is not keen on #3.

KL has good food, no need to eat hotel food. There is a superb Bak Kut Teh there. Where are you located and when you coming back?

LOL on batgirl's exercise body then exercise mouth!!

I would love to have a #2. I am so obsessed by it that I even dreamt that I gave birth last night. And telling the gynae "sorry doc, I realised I haven't gone to the toilet yet leh." haha. The dream was really so vivid. I even felt the tummy pains!

Funny, before I had Poppy, I never felt my life was empty. But now that I have her, I feel slightly empty that I only have one child, not two. I don't understand it.

I learnt about 3 pregnancies in 3 days. Told BB that "everyone is pregnant but me!" and he said "I'm not pregnant, don't worry" :S

cellow
gulp RM 60 for brekkie? i wouldn't either. not even if it's on someone else's account.

dor
sayang sayang. you're right, mummies can do anything!! poppy also tells me "mama no go work. papa go work!"

oh something very unrelated:
anyone has a nephew/niece who's above 16 and would like some part time work? i always need an extra hand when i have events. i pay $8 an hour
just PM me ok?

it's just to help watch out for kids that need help when they're doing their craft activities. usually on weekends/school holidays

PB,
My auntie has a niece who's above 16 and would like to have extra cash on hand. She's very hardworking and is quite ok with children. She loves trivia and recently learnt that the biggest animal in the cat family is the tiger. *grins*

*Runs away*

batgirl, pb,
to continue weird thots....

maybe i shd have #4... if only 3 children, someone will always be left out.

*piak myself awake fm daydream*

aaaai, why is bbp running away?

Had a bad nite with leg cramp and aching back...
Didi move non stop, another active one?

Pb
Thks for the offer. Come over anytime u like but poppy in sch rite? Kayden only hme at 3pm.

U knwim reading e posts and nothin gets in my mind!
Except the crab bee Hoon part...
Sigh...

PB
Yes, Botanic Gardens, Swan Lake. The fish there are ferocious, can finish a loaf in minutes. The swans will come and fight for bread too. Very exciting.

Cellow
If I wanted to continue, I'd have four too

Dustee
Yes I think she was in the papers. LOL on castration.

SY
Why can't your hb bring JH for his swimming lesson?

thanks cellow and youpi
yes that's where we're going this pm! nice weather

lol on smiggle and only absorbing crab bee hoon info hehe. i'll sms you ok?

thanks for the link bbp! and oh sure, i'll be happy to get in touch with your aunt's niece. but don't run away cos then i'll have to run after you to get her number and we'd be doing this whole virtual indian film running around coconut tree scene :S

i m still at work, and eating macdonalds w my team.... where is my quarter pounder????? ah, tis on the way.

bbp,
is that extremely bo liao or is that super bo liao....? *amused*

my mantra for today - nerves of steel, nerves of steel

Wah mid week is almost here! Things r crazy at work, bbg had to be in nebuliser again since sat.. But it sure is effective (that or the antibiotics)

Can't wait tO catch the gingerbread man this sat..thanks for the tiP on Chinese-mandarin book cos I seriously wouldn't have known...

Smiggle n bb..hang in there! So have u decided On name? Saw ur pics..still looking good!

Nex library..what time? If late afternoon, then ON ah

Cellow in kl for how lOng? My turn again soon but it's so wasted fOr me to rush back instead of enjoying the weekends there..just because I don't have my bb there with me huh..so silly of me for not being able to spend time away fm bb!

So agree with cellow's retort to sy's hb's expectation of speckled clean home: that's exactly what I would have said to my hb..with fire coming out of my mouth like a dragon! Haha

ON for thurs crab beehoon n prays for bottle to arrive (more excited than bbg)

Call me a coward but I dun even dare think of no2 n here u all r talking abt no3 & 4!

re my hb n housework
it won't work if i tell him to do it. he will jsut say then we need a maid. so the answer to the problem is to get a maid which is what i dun wan. am i being too hard on myself? but sometimes i rather have a hard time than to have problems with maids!

my hb is actually ok with the idea of #3 but of cos on the condition that i continue to work and we have a maid so we still have some gap to cover....

cellow
there is this place at paragon that supposedly can offer u 90% chance of the sex of the bb that u wan. my sil's fren doing it. if u really want to go for #3 i help u ask and u can go try for your gal...

dustee
can the fridge be ready earlier?? maybe if u exert soem pressure it will be ready earlier.

hmm i dun exactly look for a retirement job now. but i think i need to have back up plan and meanwhile work very hard so that my boss values me then i have bargaining power. got it all planned out but just need to action it....

youpi
my hb is very lazy one. i m the one who will bring them for everything so if i cannot make it, he will just say let the kids stay at home instead. plus sat morn is the time he change his fish tank water. so i get very pissed cos he can take care of fish cannot take care of kids right?? every week when jh goes swimming, i have to bring jx along too or else no one will take care of her. my parents always complain that i tire myself out by doing so many things but if i dun do it then the kids dun get anything right? so mothers are the best!

so just now i really scolded hb and made him promise to bring jh for his swimming lesson. since he asked me to go back to work, he must fulfill his part of the bargain. he thinks he has done more already (maybe more than before) but it's not enough to me. situations like this sometimes really make me feel that i get conned into going back to work. my boss also hinted that i may need to stay late for meetings sometimes so i need to get my hb to pick the kids but that's close to impossible so i also dunno how to make any arrangement.

i wish i wish i can work part time........

gee SY it sounds like you're really stuck between a rock and a hard place.

sheesh, "my hb is actually ok with the idea of #3 but of cos on the condition that i continue to work and we have a maid so we still have some gap to cover.... " sounds like it is going to be very unfair to you and hard on you wor.

please excuse the frankness but from what you have described about your husband, i really really think that if you have a #3 you will pengsan of exhaustion.

when a couple has kids, most times, the dads' lives and schedules remain relatively the same. but mums get their lives turned upside down

good morning ladies! *yawn* hiaz, catching the first flt to JKT, hence i am here typing so early... geez...

SY,

I second PB. But if you really really really want #3, I would rather you go for it AND get a maid. If really pengsan from exhaustion, your maid can help out. A little help is better than no help. when life with #3 stabilises, then the maid can go. JH is also a big boy by then, maybe he will even help you by being more independent?

very good morning batgirl.

i went to sleep at midnight after pumping, washing and sterilising pump parts. promptly woken up at 610am by my boobs. my body reminds me that i m a mum even when the children are not w me.

*yawn* ate mac's dinner at 9pm, worked till 10+pm in the office, then went back to hotel to crash.

SY,
this week is your turn to have BIIIIIIIG thoughts eh.

i third batgirl! get a maid to help out w hsework. there are good ones. choose for attitude, not competence. competence can be trained, attitude cannot.
change fish tank water or bring JH swimming.... and Mr SY chooses the fish over JH! tok tok tok his head. v indignant for you.

PB,
were the fishes at BG as ferocious as youpi described?
"when a couple has kids, most times, the dads' lives and schedules remain relatively the same. but mums get their lives turned upside down" - doggiebb posted once (the strange things i rem) abt the dangers of simmering resentment over this very issue.
despite all the complaints abt Mr C, i m super glad that he chose to put me and the boys first, and is super happy to occupy his time w us. there ws once i asked him if he wanted to spend time w his frens over the wkend..... he looked at me as if i had suddenly gone mad, and shook his head "No need" he says.

BUT i can see that if we go on like this, soon he and i will both have no more frens. _now_ that is an uncomfortable thought. so we are trying to combine family care with going out w the frens. i say try la.... most of our frens are happy to go to kid-frenly places and keep an eye on C1 and C2 as well. however there are some who dun.

idle thots of more children
i m derailing that train of thot for now. there are 2 things that pple who havent seen me for some time say to me

1. wah, you are so skinny now, only skin and bones lor. (another fren even more direct - did you shrink as well.... oh tis bcz you are hunching.... i m half amused, half bemused that we are frens enuf that she is telling me this)

2. wah, must take care of yourself leh, you look so tired... or some variation on that theme.

HELLLLLLO pple, i m a mum of 2 very young boys. w a full time job outside the home, and another full time job inside the house. OF COURSE i m tired. geez.

do i sound sensitive abt this? do i ... do i....
*grin*

PB, batgirl
i also know a maid is helpful but then hor, provided i get a good maid. cos the problem is my house will have no one watching over the maid so even if i do get a maid, i will still send #3 to infantcare. imagine the expenses then. and with no one watching the maid, i very scared of what might happen. hear too many stories already. so instead of worrying abt what the maid may be up to, i rather just not have one!

cellow
yes my hb is very rigid one. he doesn't like his schedule changed. u know even things like if his parents not free, he wd rather just not go back for the week then change the day to go back...so even his mum can't do anything abt it. funny right? but the flip side is that pple tell me he will be more faithful cos he dun like change..haha hope it's true.

hey i used to get that a lot too! somehow after 2 kids, get even skinnier right. so if pple tell u that, u can ask them whether they wan to look after your kids so they can lose some weight too.....haha

fish at BG
blimey. i was scared of them! and the turtles! one of my biggest fears is falling into a pond and get eaten alive by fish. that's why i so cannot take those fish nibbling foot spa things.

had a bit of an adventure too. poppy was throwing her hat around and it ended up in the pond. so guess who had to be the hero(ine) to pick it up. and the best part - couldn't find a good stick to do it, so had to use..... a baguette to scoop it up! hehe.

getting thinner with kids
sheesh. not for me! i must not be doing enough hehe. but people will ALWAYS think of insensitive things to say la :p ignore ignore!

safe trips to cellow and batgirl!

dear pb,
i m ignoring all comments that dun make me feel good. life is too short (and busy!) to feel bad.

ahahahHAHAHA to baguette-scoop for poppy's hat!

mummies! I am moving roles but b4 i can fully transition to the new role, I am tasked to find my replacement :p..so if anyone knows of any marketer who is keen to work in a big IT company, PM me ok. gam sia.

cellow, me in JKT la..just took the second last flt back and now back home ... pumping... aiyoh so tired!

PB,

Saw your blog and the pictures of the hero(ine) scooping up the hat!! It will be good memories for both poppy and you 40 years down the road. keke

SY,

getting skinnier with more kids?! me is the opposite leh... getter fatter and fatter.... hiaz... on the third kid issue... how to express myself properly...hmmm... how about considering a baby sitter? They cost about the same as a maid but less ex than infant care.

woooo cin bunny getting a promotion eh?
time for a treat!!!

batgirl
ya man, what an experience! i was so scared of falling into the water but yet laughing all the way cos it was so funny!

Harlow..almost drowned under n I'm headed that way again for work soon..

Cellow how long r u away for? Getting hotel to freeze ur milk for u?

Batgirl wah u super efficienT leh..first flight in n last flight out (for work too, I presume?)

SY u sure r brave to even contemplate having no 3..maybe u will eventually find a good helPer? Otherwise, get part time help?

Brave Pb for rescuing poppy's hat from ferocious Piranhas and turtles keke

Wanted to ask what activities are there actually at nex' new lib on fri? Couldnt quite tell from site

GAP n Old Navy
The stuff just reached my place.
Pb n jacelyn, the rest r bags but ur orders are in a 2/3 full box, hence the most ex shipping. Sighs

Have sent out the excel file early early this morn. So anyone never receive let me know huh n next week lunch confirm???