(2008/07) July 2008

SD,
oh rest more and stay well today!
LOL on the conversation. you have been outsmarted

how do you send her to a corner when she has to go to school?

Cellow
We still have like about 10 minutes left before leaving for school. She was crying the whole time, including in the car seat during the trip from home to school. She instantly stop crying when she realize the car has stopped in front of her school and cheerfully went inside. All that drama!!!!

SD,
Where did you buy the Lock & Lock bottle from? So cute!

PB,
Haha, I didn't ask you cos I recalled you shared previously.
Question though: Do you talk to them when you bring her to school or pick her up from school?

BBP
Bought the normal blue cap one. Last week I saw the colorful one like the one in the link at OG Albert. Not sure about other OG. Should have also.

SD
LOL on your conversation. E can speak so well!
L also goes into meltdown these days. He has mastered the art of screaming and howling until he is satisfied that he has caused a scene, then with a blink of an eyelid, he is smiling and happy again. This is their Jekyll (sp?) and Hyde stage I think.

Bbp
I ask. I am very kaypoh about what he does in class and whether he participates, eats, drinks, poops, etc. If one teacher is engaged with the other kids, I'll ask the other teacher. Sometimes I ask both the same questions, on different days. Hehe.

PB
You got to the PS one right? The NB instructor at TP is Jenni. She is very good and very tough too. I took her Yogasana class yesterday, contorted my heart out, and am aching now.

Okie, got to get the boys and the afternoon is jam-packed! Signing off for the day... see you tonight

Mich
Just be your usual friendly self and smile a lot. Invite yourself for lunch? Or just make friends with one main person and let her do the rest.

Youpi
I go to Bugis and plaza sing yup. I think I've tried Jenna before. I like her! But yoga not for me. I'm very inflexible and always look and feel horrible when I can't do all those supposedly relaxing poses. I like child pose though :D

Err anyone knows where to buy those kopi tiam table and chairs?

Quick update

Gap, old navy already at vpost. Waiting for another item to reach prob within 1 week then I'll pay post n update again.

Jacelyn
The diaper bag dispenser OOS at drugstore n diapers.com paisey.

Batgirl
Not sure if you got my email but I guess not cos it says got banned word wor so cannot send. Wonder was it disposable? Or diaper or what that was so bad the system dun like till I gave up resending. Haha
So anyway u saw my reply to jacelyn, the bags OOS everywhere. It's the munchkin one, not sure if sg sells that though.

michelle
the first few days are usually the toughest! and usually if u r higher level, pple tend not to be too approachable. i think it's quite normal .also depends on office culture. like in my office, it's quite easy one so sometimes we will ask our boss to join us (only when we know he has no lunch kaki haha). so maybe take a few days to check out the culture first.

bbp
thanks! oohh more shopping...

do they have a comms book that u can write inside to ask the teachers stuff? jh and jx have a comms book so if the teachers are not free i just write my questions inside and they will write back.

SD
jx is also like that. but we have learnt to ignore or get really angry with her. but she usually dun care much abt our reaction. she only cares when i m angry with her then she gets upset. but it's erally tiring to deal with her when she gets into one of her moods. i can totally understnad!!

i just had a breakdown and cried it all out. pomfret's been having fever of 39 deg. so for two nights i haven't been sleeping coz either she keeps waking up or i keep waking up to check her temp. then she doesn't want to eat, doesn't want to drink, doesn't want to shower. doesn't want to take medication.

the things my mil keeps saying. oh God. i keep praying and praying for my own acceptance, that i don't let her comments get to me. that it doesn't matter she disapproves of me so much because ultimately, God loves me. and God loves her too.

I love pomfret. i would love to feed her nutritious food every meal time. but if she refuses to eat, and she's not the kind i can force, what can i do? that does not make me an evil mother.

i love pomfret. she doesn't want to shower, but i think kids just need to keep clean, and shower at least once a day. so i scold her if she starts throwing a tantrum. that does not make me an evil mother.

i love pomfret. and at times she gets tired of me and my old toys and she wants to go to her grandma who has a cupboard full of brand new toys, i let her go. that does not make me a lazy and evil mother.

*breathe*

mich
oh dear, if they are not reporting to you, why are they siam-ing you? pat pat. back in my old co, it's full of tripods (sa-ka), so when there's a new 'higher-up' person, the tripods will be rushing to ask that person out for lunch.

SD
so was it difficult getting E to wake up early for school in the beginning? coz pomfret keeps waking up around 10am. and then we're gonna register for nursery2 for her next year, i'm wondering if i should skip the 8-11am class and register for the 11-2pm class -_- stress.

cin
reno almost done. some small things here and there, but the contractor very slow, and i think mr dustee has the silly idea of totally furnishing the apartment before we move. but since i'm so frustrated here i shall campaign to move in empty first and buy later.

pd and labs
btw, pomfret's pd suggested we send her mucus in for a lab test. just be sure she's got some strong flu virus and not something else causing her high fever. so i said yes, and then i had to scoop my jaw off the floor when i was paying the bill... the lab itself was $130!!!!

A post especially for Dustee
Yes yes those lab swabs are really ex. That is how I ended up paying $170 for one visit, for one child! Pocket full of holes already.

Can you lock yourself and Pomfret in your room and have your meals delivered there like room service? For meds, will it help if you give Pomfret something that she likes after that? L loves meds 'cos he gets to take them with a spoon, and throw the spoon into the sink after. And then he gets his vitamin C and Omega gel capsule, both of which he loves. So he asks for medication even when he doesn't need it.

Not eating or drinking could be because of the virus. She's still breastfeeding right? Should be okay then. As long as she gets fluids. Shower: just wipe her down. Toys: switch around, read, sing, bang on the piano?

And please take over the reno and home moving. Set a date, pack everything up, and tell Mr Dustee to just appear there after work that day. Move in with bare essentials. Everything else can come later. Else you end up with a crowded house (Oh haha, just re-read that. I like Crowded House
You need help? I am available in the mornings.

The reality of my life is that I am enslaved by laundry.

Quick exercise question: did you break out when you first started exercising? 'Cos I have been, ever since I started. I console myself by thinking that it's just my body clearing out toxins but surely it's not just that?

Pat pat dustee and no, u r nt a evil, lazy mummy. I put 3 halos on yr head just for living with yr mil.

Youpi - sorry can't help cos I hv nt exercised for 2 years. Gulp

i can't help it: dustee wants to break free and youpi is experiencing breakout :p

first dustee
you are not a bad mother. you know it. you're just a mum who's not really allowed to reach your full potential because there is another mum living in that house and wants to be in charge all the time.

reno: do the big things. move in once that's done. like real contractor stuff. painting, toilet, flooring... i.e. no more drilling, knocking, smelly things going on. as for furniture and all, heck, i'm sure you'd be happier sleeping on the floor and eating on carton boxes than spending another day with your MIL

you have such a high level of tolerance. i'm sure if it were me, i would have screamed at my husband countless times about moving out.

shower: we usually shower with her and soap each other. she loves soaping my back and washing her father's hair. got bathtub? entice her with toys? i just made sailboats for poppy with styrofoam and toothpicks (takes like 5 minutes) and she loves them. i got extra styrofoam if you want.

got one of those big bottles with pumps? put a bit of soap and lots of water and ask pomfret to pump.

if weather is good, want to hang out tomorrow? i pick poppy about 4 then we can go somewhere
want want?

big big hugs. super big ones. ginormous ones.

youpi
er no, did not happen to me. now that i think about it, could it be the towels? sometimes i feel they are a little stinky.

PB
LOL on break free and breakout

Towels, ah, did not think of that. One regular also warned me not to put any part of my face on the mat, which I am guilty of. So I put the towel no the mat and put my face on the towel. Budden if it is the towel...

Cin_bunny
But you look so good and you are so slim already! Even without exercise! Exclamation mark time!!!!!

dustee,
Sometimes, Declan does his "I don't want to shower" nonsense too. I once replied, "Ok, don't shower. You just go in and play water, with cups and all." And the moment he started playing, I started showering him. Even when he went "I don't want to shower...", I still continued with "Yes, I know you don't want to shower, ok, just play with water, no need to shower" and continued to shower him. Haha.

youpi
could be the mat also. i always wipe down the mat with the towel when i return the mat. i don't think everyone does it though. and the mats are stepped on, sweated on and goodnes knows what....

bbp
*grin* i can imagine your voice when you say that!

friday's almost here, office mummies! yay!

cin..welcome back to the RAT RACE *groan* do you still get to enjoy part time flexibility?

I've never gotten the chance to learn any other instruments, so personally more passionate about the acoustic piano .. and i'm looking for a class that's not just about singing and dancing like the kindermusik we attended but one that would teach more about solfege, reading scores, playing the piano.. but yet still in a fun manner since our kiddos are still so young (and no school would take him in for one-to-one serious and boring piano lessons yet) will let u know what i decide on, so you can compare notes ;)

pb: maybe bb read the articles about hos listening to classical music may stimulate our kiddos' brains? not sure about how true that is though..

hmm mich... u r not their boss.. but u r still from the 'boss' category so they stiffened up?? hehe

sy: transferred $ to you for my earth best sesame st snacks liao, go keep a lookout for it ya? Thanks!

anyone tried it yet? ours still not opened coz someone's still working on his anpanman biscuits haha

bottles: exactly! I bought an insulated one from disney hk and it seems to be leaking from the bottom now geez! need one that he can open easily.. won't chew the straw into pieces (read: must get hard straw) not too heavy (THERmos kinds r out,, the disney insulated one was kinda thick n heavy already) adn must be big enough coz he drinks lots.. am i a fussy bottle buyer or wat.. haha

sd: is it the soft silicone kinda straw or the hard plastic kind? have seen the sports bottle version around but not this one..

LOL at emma the topic changer and drama queen..

wah you gym goer mummies are very on ah... good good.. must check out your slim and svelte bodies when we next meet! i only see my tummy protruding further and further out (instead of my boobies!!) each day...

PB: antique chairs n tables.. wah just read an article in papers that some shop in east coast opened to help restore old ones, as well as to sell.. can't recall name now.. it was a malay compounded word.. argh! old woman losing her memory here!

big hug for dustee! definitely NOT an evil mom! take a deep breath and hang in there! When they r sick.. they tend to be more cranky.. it's really ok not to eat so much,... as long as she's getting enough water to stay hydrated then ok.. try giving clear soups? or anything at all that she's willing to eat or drink .. and skipping a shower won't kill too, unless she's super filthy? do let her go get happy with granny's evil lure of new toys while u take the chance to rest and get away a bit.. .so u r more recharged? brought her to PD? found out the cause of the fever? hope she gets well soon...

PB's gonna put on the queen cd into her cassette player soon...

okie off to google more bottles now.. still got music school to research on, plane tix to book.. arrgh so much to do and so little time,.. and these evenings my baby calls me on the phone to say: mummy.. what time r u coming home? I miss u! *meltz and sends me running (literally) HOME*

Dustee
Getting cleaned up. Some ideas:
How about playing with water guns in the garden with pomfret? Squirt soap with small gun then rinse with super soaker?

Or maybe scrap that. Catching a cold isn't really something we do intentionally

Try doing it with a bucket then she can scoop with smaller pails?

Say "pretend you're a dog and dirty after rolling in the mud" then hose her down

Play fireman fireman and tell her There's a fire then must put out fire with uh water

dustee
of cos u r a good mother!! jsut that our kids are too young to know that what we want them to do is the best for them. isn't it that way? when we were young we also dun listen to our parents at times. so it's just normal

yeah better to get tested to make sure that it's just viral. when jx had fever for a week, she was sent for blood test and the experience was traumatic! but at least the test result came back ok so u feel more relieved.

yeah u shd try to move out asap. dun need to wait for fully furnished place. shd buy as and when u see suitable stuff. my sis also moved into her new place with only the bare essentials.

re not showering
for 2 days, jx din want to shower after coming back from sch. it dun really matter actually cos they shower in sch but i still prefer her to shower. so last night the father told her if u dun shower tmr i will cane u and today she really ok to shower cos she dun wan the cane.....

talking about shows... anyone going to the gingerbreadman? or todd the green frog? got another chinese one coming up too.. journey to the west... and roald dahl's james and the big peach being put up by children's theater at ulu pandan cc... go google or check out sistic ;)

dustee
big hugs to u and pomfret... i can nvr imagine myself living with such a MIL

DD
the baby music class that lil E is attending does more than singing & dancing as the teacher plays on the piano and uses fun characters to teach the children on the different notes and musical terms... i think they allow trial b4 u actaully sign up... check out their websites and call to talk to the staff... theis particular teacher is very gd with kids... but the timing is abit out... starts at 2pm on sat...

What a gorgeous morning! Good morning everyone!

DD
We are going for gingerbread man tomorrow and poppy is going for Todd without us!

Hello mummies, just got discharge frm hospital.. Cervix was diliated at 1cm.. Scared e he'll out of me.. Tot I was goin to have Another premature delivery agn....
Doc sent me back w bed rest for a week....
I haven got a name for him yet, but didi is now 1.98kg..
Good size?

Motherhood fair
I need to get so much stuff...haven prepare anything yet...
But I can't go

Sy
Let me know hw much to tt to u k..

Sorry all.. Can't reply to ur post... Wil try login agn soon...

PInkB - we goin for gingerbread man 2m too..the 230pm show

smiggle - take care!! and write a list of things u need to buy and send hubby to run the errand.

TGIF *whew*

Cin, 11am us

Smiggle
Take care take care!! Bed rest you! Go! Shoo! Do relaxing things! Read in bed, sleep, watch DVDs. Don't stress!

thanks for all the loving encouragement heh. i'm much better today but pomfret is sicker than ever. her fever keeps spiking up to 39.5.

smiggle
oh gosh, you better really really stay in bed.

kiddie shows
talking about that, any one going for disney on ice? only just found out that mickey and minnie would actually be featured too, so thinking about bringing pomfret now. but it's quite ex, and all the good seats are gone. hmmm.

but i did like going to disney on ice as a kid : D (my parents didn't bring me. i bribed some other adult to bring me, i don't remember who now)

me and mil business
anyway, as usual, mr dustee says, cannot change his mum. and all things considered, we're all healthy, alive, so we should be happy enough (of coz, that's easy for him to say since he's not facing his own mother whole day long)

and as the over indulgent father that he is, he says we cannot change pomfret being strong-willed, over bearing and difficult to bring up. (see, he's too doting)

dustee
i wanted to go for disney on ice but i tot not much mickey and mninnie so din go....

wah your hb is really relax. everything also ok one. pros and cons. but can u make decisions and then ask him to abide by it?

smiggle
take care!! dun walk ard too much. rest rest rest!

quick one

smiggle, bedrest for you! bb#2 stay in until term!

dustee,
hugs. hugs hugs on bribing other adult to bring you to disney on ice.

Dustee
Another shower idea: The three of us bathe together and I let the boys paint the walls while they are waiting for me to be done. Using washable paint, of course. They get to choose the colour/s for the day, mix colours to get different ones etc. When they've covered the walls they tend to do hand, feet, tummy, and bum painting. They enjoy that very much so it's easy to get them in.

dor dor,

oh I See! never received your reply.. and i have been so busy lately that I seldom check the forum. But oh yes, the muchkin one! OSS..ok.. let me see if sg sells or not. Thanks! *now waiting in anticipation of the GAP loot*

Youpi,

I just started exercising last week, and I also got a small breakout!! hmm..toxins within me are now being expelled thru the sweat glands... hmmm... many many years worth of toxins then. :p

Smiggle! Pray hard for u that bb stays in tummy until term. So sorry didnt see your email but have already replied u

Dor, sob oos ... nvm then! thanks!! also looking forward to my loots :p

Batgirl, my mind has already started work out; my mouth is forevering working out (either saying the work exercise for 1000 times or eating); but my body, never!!! *cry* can someone just help me dun be so lazy? And get down to doing it? My excuse now: need to bring pump to work so its damn heavy ... cannot bring gym gear along.

hmmm dunno why these few days keep having a cramp feeling but no menses leh. anyone got any idea what it could be? my menses haven restarted yet. Is it a sign that it is coming?? Pls not!

dustee
Pat pat. Definitely NOT EVIL!! In difficult times,look at the bright side. You're going to move out soon!!!! Like Youpi said, get the basics first. I set a date to move with mr sd and get our essential furnitures delivered earlier.
For medication, I gave Emma in those small cup that comes with bottled medicine. I've got a few of those and I use one for myself and then both of us did many times of "TOAST and CHEERS" Lols.
For showering - There was a period when Emma refused to shower. I showered together with her and when that didn't work I re-used the baby tub, fill with water and toys and of course, some bubbles to play.
Waking up Emma - It's not in the beginning. Every day is difficult!!!! kyaaaa

DD
The straw is the hard plastic kind.

PB
You are so creative. I like the Land transport thingy.

Smiggle

ask a question. how many of u think it's possible to have #3 and dun have maid? while i m keen on #3 but i really dun wan to get a maid just cos of this. cos my plan is that after i move to my own place and since the kids are much older, i hope to do without a maid cos really scared of maid problems. but if i wan one more kid, then it seems to be tough not to have maid if i continue to work full time right? what do u think?

shower ideas
thanks for all the ideas! will try them out one by one. usually can entice her with something, be it paints or a water toy, but once she reaches the door of the bathroom, she starts crying. so sometimes i wonder if she just dislikes the bathroom. have been resorting to bringing out pails of water and letting her soak in the baby bathtub in the bedroom

pb
can't do all those things in the garden. mil is not very encouraging of activities that will muddy the lawn or dirty the grass (like, no flour on the grass, etc)

SD
oh no. then i might really consider registering her for 11-2 session instead of 8-11. (but then again, even when i was working, i had trouble waking up before 8...... so the apple unfortunately doesn't fall far from the tree)

SY
eh can't help you with your qn. still struggling with the idea of trying for #2 to begin with :p if your hb is proactive (splits parenting chores and housework with you) then no maid is an option. but if you're doing everything from bathing them to clothing them to feeding them to reading to them... add a baby on top of that? well i actually think all of us can do it (for our kids we'd do anything right?). just how grouchy we'd become though. hehe.

pomfret's fever
so the $130 lab test came back negative for the major viruses. PD just went ahead to prescribe antibiotics for her. what a God-send! fever just went down immed after 1 day on antibiotics. but she's still coughing a bit at night, hence i'm here forum-ing at this incredible 4.50am. coz she had a coughing fit just now and i had to let her sleep on my chest. she's now in bed and i'm wide awake.

moving out
looks like won't be moving out so soon. mr dustee has his mind set on customizing a fridge to open on the left hinge (all 1-door fridges open on the right hinge) and we just placed an order and the fridge won't arrive till end may.

how to move out without a fridge?

MEN! *rolls eyes* he's been eyeing this fridge for at least 3 months. i don't know why he couldn't have made a decision then.

and fyi, we haven't looked at any other appliance yet coz he was ONLY interested in a fridge.

SmiggleP: when r u due? I heard some stay dilated 1cm for a month b4 bb came out so take a deep breath n stay calm!

SY: no 3??? Whoa (reaction of me who's already kancheong spider over one) Who's taking care of jh n jx now when u r at work? Can they cope with another? My colleague actually has 2 maids

Dustee: I think u really need to set a date and start listing down all things required to move in, then kill them off one by one...or just die die mOve in..when desperate, things will somehow Just fall into Place..like fridges and washers..haha

So why does your hubby want the fridge to oPen to the left..is he a leftie?

morning everyone
BB and i have been zombies for the past week. while sleep training has been going well (we're moving further and further away from poppy's bed as the nights go by) and poppy has been falling asleep without us lying next to her, she seems to be waking more in the nights.

so each time she wakes, she comes into our room and one of us would go resume our sitting position till she falls asleep. repeating this several times a night, every night, is really taking a toll on us.

the yucky news is that she used to be able to sleep on her own for afternoon naps at least, and over the weekend, slept SO late for pm nap on sat, and didn't even take one on sun (then fell asleep at about 8)

how la. i'm wondering if my sleep training is messing everything up. she sleeps so well when one of us just falls asleep with her (and then leave and she sleeps on till morning). so don't rock the boat, right? but it's time consuming (right, and this isn't, PB?) and it's not healthy for us to 'nap' at 8pm then wake up at midnight and not being able to sleep!

argh

dustee
ai-yai-yai. how about a big plastic sheet so that you can sprinkle some water on it and pomfret could slide all around it? (or if she doesn't like it, can you invite me over? i'd love to try it)

hmmm it really sounds like mr dustee is stalling. well if you don't cook, you don't really need a fridge.

i agree with DD. just set a date, and move in! .... without mr dustee? Haha.

SY
3 would be tough to manage, i'm sure! could you have someone to just come once-twice a week to help with housework? maybe for cooking, can do tingkat? if JH and JX can go to childcare then maybe #3 could be sent to a sitter?

if you don't want a helper.

if you do get one however, (and i'm just wondering aloud here) getting a good one is already so tough. how hard would it be getting a good one who can look after 3 kids? you'd have to be very very very lucky

smiggle,
Rest! I had a scare too the previous time. I had quite substantial bloody discharge and I have a feeling that the doctor was surprised to still find a heartbeat. I can still remember the feeling so please rest! Do not move!

Gingerbread man show:
So how was it? Declan enjoyed the show right till the gingerbread man came alive. He then told Mr bbp that he didn't want to watch the gingerbread man and looked like he was about to burst into tears. Luckily that was averted. But it made us wonder what happened. My thoughts: Maybe he really dislike the gingerbread man. After all, even I wanted to slap him. Mr bbp's thoughts: Declan didn't like his gingerbread man becoming human.

dustee,
Agree with whoever said that if you cook, you need a fridge. If you don't, then you don't need one. Seriously, just shift in. I recall your house is pretty near Nex so no worries woman! Perhaps you should consider shifting in without Mr dustee. He seems like those colossal mountains that won't move unless they want to, and nothing you do or say will make them do otherwise. Wait, that kinda sounds like I was describing my own hubby.
Yay to Pomfret's fever coming down. I think it's the epidemic that's going round. Wonder when it'll stop for good.

SY,
I think it's doable. See youpi. She's still surviving there. Kudos to youpi! You could probably get part-time help to do the massive chores.

Maid/Childcare:
I have to rethink my options again. Seems like things are changing AGAIN. Maybe I should just give up the idea of working and be a SAHM again. Then at least I won't have to work according to other people's schedules.

PB,
Give it a month or so? Maybe Poppy's just adjusting. So give her some time before you question yourself la. You seem to be doing so well somemore!

gingerbread man
i also found him to be highly irritating! but the good news is that poppy really enjoyed it. she spent the first 10 mins on my lap then agreed to sit on her own to "get a better view"

um was it just me or did the cat appear to speak a tad bit too sexy at times? i liked the old woman. think she spoke the best.

Declan sat on his stool the entire time! But he did hold on to our arm after the almost-cry episode.
It's you... cos I LOVE the cat!
And I almost bought the Chinese Gingerbread Man book after the show. Then I realised the english translation in the book (there was both english and chinese) was weird. The part where the old woman was making the dough - the book used 捏, and the English text said "Pinched the dough".

Hello mummies..

How are e Monday blues?

Sy
Even w a maid, I also it tiring. Sometimes it like havin anther kid to supervise..
If I'm not working, I rather have a part time help to do housework...
Btw, u got my pm, can mail me my order?

Dd
I'm due end apr.. Still have 7 weeks to go.. I'm hopin to than till at least early apr..
Didn't knw tat hospital sees me as a high risk pregnancy if I deliver under 34weeks..

Bbp
U had such a scare too?
Haiz.. I'm worried when I go follow up, they tell me my cervix continue to dilate and I must admit agn..
Bed rest I'm tryin..

Any mummies have recommendation for cupcakes? Kayden is turnin 3 Next mth.. But don't think will have a party for him in case I deliver early...