(2008/07) July 2008

oh can i just add that i'm worried now even when my son is settling quickly into his new school... i'm worried that he'll get bullied by other kids in his class...

there's this boy who kept snatching whatever toys my son was playing with and throwing the toys away from my son. yday he raised his hand and tried to hit my son when i quickly intervene. his mother was just standing one side watching the show... give up.....

then my botak tried to push another girl when she sat in the chair he was sitting on earlier.... aiyoh... so this is the beginning of that dreadful wait for a phone call from the teacher....

steph
oh yes the trial by fire. the things the kids have to learn in school when other kids are rough with them. pat pat. they do go through a phase when they find their footing when they get bullied or roughed up. my nephew used to bite other kids who'd bully him. but once the other bullies stayed away from him (and his teeth) he got back into his loving gentle self.

yes, biting does run in the family. pomfret used to bite her cousin too. sigh.

i'm feeling better now obviously. earlier, haven't eaten the whole morning, low blood sugar, hungry, grouchy. getting contractor to collect some toilet fittings. fighting off commando mosquitoes in ils' house (yes bbp, the mozzies here are in swarms too!)

and then..and then... mr dustee just asked me a few days back 'why don't we send pomfret to school?' to school?!?!?!?!? after one whole year of badgering him about it, he has a change of heart and he has to have it AFTER the new year?!

so now i'm also frantically trying to find some place for pomfret. men. pffft.

just back fm PD.
tis nearly end of week, and i feel like i hvnt done any work yet.

C1 slight fever, coughs nearly non stop.
C2 high fever more than 39 deg, drippy nose and clingy/whiny.

i m going crazy.

the next person who crosses me is gonna diiiiieeeeeeeee.

cellow,
you cleaned 5 matteresses! shoot me... was just informed by land lord of rent hike... shoot me pls!!!

I think I am more unsettled then the little boy, as far as school is concerned. I am most likely going to change the school... most likely.... the thing is, the current school is so small, and cramp and there is NO windows, NO peeping area, NO glass door for me to even peep to monitor his progress. I'm changing him to one which is OPEN OPEN OPEN.

sayang cellow and hope the C household gets rid of all the germs. shoo shoo shoo... open all windows, change all bedsheets.. wash and sanitise all toys... must control the spread of the germs everything will be fine.... sayang C2 falling from bed.

aiyo DD you still peeping? you must only peep when you are very very sure the kiddo is not going to spot you.. else its very painful cos they will think they can have YOU around.. then its hard for everyone including the teacher..

Me, private investigator to be, is an expert in covertly placing my iphone video mode to spy on Eboy... hee hee.. and taking lots of videos showing him looking blur, looking out of the door, not joining in the singing, just sitting on teacher's lap or in the circle.. at least that's what I saw, but the teacher insisted that eboy is having fun. So. oh, the video the teacher took of him "playing", showed the chinese teacher passing him a box of dunno what, and eboy shoving it away.. how is that fun, i wonder.....

rewarding Youpi virtually with a box of chocolates! well done, mummy!

dustee, thought you already sending pomfret to 2hour playgroups, no? anyway, settle one thing at a time. too much change all at the same time is very challanging for a 2.5yo to adjust. new house, new school, not with mummy... slowly dun rush ok?

wuffy's official first day of school went pretty well, other than he was late cos he slept at 2pm (class start at 230pm) and I woke him at 3pm. :p

But he did not cry, just very very very quiet. he observed the other kids running around, crying. But he just did his stuff in one corner. Guess it will take some time before he warms up to the surroundings.

Cellow,

Aiyoh, your boy also fell off the bed ah. sayang C1, and sayang cellow..

steph... kinderland and MMI are kindergartens, not CC, so cannot get govt subsidy right?

haha does your botak mind being a botak?

I asked the teacher what caused bbG to cry earlier today, and according to her, bbG kicked a classmate, and cried when reprimanded.. but bbG insisted he didn't kick anyone, but that the class bully (yeah.. there's one in his class!) snatched his toy.. hmm.. I really hope my kiddo knows how to defend himself.. and also not turn into a bully himself! gulp..

get well soon, C1 & C2! AND hang in there c-mummy!

*thumbs up to L's instant access to boobie right after being a good boy in school*

Cellow, I'd probably be doing loads of housework Tmr myself to take my mind off the rent hike Hahah

DD,
Some branches of Kinderland and MMI run childcare too. the ones i visited have. and with govt subsidy too.

Botak has been calling himself botak haha... He doesn't mind coz everyone says he's handsome lor. So young already so vain.

Michelle,
Why do I get the visual of a prison when reading how you described e boy's school?! Personally I'd prefer a school with more indoor space if it doesn't have outdoor play area. Especially if my son is gonna spend long hours there.

Btw, ive heard quite good reviews from several sources abt Nafa kindergarten along east coast road. But I dunno if they have pre nursery classes.

NAFA only kindergarten. Waitlist minimum 3 yrs. Think bluey went on waitlist before, but not sure if she got it eventually.... i remember there will be a queue formed to "qualify" for waitlist one... sigh.

change topic slightly
cost of milk n diapers
Enfagrow 1.7kg is RM69.90 in JB vs SGD59.90 at ntuc. Is it any wonder we carted 10 tins back?

Mamy poko jumbo pack is RM47 vs SGD 24.90 normal price at ntuc. i stocked up 6 packs of L for C2 and btw also grabbed 6 packs of XL for C1. now wondering if diapers are still cheaper than my pateience.

dustee,
sigh. hope your new place is far far away

mich,
ditto. prison envmt w stern n fierce teacher. most impt for the kiddos are loving teachers. alamak. if instinct says change, go w the instinct.

NAFA... 3 yrs waitlist?!?!?! eeeks! Yeah for Michelle & E-boy. was he impressed with new school as well?

i'm beat after vacuuming & mopping whole place then washed floor towels and toilet. recuperating now while botak napping.. later bring him for a dip... pls pls pls don't rain.....

cellow,
my colleague who travels to & fro JB everyday offered to help me buy diapers too... but i paiseh coz rather inconvenient for her. do you frequent across Causeway? maybe next time can follow your car if you're familiar with the roads there. with GPS, i still don't dare to drive over myself.

Just had to come in and post...
L: "I like Poppy and Sa..."
Me: "Poppy and who? Do you know what he's trying to say?" I asked S.
S: "He's trying to say 'I like Poppy and Melissa".
Then...
L: "I like Poppy and Declan".

He's thinking of you all, especially Poppy

steph,
sure. msg me your hp no on FB. wont be so soon, as Mr C and I have just gone on 27 Dec.

youpi,
reminds me of C1's 'I like fans'

oh and he has found a best fren in class. a gal called mikayla. apparently they have the same character. dun really want to participate in the crafts and gross motor skills part of class
[did i mention that his teacher once fed back to me that C1 told her (teacher) to stop running around in class! dowan whether to be proud that he listens to my admonition not to run around indoors, or ashamed that he tells teacher off. either way, i am totally amused.....]

anyway, the 2 of them can just sit there during those times and one will say smthing "bicycle!" for instance and the other will giggle.

best-est. this little girl is third cousin to C1. as in her paternal grandfather's mother is my paternal granmother's elder sister. i m still totally amazed at the coincidence.

morning ladies! haven post for some time n haven met up with the kiddos n mummies for a longgggg time too!!! when is the next gathering? definitely wanna make time for it?

dd, xun gal was with mmi cc last yr so yup subsidized. tmr she will be starting school! wonder how she will be ... ... the best part is, the school bus cost is soooooo expensive! cost me 300 bucks per month! almost dieded when we heard the cost. -_-"" now contemplating whether to change school during N1 coz its really too expensive for my shallow pockets .. sigh. anyway did not register LX2 for st james coz think by then the school bus will have gone up to like 500 bucks haha.

Michelle, great!! hopefully ethan loves the new school!

Cellow
Wah soooo qiao!! N so cute lor C1 n new friend. Liang xiao wu cai! Hehe

Btw u mention take bus to ur place halfway is those less then 20 mins kind right? Great, never tot of way before. Lazy after 2kids, always take easy(taxi) way out haha

youpi
it's so sweet that S understands what L says. But S doesn't speak in chinese to L does he?

pomfret will randomly ask "mama where's boy?" and i'll ask "which boy?" "boy! mama, boy!" i do wish she can remember names....

mich
i was looking for a playgroup for the longest time, but mr dustee couldn't bear to put her in anything without an accompanying parent. so she's only been going to kindermusik for a couple of months. it definitely took me by surprise that he is willing to consider putting her in some school/cc thing now. but so last minute, how to find.

and we definitely give a thumbs up that you're moving e-boy to the new place! open space good, confined space baddddd.

steph
you mean after the crazy neighbour, you didn't sell and buy a new place, but are now renting?

nex playground/waterplay
the playground (small) and the water play area (bigger than the dry playground) at nex is open. i went up to recce but it was closed as it was drizzling. it's unsheltered, and opening hours are 11am-9pm.

sunday plus
did you all read that article about pre-school?

it's true it's true! when my nephew started primary 1, his school told his father (my brother) that he needed to know hanyu pinyin. so my brother had to enrol him in an intensive crash course. my poor nephew was so traumatized by the expectations of primary 1. so my brother changed his younger son's kindy (to one more academic and less play) and started enrolling him in enrichment too, just so he won't be caught unprepared when he starts primary 1 too. and then my brother himself was so traumatized by the whole thing, he started nagging me to sign pomfret up for preschool enrichment too.

sigh. what our poor kids will be up against next time, i really don't dare to think about.

Mummies I need help

Is anyone feeling the same or is it just me - I love poppy so so much but she really does drive me crazy
so. Esp when she doesn't want to eat or do certain things, or when she deliberately and blanantly disobeys. I yell too much for my own liking. Yesterday I was washing my hair and she kept insisting she wanted to pee at the big potty. But she had just peed and I knew she was not serious so I said no. She kept going on and on and I kept saying no no no till I bursted and she cried. So I had to run out, dripping hair and all (which I absolutely hate) to hug her, put her on potty to maintain peace and... Voila, no pee.

Situations like that drive me crazy. Is it just me? And if no, what do you mummies do to release your anger? Counting doesn't work anymore because I realise I can count very fast in my head. Reminding myself she's just a baby is not working either cos my counter thought would be "yes and I'm just human too".

Help! How to release anger so that we can be nice loving mummies?!

Unrelated : is it just me or is it mosquito season now?

PB,
hail fellow driven crazy.
i dunno. these 2 weeks, i just burst when C1 gets too adamant. or distract him with fans, or promises to go out (Mr C then has to fulfil those promises... so must coordinate first).
C1 knows i mean biz when i yell at him - bcz despite postings that i feel like yelling, i almost never do - and he is quite thin skinned, so he will cry when he knows he has made me angry or sad. kiss kiss hug hug and make up afterwards. life w a toddler is full of mini dramas.

dustee,
i read the same article and think yes i better enrol C1 next time for some enrichment classes. tis for my sanity. think the article ws abt P1 teachers, not so much the kids ya... smthing to that effect.
incidentally new neighbour at aunt's said the same thing... elder daughter was at pat's schoolhouse, when in P1, always kena scolded for talking too much n walking up and down classroom. she wised up w the younger son, and sent him to a kindy w proper tables and chairs (and proper worksheets/homework, i presume), so he adjusted better to P1.

michelle,
hope eboy is taking well to his 1st day at new school!

dor,
yes yes so qiao!!!!
simi liang xiao wu cai? the 2 little ones have no (wu) talent (cai)? *scratch head* catch no ball.
bus ride itself less than 20mins. but wait for bus can be.... hmm.... up to 20mins. depends on the alignment of the stars (and buses).

PB,

You are definitely not alone. Mine is also driving me up the wall. Remember those "trying to change topic" talk. he is certainly getting very defiant nowadays. I want to buy cane liao. But hubby say no. oh well, i give him "free pass" till his 3rd birthday...after that, he will be introduced to a couple of new "fiends".. *evil laughter*

Universal studios,

Anybody been to the "hollywood After Hours"? we are planning to go this Friday. Any tips on any yummy restaurants inside there?

Eboy did well today! Well the class is quite small (around 7) and there were 2 teachers + two helpers. Two toddlers crying very very badly throughout, so I thought today I wont leave eboy, else the teachers cannot cope. anyway, he was happy in new school, cos more play mah.. he did very well during the chinese speech and drama lesson, by being assigned the "cashier" role, he could pretend to weigh the vege, change money etc very well... oh i can't wait for him to speak it will be so fun!
no regrets. the problem I have now is how to break the news to the old school. ya, i got no courage to face them yet. haha

PB ah PB, does the following sound familiar?

"They're babies (ok, toddlers), so when they throw a tantrum and refuse to do what we want them to, they don't know better. But we're the adults, and we do, so we can hardly blame them for their behaviour. Maybe in 20 years we can, but now, they really just want to play. I try to take deep breaths and count to 10 (sometimes more), and remind myself "She's just a baby; I can't get angry at her for being one because that's what she is."

Haha Mich, yes I know who was the wise guy who said that. Then I also say then I have overused that becuase now my counter answer is "yes she is a baby but I am also human with a temper limit!" that's why I ask if anyone knows any other way of anger mgmt lor.

Glad the new school is better! Impt for him to be happy and you to feel bang sim

Any kiddos wanna hang out at royce tomorrow? 430?

michelle,
LOL on no courage to face the old school. i give you guts. just ask for the deposit back. give them the sorry tis not you, tis me breakup speech :p

pb,
you are doing great! pat. dun worry so much ok. the todd doesnt really rem a _brief_ burst of temper.

i know my fuse is shorter when i m
- sick
- sleep deprived
- upset w Mr C
tis ok to be angry. tis an art form to be angry w the right pple to the right degree at the right time.

in your particular case, i rem dor's words abt throwing peas on floor to make sure that the boundary is still there. poppy WILL test the boundaries. part of being a toddler. you WILL flare up. part of being human. just make these moments as brief as you can.

use your hand to pat yourself on the back, not beat yourself up.

Aww thanks Cellow. One thing I saw recently also was useful (I tend to forget) - "choose your battles". Sometimes closing one eye helps I suppose.

I really have to learn to see the funny in things. It's just so frustrating running out of shower naked with hair dripping wet and half blind cos no glasses.
Mich
We'll be there if weather permits

PB, was poppy alone then? by this age, I think it is OK to leave them screaming/crying/lying on floor kicking for a while until your tasks at hand are done. Its very very hard for us (i mean our heart), but it serves two purpose. obvious one would be you wont run out naked (but probably rushing through the washing in incredible speed and soap in your ears), the second is, it gives them idea that screaming/crying/lying on floor kicking does not get their way. They're testing boundaries, like the textbook says, and yes its oh so true. So i will purposely appear like 5m away, and say in a super loving, tender voice to "stop screaming/crying/lying on floor kicking, mummy will do *whatever i think can entice him* " method and it works wonderfully with eboy. He's the soft approach kind, just like the father!

She wasn't screaming or kicking up a fuss. Just cheekily smiling and nodding and inching toward the toilet bowl and repeating that she needed to pee (but I know from past experiences that she just wanted to sit for shuang and say "no peepee!"). Normally I would have brought her up on the bowl but I was incapacitated. And she knows she is not allowed to climb up and down the toilet by herself. Our seat is a bit loose so it's quite dangerous. Like most other things, yes she can do it, but it is just mum/dad that worries "what if".

I've considered locking myself in toilet when taking a shower (when BB is home of cos) but I'll just end up hearing poppy knocking on door asking "what's mama doing?" and BB saying something like "mama is busy, leave mama alone". Then I'll get upset cos I don't want to say such things to poppy ("leave mama alone") becos I would be so hurt if she said it to me. Then BB would say "what? It's true what, right?"

Can never win! Maybe I should just wash my hair at 3am so i can do it in peace

if it makes you feel better, i tell C1 to wait till the big hand on the clock turns to number (whatever) then come back to mama. mama's hands are full or are doing something else rite now.

then he will either stare at the clock intensely, or get bored and find sm other thing to play with.

Steph,
Ya, but Dec is going the kindy not the childcare, so no subsidy lor.

dustee,
*pats* I totally get that too. Men (or maybe just our husbands) do occasionally drive us up the wall by changing their minds within the twinkling of an eye.
Oh, since you're the Nex expert :p, can you let me know when the crowd dies down? My thoughts are, it will probably die down after CNY so I'll probably give it a more thorough look after that.

batgirl,
Wuffy's school has such a late session? I thought school sessions are usually 8-11 and 1130-2.30 that kind of timing.

Side note:
Amidst all these learning how to share and bullying or being bullied, I THINK I shall ask as little as possible and hope the teacher doesn't ever write a "Please see me" in Dec's communication booklet. What I like to ask is what did they have for snack and if he went to the toilet. Haha. Such mundane stuff right.

Cellow,
I am sure diapers are cheaper than your patience. With 2 kids, definitely cheaper.

youpi,
Awwww.... L is so adorable...

Sunday Plus:
What article? Is it an article that I would be better off NOT reading?

PB,
Yes yes yes, Dec and I just had a war last night. And if faced with the same situation, I would have told him to join me in the shower and pee there and if he insisted on the big toilet, I would just have left him there until I finished my shower. Seriously, with the number of times Poppy goes pee pee, you guys have been awesomely patient already. I know I would have exploded countless times.
Exploding anger is me... very me. And you know what makes it worse? Someone telling me to be more patient since Dec's only 2.5 years. "Instead of going to war with him, why don't you try coaxing him?" And you think I haven't tried???!!!???
Yes to mosquito season cos Declan has like about 6 bitemarks on one leg!

Mich,
Wow! The kid-teacher ratio is really good! Yay for both of you!
And just tell the old school that you've tried another school and eboy is happier there. I'm sure they are used to kids withdrawing.

Pineapple tarts rant
Remember I was saying abt pineapple tarts n my inlaws. Well after I posted a pic of the pineapple tarts I made as surprise for D. I did not bring any down for my inlaws for the next few days. Than Tadah, my mil went to ask my hubby if I made any this yr.

U know what I hate....like I being monitored in everything I do. Even going to the market, is filled with spys who will tell my mil if I went or not.
My hubby was even asked by his mum abt my mum stuff cos someone in the market gossiped abt her. *roll eyes*

And jus for fun......this is how my hubby talks NORMALLY. hehe

Mr D: My mum ask me if you made pineapple tarts. I told her NO.
Me: Why did she ask??
Mr. D: Cos she went opp to buy pineapple tarts for my sister.
Me: Why did she buy for your sister?
Mr D: Cos every yr my sister will buy for her but this yr I think she say what the shop close or what.
Me: (super confused) SOOOOOO????
Mr. D: So she go and buy to give my sister lor.

He never ans my qns, never does only until I get fedup talking to him and jus ask direct qns or I dun bother cos somethings are not impt.
N there is a good reason why he doesn't chat cos ppl talking to him WILL always get lost somewhere.
Thank god his job doesnt require him to talk much. ;P

PB
If it gets to u and u know she is jus fussing for fun. I will ask the kids to WAIT for me to be done. Then mentally block everything out, finis what I am doing and then go back to them and explain the whole situation.
As in can u see that I was washing my hair? And can mama move when washing hair?? So next time you wait okie.

Sometimes when they did something to really urgh me like flipping the whole bowl or cup. Instantly I will go "ARGHHHHHHHHHhhhh" then the person who did something wrong will know not to disturb me and jus stand there or when I ask him to stand in the toilet. Then I will do a mental block and cleanup everything. Once done normally I will not be so angry anymore so mental blocks are good for me to clear the mind and start everything anew.

Cellow
Its Liang2 Xiao3 Wu2 Cai1 lah....hahaha

dor dor,
Mental block seems a good idea. I think I need the mental block cos hubby ever mentioned that he's afraid of me killing people when my volcano explodes. And he meant it seriously.
Haha, maybe your husband subscribes to the theory of "If you can't convince them, confuse them."

dor, think next time you post the pineapple tarts pics on FB, "select" who can see the pics and who can;t... then no way your MIL will find out unless they stick their nose on your door everyday, dio bo? Funny leh, how your hubby reply is really very confusing.. haha

bbp, what happened? why your feelings grey like the weather today ne?

PB
Great minds and all that! I was thinking about Royce and Gelare tomorrow as well
But will probably be there earlier than you and Poppy.

L likes to pretend that he is doing something at the toilet bowl. I just put on the child seat, let him sit and talk about how he is peeing or pooping, and put the taller Ikea stool right in front of him so that he can climb down when he has had enough.

Dustee
They speak to each other in English and Mandarin, and gibberish and screams and howls and squeals. And sometimes they have great laughing sessions over things that only they know about LOL.

Mich
Yay to Eboy enjoying his new school!

Dor
Your hb will make a good spy. The enemy will never get any information out of him, hehe.

bbp
how come bad mood?

re poo and snacks. i ask the same thing too. poppy's communication book has a section at the back that has daily sections like "ate lunch?", "drank milk?", "passed motion?". and the teacher would tick accordingly. it was really funny in the beginning cos i would arrive at her school and the teacher would tell me in the first 2 seconds "poppy passed motion today". whoa... how about a hello first? haha

i did ask if she wanted to pee with me in the shower (no). all she wanted was to climb up and down the new steps for the new potty seat on the big toilet la. and i just thought that was a bit too dangerous, given it's only our first day with it. and if she had peed on the floor, that would have been dangerous too. argh.

well i suppose i should just be glad that she IS accepting the big-girl style of peeing. chanting "choose your battles, PB, choose your battles...."

cellow
good idea. i will need to get a clock now haha.

bbp,

Yah, they have those sessions, but all reserved for K1,K2 and the nursery. Wuffy is in the Pre-Nursery, so he is in the third session. today he was left alone. There was no crying, teacher said he just stared at the kids who did and went on his own business. But i guess the 9 mths in tumble tots last year got him used to school.

Royce,

After that, can all hop to the yummy Ramen place for lunch!
Have fun!

Happy New Year Mummies!

Still remember me? kekeke

Just back from long vacation in Hong Kong and now busy busy busy preparing for annual report. Hong Kong was cold and Emma got pretty sick with very high fever, runny nose and cough with pleghm. In the end she didn't go for the first week of school and only went yesterday. I was scared she's going to cry, but to my surprise, she didn't at all and even waved good bye. She is a bit cautious, observing the other children and was shy to talk. Today is fine too, it's just that I had a hard time waking her up at home and getting her to eat breakfast and dress up.

Mich
Which school is Ethan in now?

Batgirl
Emma is sorta the same, when she went in this morning she just looked around and then play by herself. But she did mention at home that school has lots of friends. She didn't like the food though.

PB
You are not the only one. Emma is very stubborn and always insisted of doing things her own and refusing to do things until she got her way. Sometimes even Iphone, which used to work wonders, doesn't work for her in certain situation *sigh* I ended up yelling also.

Batgirl
Lunch? Haha we are meeting at 430 la! Hey I don't know if I mentioned before but when I was schooling, I worked part time at tumble tots!

Welcome back SD! And phew glad I'm not alone in this craziness.

nanyang kindy queue article on ST
i read it, thought to myself 'dun these pple have anything better to do with their time?' and turned the page.
bbp, you best skip reading today's article too....

sd,
wow must be a very long vacation. sayang to Emma being sick. school sounds fun for her. LOL to 'complaining' abt the food!

bbp,
generally grey or you hv a specific reason for greyness?

LOL to Mr Dor being a good spy!
Ok Dor, i give up. i still dun understand the chinese phrase. and here i thought my chinese is quite good. maybe all return to lao shi already.

after a lot of scolding, shouting, spanking and yelling, the little one finally went down for a nap, after two and half hours of delay tactics (more milk, change diaper, want ruyi oil etc etc).. some days are just so hard.... haha

now waiting for old school to call me back so I can give them the breakup story.. pls give me courage.. haha

today left eboy in school and he did well. he is definitely much happier here so i think i made a right choice...

oh, are your kiddos going through a growth spurt? or could eboy be handling stress through eating. in school, the teachers say he has a great appetite. today he had two big bowls of macaroni and cheese (oh its just so great to find a school that has an auntie to cook lunch and bake cakes for snacks!), one banana, came home he insisted he wants to eat my rice and potato, so he took half a bowl. then ask for milk, and an hour later, drank another 240ml of milk! his whole tummy is soooo big i scared he feels bloated and dunno how to tell me.. its been like this since he started school... normal?

sorry pb and youpi, no royce for eboy cos, sigh, he just went down for a nap. you all enjoy!

Grey:
Specific reason. I'm still trying to avoid talking about it cos if I don't talk about it, I don't see it coming. :s

Mich,
Declan never had a great appetite but he definitely eats alot better ever since school started. Only morning milk is a challenge when we don't have time and are about to be late for school.