(2008/07) July 2008

I'm selling off Eboy's playpen. anyone interested, can PM or SMS me!

Also selling 2x Pigeon Sterilisers. Anyone interested, can PM or SMS me!

School is funny. You get to see parents peeping and ducking and going "Oh shit, he saw me!"
All seems well on the Declan front. We (me, hb, mil) sat through going into the classroom, saying our goodbyes (with huge hugs from the boy), the closing of the classroom door, a huge crying (from another boy which made us worry thinking it may set off crying from our boy), peeping & getting caught & seeing him mouth the words "Mama!" & ducking & going "Oh no, he saw me!" and finally leaving the school at 9am for breakfast.

It has been quite a morning

Oops, ytday I was the only parent peeping and ducking and using my iphone video screen to stick it out the walls to check for "all clear" before turrning corners.. and I was also the only parent sitting outside THROUGHOUT the children's nap time. For what, you ask me? i also dunno. I guess I was the one having separation anxiety. Ha!

It seems eboy has settled down and joining in the singing already, so I will concentrate on setting up his racing car waiting for his return later in the afternoon!

three cheers to bbp and declan on a smooth 1st day of school!

Steph and Mich
Quick one - I'm not. But I would so like a bunny baby

Big Pat on back for Bbp and lol on the description of parental behaviour! How true. I realise the easiest drop offs are when the class is already doing something. Like dancing or playing. Today I dropped her off and they were drinking water and I suppose that was too boring for her so she started to cry
just have to keep reassuring them that we'll be back. I read somewhere that we should link the concept of time with an activity they know. Eg 3pm means nothing to them. But if you say "I'll be here after you wake up from your nap and sing some songs and read a book", they'll understand.

(I sound like an old bird liao hor?)

Good luck mummies!!!

How did it go for thaddie and L?

The teacher just called to re-assure me that Eboy is doing fine in class. She even took videos of him having fun, so I guess I should finally heave a huge sigh of relief?

thaddie and L are in preschool too?
alamak

as you can see, i m not spending my second day of MC sleeping and getting well. in fact, a burst of housework overtook me and i used Ms Delphine to clean 5 (yes, FIVE!) mattresses at one go. now i m very tired. and very sweaty.

C1 is better and off i have packed him to school.

LOL on bbp's description of school and parents!!!

PB,
do you want to email me the contents so that I can translate for you? hehe.

jacelyn,
6 letters for you.... C L A R K S! they strike the balance between fashion and comfort well.
my daily output is more than my daily input. as i was reading that, i was thinking.... hmmm.... how does Jace know my daily output in the poo/pee area? see. that's wat toilet training (attempted) does to one's brain.

michelle,
HA! did i read correctly that you want to change sch for eboy already?
i want barbie bed pls. no car bed for C1. he is still sleeping on the floor.
you are not the only one still sterilising. me too. and using bb laundry detergent as well. easier to mix in C1 and C2's clothes tog.

Chiltern House
briefly flirted w the idea of sending C1 there. then opened their info booklet and there in black and white.... N1 pupils must be toilet trained.... kua kua kua. shoot myself in the foot.

Ouch to jace's blisters! I wear comfy pairs when commuting, n keep the many killer pairs under the desk haha

Preschool gives us mummies big bags full of nerves ah..miss super procrastinator managed to get him a slot in a 2nd playgroup down the road.. So he starts tomorrow n my tears will start flowing then..

Bb detergent: stopped long long ago too..

Ganbatte tO bb bunny for the bunny family..

Jacelyn
Four more letters - G.e.o.x. - also very comfy.

Cellow
Yup, Thaddie and L had their first day today. Lots of parents with cameras and videocams, lots of children, lots of noise, and lots of stress for me since L did not want to have anything to do with whatever the class was involved in, except when it came to snacktime. And then when we got home and he was asked if he liked school, he said, "wo ai!" Sigh. Bluff one.

Why are you, and not your helper, cleaning mattresses?

Bbp
HIgh five to cool-as-cucumber Dec on his first day of school! Is his a three-hour one as well?

PB
Jia you for a bunny baby!

With L in school it means I have more time to do the laundry, cook their lunch/dinner, pack up the mess, do the marketing etc. Very ah soh. No naps lah. I wish!

Dashi
DD u see me too up....LOL
I had to google to know what it really was...hehehe
And yes I have been using it for years without knowing its real name cos I always jus look for the sauce that is used for soup base for the cold noodles. So the bottles I buy always have a pic of the cold noodles infront. haha

btw I still use chicken stock n add abit of the dashi when making chawamushi that the kids love.

thaddie's first day in sch

i would say 95% of the time it went well. The little whiney voice and red-rimmed eyes will start when activities are transiting and he will want to hold my hand or sit on my lap! Once engrossed, he is fine again!

In the morning, after his milk, I tried to feed him some biscuits but he refused to eat. I reckoned it shld be ok as he will get his snacks in sch. But i guess 9.15am is a little too late as he normally eats at 8am at home so before his snack, he was getting uncooperative and wanted to troop off to go to the playground! Thank goodness snack time came and he had 2 glasses of milk and huge bowl of corn flakes and he was a happy camper again!

During dismissal, the teacher mentioned that tmr the children will get to have sand play and water play. Upon hearing that, the little chap refused to go home and went all whiney again!

When we alighted from the school bus, the first thing he said was "Can we go back again tmr?"

So i guess it all went quite ok!

jace, ecco shoes are very comfy too... and cheaper than geox.
those lamb skin type from allegra? confirm no blister one!

doggiebb and youpi, you both stayed in class with the boys? can? the teachers in eboy's school doesn;t seem to like it and claims it makes it harder for them/me/eboy to handle... so this morning we left him...... wondering if he's taking his nap now.. wondering if he took the meals alright.. wondering wondering... gosh, i can't wait for school dismissal!!!!

mich

we are allowed to do so for 2 or 3 days and after that no more! I think its ok as the kids are so young! and i think thaddie's kindy deployed the resources quite well, the K1 and K2 classes will only start on fri, so all the teachers are re-distributed to help with the pre-N and N classes for these 3 days. So thaddie's class has 4 teachers today for 14 kids. and parents are allowed in, but i think the parents are pretty cooperative, when the kids seem to be settling in, everyone would try to slowly edge away. So it allowed the activities to go pretty smoothly.

what time is school dismissal? eboy's one is more than 3 hrs right?

530 is the dismissal. We're letting him try out the full day programme this week to get used to the routine, then every 1,3, 5 I will let him do half days and the other half with me. Haven decided if permanently full or half so this week let him go through half first. I'm still thinking.

Thanks all for the suggestions! but guess what? Michelle, I am wearing allegra lamb skin shoes today and nope it does not help because the blister was already there yesterday *boo hoo*
Think part of the reason was because the skin became not so tough after wearing sandals and slippers for 4 months :p

Hmmmm cannot imagine how things will be next Monday ... wonder if xun gal will be fine considering she has been gg to childcare .. but we stopped her in dec so it was a one month lapse.

PB,
jia you jia you and good luck
maybe DD can join you. hahaha... me given up on the idea liao... i seriously can't cope with endless months of sleep deprivation.

abt not wanting mil to babysit son... mil has no track record to begin with. and hb doesn't want his son to become a thoroughly spoilt brat. mil is a good playmate. i can see that she's trying very hard to learn how to take care of the boy. but she's a flop in the discipline dept. and that boy knows it! gosh.. you shd see his temper when she's around... and he knows that we give mil face and not discipline him whenever she intervenes which is more often than desired.

first day at PN:
afternoon session from 11.30 to 2pm is really not an ideal time slot for my son. he was already feeling tired and cranky after "lunch". he was up before 7am and used up most of his energy playing at home in the morning. unfortunately this preschool's morning session is full, i have no other choice but to find him another preschool or childcare.

Youpi,
Geox shoes are very very comfortable. but they are slippery on wet roads. have to be careful when wearing them on rainy days. my hb & i had near slips many times when wearing our Geox.

p/s: you are far from ah soh lah... at least you don't look like one

Cellow,
toilet trained for N1??? think i can forget abt Chiltern House then...

talking about toilet training

i think the boy is almost there! his diapers are almost 90% of the time dry now. when we ask him to pee in the potty and toilet bowl, he will do as requested!

share something very funny! when we visited cinbunny last week, sophie saw his diapers and asked rather loudly "eh, why are you wearing diapers?" wahaha!

doggiebb
how did u do it? jx will flatly say no when the toilet bowl is suggested.

i wan to go west coast too!! Envy.....think my next hol will be with in laws. hb said we shd go once with them and not always with my parents....sigh...at least with my parents, they help with the kids, think if go with my in laws, i will have 2 more pple to take care of!!

PB
hmmm any good news soon?

mummies with kids going to sch for the first time
hang in there!! before u know it ( or before u can even adjust) they will be happily going to sch and ignoring u!! dun worry too much, the teachers know what to do.

now getting jx to go sch is a breeze.......she is so routine abt it that if she dun go, she will find soemthing amiss.

cin,
i bring C1 to your hse too, then sophie can also say to him 'eh why are you wearing diapers'

sy,
unfortunately for me, my parents are the ones who need taking care of. so. end up 1 holiday w ILs already, and zero w my parents. and i m trying to siam another one this year.

youpi,
why i ws all housewifey and ah soh this morning. i logged onto email, saw the masses of things to do, promptly put on my out of office and logged off. but mind ws still spinning. had to clean five mattresses for the effect to wear off

maid is w C2 at aunt's

who wants baby dust?
come over to the C hsehold for some.
served with kolo mee (the authentic ones specially flown in allllllll the way from Sarawak) only... hold the sauce pls.

hee hee.. so funny we all only want kolo mee and not the baby dust... me too me too!!

eh, cellow, why you changing school for C1? he's well settled, right?

there's an open house this sat for a new pre-school. I saw the school ytday, quite impressive. but cos its new, there's only like 15 students.. taking a look this sat. if you keen, SMS me.

seems like only PB wants bb dust hahaha....

a qn for discussion only... are the curriculums & environment in the "branded" preschools (Eton House, Chiltern, Pat's schoolhouse etc) any different from the neighbourhood preschools (eg PAP Kindergartens)? How about the Montessori??

some parents swear by the "branded" preschools all the way to sec schools while some prefer the neighbourhood schools coz less stressful. will going to the different pre-schools affect our kids' enrolment into the more desired primary school? i don't want to sound kiasu talking about primary school already but was just wondering....

our july babies are growing up sooo fast...

Quick one
Ok for dust AND kolo Mee!

Cellow
Speaking of dust - Anytime you wanna clear ur mind again, I got a couple of mattresses at my house :D

Mich
I got a few things to share re school... Later. I'm on my way to picking my little N1 baby now

steph,
i dun think any presch will affect the children's enrolment into desired pri schools. tis the more common factors or alum/non-alum, distance from school and of course ... ahem.... parents' depth of pockets... [oh but this is singapore and corruption doesnt happen in our schools. oh no no no. like real. *rolls eyes*] that affect our children's chances.

michelle,
itchy backside only. sm random thot abt developing C1's language capabilities. and chiltern seems to be best for that. anyway.... i m sticking to the current school. at least... until the next bout of itchy backside. sms me the name of the new sch you are looking at anyway

cellow
what happened to C1? poor thing.... but sometimes its like that when they get fever. it keeps coming on and off and very irritating.

steph
i think it is what u r comfortable with. some pple like preschools that are more academic so that transition to primary sch is not so stressful, some parents like their kids to learn thru play etc. so basically it is what u like. for us we like montessori so we put the kids in montessori envt. choice of sch also depends on what other things they may offer. like for me, i like if they have art, music etc all under one roof. cos it's easier on logistics and also cheaper too. plus kids tend to take more to such enrichment if their frens are doing it too.

michelle
how come u thinking of changing sch? is it the new one at mountbatten sq?

cellow
how was it hol with in laws like? i really dread it...plus we have to foot their expenses (ie air ticket + hotel + etc etc etc).

ohhhh kolo mee...i m keen but when??

jacelyn,

Me too. I had blisters when i put on my shoes to work. And I think my feet permanently expanded. There goes my ferragamos and tod shoes..
. now i am wearing Geox, but also pain.

Cellow,

I know what you mean by fed up. The last time wuffy was sick, I was so fed up that I demanded antibiotics for my boy. He was sick on and off.. and keep running temperatures in the middle of the nite.

Tomorrow RP lunch -- nobody huh...cellow, do you want the body wash? I drop by at your office for you tomorrow? DD, I can meet you when i go down to RP as well..

kolo mee: timing will depend on when the flu bug permanently leaves the C establishment.

batgirl,
hello fellow fed up.... this has been going since mid dec now. so i m now officially.fed.up.
i sms you tmr morning if i m gonna be in offc. maybe need to stay home to work to tk care of one kid. need to separate the children lest they cross infect.

sy,
actually. holidays w the ILs ws a breeze. bcz i was in my 1st tri w C2, so everything i cannot or will not do, i blame on being pregnant. so chao kuan rite. :p

pb,
keke. the bout of housewifeliness has passed. it strikes only once in a blue moon. when i m fed up with work. i need to remind myself that i hv an urban legend job (as bbp puts it) so those bouts of being fed up w work are mercifully brief.

doggiebb - did bean really ask thaddie that? haha..usually she will only come to me and ask me why so and so still wear diapers..

kolo mee - me me, i wan..but pls keep my share of the baby dust to PinkB :D

A-tishoo, a-tishoo with all the baby dust floating around! I will kempate! (cue Japanese actor/actress with determined face and smile with curt nod of head, clenched fist and elbow toward waist)

Mich (and other new-to-school mummies)
we had a few friends who started school before poppy and this is what they shared with us:

- get school's schedule beforehand and try to get in sync with it before kiddo starts school. That means nap times, meal times, routines. (ok this may only be applicable to DD and bbG)

- bring kiddo to play there to familiarise himself with the place, so that when it is time to actually start, it won't be a threatening place

- usually schools let parent/s stay for first 2-3t days then they get shooed away. The teachers have done this for a long time and are well trained (you must believe it somehow cos you chose the school right?) so they CAN take care of your child. It's hard, esp for those of us who have had kiddo stuck to us since birth. But really, the teachers can handle the kiddos

- chill, really. You're not a bad mum just cos your child is away from you. The teachers will call you if anything happens ok?

- if the school allows, a security blankie would be good for kiddo to have

- Prepare kiddo by saying you will be back at a specific time (after nap for eg), give many kisses then go. Just harden your heart and go. Kiddo will be fine amongst his friends and new toys. The longer you stay, the tougher it is for kiddo, teachers, and yourself

- keep your voice and body language positive. Like dogs, kids can pick up anxiety. If YOU need to cry, do it out of sight and earshot of kids.

- try to have only one person dropping kiddo off. Having a whole gang leaving and saying bye gives the impression that everyone's going for a good time, sans kiddo

- talk to the teachers if you have any concerns. Each time I drop poppy off or pick her up I try to have a small chat with any one of her teachers. If anything, it makes them know that I care and I want to be updated. (well some parents don't require updates) I don't know if all schools have this but poppy has a "communication book" and her main teacher and I exchange notes in it regularly. Very helpful for me to know the teacher is paying attention to what poppy is doing

LOL to dor who looks for pics of cold noodles on bottles of sauces.. I'm not so koot lat to make chicken stock.. so just dashi would do hehe

LOL to sophie commenting on thaddie's diapers too! how come she didn't say that to bbG? thaddie's must have been sticking out like fashionable boxers sticking out of jeans huh?

I also want kolo mee minus the baby dust (our decision for now again hehe) but worried you may run out of authentic kolo mee at home...

poor C1 with flu bug.. from school?

thanks PB for pre-schooling checklist.. will have to tune him towards skipping the 930am milk now.. his is just a 2 hour playgroup.. don't think they will have stuff like communication book leh.. realised today that there's no window for me to even peep through tomorrow.. so I'm probably gonna be the only mom whose ear will be glued to the door while he's in there (if they don't chase me out from behind that door haha)

*takes deep breath* big day for ME tomorrow! haha goodnite mummies!

mich
oh sorry, one more thing - just an observation: putting eboy on alternate days could make it harder for you because he spends a day getting adjusted to school then enjoys one whole day at home, and then may panic again with the next day at school... just a thought.

btw: any gingerbreadman fans? i know dec used to be. still? i really wanna go but.... does anyone have OCBC plat card? can help me book please???? got such a great disc la. 25% leh!!

http://www.itheatre.org/Gingerbread2011.html

Cellow,

oh oh, let me know if you are in office. if not, can always wait till next week. I will be off Thurs and Fri (Wuffy's first & second day of school).

PB,

Thanks for the tips! I hope I can remember them when the time comes.

There was non stop crying, me and Ethan. Seeing your kid crying cos he does not want to separate from you, yet you kept pushing him away. What's the logic? I dun think I can take another day of this!! It's very heartbreaking!!!!!!

Am I doing the right thing?

Mich
Be strong. You're doing the right thing. In a couple of weeks he'll just wave bye bye to you. It's still an unfamiliar place for him, that's why. stay a little while then sneak away when he's distracted.

New people, new environment, of course the kiddos are scared. Like how we feel in new office. Only we don't cry

There's a girl in poppy's class who is always crying and calling out for ah ma. She carries her security bag and bottle everywhere. But she's safe and the teachers treat her well. She is getting better and will ultimately fit in and enjoy. And so will ethan ok?

Hug.

Wah I thought u were strong to be able to sleep train him using that cry it out method.. I know I couldn't take a minute of it..

Maybe need to make the goodbye part happy n brave n quick (I notice if parent linger around and is in sight makes kiddos cry more, esp if everyone else around them are crying)

Pat pat For mich..he'll be fine once they start singing and playing with toys..

I'm standing at the door peeking thru the 1mm gap in door n ears pasted to door sometimes.. So proud of bbg who's doing ok despite the whole world around him crying and wailing! But could see he's a bit shaken so kept telling him I'm right behind the door

My baby's all grown up! *sniff*

dd,
there is enuf kolo mee for everyone.
Well done on the first day in school.... time for you to scoot off fm behind the door?

michelle,
hang in there. give it at least a week or 2.
and hmmm.... changing schools will just trigger all these behaviours again. you can tahan anot?

today feels like the first day of sch for me too.
today got 121 chat w boss at 3pm. see wat he says for the priorities for 2011. i feel like going home to crawl under the blankie to sleep. my head is all woozy and the nose is all stuffed up.

Kolo Mee:
Let's all pass the bb dust to PB then

Maybe PB can then pass her portion of the Kolo Mee to us... bwahahahhaha *cue evil laughter*

Cellow,
I believe it's the end of the year bug where everyone HAS to fall sick. Hang in there.
And yes, I'm here to remind you that you have an urban legend job!

On a side note being fedup, I'm fedup of the mosquitoes at my place. They are being commando mosquitoes for the past week and Dec has been getting at least one new bite everyday. And no amount of anti-bug cream works. Grr.

SY,
Why do you have to foot the bills for your in-laws? Cos hubby wants to bring them along isit?

PB,
Love your school tips! The crying tip made me laugh. But I totally get the don't hang around too much tip. I really had to harden/toughen up and leave him there today. It was so much harder today.. I think cos I was the only one bringing him to school today. Yesterday had hubby and mil to distract me.
Gingerbread man: Seems fun! Let me ask hubby if he's interested and then try and find those OCBC Platinum people ok?

Mich,
You know being with people around his age is good for him... so hang in there! Actually not just changing schools will trigger the behaviour. I saw a boy with that behaviour yesterday cos he had to change classroom (cos he's in N2 this year and no longer N1 mah). When I left the school yesterday, this boy was still with the N1 people. But today he was back to normal in the N2 class

Cellow,
did you recover then fall sick again? or you've been sick all this time?? poor you.... take more fluid and relax relax relax.... take care.

did C1 get the bugs from his school then passed them to you? maybe you want to start trying wearing mask at home. we did that the last 2 times there were diseases in the house. i even made son wear mask when we went over to my parents' place. it really helps to minimise the sharing of bugs. speedy recovery to C1 and C mommy.

SY,
i'm considering MMI for son after this 1 term. But the fees are not cheap... more than 1k after govt subsidy!

bbp,
seems like most of the mommies with boys prefer not to try for bunny bb ...

is kolo mee really so nice? i've never tried it b4.. hahaha...

School:
my mil is kind enough to bring son to PN today coz i had to come back to office. he's eager to go school today as compared to the crying don't want to go childcare the last time... i wonder what is the cause for the difference in attitude towards "school"... hhhmmm...

I hv 4 tins of 900g Pediasure for sale as my boy change brand.

Letting go at $32 per tin but if u take all 4 tins then can sell at $30 per tin. Collection at buangkok mrt.

Vanilla favor expire Jan 2012 x3
Strawberry favor expire Sep 2011 x1

Serious buyer and no neg pls!!

Contact me via pm.. Thanks

good news! library has free storytelling sessions (ok i think they are free) for kids! not so cool news : they are only for kids 4 up (age groups are 4-6 or 4-8). for talia, S, JH and E1 i guess

lots of activities too for kids (again, for slightly older ones). check out golibrary.nlb.gov.sg for more. there is also a brochure called "GOKIDS" if any of you live near libraries

PB
yup i saw them before but some of the locations for these were pretty out of the way and mostly on weekdays and during working time.
and the last time i ask JH he said no.....haha

Steph
MMI so ex? i think it's branch dependent? my neighbour paid abt 700+ after subsidy i think.

bbp
cos in laws not working so if hb wants to bring them we have to foot the bill right...

cellow
my nose also all stuffed up and it's worse in the office!!! feel so sleepy after lunch...

michelle
jia you!!! it will really be fine after a while. most impt u must be consistent. keep pushing postive vibes to him abt school! he will be able to sense your feelings abt sch like how u dun wan to be separated how sad u feel when he cries. so must try to be positive, act positive and let him feel it too.

and i totally agree with PB abt the alternate days thing. it will make it harder for Eboy. JH's ex principal told me not to do it cos it makes it hard for them to get into the routine and they will be crying on days that they have to go school. same principle as if u intend to put full day eventually, do full day right away.....

Mmi fees can be subsidized meh? Thought only cc can? It's $1.2k for m-f for 2 hours Eng n mandarin right? And $1.k without mandarin?

DD
I also not koot lat to make my own chicken soup. They have those packets of ready made chicken soups ma.....hehe

Cellow
Arghhhh and shoo shoo to the flu bug at your place.

To all the mummies whose kiddos have started sch.
You are doing GREAT!! ;)

Michelle:

Hugz... feel the same way as u when XP cried all the way to school last month. Now things get better. But most importantly, u must not cry in front of Eboy