(2008/07) July 2008

batgirl and i lunched today
i tried hard not to breathe any germs on her but it was a futile exercise in holding my breath

there is a fantastic ramen place in liang court that i highly recommend. i have decided to work M, W and F in the office for the nx couple of weeks. royce gym goers can jio me for lunch next time.

dd,
check your physical postbox dear! i just sent snail mail to you. long overdue love leeeeetttteeer. hehe.

sambuccus use
do you girls give as a regular supplement or only when the todds start to have a bit of runny nose / cough / sore throat etc?

ever since i bought the nature's way one, i hv been giving C1 one teaspoon daily. after his morning milk feed.

Cellow
hehe I'm still here cos jus finished baking the pineapple tarts.

Re. Sambuccus
I only give when they start to get alittle of whatever and I will give the higher dose but once a day. And as n when we are going to brave crowds or going places with alot of kids to play.

DD
I think ntuc sells the potato u are asking PB cos my parents have those too for the big boys.

Hi mummies... been a long time since I last posted... had been super busy with all the holidays and kiddos...

I enrolled lil A & E into a photo contest and would like to ask u mummies to help to vote for my darlings...

Here is a step by step instructions of how to vote for my 2 babies (since alot of my frds find it abit too complicated)
1) go to http://www.facebook.com/todaysmotherhoodfans
2) Click 'like' on their profile page
3) go to their photos
4) click christmas kids/baby contest
5) Scroll to #49 (Anya Quay) & #51 (Ernest Quay) & click 'Like' on their photos

Thanks all for the votes!!!

bad start to the day. cannot even post on FB as HB says not worth my time and energy. got scolded by a kopi kia who got my order wrong and brgt me horlicks peng instead of horlicks. then can say *i* said the order wrongly. he took my $2 and walked off, presumbly to fix a new drink.

amazed.
i walked off so that i wouldnt claw his eyes out. so kua kua kua to me, i paid $2 just to walk away fm a situation where losing temper would make me look insane.

*waves to dustee*

dor, send a virtual pineapple tart to me for the next batch

I'm feeling great!!

Spent the whole of last night explaining to Eboy how great school is, went through the activities, the teachers, some of the friends names (i could only remember a few as I only joined them 1 day), and then asked if he would like me to pick him after lunch instead. He nodded his head. so that's last night.

This morning, i asked him again. He nodded to picking after lunch. So i said ok, play the morning, after lunch i will pick him. Then he insisted to wear his thomas tshirt to school. I told him, ok to wear to school if you dun cry and say goodbye. He nodded his head.

Guess what, when we reached school, he was tentative at first. Then i reminded him again that I;m coming after lunch, and he has his thomas tshirt on! he went in confidently and said bye bye to me.

Thanks mummies for all your tips! I can't thank you enough, and today I cried happy tears. My boy is all grown up and he surprised me when he honoured his word by his nodding. I'm buying him one big toy today~!!!!!

sambuccus: cellow... see if your version contains echinacea or not.. coz they say it's not good to take echinacea non stop.. must have breaks every 10 days it seems.. i only give when i see a cold coming

thanks for the love letter! actually realised u could pass to batgirl to pass to me.. but nvm lah.. let the postman do some work...

ooh.. cellow needs liang cha for breakfast...

mich... must complain to your hb... i think they blocked access to forum at work! GRR!

pineapple tarts: miss dor.. you baked non stop whole day ah??

just dropped off kiddo for a real 2 hours today.. hope he's doing ok.. n won't be hungry coz we are dropping a milk feed...

yippee to mich and E-boy! be bright and early to go pick him later so he sees you first thing when let out ok?

smiley face potato: hehe just realised they serve that at HK disney too when I saw my friend's pics...

Steph,
Don't get me started on Cellow's Kolo Mee. It's totally different from the ones outside. Ok, my laptop keys are getting wet... time to stop drooling.
And don't get me started on school fees. All the schools around my place are all !@#$% expensive. Don't remind me on the money I've spent there. Argh!

SY,
Got to tahan ils and got to pay for them somemore. That sucks. *pats*
Yah, got subsidy for kindy meh? Cos I asked Kinderland and they say no subsidy for kindy.

Cellow,
*pats*
Ever since Dec started school, I've been giving 1 teaspoon after lunch as supplement. Just ran out of sambucus yesterday so no more until our bottles come in
And then when he gets flu, I'll use it intensively as stated on the box. So sambucus kind of replaces the flu medication la.

Mich,
Yay! What a good boy!

If any of you mummies see thomas the train shirts like the one i posted on FB sometime back, pls pls pls SMS immediately cos I can't wait to get more for him!!!!! thank you thank you.

First things first
Why I got no lub letter???

Sambaccus
I give whenever I can mask it in prune yoghurt. She doesn't like the taste of it "neat" style.

Congrats to Mich and eboy! Just one tiny tip though... Perhaps you could try holding on to that big toy. So he doesn't associate school with being a "bad thing" that he has to be bribed to attend. But positive reinforcement for sure. Like "mummy is so proud of you for not crying in school! You are such a big boy now!" Just a thought.

Speaking of boys:
My daughter now says she is a little boy :S then quickly changes her story to say that Declan is a little boy. Lol

DD $
Lol @ ur smilies / ketchup comment! Some NTUC outlets have them, but not all the time. Must see your luck. But I hear Mustafa has them too at $2.80 a pack. I usually serve them with a piece of baked chicken or fish, and broc on the side.

Good luck to all school going kiddos' MUMS!

dd,
ah oh. got leh. *wrings hands*
but the good thing is after he went on the gp's medicines for this round of flu, i hv stopped the samb for the time being.

hooray to eboy understanding!!! n mich, you can stop thinking aloud if sch is the rite decision. it is

bbp,
technically tis Mr C's kolo mee. he is the one who takes charge of the soy sauce/vinegar/dunno wat else mix. i cook noodles only. i will ask MIL (and write it down this time!) abt the sauce over cny, then attempt to recreate it.

cny will be painful for greedy me. eggless kueh anyone? think i can only wallop the kueh bangkit.

Dd,
Woo, didn't know of the Echinea thingy. So I guess it's a good thing that I'm forgetful :p
Why is today a REAL 2h school? What is different today as compared to yesterday?

Mich,
Oh yes, now that the girls brought it up, yeah that association thing may be dangerous. You may get into trouble if he associates school with new toy! :s
Try lots of hugs and kisses... he looks like the type who would love it. I just use any excuse to give and receive hugs and kisses from my little boy. Haha. And definitely don't be late when picking him up... that's advice from my mil to me.

PB,
Eh, what's up with the little boy theory?

Oh, I don't give my sambucus neat either. I mix it with water. And when I don't mix it properly, Declan gives a little shiver when he gets to the thicker bottom. Then I know it's time to top up with more water... which is a good opportunity to pump in more water.

dear bunny,
the love letter is for DD to bring G to little ozone near her home for FREE play. 2 coupons that Mr C and i got for participating in a sch parent survey. orchid club is too far for me to travel.

if i ever receive any freebie near the central area, i send love letter to you ok. promise. *hooks little pinky*

random thot
cny love letters also got egg hor. drats.

they were trying to get the kids used to the idea of school so was for an hour instead of 2 past few days...

invisible grills: mich was asking right? not so common here so may be more pricey?

okie dokie.. mustn't be late to go pick kiddo up!

can't make it for lunch this week..gotto rush back to office later after bbg's lunch...

another random thot
how many of us actually have jobs that allow us to have lunch w the kiddo?
[triggered by dd's comment and some newspaper coverage on Mrs LKY's habit of going home to hv lunch]

so i must not quit my urban legend job. irritating as i find it now.

Lol lol lol on Bbp wiping drool off keyboard!

Cellow
Yes it is very rare to have a job like that

Re love letter
Oh actually I have the little ozone 1 hour complimentary play time too! Anyone else wants? Pm me ur add
I also took part in the same survey. Poppy would so love the place. But it's too too far for us.

Ooooo URS at marina and city link having sale!

Random question 1: anyone knmows where I can buy neh neh pok cake? Hub's birthday coming, and he's turning a significant age, in neh neh pok terms lol

Random question 2: anyone knows if carefoure is still in operation or fully gone liao?

Witnessed this On the way to work via train:

Little girl abt 3yrs old strolls in with granny, lil Sis in stroller n helper.. Girl n granny get to sit

Girl: ah ms..get up n let Jiejie (helper) sit with me!
Granny: ah ma is not well n has a bad leg..Jiejie sit then ah ma how?
Girl: u stand there la n hold on to the pole

*shudders* is it a common sight now for kiddos to be so much closer to helpers than family?

What on earth is a neh neh pok cake, pb? Boobies cake?? 3D one? Haha

Carrefour the chain? Should be still around?

Is drugstore promo still on? Wanna top up sambuccus stock..

PB
I believe sg carefour is not affected so still ard.

DD
Ohhh I didn't know that is not good to take continuously. U know the sambulco I started on have to stop every 2 weeks. Then it changed to sambuccus n is okie to not stop. Maybe dosage lower? But neh I still dun like to give everyday cos body might get used to it?

Made halfday, D played with some dough for awhile n I continue in the wee hrs when the kids r asleep lor.

Cellow
Okie will tag you to a virtual tub....haha
Finished 1 batch but a little not enough to fill 2 tubs n my hubby yet. Gotta go buy ingredients for more later.

Sigh 1 thing I do not like abt making pineapple tarts is........very stress. U know very irritating when I feel like making them to eat for myself. But very stupid when I try to hide it n not let ppl know, cos then it's like I am obliged to make tubs for my inlaws cos they eat them like snacks. Finish them in a few days, finis never mind still will tell me finished already so I'm supposed to make some more for them?
Then there's my mum who doesn't like to lose out so I have to make some for her as well.

Drugstore disc
I missed the 10% the other time, trying to see if there will be another 1 sometime soon cos have things on the way to vpost.

Doggiebb
Your Thaddie boy has adapted perfectly! He was a good boy on the bus too

Mich
Three cheers for Eboy, yay!

Cellow
Liang Court ramen place - which one? Share share pls!

Dor Dor
Please let me know if you are doing another drugstore spree. I just realised that we are out of a lot of things. Thank you!

Bad start to wuffy's first day to school. He had a bad fall at home so now got ba lu ku on his head.
. So school has started but he is sleeping at home. After crying so hard, he us exhAusted. Sigh

youpi,
tampopo on the 1st floor, next to the hotel lobby. batgirl and i had orange jelly too - nice!
haru-dunno-wat ramen is there too on the 2nd flr, same chain as in central.

dor,
haha.... like Mr C tags me as various food items!
_that_ ws the exact same thing that my aunt said to me re pineapple tarts. she makes, then one of her SILs will come to the hse and eat like snacks. pureeing and stirring the pineapple is back breaking work. so to hide or not to hide. best is not to announce, tadah, here is home made pineapple tart. go buy some fm bengawan solo and serve those to the snacking mouths. how? solution bor?

dd,
then how did ah ma respond?
i can imagine full well wat both the grandmothers will say to C1 and C2 if they ever dare utter such disrespectful things.

bbp,
heh dunno why i suddenly rem dor's D eating and eating a whole lot of the kolo mee too. and she told me later that she ws surprised bcz he is usu not a big fan of noodles. so you are not the only fan. in facebook terms, super LIKE!

What happened to carrefour?

What the co-relation between nnp n age? Is bb turning into a DOM? Lol!

The sugar free sambuccus we r taking has no echinacea..

Dor..let me know if u do order from drugstore ya?

Marutama ramen's the name of shop also at central (basketball as logo) I love them for the garlic slices hehe

The ah ma on train didn't answer..but I felt sad hearin the conversation...

Poor wuffy how did he fall

school starts, and its horrible..
i really dunno how to leave kayden to go up the school bus alone..
haiz..
been out of action cos our family down with cough..

anyway, can anyone recommend me a prenatal massage?
my back hurts.. am now at 23 weeks.. *cross fingers to pass these two weeks safely*

Hi smiggle how r u doing? Dunno of prenatal but thought my Peranakan post natal lady was good, though pricey..

Think bbg has a slightly runny nose..fm school? Yikes! Whipping out the sambuccus n echinacea now!

Youpi, DD
I am ordering from drugstore but is very soon, these 2 days cos my other item has finally shipped yest. But will not have any extra disc cos dun have leh haha. I was waiting for any extra disc before I order but my other stuff already shipped so can't wait longer.
Okie then email to me k.

Cellow
They dun come my use to eat the pineapple tarts. Is I make a tub to give my inlaws. N now they sort of expect it and worse expect me to refill and I was a little fed up so didn't want to make any last yr. But but I am so fussy I only like my own pineapple tarts n cny will feel like eating lor. N my hubby likes pineapple tarts too so does my mil n ofcos hubby must hao lian n want to give his mum lor and so the story goes.
Then hor can ask with the kids I still can make ah?(like so nice concern for me) to all finis already cos very nice before CNY to hubby's godma also want u make n sell her lah.

N n some of those who comment in my fb are my bil n cousin inlaws lor so u see how to hide sometimes. Sigh.
It's a complicated world, haha. But ohh I am not foot lat enough to make the pineapples myself. I settle to buying readymade hehe.

Oh yes now that u mention, D also loves the kolo mee haha. But but your place it too far for us to travel n D has very bad motion sickness. So I dun want to make trouble for myself. Sigh

DD,

Wuffy was jumping on my parents bed while my helper was dressing him, he tripped and dived head first onto the floor. AIyoh, I was pumping milk then, and my mother screamed so loudly that my heart stopped. wuffy cried and 2 balukus appreared, one on his forehead and the other on the top of his head. but he is ok now, no vomitting, no fever,and still active. hiaz.....

Liang Court Ramen,

yup, it is definitely yummy!! and the orange jelly is yummilicious!! When we going to have the ramen again?? *drool*

sayang wuffy!!! eboy likes to jump on bed too and always makes my heart beat very fast!!!

mummies, i am very troubled. about eboy's school.

the current one
Is suppose to be good with enrichment within the main curriculum. problem is, you need to stay full day to get the enrichment, but I dun like the idea of full day for now, as a lot of time is spent waiting to shower, eat, nap etc... wait 4 hours for a 45min enrichment, is it worth it? and eboy, after 4 days, still doesn't really like the teacher (who is stern and fierce). Eboy responds to tender, gentle kind of teacher. plus, the class room is small and cramp, all activities are within the class, and there is very little movement, no outdoor play, only gym as indoor play... The pro is that it is conveniently located (beside my MIL house) and and and?? maybe I have not given it enough time to assess the teachers and its curriculum?

Then there is another newly opened school, compound is big and facility is great. Not sure about teh teachers et al, and the location is further (not within walking distance but IL both has car and not working)...

So i'm stuck. I dunno if changing school is necessary at this stage, but I;m thinking now cos I cannto sense eboy's happiness when he goes to school. in fact, im not sure if a week is fair for me to judge. He cries like as though he was suffering, the moment he sees me. Again, i dunno if this is common for some kids and nothing to do with school? but there is something unsettled within me as far as school is concern. But i must decide to change school within the 2 wk trial period else I lose my deposit...

so so so? I cannot sleep everynight thinking and I am lost dunno which is best for eboy...

can you mummies tell me what you think?

how would I know going to the other school eboy will be happier? its an unknown (the new school if I were to change) but for now, i think with a bigger, more play kind of environment, is easier to adjust, no? and at least I feel better....

am i spouting nonsense, or you all know what I mean? as you can see,. my mind is flooded...

quick one
dor,
take circle line from bishan to paya lebar, then change bus to either 43 or 135 or 76. train ride - D has fewer problems ya?

you eat your own pineapple tarts. other pple can eat the store bought ones. and want to give hor to all the cousins n ILs and wat not, then give 5. enough for tasting portion only.

BUT the flu bug still hasnt left the C hse. So still waiting.... and waiting....

C2 fell fm bed last night.
tired me konked out after taking cough med. i din even feel him climbing over me. next thing i know is LOUD cry coming fm the floor. sigh sigh.

michelle
in lil E's cc, usual class cirriculum is in the morning and afternoon are mainly resevrved are enrichment tt are extras... so full day is mainly for the child to get used to the structured programme for the day...
lil E used to cry very pitifully when i pick him up frm sch... so i think E boy reaction is normal... n its a way of telling u he missed u lah... might not be he dun like the sch... coz lil E was enjoying n playing b4 he saw me so i knw he cried coz he wanna tell me he missed me...
u can nvr knw where he'll be happier unless u give him time to adapt... coz even we adults need time to adapt to a new environ wat to say our not even 3YO child... lil E now loves gg to sch... he'll forget my existence once he sees his teachers n frds nowadays lor...

cellow/batgirl
*sayang C2 & wuffy* & hugz to both mummies!!!

Mich..JSP n u r Right.. U can't tell for sure if he will be much happier in new school or not..it's a risk u take if u switch lor.. Does existing place bother u badly? If not, give it time n see if e-boy adapts or not? The crying ePisodes are heart wrenching huh? Had my dose today when I decided tO kaypoh walk my there to peek at him only to hear him crying from a to snatching episode.. What I wasn't too happy with though was how teacher denied initially when I knew clearly it was my kid.. N my mistake was to let him see me cos he clung on n had to be pried away crying...*heart sinks to the floor*

sy
is jx totally weaned off now? so does she accept cow's milk now, or is she still drinking milo?

been trying lengthen the times between pomfret's latching (like trying not to let her latch coz she's bored etc) and so i would tell her 'okay later , after you have done this (play/read/shower/tv) then we can drink milk'

then this morning out of the blue, my mil starts giving me this lecture after how we shouldn't break promises to the kids. we shouldn't tell pomfret 'later' when we don't intend to give to her.

she's accusing me of breaking promises to pomfret! i'm already so frustrated at this weaning thing, and she's just villifying me!

i mean, gosh, so unsolicited and so unneccessary. and rather judgemental without knowing all the facts. but, that is my mil. (and my bil, who totally takes after her)

sigh. what does one do when you totally dislike your spouse's family? sometimes i find myself wishing we were in another country and thus don't have to meet them every week. (or every day, like now)

Mich
JSP is right, crying is a way of communication. L was howling in his teacher's arms when I left this morning, but when hb went to check a while later, he was seated on the teacher's lap, clapping along as the kids were having their assembly singalong.

I did gradual withdrawal with him. Day one: I was in class. Day two: daddy in class. Day three: daddy partially in class, I only appeared at the school bus when it was time to go home. Today is day four: no parents in class, and I appeared when the school bus dropped them off at our place.

This week in school has been like watching an opera play out before my eyes. And of course I am part of it as well lah! I think L's class has the most crying children, compared to the other classes. Definitely, it has the most kanchiong parents. One mother knocked over an entire shelf of books in her haste to get her child to the front, and another went and stood right in front of a mummy who was trying to take a photo of her child because *she* wanted to take a picture of *her* child. Two daddies were scolding their crying toddlers for crying!? (All these related by hb, who was there.)

Like JSP said, the kids need time to adapt. And it is definitely easier on all parties if we stay away, let the teachers handle the children, and give our toddlers a chance to stand on their own two feet.

Easy to say of course, I am trying to do it as well and often feel like the worst mother in the world. But I know that L will be fine. It's that mother/woman vibe thing.

Trust your instincts on whether Eboy is okay/will be okay. You know him best, so you will be able to tell, and differentiate the kind of crying. Keep talking to the teachers about his progress. Let him bring a favourite toy to school? S enjoyed decorating his communication book and name tag with stickers that he liked, and bringing his book/vehicle of the moment with him. That helped. With L, it's a lot of hugs and kisses and reassurance. And instant access to the boob once he's home ;p

That bit about all activities happening in one small cramped room is disturbing though. We put S & L in this kindy partly 'cos of the large open green spaces for children to run around and play. They get tired better that way, and therefore more compliant, haha! Right now I am just relieved that we have all made it through. I intend to reward myself with some chocolate tonight.

Cellow/Batgirl
Sayang and hugs to mummies and little ones!

Kolo mee confession
You know, I have never eaten this before.

Dor Dor
Okie, will email you tonight, k? Thanks!

Underwater World
We went on Wednesday. It's been renovated/upgraded? since we last visited. Had fun looking at the fish and L got splashed by a sting ray at the ray pool, hahahahaha! Then had a nice walk along the beach (which was so built up it almost had more building than sand) but had to walk fast to escape the incoming rain. Sentosa is very civilised now!

ya, pregnancy goin well.. i hope!

Mich
take some time to observe first..
kids adapt to everything quickly, just a matter if they learn any bad habits from school..

Youpi
u are not alone, i never eaten kolo mee too..

Cellow
can i trouble u to send me ur massage lady contact again?
Any mummies who have nice massage ladies, pls forward me the contact.. i am in a mess.. this time around very last min in everythin... was just looking for names yesterday..

batgirl - sayang wuffy..bean also, she will jump on the bed and also start singing 5 little monkeys jumping on the bed..sigh.

dustee - hang in there..your own home will be ready soon soon soon.

mich - your instinct will tell you best! wait till next week and see how e-boy is adapting. i remember bean was a wreck the 1st 2 weeks of school too but since then, she cant wait to go to school every morning.

even though i am not working, TGIF..it has been one long exhausting week - both mentally and physically. have a good weekend dearies!

Bbp,
govt subsidy $300 for childcare if mother is working. and Kinderland fees is almost 1k before subsidy right?

Michelle,
youpi said it best. trust your instincts on your son. if the school allows, maybe you can arrive earlier and sit around to monitor the going-ons. that's what i did when my botak boy was at the childcare. arrive earlier every morning and evening. hang around with son and just watch the other children run around; and how the teachers interact with the kids & other parents. from there, i concluded that me & my son really didn't like that particular childcare.

give E boy & his school another week or so while you monitor the environment closely. our kids are mostly Cancerians and they love the hugs & kisses from mommies. i kept assuring my son & giving him kisses on his botak head last 2 days when i was at school with him. i reckon that helps to sooth him more. as compared to another 2 parents who just stood there and watched their poor kids cry their pitiful eyes out. aiyoh.. my heart goes out to those 2 girls...