(2008/07) July 2008

dustee,

Wah! ur colleague's son is also very agressive! Throw a chair at you??!!

And smothering promfret with a pillow!! gosh! Really got to watch them like a hawk!!!

Ya, i do bring him out alone. The poor lil sis gets left behind for most outings (except for last weekend during my brother's wedding when we had to bring both of them out). We figured she is too young to know she is being left behind. :p

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Merry Christmas to all mummies, daddies &amp; your lil kiddos!!!
Happy Holidays!!!</font>

Wow so many posts
Lol @ dustee's "like a virgin" example!

@ dustee re politeness
You know, we're trying to let poppy fall asleep on her own. But now she says "mama no stay short while; mama stay long time" or "please papa, don't go. Lie with poppy". Walau. So polite, how to say no, right? Tis a double-edged sword

@ batgirl
Awww sayang. I know it's very stressful but it does sound really funny too! (sorry). How about if both u and hubby take turns to spend time with wuffy alone? Maybe he feels like he now has to "share" his parents. Now he's learning the concept of "ours" vs "mine"

On my way to Phoon Huat!

Batgirl,
you sound so tired, sleep more!

Youpi,
yes yes, i read the book liao.. cant find any other author as good these days.. think it should be the last book.. maybe he come up with more..

Merry XMAS mummies &amp; babies!
Have a blessed day!

dustee
hee i can empathise with u. in the mornings when she wakes up she screams for milk too. and sometimes she will pretned she's drinking milk by just burying her face in my chest. very funny

batgirl
yeah 2 kids = no sleep. i was so tired i fell asleep at work!

well regarding wuffy it is a phase and it will pass eventually. jh also went thru these times where he will bite her or smack her. i think the most impt thing is it be consistent. when he does something wrong, maybe can take away some privilege instead of caning? jsut keep explaining to him. he is actually listening one. or maybe let him know what it feels like? like if he pinch her, u pinch him lightly to let him know it doesn't feel good?

PB
yes the kids do that too! makes u feel that u have to stay with them. even jh is doing that too.....

what u getting at phoon huat? sounds like fun.

Batgirl
Maybe if wufeng try's to change the topic again you just continue talking n make him acknowledge you. Tell him u are sad he doesn't hear you talk.
Ask him if he wants his eyes to be poked by meimei. Then proceed to try to poke his eyes. When he resist then tell him meimei also doesn't like it like he does n feels sad why her kor kor wants to poke her eyes and make her painful.
Like sy I try to let them learn by the "don't do to others what you don't want others to do to you"

Youpi
E will keep saying "I want drink mama milk milk" in decreasing decibels and more teary voice. If I ignore or dun let her she will continue saying till she burst into tears......sigh
But mine is only at night lah and seeing her so skinny....how to bear to make her stop.

Dustee
I also dun like to be pacifier...sob sob

PB
I went phoon huat yest too but the small 1 inside tpy ntuc and wah the crowd!!
Jus queuing to pay is so leh chey with the small space. Think this period a lot getting cny baking stuff as well.

Oh and I regret not getting readymade gingerbread man dough from ikea. Arghhhh

SY
JX is not gaining weight?
E's weight has stablised for very very long. She is still at 9.9-10kg. But has grown taller. Jus not fleshier. I wish she would grow a bit more flesh though. She's still wearing the same bottoms n they are jus getting shorter cos she is still so slim cannot upgrade!!

Bluebunny and I were just thinking how sad it is that we won't be counting down with the little one cos countdown is way past bedtime. Then ding ding! An idea struck. Who says countdown must be to midnight! Techbically we can countdown to anything right? So...

We're having a "countdown to the last 7pm of 2010" at our place! Open to Jul mummies, daddies and babies!

Venue: bunny hideout
Date: new years eve
Time: 5pm
Makan: pot luck
The catch #1: it is a themed party! Compulsory for all attendees! But it's a very simple thing that can be done in 5 mins even for non inspired folks. Hint: what do hitler, Charlie Chaplin and Burt Reynolds have in common?

The catch #2: all to bring party noise makers :D

New Years Eve Party at Bunny Hideout
1)

Dor
Ya I also did not manage to get any gingerbread dough from IKEA. Among all the items in the Xmas range, that one always runs out first!

I went to Phoon Huat to look for something for NYE party! But they didn't have
so got to work my brain extra hard to think of alternative

Pb
Haha u are so innovative!! Would be such a fun party a pity we have to miss another 1. Sigh.

Yah true the kids dun even know when is Xmas n new yr haha.
Which is why we let D open his Xmas present already cos it's e holidays n he can play with it now. Rather then open during Xmas n only a few days before sch reopens. N it saves my sanity a little when he is happily playing hehe.
The only must have is the delifrance smiling log cake he eyed so we are having that for Xmas too!!

Oh we actually saw the dough at tampines ikea on wed!!!
N was procrastinating as usual cos dun have gingerbread man cutter n the man ask me to cut it by hand!!
They really think everything is sooooooo easy. Plus the long queue n didn't have the tube cheese we wanted so we skipped. Then regreted big time after we came home cos tadah we have the cutters.......arghhhhh

So will be trying to make some cookies with the cutters later for the kids to play n eat.

Merry Christmas to all!!!

Merry Christmas!

pb,
thanks for the invite. gotta give this a miss as we will be slurping and burping our way thro a fren's parteeeeee.

bad temper
sigh. crowded church in the morning, not enuf sleep last night, plus no time to get the blood test results this morning = super bad temper.

C1 super excited after taking the MRT to nowhere, burst into the door super noisy, woke C2 up. the man ah super bad temper, took it out on C1 when i had already managed to quiet C1 down.

why i gotta ren all the time when *I* am the one who is not getting enuf sleep. MEN!!!!! wat good reason has HE got to flare up. if anyone shd be flaring up, tis me.

DUH.

merry "wet" christmas everyone! we were supposed to have a christmas picnic gathering at BG but looks like it has to be an indoor venue now

cellow - why mr C so grumps? both jin and i have given up "scolding" bean when she makes noise and wakes her mei mei up. figured the mei mei will just have to adjust to all the noise - poor 2nd child :D..sayang and hugs to you. try to enjoy the rest of the weekend ya.

pinkB - we most likely will give new yr countdown a miss too..thanks for the invite though and have fun!! your post got me thinking that soon our toddlers will be old enuff for sleepover parties
can u imagine the endless chatter between poppy and bean? hehe

Hey PB
Just saw you on TV! It's so sweet that your mum already loved Max even before he became her son-in-law. How did she matchmake the two of you? I missed that part.

Sorry we won't be able to make it for the countdown, as we may have something on that day. Thanks for the invite, have lots of fun and post pictures!

Dustee
It's not an all-day thing so I don't mind listening to what I like. Today it was Faye Wong's concert trice in a row. S used to bop around to the Scissor Sisters and he likes the Beatles. If I want to listen to something like Lady Gaga, I make the boys prance around with me. We do what's best described as 'a loose form of interpretive dance', haha. Yes you are right, Radiohead is a bit 'off' with kids. I've only played the Radiohead lullabies one which is a bit depressing! The last interesting ones were Kasabian and Muse (which seems to have gone through a makeover) but those were all a long time ago...

youpi
hehe they met in canada when she was on biz trip then she talked to us about each other but neither was keen cos he was then going to china to teach and i was already engaged to someone else (on hindsight, that was a BIG hint that my mum didn't like that guy!).

but they continued to keep in touch as friends, and when bluebunny found out his-then girlfriend in china was 3-timing him (1. nope, no typo and 2. he wouldn't admit it if you asked him i'm sure), and my then jerk of a bf ran out on me after i bought the wedding gown, my mum decided to try again.

we thought we'd just email each other a few times just to keep my mum happy, but look where we are now. mum knows best i guess

no worries about NYE party! it's a bit late to be asking around but we couldn't not do anything!

oh no.. am i too late? RP lunch?

back and so dead tired.. was attacked by some mozzies though we had our repellent on (rainy season!) you can see in the pics that bbG got bitten on the eye too!

mich.. did pd say why or is it necessary for all these assessments and speech therapy?

SmiggleP: kayden too? what do they mean 'at risk'? so still not confirmed?? hope all the kiddos turn out ok... but it's good to tackle it early.. some believe autism can somehow be corrected too, if tackled from early stage..think there are some books on this smiggle...

sibling bully: this.. plus over the xmas period, hubby saw how poor older niece gets more snapping at.. stern words and had to learn to be more independent (self feed etc) since bb sis came along.. made hubby feel like maybe we should still stick to one (again we are changing minds haha) coz he can't bear the thought of our firstborn being 'neglected'

LOL on batgirl's conversation with wuffy.. think at their age.. it's all about perseverance and sounding like a broken record? so repeat n remind him constantly?

PB: does poppy make you lie down with her every nap/sleep time? noticed bbG does, and I really have to 'sleep' with him til he's fast asleep.. am i spoiling my own kid.. now he's back to dozing off on my bed too before i carry him back to his own.. n he climbs into mine mid of the night as well..and i get kicked in the face the rest of the nite...

NYE partee: whee! on!!

DD
Either BB or I lie with her till she finishes her milk then leave. That's for pm. She usually grumbles or cries for a while but will stay in bed and talks to herself before she dozes off. For night it's the same but she tends to want us to stay longer so we try to stay till she's very sleep before sneaking out. Sometimes we lie with "mama/papa is just going out for peepee". Sometimes it works, sometimes not

Oh no poor bbG! Sayang sayang. Better now?

Ya lor. Nobody friend me for RP lunch so I'm heading back to my kampong to meet my man for lunch

DD
Babies are for spoiling! Just as long as they don't get spoilt. There's a difference, right? Hehe.

Oh we also do "I'll tell you ONE story / sing TWO songs then you sleep by yourself. Which one do you want?". And everything in bedroom is quiet and calmn no jumping on bed, talking is done in calm soft voices. Even when we leave, we say it calmly, firmly and matter-of-factly like it's not open for negotiation. Then hug, kiss, "I love you forever. Goodnight sweet dreams, see you in the morning"

Most times it works, sometimes doesn't
of cos our heart melts when she says "papa don't go" or "mama stay with poppy...". She is very convincing :p

So booored. Having cabin fever but I'm a little sickish so I probably shouldn't be going out.

Cellow,
Told you liao. The person who has to ren is the slower person to flare up. So you need to flare up faster

PB,
Yeah, DY just set the mio to record Wed's rerun in case something (Declan) causes us to miss it again.

Dd,
I used to lie down with Declan until he sleeps, but gradually we managed to get him to do it on his own. Unfortunately, it still ding dongs a few rounds with him crying out for me and me threatening him with physical violence (beating his backside) if he calls me for no reason.

hallo! Merry (belated) Xmas to all!! Just got back from attending my boss' son's wedding dinner in JKT. Now back with a cold and sore throat. Think i walloped too many fried chicken for lunch yday. Wonder if I shd just take MC tomorrow..whole body have the sick aching feeling. but just have so many things to do.

NYE partee.. thanks for the invite! wish i could join, but I am working the whole day, by the time i reach home, grabbed my kids, it would be the kiddos bed time liao.

pb,
handicraft? i like. shall google about it i love to makes things...

talking about making things. i made a bunch of sock animals for my colleague. and guess what. instead of being appreciative, some complain that the stitch is not done properly. very ugly. dont look like the animal and so on. i felt really stupid. that i actually decided to make for my colleague rather than my sec sch friends. and this thing took me many late nights to complete. i am not a pro and this was the first time i am doing this what do you expect. A pro doll you can find in a boutique.
somehow, i just feel like taking it back.

Qing
Yes, Youpi introduced him to us! So inspiring. He's so creative. Don't worry about your silly colleagues who don't know how to appreciate your effort. Jokingly say to them "eh, got money cannot buy wan u know!"

Youpi
Do you think he looks a little like Ryan Giggs? The football player?

Hi Sorry to disturb your thread.
Would like to check if there are any mummies staying at Tampines st 44 or nearby? I'm a march 2009 sahm mummy and I'm looking for playdates for my boy. Pls email me at [email protected]

Thks

dor
yeah jx weight gain not much. she's hovering ard 11.6-11.7kg. so the specialist said he jsut wan to see her in 3 months time to track. but actually i m not worried abt jx. i m worried abt jh. that boy is real skinny!

PB
when is your love story showing? i wan to watch!!!!

got to give your party a miss!! though i know it wd be fun.....

qing
your colleague is soooo unappreciative. anything handmade is always the best! anyway, u know who u can leave out next time.

update update! past few nights jx will lie on my tummy to sleep. i guess she knows that's the best she can get away with. she knows she won't be able to get milk so ahve been patting her or letting her lie on my tummy to sleep. but cos i stop latching her to sleep she has been sleeping later. she slept at 130 on sun!! was singing songs etc non stop and talking non stop......

ordering some stuff from iherb. let me know if anyone wants to tag. i ran out of toothpaste for jx.

bbp
i think u owe me one sambucus right? i can't remember how much. will let u know. anything u need to order?

qing,
LOL on SY's you know who you can leave out next time
. *admires your craft*

SY,
hehe. congrats on achieving your goal of not latching JX to sleep! but trade off is sleeping at 130am!!!! alamak. hope she gets over this phase soon

PB,
lomantic love story!
my sister (just married early dec) also same same, intro by the mothers. the 2 mothers are old neighbours, then we moved away. my mum when visiting me went to the mkt, chatted w the other mother, and discovered hey they have each got an unmarried son n daughter w the right age gap to paktor. one thing led to another. and now they are married....
[and you think this sort of parental matchmaking only happens in china]

bbp,
all out war will result if i flare faster than Mr C. anyway, i did smthing silly ystday over our trip out to JB.... i was whining abt my lack of time to do everything, then Mr C flared up. classic mars/venus. he wanted to problem solve ME, i wanted his reassurance.
anyway, Mr C is a calm person, except when it comes to the kiddos, okok, kiddo #1.

*passes liang teh to batgirl*

hope everyone had a wonderful x'mas celebration

mine ended with son getting the stomach flu virus... merlion top and bottom... this morning still having diarrhae sigh...

i want to rant pls...
what would you do if you have a mil who cooks for the family including your children. pays for your confinement lady not once but twice. babysit while you go out partying (avg once a month). pays for the maid to look after your children, one or both, while you glue your backside to the couch. all this while, you're a SAHM and naturally not giving a cent to your mil yet can buy new clothes and shoes and branded bags every now and then... and you complain your mil nags too much... cooking not nice (sometimes)... goes out instead of cooking for your child...

of coz the above is sadly not me... i don't have the luxury for that kind of mil and being a SAHM...

ladies, how would you react if you see this kind of woman in your household?????

steph,
is this woman in your household?
i m guessing this is your BIL's wife or SIL that you are talking abt - heh.

CB purchase
anyone buying CB calendula cream and CB bodywash? can i tompang pls?

cellow
we are taking it one step at a time. when she wakes up at night i still latch her but at least she has gottne the msg she can't latch to sleep at bedtime.

the downside is that when she's not in sch during weekends, she won't take her naps! sleeping very little now....

steph
this woman sounds terrible. i m also guessing your SIL? i would tell the MIL not to be so silly anymore! but how does this woman's MIL feel?

cellow:
Just check with u where u usually get CB products? I just joined a spree on CB calendula cream 2oz, the organiser fixed price at $16... 1st time buying dunno is it the best price I can get for 2oz cream

Steph
Ya when I read it I thought "that doesn't sound like Steph". Wow I take my hat off her! Can "say" her or not? Are u older/more senior? Like "eh zi dong a bit la"

SY
I remember D used to be like that, dragging his bedtime cos cannot latch. But jx is taking it very well to not latching. Good job!!

Steph
Sorry to say this but this kind of thing takes 2 hands to clap.
Cos wat u say reminds me of my bro n my parents.
They only complain n nag to me n say hw they want him to pay them money or wat. But I am very sure nothing much really ever happens.
If they dun even dare to ask if the wedding that was all already paid for n supposed to happen soon is off or not. Or where they r supposed to stay. Wat would they dare ask?

Cellow
Mr dor is usually the 1 with a lot of patience. But with the kids, he totally has none. While me on the other hand do not have patience(read cannot play board games).
But with the kids..... I dunno where I found the strength. Maybe that comes with mummy's love.

Michelle
Not to worry abt the therapy
My youngest brother was also very late in speech. Was also brought to some speech devp Thingy by KKH. Now he hasn't stop talking. In fact he is the most talkative one amOng us.

SY
Good idea. For the next one, I shall purposely buy stupid stuff for these people. And make sure they see the differences in the gift.

Actually I wasn't that pissed off in the beginning but the mocking went on for a few days from just this one particular colleague. I don't know what is she trying to achieve by doing that.

Steph
While I read, I was thinking that can't be you ba... LOL.
This girl sounds like a brat. Does she thinks she is the princess? Gish... And partly hor the mil is to be blame too. She bring it upon herself. Why let her bully? U are the mil lehz. Hmmmm...

Steph
DIL is unappreciative and inconsiderate, MIL should go on a well-deserved holiday and leave her to her own devices. Husband of DIL should have a good talk with his wife.

PB
So sweet lah, your mum! She must have been delighted when you guys got hitched.
Joel &amp; Ryan Giggs - the hair? Hehe. Yah I love his stuff. This kind of lobang, must share lor. Simple yet beautiful, and he gives you free templates to work from too!

Youpi/pb
Do u girls know about mr maker? Barbie loved to watch him make stuffs. And me too. He has some really interesting ideas and they are easy to do.

And and and
Guess what
Barbie just said this
"what the hell" a couple of time randomly.
And she thinks it's funny. I was shocked at the same tine finds it very funny. I couldn't help but giggle a bit when I tried to teach her that this is not right. Weird thing is hubby and I were really careful with words. Wonder did she learn from the boy at home.

SY I also want to order toothpaste for my girl. What toothpaste will u be getting? How much? U still have discount on iherb orders?

Cellow, I have CB calendula cream that is brand new. Bought too much last time as my girl is prone to getting nappy rash. U want to get it from me?

hannahi,
yes pls! i arrange lunch at RP with you next week when i m back at offc.

waiwai,
think shd be abt that price for 2oz. w the USD going down agst the SGD, might be cheaper even.
i am sooooo sad that iherb doesnt carry california baby products.

qing,
oh! remember not to laugh when she says it!