(2008/07) July 2008

hannah
i getting the jason natural one. still have discount depending on total orders. how many u want?

qing
yeah it's funny when they say such things but we must try to control. anyway they will grow out of it. jh also says 'funny things' at time but the more we try to correct the more he will say it.

your colleague is really weird. what is she trying to do by passing those comments?

dordor
last night she managed to go to sleep by lying on my tummy. haha...hopefully after a few nights she will use that method to sleep instead!!!

Sy
Congrats on the improvement!

DD
Could u post a pic of dashi sauce, ur secret ingredient to the perfect chawanmushi? I can't find it anywhere

Qing
Yikes on WTH! If poppy says sth nasty (like she picked up "go away" from school) we tell her it's not nice to say that and we feel hurt when she sats it and if she chooses to repeat, she has to spank her own bum bum hehe.

Congrats Cellow! and thanks for the liang teh! *sipping the liang teh*

CB bodywash -- wat type you use? I can spare a bottle too.

Qing,

My son's teacher tells me if the child picked up some words that they should not say, we should not overreact to it. They may find our reaction interesting and continue to repeat the word to get a response from us. We should be cool about it, and just tell him/her cooly that he should not use that word as it is not a good word to use, blah blah blah.

Steph,

wow! the MIL is really nice!! The DIL must learn how to appreciate la... so good liao.

Cellow,
Great news!! take care and really... try to relax more. learn a bit from the dil in my story hahaha

dor is right, takes 2 hands to clap... the mil grumbled to me initially, nowadays she'll just ignore lor... all for the sake of harmony in the family. i can say her lah but what for?? will just give her more chance to bitch about me on FB. plus mil willing one leh... i've been tolerating and keeping quiet. talked to the hb... but say too much will cause hb & wife to quarrel... then i'm the bad person again. just feel very wronged. really sometimes help that is not asked for will be rendered as being a busybody.... i'll just mind my own business from now on.

not sure if Appreciate is in her vocabulary... some people take that as a priviledge coz gave 2 grandchildren to the family leh....

Qing,
sometimes when people are jealous of certain skills you have and they don't, they'll just say mean things to put you off. you can take back your gift with reason that you want to improve on it and forget about giving the gift to your colleague again. if she asked, just say "oh...still working on it... you know waht.. i'm not very good at this"

Ref: Sleep
any kiddo sleeping late recently? my son has been going to bed at 9pm, then keep coming out of the room, ding dong ding dong until 11pm!!! aarrgghh.....

yippee to cellow being given a clean bill of health! that must have made your christmas complete!

anyone caught the gingerbread man at sentosa yet? this week's your last chance to go coz it ends 2nd Jan!

and just read on papers that stone temple pilots & slash will be performing here in Mar ;)

office blocked access to the forum today grr! wonder if it's for good....

picture of dashi.. think there are many brands.. this one is kikoman.. got it from NTUC @ junction 8 which has a section on jap stuffs

4939961.jpg
4939962.jpg

oh thanks DD!

yup we went to catch the gingerbread man some time ago. it was alright
caught 'gingerbread man and the tree martian'; would have preferred the 'normal' gingerbread man!

oh.... thanks for dashi sauce pic! i will go try it out soon!!!

cellow
i try not too.
but i did giggle out a bit. but was later really stern to her.
hope she get it

Sy
i have totally no idea.
she pretends to be really good to me this past year.
then it's like i was being stabbed zillion times by her yet i have no clue.
they most obvious result is my bonus. it is not even 1/3 of what i have last year.

and i am the kind whereby if i dont like you, i try not to talk to you as much as possible.
despite the weird atmosphere, i am sure she can sense the awkwardness in between. she can come to me and say like nothing happen.
how come you never talk to me today? (in a ke lian tone somemore)

how?
how should i deal with this kind of ppl? pretend to be in good terms with her? (it would be really hard for me)
sometimes i really dont understand why ppl have to react this way. its like we are all working together. why must stab each other until someone die?
more over, our job scope is totally different. its like you do ur job i do mine.
haiz.
really very sian loh. and she sit right in front of me. her boss is also another xiao ren. the damage from the 2 of them = 1/3 of last year bonus.
boz my boss is hardly in the office. he listen to what her boss say.
so i suay loh.
good boss(wants to sponsor my degree w/o a bond) + 2 xiao ren
stay or leave?
stay = continue fighting
leave = they won

batgirl
hopefully barbie dont say it anymore.

steph
maybe i should really take back. but she is on AL all the way till 10Jan.
which is a good thing. i dont have to deal with her during this period of time.

PB
i finally got your love story last night.
so sweet.

Qing
One thing I've realised between men and women at the workplace - to men, it's just work. They tend not to bother about the people they work with whereas women usually want to be well liked. That's why it's women who often find themselves putting in lots of effort into relationships at work when men don't give two hoots.

Don't need to take it back - if she's not gracious enough to keep her nasty comments to herself, that's her problem. You're bigger than that. Next time just give gifts to those you know will appreciate

Yes, re the show - we LOL at the fish head curry part!

wat abt curry fish head?

qing,
ignore. it is more impt to be efficient than to be liked in the workplace. women want friends, whereas men are friendly (but their loyalties will change depending on the workplace situation). learn to cultivate ur own sense of self, so that these catty remarks bounce off you.

youpi and pb
i took the advice and gave chocolates to neighbours, sideways and laterally. and the lady who complained, i later found out, who's right next door, lives alone. and when we were giving her the chocolates, she tried to refuse and immed burst out into a 15min complaining spree. she intimidates me.

qing
if every day is a struggle and causing you much unhappiness, you should think about looking elsewhere. who cares if they think you leaving is a victory for them. if you end up somewhere else happier and even earning more, that's all that matters.

cellow
can you feed yourself a bit more pls. all these bf-ding and home stress and work stress is whittling you down (size-wise).

when i get stressed i eat. i think it's time i did something about it before my cholesterol comes to haunt me. i bought myself a pair of new running shoes (also partly coz at nex i wanted to exchange for a pooh bear umbrella. lame right. ) but i really don't know when i'd get to do it. this requires some battle plan.

well goodbye 2010! welcome 2011!!!

Haha funny u dustee!

Happy new year to everyone!! Drink up, but don't get too drunk on alcohol, milk or anything else that would make u do silly things!

Must tell u girls something very funny! I was talking to poppy and here's how our conversation went. (we've had this conversation many times and this is the first time it's gone this way!)

Me: poppy, what is a baby cat called?
Poppy: ethan! (sounds like "kitten"!)
Me: what about a baby duck?
Poppy: Declan! (sounds a little like "duckling"!)

She's really thinking about you, boys! ;)

happy 2011, everybirdie!

i went to a party last night without Mr C (who ws having a high fever) and dashed off at 930pm for C1's bedtime. wayyyyy past C2's 8pm bedtime. no countdown to midnight for me.

dustee,
dun kill me, but i m eating. a lot. and rubbishy things like choc biscuits too. [egg-less naturally. Marks and Spencer does a good vegetarian version. i digress.... as usual....] i suppose all the energy is mostly expended on work and the boys, and *not* yelling at Mr C's stupid antics. tis amazing how much more energy it takes to not yell than yell.

dd,
wonder aloud: how does milk make you do silly things?

batgirl,
rite now, C1 and C2 use the calming CB bodywash. but really, any of the CB bodywash will do. i was reading the ingredient list of Johnson and Johnson.... wow, so many unpronounceable chemical names.

Happie New year to all!! =) HUAT AH!

Cellow,

I got the sensitive one to spare, cos bought quite a few to stock up previously. Can meet u next week to pass to you.

happy new year mummies!!!!

qing
2011 is a brand new year for brand new things!! no harm looking out for other opportunities.

cellow
wow u sound like u r eating a lot of 'sinful' things but sometimes really need a bit of such stuff to destress....

update on my weaning!! it's now down to the night time feed when she wakes. she will actually tell me she cannto drink milk. so that's a victory right?? but how to get rid of the midnight one? i still have no clue.....

anyone interested in drugstore
i have a 10% off discount code for all items.
code expires tml. let me know soon.

i feel that i strike 4D...jx slept through last night! of cos it was helped by the fact that she was really tired as she woke up at 6+am...only had like 45 min of nap and only went to bed after 10pm!!! the night before, she went to bed at only 12+ midnight...... but it's a good start to 2011!!

Happy new year everyone!

Sy
Congrats! Slow and steady
good progress!

Qing
Me me, please wait for me, I will check out drugstore tonight!

Youpi, Bbp
You were looking for water bottles - I found a brand called BROS, saw it at metro city square

I know how auntie this is going to sound but I actually found lots of nice stuff there! My heart is tingling because of all the cute little sleep romper dresses they have!!

And if anyone is looking for "training kiap kiap" chopsticks, they have them too at $5.90

DD
I was at meidi ya over the weekend and guess what? They didn't have that dashi sauce either! Meidi ya!!! They had another type but same brand :S

miss itchy backside is at it again! muahaha!

will be lugging both kids to the west coast late march to april. have read it may continue to snow in yosemite and lake tahoe! so gotta send out SOS!

any mummies got winter clothes suitable for talia (4 years old) and thaddie (2.5 years old) that i can borrow?

muarks in advance!

WOW!!! so envious!! I am still cracking my head when is a good time to go Malacca. wahahahaha! cos hate to be bfdg when i travel la. :p

Lunch at RP (5 Jan, Weds) anyone?? =) Can pass DD the colostrum powder and the body wash to cellow (if cellow needs it) =)

*ahem* batgirl

before that we will also be going to phuket in early march! you see lah! itchy untillllllllllllll!

woohoo!

lunch at RP wed

I can't as will be on half day leave tmr and wed for thaddie's first and second day at pre-nursery!

qing
i will email you soon!

have fun, doggiebb!

batgirl
i'm also thinking of malacca! i love the buildings. i recommend hotel puri. very pretty
traveling when breastfeeding is best! just pop baby on boob!!

wah!!!! doggiebb... super itchy man!!! hahaha..Enjoy yourselves!! =)

Wuffy is going to Pre-N too.. but start Thurs.. so I will be off Thur and Friday. :p

PB,

yes yes Hotel puri is pretty. It also has bird nests in one of the halls. the swallows are wild though...
problem is..i dun pop baby on boob.. :p I still havent tried yet... kekekeke....

PB
The Bros bottles - BPA-free or not?

Doggiebb
See you tomorrow! You'll recognise me by the screaming boy pulling at my legs.

Rp lunch on wEd should be fine with me!

Hehehe looks like a few of us stayed at hotel puri before..affordable too, but I love the heeren house (down the road, corner lot) cos it was like a cozy wooden house run by an old Indian auntie (wooden flooring, wooden staircase, wooden four poster bed!)

School.. Urr bbg doesn't have any..maybe ill take thurs off to go visit the few nearby..think I'll give the further ones a miss cos I'm worried about mil crossing big main road (jaywalk??) or lugging bbg on the overhead bridge..

Jace..1st day back at work right? N xun's 1st day at st James? How did it go? She's on the morning session ah?

Strange.. Thought dashi is a common sauce for jap food.. Maybe dor knows more..think we got the chawanmushi idea from her

Bpa free bottles: we dont have to worry now coz no longer boiling or sterilizing our kiddo's bottles right?

Happy New Year everyone... New year and my company's server got problem... not a very good start here...

on the topic of milk bottles, i'm using normal dish detergent to wash milk bottles and plates and spoons son use... no more those special bottles detergent and sterilizing the bottles...

how about washing powder for son's clothes? when can i start mixing his clothes with adults clothes to wash with normal washing powder instead of the baby clothes washing detergent???

my boy starting pre-N tomorrow too. feels like the days when he attended Julia Gabriel... sadly it'll only be for first 3 days...

now, i'm considering putting son back in full-day childcare after episode with my sil... sigh... my mom is upset. my hb is for the full-day childcare and i'm stuck in between. and my mil is considering quitting job to stay home babysit grandson ... this is something my hb doesn't want...

what should i do??

PB,
But Bros doesn't have straw bottles right? Cos I saw a few somewhere, but they were all screw-cap kind.

dd,
Better to get BPA-free bottles bcos at least you can put hotter than room temperature stuff into those bottles. Also, I read somewhere that you have to be careful and prevent those non-BPA-free bottles from getting scratched. So for ease of mind, I rather get BPA-free ones.

On a side note, if those bottles don't state anything, flip them and check out the bottoms. If you see 5 in a triangle-like symbol, you're pretty safe. It's 7 you have to worry about. Also, if the bottles are non-clear (translucent or opaque), then they are pretty safe too. At least that's what I gathered from a few sources. Anyone correct me if I'm wrong ok?

Dec's first day at school tomorrow too!
Mom here is TERRIFIED.

youpi/bbp
i was going to take pics of the bottles but there were many sales people around so i scared scared. i saw bottles with stras and with flip tops, but did not check if they are BPA free sorry!

good luck with all mummies and school-going kiddos!!!!!

steph
i have stopped using baby laundry detergent for poppy's clothes for a while now. i use baby washing detergent for bottles but normal detergent for cutlery.

why doesn't your hubby want his mum to quit and take care of E? maybe that's what she wants to do? if so then that is a great thing, right?

youpi
so technically tomorrow will be the first day you can be home for a couple of hours and do whatever you want? like take a nap? :p :p :p enjoy!

hello!!

DD u still remember its my first day at work today! haha still alright because its like a bank holiday in some parts of the world so dun really feel the full impact of month end closing yet.

Nope its not the first day of school for xun gal coz its actually next week! I will either be taking half day or time of to see her in school.

Cellow, good that u are cleared of thyroid! But that means ur daily output > input! So like what dustee says pls eat more more more! *how i wish me is like u.. i still have freaking 5kgs to go ...arghhhhhhh and doesnt help when I have itchy mouth always*

RP lunch on wed. Dunno at the moment if i can go coz still got to pump during lunch.

hi hi... long time no post!

eboy started school today and it was alright, then not alright, then good, then not so good.. so in a nutshell, emotional roller coaster. not to mention, i was so anxious and excited that I could not sleep the whole night. I'm thinking of changing a school for him.

So bbp, chill and let the teacher handle the kid. I made the mistake of staying in the class and eboy was much better when I was not with him in the second half of the class. and oh, remember to say proper goodbye to him if you are going to leave him.. he'll be fine. we'll be fine! be strong!

cheers to cellow clear of thyroid! take good care of yourself and enjoy your two days MC, tho you could hardly enjoy lah.. but still enjoy lah..

wah, so many kiddos all starting N1 this year? L too?

ok, i think i'm the only one who is still sterilising eboy's bottles (cos its still in the house might as well use it) and using child detergent for both his utensils and clothes as well.. hee hee...

good luck to all school going kiddos! and sending strength to mummies who are leaving them behind for the first time..

LOL on poppy remembering eboy as a kitten and declan as duckling!!! LOLOLOL!!!

How was the moustache bash?? everyone had fun? we din have any countdown. infact, we slept through the new year's eve night, amidst all the fireworks and the ships honking! haha...

oh oh, did i update that eboy has started to climb out of his playpen and refused to sleep in it anymore.. so we upgraded him to a single bed, in a racing car, and it will be delivered tomorrow!!! i'm very excited! these few nights, he's been sleeping on the mattress on the floor, and we have to re-train him to fall asleep on the mattress and not keep coming out of the room.. thank goodness eboy is quite adaptable and now all sleep patterns back to normal...

so past week was very very tiring for me and Mr mich (both of us not working) and the sleep training caused us a lot of distress so much so that Mr Mich went to buy cane! but MIL hid them already so we dunno where the canes are now!! ha ha... eboy so does not deserve to be caned, not yet!!

Wow Mich, racing car! Cool! I never had one. I'm jealous hehe.

Moustache Bash went alright, considering 3 families pulled out on the day, thus narrowing conversation topics and impacting the pot luck spread! More on blog; http://poppydiaries.blogspot.com

Aiyoh tell u girls something so malu. Poppy's Lao shi emailed everyone a 5 liner message and I couldn't read half of it! Paisay.

Oh. And u all know how random my thoughts can get right? So how's this for a blast from the past :" eating coconut jelly in 3rd trimester" hehe.

So Btw, who among Jul mums is preggie now? Only serene? Cin bunny, any more April fool joke this year? :D :D :D

Darling bunny - I m waiting for you to spring an April fool's joke on me this year

Bean starts new school on we'd. I hope she adapts well too.

Doggiebb- envious max! If u really can't find clothes for thaddie, let me know. Maybe u can meet my sis in sf n pick up from her....

2nd day in school for eboy and he promptly said goodbye to me when he dropped off from the car... MIL brought him in and he started crying non-stop. MIL left him and he's still crying... oh. my. heart! this is so tough!!!!