(2008/07) July 2008

Cellow, its me with hyperthyroidism. Hyper is too much (over active thyroid glands) and hypo is too little. If u are losing weight too fast, then most likely is hyperthyroidism. The symptoms are losing weight, palpitation (fast heart beat) - so fast and hard that I could hear my own, slight trembling hands (if u put our hands straight out u will see it), feeling hot always. These were the few more obvious symptoms. Think there are many others. I was on medication (2 tabs 3 times daily) initially and did bloodtest monthly and revise the dosage monthly. Condition was under control very fast. If i am not wrong, hyperthyroidism should not be life threatening if u get it treated and if u react to the medication (hypothyroidism is the one that could lead to more complications). As for the bloodtest, I am always not very clear but they test of T3, T4 and TsH. U can go google for hyperthyroidism and sometimes it can lead to grave's disease (dunno which leads to which though) but think i had that too. Its some anitobody deficiency.

That time it was not ver obvious to me coz i was gg to gym and working out + on a diet to lose weight that why it toook me a while to realise that i had hyperthyroidism as well.

Went to my usual GP 1 month back, who treated me of thyroid and we were discussing whether to do a bloodtest now that I have given birth. But we decided its not necessary now because 1) I still have bloody 5 kgs left and the weight does not seem to be decreasing at all, 2) No palpitation, 3) no tremor, 4) dun feel hot and so we think it should be fine for now. I was telling the doc if i have, then i will leave it for a while so that i can easily lose the 5 kgs :p hahahaha

Cellow, that time i also did an ultrascan to see if the thyroid glands were abnormally shaped but it turned out fine. So its just the function not working properly. Dun worry so much, go for the test with ur doc (go to the one u trust most) and if really got hyperthyroidism get it treated asap. Can call me or sms me if u wanna find out more ..

oh dear, cellow!! what happened? too stressed? anyway, its just a suspicion so dun fret until get all checked out ok?

anyone fan of banana republic/raoul? 50% off and additional 20% if buy more than 5 items!!!!!

PB & youpi: you are right actually... such a big decision to make...

dor: ooh.. didn't know about the pointed (leaves?) being not so good...

but now you got me all curious about what type of spinach did popeye eat.. so i did a google:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/662893/why_does_popeye_eat_spinach.html?cat=25

but I still do not know the answer haha

dun be worried cellow... just go see a GP n hear what he says? but our perspective of life does change when we get shocking news like: a lump is felt in breast.. pap smear results didn't come back normal etc huh?

jace,
your explanation so detailed. dun need to call or sms liao.... muarks.
i went to doc just now but the dispatch for the blood test went out liao. so i will go back to the doc tmr morning. fingers crossed for me.

bad temper is apparently one of the symptoms :p

sy,
i dunno.... if JX is still not developmentally ready to wean, forcing the issue will just cause you and her more stress? you say HB wants you to wean, but what do you Ms SY want?

youpi, dor,
again a good concept to wake up early - in theory. today and the next few days ill christmas, i plan to work from home so it shd be more ok in the mornings.

steph,
thanks. i give myself permission to NOT be superwoman.... *grin*

Raoul at city hall and MBS all having sale. 30% for 1 piece, 40% for 2 pieces, and 50% for 3 pieces or more...

DD, why not let "nature take its course' and then see how loh.. hee hee..

SY, not that I am expert or what, but did you "discuss: this weaning off with JX or you just stop suddenly? cos I realise with eboy hor, after we explain it, he accepts it more readily. dunno if you can just try to "physcho" her daily and slowly slowly instead of drastic, cold turkey stlye? let her be able to get to sleep with something else other than latch?

DD,
Wah both of us facing similar dilemmas... My hb has started asking son want didi or meimei... Piangz!!!!

I kena gastric flu from hb last night. Weak and tired whole day. Can't imagine getting sick and having to take care of 2 when 1 is already a challenge. Poor boy, I dare not kiss or hug him since last night. Think he's upset coz sulking and super sticky.

Cellow,
Anyone in your family has the condition? My 2 cousins who are sisters have thyroid and heard it runs in the family. Don't worry too much. Take care

Youpi,
I'm quite sure the pollution from construction site is causing the coughs and runny nose. If turning on the fans help then try not to open your windows facing the construction. I'm having same problems here. There are 3 new projects near my place. The Minton is 1 big one!!

cellow
hope your test results come back fine. hee bad temper is a symptom all mummies have esp with 2 kids!!!

hmmm actually i dun mind weaning her off if it can help her to sleep better at night. cos she can really keep waking up and it makes me very very tired. of cos i miss the times that i spend nursing her and i do feel that it makes us closer. now that i stopped she will ignore me at times! i know she's doing it on purpose.

tonight was an improvement! been telling her she's big gal and made her do her promise that she can't drink milk tonight. so even though she really wanted to ask, she refrained from asking. but she took soooo long to fall asleep and in the end affected jh's sleeping time. but it's very good already.....so keeping my fingers crossed!

michelle
actually it was quite a sudden decision. so we din really psycho her much. but i think she's getting the idea that she cannot latch anymore. the main problem is when she wakes up at night from her sleep she has nothing to use to go back to sleep, no toy, no blanket, no security object. so that's where the tricky part comes in. and in her half sleepy state she cant be reasoned with.

u have been doing a lot of shopping!!!!

SY
Same same. I have to tell E before bed that she must unlatch n sleep on her own else she will keep latching. Tell her when she wakes is no use. I was soo soo tempted to intro pacifier to her. Hahaha

Cellow
I have a friend with that condition n wah this jacelyn really very clear in her explanation haha.
But according to my friend when her condition flares she say can see the thyroid swollen. But I can never see it lah haha.

More babies
D's godma had a baby n we did went hospital to visit that time. Ever since, E has been very excited . She says we are going to visit D's godma and get this......... her baby( not D's godma is E herself) .
Happen to see the baby again today and she was happy n kept saying abt the baby again. So I just asked her if she
Ike baby? Does she want mama's baby?
She tot for a few secs n told me she doesn't like mama's baby. Hahaha

D on the other hand asks when I will pop another baby. Cos surprise surprise he wants another Ember. Hahaha

Steph
Hope you're feeling better! Thanks for the advice, yup, I'm doing all that - keeping windows closed, fans and aircon on, and going out a lot ;p

Dor
Not just the condo, but the whole bl**dy park! And people who keep moving in; there is a renovation going on practically every month.

Going completely off-topic -
What are you all listening to now? As in music? I am so bored of everything and am looking for something that'll perk up my ears again. Apart from "like a G6, like a G6..." Any recommendations?

SY: why dun u intro a new security blankie for her like a toy or hankie or something, unless u don't agree with that too..might make her forget weaning faster?

BishAn park Reno: when will they be done?

Dor: wah D loves E so much he wants another..so sweet

Music: Youpi, thought u would be the most well versed among us, in this field..I feel so auntie cos I dunno who I'm listening to on the radio these days or which songs belong to lady gaga or Taylor swift! Dug out my older CDs to enjoy recently so been listening to musical soundtracks, Lisa Ono n jazzy tunes.. Ooh jamiroquai gets me finger snapping and feet tapping

Am I missing out on something? What is "like a G6, like a G6"? Is it a secret amongst mum of boys? When poppy is home I am Perfectly happy listening to (and singing along to) the wiggles when they are on TV (seriously considering a career as a wiggle trivia expert - if there is such a thing).

When I'm alone I tend to either enjoy the silence or turn the radio on to class 95. 1) it's nice to hear another voice other than my own (and it's not always saying NOOO!) and 2) I recognise some of the music at least

From music to books, another unrelated topic
Anyone has recommendations of simple versions of classics like Hansel and gretel and rapunzel?

Bbp
Ok here's the thing. When I was 16, I spent a lot of time at my then boyfriend's house. His mother was a housewife and the house was spotless, she cooked great meals, and was always around. The total opposite of my house. So she, to me, represented the perfect housewife.

She had gold 90.5 on all the time though. Hehe. I don't want to label myself as "the perfect housewife"! (well the house is not neat etc too, but you get my point)

muisic
I'm the chinese pai one so no good english songs to recommend. however, we're recently hooked on david foster and friends.. classic slow songs... like the prayer, you raise me up... etc...

Its my last working day and i'm not ready for SAHM!!!!! how to get ready??? hahaha

Wow Mich
Last day already? So fast? You must have had a gazillion days of AL to clear!

Don't worry, you'll get into it really quick

Bbp
Oops sorry, I didn't mean that to be rude! It's just that 90.5 has imprinted a specific image in my mind!

Kangtao!
There's a shop called Creative Hands on L3 harbourfront, opp pricebreakers. 20 per cent off crayola! And other stuff. Yay!

Music:
I usually listen to FM95 and 99.5 when driving. At home, son's non-stop singing is enough to keep my ears full. nowadays, the only CDs and DVDs i buy are kiddy stuff...

Michelle,
Congrats!!! get ready for tai tai life... hi-tea, shopping, spa, facial, mani/pedicure, hair salon when E boy having his classes.... envy envy...

PB,
yes yes i like to visit that shop. always tell myself when i'm there.. can't wait till son is old enough to appreciate those arts and crafts. meanwhile, if i buy any of those, my hb will go "is this for you or son?"

son's awake... gtg...

steph
what is 99.5?! oh wait... "LUSH" is it?

actually they are old enough to appreciate arts and craft! even finger painting is considered 'art', no? :p

mich
yes i was there!!! had to get some things for poppy's school xmas party

sorry i missed the gatherin on sunday...

Mich
u quit???

PB
when is the garage sales, i will be there to see if any good lobang buys...

All the sicky mummies, get well soon...

Am busy with work, so catchup again.. buzz me for lunch as all my bosses are oof.

I used to be a music person (Radio on whole day) hubby came along and overpowered me (he's a TV on whole day person) *video killed the radio star* haha

in holiday mood liao coz I'm gonna fly home soon and prepare for our road trip tomorrow (prays for bbG to snooze all the way!)

MERRY CHRISTMAS MUMMIES and have a great time with your loved ones ya!

PB,
99.5 is Lush. I prefer the music selections. Class 95 seems to keep playing the samw songs. I like their night time music. Very sentimental sometimes.

I haven't been there for quite some time. Nowadays only have time to go grab diapers and groceries. Either stuck in office or sick at home.

DD,
Happy holidays and Bon voyage!!!

Jus now at a toy dept. E was viewing the barbie dolls n pressing them for sounds n lights. Then this girl abt 6 suddenly pop out n squeeze E away. N she was "showing" me n kept asking me to see, like wat E was doing. So I directed the kids away to see other toys but this girl jus kept pulling my bag n asking me to see.
Then it occured to me. Where r her parents?? N she lacks attention so much she is seeking it from other kids parents?

Youpi
Wah!! Goon do me dunno that they are redoing the whole park!!! And poor you cos u are so near. My parents current area still okie no dusty feeling. They just moved back there near the market.

Dd
Going where?? Hope u all enjoy the trip n bbg be a very good boy on the journey.

I was a radio person too n hubby tv person. I used to be soooo surprised when he would jus switch on the tv the moment he steps in his room but not watch it at all. LOL

D actually loves E a lot, as long as she is not being very insistent in having her way. Hahaha
When she is in her good mood, the 2 of them will hug n kiss. Lol
But she is doing that most of the time now so imagine the screamings at home.

Morning mums!

Just to share:

4918153.jpg

A whole lot of fun!

Err... if it's not clear enough, it's a "fishing kit". Fish made from felt with paper clips/bobby pins attached. Fishing road has magnet at the end of a piece of twine tied to it

Happy fishing!

PB
u r so creative! where did u get the magnet from?

cellow
hope your results turn out fine!

DD
have a good trip and have fun! merry xmas!

Dor
i did think of intro something to her for comfort but really hard. so far it's been latching only when she wakes up at night. she knows that she cannot latch to sleep. in the morn when she wakes and wan to latch i will refuse. hb said our conversation is very funny cos we sound like we are quarreling.

Jx: i want milk!
me: no milk. u promise me that when u wake up u will not ask for milk
Jx: no, i want milk!
me: what must u do when u wake up? brush teeth, eat breakfast, go school
Jx: i won't want brush teeth, i don't want eat breakfast, i don't wan go school, i wan milk!

(and she will scream and kick and shout)

me: you promise me already. you can only drink at night but not in morning
jx: i don't wan. i wan milk....

and it goes on and on and on. hb was sleeping but found our 'quarrel' so funny

michelle
envy envy!!! i miss the days tht i can spend with them doing stuff. now no leave so can't do anything at all! how come u got so much AL?

Morning,

PB
i have somethin like that too.. but i bought it la...

Mic
no worries, kayden is also classified as at risk for autism and referred to speech delay.
When are u startin?

mic
how come he was suddenly referred to child developement unit? did his teacher ever comment that he seems slow in speech?

Thanks for the music recommendations, mummies
You know how they say that men are visual creatures? That thought came to my mind while reading about how the hbs like TV while the mummies prefer the radio.

And here's our simple merry x'mas greeting to one and all: http://lilolale.blogspot.com/

Cellow
Wow, the doctor you see is working on Christmas day? Very dedicated indeed. Hope you get good news.

DD
Have great holiday!

PB
Very nice fishing set, beautifully made!

Crafty mummies
There are lots of resources online if you want ideas on what to to and how to do it. Just Google 'toddler' and 'craft'. One that I love and get inspired by is Made By Joel at http://madebyjoel.blogspot.com/ He makes the most amazing, beautiful things out of normal everyday objects.

MIch
Why is Ethan referred? If there is a problem, it is good that he will be getting early guidance and help to overcome it.

Smiggle
How's the pregnancy going? Good that you got early intervention for Kayden too. At least he's learning his letters well.

michelle,
therapy def will help!
hooray to SAHM-dom!! temp or permanent SAHM?

SY,
i also think that your conversation w JX is super funny. how did you get her to go to school in the end?

audio atmosphere
used to be 98.7, then graduated to Class 95. now mostly no good songs, so tune into 92.4. sleepy music

dor,
strange hor. youpi encountered a 6yo at library and now your encounter w 6yo at the mall. do parents really think that 6yos are old enuf to be left by themselves!?

*marvels at PB's home made fishing set*
C1's fishing set is store bought :p
i hvnt got a craft-y finger in my body

Mich
Why is eboy referred to child Devt unit? Could it be that he's simply a man of few words? Or are there specific "markers"? Don't worry ok? *hug*

Youpi
I love love love that site too!!! The paper clip trick to make the animals stand - gosh, what an ingenious idea! And what an excellent artist he is! I so cannot draw for nuts. Is he a stay home dad? I want to buy his book :D

Cellow, SY
Thanks. But no I am not all that creative. I am a good copycat though! I see an idea and think "hey I can do that for poppy!" and I think of easier ways to do it (lazy lazy!). That's why I love doing this for poppy - she has no QC benchmark whatsoever!

For me it is "the spirit is willing so the flesh has no choice but to follow" haha

Cos of his speech delay loh, suddenly not progressing any further so doing more assessments to find out why. I expected it, and kinda wanted the referral cos I know it'll be helpful. But somehow when the pd handed me the referral form, it felt so darn heavy and, how should I put it, not a nice feeling. pd was sure eboy shows no signs of autism though, so it's just speech development slow...

Hugs to mich. Am sure everything will, turn out good.

Youpi- yr blog is so interesting. And u must tell me how yr hubby's interview w Jack black went. Bet it must hv been hilarious.. That guy is super funny

Youpi
so far so good, except the stomach flu..
this boy very 'guai'...

dont worry Mich,
boys are slower, kayden also very slow.. but at least if he has the interest to listen and learn, its good enuff...
someotimes, it just good to get the referral and get a peace of mind.

cellow
jx is in a way easy. once i get past her tantrums, she will fall back into routine easily. one thing for her is that she is a routine person. so once i get her on breakfast, change uniform etc everything follows

youpi, PB
there's another site that is quite good for crafts. i used to follow. let me go dig it out

michelle
yeah peace of mind. maybe the diagnosis will be ok for all u know. last time PD refer me to a specialist for jx for stomach but the specialist said her digestion ok. but he would like to track her growth cos not much weight gain.

u feel that e boy not talking much? maybe it's a phase?

it's almost upon us!!!

wishing all mums and tots (big or otherwise) a most blessed christmas!!!

sy
even as i'm typing this, pomfret is there screaming "mama! me ask to drink milk!!!" sigh. some day some day, she'll be weaned. it has to happen. pls God some day soon.

youpi,

Enjoyed reading your blog! Beautiful pictures and beautiful writing! Comparatively, I can't write at all. Thus I gave up keeping a blog, people will probably get bored reading it!
You are really good at keeping your kiddos occupied! Again, comparatively, I am a lazy mummy. Only use TV to entertain. I can't do art and crafts for nuts and I am so afraid of getting the place dirty. hiaz! But i will try to check out the link for the crafts....lets see if this lazy mummy can do anything creative....

Mich,

Early intervention is definitely better than no intervention. E boy defintely dun look autistic at all.

SY,

Wow latching till now. Really peifu. Here I am counting the weeks when I can stop BF...*bad mummy*

Botanic Gardens,

Real shame I missed it. Up till today I am still suffering from fatigue from my bro's wedding. Bringing 2 kids out is really no joke, plus I had to entertain the overseas guests the day we were supposed to go to BG. I am sooooo lacking in sleep and rest. This weekend flying to JKT without the kids to attend my boss' son's wedding. Going to catch up on my sleep debt when there. :p

Cin,

Yours is regressing behavior, mine is agressive behavior. My boy is trying to lay his hands on his sister. he has scratched her head (there was blood), pinched her cheeks (until blue black) and took a dig at her eyeballs and still trying to dig out her eyeballs whenever we are not watching. *hiaz* and guess what..my aunt tells me "He is just like you when you were young!! You bullied your younger brother the same way" oopppss..guess it is my genes then...

Smiggle
You are a Matt Reilly fan too, right? I just finished The Five Greatest Warriors. Yah very late, I know. Is this the last book in the series? Do you know?

Batgirl
Thanks! Hb also contributes. I am IT-challenged and have no idea how to post a pic here - tried but never succeeded - so resorted to this
Wah your description of Wuffy's behaviour really made me laugh :D Your gene pool is very strong!

Cin
Apparently he was not as hilarious in real life. He's quite a devoted daddy though!

Dustee
Mine is "mama qing ni gei wo he nai!" at increasing decibels, especially when we are on public transport ;\

Batgirl - how do u deal w wuffy's when he bullies his mei mei
..lol, yr aunt has very good memory.

Youpi - lol! At least l is polite. Hehe

i can't sleeeeeeep. holiday stress i think.

"tv killed the radio star"
DD, so true! mr dustee just likes to switch on the tv even when there's nothing worthwhile watching.

youpi
how to listen to something that we like when the young uns are constantly by our side? esp if it's all noisy and occasionally filled with objectionable content ( i really wouldn't want pomfret to start singing 'like a virgin' to my ils)

and if i tried to play radiohead in this house, it feels all wrong....

yes L is very polite! i have to remind pomfret 'ask me nicely' then she'll retort a 'please! milk! now! isa asking mama for milk!' much as i can't bear to stop her completely now, yet it drives me crazy when she keeps asking for it even when she's just had a solid meal, or a drink. i don't like being a pacifier anymore!

steph
ooooh i used to love lush 99.5 too! but now cannot, house must be quiet else mil will complain. bleah.

batgirl
oh no, wuffy's feeling very jealous? last time when my second nephew arrived, we had to constantly watch when the first nephew was around, coz you never know when he's gonna slap the poor baby.

once at my ex-coll's house, i commented that her baby was so cute, then her elder boy picked up a toddler chair and threw it at me coz he was so jealous!

i guess you gotta just keep reassuring him that you love him, and now he has a baby sister to love too. or maybe you gotta bring him out a few times, just him alone.

pb
gosh you really put in lots of effort for poppy! all i did was go out and buy a set of magnetic fishing toys!!! i would never think about making it.

cin
talking about regression... pat pat. when my bil and family relocated back to sg from melbourne, they just had a second baby. the elder boy would also regress back to grunting instead of using words, and refusing to use the toilet, or refusing to eat by himself. but after a few months he did go back to behaving like the older toddler. and again he was so traumatized by everything that was happening, he even once tried to smother pomfret with a pillow. (my heart stopped and i could have slapped his parents to mars, but that's another story)

pat pat.

cin,

honestly speaking, i still have not figured out a way to deal with this. When we scold him, he is so sad. he will either hide under the bed and refuse to come out. or he will hug you so tightly to sort of say "please dun scold me anymore mummy/papa, I love you...." When we reason or tell him nicely why he should not do it, he will give me the cheeky grin and try to change topic. A typical conversation:

Me : Wu Feng, you cannot poke mei mei in the eyes, it is painful.

Wuffy (with innocent look) : I want to watch frog (his fav leapfrog DVD).

Me (repeats): Wu Feng, did you hear me? Don't poke mei mei in the eyes again, it is painful.

Wuffy (with same angel look) : Mummy, I want bread!

Me : Wu Feng......

Wuffy : Mummy, I sing song! rain rain go away, come again another day....

Me : ..........

Hiaz, can somebody teach me how to handle this? The next thing is to go and buy cane. But I dun want to beat him because of his sister. dilemma....