(2008/07) July 2008

hugs to poppy and wuffy! get well soon.

we came back fm the freebie museum night out this evening. both C1 and C2 knocked out now.

alamak lunch was so filled with shoving food into mouth while trying not to get any bits of fried chicken and soupy stuff onto C2's head tt conversation took a back seat.... i m so looking forward to C2 being able to sit upright by himself, instead of in the ergo.
i felt like a feeding pig, open mouth, insert food, chew, and repeat. hehe

oh my fren's daughter born in Jun 08 came to visit us today. she is such a prefect once she warmed up. told C1 to 'go play toy toy!' accompanied by a mild shove on C1's shoulder and hand gestures... C1 most likely hasnt encountered ano child giving him instructions yet.... he ran to Mr C, hugged Mr C's leg while yelling 'PAPA!' indignantly. LOL

Mr C best. Told C1 that he cannot keep running to papa if he marries a bossy wife.

LOLOLOLOLOL

let off steam and residual angst over maid
there are 2 ways we can treat them when they first come. treat them well or treat them like sm1 we command.

when my maid first came nearly 2 yrs ago, it was my first time hiring one. having a stranger in the hse ws a big change. i belonged to the human-rights, treat-them-well camp. let her call home on the very first day to let her family know she is safe and well. everything i ate, she ate. when teaching her how to care for bb, cook or clean hse, my mtd is to ok-i-do-once, then later you do exactly what i do. during the teaching, even when she does smthing wrong for hsework and cooking, i let it be. tis ok i tell myself everyone needs time to learn. i dun shout or swear at pple as a matter of rule, let alone a poor defenceless maid who is away fm her family.... so overall ok.

then why m i getting rid of her when her contract expires in oct?

no sense of <font color="0000ff">Gratitude</font>. her contract states no off days for 2 years. during these 1 yr 9 months, she has been off... maybe a total of 4-5 times... sunday afternoons. twice to celebrate her bday, and a few more times to shop for stuff for her family back home.
every single time, she is of course with her cousins/frens/relatives. and every single time, she is late coming back home. by at least an hour. the first 2x, i can understand if need to take bus and bus doesnt come. after that, what is your excuse liao.... sigh

and she comes back w stories like this cousin has a tv in her room, that cousin has off days to learn computer. my response is always ok lor, if you think you can get better working conditions elsewhere, pls feel free to leave. i m not running a slave hse.

best of all is last sunday. she had the whole day off... i told her to shop for stuff, remit money etc etc run her personal errands on that day itself. but noooooooooo, monday morning, she still ask me if she can go out to remit money.

in the office, if boss give me smthing extra, even if i think tis not enuf for my efforts, i will act very happy in front of boss.

this maid doesnt. she got the cheek to black face me, and throw my things abt, and anyhow do the hsework (but i watch over her like a hawk and tell her off instantly when it comes to C1 and C2)

so i conclude
i shall not be so kind anymore to the next one. must from the start let her know who is boss. my human-rights, treat-them-well stance is now reversed.
of course i m not gonna be nasty or abuse the maid. just... a very firm hand is needed to employ one. my attitude has changed to - this is my hsehold, tis either my way or the highway. only later if she proves she is sensible and teachable and humble, then i will take her opininons into consideration. the first few months, she will just be a pair of extra helping hands, no more. i dun need her mouth (opinions) or her brains - yet. until she has proven her worth.

sigh... my angst over my maid is surfacing yet again.

dor,
hahaha. he does have his moments

backtrack a bit to earlier posts.

oh pb, you can give poppy lactofort, which is an over the counter prebiotic. tis the same stuff that is in yakult, good bacteria for the gut. quite safe, no side effects one, PD recommended when i said C1's poo was a bit runny for a few days. tis like drinking yakult w/o the effects of sugar high.

coughs
C1 has been coughing again this week. night cough only, so this is a 'liang' cough? what to give him in terms of medicines or supplements, mummies?

Cellow,
Haha, agree with dor. Mr C is super funny.
With regards to the maid, you poor thing. That's why I stay out of maid affairs. One thing I'm happy about my ILs being home, I don't have to tell the maid what to do. Yay!

Milestones:
I am not going to think about what I have yet to complete. Of cos the biggest is moving this not-so-little boy to his own mattress! Sigh.

DD,

Like PB, mine is nowhere near toilet trained. prefers drinking from bottle. Fluids in cup will end up on his shirt or his head, he also uses it as a hand-washing bowl. I just started him on his toddler bed. He loves his bed, but he keeps falling off it. :p Going to have to buy a bed rail soon.

PB,

You have to stop the usual milk. Buy Isomil (soy based) or pediasure (lower lactose), and like what cellow mentioned, can feed her lactofort. even when she stops her diarrhoea, still got to continue the "special" milk for about a week to monitor. Cos if you think the lao sai is gone, you change back the milk, the runs start again.

Hate it when they get diarrhoea, in the middle of the nite also lao sai.

Cellow,

LOL on Mr C's comments!

I agree with you on the helper thing. cannot be too nice at first..but not to the extent of being mean la. Observe a few weeks to a month to see what kind of character she is. Then slowly decide if you want to loosen the reins or tighten them.

As for coughs, I also dunno what to give wuffy. I only try to pump him with water, make sure he is warm at the chest. In the morning, wait for him to puke up the phelgm. hiaz...

Tks girls. We stopped giving her fresh milk andonly give powdered milk for now. 5 time yesterday and zero times today. Alamak.

Cellow
Mr C's comments - hilarious! Re maid at home: yes it's tough. We want to be nice and treat them well but really, some don't appreciate and take advantage. Ultimately, it's ur own home and u shd do what makes u happy

Batgirl
Poppy also likes to use cup to wash hands! Maybe she thinks she is at a seafood restaurant eating crab and washing fingers after? Hehe. Oh and she loves to put food into the cup too :S

Cellow
I will boil the xue li with nan xing, bei xing and add chuan bei powder. Suppose to boil 3 bowl till 1 bowl but I will put it into the thermal pot to boil with abt 1 1/2 bowl of water n let the kids drink it like water for the whole day.
Simple 1 leh, I will jus give D sambucus....hehehe

Maid thingy......
I used to see my mum getting so fustrated over the maid and even though we used to have maids for some years.....I still cannot get used to having 1....haha
So pity you all who cannot hit jackpot n get the right maid. My friend has 1 she trust so much she goes on holidays with her friends n leave her son with the maid in sg.

Batgirl
Ur so funny with that "He loves his bed, but he keeps falling off it."....haha

Cup:
Mine will drink from a cup only with a straw attached. As for straight from the cup, he will only take half a sip and then wave the cup around... and the water spills out. And did I mention that the precious white marble tiles get stains even from water?

dor,
Haha, I love the "I will just give sambucus".. I like simple tips.

anyone can advise how to start toilet training?? XP likes to put her bear in potty, but she herself does not want to sit on potty... like that dunno how to train (-.-")

waiwai
Dun force bah. When she put her bear on potty u do role play with her lor. So that she knows its not something scary. Jus play along n show her what happens when bear sit on the potty. Then after a few times tell her its her tirn then reward her with a sticker or something after she sit.
Jus make it into a very proud n happy thing even if she jus sat on it for 2 sec.

Ember will pretend to bring her baby to pee or poo then will imitate us and scold her baby for bluffing her and not peeing and smack her baby's butt. hahaha

Woo hoo..guess who just poo-poo-ed in the big boy toilet bowl haha

how's poppy n her tummy? She's so dainty looking in her little gold pumps

maid matters..sigh..why do they have to steal food even after being caught a few times? Guess it's normal to covet for good stuff or things that are forbidden? But we've grown so comfy having someone do the housework..

On a happier note..it was great to beat the rain m have fun at the beach before it started to drizzle.. Though someone was like a little prince who didn't quite like sand in his sandals initially..

Hope the week ahead is great for all of us...

Enjoy the rest of the sun evening

Dd which beach did you go to?? We went to ecp this morning and right after brekkie, the rain came.
no beach and no chance for eboy to try out his new bike. In yhe end we went to the totsfortennis indoor court to see a bunch of kids playing tennis and eboy got excited!!!

Cellow, what you waiting for? Change a new maid!!!!

Hey we were at ecp! At 8 til abt 9plus when it started to drizzle..

Okie..talked to helper who teared n apologized..told her no more chances next time..told her to be more frank wiv me..nt hAppy or wanna eat..just ask.. Hope things hold up..meanwhile I really better start my research on childcare sigh

quick check in!

big hug to poppy and wuffy. hope they are better

PB
it helps if u dun give milk for a while. lactofort is good. i have lots of those at home! it helps a lot. if she still having the runs u may want to bring her to doc, they usually give loporemide (dunno how to spell) but very effective at stopping the runs. soy milk dun taste good so she may not take it. best is not to drink milk

DD
dun worry abt all these milestones. Jh still drinks from the bottle!

jx tries to drink from cup nowadays. she likes to use the cap from my bottle. as for potty training, i m super way behind...haha....at the same age, jh cd go diaper free in the day.

michelle
so sorry that i forgot to inform u we can't make it in the end cos of jx's fever. reminded myself to let u know but always get disctracted by the kids.

since bringing jx for blood test, think she quite traumitised. now at night, she dun wan me anymore...haha good for me right. but really poor thing. i almost cried when they took blood from her. she cried so hard....lucky the test result was ok.

SY
I must hv missed an earlier post. Why did JX need a vlood test?

Thanks mummies. Will remember lactofort for *touch wood* next time

We are wiped out cos went for HSBC tree top walk yesterday! Me mostly just legs tired. But bluebunny and my dad arms tired as well cos they took turns carrying poppy over rough terrains hehe. But she did walk quite a bit as well! Good on her. So adventerous.

DD
How about if u gave ur helper a container and buy some snacks for her?

Dilema again
Bluebunny is starting to look for job again. Which means pop will go to full day childcare. Alrd, I don't spend enough time with her. Being at childcare means even less time!

Mums with kids at childcare and 2 working parents, how do you do it!

pb: we do share our snacks and buns with her leh... think she's just tempted by more goodies she see around.. if she took one or two, it wouldn't have been noticeable.. but imagine she ate away half an unopened can of chocs.. which was in a closed cupboard in IL's room! sigh..

and while all these happened.. the issue of bbG going to childcare came up again.. and how I dread sending him to one (u all should know wat kinda separation anxiety issues I have .. plus the extra-paranoia about him being alone.. or being walked to school) and how he will fall sick a lot, eat not-so-fantastic food there.. not being pat to sleep all that... arrgh! but okok i must come to reality... almost every kid goes anyway.. and he will have to grow up and i will have to let go one day...

*takes deep breath* okie here comes a new week.... ganbatte everyone!

I know what u mean DD. They will grow up and we will have to let go one day. But I'm hoping "one day" will be later rather than sooner!

Girls,
NTUC FairPrice has withdrawn some eggs from its shelves as a precautionary measure. Pls see store for details.

If u have bought any of the following eggs, you can return them at any FairPrice outlet with or without packaging or receipt for a refund.

Lim chu kang fresh eggs
Lim chu kang low cholestrol eggs
Promo fresh eggs
N N large farm eggs

morning all..

pb + dd - i can understand how u gals feel abt e cc thingy.. altho both hb n i are working parents but at least kids taken care of by grandparents.. sometimes tempted to send them to cc as i think they will be more independent and learn more social skills.. but but but.. just so difficult knowing tt they wun get as much love.. but but but. at e moment, both gettg v spoilt and notti.. so how? haha

Good monday morning.... eboy woke soooo early today, sooo tired!!!

re eggs
oops, we always buy from market, so how to know if got recall or not? what's the cause of recall?

cc
its a struggle but its really not as bad as you would think... they really have FUN and Play a lot.. the kids will love it eventually...
lucky for me, i only need to send half day, and the other half day, eboy still gets TLC from his grannies! things will work out, just follow your heart, ok?

DD still putting on straits jacket har.. hee.. time to loosen up a little, slowly lah.. he'll grow up sooner than you are ready for it, so brace yourself and start scouting for a school that you think its best for him.. I am currently struggling between this really HUGE preschool that i think eboy will enjoy vs $$$
essentially everything I earn goes to funding his school so worth it or not????? strugle struggle struggle...

youpi, the jackets fit L? hope they can be of good use.. enjoy your holiday...

my lethargic spells seem to be back to haunt me... feeling like no energy for anything!

tomorrow is eboy's birthday and i still have no idea where to bring him to....

PB
jx had fever for a week and it din go down despite medication. so PD sent her for blood test. she struggled so hard during the test until i scared she will have bruises from me holding her so hard.

hmmm u know, i used to be agst cc. cos i feel that they spend so little time at home if they go to cc, will they feel loved etc etc. but since making the decision to go back to work, i decide that putting them in cc is the next best option vs sending them to preschool and then coming home to maid.

they actually enjoy themselves tree. even though jx will cry buckets when i leave and grab me very tightly when i leave, i know she will enjoy herself later. she feeds herself in sch, tries to shower herself and best of all, falls asleep by herself in school! it's funny but in sch, she takes her nap soooo easily. she dun even stir during nap whereas at home, she will wake a few times during her nap.

another plus point is that they will not watch so much tv when in cc.

of cos minus point is that fall sick easily, eat less etc

i got over this struggle abt cc, i m sure u can too if u really need to put her in cc. most importantly, find a place that u like, poppy like, bluebunny like and also that the teachers do communicate with u. jx's teachers will detail down how long she cry, how long she sleeps whether she finish her food etc.

michelle
which sch are u looking at?

think the eggs are getting recalled cos got some antibodies strain found in some eggs.

morning....

quick one!
any of your toddlers throw tantrums these days?
Cedric tortured us for the entire weekend... my hand itched to connect w his butt/calf so many times over the past 3 days lor....

mich u taking tomorrow off to spend the day with him too?

Thurs who wanna go royce in the morning :D

seeing how sociable bbG is now (to the extent that he will walk away, holding hands with a total stranger GULP), I think you are right about him having no problems adapting to CC (I'll be the one crying non stop!!)

but worry about him learning bad stuff at school (he's onto broken english.. and makes his dinosaur fight and say things like bus bang.. i die..!! now.. guess who he learns from man)

the not-so-fantastic meals they will have..
the catching of bugs and falling sick..
whoever's gonna send him to n fro.. unless i do it..and that means CC near my work place and long travelling time with me..

what's happening with our eggs? what antibody strain?

tantrums? wohohoho! bbG screamed and kicked and cried (and nearly wanted to bite me!) when I forced him out of bathtub after more than an hour... had to let him calm down then hug and talk to him nicely thereafter... of course had to distract him with something to make him stop.. hehe

heart beating very fast today.. and legs aching from a 20 min run on the treadmill!

cellow,
i think is quite common ba. Bosco throw his tantrum like no one's business. cry n scream n shout to get watever he wans. me n hubby just throw him at one corner n let him cry until happy le.. den we ask him "enuff? enuff den come over." den he guai guai sit down n forget watever he was crying for. LOL!

DD
Lol on "bus bang"! Poppy is "tree fall! Boom!"

Tantrum
Usually happens when we climb up stairs to home, she jumps with triumphant "I did it!" Then cries and rolls on floor at home cos we're back home :S

I also got it once when she wanted to lie on the floor at the hawker centre. Sometimes can still scoop her up and bounce and laugh and she'll join in. It's when she wriggles and makes it hard to carry her that I find very trying

I also get "no mange! (No eat!)" at times. So have resorted to distraction by tv. All the things I said I would never do haha

CC
Have I said this alrd? I know she will enjoy CC. I have even come to terms with the fact that she'll be away from both bunny parents. It's the how and who to bring her there and back that I'm concerned abt. I do go for courses and mtgs occasionally so a place near work is not the best option. If near home, then it's still a distance to travel. Sigh. Honestly wondering if it would so make sense to get a car

Cellow,
tantrums have been plentiful lately. I've even used the cane on him once yesterday. Sorry Declan, but once you're 2, you can't get away with stuff anymore. Same as holly, I just ignore him when he throws himself to the floor and kicks and cries. And if I'm in a particularly foul mood, I put him on the naughty step and tell him to stay there until I say otherwise.

tantrums
eboy so far has mostly resort to whining and crying, and when we ignore, he will sit down and cry, and if we still ignore, he will lie down on the floor... and he will stay there UNTIL one of us pick him up.. then have to pacify for a loooooong time (sometimes he cried until fall asleep) before he satisfied.. he will end up crying uncontrollably..

other times, he will just throw things purposely.

we have hit his hands once, and again he cried uncontrollably until sleep.

So to avoid letting him cry uncontrollable (unless we have an iron heart), i mostly will pick him up and bring him somewhere else to distract him. then someone will say I am a chief spoiler at home and eboy will grow up being a spoilt child and blah blah blah..

i also dunno what is the best, but that;s what my blain and my heart tells me to do loh..

and thank goodness eboy is mostly quite ok and seldom throws tantrums unless he is super tired liao, then in some cases, he will cry until sleep, and very poor thing, can see he sleep liao still sniffing, eyes swollen, tears on both sides of his cheeks..

i considering to get a cane as well. 2 already, is time to really discipline him. i will put him to face the wall as well until i ask him to come over n talk. make sure he knows why he was being punished and hopefully he wun do it again.

aiyo, looks like I am really spoiling eboy cos i always distract him, and hubby always scold me why i reward his bad behaviour with more of my attention.. hmmm... but but but he cries uncontrollably wor!!! anyone facing same situation??

re: tantrums

I think my fren really learn alot from super nanny. her boy can auto go to his noti corner n stand there. haaa

she told me to keep consistencies in my teachings. ok for eg if she go to forbidden place n I tell her cant n she still insist, I must bring her to noti corner liao. cannot 1 or 2 times ignore. punishment must always be the same thing to reinforce that if she does that, she will get this in return.

cos I told her abt G goin to kitchen when maid is cooking. as u know, it v dangerous n previously as I back home quite late n tired. I really have no energy to scold n punish her. sometimes I guilty of ignoring it as I get headache by hearing her crying loudly.

my fren scold me n say i not consistent. it not the kids fault act. then from the day, I try the noti corner, She cry for v long of cos. but I preserve lo. wat to do? next few days also like tat n I still do the same. but I really discover her crying times are shorter liao. now, I realise she v seldom go inside liao.

Michelle, u got to see y he whining abt, if it for attention n u feel he has lack of it, then of cos got to pick him up. But if for reasons is purely misbehaving (getting wat he wans) u shldn't pick him up really. Shld enforce the noti corner to tell him crying doesn't help to get his way. my fren say initially it will take v v long to calm them 1. can even for few hrs! so be patient n consistent. kids love consistency! u must also tell him y u punish him after he has calm down.

What a busy weekend. Both girls are down with flu and Emma was so pitiful when she sleeps. The pleghm made her sound like she's snoring so loud.

Tantrums
Emma occasionally throw tantrums as well and nowadays she cries easily and the tears are flowing down like a river hahaha. We tend to distract her and she'll be ok for a minute before she remembers that she's not suppose to stop easily heheh. I would distract her for a second time with another stuff and she's not crying anymore. Afterward I will talk to her. She seemed to understand so the next time I spot her whiny behavior I will sternly told her whining is a no-no.

oh no, eboy gets A LOT of attention, by more than 1 adult most of the time!! so he's just naughty! want something and we don't give him, he will throw things to show tantrum, and we scold him, then he will cry and the uncontrollably episode will start... really don't stop one... got once, he cried throughout from shopping centre all the way home.. we had to grip him and hold him tight cos he struggling and crying very badly.. heartpain leh!!

Michelle,

yes my gal also cry uncontrollably kind. it liek anytime she will vomit so I use to be v worried. told my fren tat noti corner like not helping cos each time i put her there she run towards me

she say it like tat for start 1, slowly they will learn the concept. kids r smarter than we think lo. guess my gal know by crying we tend to wan to give in. so shldn't give them the thot.

Michelle,

then u shld nt give in n distract him liao!
did he throw tantrum at shopping mall then u all send him home immed?

ya sure heartpain but once he reach home, u must put him to his noti corner n stand quietly for 2 min there. if he cant stop crying (he sure will stop for sure) he has to remain there.

but each time he misbehave u have to do this. if not he be confused. dun give in to his tantrums, if not u be his slave liao.

Tantrums,

My boy does it too. When he does it, we try by ignoring him. Then he starts throwing his things out of the window (we stay on the 22nd floor), then will kenna beating by us. But problem is, he still repeats it. hiaz, dunno what to do man.

but if he throw tantrums becos he is sick or tired, we tend to give chance and give more attention. Like yday, he pratically cried for 2 hours as his nose was blocked and he was feeling unwell. Batman has to carry him around the house, until his back cannot take it. Then I took over to try to pacify him. He wanted to drink from my water bottle, so I let him have my water bottle, while I took his bottle (the one with the teat) and played "yam seng" with him, until he got "drunk" and fell asleep. :p

horrible night yday, and so today I am panda eyed.

Michelle,

Happy birthday to E-Boy! We also took leave tomorrow to celebrate Wuffy's birthday. No idea where to bring him yet, cos both Wuffy and I are down with FLU!!!! but i guess we will try to go outdoors, like the bird park. :D

Happy birthday wuffy and Ethan !

Batgirl,
Ezekiel too likes to throw things Down the window when he was 20 mths or so. So we decided to fix the mossie net.. Tho no point coz we will shift out but for the safety of others .. No choice..

Lol on wuffy yamseng-ing until drunk! Batgirl, go zoo la. I personally find zoo more fun

Naughty corner
First I have to find a corner I think! Hehe. I tried once but she just rolled on the floor screaming then rolling away from corner and I kept rolling her back like popiah.

haaa PB, popiah! yum yum... hahaha just kidding.

my kids will scream n yell n throw their bodies to me each time i send them there.... must wrestle man!

but my fren kid can just walk over, though he also look unwilling lo. i thot her son v guai but she say trained out 1. hahaha

then i have another fren who just move house n quizzed her son abt noti corner. he say he wanna create 1 such corner. fren ask if he will go n stand nxt time when he noti. he reply no... hahaha my fren say so wat the use of me creating tat corner then if u dun go? haaa

The mention of popiah made me remember this: anyone has kangtao for good popiah skin and recipe for the inside filling? I'm organising family popiah party la

happy birthday boys! hope you have a great day ahead tomorrow!

ooh.. our kiddos are testing their boundaries now eh.. with all these tantrums flying around..

batgirl: wah u stay so high up! must be very windy... u got window grills right? I stayed on the 27th floor for a short while and was quite afraid of going near the window or looking out haha.. guess who's got height phobia...

LOL to poppy rolling away from her thinking corner and PB having to roll her back!

bbp: you used mr cane on little adorable deckie?? awww... can't picture him being really naughty...

popiah skin and filling: urr.. can't help... cooking not my field of expertise.. but recall qing had a family popiah party before too?

is the zoo really that much fun? only been there twice despite how near we are to it!

okie dokz.. gonna check out what's new at the sprees.. hehe

Michelle
*Raise Hand* here here me too.
I am very very afraid of Ember crying cos once she start, its very hard to stop n she will easily cry until she vomit kind lor.

PB
LOL ur floor must be very clean with all that rolling from Poppy.....hahaha

I know there is a few places selling these popiah stuff for DIY....must ask my hubby where it is cos he took me there once.
But if U wanna cook it urself its quite easy. (But maybe mine is the short cut version....hahaha)

I jus pound dried shrimp then fry with the turnip and carrot. I will cook this jus to eat when I have the mood.....hahaha

Noti corner:
I use a noti step. And it happened once that I was really angry and I just shouted "go, go and sit on the step!" and Declan walked to the step and sat there, all the while crying. I was really surprised when he did it!

Dd,
he really tries my patience nowadays. But today's a good day