(2008/07) July 2008

Just got this from JG if anyone is interested:

Chiltren House Mountbatten Open House
Block A#01-00, 231 Mountbatten Road Singapore 397999
Thursday, 29 July 2010
9.30 to 11.30 am and 2.30 to 4.30 pm
Please call 62428368 to indicate your attendance.
The usual admin fee of $200 will be waived for each confirmed registration during the open house.

IMM playground is not bad. Dry area is sheltered, wet one is not so don't go at noon. And obviously, since it is IMM, don't go on a weekend

Dustee
Poor u la, honestly. Choice of things to say to her:

"don't worry ma, she's not in pain. A bit of crying strengthens the lungs. And we don't want her to grow up to be a spoilt brat right?" *flash biggest smile*

"I also tell my friends you are a wonderful grandmother and pomfret is so lucky to have a caring grandmother"

"Say and do all you want. I'm leaving soon. Nie nie ne bu bu"

pb
the last one is a gem! though i'm not sure she'd understand 'Nie nie ne bu bu'

deep in my heart i think of my mil as a poor lonely old lady. y'know, one of those who still haven't gotten over the empty nest? (of coz technically, the nest never empty since my hb never moved out) but the fact is, your kids are grown, you gotta accept that they are going out into the world and making their own decisions, and those decisions may not be to your liking.

so i have decided to try to be cordial to her at least. i just have to accept that she may not be such to me. i gotta treat her well unconditionally. it's this unconditionally that's tough lah. we can love our kids unconditionally, but to love ils unconditionally, might be easier to get a whole body tattoo.

crystal
i considered the half day program in those full-day cc types, but then cost-wise it's like i'm paying full 5 hours while i'm planning to let her attend only for 3. so thought better find pure playgroup types.

eh yes once i move out i'm not sure how i'm gonna cope. definitely by then she has to attend SOMETHING! ANYTHING! just so i have a couple of hours a day to do chores.

Dustee
Playgroups are usually 2 hrs. Not enough time to go home and do chores then rush out to pick kiddo up unless you live very close to the location of the playgroup. Or if you do chores very quickly. Don't kill me for saying this, but maybe you could drop Pomfret off to play with MIL for a few hours each day? You get some time off, Pomfret gets TLC from her grandma, and MIL gets her me-time with Pomfret.

Playgrounds
Sembawang Shopping Centre's is very nice and still new-ish. Sheltered dry area, open wet area. Wet area starts up at around 4.45-5pm. Lot 1 at CCK has a smaller one. This requires shoes off and no food or drinks (the security guard actually enforces it) so the area is cleaner than usual.

dustee
i think if you did the hand movements (thumbs into cheeks and fingers moving) she'd get it :D

oh gosh. girls, when i am a big lao ban niang one day, remind me that being super fickle is a big no-no ok? what a day, what a day, what a day it's been at work.

youpi
actually i do plan to drop her off at ils to play with them (if not that rather beats the reason of buying a home so near them) but right now mr dustee feels i should come here as well while she plays with them. (coz right now the sil comes back with the kids, and she stays here whole day with them) i told him the time would be better used if i stayed home to do chores.

pb
actually when i'm the boss i would be quite a scary one. (of coz only realized this on hindsight) i only led a couple of projects back at work and i think i terrorized everyone in the team. mb that's why never got promoted much coz EQ too low lah.

Dustee,
I guess I'm still luckier cos my mil doesn't believe in spoiling. I just have to be wary of my fil who's more likely to spoil. Actually same goes for my own parents la. I've blackfaced my ils before when they do something I don't like or make sure I stand really firm aka letting dec cry for close to an hour. So now they know that when I say no, I mean no. Of cos I've also relaxed a little more in terms of outside food but still no snacks 2h before a proper meal.

Anyhow, I do feel that grandparents tend to create situations where they want the child to love them the most. But my hubby will prob say that's just my bias and hallucination. So I'll just sympathize with you on that particular topic ok?

And yes, I do not join in when my ils or even parents play with dec. For what? I get a chance to rest and do adult things and especially for my ils, they converse with dec in mandarin while I MOSTLY converse with him in English. Too messy having too many languages in one conversation me thinks. And... For what???? Oh, and they Like to bring him up to THEIR room/floor when they wanna play with him. For the aircon maybe, for the electronic keyboard maybe, for the cheena songs maybe, for the fengshui maybe. But I ain't gonna trudge all the way up to third floor to sit around la.

Oops, did I just let out a bit of angst there? :p

Dustee,
when it's time for pomfret's nap or shower or etc, would closing the door and LOCKING it be a big enough hint for your mil to get the idea to stay out?
Oh oh, one technique I used in the states, when the kid misbehaves, say something to the effect of "that method won't work with me. Only your xxxxx falls for that trick."
or would it be ok to simply state "ma, please don't do that. I'm trying to discipline her. "

Happy Friday, mummies! Oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah hey!!

I see BBP has unleashed her inner fire!

Come to think of it, I did feel really retarded when MIL played with poppy and I was smiling lovingly from the background. I just feel that when anyone else but me plays with poppy, they will ultimately lose interest and walk away. And I want to be there to fill the gap. But anyhoo, now that I don't spend that much time with her, I sometimes don't know what to do or where to go with her! Was I a SAHM failure or what - isn't it supposed to be like riding a bicycle? You just don't forget how to play with a child, do you?

morning!

2nd day of full time work for me. C2 on bottle strike ytd, only drank less than 50ml at 920am and deigned to drink fm bottle 90ml at 115pm, then snoozed the whole afternoon away till i came home at 6pm to latch him. ah well, michelin bb C2 has a lot of reserves, so no worries no worries.
today C1's cc is closed for staff retreat..... i wonder how aunt + silly maid will cope.... ah well... cannot think too much la

dustee,
ah oh, the drama continues eh.
youpi's suggestion gets my thumbs up too! heck care wat mr dustee says

bbp,
tis ok. we all hv angst.
and no, i dun stick around while the grandparents play w C1 (and in future, C2). i just trust they would return him to me intact, no limbs broken and an occasional snack is fine too. just dun feed him too close to porridge time, else if he doesnt eat, then i will nicely ask them to pls finish his porridge too. haha. that is usually a good enuf deterrent to mindless offering of food to C1.
GOOOD technique! i have used the 'ma, pls dun do that. i m trying to discipline him' too

cellow, you started work alreadyyyyy!!so fast!!!! then JSP also start liao???

dustee, now its easy for Mr Dustee to say. leave the house dirty, laundry undone, shirts un-iron... he will say, yew, why never clean. you go" I'm with pomfret the whole day IN YOUR MOM HOUSE what do you expect? why dun YOU bring pomfret over in weekend while I get some cleaning done" .. hey hey hey, we'll see we'll see...

wah youpi, you really go places.. CCK you also know... clap clap clap.

No idea what happened to eboy last night. woke up at 5am yelling. I gave him milk. he wants to be carried. I carried him to put him on our bed (usually works). he cried. so i rocked. he still din sleep. pointed he wants out of my room. I thought he is being naughty. I hardened my heart and left him alone in his room. he cried and cried louder for another 20mins. something must be wrong. I caved. went in, he cried so badly, my heart broke. kept saying sorry sorry, even Mr Mich who is the 'heartless" one, came in to sayang. then i put him down on our bed again. still cry. so i carried him and rocked. he pointed out to the living room again. wondering why he was so insistent. so I brought him to the living room. only to know he actually wanted to lie down on me, on the sofa, like how we do everynight before he goes to sleep. Immediately we lie down on me, little boy went back to sleep..... if only he could talk!!! sobz!

JSP starts today.... *send good vibes for JSP's first day at work*

LOL on michelle's sentiments re conversation btwn dustee and mr dustee.... i was thinking the exact same thing.... but lazy to type la.

oh michelle, sayangz mummy and eboy!

if he can talk, he will TELL you to DO a lot of things. plus their vocab is not so extensive, so i end up guessing 'is it bolster? is it fan? is it mama?' and then C1 will still end up screaming when i m too slow to guess.

enjoy this non verbal phase while it lasts. each phase has its challenges.

C1 keeps telling me to switch on the sesame street videos for him on the computer and of cz, the everlasting fan obsession continues. also with ALL things that go "yound and yound and yound"
he can only be distracted w his vitamin C blackcurrant pastilles then, but cannot keep feeding him rite.

Mich

or start answering a million WHYS, WHERES? and yes like cellow said each phase has its challenges and we enjoy it while it lasts.

The last few weeks after Taiwan, the little guy has been bunking in with us on our bed because he wakes screaming for me in the middle of the night and only if he find me sleeping beside him, he can go back to sleep. one night, he woke up at 3am, climb out of bed holding his bolster and started pounding on the door screaming WHERE'S MUMMY? I answered from the bed, "here baby!" he turned around and was like so amazed to find me there, scrambled back to bed and happily went back to sleep. I dunno whether to laugh or cry. laugh because its so comedic, cry because it took me so long before i could get back to sleep.

and i must add. he wakes at 6am to drink milk and can't get back to sleep after that. Will start trashing around in bed, kicking us, starts singing songs like london bridge is falling down. I am completely exhausted!

LOL on C1's continued obsession over the yound and yound fan... and thaddie's early morning rendition of london bridge! so cccuuuuttteee (I can say that cos I am not the affected party!!) hahaha...

Poor mich and eboy! And doggiebb!

Hey same situation in our house huh. Occasionally. Wake up screaming (child, not parents) from sleep and only calming down when parent is in bed with child. These days I don't bother even getting up once I'm in bed with her. I sleep there till morn sometimes

Sometimes she wakes us cos diaper overflow. So there I am, squinting in the darkness with minimal light and no glasses, trying to change her, and sometimes like last night, she refused to let me put on her PJ top.

Sometimes even got supper request. "Baby mama milk!". No not boob milk. Dry liao la. But she wants to supervise me making milk for her *roll eyes*

We must hv been quite a sight. Topless baby in PJ pants pushing toy pram and ordering squinty eyed mother to make milk at 330am

so funny, the little patterns our baby chu!

think eboy is teething. he's been drooling alot, losing appetite (on milk strike again), and been sticking his finger in his mouth. THInk its the last molars....

this morning I was upset, cos my MIL gave eboy HAM! Ham and tomato sandwich! I said nicely" ham, processed meat, so salty, dun give lah". MIL say "little bit never mind lah". I gave hubby the stare. Mr Mich said "ham, too raw or not? somemore from fridge... " then MIL took out half, and left half. silly eboy have the habit of tearing the sandwich apart and end up just chewing on the HAM and tomato. MIL still proudly say "see eboy likes!". of course lah, so giam! grrrr

haiya, michelle,
tis ok la. cool cool.
my boy already got super duper MSG-tasting wang wang biscuits fm the FIL. and silly Mr C din even back me up when i gave him the stare.

he got even sillier when i talked to him abt it afterwards. he said to me 'tis ok la, little bit of MSG never mind one'
i told him 'C1 has his whole life ahead to eat nonsense, i m just keeping him away fm nonsense as far as i can'
then he got defensive and cited case of his nephew who gets sore throat every time nephew eats french fries. attributed it to the mother who was super protective during childhood.

at that point, i gave up.
he is never gonna get it.

Mr C asked me where is the (bleddy) vegatarian bovril ytd morning that his dear mother bought for C1. [aside: go figure how they make vegetarian bovril]
i grunted at him, and he continued with, everything that you (i) dun like to give C1, gets thrown away!!

*bleep bleep* inwardly

actually i accidentally on purpose left it out when we were packing our things fm msia. there was really no space in our baggage, and i forgot abt it till the instance Mr C asked me abt it.

despite the inner bleeps, i was outwardly calm enuf to tell him the baggage restriction prevented us fm carrying it back.

WHY need bovril when there is pork bone stock for C1's porridge. THAT, i will nvr understand.

Oops, there was once eboy ate fries from my FIL's plate of steak and the next day, he developed cough. FIL blamed himself that "aiya, should not have given him fries" with my hubby adding oil by saying, next time dun give him nonsense. until today, both of them still like to give him fries each time they order their favourite steak from the republic coffee shop. bottomline, never try to understand them... i gave up trying to understand them... normally just close one eye.

but HAM, i love ham. but when preggie I did not eat ham at all cos of the way its being processed. still, a little does no harm. BUT it affects eboy's tastebuds and I don't want him to like giam giam stuff that he doesnt eat anything bland.. ever since the flood gate opens (letting eboy eat outside food), it never closes...

dustee
*pat pat* You know what? You are a nice person. It's a pity your MIL doesn't realise this. Never mind... you'll be out soon right?

Your decision to be cordial to her - it's good. Sooner or later she'll realise when you move out.

I agree with youpi. Mebbe your hb can drop Pomfret on his way to work and you pick her up later on when you've done with chores.

PB
hahaha me too. When I play with Emma, I got bored easily.. such a bad mommy. yesterday I bought a pair of chopstick for emma (the one designed for kids to learn) - she ended up picking small fruit toys and fed it to me for 1 hour. I had to make munching sound and said "Yummy" everytime hahaha.
Lols Poppy supervised you making milk!!

Doggiebb
Thaddie can sing London bridge!! *impressed*
Emma's favorite 1 sentence song = happy birthday to you (cuz she celebrated so many cousins and own birthday this month) - but she only say: happy day to you kekeke

Michelle
Really? I gave emma Ham, sausages - she likes them a lot. heck I even gave her pizza. She eat practically everything, including those spicy korean noodle I was having.
I used to be really careful with food with my No 1, I still do with her main food like lunch and dinner but other than that Emma is free to eat anything.

Cellow
Wang2 biscuit - my mom gave that to emma. but then she only licks the biscuit and not chewing it so she stopped giving it to her.

What's bovril anyway? is it good? same as marmite?

mich

ah...i read before in a book that MSG will affect intelligence in little kids hor...don't ask me about the specifics i can't rem already. but that has stuck with me, so you see, i still bring thaddie's porridge out with me for his meals.

me too! I will still faithfully bring eboy's porridge out. some days when I know i can get rice from outside, i bring soup which is faster to cook. still, its one big food jar tagged along! somehow, i still don't feel comfy for eboy to indulge in outside food yet. If i need to, i wash it with hot water first to dilute it somewhat... its the "i can;t stop them from feeding outside food" that makes me upset lah...

ham, bacon, sausages, are processed and preserved by smoking, curing, or salting, in addition to chemical preservatives.. are high health risks, even for adults. Preggers are asked to avoid processed meat as well so i restrained despite that I LOVE HAM, Luncheon meat and hotdogs!!!

yeah, even for talia that I am feeding outside food. if its noodles, i will take the noodles out into a separate bowl and add my own plain water as soup muahaha. I try to avoid the saucy, giam type of food so she is still very content to eat bland homecooked food during the weekdays and complains that the food is too salty when she eats outside. I hope i have instilled in her a lifetime aversion to too salty and flavourful foods.

2 more hours to weekend... is it just me, or does time pass by sllloooowwwlllyyy when you are not enjoying it.... thinking of the exciting weekend ahead and I wish 6pm could come sooner!!!!!!!!

sd,
tis a yeast extract. black coloured stuff in a jar. salty like anything.
bovril is the beef extract.
marmite is the vegetable extract.

doggiebb,
if you can find that article for me, i will be able to <strike>throw it into Mr C's face</strike> educate Mr C cordially abt the disadvs of MSG

Michelle
yep time is indeed so slowwwwww. I wish it's 5 pm soon.

Cellow
Oh I see. someone told me to put marmite in the porridge but emma doesn't really like the taste.

floodgates opening on outside food

C1 knows the difference between fries and mash potatoes. he will point to the fries every single time. and whose bleep fault is it? tadah, the dear father.

*pek chek*

with all the inner bleeps, i feel like one of those beeping toys that C1 has. haha!

yeah! tell me about the floodgates! which is why i am hanging on for dear life to my food jar! muahaha! sometimes dunno if reading so much is good or bad!

milk strike
eboy is on it again. nowadays spoon feeding in the mornings and snack times have become quite difficult. he will push milk away and take everything else. he drinks a lot of water tho.

i know i can mix milk in food. but that is barely enough! how how how?????? desperate and tried giving him pediasure (honey flavoured).. also reject!

Michelle,
pasta? Creamy pasta is a good way to get some milk into their system and so easy to cook somemore.
For dec, straw helps too. I start with milk bottle, then stick a straw into the bottle when he says "enough", and even pour the milk into the upside down teat+cap when the straw into bottle doesn't work.
On hindsight, don't ya think someone should start giving mothers creativty awards?

Pb,
yucks, I hate diaper overflow days. I so hate changing diapers when I'm sleepy so I normally Taiji that over to the dad. Luckily it doesn't happen often. What brand is poppy using? I'm only sticking to pampers nowadays.

Cellow,
so I think I am lucky coz when mil want to give any thing will ask my hb.. And hb will tell her better not coz I am very strict with the boys diet..but hb will sneakily give fries and if they cough I will scold him upside down..

Michelle
I also experienced this before. I gave Emma magnolia fresh milk - also spoon fed. Now she's taking fresh milk once a day and powdered one 2 times a day.

Tracing alphabet.
Sharing what I made in power point. Letters A to Z (Upper and lower case), some shape, numbers and also some lines (horizontal, vertical, diagonal, circles) for practice. I print this over and over and let Emma trace with crayons. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_pdf.gif
letters
letters.pdf (46.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

oh SD

you are such a darling! *runs to hug* Thaddeus lurves these and what i do is i have to do the dots on the doodle board for him to write!

*rushes off to print*

I'm using a piece of transparency to put over the letters and letting eboy use a washable marker to write over it, then can use over and over again. save paper. save the earth!!

Michelle
I tried that before but then on a split second she would suddenly write on something else *rolls eyes* hahaha. But definitely can try again. Must make sure the marker is the non-permanent one.

bbp, dun impress so fast lah. Eboy can't even hold the pen strong enough lah.. he anyhow one lah.. but having this is a good start to train him right???

Bbp
Of course not lar. Normally I will hold Emma's hand and help her after that must supervise so she'll do it properly. If not she would just scribble a circle.

I'm making another simple drawings of flowers and some easy to draw animals keke

SD
Wah!! same as bbp I'm impressed!!

Oh btw ,maybe you could jus put them in those folders with a lot of 'leaves'. Not sure if u know what I'm talking abt....haha
Those with alot of plastic sheets that u can slot the papers into.
Cos D's teacher gave me a folder filled with his worksheet to use for practice at home. Same jus use marker to write on it n can jus clean away.

Lazy me when dun wanna supervise the kids when they are writing will put them in their bb chair....hehehe

wow. very impressed with the sheet SD (sua ku mummy here)..thanks soo much

babies waking up middle of night..soph also, 4am this morning..so tired..thank goodness it's the weekend..time to catch up on zzzz.

doggiebb - thaddie sings london bridge, soph sings happy bday.,,and it gets louder with every sentence.and at 4am in the morning..dont know to cry or laugh. sigh.

Wow! U mummies are so strict with their diet!! *guilty look* wat ever wuffy wants to try, we let him. He has no problem with curry chicken, chilli crabs etc. I bring his porridge out still, but once he sees our food, he won't eat his. So I guess some food better than none?

SD, thanks for the print outs! Wow *guilty look again*, u mummies are very patient sitting down with them to teach them!! So far I only flash some cards but haven't been doing so cos was under the weather and hence need to sleep early. I will try the worksheets with him this weekend!

hey doggiebb
nice taiwan pics! and talia's dress so nice hor, hor, hor? :p

batgirl
wah wuffy happening leh! curry chicken and chilli crab! woohoo!

not to worry, no worksheets in our house too. we stick to reading. and falling asleep hahahaha

latest 'i-dont-want-to-sleep' trick is trying to stand on her head :|