(2008/07) July 2008

haha.. thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.. kho kho lunch or sam... haha so u r joining us hor? yayy! the more the merrier!

SAM:
SAM, 8Q(10.30am, Sat 10 July)
http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_108/travel_site_13574/

-Doggiebb, talia, taddie (going at 10am to play first)
-Mic, Mr Mic & ethan (going at 1045am to play first)
-Jacelyn, My Jace & bbXun
-Smiggleprincess & kayden
-bbG and DD (reaching at 1130am, prob eat first?)
-mr & mrs cellow, and the 2 C's
-SD & 4 kids!

smiggleP: can help us make reservations for the lunch place? shall we all fix a lunch time to meet? whos' reaching at what time?

dd,
no dear. i m not joining you all for SAM tmr.
even if i m going, will be w Mr C and the 2Cs. we may bump into each other but no lunch on the cards tmr.

onz for 14 Jul (next wed) lunch!

Mr and Mrs Mich are going to SAM around 10.30am and not joining for lunch (most probably). Mr and Mrs Mich will need to be home by 1 plus cos the emperor needs to nap.

Hope I din cause any trouble in your planning.. oops.

OK, its mess..

Lunch @ Food for thought
I will book seats at 11.30am for

-Doggiebb, talia, taddie (going at 10am to play first)
-Jacelyn, My Jace & bbXun
-Smiggleprincess & kayden
-bbG and DD (reaching at 1130am, prob eat first?)
-SD & 4 kids!

Jacelyn
doesnt really matter, just stop halfway come out for lunch lor..

haha...think i'm making everyone muddled..

ok meet u all at food for thought (it's in the museum compound?) at 1130am for quickie lunch first... seeya!

Lol at cellow's wo bei month le. Gee it seems so long ago, this whole needing food to be scooped cos of baby strapped to self. The memory of it is almost hazy

doggiebb
The boat ride sound sooooooo horrible. ANd ur hubby was not around huh. U so brave to go holiday with the kids without hubby.

youpi, DD
haha u gals reminded me of why I always make sure I have my hands on both kids at all times in the car. If anything happens (*choy choy) I hope to be able to do something too.

Something pissing me off again....sigh
I should either be sleeping (cos too tired till my eyes swollen again) or packing for our weekend trip to sentosa for E's birthday but now very the bu shuang.

Just now we went over to inlaw hse for dinner. Cos as usual they want to cut cake and give Ember angbao before the actual. So okie lor went over.

And Ember being Ember is super shy 1 lor and so far she always stick to me and dun allow anyone from hubby side to even touch her kind lor.
While they were putting up the candles, E was on my lap watching. Then my fil came over n tried to carry E away. Of cos she refuse right!!
You jus come over tell the girl u wanna carry her and expect her to allow u to carry meh. E refuse lor and stuck to me more.

Then my fil was like "Ehh YOU tell her to let me carry her"
I was soooo pissed lor. If she dun wanna let you carry then DUN CARRY lor. If she doesn't like you I'm not gonna force her to do something she dun like. And I'm not holding her back what, if u can carry her then jus carry lor.

So I jus told him straight "She dun want to let you carry her"
And he still went "Tell her, Tell her!"
Angry lor so I ignored him and he had to settle for quickly asking his son to take photo while he put his face near E while E will still keep turning her head away from him.

Respect is only given where its DUE!!
If you can't earn it, dun expect it.

Dor
hee your il are nothing...wait till u hear abt mine. after moving to my mum's, jh got bitten by mosquitoes so many times. my il can't stop talking abt it. my fil said things like i already told u guys before u guys move that there will be a lot of mozzies etc etc etc....so poor knowledge, as if mozzies only go to landed property. then best part is my mil. she blamed me for all the mozzie bites! she actually said that if my dad knew abt it he will sure give me a big scolding! i was so pissed with her and told her off.as if i want my son to be bitten.

all these old pple sound so ignorant and ridiculous right....

jx is down with a viral fever..
probably caught from childcare. hope she gets well soon so she can go back to school! scared she won't want to go back. after starting sch, she can be quite sticky to me. if i m ard her, she will want to see me all the time. i guess it is normal but can be a bit too much.

hope i can join for lunch this wed!

Dor
when u free? i can meet up with u to collect my stuff.

I am quite miserable today. Yesterday had headache almost all day. Combi of lack of sleep, dehydration, period and overall tiredness.

Yesterday got home at 630 and fell asleep in seconds of touching the sofa. Even with poppy sitting on my legs and watching the wiggles on tv, I still slept thru.

Today I feel feverish and my movements are a little slow. Feel miserable but can't go home cos was away 2 days last week and will be tomoro as well. And paisay to go home to rest and not help with poppy

When was SAHM, couldn't take mc to rest. Now can take mc but cannot go home to rest. When and where do parents rest when they are sick? Do I need to rent a room at hotel 81 for 2 hours just to nap? :S

Doggie
Gosh what a frightening boat ride! Where was this to?

Dor, SY
Hope you've both cooled down... we all have to be like ducks, and let their comments flow off our backs like water. Sometimes the older folk just have to say something.

PB
*Hugs* You sound exhausted. If you take mc, ask Max to bring Poppy out on a day-long walk/hike like what he did before so that you can rest. When I need to rest I tell the boys that I am going to do so, then flop onto the bed and close my eyes. After trying to rouse me for a while, they'll give up and go to play by themselves. My longest 'rest' lasted almost an hour

Sniffly boys
My two have been coughing and sniffing since Saturday
Plying them with meds and water to ensure that they are well by the end of the week!

Cellow
Thanx I'm over it already cos the kids had a wonderful weekend. Sigh.....how our moods are 100% controlled by the kids now.
I'm jus pissed off cos I feel my fil is insunating that I am the 1 who is instructing the kids to not go near them. I can't help it if he is irritating right?? ;P

SY
Maybe ask ur inlaws to go and tell the mosquitos personally not to bite the kids lah. Since they seem to be so "mighty".

Maybe I can join lunch on wed. Or......cos the list looks big.....maybe jus go and pass u then tabao back for the kids.

youpi
E too have been sniffling for the whole of last week then miraculously she recovered when we reached sentosa.....hahaha
But now back and D has been sniffling since yest...sigh

When I need to rest, I will ask the kids what they wanna watch and put it on for them.....then proceed to "rest". N threaten to switch it off if they make noise.....hahaha
The best is when E falls asleep and D falls asleep after cos nobody to talk to. But then makes all our bedtime haywire too. So the one who suffer in the end......is still ME.

hugs to PB. hope you find somewhere to take a power nap.. somewhere, like a nice lounge over lunch time.... or jus tsitting by the reservoir..

youpi, hope your boys get well before the weekend!

dor, looks like ember enjoyed her birthday in Sentosa? where did you stay??

Over the weekend, we went to hunt for Eboy's preschool and we came across this one which is HUGE! WE love it so much so that we went there over the two days just to admire the compound. Now I hope they have vacancies and the curriculum is good and it is not too expensive!!!

so how was SAM on saturday? did your child enjoyed it? eboy the scaredy cat was so scared initially but towards the centre part was quite ok. He was totally mesmerised by the flowerbots! and kept clapping at it thinking it was his clapping that made the flowers bloom!

so did you all make it to food for thought eventually?

mich

thaddie thoroughly enjoyed himself! i think more than his sister! at the enchanted garden, they were "building" sandcastles, "swimming" in the pond...

we ate at Food for thought, but at separate tables because there were just too many of us. and because the queue was so long, i scooted off to the bar counter and started feeding the boy his home-cooked porridge and he was going on and on about wanting egg and I tried to pacify him by saying, we need to order it and then the uncle must cook it blah blah when suddenly a bowl of scrambled egg just appeared right in front of us. the guy at the counter must have overheard us and instructed the kitchen to prepare the egg for us even before we ordered any food! i was like WOW! what service!!!

so yes, we will definitely be back cos we didn't try the cakes at all. and yes the pancakes were yummy, hb was all praises for his curry chix cutlet too!

wow! sounded like fun! stoopid hubby of mine insisted to eat at bugis so we went to the special vermicilli place at the basement. the food is also yummy. Eboy was cranky and tired so we had to leave early? in the car, he was cranky and tired and hungry. by the time he was fed his lunch, he was all energised and DIN SLEEP TILL 3PM!!Cried and cried and cried (both of us!) ARGH!!!

on Sunday, we had a lunch appointment at suntec and my ILs went to buy a present for him. then put him in stroller also dun want to nap! UNTIL 3.30pm!! cried and cried and cried (both of us!).

Every weekend have to deal with an energised toddler who refuse to nap! argh!!!

Michelle
Yah I was very surprised actually that Ember was really enjoying her birthday and the hotel stay. though Damien felt the stay was tooooo fast.....haha
We stayed at The Sentosa. Was okie except felt some of the staff(singaporeans) were arrogant cos we were not ang mos. Tried to charge me for D's buffeut even though she came to ask and I already told her he was 3 yrs old.
The foreign staff were very good though, refused to let me carry our only piece of luggage even though I told her its okie and when she couldn't find a bell boy to help immediately, she carried it herself to our room.

doggiebb
Wah the service is really very good!!

hb had to rush off for another appointment so we took the mrt home. just me and the children. took the circle line and halfway through, the boy slept already. so i had to carry him to change to a feeder bus later. talia was also very sleepy but bless her soul, i managed to keep her bantering and she tried to keep awake and she helped me by walking on her own by holding on to my shirt! (i need both hands to carry the boy so no hand to hold her hand). reached home at 3pm and both KO until 5pm! just in time for hb to come home and take over i was hoping, but he felt asleep while playing with them on the mat!

i am not sure if the boy has been very tramatised by the boat ride, ever since we came back, he has been waking up several times at night and so for the last few nights he has been sleeping in my bed which apparently my presence allows him to go back to sleep. he talked a lot in his sleep as well. all the kicks from him and all the sleep talking is making me a very tired mummy indeed!

DOr, your kids very smart.. know how to enjoy hotel stay loh!

doggiebb, how do you know its the boat ride? could it be a phase that some of the others went through as well? hope its just a short while only..

I have been having lousy sleep at night as well. mainly fretting over my staff, and what I can do to improve the situation. damn sian. imagine last night the tripleO-K asked me what the meeting today was for when he actually planned to take leave today because of world cup! and the SMS came only at like 9pm last night, then at 11pm told me he applied his leave! - PISSED!

hihi mummies... been a long time since i last posted... would be heading back to work next fri so better join u gers this time rd...

kko kko nara
57 Tras Street

14 Jul
1. michelle
2. smiggle
3. doggiebb
4. Jacelyn - can i meet someone at the MRT???
5. cin_bunny
6. qing (don leave me out la.)
7. sy
8. JSP & lil Anya

btw, wat time would u all be there?? and isit hard to park at Tras street??

mich

because before that, he never said "i scared" but eversince coming back, he would wake up suddenly and say "I scared" several times! haiz!

dunno you believe or not, but my mom would "prescribe" the jin feng san powder! Eboy is now in the super scaredy phase. he see stranger, he scared, go new place, he scared. nowadays go shopping centre he also don want to run on his own, needs to be carried until totally warmed up. NDP fireworks every sat night!-scared! even when we told him excitedly there is rainbow and brought him to the balcony to see it, think he associate that with fireworks and - ya, hug until dunno like what...

hope its a phase loh...

SAM
Sorry I could not make it. My kids and the cousin were quite disappointed but what to do... the night before was my HB's turn to sleepover at the hospital and apparently my MIL didn't sleep and kept talking to him. so he asked me to come for MIL's morning feeding so he could sleep. By the time I'm done it's like already 11 am. sighhhh.

A quiet Bday for Emma since MIL is in the hospital. But she enjoyed it nonetheless. We ordered cupcakes and they looked so pretty.

Michelle
Can you not grant him the leave since it was so last minute.

yeah hope its a phase. he's totally ok during the day, still as daring and adventurous, just that at night, must sleep next to me or else will scream MUMMY until downstairs also can hear!

i think could be also because he grew so close to me during the trip so now super lurveee mummy! even rose carry now also no use! only i can do the trick!

wooo, eboy after his hospital stay, day and night, stick to me like, I have to leave my finger stuck on him then he satisfied kind! every night rock rock rock until he fall asleep, put him down, straight away want ma ma ma ma... after hokkaido trip also the same! it gets a while for them to "go back to routine" but that doesn't mean he doesnt lurveeee mummy any less lah!

Eboy normally monday very sticky and dun allow me to go to work. worse if I bring him to playclub. just now i wanted to leave home and instead of saying bye bye, he drops everything to pull my hand, and sign for me to sit down beside him. then I do it for a short while and ask him to say bye bye, he will pull me back, over and over again, haha! until someone has to distract him with a banned toy (my MIL's handphone!) then he guai guai waved goodbye.. but starting tomorrow, you see lah, he wont even hiew me when i leave the house. most times, he just say bye bye and dun care liao..

I have resorted to hiding in toilet. Not to nap but to thaw. It's so cold in office that the warmth in the toilet is such a welcome

Poppy also now scared of things! She went thru quite a phase of "TOO DARK!!" And would cry when we turned off the lights. But now we turn off then distract her by singing.

At one stage it was a bit scary. Hubby said she would point to things and just say "no, no!". You know huh. I stay in old house, old neighbourhood. One period of time she kept saying "no uncle!" And that freaked me out. Then I realised she was saying "no aircon" haha

Was just telling hub. The past 2 years of NDP, she couldn't be bothered with aeroplane noise. Now she hugs me like a koala and grips me with legs even when got aeroplane. But yet, she wants to "see plane". Hmm

Have our fearless tots entered scardey cat phase?

youpi
i love this "we all have to be like ducks, and let their comments flow off our backs like water" from now on when my mil says something i will just mentally say 'quack!'

SAM
sounds like fun! think it's ending this weekend right? better bring pomfret there fast.

late night baby
nowadays pomfret sleep at 2am. i'm usually the one in tears coz i'm so dead tired already and there's a long list of things to do when she's asleep before i can go to sleep. but she just WOULD NOT SLEEP. and if i switch off the lights and force her to lie down in bed, she will cry and cry and that will wake my ils up. sigh.

and yes she's pushing her afternoon nap time till later and later, like 7pm and then she naps. and i've tried to just let her settle for the night at 7pm, but she'll still wake at 11pm or so and start crying to play or eat or drink or whatever.

and i've also tried to get her to nap earlier, and again the whole crying thing with my mil hovering.

and then again i've tried to wake up her earlier in the mornings, and again the crying , and again with the hovering mil.

PB
pat pat

hi Mummies,

Foof for thought was good.. i can tell u most of the food are nice.. except the cakes.. the scone was heavenly!!!!

Michelle
which preschool?? The Odyssey??

Kayden also laugh and had too much fun.. end up crying in sleep.. at times im so worried cos he can laugh for long sessions for no apparent reasons!

doggiebb
gosh i was scared just reading your posting. i think now from now on i will think twice about taking any boat ride while overseas. that's so scary!

DD
eh i'm very paranoid after i had pomfret too. i used to NEVER leave her in the living room here in my il's house even if i'm just going to the toilet coz i was worried someone would climb in the gate and grab her hahaha

oh PB, so funny abt the uncle.

oh i thot only my gal goin thru scary phase. but mine only at nite n it seem she wan maid sometimes. Yesterday too tired to wake up immed to attend to her but my hb saw her like sleepwalking n cryin at same time. and few times knock on the wall ... i ask hb y he see n never help this poor gal. She will cry so pitifully like we have beat her up. n the 2 men continue kooning...

oh, seems like the scaredy cat thingy is a phase?? cos its like, on one hand at two they suddenly turn "terrible two" and on other occassions, they are so scaredy cat.. total opposites!

oh dear, poor dustee.. that is a lopsided sleeping habits for pomfret! you need to only move her sleep/nap time 20-30mins forward a day, slowly slowly so the adjustment is gradual. dun expect to suddenly switch from 7pm to like 3pm. also, have you tried a sleep routine? so you actually start the sleep routine 20mins earlier, slowly adjust earlier and earlier , then her sleep hours can be adjusted... you must perservere....

smiggle, ya, i was looking at odyssey. really HUGE!

hi mummies... I'm so zombified coz I stayed up reading about edward cullen!! I had to go sit in the toilet for 5 mins of power eye shut! can't wait to dash home on the dot!

how was sun afternoon?? we brought MIL out to international buffet at hard rock @ sentosa.. then dropped by vivo toys r us to see if they had train tables (NO) .. thought I saw jace from faraway!

doggiebb travelling home alone with two sleepy tired kiddos: wow!

bbG was almost asleep when we reached SAM actually.. so he dozed off when we left...in the sling..

jsp: so fast u r going back to work liao.. didn't take the full 4 months?

dustee: what time does pomfret wake in the morning? are the lights off and all is quiet around 11plus PM when you want her to sleep through, but she wakes instead?

while you girls have bb's going thru the scaredy cat phase, mine thinks every stranger is his best friend.. he hugs and blows kisses to absolute strangers and can even hold hands and walk away with them though they are speaking a foreign language..I dun want my bb to be kidnapped one day! how do i start teaching him to be wary of strangers....

oh ya.. still haven't had luck with the wooden train table.. anyone knows if it could be cheaper in places like germany... wonder if i can get hb to hand carry back hahaha

DD
Ahhahaha reading about edward cullen only, or the books (which?) in general? Either way, I can identify. Very deja vu for me :D

Twilight fans can check out youtube video on VAMPIRES SUCK. It's hilarious

Wow, bbG still fits into sling? And mummy still got strength to carry him in it? Wow. Pei fu pei fu

Dustee
Wow living room and gate quite a distance! Hehe. But yes I am paranoid too. Back when I was SAHM I was convinced something would happen the second I decided to do something for me. In that 5 mins I have my eye off poppy, I was sure she'd fall or eat crayons haha

I tend to overthink things. I always carry her when crossing roads, even when there are no cars. She walks on the inside on pavements.... I guess there has to be a line between being overprotective and letting child explore. I haven't drawn that line yet

Pb
Usually if I'm not feeling well, I will take mc and hide at my parents. There is no one at home. Lucky for me loh...
Hope you are feeling better now. It must be the heat from the weather...

And tml we are going to the Zoo Zoo Zoo... It's barbie's bday tml.
Hopefully barbie will not be a scaredy cat.

Dustee
I really pei Fu your mil la.
She got so many pattern...

JSP
Should have parking.. It's those shophouses there.

DD, u know, both me and hubby adore bbG!!! He is such a sweetie!!!!!!!!!!!! i bet he will grow up to be a super attractive man.

Food for thought was great! Love the smoothie and guess who wanted more? xun gal. and scone of coz (which was supposed to be kayden's lunch)! Will definitely be back. Now thinking of the smoothie feel like drooling liaoz.

JSP! Very long never see u le! Join us on Wed!!

PB hope u are feeling better!

Scaredy cat. errrm mich u sure ethan is a scaredy cat? xun gal seems to be anti social to kids! I wonder why ... at home she is 100x more active and talkative. but at sam, she does not seem to want to play. i wonder why ... ...

sigh recently i have not been eating well for dinner. appetite for lunch is great but just cant eat much for dinner. eat usual portion will throw up half of it =( fear of the repeat of 1st trimster!!!!!!! pls tell me it does not!

DD
Its good they are friendly I feel but yah dangerous so gotta make bbG learn to always be in your sight. But at this age still abit hard to teach them to be wary of strangers. I dun think they can get the right concept. I am teaching D this recently and he will keep asking me why I am talking to strangers......sigh........
D is like bbG kind very friendly very PR.....but E is total opposite. Ppl jus have to turn n look at her and she will run to me n I cannot put her down....sigh
N I dun understand why some ppl like to talk to other ppl's kids whether they like it or not. Know hw irritating it is when E is clinging to me for dear life while I try to quickly walk away n this person still insist to keep talking to her. Feel like asking them to jus shutup n stay away.

dustee
Hmmm I wonder if you cry back to her will she get a shock and not cry to you again??.....hahaha
Sorry can't help it....hehe

morning! jace n doggie, can i mit u at mrt too? wat time to mit at mrt?

kko kko nara
57 Tras Street

14 Jul
1. michelle
2. smiggle
3. doggiebb
4. Jacelyn - can i meet someone at the MRT???
5. cin_bunny
6. qing (don leave me out la.)
7. sy
8. JSP & lil Anya
9. cellow n c2

dordor, LOL on yr suggestion for dustee to cry back at mil.

dustee, come come for lunch tmr!

happy bday to lil barbie! i was looking at the pix on fb and she looks soooooooo pretty liao. qing, def your genes la

dustee, you should train (or maybe natural liao since you suffered so much), that each time your MIL is 3-5m within your radius, your tears will automatically flow... uncontrollably... until she is out of your radius, then it closes. like a valve, flow and stop, and then *sniff sniff*.. hee hee..

still no idea where the place is, so Qing i will go pick you at your work place hor..

eboy is wierd, scared to strangers like he will either hug us tight or our legs tight, but he always turn around and smile and smile to them.. so mixed lah, dunno its just shy, scared of strangers or friendly in his own way lah...

PB
I did it in 2006, $3000 for both eyes at the SNEC.
no problems, now perfect vision.
u need to have a thick layer of membrance over ur cornea, so that they can laser it off. if not, very hard. and may not be able to see perfect.
That time didnt had instalment. so i pay in full, took me 2 days and within a week to recover.

lasik
me loh.
year: 2004
fee: $2800 for both eyes @ Singapore Eye CEntre
recovery: < 1 day
no pain!
perfect eye sight!

next day I woke up! whoa! no need specs! so shiok...

and the next two weeks i took very very good care, no water in eyes, put eye drop all the time, and at night sleep with goggles in case accidentally knock on it. also no exercise in case...