(2008/07) July 2008

michelle,
wat got into me ah...
all the petty insubordination episodes. like sitting any-o-how on mil's sofa which she doesnt do at home, ask mil for more and equal no of fish balls in her soup (we were out tt day 4 lunch) and running out of the car like a mad woman ... she even knocked into sm1 on her way, tt's how fast n reckless she ws) to the stores one morning w/o a word to me or mr C (supposedly to take care of c1 who was in the store w my ILs)...
not scrubbing my milk stained bras and washable breast pads when i had already told her to...
take cleaning shortcuts ard the hse and then sulk/ black face when i point them out...
and other petty episodes liddat over months n months.

*deep breath*

i was v sian to bring her along to beach resort, but cnnt leave her anywhere else.

i only want her to do quality work till oct.. must think of ways to counter her ORD mood liao. so make bargain w her. you do well for a month, you will get your bday day off. thing is, will she understd!?!?

sd, nope no leave for 2 yrs

btw dustee
i like yr new attitude!!
dun waste emotions n energy on undeserving folks esp when they r family

sigh
miss the bday bash again!

dor,
your not so long ago response on c1 and c2 loving each other - i like!

cellow

my thoughts are: don't bother putting up with her anymore esp you already have decided to change. start sourcing for a new helper now that you will be at home to train and supervise.

Aiyo, sounds like PB's ex-helper who slouches on the couch and she took a pic! looks like your helper thinks SHE is on holiday, and SHE decides what needs to be done or not when SHE is on holiday. Whoa, what attitude!

Why not send her off earlier? Oct is a good 4 months away loh...

mich,
those cleaning n laundry issues... are since months ago b4 c2's birth

doggiebb, seriously thinking abt tt too... but i only return to sg end jun, back to work mid jul...
tt is an option if sm1 has a helper to let go at tt time... thinking abt dd's but timimg is off
LOL on you facing a thousand WHY's... i m facing a thousand DUN WANT's

*pat pat* to you too! your turn is cominggg!

it was from everything "I WANT" to "I DUN WANT" to now "WHY". Really need super duper loads of patience to handle.

me "we are going home now"
thad "WHY are we going home?"
me "because mummy is tired"
thad "WHY is mummy tired?"
me "because mummy pushed the pram around the whole day"
thad "WHY mummy push the whole day?"
me "because didi was sleeping"
thad "WHY is didi sleeping"
me "because didi is tired"
thad "WHY is didi tired"
me "because didi played and played"
thad "why did didi play and play"
me "because didi likes to play"
thad "WHY didi like to play?"
me "...."

you get the drift? its NEVER-ending!!! *tears hair out*

and not forgetting the sister will be at the side asking almost similar questions which i have to field!

Qing, doggiebb,
does that mean i have to start preparing as well? bosco is at the "NO!" stage. everything also NO! NO! NO!.. occasionally.. start "HOW?" LOL!!

Thaddie is sooo cute!

dustee
great u sort out your tots. no matter wat u do your mil won't change. can only pray hard for her....

cellow
maybe u shd start sourcing for a maid. just in case she gives u more problems. i m letting go of mine end of the month. while she is super good i feel she cleans wwell n is honest. only thing is not fantastic with kids and can seem a bit rude. think it's her character. and one thiing i dun like is she seems to grumble a lot to herself!

but if u have someone who can watch over her i think can consider.

Doggieebb
can sympathise with u. jh talks non stop! one already enough...cannot imagine 2....

bbp
hee so u bought a lot of stuff? i wish i can go states but hb dun like to go so far....

DD
welcome back!!

re fidgets
that's the playground that a little gal had an accident there and the mum took the management to court i think....

doggiebb..my #2 and #3 kept asking WHY.. I know what u mean ;-)

Qing, I think you've missed me out for the birthday bash. Did you receive my PM reply?

Cellow, I will never tolerate what your maid has done. I'll definetely send her back to agent leh. But since she's supposed to finish her contract in October, you can decide to send off now or later. But good if you can change now since you're at home to supervise during your ML leave. After that, can Mr C guide the new helper?

does any1 know in the std 2 yr contract, if i want to sack the maid, do i have to pay her a month's salary in lieu? i seem to rem smthing liddat, but of cz the contract is back in SG

hannahi,
i dun leave maid alone at home w any adult male member of my hsehold. so that option of Mr C training the new one is out....

if pomfret asks "why" i'll be very happy! now it's still "huh? eh? huh? eh?" at everything! i'm so impressed with thaddie boy!

sd
you are so good to take care of your mil. esp when hb not around. i think i will go crazy. now i keep praying for my ils' health (but with ulterior motive, coz i really don't want to have to move back to take care of them! sigh. terrible right)

my hb quite happy to move out. i think he's quite proud of himself. it makes him feel like an adult *rolls eyes*

and y'know, he doesn't talk to his family at all. i mean, really, never. i prob talk to them more in one day than he does in one year. ask him to clarify the misunderstanding? i think he'd rather run naked down the street.

lol on thaddie and mummy :D
sophie only started on a bit of WHY..she goes "why sophie cry in school today?"

i answer her : WHY indeed

now she is still very much in the I WANT mode.

Qing,

Yap! We only want cupcakes for the boy, and not the adults.

Doggiebb,

LOL on the "WHYS"..mine shakes his head most of the time. Only an occasional "don't want" will come out of his mouth.

Cellow,

I would have sent her packing too. Bad attitude plus bad working skills - BIG no no for me.

You shd start looking for a new helper soon. If you release her early, dont need to pay her the "in lieu" salary. at least for my indo helper, no need. Just buy her her air ticket home.

Cellow
just get an airticket and send her back. for really bad maids, u can pack them off without their salary.

Kayden is also in the NO NO NO stage..
he haven started asking me why.. i dont mind him askin if he starts talking

cellow, get the air ticket and send her packing!*gathering all the mummy courage here for you*

I also very very impressed with Thaddie, he is really very advanced. I mean, he came to my house, and upon entering, looked straight into Eboy's eyes and said "Hi Ethan". My eboy... only know how to stand there and stone.. hahaha...

eboy just recently got into the shake head/nod head stage nia... still fffffaaaaaaaarrrrr away from everything you all saying now, but I very patient one lah.. looks like I should enjoy this moment haha..

barbie was never in the "I WANT" stage lehz.
its always "I DUN WANT" and if she wants something she will say "PLEASE" then bo bian have to give in boz she say please liao...

and i am in a dilemma on the potty trained.
it is kinda of a hussle to always find a toilet when you are out and at night. when you are resting comfortably on the bed. she will goes: mummy shh shh x3264862 times until i bring her there. sometime false alarm loh.
sometime i am really bad i ask her to just shh shh on the diaper. (we are stil not confident to let her go diaperless thru out the night)
but of cos she refuse with the "I DUN WANT" and "PLEASE".

now she is a singer loh.
my god mil bought her a toy microphone (those with sweets inside ones) then had her stand on a magazine(as the stage) and she will sing on and on loh.
and and and, the most amazing part is she knows how to put her hand up just like ballerina and do the tippy toes... oh my.. i wonder is that barney?

somehow barney is teaching her a lot of things.
i have recorded some of the series into my HD box and replay before bedtime.
this week we replayed the 'counting and ABC' she was actually singing to it and counting as well... barney is not that bad afterall.

ya Qing,

somehow, I never liked the purple dinosaur. But after watching it, it seems rather educational. I also want to look for sesame street.

Michelle,

I am also very patient. My boy probably wont stand and stone, he will just walk away or be distracted by some other things. so i will wait patiently till the day he can communicate. now I will still induldge in his mostly baby talk. :p

cellow, can PM me the CC that C1 attending? i thinking to pay it a visit coming weekend, need to balek consider the CC options for eboy to start in Jan liao.... he is currently on waitlist for Chiltern and Pat's but I doubt he can get in...

Qing, I cannot tolerate Barney, BJ and Baby Bob's voice!!!!!! imagine listening to the same tunes over and over and over.. it is torturous! But no doubt it is educational. So is sesame street, I think there are much nicer songs there too.... I could tolerate Elmo better than a purple dinosaur.. sorry, not a fan. :p

barney
I hate barney!!!!! like Michelle - I totally hated the voice. I'd rather listen to Elmo's - although that annoys me too.

Michelle
Ask Chiltren house on the status again. Last time they told me they did the selection in June/July period.

michelle
all the 3 that you have listed their voice is still ok... but the new addition riff, omg... i will die everytime he appears.

mich,
^5!! i also cannot tolerate the purplish thingy.. bosco is super thomas fan. but thomas seems not for his age yet. he will watch but not understand. he learn all the ABCs n 123s thru iphone apps. he is a iphone addict like his dad n mum too. in fact, my iphone is always missing..

and hor, got a few kids in Barney hor, tone death one!!! cannot sing for nuts.. sorry.. not a fan still. hahaha...

Have you guys tried baby signing time? all the songs are so nice... and very touching too.. I love that series.. eboy was hooked at it for a while, until barney came along....

quickie post: anyone has a MIM sling or pupsik kind to borrow a few months? or rent or sell? younger sis thinking of getting but unsure if she will know how to use .. she gave away her MIM previously coz couldn't figure out how to use.. now re-considering!

PM me if you have ok? thanks!!!

Aiyo, my company IT admin support really sucks. BUt why am I not surprised? because there is too much red tape here where i work!

scenario: I just need to shift office.

me: Hi, I need to shift from A to B. pls assist.
IT: PLs submit on-line request form.
me: Hi i have submitted
IT: Pls fill in supplementary document to support your request pls.
*Attached the email which was recommended by my boss for me to shift and my big big bos approved. *

10 mins later...

me: Hi, can you pls process?
IT: sorry pls submit your request again as it was wrongly tagged to another boss in teh system. I have corrected it. It should be tagged to Boss A.
me: I have already attached the document that shows that Boss A asked me to shift, with big big boss B saying approved? can you just carry out the request instead of asking me to raise another request?

another half day gone..

me: Hi can you pls process based on my attached email pls
IT: Hi you wish to disable your port? or you need to also activate a new port? have you submitted the network request form?

*faints*

what is so bleddy difficult to just shift my office from 1 place to another, which is a simple 5 min job!

Where is the efficiency??? I tell you, i wont be surprised that after 1 wk, I have not shifted, yet.

some of the iherb stuff has reached. i have split up the order to try to achieve best possible shipping rate.

btw for those who ordered the fish oil, they only fulfilled half of the orders cos no more stock liao. so each mummy will get 1 bottle each.....

Qing: no cupcake for me either..juz one for bbG would do

n I didn't get any emails fm u yet leh..

I grew up with sesame st so love them too..bbG was very into Thomas the train cos there's one wiv his name! He knows almost all characters n can even tell me what happens next on his fav cd..

But his latest craze is doraemon n now anpanman who I love too hehe

Cellow: ya maybe should let go of maid n get new one now if u can

Speaking babies
I am totally impressed. My darling is still in the shake-head stage.

SD. SY, Dustee, Cin_bunny
The weekend of turning 37(!) was makan heaven, except for the part where my favourite cake shop went missing...

Dustee
You sound like a new woman. Jia you! Go Dustee!

PB
How was USS?

DD
Will PM you on sling. I can pass mine to you.

Temptations Cake Shop
Does anyone know where they have gone? Or have they closed down? Went all the way to Joo Chiat hoping to buy my fave bday cake but the shop was closed and looked like it had not been open for a LONG time! *SOB!*

Oh..activated my pm function Liao..

Youpi..let me pay u at least a token sum for the sling? But would u be coming out to town anytime this week? Cos my parents r in town so would be great if I can get it by fri so they can bring back to her? If not, I see how I can swing by to get it? Thanks so much!

Michelle
I can so understand the IT situation LOL. My trick is to find an IT friend and be super nice to him!

DD
Nope did not go anywhere but seems like been away long time fr office. Wed on urgent leave cos bluebunny sick. Thurs and fri on course. Today on leave for birthday :D

We enjoyed USS! Thanks hannah for travelmania kangtao! The place wasn't as big as I imagined and because we didn't go on all the rides, we had time to walk through twice. Got there at 1030, left about 4.

Tips
1 - try to bring own food or risk waiting like crazy. Jurassic park food court s*cks. Food is yucky, prices high, queue system is lousy. Thumbs down down down down!

2 - buy tickets beforehand to risk disappointment!

3 - try to go with other families so can take turns to jaga kids while parents go on rides. Bluebunny and I went for 1 ride each. Poppy and I took 1 together. We queued half an hour for another but threatening skies made us opt out

4 - don't bring stroller if you can. Can rent buggies for kids

5 - sunblock!!!

6 - lots of water stations and changing stations around, don't worry

7 - characters come out about 3pm

Doggiebb
Super impressed with T2's vocab!

Hello mommies,
i have many more white hair over the past week plus... coz tested positive on clearblue but was spotting for more than a week till yday morning... then experienced some cramps and started menstruating... sigh...so was worrying and completely stressed out, work stress too. and not getting quality sleep. and just read a friend's FB comment abt his young friend committed suicide... somehow I feel i shd give myself a pat on the shoulder coz I'm fighting hard to stay sane and strong everyday.

Dustee,
really lor you are responsible for your own happiness. Life is too short. No need to waste time trying to pls a stubborn rich old lady. Looking at my mom & her mil (my grandma), no matter what my mum does or says, my grandma just disapproves. and it's been like this for more than 3 decades... and whenever my grandma was sick, my mom took care of her. Period. No thank you-s at the end of her stay with my parents whatsoever.

So you shd give yourself a pat on the shoulder too for having tried your best with your mil.

cellow,
I heard from my agent that these domestic helpers esp the Filipinos can get very calculative abt money and their pay. So maybe yours didn't appreciate the joke... but one thing doesn't change for most workers, they slacken after being ard for several months. they can be so blatantly Bo chap abt their usual work. esp those taking care of young children. so that's their bargaining chip. they know you'd rather put up with them than change a new maid and have to train and get used to all over again.

have you tried sitting her down and talk to her abt her attitude and what's really going on in her head? Sometimes they have family problems bothering them too. Such "heart to heart" cnversations help for getting my helper back on track.

Now my dilemma is whether I shd keep her ard since my son is attending childcare already. decisions decisions... No wonder I have so many white hair.

PB, are the rides more suitable for older kids? You mean Monday alone you have to queue so long for a ride? Weekends will be worst right? Why poppy only get to play with 1 ride? All of you prefer to ealk around? Waiting to see the photos!!

Steph, I got confused on your postings.. Did you just miscarriaged, or??

hannah - pics on my blog
i think most rides are for older kids, yes. the younger ones can take a few, but at 2 years old, i think it depends on the maturity of the child too. some may like, some may not

only one ride cos the queues were too long. we were queuing for one but it got suspended cos of lightning

hub did not know what to expect so he thought we would only spend 2 hours there. i think a combi of heat, tiredness, dehydration and loud music is enough to put anyone in a grumpy mood hehe

PB, got offer on USS?

for G, now she like to ask "where" not why yet.
like ytd, she ask lion where? she was refering to a lion lantern which she was afraid of. she will give those fearful look. Then I say maybe in the room? she goes orrr to acknowledge
hahahha

quick one
youpi,
alamak, msg this east sider nx time la
temptations shifted to along joo chiat road.. the side nearer 2 east coast rd.... kinda opp the scanteak showroom. ws it tt one u went to?

hmmm.. sounds like USS is not so 2-year-old friendly wor.. hear the queue I sian half already...

IT status
ok, I have filled in two more forms and now just waiting and waiting and waiting.. can you believe it? My organisation is suppose to be super efficient, handling complex systems that costs multi-millions and there is this little department that lets me down over the simplest, most mundane requirement - shift office from A to B. Maybe its just me.

While I'm in a complaining mood, can I introduce you to this staff I have, lets call her gasot. Well, like the name implies, she exceeds all expectations in the "good at sitting on things" category. THe trades of Gasot is all emails must stay in the in-box at least 30 days before it appears FHNA (for her necessary action). Never mind if the issue is delayed, escalated, brought to the attention of higher management. Gasot is suppose to be immuned to all external pressures. Gasot comes in from 9, leaves at 5. Count your blessings when Gasot gets a job done, or even better, replies your mail with the required information!! 3 cheers to Gasot for making my work life so challenging!

And Yes, Gasot reports to me, and I have no idea how to move her butt without sounding like a bitch. Sigh.

since I'm on the roll today, let me introduce you to another staff of mine. Let's call her DCQueen (Dressed casually Queen). ok, she has two kids and she has no helpers. so when she told me she only wants minimum job so she will be able to go home to cook for her family. Granted. I told her I can understand but she must be prepared that compared to others who were willing to do more, her appraisal might suffer. I am ok if she goes back early (hack even if you work from home) as long as you get your job done. So she does get her job done. In fact, she is quite hardworking when she is in office, quite responsive too (not compared to GASOT, comparing to the norm!). So why am i complaining?

She likes to come to office in denim mini-skirt and t-shirts, and slip-ons! Actually I don't mind too if there is no meeting for the day and that you will be in your cube the whole day. However, she flip flop flip flop into a meeting with a LOT of high-ranking officers in that dressing one morning, and she was the last to arrive and she arrived in style I must say.

I don't know how to put it across to her that is maybe, not the appropriate dressing. BUT BUT BUT, its been 3 days liao is it too late to bring it up again? does it sound too petty?

SOrry this may sound very boring topic to you, but I realyl needed to get it off my chest. Hubby says I should ahve spoken to her immediately after the meeting.. but there was simply too many ppl!

oh michelle, yes it kinda late if u bring it across to Dc queen. unless she still wearing sloppily...
oh gasot leave 5 p.m... how fortunate!