(2008/07) July 2008

Michelle
Love the names
quick one - if they report directly to you, you have a right to tell them off. Casual does not mean "sloppy". It's still an office. Whatever they wear after work or on weekends is up to them. But at office, must observe certain standards

Share this that I read a while back - dress for the job you want, not for the job you have. Follow the standard of the biggest person in your chain of command. Which is why I completely ignore my direct boss' dress sense with indecently short skirts

Helper
Finally came to the last straw yesterday. She argued with my mom and during the argument she threw the spoons to the floor. So yesterday I canceled her WP and sent her back home this morning.

Michelle
If she still dresses sloppily, you can remind her the work attire according to the employee handbook. There must be some guidelines right? My HR person is like a hawk. No shirt with collar on Friday and if we sometimes forgot and wears tee she would remind us on the spot.

Hannah,
yes... just but still have to send son to childcare, then off to work. gynae warned me that it's unstable but still feel sad nonetheless. and next weekend still have cousin's baby full month party to attend.... i must have offended some gods...

Steph..think happy thoughts n hang in there! God still work miracles..will pray for u n ur little bb!

Haha..agree wiv pb on mich's gasot n cdqueen! Hehe

Steph, take care.

Garfield, it's at dhoby ghaut mrt, a few shops after Mr Bean.

PB, you think my boys will like it? They are 9 and 6.

Can I just ask a very personal question huh. Anyone used tampons before? My colleage said very convenient, can even go swimming leh. Any comments?

QIng
Barbie already toilet trained lah??
Its like that 1 lor. Ember intially also keeps going toilet like 10 times in and hr. Jus cos she dun want to go to sleep and its so irritating lor bring her back to bed button her pj then she claims she need to go.....AGAIN.
If can u put a potty next to bed lor then when she say wanna go jus put her on the potty.
And yah once toilet trained they will not pee in diaper anymore. Ember is like that lor. Even if we put diaper for her cos she say she needs to go urgently. She will not pee at all in the diaper till we reach home.
Have to ren abit lah cos now at least Ember is better in control so we can get her to pee before we leave the hse.

Steph
*hugs* stay strong K.

thxs hannah.
i also heard tampons can be used for swimming. but prob u wun try on yr heaviest day la... but i dun like n not used to.

steph, stay strong. nature got its way. sometimes it might be blessing in disguise.

Hannah
I think your boys will LOVE it! Esp if they like shrek. Maybe bring them to see the movie before?

I'm not a fan of tampons. Got to get the right angle or else will be super duper uncomfy. And when putting it on, you'll look rather unelegant haha

Dor, celeste is toilet trained but why when she sleeps she still pees on her diaper leh? When she's awake, either pee or poo she'll say she wants to da bian. So we dun know which is which until we bring her to the toilet bowl. And she'll insist must go to the toilet even when I put diaper on for her. Makes noise till I bring her there. Very ma fun sometimes right :)

Seems tampons not so comfy ah.. My colleague say till so good and won't affect our normal activities even when menses comes.

PB, thanks. I'll probably bring the whole gang there to USS since you said they'll like it. Weekdays better hor? They've watched shrek before liao. You've been to the jurasic park one?

Hannah,
I on the other hand am a big fan of tampons. If it's uncomfortable, then Its not far in enough cos you shouldn't really feel it. I don't go swimming (cos when menses come, no mood for moving around much) but it gives me the ability to turn in my sleep. Pre-tampons, I had to sleep completely on my back the whole night.

Wow bbp you wear tampons to sleep at night? Champion! I need big big pads. The bigger the better lol

Hannah
I've never met ur boys but I would suppose most kids would enjoy USS ba. Weekdays less crowded I guess. Less stressful

Work grouse
Just a summary can already: I am an adult and would like to be treated as one!

except that if you are a gasot, you will be treated like a kid who refuse to finish homework but just want to watch TV the whole day!

Tampon
I swear by it. cannot live without it. Its convenient, its easy to use, its totally no feeling one so have menses, no menses? no difference! and its clean, and everything flushable!

that time someone was saying got bitten by wierd stuff and the child has got bites all over.. this eboy everytime come back from gym class, will have like mosquito bite on his hand. then his leg. the leg one, according to my MIL, expand to 10cent coin size liao..

after the scary skin infection case, damn scared it will blow up again, so everynight put anti-biotic cream..

but but but, should I ask the school about the bite? what if the other children did not get it, and they claim eboy get it from somewhere else?

but we always spot new bites on the day he attends the gym class loh...

how how how?

PB,
Since we are on this topic, I used to wear 2 pads to sleep cos of backflow due to gravity. Tampons are much better cos it's less messy. Umm, but I still have to wake up at about 3am to check and change lor.

Michelle,
Definitely ask, or if you want to go the more sneaky method, ask the other parents if they get it too. If you spot new bites on the day he attends gym class, then it should be gym class what.

Haha my Sis did the wear-2-pads too..a night super long one does the trick for me plus a little face towel in case of leaks..

But tampons r convenient n feels dry too..

BbG's elated to have my parents aRound this week..when I got back today, he ran to me but asked for ah mah instead haha

on e-boy's bites..agree with BBP..

Been so swamped dat I haven't even loaded jpn pics yet, but if anyone is headed for Tokyo wiv kiddos, bring them to the anpanman museum ok? BbG had the best time there!

steph
hugsssssssssssss.

michelle
i had such a rough morning and night today, but coming in and reading about your colleagues and your wonderful acronyms for them, that was a million bucks! totally made my day!

SD
oh dear. the helper does sound terrible, esp with the spoon throwing. but how will you cope now? with your mil not well and your hb not back yet?

pb
could USS be crowded coz it's school hols now? i feel it's crowded everywhere! (except church, hahaha)

i heart mr dustee
y'know i complained about last saturday, my mil threw a bag at me (pomfret's bag) and then i cried. and then she was crying in church? this morning, i was trying to get pomfret out of the house, and my mil pulled some kind of nagging cum crying stunt at me again (basically, she's saying, it's my fault pomfret cries at all)

so once again, this morning, i left the house, in the rain, crying. so drama right? crying while ergo-ing my child , in the rain, to the mrt.

and mr dustee, during lunch, came home to collect some things he forgot to take with him to work. and guess what? my mil cornered him! (quite funny actually, on hindsight) and started crying at the front gate (he was wearing his shoes and preparing to drive off liao) and talking about how she feels she needs to talk to me and explain to me about the bag-throwing business.

(actually in my evil little heart i feel she's just trying to portray herself as a victim to my hb by saying things like 'i'm sorry i did that but she forced me to', but i digress)

AND MR DUSTEE SPOKE UP FOR ME! FOR ME! FOR ME! (y'know it's very big news for me coz normally he'll just ignore his mother and walk off, but he actually stopped and told her off)

to summarize, he told her that she has to understand she's just the grandparent. that we're the parents of pomfret, so we have final say. and that just coz she sees me carrying pomfret and pomfret crying, does not mean i'm not a good mother. that i'm doing a lot of good things for pomfret that my mil does not see. and pomfret doesn't cry with my mil coz she knows grandma is good for playing. but with mummy and daddy, it could be shower, or sleep, so she would cry.

and my defiant mil still maintains that she wants to talk to me. so i'm ready to be cornered in the next few days again.

but but but, to hear that mr dustee said all those things about me! oh, it almost *almost* makes this all worthwhile!!!

dustee, glad yr Mr help u put in good words! it always good to know he appreciate yr efforts! heck care the mil la. yes it v true kids love when grandparents play w them. as u say, play nia mah. sometimes my mil also say they behave v well infront of her, but i told her it not true lo.

PB, hi5 my pads are not just thick but is v long too hahahaha i act use overnite pads even day time! hahaha

Dustee! So happy for you!!! 3 cheers for Mr Dustee on standing up for you!!!

Your MIL really can go Hollywood and win Oscar for Best Actress

Hey girls is there going to be a Tanjong Pagar lunch today? I can join! On course 2pm at Tanjong Pagar :p

Dustee
Crying in the rain! Wow. Can almost hear the sad music playing in the background :p but honestly, I take my bunny ears off you. Facing the Hollywood actress everyday, kena emotional blackmail everyday, and yet you're always so funny. You're my favourite gecko la!

dustee,
Thumbs up plus hands up for your hubby. Am really glad he spoke up for you. I think if I got pissed off, I would go in a very sarcastic tone to my mil "If you give in to her every want and whim, of cos she wouldn't cry lor. And I'm sure if we did that, she would turn out to be a fine individual."

Tampon
I've heard about the wonderful things it does but I'm too chicken to try. Stupid question: can the tampon be stucked inside?

Dustee
We recently flown in a helper for my mom in law so she will be helping out a little bit. I'm looking for part time helper now.

Thumbs up for Mr. Dustee! Make sure you let him know that you really appreciate him for speaking up for you.

RANTTTTT
I'm so tired. My MIL is using catheter now and somehow her brain still didn't register the pipe and the urine bag. During the day when she's up she will say she wants to pass urine every half an hour. so she will bring her bag and just sit in the toilet to "pass urine" OMG. And she's been doing that every hour at night too. Guess what, during the day she'll become very sleepy. Now her sleeping pattern is reversed. I am at lost at what to do. No point explaining to her - we've been doing that everyday and nothing gets registered in the head. I'm contemplating whether to ask GP for sleeping pills for her. At least she can sleep through the night and not wake up every hour to pass urine. But since she's 70 I'm not sure whether it's safe for her to take sleeping pills. *headache*

Every day when I come back from work she would give me puppy eyes and said that she's in a lot of pain, her lower abdomen is tight and she can't pee. *pengsan*

Dustee, really happy for you!!

SD, I think you're really a great dil. Thumbs up for you!!

I still dun hv the guts to try tampons!

SD, really peifu u! can take care of her even when u working. she stay w u now? for time being or? i cant rem. she sounds quite poor thing too. we women v cham.

thank you mommies, me ok la... just need to get it off my chest coz suffocating. hopefully garfield you're right... blessing in disguise... at least now i can tell hb without feeling guilty that i've decided to "close factory" liao coz my health lousy and i can't take another similar blow.

Dustee,
don't fall for the emotional blackmail again. being "thick face black heart" is sometimes the best reaction to situations involving people like your mil. applause for your hb's brave stand against his mother. not easy for him i guess... lucky you

SD,
you're really a commendable role model. i hope i can be as patient as you when when need arise...

hahaha.. what's with the talk abt sanitary pads vs tampons?? poll? me use heavy flow whenever auntie come visit. got phobia abt staining pants when outside... hehe...

on a happy note,
my boy is adapting well to 3 hrs childcare so far... keeping my fingers crossed for the full day come July...

bbp,
i used to get the "lectures" from my parents and mil when i "trained" my boy the way i do which can get rather strict. but now, they only say he guai... we just have to let time prove our choice of actions when it comes to our children's upbringing. most grandparents spoil their grandchildren. but sometimes, i also stuck... dunno how to react to the grandparents' doting... afterall they act the way they do coz they just love the kid... just close one eye when it's not too overboard lor...

i also want to RANTTT....
my crazy neighbour was yelling at her kids last night after 12mn... this time, even my son was woken up by the shorting and door slamming

steph,
hugs to you. there is no guilt in telling HB that even w/o this thing happening. having a child is a BIG BIG decision.
YAY for E being guai!

you go, dustee!!!! 3 cheers for mr dustee

sd,
MIL sounds like she is in a bad state. and frankly my dear, you need help with MIL's situation and helper being sent away too.

announcement
the maid is going off once we get back to SG and i settle in. the ILs promised to come over and help.

i m v sad that gotta pull the ILs over when my parents are in SG... but but but... my parents ah.... sigh

oh more news!
C1's first 5-word sentence
I want some more soup (!!!!)
2nd 5-word sentence
fan goes round and round... which actually comes out sounding like fan goes yound and yound. the R sound is difficult for him

so there we have it. C1 has 2 things on his mind - food and fans. LOL!

Logging in from home.

Sick ... sigh
Low immunity sucks!

If I cant recover on time, then the xun family will not be able to attend the big birthday bash!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Qing let me know the cost still since we have already booked a place and cupcake for xun gal. *booo hooooo* I WAS SUPER LOOKING FORWARD TO IT *sobz sobz*

Dustee,very very happy for u that mr dustee spoke up for u! and well thats why u chose this man right? The one that appreciates u!! =D even when he never speaks up usually (man avoids direct confrontation usually), he appreciates u from deep within his heart.

Cellow,
At least C1's sentence is about food. Declan's first unprompted sentence was "Declan don't want to squeeze". Can anyone guess what he was referring to?

Hannah
Thanks laa.. It's part of my responsibility.

Garfield
She doesn't stay with us permanently but for health purposes she will come to SG and this time she went for surgery so she has stayed with us since February. I think she'll be here till early July? I think she's homesick also. but then go home later she must come back again mid July. Ya I cannot imagine if I become like that when I'm old. That's why we must always be active hor.

Steph
Glad your boy is adapting well!! By July he is probably going to get used to it.

Keke I'm not that patient la but I cannot complain in front of her, so I complain to my HB. He thanked me for taking care of his mom so I said he must be EXTRA NICE to me, and just hear my complaints hahaha.

Cellow
Yar I'm looking for part time help for now. Not easy to find helper wor. HI-5 on C1 5 word sentence!!! Emma's is: mommy I want phone please, xie xie kekeke The rest are just 2 word sentences.

BBp
Declan is so cute. hmmm mebbe he doesn't want the adults to squeeze-hug him?

cellow

maybe the fish oils did help? hehehe! and LOL on C1's obsession with food and things that go round!

bbp

don't want to squeeze poopoo izzit? mine says that all the time. "i dunwan to squeeze" "why i must squeeze poopoo?" haizzz

SD

*pat pat* you are such a dutiful dil! of cos Mr SD must be extra nice to you! TSK!

dustee,
*STAND UP N CLAPS* Hooray to Mr Dustee! Happy that Mr Dustee finally speak up for u! Way to go man!! n look! u r the one who is taking care of pomfret and letting Mr Dustee work in peace! He knows!! He actually knows!! DUSTEE, hard work paid off!

SY one more fish oil for me pl. Thanks.

Cin, jus recalled I haven paid you yet. You remember how much?

Fish oil din help eboy at all. Should I double the dosage leh??? Hee hee

mich

when i gave talia, i gave quite a bit like 2 tablespoons for about 2 mths before the words tumbled out. how much are you giving?

Wow on the 5-word sentence! I think poppy's longest sentence is "papa don't go please". And stringing the following together "papa is mack.....s, mama dor-ahhh, baby tze teeng!".

Shiok. Met DD and doggiebb for don pie. Yum. Crab bee hoon! DD shall I pay you on sat?

Oh ya, there was mention about a dress code for the kids on sat? How about red/blue? So either red or blue. No necessarily red for girls, blue for boys. How how?

Mummies and daddies chapalang is ok

Steph: hooray to e adapting well to childcare..I'll be crying louder than bbg when our turn comes..

Saw his pics on fb..looks like big boy now!

LOL to c1 n dec's sentences..

Symphatic pat for sdchick..a great DIL u r..

Pb n doggie..we settle debt at party lah

is dor joining us? Youpi would u be meeting her these few days? Got loot to collect

sling frm Youpi too..

does all bb's have that Paul frank pj's too? We were thinking of getting them to wear altogether as well ...

michelle - sorry i dont recall..u still hv the small piece of paper?

dustee - hurray to Mr dustee and boo to your MIL. oh btw, need to collect $ from u from dim sum ages ago :D

SD - you really are a SAINT! can i hv a feather from your beautiful wings?

jacelyn and DD
i've got your sambucus from dor dor. will pass to you both on sat's bash (hopefully jace recovers on time!)

dresscode
i don't have the paul frank ones! i don't even know what they look like, coz by the time i read the posts, the links to the bp weren't there anymore.

cin_bunny
oh yesssss i'm glade you remembered! pay you on sat?

JG
eh i'm quite tempted to try pomfret for one term in JG. it's only 10 weeks anyway. but mr dustee has colleagues who have given JG really bad reviews (say it's a total waste of money). but we mummies here have mostly positive experiences right? don't know how to convince mr dustee about it.

pb
yes the past two years i feel like i've been living in a korean drama. i could probably sell the copyrights to tv no?

forum cats show
oh pomfret loved it! but the queue was scaryyyyyy.

Steph
Sorry to hear that, do take care of your health, try not to stress out.

Cellow
You know, I never thought that Temptations would move without leaving a notice on the door. I tried calling again this week and apparently they changed their location to East Coast Rd. They're no more at Joo Chiat Rd. And that's why all the previous calls were never picked up 'cos they were in the midst of shifting. At least I know where to go next year!

Dustee
Three cheers for Mr Dustee!!! He's a good man!

Cats at Forum
My boys loved that too. L was doing downward dog poses at one point, trying to imitate the cast. And we met Doggiebb and her two Ts there as well.

Dresscode
No Paul Frank pjs. Will stick to red and/or blue.

Father's Day lunch
Any recommendations for a good Cantonese restaurant? Can be dim sum.

Doggiebb,
you're right. He didn't want to squeeze poo. But come on, I would have thought he would have given me a better first sentence lor.