(2008/07) July 2008

holly
where did you go?

"auntie visit"
i just finally got my first period since my miscarriage (which was like, 7 months ago) it's a bit of a relief, coz for a while there i thought maybe my reproductive system has retired. but gosh, my cramps are incredible. sometimes i'm doubled over in pain.

moving out
my hb said, no hurry to rush the house-moving once we get the keys in october. erm, hello, i beg to differ. i would like to move out asap. even if i have to do without tv or furniture (notice tv is ranked first, haha), i still want to move out.

i hate waking up to post-its on the door. esp those informing me of what my mil thinks of pomfret's health ("i think she got running nose. i don't know. maybe you should bring her to see doctor") even mosquito bites she also want me to bring pomfret to see doctor. or post-its informing me of what my mil would prefer me not to do today ("weather very hot. better don't bring her outside. hfmd outside. better stay home")

or to summarise, i really would just rather not know what my mil thinks of anything.

and just now, without my knowing ( i popped into the shower while pomfret was watching mickey mouse), she took pomfret for a car ride round the estate in her car. which means pomfret sat behind by herself, no seat belt, no car seat, no adult to jaga.

i can't wait to move out. and if i didn't feel sorry for my fil (he's extremely quiet, extremely unassuming. i guess, everything that my mil is not) for not seeing pomfret, i probably wouldn't even try to visit this house again.

again, i cannot wait to move out. but.... 4 more months to go.....

Dustee
drivin with promfret alone behind!!!!
cant imagine that..
i prob freak out.. lucky she is fine.. no offence but older citizens driving are sometimes a hazard if their eyesight is failing or not able to react fast like before.

smiggle
you should see some of my in-laws' friends. 80yr-old uncle driving. it's very scary sometimes. coz like this old uncle is hard of hearing. so you have to shout to talk to him. so i always wonder if he'd hear if a car toots him.

disney spree
i joined this disney spree in APRIL coz i thought i'd order some mickey mouse figurines to let pomfret have a bday cake with mickey on it. but till today no news. alamak. i thought 2 months is more than enough. but.... sigh.

steph
how's your E taking to cc? started this week?

jacelyn
i keep forgetting when you are due. how are you doing?

Dustee,
that is highly dangerous. I would have given my poor husband a piece, no, many pieces of my mind and get him to run interference.

dustee,
in bali the past 3 days..

re:2nd bdae
how r u gals celebrating the kid's bdae ah? i still cant figure wat to do for bosco this yr...

holly
wow u seem to be going on a lot of hol!!

bbp
u had fun on your trip?

dustee
no car seat?? gosh that is bad...did u tell your hb to tell your mil off? that is bad bad bad...

Yay!! Finally after much thoughts we will be going to kl with the kids on sat... Hb dint want to go coz of my condition and worried about my ms and blood pressure.. Frankly I am worried more in the morning and evening coz these are the times where I will feel voitming and not well...
Fingers cross and pray hard....

Dustee! Morning I am still around here! And reading abt pomfret's scary car ride! OMG... seriously speechless.
I am due on 7th Sep but well considering 38 weeks as anytime, could be from end of aug to early sep then! I cant quite believe how fast time flies - it will be 28 weeks next week! Time to count down liao

sy,
actually the bali trip had been planned b4 i knew i was preggy. i still got one more trip in aug which i still dunno i wanna cancel anot. my gynae gave me the permission to go but i scare lo.. n den tt trip is actually my mil's bdae trip. so still dunno. wait till tt time den say.

bbp,
how's ur trip!?!?

pb,
happy birthday ah hot mama!

yay e square can go on holiday!

wow jacelyn you are right! so fast 28 weeks and can count down liao!

thanks holly and SY. it's also youpi's birthday! of course, we both are excited about having just turned 21. youpi, how did you celebrate your newly found age of independence? me, i slept in till 8am hahahha

Happy Birthday PB! Are you at Universal?

Thanks, Holly

Peekaboo
Went some time ago, quite small, old-ish. But cheaper than the other places, and almost empty, so it was not a bad experience.

youpi
happy birthday! how did u celebrate?

PB
jh's sch had outing there. the place quite small and a bit hard for us to climb ard. but quite adequate for them.

actually i quite like polliwogs amg all the playgrounds cos it is easy for them to climb and easy for us to follow them!

youpi
no la! universal studios is on monday. hoping we will miss the weekend crowd and monday will be sluggish crowd haha. fingers crossed for good weather!

thanks for the comments on peekaboo, girls! mind drawing a blank - don't know where to go tomorrow! thinking of the zoo but it's so far away!

argh! did you know that it's free admission into zoo on birthday? argh! maybe i can rush and make it in time before night safari closes lol

happy 21st pb and youpi!

(but hey, i turned 22 back in april y'know...... you ladies gotta catch up a bit :p hehe)

playgroup
any mummies have a playgroup to recommend ? currently i'm in braddell, near to toa payoh, bishan... thinking about trying pomfret in those 3hr playgroup things. read that sophie bunny has no problems in the playgroup. any other of your kiddos cried ? pomfret won't even let me go to the toilet without her. i wonder how she'd take to a 3hr separation....

me and my mil (again)
she lost her temper at me today. almost threw pomfret's backpack out the gate at me (coz me and hb were rushing to bank for mortgage issues, then pomfret didn't want to stop playing with my mil, so i just grabbed her and as i was walking out, pomfret screamed 'bagbagbagbag'.... my mil took it personally coz pomfret was playing with her. but auntie ah, i am just rushing for time) and i got really affected. and then my hb got upset that i was upset. and kept scolding me (yes he was scolding me).

and so i finally got it. ( it took me two years to understand!) my mil is just determined to believe that i'm not good enough, and that whatever i do, she takes it as a personal offense. no matter how nice i try to be, how polite, how hardworking, etc, she's just not going to like me.

so whether i stay here, or move out, she's not going to like me. but it's just harder now coz she sees the moving out as a huge personal injury.

so, i would be happier moving out. she's still not going to like me, but at least i'm happy in my own home right?

so silly hor. 2 years of needless suffering. should have just moved out the moment we got married. and property was cheaper then!

http://www.fidgets.com.sg/
is those indoor playground thingie too. i think per entry is $17. pomfret attended someone's bday party there. but but but, it's quite crowded, and she took one look at the crowd and started freaking out. it's at turf city.

qing
can i join in bday bash too?

father's day
i know poppy 'buys' bluebunny stuff. any other beautiful toddlers here do that too? i'm telling pomfret 'get your own ideas girl. don't poach mama's'

Dustee
We already gave Father day pressie last sun cos it was hard to make D keep something quiet for long n he sort of nearly blurt out everyday. Haha
He keeps saying he has a surprise for his dad which makes my heart skip a beat then he gives him like a bottle of water n says "Surprise!!!" LOL
We got him a key pouch during isetan sale n an iPhone case online. So both the kids helped wrap 1 each n gave their dad in the morn.
N that ungrateful man still asked me. It's today meh? N even asked the kids to unwrap the pressie themselves while he catch more sleep. Not that the kids mind but I DO lor!!!!!!
Never even see the kids wrapping effort. N wat did he get me for mother day!!!!! sigh....... Men

dustee,
world cup is keeping me up too. seems quite fated to soccer. when i had bosco i was up watching euro cup. n now... world cup.. duh!

oh well.. at least u tried ur best. if she dun appreciate it, den no point. but i think u should sit down n talk to ur hubby abt the misunderstanding this noon..

pb,
peekaboo.. hmm.. looks quite old. n erm.. we climbed like 3 storey high to look ard and saw the amount of dust collected on the aircon pipe which is abt 1m away from the net. ever since den, i never been there again.. =P

Dor Dor,
How nice.. we forgot about father's day.. now in KL so cannot celebrate with FIL.. poor fil have mild stroke so cannot go out too.. haiz..
as for celebration for hb.. I got not time for myself... coz my 2 boys keep fussying around .. so tired.. where got mood to celebrate for him..

Sy,
let's just say the trip was hard. It had fun parts but it was really hard.

Dustee,
I call a spade a spade. It's a gift bought by me. So I told hubby I bought him a father's day gift. So no, dec did not and does not buy him a father's day gift.

gulp - today is father's day? i was reading your posts and hubby sitting next to me so i looked over to him and said, today is father's day? and he said , is it? lol..whew..good to know he wasn't expecting a surprise ;)

youpi - happee bday to u too..another hot mama
..how did u celebrate?

dustee - sending all the zen waves to you..just take deep breaths and think of your house moving
..happy thoughts!

off to ikea for breakfast :D..too lazy for zoo today.

bbp
actually that's probably the right way to do it. last year, my hb bought me a present for mother's day. he labelled it 'to mama' while he labelled the present for his mother as 'to oma' (grandmother in dutch, some indonesians do that) and guess what? my mil opened BOTH presents...... hahahaha

saturday
and oh y'know, i've been declining all parties on saturdays coz i have to go to church with my in-laws right? so yest at church my mil cried. (becoz she of the 'misunderstanding' earlier in the afternoon) and she also hinted at how difficult she found it was to have dinner with me coz i'm not chatty (yes, if my hb doesn't talk, it's ok. if i don't talk,it's coz i have an attitude....)

so from now on, i'm bringing pomfret for all saturday parties. i'll just go church myself on sunday instead..

i just feel that, when i go to church it's between me and God. emotional blackmail should stay outside the church gate.

the 4 Cs had a lovely time at Damai beach resort on Friday! tis nice to see Mr C relaxed and happy with C1 in the swimming pool. yes, C1 can wade into the pool now... with a lot of coaxing fm Mr C

Maid (again!)
I need your collective creativity and ideas to deal with maid. Long story... but the gist is that she 'no big no small' to my MIL and even me, her employer. Her first time at a hotel so we were just chatting and I told her bfast cost X dollars and then I cheekily added that hmmm... think should collect the bfast money back fm you.
She retorted 'Oh, then I wont eat la.'
Hmmmph.
And then added 'Dun eat, dun work lor'
WAH BIANGZ!
Bring you to beach resort already still give me attitude. I was too stunned at that moment to respond.... "Dun work, dun eat, just live on air" comes to mind now... but the moment has passed.

I m only keeping her on (and counting down to Oct when her 2 yr contract is up) bcz she is still ok with the children.

22 Jun is her bday and she already asked me before we came back to Msia 'Mdm, can go out one Sunday for my bday?' I told her depends on her work performance. and she went into mini pout/sulk mode.

when she asks again when we are back in SG, I will tell her tt her work performance and attitude is bad this month, see if it improves and we shall talk again in a month's time.
Girls, any other suggestions???

sick of seeing her face.

Sorry to interrupt. My grandson is turning two this July. I assume same as all your kids! Anyone has any good recommendations of what present to get for him? What would you like your kid to receive? I am looking more into educational context and my budget is $100.

I's rather hear from all of you mummies, cos I am not yet one myself. thank you!

bbp
actually, my own mother and my sil (my own brother's wife) don't get along. and my mum is hurt by that (on a daily basis). it's not that my sil is not nice, they just don't get along. and so i prob formed a subconscious desire to be understood by my mil (and so that we'd get along, she won't be hurt, etc). only now i realise that my mil isn't interested in understanding me, and i have been very unhappy for so long.

well, i have tried right? cannot means cannot lor.

cellow
i don't know why you are still so patient with your helper. i think i would just return her to the agency. but then again, i haven't had to deal with a helper myself, so i'm not aware of the intricacies of it. is she getting 'sian' of being a helper? why don't you just get a new one now so that C2 won't have to get used to another care-giver come october?

cellow
I think U should let her lor since its her bday. Jus tell her that although her work attitude has not been good but U will be nice and give her a day off since its her birthday and a once a yr thingy.
Then u dun have to face her and feel angry also ma on her bday.

helllooooo NIGHTingales!

fell asleep with poppy then got up to check office email o_O but it's only so that i don't get a rude shock when i get back to office on tues hehe. been away from last wed!

excited about USS!!!!!

dustee
yay to you for realising that it's never been YOU to begin with! i really hope you find a nice home. indeed, you might as well be happy. heck, you deserve it!

yes, poppy "buys" the presents and "writes" the cards (crayon scribbes) but the money comes from my bank account haha. i wonder if mr dustee bought you some kinky pressie that was opened by MIL? haha

ps i love this new dustee attitude! you go girl! *waving pompoms in air*

dor
D is so funny!!!

holly
yikes! that sounds quite scary for a kids play gym!

e square
how is your trip so far!

cellow
glad you had a good break! where is damai? how did you guys work out the sleeping situation? one extra bed for helper, C1 in cot, C2 in between you and Mr C?

re helper i guess it's up to you to see how much you can tahan la. i know it's tough when you don't like someone, esp when she stays in your home. but if she's good with the kids, then that's a big plus point for her.

Dustee
it's not too late.. Come join in the fun
just pm me
ppl attending
name to be written on cupcakes
ur name hp and email I have.

Hi mummies! I'm back! Had a great time but zombified now as I rush to work..just a few hours fm touching down..catch up later!

JuZ managed to read the post right before this one..

Pb were u away for something?

Dustee *waving poms poms beside PB*... Congrats on you Kan Kai Le! Wait for your new home and get out of hell! you deserve better than that!

wow, PB you long birthday celebration hor! enjoy USS and let me know if its fun! We saw poppy at the gym and she has grown so much!!

DD, so fast back liao? you go nippon how many days leh? I came back liao still take 2 days leave to "recuperate".. haha

cellow ah cellow, after I read hor, I first think why you make this kind of comment to her.. even if you are joking, they wont know one loh... so those daring ones (like the one you've got there) would retaliate! Endure! but for your own sanity, keep such comments to yourself lah, cos it sure doesn;t do you both any good.. (she dare to talk back and then you feeling angry)... she birthday give off lah... she got no gong lao, also got Ku Lao mah... cos she also good with C1 for more than a year liao... think about it loh...

DD, you have not shared your helper story leh... she good? can recommend to C loh.. hers ending in Oct mah..

i can't today! haiz! got office lunch.

alamak! i must get the gift exchange pressie soon also!

WHYS

Thaddie's WHYS have started and coupled with the fact that her sister's WHYS haven't stopped! the two of them are driving me nuts together!!!

Father's day
Hmmm it's this weekend right? Normally never given any present, just a home made card made by me and Ashley. This time will be Ashley and Emma keke.

Dustee
I'm so happy for you.. hey, who knows, when you are not living together, you get along better with your MIL. Me and MIL don't live together, unless for a few months like now. Sometimes I felt frustated but then my MIL is different from yours. She doesn't care about what I do as long as I tend to her personal needs kekeke. It's a little hard sometimes, considering her dementia getting worse, but I try to be patient with her by imagining myself in her shoes.
I hope you settle the misunderstanding with both your MIL (although you don't feel like it) and your hubby. Your hubby, rather, should help you explain to his mom about it.
Don't feel bad about moving out, you deserve your own happiness. BTW how does your hb feel about moving out.

Cellow
Is your helper Indonesian? If it is you just need to be straight forward. A majority of them do not understand Hints. You just need to tell her direct. It might sound stern but it works like that. Once in a while they must be reminded on who's the employer. I did that with my current one, but still she is a double faced helper. in front of me is all sweet but when I'm not around she doesn't even want to hear what my mom has to say. I'm waiting for mr SD to be back home next month then I will send her back. I was supposed to do that early this month but then my MIL went pengsan and we had to send her to hospital etc. so not a good time not to have helper. *sigh* Have to endure for another month.
As for her request, just let her be lah. of course have to deduct from annual leave. does she have annual leave?

Doggiebb
kekeke Emma hasn't said her WHYs yet but nowadays she keep saying Emma wants... everything she also wants to do, wants to eat etc.

mega birthday bash

attendee
Qing<font color="ff0000"> - cupcakes for all</font>
Garfield<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
DD<font color="ff0000"> - cupcakes for all</font>
batgirl<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
Holly<font color="ff0000"> - cupcakes for all</font>
Jacelyn<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
Smiggleprincess<font color="ff0000"> - cupcakes for all</font>
Michelle<font color="ff0000"> - cupcakes for all</font>
Doggie<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
SD<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
Cin Bunny<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
PB<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
youpi<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
SY<font color="0000ff"> - cupcakes for kids</font>
dustee?

i hope i have everyone in and on the cupcakes option is right.

please let me know ok.